AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Craig Hartpence, iCindy Ziperman, iTobias Roote, iBeverly Mahone, iRichard Harris, iKim Lambert, iNancy Jardine, i
 
Home > John W Leko
 

Recent Reviews for John W Leko


Oh Taxi... (Short Story) - 7/20/2009 12:10:28 PM
I'm of a younger generation, but also have a vivid memory of my first RC car. While others had those that would zoom yards ahead of them, I walked only a few inches behind mine. I loved my childhood, but toys were never what money was spent on--they were distractions from schoolwork and learning. I grew up being probably the only person in my graduating class to have never cleared the original Mario Brothers. Now that I see those who spent hours on end in front of a TV screen making twice as much as I do, I wonder if my mother's wishes were in the best place. No matter, though, as I am and will always be secure in my knowledge that my days spent buried in Encyclopedia Brown books were well-spent.

the day's fate... (Short Story) - 4/16/2009 6:52:18 AM
Reverence...that is what I feel when I read your story...I have not been present to experience one of my parents passing away, and yet...our own experience with watching our son pass away...I guess there are many similarities. Reverence was what I felt at that time too...the thinning of the veil and the almost palpable feel of heaven and angels in your midst. Ah! I just realized today is my heaven son's birthday...I guess the perfect day to have read this and thus relived my own moments with my son... Thank you... Cryssa

the strangest mandatory medicine (Short Story) - 4/16/2009 6:42:27 AM
Love it! It is a superb look into the traditions that hold many of us...the little things we have been taught, that maybe don't really help us, but when we believe they do...magic happens! My husband always laughs at the little trick that my sister (Charlie) learned as a missionary in Peru...if you blow on a knot, it comes undone much quicker and easier. REALLY! IT WORKS! hee, hee... I know...like I said my husband just laughs and shakes his head...but when the knot comes out it is I who have the last laugh...hee, hee... Thanks for sharing this special memory with us! Cryssa

stacked... (Short Story) - 7/27/2008 10:31:48 AM
Good job, John. If I was playing cards with you instead of reading your story, I'd call it a stacked deck. Terry

the strangest mandatory medicine (Short Story) - 7/25/2008 5:43:46 AM
I love this for so many reasons, John. I, too, have concocted notions and potions for the care of my young one - it seems a little "magic" draws us closer to the notion that healing/restoration comes from both within and from that broader, more spiritual place. In yoga, there is a move where you extend your tongue and "roar", letting all "that does not serve" leave the body. Also, the giggling surely can't hurt as our spirits become lighter and lift our burdens from mind/body. What joyous memories you have. What an incredibly loving Grandmother - one who preserved and nourished her and your link to nature and to the Universe.

stacked... (Short Story) - 6/7/2008 3:21:00 AM
Quite interesting John the way you "Stacked" each word upon the other. Take the best of care, have a wonderful day. Sincerely, ~Gwendolyn

the day's fate... (Short Story) - 5/31/2008 6:42:50 PM
I especially felt your pain in this story. I wasn't there when my own mother died nor my father when he died. I heard about it second hand and it was the worst pain I have ever endured. That is one thing I am glad about not having to go back in time and live that over again. I am not sure I could do it. suffering and sickness are hard on everyone and it takes courage and faith to get the will to live and carry on...I admire your courage and your talent. Keep writing! katie

the day's fate... (Short Story) - 5/30/2008 7:59:59 PM
that was a lovely story John. it reminded me of my father beside his father's side in hospital as he was dying. my grandmother was also by his side and he died as they were holding hands.My dad was called after he died, and he went in again, but this time to look at the stillness of his father. He then read mantras to him, to help him on his way.

the strangest mandatory medicine (Short Story) - 5/17/2008 7:02:24 AM
Old memories and old rhemidies some times go hand in hand. I liked this trip down memory lane. My granmother made a lot of home remedies too....M

stacked... (Short Story) - 5/17/2008 6:58:37 AM
Lite, filled with some humor. Every thing was stacked!........M

Oh Taxi... (Short Story) - 5/14/2008 9:17:55 AM
John this was a most special story thoroughly enjoyable, I appreciate reading this. Knowing this memory is very close to your heart and it was a magnificent sharing although a shadow of sadness in the conclusion. Sending prayers and blessings to you John, ~Gwendolyn

