AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Anita Williams, iG. Roscoe, iJ. Joy Matthews Alford - Sistah Joy, iLannah Sawers-Diggins, iBeverly Scott, iAlexander Goldstein, iOralya Ueberroth, i
 
Home > Leo Durrant
 

Recent Reviews for Leo Durrant


God Bless The Thermos (Short Story) - 4/7/2008 7:06:15 PM
oh, how sad, it must have happened on a Tuesday (hee,hee....)and Shasta root beer, that's the best kind(except for homeade of course)...I love thermoses too but I always seem to leave them somewhere, or forget to screw it on all the way before picking it up again so it doesn't do me much good, except that I can save it since I usually don't finish in one sitting... Ahna

Leo Eats Christmas (Short Story) - 2/26/2008 10:58:00 PM
This story is too adorable for words. I read it outloud to my teenagers and we laughed together. I must admit it sounds tasty but, yes I got the message Christmas gets mistook for many things then reality strikes with the Nativity. Great work! Why aren't you in stores? You are very talented. Amy.

Leo Eats Christmas (Short Story) - 12/19/2007 5:21:09 PM
You and a host of others. Interesting. Ron

Leo Eats Christmas (Short Story) - 12/19/2007 6:32:34 AM
Leo, I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT. I wanted a taste too. I had my own feast after I read it. It is so deliciously filling. Thank You!

Leo Eats Christmas (Short Story) - 12/18/2007 7:12:10 PM
love the humor but the ending line is the best

Leo Eats Christmas (Short Story) - 12/18/2007 2:49:14 PM
A very yummy story!! Excellent job -- very well done. Pepperminty...green elf was sour...eating the entire MoTab -- what imagery. Loved the ending, too -- very well done! Alan

Leo Eats Christmas (Short Story) - 12/17/2007 8:14:49 AM
Leo! This is incr-edible! The cedar chests! The snow penguin! You start plausible, then work to a whimsical frenzy, and then calm down to a holy nesting. I think this is a work of genius! Encore! Encore! Charlie

In The Glow Of Memory (Short Story) - 10/26/2007 3:31:03 PM
Just reading it left me with a glow. Better write that memior... Ron

God Bless The Thermos (Short Story) - 10/26/2007 9:39:13 AM
Leo -- I love this memoir. Greedy dust!--You put your can of pearls in the hog-pen didn't you? Rootbeer always was a favorite of mine, too. Except when my mother made it from scratch, putting it outside the back door step in a glass, milk-gallon jug. After three days of "aging" it still just tasted like yeast. God bless the canned stuff! --Charlie

In The Glow Of Memory (Short Story) - 10/12/2007 8:17:25 PM
Okay Leo, you have to write a memoir, and if every page is as lush and profusely lyrical as this, then it will definitely be an instant bestsellar. We all know you'd be a poet in disguise, but so are many other great novelists who've been forced to turn to prose in order to make a living. Your language is poignant, cathartic, evocative--each line sewn together with the richest colors, mainly the deep heliotrope of nastalgia, like Princess Isuldrun's Garden that Jack Vance so vividly paints in Lyonesse. A garden of memories and melancholy, and fading desires, and time's endless mockery.

In The Glow Of Memory (Short Story) - 10/12/2007 8:07:58 PM
i enjoyed this very much-i agree-less mosquitoes-simpler fun

In The Glow Of Memory (Short Story) - 10/12/2007 11:05:21 AM
Leo. I love it. Great atmosphere, great colors--I love the green feet especially--greatflow, and wonderful theme. I have to laugh a little though, because as I read the 4th paragraph, I could hear Westly telling Prince Humperdink, "and every babe's..."; however, I don't believe you should change a thing. It's perfect. Can't get enough of your stuff!--Charlie

God Bless The Thermos (Short Story) - 8/28/2007 3:35:09 AM
Very, very touching, Leo. I can well imagine how you must have felt. Sunniest, Deborah

God Bless The Thermos (Short Story) - 7/17/2007 3:08:31 PM
Memories well shared, Leo. I feel that I am there when I read this anecdote. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

God Bless The Thermos (Short Story) - 7/14/2007 9:35:48 AM
Memories were made from words such as this: I felt like the hapless child in the story reading these lines. Poignancy in here, effectively penned. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Texas: A Fair Experience (Article) - 10/6/2007 9:30:18 AM
Leo Enjoyed your trip to the fair. I recognized all the experiences. My wife and I end up at the Livestock and exhibits, too. Nostalgia is expensive. How many tickets are you charging for your article? Well written. - David

Texas: A Fair Experience (Article) - 9/6/2007 10:35:23 PM
Brilliant!

Texas: A Fair Experience (Article) - 7/14/2007 9:38:51 AM
LOL Living in Texas, I hear ya! Too expensive, that's why I go on Dr Pepper can day! Free admission, the exhibits don't cost anything, and ya get free pens! LOL Or used ta, anyway...the adage, nothing is free anymore is so true. :( I watch the rides, no cost in that...LOL Get dizzy enuf watchin, why do I wanna subject myself to the blenderization of the brain? And forget balance. LOL Anyway, the memories you brought back in engaging lines: thank ya. Or, as we say it now, "thanky'all." LOL Enjoyed. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

The Greatest Poem I Ever Wrote (Poetry) - 8/14/2009 9:28:54 AM
Progeny are one's true legacy, for what's more precious than the gift of life? Mel

Lament of the Blacksmith (Poetry) - 9/12/2008 7:57:44 PM
Leo, I'm a bit late getting here. Charlie, on reading one of my things, suggested I read your Lament of the Blacksmith. I'm glad she did. I like it and plan to read more of your work. -gene.

A Sky So Blue (Poetry) - 6/29/2008 4:57:56 PM
I really like this one. Amy.

The Wind Tree (Poetry) - 6/5/2008 5:54:45 AM
This is pristine clarity a beautiful painting, stark as black on white. Amy.

One or We or To Love Is To Be (Poetry) - 4/15/2008 11:21:00 AM
Lovely

The Gravy Queen (Poetry) - 4/7/2008 7:25:24 PM
Grandma's gravy truly from heaven....best in the universe...I pity those who only know gravy from packets in the store...They don't know what they're missing... Luv, Ahna

Song For A Texas Wildflower (Haiku) (Poetry) - 3/20/2008 9:46:30 AM
The Texas bluebonnets do make our state look lovely when they're blooming. It's a shame Lady Bird Johnson isn't alive to see them, this year, but what a gift she gave us. Beautiful writing, Leo. Happy Spring and Happy Easter, Jill

Song For A Texas Wildflower (Haiku) (Poetry) - 3/17/2008 6:57:59 AM
I know this probably wasn't meant to have that double meaning, but instead of bluebonnets you have me thinking of a little girl... one whose pristine reign lasted from April to May... Crys...