Oh Taxi... (Short Story) - 5/8/2008 8:51:03 AM
Memories of youth... gifts, tears, taxis Nice write.

the day's fate... (Short Story) - 4/5/2008 5:47:20 AM
This swelled tears as memories of my mothers passing spread vivid once again across my inner eye. Your feeling burst from the screen creating the seemingly serene scene. “The family members one by one stood beside my father’s beside…in privacy…trios…until one by one…slowly felt that time was getting closer…there was less time…that this was not yet the time.” Outwardly, all was silent as you stood in deep thought, while inside each heart and mind raced thoughts known only to their beholder. Excellent job, John, on a topic I suspect was very difficult to experience again.

the strangest mandatory medicine (Short Story) - 3/25/2008 11:44:02 AM
This is very sweet and funny, the picture of you three with tongues left to dry out, lol, can I laugh a little? Well, the beauty of it is you now have great memories to add in your treasure box. Thank Grandma!

the day's fate... (Short Story) - 3/25/2008 11:40:53 AM
What a moving story...he did go to the light.

stacked... (Short Story) - 3/25/2008 11:36:53 AM
hahahaha, that word is now "stacked" in my head, lol.

Oh Taxi... (Short Story) - 3/25/2008 11:34:24 AM
Bitter-sweet memories of a yellow taxicab that meant the world to a young boy. Very touching story...your father did a great thing that day, he left you a gift that will last forever in your memory.

Oh Taxi... (Short Story) - 3/23/2008 12:14:12 PM
Great juxtaposing parallelism at the end. I too remember times when my father went out of his way for (just) me... things like that are pretty ...well... sacred. This is an important write-- one to pass on down the generations in a biography of your own. --Charlie

Oh Taxi... (Short Story) - 3/11/2008 1:50:59 PM
John, These memories are so dear, and I can see the little yellow taxi in my head. Toys were simpler then, but we got so much pleasure out of them, didn't we? All of it, good and bad, are a part of us, to be sure. Thanks for sharing your memories.

Oh Taxi... (Short Story) - 3/9/2008 2:36:18 PM
touching twist to end your story of another yellow taxi... and in your usual or unusual "ampersand style"... I too had a lower, middle class upbringing in a small 1950's salt box cape-cod style house. Most of gift were almost always bought by Mom also. But once my Dad (an ex WW2 fighter pilot) bought me my first gas powered model plane and we flew it togetherin a vacant lot. I remember it fondly as well. Great family, nostaglia human-interest story. Good for the aging boomers to read!

Oh Taxi... (Short Story) - 3/8/2008 8:10:03 PM
Your discriptions and remembrences brought tears to my eyes...nice job!

stacked... (Short Story) - 3/4/2008 12:45:23 PM
There is a lot of "stacked" meaning in this account, John. Cleverly created. Thanks for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

the day's fate... (Short Story) - 3/4/2008 8:31:27 AM
Your writing has resurrected the pain I felt so long ago as I too watched my father wither and die from cancer. The anguish is fresh once again as I relive those unforgettable moments through your illustrious words. You have done well in capturing the moment. Your gift is evident my dear John. I am sure your father smiles down on you from a better place and appreciates your talented efforts. Mickey

Oh Taxi... (Short Story) - 2/29/2008 6:21:00 PM
This story brought tears to my eyes...it is so touching. It means so much to have a family together at dinner time. It may seem such a little thing, but it makes a memory--an impression on a young boy. I am glad your Dad gave you the taxi...especially a powered one with a remote control. I can remember my very first walking doll--my aunt gave it to me...I loved her for that! I never had any toy with power either...I never forgot that toy or her for that... anyway, the last part of your story really got to me...and how ironic to be put in the same kind of taxi to be spared a domestic quarrel. Yes, they say whatever doesn't kill you makes you stronger, but try explaining that to a kid who only wants his family to stay together...yeah right... Bless you and your write wonderfully! Thanks so much for sharing your story katie :)

Oh Taxi... (Short Story) - 2/27/2008 9:29:53 AM
Childhood memories... when they are nice... they are really nice!

flowers in the heavens (Poetry) - 1/12/2014 6:37:54 AM
What an exquisite surprise it will be to walk across the rainbow bridge and see all that is waiting for us. Beautifully expressed sentiments. It is good to see you again… Ingeborg

Chambers of my Heart (Poetry) - 2/27/2011 2:15:28 PM
A powerful drink!!

By Way Of Return (Poetry) - 2/27/2011 2:04:27 PM
That was beautiful, John, and the happy ending so welcome! You have a wonderful talent.

sea son (Poetry) - 1/12/2011 8:38:58 PM
Magnificent, John. The art of a true poet. Yours in admiration and a touch of envy. -gene.

match mate in heaven (Poetry) - 1/12/2011 8:35:40 PM
So sorry I'm late getting here, John, but I wanted you to know how much I admire this beautiful poem, this excursion into your life, your heart, your sense of self. Excellent. -gene.

match mate in heaven (Poetry) - 1/7/2011 3:11:31 PM
John, powerful my friend. To the staccato march of your terse descriptors this reaches out and demands attention. Faith flows from every line. This is a fine rendering filled with compassion and deep understanding of spiritual commitment. I bid you love and peace my friend. Jon Michael

match mate in heaven (Poetry) - 1/5/2011 3:02:15 AM
How your images strike, John! In short pithy lines they sit up and demand notice, and rightly they receive it for this is writing of true quality, top drawer. It's good to see you back after so long, I missed you. John

match mate in heaven (Poetry) - 12/24/2010 11:59:55 PM
John, it was good to see you back and posting on AD. This is a very special poem for rarely do you see such beauty and mercy in a poem.

match mate in heaven (Poetry) - 12/24/2010 12:52:41 PM
Beautiful re-uniting!

match mate in heaven (Poetry) - 12/24/2010 9:31:52 AM
Your poetry brought tears to my eyes...Feeling as though I intruded on hallowed ground/water with your sharing of such private thoughts as these, yet feeling honored that you would share such beautiful words and feelings with us. The picture you create is a restful, hopeful one of joy, not melancholy... So good to read your words again, John! May you have a wonderful Merry Christmas full of joy and may the coming year be full of many blessings. Cryssa :~)

match mate in heaven (Poetry) - 12/24/2010 5:50:52 AM
Ahoy, this is beautiful John~ Blessings and Merry Christmas

match mate in heaven (Poetry) - 12/24/2010 4:47:42 AM
Hi John, Strange how I posted a poem on AD yesterday and you today. But as usual, yours far surpasses mine in poetic beauty. To me, "Match Mate in Heaven" speaks of the advancement of aging, the passing of youth, separation of lovers, and then being together for an eternity, since theirs is a match "made" in heaven. Stay well, John. Thanks for causing us to think. It was so good to read you once more. From the Hills of West Virginia... David Lee Thompson

match mate in heaven (Poetry) - 12/24/2010 4:16:11 AM
a beautiful, beautiful poem

match mate in heaven (Poetry) - 12/24/2010 2:52:15 AM
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!! HEAVENLY BEAUTIFUL POEM!!!!!!!!!! SO GLAD TO SEE YOU, JOHN!!!!!!!!!!! JUST BEFORE 2 DAYS AGO I WAS THINKING OF YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!! MERRY CHRISTMAS TO YOU, HAPPINESS AND ALL THE BEST FOR YOU TODAY AND EVERY DAY OF YOUR LONG LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

match mate in heaven (Poetry) - 12/23/2010 11:54:52 PM
Seriously, this is good and points out lots of things to think about.

absent (Poetry) - 3/28/2010 5:54:38 PM
Wow! This hit me like a ton of bricks. Thanks for sharing this colorful, evocative and revealing piece. Great writing, John. -=ra=-

sea son (Poetry) - 12/7/2009 8:48:28 AM
Beautiful dreamscape of darkness, light, love.