Song For A Texas Wildflower (Haiku) (Poetry) - 3/17/2008 6:39:47 AM
we have them on the back 1/4 of our property near the creek, and living very near the proverbial TExas 'bluebonnet trail', they will be covering the earth near the end of march [hence we will ahve the bluebonnet festival]....oceans of nearly purple [with the odd red blanket piercing the skin]. ... silly lupines.. .my favourite thing about them is actually their leaves; all organic and nearly lacey shaped. .. like splayed fingers.. . . ness

Song For A Texas Wildflower (Haiku) (Poetry) - 3/17/2008 5:53:03 AM
beautiful--i love the Native American legend of the blue bonnet

Song For A Texas Wildflower (Haiku) (Poetry) - 3/17/2008 3:26:05 AM
Beautiful...

Song For A Texas Wildflower (Haiku) (Poetry) - 3/16/2008 9:33:47 PM
Born of April's dame, exuding intelligence, May’s son mirrors her… And out of death’s mud, she protrudes through blades and blooms-- reborn in March dreams… You got me on a roll... Good stuff. --Charlie

How to Throw a Poem (Poetry) - 3/14/2008 9:53:59 AM
What-a-metaphor! It makes poetry look like a very masculine activity. ;-) Remarkably written, son! Axilea

You Roll Back the Seasons (Poetry) - 3/12/2008 7:20:12 AM
"I called her Happiness, and she never left" What a happy man you are to find such a treasure

Diamonds And Dust (Poetry) - 3/12/2008 7:18:07 AM
How I love your words! This is very beautiful Leo.

Picking Stones (Poetry) - 3/10/2008 12:50:05 PM
The feelings are so on the surface in this, that it makes it feel personal to the reader. I also like how it looped around full circle. Blessings, Michelle

Picking Stones (Poetry) - 3/7/2008 8:13:54 PM
Very deeply felt emotions in this gem! the desert seems to be so much a part of lifes journey...

Picking Stones (Poetry) - 3/7/2008 6:58:01 PM
Leo, I never had much luck with hermeneutics,so if it's all the same with you I'm gonna start insisting that you append a critical interpretation of the text with each poem. ;) Otherwise the imagery, diction, and other techniques: Spiffy. One of my favorites.

Picking Stones (Poetry) - 3/7/2008 6:55:33 PM
You have me bawling like a baby... or for a baby... four babies really. This one is a masterpiece! But oh... how thankful I am that along that row of three baby stones is another one watching o'er... if the fourth one had to be, at least it is there watching o'er. Cryssa

Picking Stones (Poetry) - 3/7/2008 4:50:35 PM
Piercing, to the soul. Ron

Picking Stones (Poetry) - 3/7/2008 1:21:08 PM
wow--intense and poignant--well expressed and well written

Picking Stones (Poetry) - 3/7/2008 1:09:35 PM
All of life's experiences carry so much meaning to each who dares to pursue, well said.... Be always safe, Karen

Picking Stones (Poetry) - 3/7/2008 12:47:24 PM
Leo - I liked the way you used the tension of opposites in the parallel stanzas of this poem. Especially liked: to pick one last stone (something tasteful) in which to carve a name to mark the dust where we buried our dust before it had time to grow. and the contrast between the last two lines of each stanza as well as the dust in the first and the rust in the second. Evokes the experience of life(and death, which is part of it, like it or not.) - David

Picking Stones (Poetry) - 3/7/2008 9:28:08 AM
This is so wonderful when read out loud... I'm sure the neighbors like it too! :-) Excellent choice of words: "mark the dust", "rust clinging to tears", "commiserating" (such a beaitiful word at the heart of your poem). I also love the subtle use of repetitions in this one. Axilea

Picking Stones (Poetry) - 3/7/2008 8:01:45 AM
Beautiful, Leo. Just beautiful. I know of just such a place where four stones lie...commiserating. --Charlie

Picking Stones (Poetry) - 3/7/2008 7:35:13 AM
nicely done,reminds me of things past,myself........thanks, stan

The Gravy Queen (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 9:07:45 PM
My mama was a Gravy Queen... and ever year on Thanksgiving Day I would call to have her tell me just exactly how to make the imitation famous gravy so that I could be a Gravy Princess. Even though 17 years of marriage passed, I never wrote that recipe down because Mom was supposed to be there to tell me how to make it each and every year... It was kind of my silly tradition I guess. A crutch I didn't really need, but that I used because it was tradition. That first Thanksgiving after she died... I cried as I tried to make her gravy without her gentle advice. And maybe my tears salted the gravy just a little. I still feel lost when I try to do it, and it is a recipe that will never be written down... maybe so that I can stretch each year, just a little, as I try to remember her voice as she would tell me exactly what to do. With any luck, maybe someday I too will become a Gravy Queen. Sorry... your poem drew me into those mashed potato clouds with perfect gravy poured atop and made the (gravy) memories spill over... Love, Crys...

Peaches (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 8:55:43 PM
Nothing quite compares with home-canned peaches in that lovely sticky syrup in those gossamer jars. Take me home to mama's kitchen for a healthy helping from those jars... I will share it with you, if you promise not to drop it... but even if you do... I can help you clean up the fragile glass of memories that spill... Crys

Inside Looking In (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 8:49:50 PM
This is one I had somehow missed before... it leaves so many thoughts and feelings swirling through my brain that it took me several readings to really decide how I felt about it. The overwhelming feeling I was left with was one of sadness and resignation almost... maybe more acceptance and being comfortable with oneself, even without the mask. I like the poem, and as always when reading your poems, I am left feeling as though there is a deeper meaning and I am just scratching the veneer on the true meaning of your poetry. Crys...

The Greatest Poem I Ever Wrote (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 8:42:06 PM
The greatest poem you ever wrote continues to amaze me... And what a work of art I expect it will be when it is finished... Just think, this "poem" is half-way to perfection! Crys...

Diamonds And Dust (Poetry) - 2/26/2008 10:46:14 PM
Very well said. The walls I built to protect myself are sometimes all that I have left. You've stated something that I've felt personnally and I always need more mortar. Great expressive! Amy.

Diamonds And Dust (Poetry) - 2/10/2008 7:30:22 PM
I was hypnotized by the format, the actual shape that looks like the wordfalls, one expects perpetual movement. Some chaos too. The words' meaning, or rather my interpretation, is entirely linked to what I see because of the strong visual impact this poem has. Intriguing work! Axilea

Logophobia: Scrabble War VIII (Poetry) - 2/8/2008 7:11:38 PM
I like the rhythm of this poem. I always read your poems and come away feeling as though there was a cryptic message there that I don't know if I caught. Maybe it is that little piece of autumn in each poem that is ever elusive in being completely pulled out and brought into full view and clarity... Crys...