sea son (Poetry) - 11/14/2009 8:39:34 PM
This poem speaks to He who is our light. It also saddens me that this year the commercial season began even before Halloween. I think the true meaning is lost, and it is the responsibility of each of us to re-kindle the true meaning. Thank you for such an incredible poem. God bless you. Kathy

sea son (Poetry) - 8/27/2009 3:08:32 PM
Nice poem, and reflective with imagination. Leslie

sea son (Poetry) - 2/1/2009 2:37:26 PM
Lovely imagery~`*

For Giving (Poetry) - 1/18/2009 2:22:01 PM
Sheer brilliance... Love, Diana

divine goodness (Poetry) - 1/18/2009 2:18:54 PM
How wonderful John...This is just what I needed to read..There was an energy I felt whilst reading this poem that took me by surprise. Something I have not felt before...I cannot describe it even, but it felt good and positive...something like a moving force of benign energy. I felt comforted through and through by your heartfelt words.. Love, Diana

I spoke to the Moon (Poetry) - 1/17/2009 4:11:50 PM
This is a soft and utterly beguiling piece...Loved every word... Love, Diana

frameless (Poetry) - 1/12/2009 9:58:51 AM
I think many of us go through times when creativity becomes null . Its been happening to me lately. Written with depth and precection!....M

divine goodness (Poetry) - 1/12/2009 9:55:18 AM
A touching reminder of our loved ones who still linger in our hearts....M

sea son (Poetry) - 1/12/2009 9:53:21 AM
Beautiful and captivating John. The star leadeth to salvation!.....M

sea son (Poetry) - 1/5/2009 8:06:57 AM
Hello John, it's indeed a beautiful offering. unique, elegant, introspective and captivating. Thank you for sharing. Blessings to you, Sheri

sea son (Poetry) - 12/16/2008 6:41:08 AM
A beautiful write John....always a pleasure, blessings & peace, love Holly

sea son (Poetry) - 12/15/2008 11:00:51 AM
Thank you for sharing these beautiful sentiments, John. Love and peace to you, Regis

sea son (Poetry) - 12/15/2008 10:22:49 AM
Your chosen words paint a picture of our world, as it SHOULD be! Too much of anything, too much light, too much darkness, too many cars, too big of houses...Greed needs to find a place unseen! That one star must illuminate and guide us out of this darkness, but in knowing, too much light will keep it invisible! Know our place, and we have yet to find it! Wonderful poem, John...Always a treat here! :) Love and Peace~ Kimmy~

absent (Poetry) - 12/14/2008 4:13:54 PM
John I feel like an ole memory lost in time while reading "absent", then I feel like a lonely child making wishes for love of family...this is a wonderful story poem, like memories speaking into the soul... seeking...unending...harmed, yet hopeful....alone, yet seen.... Peace, Love & Poetry Embraced~Embrassé Vickie

divine goodness (Poetry) - 12/14/2008 4:04:57 PM
Beautiful Heart Lovely Poem You Have Blessed All Who Read "divine goodness" with Your Gifts of Angelic Love John Peace, Love & Much Happiness Embraced~Embrassé Vickie

sea son (Poetry) - 12/14/2008 4:01:59 PM
"in one star whose reflection brightest shines upon the water surrounded by symphony of eternal candles advent of the dawn." That's a great line, thought and expression... you always end well: espansivo. Still, the first stanza leaves out the 'life preserver' of the wreathless', who are not so due to disbelief but for whom Christmas becomes a lonely, friendless time when loves' ones have departed and people who pride themselves on extending themselves only do so to 'their own niche-like inclusions'.... sort of like AD has become for 'us' outcasts... I'll try to find the "light" PS: love the sea imagery, of course! Mike

sea son (Poetry) - 12/14/2008 4:01:18 PM
John your closing stanza is an encore of visual beauty from your poetic heart...."sea son" is a very beautiful write poet!! Much Love Den Brother Peace, Love & Poetry Embraced~Embrassé Vickie

sea son (Poetry) - 12/14/2008 12:48:38 AM
Yes, most wonderful writing. Yours in Christ, John Michael

sea son (Poetry) - 12/13/2008 2:18:38 PM
Your blessings to mankind are well embraced by many, and this write is truly the type of spirit that Christmas revolves around. Harold M. Nash

sea son (Poetry) - 12/12/2008 7:33:56 AM
Absolutely glorious write!!!

sea son (Poetry) - 12/11/2008 7:33:51 AM
What a beautiful piece, my friend! I don't know when I've read a more beautiful telling of the story.. It is indeed so good to have you posting again...) Always, Myrna

sea son (Poetry) - 12/11/2008 6:26:39 AM
Such a beautiful testament to the birth of the Son, our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. How sad it is for those of natal faith—the ones who have been taught from early on to believe in Him but have outwardly abandoned their ideals of Christendom. Yet they are unhappy still, for they know from within themselves that their belief in Christ still exists, and all the while they try to exhibit a different persona to the world. I often wonder how long God will turn his head from man's unbelief. If only "we" would do an about face—walk toward the Light—many problems of the world could be solved in the twinkling of an eye. Take care, John, and thank you for this lovely expression of your intimate thoughts regarding this time of year. To use your own words, He is our "Life Preserver," "Father of Maritime," "Savior of the Soul," "One Star," and more. May you have a joyous Christmas season now and a wonderful new year to come. From the snowy hills of West Virginia, David Lee Thompson

sea son (Poetry) - 12/11/2008 5:52:41 AM
I am reminded of a song whose one verse proclaims with great joy, "the light of love began to grow, one Christmas eve so long ago" -- " He came in silence on that holy night" -- your poem is filled with love's promise from the Son -- spiritually arousing work Dan -- thanks for sharing this wonderful thought as we near the celebration of His birth -- peace and love -- JMW

sea son (Poetry) - 12/10/2008 11:31:28 PM
An amazing write John thanks for sharing Peace be with you William

sea son (Poetry) - 12/10/2008 11:12:04 AM
You have captured so much beauty and meaning, truly exqusite. Blessings, Christine

sea son (Poetry) - 12/10/2008 10:28:22 AM
Stunning write....gotta love it!! Brought a little "CHristmas Inspiration" my way!! Love Tinka

sea son (Poetry) - 12/10/2008 9:47:47 AM
You have a remarkable way of seeing and expressing. I love the infusion of water - the ocean - a living 'be'ing to the overall composition. I especially liked these lines: "celebrate the sailors rite of passage with seagoing conviction"

sea son (Poetry) - 12/10/2008 4:39:52 AM
HEAVENLY BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE YOUR WORDS!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

sea son (Poetry) - 12/10/2008 4:07:28 AM
"...under Christmas tides of disbelief..." and ponder why is that so? The author gives us the question and the answer, there is no one to blame but ourselves for "...dishonorable recognition..." of our doubts when Faith are at hand for us to return to the fold. Georg

sea son (Poetry) - 12/10/2008 1:52:09 AM
great son of the sea verse John, smooth as fat babies behind

sea son (Poetry) - 12/10/2008 12:35:00 AM
You have penned this so beautifully...each line full of meaning.

sea son (Poetry) - 12/9/2008 11:02:16 PM
It always takes me several readings of your poems to see the complete meaning within...or at least what I imagine the true meaning to be...:~) This poem was no exception...even its title... I read it three times before I realized that together it meant SEASON...forgive me...I am tired... hee, hee... At any rate...Your poetry always has wonderfully metaphorical deep meaning and this poem is no exception. I especially loved the last stanza and the hope and brightness expressed therein. Cryssa

sea son (Poetry) - 12/9/2008 7:13:44 PM
Wonderful advent poem as we get our house in order for this great and festive Birthday Of Christ. Prepare the way of the Lord make straight His path.

sea son (Poetry) - 12/9/2008 6:49:24 PM
Sublime writing John! It soars and inspires with the beauty of your phrases! Hugs, Eileen

sea son (Poetry) - 12/9/2008 6:00:51 PM
Oh WOW, what a talent you have John to create this beautiful masterpiece where each expression is seen so vividly. Well done my friend. Love and hugs, Bonnie

sea son (Poetry) - 12/9/2008 5:47:07 PM
John How rich this is in thought, feeling and superior expression, every word and phrase meaningful! Excellent! John

divine goodness (Poetry) - 12/9/2008 8:49:02 AM
Lovely sentiments lovingly portrayed. Angels always with us, y e s. Thanksgiving is a wonderful opportunity to pay tribute, isn't it. Thank you for the gentle reminder. Hope the holidays bring you joy, peace, and sleighfuls of beautiful memories. <3 'Pea' <3

divine goodness (Poetry) - 12/5/2008 11:09:30 PM
oh I love this one!