El Rio de los Remedios: Scrabble War X (Poetry) - 2/8/2008 7:04:24 PM
Your description and authors note make me think of Haiti... (not that it is hard to take my mind there... hee,hee...) I love the imagery and asides in this piece. Cryssa

Burrowing: Scrabble Squabble Part IV (Poetry) - 2/8/2008 6:57:38 PM
I fear the un-nesting as much as I fear the unraveling... Cryssa

Pit Fall (Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love): Scrabble War VI (Poetry) - 2/8/2008 6:56:31 PM
There is something strangely familiar and haunting about this piece... it will come to me...OH! It just did... GAG! I can smell it now.... hee, hee, hee... This is just plain old GROSS! Chicken manure....the smell still haunts me. Cryssa

Little Match (Poetry) - 2/8/2008 6:50:04 PM
This one still makes me cry... What a beautiful "match." I was so blessed to meet tiny Ressa. I am sure her light still burns brightly, delighting her cousins and Grandma's heart. I hope you've found balm in the darkness. Love, Cryssa

X-Changes (Poetry) - 2/5/2008 6:10:52 AM
X-cellent X-pression by an X-pert! Powerful and thought-provoking message accentuated by its brevity. Very well done -- Alan

X-Changes (Poetry) - 2/4/2008 2:23:47 PM
Leo - Concise expression of the paradox of God's love. Wonder instead of sentimentality. Good sense, good sound, good poem. - David

X-Changes (Poetry) - 2/4/2008 11:28:22 AM
I love it... and I love so much of it. In so few words you have said so much... I didn't catch the double meaning of the title until I had read the poem... at least to me it was a double meaning. One meaning being that of exchange and the other being that of kind of canceling out the x change... because it isn't equal and never will be. We give Him so little and He gives us back so much. I also really liked your use of "i" rather than I. Showing that we are so small and insignificant compared to His power and glory and kindness to us. Cryssa

X-Changes (Poetry) - 2/4/2008 9:14:59 AM
This is a wonderful way to start my day, remembering His goodness and love. "Thank YOU!" God bless you. Kathy

X-Changes (Poetry) - 2/3/2008 9:50:12 PM
And is this morsel ever yummy! No, it's not a bad trade. Not bad at all. One day in seven, one penny in ten, one Savior for a measly me... Incredible returns. And he makes it rain when I can't cry-- he loves me best, I know it. But the remarkable thing is, I think everybody feels the same way. Awesome! I like your poem very much. All those "h's", "m's" and "f's"-- a euphony of splendor, and parallel to boot! --Charlie

X-Changes (Poetry) - 2/3/2008 8:47:16 PM
interestingly put. cheers

X-Changes (Poetry) - 2/3/2008 7:27:50 PM
allegorically divine. .. . and what shall we do for the least of these? its miraculous, nothing short of that, that he took our filth in exchange for beauty. ... stones. .. .hearts of stone, stoned as believers. ...stone ground into meal. .. dust. . .. sand...ashes. .. . we offer so little and get so much. .. transcendent graced. .. amen ness

X-Changes (Poetry) - 2/3/2008 6:51:04 PM
Paying it forward, Leo, beautifully penned inspiration. Well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

La Llorona (Poetry) - 1/31/2008 3:34:54 AM
A thing of beauty, dark and bitter sweet. Keep up the good work Ty

Diamonds And Dust (Poetry) - 1/27/2008 5:22:45 PM
Nice pen that many can relate to: "the one who comes into our life with that "wrecking ball smile" (great line!) and leaves us in ruins - but no matter how strong the wall it's gonna crumble again sometime - Great title. best, michael guy

Diamonds And Dust (Poetry) - 1/27/2008 9:12:46 AM
The only valid critic is the public. Someone said that but which artist escapes me. Nevertheless, an interesting endeavor.

Diamonds And Dust (Poetry) - 1/27/2008 7:53:47 AM
Leo, I read this a few times through, and still I came away with that similar experience when reading much of your other poems--that somehow it's a lot more complex and layered than I realize. Perhaps I'm just admitting to being an ignoramus, though the bits that I do fathom I enjoy most splendiferously. Or maybe--don't laugh--it's that reading some of your lines evokes similar sensations of gazing at a page of html--the way you structure your lines. Like dropping code onto a page. Ah well...as wordpress infamously asserts: code is poetry. Yours is definitely poetry.

Diamonds And Dust (Poetry) - 1/26/2008 7:32:01 PM
wow--what a wonderful write-so well expressed as emotions run deep

Diamonds And Dust (Poetry) - 1/26/2008 4:42:05 PM
Nothing, but... genius. Ron

Diamonds And Dust (Poetry) - 1/26/2008 1:04:33 PM
hee, hee, hee... Boy would I love to know if I had that same teacher! I love the poem, the form, and the message. It's shape only enhances the meaning. Cryssa

Diamonds And Dust (Poetry) - 1/26/2008 9:10:29 AM
Oh, Oh, Oh... WOW! I absolutely love this! I love that I can see the rebuilding process going on-- the shifting mortar at the end, and that separated elipses. . . (in bold) and what's interesting, is that the wall is so rigid-- so visible, that though you read and reread the first part of the poem, the words just pile up behind the wall and don't really sink in-- so true-to-life. A great write! --Charlie

Diamonds And Dust (Poetry) - 1/26/2008 7:20:39 AM
egads; arent you the clever chap :} love the smart-aleckiness of the rebuke ANd i love the message and format of this. . . the way it smears the words in the middle of all that structure. ..all that post-mortar resurrection, a renaissance of the relational sort. ..of mind...of love even. . some sort of willing destruction--- and even more perfect is the end. .. .so 0pen....left... left.. . just left.. . i really really like this. .. ness p.s. what a doofus teacher~ so haughty in her pseudo.avant-garde.ness

Little Match (Poetry) - 1/25/2008 12:18:06 PM
Leo - Another god one that breathes. I especially loved the lines: And I saw the beauty of the colors and the shapes of things I saw my way And I soaked it all in And I sang like a goat -- low and guttural and full of carefree joy Love is not free - but the price makes it more valuable. - David

The Greatest Poem I Ever Wrote (Poetry) - 1/25/2008 12:06:17 PM
Leo - The more of your poems I read, the more impressed I am. This is a sad and beautiful poem. It breathes experience, filled with profundity instead of sentimentality.- David

El Rio de los Remedios: Scrabble War X (Poetry) - 1/18/2008 8:41:16 PM
Leo - You've created a profound myth with this poem. Unique images and metaphor. - David

El Rio de los Remedios: Scrabble War X (Poetry) - 1/11/2008 7:39:06 AM
powerful and interesting~`*

Upon Learning I Make Mistakes (Poetry) - 12/27/2007 8:12:27 PM
Time is only a convention Leo. Who cares about space and time? Upon shoveling, I solve problems... other than mine. Axilea

El Rio de los Remedios: Scrabble War X (Poetry) - 12/24/2007 11:43:31 AM
This is hardscrabble poetry with a twist. It had me thinking about the Snake River and that medicine woman who tried to save your soul as long as there was money coming. Ron

One or We or To Love Is To Be (Poetry) - 12/17/2007 11:17:38 PM
This might not be the ideal time for me to read "love poems", but they seem to find me. Maybe they love me and by "they" I mean "not me", still it's me that "not me" loves. But who does "me" love? (Do me love! And maybe I'll do it to you?) You see, Leo, I'm really confused. MY equations don't work out, that must be the source of my problem. Maybe. But you seem to have found the solution that works for you. Can't be generalized, no it can't. Axilea

El Rio de los Remedios: Scrabble War X (Poetry) - 12/17/2007 6:24:07 PM
reminds me of the Tigris. great description of the historical process of determinism. God help us if it gets going in America. regards, pete

Logophobia: Scrabble War VIII (Poetry) - 12/14/2007 3:56:03 PM
Sensitivity to a tee. Poetry cuts--deep. Ron

Inside Looking In (Poetry) - 12/14/2007 3:33:06 PM
We are multifaceted beings and there is so much within each of us, including that which we don't wish to see. But sometimes it's good to look at oneself from a different perspective, to confront the different faces of our inner reality. To understand and talk to oneself... without ending up with a split personality, though! I like your poem and for the first time I will not agree with Charlie on one point: I don't think it's scary. Axilea

El Rio de los Remedios: Scrabble War X (Poetry) - 12/13/2007 5:30:57 PM
A triumph, more startling than most that came before. If only I had an ounce of your wizardry. And I'll pocket your gleaming token with a smile and the hopes of many a fond romp through those most exalted groves--Poetry, the true Jardin de las Delicias. Ahi guarde mi alma y ahi nos veremos.

El Rio de los Remedios: Scrabble War X (Poetry) - 12/13/2007 3:32:52 PM
what?? where is William going? but. . what a glorious spiral of symbolism. .. all the secrety goodness of storytelling myred by the muck, all the underbelly dark privies. .. yet something in this [maybe its my sinister side], especially as the words traipsed through my head, made me smile infinitely. . .nothing like a good beheading. ..a strange tangent that is traversing both classical and modern lines. ..clever balancing act. . superbly conceived. huzzah~

How to Throw a Poem (Poetry) - 12/13/2007 2:43:21 PM
There is a poem, "Baseball" I believe its called, that this reminds me of. Excellent free verse.

El Rio de los Remedios: Scrabble War X (Poetry) - 12/13/2007 1:20:14 PM
Excellently penned challenge, Leo, I have enjoyed watching two masters parry. :) *Oops, wrong sport* Anyway, been fun ... well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

El Rio de los Remedios: Scrabble War X (Poetry) - 12/13/2007 1:16:53 PM
Puts you in the know, this one. Though where is there NO corruption? Great metaphor.

A Sky So Blue (Poetry) - 12/13/2007 1:09:32 PM
great word play. enjoyed. cheers

El Rio de los Remedios: Scrabble War X (Poetry) - 12/13/2007 11:05:34 AM
Superb metaphor in this poetic pot-pourri written with much brilliance...

El Rio de los Remedios: Scrabble War X (Poetry) - 12/13/2007 9:00:33 AM
Funny that Charlie should mention William Cryer. This poem was written partly as a tribute to him, as he is in his last bit of time here in our den. Godspeed, sire. Godspeed. And PS, Charlie . . . you spelled truly wrong. Can I challenge? hehehe

El Rio de los Remedios: Scrabble War X (Poetry) - 12/13/2007 8:50:06 AM
Trully, your intellect is dizzying. To love that you are nothing, and so desire a plunge into hellish, fetid water? You, my dear, are brilliant. This reminds me a lot of William (the) Cryer's poetry-- all that fantasy mixed with vivid color and mysterious, ethereal atmosphere. I really love your asides here-- it makes me feel like you're letting me in on a great secret. And I also love the sense I get reading this and pre-knowing the outcome-- the want to holler a warning out to prince Narcissus, but alas, "his emptiness consumed him." And you end with "the murky surface"-- not a bad line either, so thank you. Take care. BTW: Ogress episode continues as a commentary to Ted Bossis' latest poem. (It's a kissing book) --Charlie

You Roll Back the Seasons (Poetry) - 12/13/2007 1:17:33 AM
You will tell me the secret path to this remote place where the change of color occurs. Tell me you will... as I'm left with ashes and the only "song" I hear is the scream that would come out of Edvard Munch's famous painting. Lovely caress of a poem. Axilea

Logophobia: Scrabble War VIII (Poetry) - 12/12/2007 5:29:21 PM
A freakin apotheosis of wit. I tremble in your presence, Sir Leo. You tread lofty and rarefied regions--and gracefully--so magnanimously--on occassion you let drop a crumb for us to feast upon.

Logophobia: Scrabble War VIII (Poetry) - 12/11/2007 9:10:14 PM
anybody want a peanut? i jsut love the meandering of your mind. .. . the slosh, swashbuckle of thoughhts htat render me dizzy giddy crazy smiling. .. at least its not a kissing book :} ness

Logophobia: Scrabble War VIII (Poetry) - 12/11/2007 7:44:47 AM
Wow Leo! This is fantastic. I think "Charlie" will have to work extremely hard to top this one. This is definitely a WAR piece. I am glad you are not hurling these s.words at me!

Logophobia: Scrabble War VIII (Poetry) - 12/11/2007 4:57:52 AM
Leo, Wow. WOW! No more rhyme wins me with its...rhyme. LOL Love this one, indeed, so much so, it's going into my library. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Logophobia: Scrabble War VIII (Poetry) - 12/10/2007 9:23:29 PM
Holy Cow!!! (She removes her fingers from around his neck) Now that is Something, Highness. (She takes two steps backwards and curtseys down to her knees.) WOW! (she says, with unsuppressed awe and wonder. She gets up.) Holy, Holy Cow! (she repeats, as if she doesn't have a clue what to say-- and she doesn't-- I know.) That, my chum, is a beastie of a poem to top! But I... I am like clotted cream. And I WILL rise to the top! My Lines-- my s:words against your ink steel, and you think a simple little pen wiggle like "I can not bear" will make me happy? Hmm? Now if I only had a haulocaust cloak, that would be something... (she runs off to her den to rummage in her closet... )

Pit Fall (Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love): Scrabble War VI (Poetry) - 12/7/2007 3:30:21 PM
Uncle Leo, Don't even think about crying Uncle. You are fantastic! I can still smell it. Not that --but the scent of victory. You done good in a stinky, sticky situation. And since you are so FABULOUS I think we can slip you a blank tile. We are rooting for you!