divine goodness (Poetry) - 12/3/2008 3:59:58 PM
Different from your normal style...but loved it just the same. This sweet message gave me a lump in my throat. Thanks for sharing. Cryssa

divine goodness (Poetry) - 12/3/2008 10:54:02 AM
Ah yes. The energy of angels and the wind to liven up a special day. Nicely done, John. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

Chambers of my Heart (Poetry) - 12/3/2008 10:43:31 AM
Sometimes we are left with no choice but to carry our own light within our hearts, as other people and outside influences have darkened ours so much in the past. Sometimes the wind that comes along to knock out the light is just what we need and sometimes we need to keep a tiny flame lit inside just in case we can't find our way again. A very thoughtful piece! Best, Elizabeth

divine goodness (Poetry) - 12/3/2008 7:47:41 AM
And what a Supper it shall be! Great Title - Greater poem Your usual FINE words I alway enjoy reading Doug

divine goodness (Poetry) - 12/2/2008 2:46:09 PM
very very cherry John, excellent creative versing

divine goodness (Poetry) - 12/2/2008 2:27:05 PM
A very beautiful write!! Harold M. Nash

divine goodness (Poetry) - 12/2/2008 6:34:37 AM
there is great peace and love in your poem John -- the serenity is invasive and warmly aglow -- peace to you my friend -- JMW

divine goodness (Poetry) - 12/2/2008 4:58:45 AM
When holidays like Thanksgiving arrive, I always think of the large family of my youth and the cheerful, warm get togethers that have since disolved and vanished in the real world but remain in my memoires. As I read your poem, those memories visited again--a reminder that we don't have to wait for holidays to travel back in our thoughts. I read where you write mostly in your mind. Have you considered voice recognition software set-up and ready for you to use at any hour so when a poem as lovely as this comes to mind, you may just talk and it writes itself?

frameless (Poetry) - 12/1/2008 5:19:31 PM
For me, this stirring poem felt like an inner struggle between the flow of creativity and a certain restraint or hindrance to this flow. While the poem itself speaks to the triumph of creativity, its substance deals much with how elusive the creation often is for the creator. There's a certain "transience" here or "impermanence." Frameless is a delicate piece held securely within and protected by your substantive ponderings.

frameless (Poetry) - 12/1/2008 5:03:14 PM
This one is light and airy like the ghost of a thought lucky to be brought to computer by you. Ron

divine goodness (Poetry) - 12/1/2008 5:00:12 PM
A unique and uplifting view of a timeworn tradition. Loved it. Ron

divine goodness (Poetry) - 12/1/2008 8:32:01 AM
Universal, elemental "conspirings" bring a deep sense of peace and connectedness. I've hoped, as have so many, for your return as I've missed your uniquely beautiful writing. I love the way you have of creating in that special Leko-style that draws readers and sparks its own brand of connectivity amongst those of us who love your work.

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/30/2008 7:05:00 PM
John, How beautiful! The thought of our loved ones living in Heaven joining us for Thanksgiving is a brillant idea. It makes me long for my Mama who passed years ago. I feel she's still watching over me. Many blessings, ~Linda

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/30/2008 1:27:19 PM
Hey John...haven't been by in awhile and the flu kinda caught me a day before Thanksgiving...this is great, I like how you incor[porate those words of Angels the winds and past memories, to include the loss of friends and relatives...it gives us that time to realize there is more to be thankfull for than we truly realize...I am a bit late but I hope you and your family had a very joyfull Thanksgiving... take care... Art Sun...