Pit Fall (Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love): Scrabble War VI (Poetry) - 12/6/2007 5:34:11 AM
the abyss and how when you look into it, it also gazes into you; become entangled, immersed, ensconced. .. you [and charlie] are jsut wicked geniuses...you should share the wealth!!! i loooooooooooooved this and how it is felt through all senses, could breathe, eat, touch this. .. a wonderful early morning wrapping on a bland oatmeal day.. how long will y'all keep this up? crazy good stuff; like oxygen it is. . ness

Pit Fall (Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love): Scrabble War VI (Poetry) - 12/5/2007 8:55:31 PM
Farmboy. Fetch me that rock there--the one that got pitched into that great pool of icky chicken poo. Oh baby! You've just attacked me with Caca Feo. NASTY! But I am not left-handed either! Swoosh, swoosh, thunk. In the meantime, stay down-wind, and dream of * sweet-smelling *women. (a; woman) --Charlie

Pit Fall (Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love): Scrabble War VI (Poetry) - 12/5/2007 7:54:24 PM
Leo, the difference between you and me: you are a MUCH better poet. By far. Even in mere poetic banter you chart new territories and plumb greater depths. I am just happy to be able to tag along. Now excuse me while I go and resume my "Ode to Earwax."

Pit Fall (Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love): Scrabble War VI (Poetry) - 12/5/2007 6:40:15 PM
Leo, I love these challenges the stretch the imagination and the Muse...my muscles are getting a work out, between reviewing you and Charlie, seeing what level you raised the bar to. Awesome reply. *Slainte* :) (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Pit Fall (Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love): Scrabble War VI (Poetry) - 12/5/2007 6:33:16 PM
i grew up on a farm and found this very funny

Scrabble, Part Two (Poetry) - 12/2/2007 1:11:23 PM
Unique and witty. Gets my vote. Ron

Burrowing: Scrabble Squabble Part IV (Poetry) - 12/1/2007 11:24:15 AM
en garde- -- clever.ly quipped and quilled as well. .. i love this epic.becoming stratego battle. ..

Burrowing: Scrabble Squabble Part IV (Poetry) - 11/30/2007 11:05:04 PM
You've got me stumped--I admit it. But check out Crystal's poem on my site--not bad either. Now I've got to try to incorporate her and your last lines--and I thought she was on my side!!! You guys are cleaver--very cleaver--you've hacked my heart to bitZ!!! It's okay. I mean, don't feel guilting or anything. I'll get over it...eventually....

Burrowing: Scrabble Squabble Part IV (Poetry) - 11/30/2007 10:14:51 PM
very clever!

Burrowing: Scrabble Squabble Part IV (Poetry) - 11/30/2007 8:04:35 PM
he! such verbose, protracted imbroglio! but the chortles! --and Leo brandishes his razor-edged poignard--his wit--and strikes yet again! Will this leave Charlie defeated and humbled? The anticipation is unbearable!

Burrowing: Scrabble Squabble Part IV (Poetry) - 11/30/2007 7:36:16 PM
Oh, ho, using an innocnet animal to try to shake Charlie's compassion...oh, boy, can't wait for the response! This is brilliant, Leo, a move I wasn't expecting. If this was chess, I'd say "Check." LOL Well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

One or We or To Love Is To Be (Poetry) - 11/30/2007 4:38:55 PM
Just so you don't include THEM. Ron

Top Down (Poetry) - 11/30/2007 7:00:24 AM
There is something very intimate that remains symbolic in this poem. I would even say that part of the imagery is very surreal. Feelings come out of somewhere and not so innocently. They're made of love and death, worries and a world turned upside down... until we all disappear one day, don't we? I don't know about the "song aspect", I read this as a poem. Until next time, Axilea

Scrabble, Part Two (Poetry) - 11/30/2007 6:46:57 AM
This duel terrifies me. What happens the one who loses? In other words, what will happen to you? ;) Axilea

Scrabble, Part Two (Poetry) - 11/27/2007 8:34:48 PM
so cute-i like her spunk!

Scrabble, Part Two (Poetry) - 11/27/2007 3:00:05 PM
clever and quick.witted; but be careful, Charlie can u.s[l]urp your lead. ..extemporaneously even! y'all are charming me to death :} ness

Scrabble, Part Two (Poetry) - 11/27/2007 1:56:28 PM
Leo, Mmm, a challenge! I bet Charlie's gonna take your bet and you're gonna regret because she's the best that's ever been! LOL Sorry--Charlie Daniels snuck up on me. Love this one, and the little song at the end is a new one on me. Well done. Triple word score! :) (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Scrabble, Part Two (Poetry) - 11/27/2007 10:05:59 AM
A plausible poem: (applause, applause); with just the right tone (applause, applause) What more can I say (I pause, I pause)... Hey, this is good stuff, but I'll save it for later. You just wait, you meanie--giving me a line like that! I'll see your aardvark, and I'll raise you twenty...

Vivisection (Poetry) - 11/26/2007 9:01:53 PM
Examining and not being able to see, observing, dissecting and forgetting all humanity. Fascinating themes. If you ever read my poems "the observer" and "the naked eye", you will have an idea of what I think of this. There's something schizophrenic in the way we lose touch with realities that we want to know more about. By killing, cutting, fragmenting, not looking at the whole picture. I like the image you have created by mentioning the practice of reading future from the intestines of animals (or, I read this somewhere, from those of beaten enemies). It really "works" well in this poem. Ok, I could have won the longest comment prize, but I'm afraid Mr Cryer was the best by far). Axilea

One or We or To Love Is To Be (Poetry) - 11/25/2007 8:16:36 PM
and it just IS. .. or are? or. .. a circular rhythm and eternal image/question/theme clever. ,ness

One or We or To Love Is To Be (Poetry) - 11/25/2007 7:58:35 PM
Solving love equations with the substitution method--not my favorite method(my favorite, is asking my brainiac brother)--but it works! I love it. --Charlie

One or We or To Love Is To Be (Poetry) - 11/25/2007 7:07:05 PM
Revelling in words--and such orchestrated rhythm! It made me smile. A delightful dizzy romp.