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/30/2008 3:33:05 AM
John Exquisite imagination, what a lovely view to take! Thoughtful, rich, uplifting, just wonderful, thank you. John

frameless (Poetry) - 11/29/2008 6:02:21 PM
An outstanding write As always John Great to be reading your fantastic style again WELCOME BACK Peace be with you wILLIAM

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/29/2008 4:57:19 PM
This is the "most CREATIVE" thanksgiving poetry I've ever read. A sure streak of much needed "genius" in these times when cliche seems to rule the "airwaves" - that first stanza sets a supersensitive tone that fills the air with the energy of gratitude! ...and darn good poetry. Happy Thanksgiving always, michael

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/29/2008 4:54:19 PM
Dear John, I had the pleasure of reading your poem. In fact life is so beautiful, when we can write what we want, to express our feelings. The angels are always with us, it is always up to us to attract them or chase them away. Love to you and happy Thanksgiving, Emile

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/29/2008 3:47:23 PM
We do carry everything we've ever been inside us...Happy belated Thanksgiving John

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/29/2008 9:51:49 AM
Beautiful writing sweet man...be well and always safe...Hugs

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/28/2008 8:54:02 PM
I love this poem! Very spiritual and positive.

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/28/2008 10:19:36 AM
Happy Belated Thanksgiving!! Your word found paper here...thanks for sharing!! Love Tinka :)

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/28/2008 6:49:32 AM
Divine indeed,,I know my Angel's were with me...Happy Thanksgiving Christine

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/27/2008 9:05:53 PM
Yes, I believe that as well- I hope you shared a blessed day with your angels this Thanksgiving.

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/27/2008 6:18:17 PM
Thank you John for sharing this beautiful write. Newfie hugs, Rose

frameless (Poetry) - 11/27/2008 5:26:43 PM
John, It's great to read your work again! And this one was well worth the wait. take care, Willaim

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/27/2008 4:17:20 PM
John, The angels of our past shall forever be knocking at our heart's door, especially during special occasions such as Thanksgiving and Christmas, for we are tethered to those memories throughout the remainder of our days here on earth. You are a deeply perceptive individual, John, and I know of none other who can convey their inner thoughts bettern than you. May each of us be keenly aware of the mighty whisperings in the wind. Sincerely, David

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/27/2008 1:20:39 PM
What beautifully inspired thinking, John! I can relate to the sense that the elements conspire on these "holy-days" and there is either grave wind and wuthering, or unaccountable shafts and shifts of light. On such occasions, the world seems to be washed clean, to assume an unfathomable stillness amid all the hurly-burly. It's like Heaven gives pause. Funny, I'm in England and yet the cloud masses have been very busy and pictoral all day, a veritable cinema-show to complement the feasting I know is going on over The Pond! Right with you on this one. You are blessed to know that you entertain angels AWARES! :)) xx

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/27/2008 8:06:06 AM
such a heartfelt poem, John! I especially like these lines... " enjoy the company of their families on Thanksgiving Day. and to foster the security of recognition to those still in their hearts here on earth traveling to souls to assure them that no one person is ever forgotten to be thankful and to recognize that our loved ones though apart from us are ever present." to me, it speaks volumes about family, real values and whar really matters in our everyday lives, its not anything tangible, but people, and the days of our lives are each precious and sometimes we take these things for granted. we need a day like today to remind us to be Thankful and grateful for the blessings in our life. I hope this doesn't sound trite or simple, but sometimes we just don't see the gifts we are given in this life because we are in such a rush to succeed that we fail to see that we already have! great poem! katie :)

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/27/2008 6:30:48 AM
What a beautiful thankful praise you write about on this day of Thanks. I'm thankful for you coming back even if it will only be a little while. God Bless you and your family John. Love, Bonnie

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/27/2008 6:27:35 AM
'and to recognize that our loved ones though apart from us are ever present.' Indeed they are! John, this is one of the best Thanksgiving pieces I have ever read and I feel blessed to call you friend. Thank you... Always, Myrna And a Happy Thanksgiving to you!

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/27/2008 6:15:23 AM
What a lovely tribute to Thanksgiving and to those departed from us. Another beautiful poem from a beautiful person. Ingeborg

frameless (Poetry) - 11/27/2008 6:13:26 AM
John, so very good to see your work again -- you certainly have not lost your touch for the mastery of poetic expression -- in your work I sense self reassessment of values -- very beautifully written -- peace to you my friend -- JMW

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/27/2008 5:46:51 AM
I read this POEM with tears in my eyes!!!!!!!! BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/27/2008 5:41:07 AM
what a beautiful write this Thanksgiving morning!