Vivisection (Poetry) - 11/18/2007 7:55:54 PM
This is great. It's succint yet with style (is that a paradox?). It reminds me of a story that I'll recount here, and that never existed until right now: Once there was a girl, a trollop by trade, poor by proclivity, and rather homely. In fact, she had a ghastly face, and frequently had to wear a veil during her acts of carnal lewdness. But she was a well-liked girl on account of her friendly nature, and all her friends encouraged her to seek a more respectable profession. One day the girl was standing on a street corner when an old peddler woman shuffled by pushing a wagon. Across the wagon a large sign read: Visage for Sale. The girl, in desperation, stopped the old woman and explained in all earnestness that she wished to purchase a new visage, as hers was rather inadequate. The old woman did not need much convincing on the matter; one glance at the girl's hideous countenance was sufficient. So the old woman asked what sort of face the girl wanted, and how much money she had. The girl replied that she fancied a beautiful face--one to smite the heart of any man she might meet--but that she regrettably only had a shilling, a mere farthing. The old woman thereupon drew her cloak together and from her eyes there came an eerie gleam as she told the girl that if she wanted a new visage the price would be the girl's heart. The girl, ever so eager to look beautiful, immediately agreed and made the transaction. In due course, after some years had passed, the girl found that she had become a woman--a very beautiful woman. Every man who beheld her was smitten with a ravenous desire for her, and many had been the proposals for her hand in marriage. Strangely, inexplicably, the woman found that she could never find the right man for her--one whom she loved. More years passed, and still the woman suffered the daily throes of an unfulfilled person. In addition, the woman found that she no longer had any friends; they had long ago abandonded her, accusing her of being cold and unfriendly. At last, she remembered the old peddler woman who had sold her her beauty those years before. So the woman went and found the old peddler and demanded her heart back, saying how people claimed that she was as repulsive in manner as she was beautiful. The old peddler reached into her wagon and pulled out the heart, and said that she would have to take back her beauty if the woman insisted on having her heart back. The beautiful woman did not hesitate in her affirmative and traded her beauty for her heart back. Going home, the woman found that she was no longer radiant and ravishing as before, but that she wasn't as ugly as she anticipated. And from that day forward, she had all the friends one could have, and even found a man whom she loved. They married and had 14 kids. The End (I was going for the longest 'comment' here. I wonder if I won.)

Vivisection (Poetry) - 11/17/2007 4:14:23 PM
A gutty self examining piece. Ron

Vivisection (Poetry) - 11/16/2007 8:42:29 PM
stunning and powerful write-i love how you brought it to a climax and then ended it so well

La Llorona (Poetry) - 11/16/2007 7:52:28 PM
The many legends of La LLorona touch something deep inside of me. There is something wild and mysterious in her feminine nature, something that the Western world has tried to ignore. For me, it is also forever linked to a song and to Frida Kahlo, an artist I admire more that I can tell. I have really discovered your poem with great pleasure. A pleasure enhanced by reading out loud both versions. It's interesting how the two languages made me focus on different aspects. There is something more informal, conversational in "¿no te conozco?" and "y con una mediasonrisa y una respetuosa inclinación de la cabeza" depicts a more detailed image then the more "functional" "and with a half-smile and a respectful nod". I like/feel the image of a woman (actually a ghost) passing through you (or the character in your poem). An encounter that is made of changing, assimilating, empathizing. A ghost that awakens humanity in a man. Axilea

Vivisection (Poetry) - 11/16/2007 6:40:03 PM
Powerfully meaningful verses, Leo; very compelling. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

Vivisection (Poetry) - 11/16/2007 11:58:16 AM
powerful and intricate; if indeed we would just love instead of TRYING to love. .. i love how you almost dissected the poem itself into pieces, into stops and bloodrushes. . .. bleeding ink so to speak. . imagetic. i hope this is not a first hand account if it is, keep breathing~ blessings ness

Vivisection (Poetry) - 11/16/2007 10:52:41 AM
Very visual and moving write!! Dee

Vivisection (Poetry) - 11/16/2007 10:18:16 AM
Leo - Perceptive observation about love. I wonder how many loves lie there in the dust because we couldn't let it be? Great poem. - David

Vivisection (Poetry) - 11/16/2007 7:53:40 AM
Holy cow! Don't try to figure it out anymore. Just let the thing lie on a rock and bask in the sun. --Charlie

The Gravy Queen (Poetry) - 11/14/2007 5:23:41 PM
Hope her tears reached Georgia. Ron

The Gravy Queen (Poetry) - 11/13/2007 8:34:52 AM
Hey this rocks! The rhythm is perfect; in fact, I've been rereading 'Paradise Lost' as my bedtime reading (nothing facilitates slumber better! haha) and the steady cadence of iambic pentameter has created a sort of lethargic conditioning effect on me, so that when I read your first line, I immediately lapsed into a sleepy stupor. lol It's got a light whimsical flavor that appeals to the children in us all.

The Gravy Queen (Poetry) - 11/12/2007 7:47:31 PM
very clever and well written!

The Gravy Queen (Poetry) - 11/12/2007 10:25:37 AM
Leo, I, too, love this one. Dang. Wish I'd written the original and the follow up: delicious imagery! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

The Gravy Queen (Poetry) - 11/12/2007 9:37:43 AM
Oh Leo -- I love it. You won't believe how hard I tried to get the seasonings into my sonnet, but they just wouldn't go. It still needs a pinch of sage--but I know that mother-sage put it in anyways. Thank you so much for completing the thought! --Charlie

Top Down (Poetry) - 11/8/2007 7:36:40 PM
I love this. I can feel it. I agree with Charlie. You need to check around for a musician, do you know any? Linda

Inside Looking In (Poetry) - 10/11/2007 7:41:28 AM
Scarey! I love the line "I close our eyes"--wouldn't it be nice if we could manipulate our moods so easily?--Charlie

A Sky So Blue (Poetry) - 9/30/2007 9:49:11 AM
Beautiful rework. I like the stanza formation--four quatrains with three recurring words shifting and changing positions and yet building a story and beautiful images--much shorter than a sestina, but do you notice, it's pretty much the same thing--just internal. I gotta try something like this. The only line that sticks out is "and realized then, that us, we weren't." Anyone that can play so fluidly with words does not disuse our mother tongue so! Be good! I know you can come up with something--maybe a slant rhyme like "ird" or "ooo" or "ood" or "oot" or "int,ant,ent" etc.

How to Throw a Poem (Poetry) - 9/19/2007 9:30:13 AM
Leo One of the best poems about poetry I've ever read. Love it!-David Hightower

You Roll Back the Seasons (Poetry) - 9/18/2007 10:25:23 PM
"and sang a song that chased away the dying day" Very beautiful. Charlie

Upon Learning I Make Mistakes (Poetry) - 9/18/2007 10:21:21 PM
I remember a lot of shoveling as a kid--so glad I left my shovel behind me--August is a pretty deep month, though--good luck. Keep writing! I love your stuff! Charlie

La Llorona (Poetry) - 9/18/2007 10:18:00 PM
The not-caps in this poem really add to the atmosphere. It seems to be in built right in the middle of something. Good Job! Charlie

Top Down (Poetry) - 9/18/2007 10:10:20 PM
I love this poem. I think it would also make great lyrics set to music with a little refrain. It would not harm this poem one iota to have the title repeated at the bottom either. I know the song you mentioned too... The whole piece has great atmosphere. Keep writing Char

Top Down (Poetry) - 9/11/2007 4:36:23 PM
Splendid! Ron

Top Down (Poetry) - 9/11/2007 7:51:36 AM
Ho ho ho. Being Christmas and all, I thought I'd stop by, ;) Your poem makes me happy. Makes my jiggle quiver from top down. And as I'm now a Kringle, that says a lot. Keep them coming...I'll expect a lot of 'em next Christmas when I come back, or no presents for you! Mho ho ho!

Top Down (Poetry) - 9/9/2007 7:59:20 PM
such an interesting way to say such sweet and loving things-sounds like a wonderful invitation!

Top Down (Poetry) - 9/9/2007 5:45:02 PM
i love the pure aesthetics of this; the driving force nehind the images.. .feel the wind ripping through the words. .. loverly~ ness

Top Down (Poetry) - 9/9/2007 4:24:47 PM
very cool poem for sure; nice driving!

Top Down (Poetry) - 9/9/2007 2:39:43 PM
You have an impressive talent. Great work!

The Greatest Poem I Ever Wrote (Poetry) - 9/7/2007 11:36:01 PM
I'm weeping still. Hang in there, Cameron! Charlie

Little Match (Poetry) - 9/7/2007 11:04:06 PM
This happened to me once. I so love your line "I sang like a goat." You realy made me cry. So, I'm blowing three kisses away on the wind, one to little Ressa, one to you, and one to my own little guy: Happy Birthday, David. Kiss your little one for me, keep bleeeeeeting, and let that flicker dance on... Charlie

The Wind Tree (Poetry) - 9/6/2007 10:59:49 PM
Nice still shot. Cheryl

Of Devils and Dust (Poetry) - 9/6/2007 10:52:17 PM
A finished poem.

Epiphany of a Dead Bird (Poetry) - 9/6/2007 10:49:02 PM
read that last word to mean epiphany and you've got an entirely new poem--right? I'm surprised people laughed at this poem. I think it has a lot to say about the angst of coming of age. Ciao, Cheryl

Peaches (Poetry) - 9/6/2007 10:16:42 PM
i think i read this piece in an anthology once--? Ciao

Lament of the Blacksmith (Poetry) - 9/6/2007 10:04:45 PM
You're my fave! CIAO Cheryl

The Greatest Poem I Ever Wrote (Poetry) - 8/28/2007 10:02:31 PM
Awwwwww! What a lovely tribute and still there will be more to come..... Be safe, Karen

The Greatest Poem I Ever Wrote (Poetry) - 8/28/2007 5:00:21 PM
Great creation! Unfinished. Ron

You Roll Back the Seasons (Poetry) - 8/27/2007 4:29:51 PM
Have you read that most compelling story about the nightingale written by John Crowley? "The Nightingale Sings at Night" One of my favorite stories, and provokes tears every time I read it. For some reason your poem evoked reminiscent feelings. Lovely.

Upon Learning I Make Mistakes (Poetry) - 8/27/2007 4:24:18 PM
Charming. Good stuff.

Of Devils and Dust (Poetry) - 8/27/2007 4:22:10 PM
I think this is my favorite poem you've shared so far. It's imbued with such grace and a deep resonance that gives the poem a feel of something classic, to be memorized and read again, and again, and again.

Lament of the Blacksmith (Poetry) - 8/27/2007 4:16:21 PM
Holy flipping cow, Batman! That is da shizzle!!

Inside Looking In (Poetry) - 8/27/2007 4:11:18 PM
Startling verse. One thinks of "M. du Miroir," penned by none other than Hawthorne, who, perhaps more than any poet, has tantalized my imagination and sent me reeling in poetic reveries with his astonishing prose. Somewhere I've stashed a tribute to him that I wrote several years ago; I'll see if I can find it to post.

The Greatest Poem I Ever Wrote (Poetry) - 8/27/2007 4:00:48 PM
Witty, and totally enchanting. More than anything in your poem I feel the joy of words and the feelings that compel their formation.

The Greatest Poem I Ever Wrote (Poetry) - 8/27/2007 4:33:28 AM
Children and the emotions they stir within us are poetry in the finest sense. A beautiful poem, Leo. Thank you, Jill

The Greatest Poem I Ever Wrote (Poetry) - 8/26/2007 9:27:03 PM
this is truly a lovely and deeply emotional write-a beautiful poem and striking picture

The Greatest Poem I Ever Wrote (Poetry) - 8/26/2007 4:03:07 PM
It sure is Great though! what an incredible idea, the expression told in the essential language of love and poetry. Great photo too! This is the first of yours I've read (it shouldn't have been) Glad it was.

The Greatest Poem I Ever Wrote (Poetry) - 8/26/2007 3:39:09 PM
This was an xcellent display of expression

The Greatest Poem I Ever Wrote (Poetry) - 8/26/2007 3:18:15 PM
This poem brought tears to my eyes. Blessings, Holly

Inside Looking In (Poetry) - 8/22/2007 7:10:19 PM
This certainly makes one think; worthy of more than a single reading. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

Inside Looking In (Poetry) - 8/22/2007 7:41:27 AM
Eerie, captivating--outstanding! Ron

Inside Looking In (Poetry) - 8/22/2007 4:31:01 AM
a very interesting write-i enjoyed reading

Lament of the Blacksmith (Poetry) - 8/18/2007 9:54:57 AM
This is bloody brilliant, Leo, and I would LOVE an iron rug! Poetry at its best, kind sir. Sunniest, Deborah

Lament of the Blacksmith (Poetry) - 8/17/2007 1:32:06 PM
I'm surprised at how few reviews this masterpiece has received . . . are the literati wearing blinders or are they on vacation?! This is a piece of Americana here, people . . . embrace your culture!! Give this man his due. Great write, my compatriot, and I am not given to idle praise!! Mel

Lament of the Blacksmith (Poetry) - 8/15/2007 4:21:41 PM
Wow! This was pure art in motion! Great poem structure. the singling out of the first letter in bold just makes the whole poem come at you in 3-D. Absolute great write!!

The Wind Tree (Poetry) - 8/15/2007 1:44:48 PM
Melancholy and mournful in its beginning, reaching out for the memory of a better time, but tender and hopeful at its ending. Indeed, "Where does the wind come from?" Neither does "its partner the shadow" know from whence it comes or whither it goes. A delicate, pensive and splended piece, Leo.

Lament of the Blacksmith (Poetry) - 8/12/2007 3:21:44 PM
So very interesting and creative! A dying breed blacksmiths are and it is so sad for such a wondrous art to disappear..... Be safe, Karen

Lament of the Blacksmith (Poetry) - 8/12/2007 12:08:17 PM
I would buy it for its folk art value. Superb poem of the blacksmith trying to be creative. My great great grandfather, was a blacksmith for a Wisconsin regiment in the Civil War. We have nothing written from him. Ron

Lament of the Blacksmith (Poetry) - 8/12/2007 9:46:46 AM
Superb word painting, you give us both words and image through your poetry! Thank you! ET

Lament of the Blacksmith (Poetry) - 8/12/2007 8:08:19 AM
enjoyed the write-really creative

La Llorona (Poetry) - 8/9/2007 2:31:20 PM
Appears to be two visions from different times. Ron

You Roll Back the Seasons (Poetry) - 8/8/2007 6:58:13 PM
I agree, quite lovely. Holly

La Llorona (Poetry) - 8/7/2007 1:12:52 PM
Very atmospheric, haunting too with it's visuals. Splendid stuff...

La Llorona (Poetry) - 8/6/2007 11:04:08 AM
I'm so glad that piece of Autumn got lodged in your soul!Splendid poem,thank you for sharing! Eileen

La Llorona (Poetry) - 8/5/2007 9:07:46 AM
Chale! Que poema! Algunos me dicen 'lloron' por lo de mi apellido, pero les explico que la traduccion de mi apellido seria 'pregonero'. mensos, jeje. Muy chido, tu poema. Acabo de llegar a mexico, por eso no he podido meterme a authorsden mucho, todavia estoy acostumbrandome, etc. muy pronto pasare por tus poemas no leidos con mis comentarios.

How to Throw a Poem (Poetry) - 8/4/2007 10:28:14 PM
i have a feeling you are writing about baseball or pitching or something. the painting the corners thing i dont understand being from a non-baseball playing country but you know... when i was in the US last year i caught a game in memphis and i was sitting right behind home plate behind the netting there and the foul ball went up over the netting hit the railing and landed right in my handbag haha. these old men in front of me were so angry at me lol. and thats all i know about baseball. but! i adore the way you have presented this piece. it is so different from anything else i have read on this site so far. so kudos to you =)

You Roll Back the Seasons (Poetry) - 8/3/2007 4:56:42 PM
A bluebird, for sure, of happiness, that is. I take it to be a golden goose, like the one I've received. Ron

You Roll Back the Seasons (Poetry) - 8/2/2007 2:16:10 PM
Awwww! How very endearing. The bird reached out and you responded, splendid..... Be safe, Karen

You Roll Back the Seasons (Poetry) - 8/2/2007 11:19:20 AM
absolutely lovely write, well done

Upon Learning I Make Mistakes (Poetry) - 7/31/2007 6:09:35 PM
Interesting! Perhaps slowing down some and allow you to catch up to you..... Be safe, Karen

Upon Learning I Make Mistakes (Poetry) - 7/31/2007 5:19:50 PM
My knees are all scarped and this new moon is round I've eaten my pride in pennies and pounds So what if tomorrow comes with entrails I'll leap into Autumn and race the snails Be there before Christmas then try to remember The folks that I raced back in November I found myself, while reading your poem, toes on the starting line and grooving a rhyme. I dig your pens. Susan

Upon Learning I Make Mistakes (Poetry) - 7/31/2007 12:32:19 PM
very clever! know that feeling myself

Of Devils and Dust (Poetry) - 7/30/2007 12:20:30 PM
The dark beauty of this poem moves me...

Little Match (Poetry) - 7/29/2007 2:37:54 PM
Love is like a flame; get too close and you could get burned. Artful analogy. Ron

The Wind Tree (Poetry) - 7/29/2007 1:36:09 PM
Never understood the concept of prose poem. However, this tale of a forelorn tree is rich in metaphor and hyperbolie. I, too feel that way about the wind. Ron

Little Match (Poetry) - 7/29/2007 10:17:11 AM
interesting write and i enjoyed how you brought it all together in the end

Little Match (Poetry) - 7/28/2007 2:52:30 PM
It is with pain yet love.maybe you miss the past? or just pass the the mist? good write.

Little Match (Poetry) - 7/28/2007 2:48:30 PM
What a sweet little poem.

Of Devils and Dust (Poetry) - 7/23/2007 8:33:01 AM
Leo, Nature and her rampages are on both our minds today: excellently penned, loved your word selection. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Of Devils and Dust (Poetry) - 7/22/2007 2:50:35 PM
Well said and nicely done. Let the band continue to play..... Be safe, Karen

Of Devils and Dust (Poetry) - 7/22/2007 10:29:40 AM
Oh, yes, I know them, those dust devils! Very smartly written poem, Leo, and superb ending! Thank you for sharing, Deborah

Of Devils and Dust (Poetry) - 7/22/2007 9:40:41 AM
A little band manned by Bruce Springsteen? ;) Dust devils mean evil spirits to the Navajos... So they avoid them, as the impending storm. Great Pen!

Of Devils and Dust (Poetry) - 7/22/2007 9:12:51 AM
I can picture Buddy Holly watching a dust devil and writing the song. Ron

Of Devils and Dust (Poetry) - 7/22/2007 8:57:32 AM
The eye of the storm

Of Devils and Dust (Poetry) - 7/22/2007 8:12:35 AM
well written-one can see/feel the impending storm

How to Throw a Poem (Poetry) - 7/22/2007 3:07:23 AM
Giggle! Well done! I think your readers will all appreciate your pitching style. Heh heh heh! I think you painted the corners quite nicely. Ted

How to Throw a Poem (Poetry) - 7/21/2007 9:00:27 PM
Wow, that's clever. Kudos! You should get a cookie for that! (With pecans, too.)

How to Throw a Poem (Poetry) - 7/21/2007 8:20:59 AM
You hit it outta the park with this one, a grand SLAM! I love this one, well done, Leo! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

How to Throw a Poem (Poetry) - 7/20/2007 1:16:38 PM
At least give 'em somethin' to swing at, Ain't that the truth? Walt

How to Throw a Poem (Poetry) - 7/20/2007 12:51:59 PM
i find this absolutely charming! i think partly because my dad is an absolute fan of "real" baseball and , of course the link to writing poetry-good write!

Peaches (Poetry) - 7/19/2007 6:37:40 PM
I can't figure out if this is some clever, multi-layered, Dickinson-esque analogy unfolding, or if it's simply a poem of peaches. Knowing what I've seen of your stuff so far, it's never simple. So I'll embarrass myself and say I don't comprehend the narrative. But the structure is unique, and the images are great!

A Sky So Blue (Poetry) - 7/16/2007 6:34:47 AM
the lightness in the rhythm of your poem belies the saddnes in the truth of the words-well done

A Sky So Blue (Poetry) - 7/14/2007 9:50:42 PM
Your use of the blue sky and your play with the words to tell a stark story of love gone awry impresses as original. Gina

A Sky So Blue (Poetry) - 7/14/2007 8:07:26 PM
Encore! Vastly amusing, and fun to read.

A Sky So Blue (Poetry) - 7/14/2007 6:40:28 PM
WOW ... your bio-pic is awesome - like a god. And your poem here is quite unique!

Epiphany of a Dead Bird (Poetry) - 7/14/2007 9:31:17 AM
Leo, Leo, Leo! Captivating, Poe-esque in a dark Stephen King humor...I like it! Yes! Hypnotic, one doesn't just read, they get sucked. IN! Well done, I'ma trackin' YOU! Two (so far) poems here, and they are dynaMITE!! Welcome to the Den, BTW. You're among friends. If no one else reads ya, know William Cryer and I will. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Epiphany of a Dead Bird (Poetry) - 7/13/2007 6:18:35 PM
I'll be damned! Your poem gave me the most uproarious case of guffaws I've had in quite a while. More!

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.