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/27/2008 5:38:37 AM
Such a warm tender poem John....Happy Thanksgiving my friend, blessings & peace, Holly

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/27/2008 4:44:33 AM
...and Happy thanksgiving to you too, extended it to your family, friends and neighbors, because we need a society that's going near of each other, for too long we are being acting aloof. Georg

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/27/2008 4:01:39 AM
John, this is so truly beautiful. Happy Thanksgiving to you.

divine goodness (Poetry) - 11/27/2008 1:18:02 AM
Happy Thanksgiving John. Enjoy God's bounty with his angels above and below.

frameless (Poetry) - 11/26/2008 9:58:57 PM


frameless (Poetry) - 11/26/2008 1:52:44 PM
How lovely to see you again, John! I had been wondering... hope you're well. This is far more than a "toe in the poetic waters of return". It is a deep breath in, taking stock of the view, the height of the sun, the slant of the wind. Youself midstream amid all that running ink, catching up with yourselves nicely and tripping along downstream in anticipation of full flow. I like this burgeoning state. And the inversions of that final strophe are playful and fascinating. You have lift-off, my friend! :)) Good to see you back! Kate xx

frameless (Poetry) - 11/25/2008 10:47:33 AM
This is fine expression, John. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

frameless (Poetry) - 11/25/2008 7:02:08 AM
John I like what you done here...the process, the un~captured ability to create something...Great read

frameless (Poetry) - 11/25/2008 4:16:33 AM
Excellently composed and leaves the reader to ponder the depth of your write and the inner reflection you bring out of something lost but fighting to regain.

frameless (Poetry) - 11/23/2008 6:03:54 PM
Hello John, So good to see you, your words give one much to ponder, I feel sadness in them. Moving poem. Love,Christine

frameless (Poetry) - 11/23/2008 3:20:37 PM
frameless and timeless. Sounds so much like you're walking the streets composing! Every word chosen carefully. Where have you been; hope you are well? Thanks for brining your personal style of narrative verse back to us... Later, michael

frameless (Poetry) - 11/23/2008 2:51:22 PM
John, I have missed you and your poetry which speaks so perfectly what you'd like to see change...and the things that will never change...a bit deep although beautifully written, all my best, Holly

frameless (Poetry) - 11/23/2008 1:21:09 PM
so much visual words here in this lovely poem! much like a journey this poem flows ...I especially like the line..."words in time suspended find their way in black and white amongst days of conventional thought and forgiveness while wings yet fly above columns so out of balance behind a wall upon a fallen street of half mast dreams" ....to me that means that at different times in our life we are very idealistic in our hopes and dreams and sometimes life puts obstacles in our way but if we give our dreams wings to fly above the walls beyond the fallen street where we may stumble and fall, just to believe in ourselves and put our heart into what really makes us happy in life, we can move beyond what others expect us to be and truly find our potential!! A wonderful poem!! Bravo!! Thanks so much. It is good!!

frameless (Poetry) - 11/23/2008 6:34:44 AM
a wonderful write!!

frameless (Poetry) - 11/23/2008 5:44:21 AM
Hello John! ! ! long time no see, Ile-du-Diable or Alcatraz? you were gone an awful long time! and I see that your poet skills are not only intact but powerfully updated by inspiration. Georg

frameless (Poetry) - 11/23/2008 4:03:01 AM
Outstanding write. Welcome back.

frameless (Poetry) - 11/23/2008 3:14:58 AM
I am so happy to see you back as I have missed your work. Wonderful use of metaphors, John...and your work, perfection...as always.

frameless (Poetry) - 11/23/2008 2:54:07 AM
WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!! BEAUTIFUL WORDS, I LOVE THEM!!!!!!!!! Very glad to ''see'' you !!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

frameless (Poetry) - 11/22/2008 9:15:13 PM
John, it's been too long, you've been missed! I'm glad the words and ink found their way back and you are once again sharing your superb work and magical netaphors with us! Love, Eileen

frameless (Poetry) - 11/22/2008 7:35:00 PM
Somewhere between the earth and the sky, I can see this poem stretching out its arms, and those tall buildings made of words and ink last longer in our hearts than a concrete jungle's vanishing dreams. Welcome back! Axilea

frameless (Poetry) - 11/22/2008 6:53:28 PM
Flawless. . . . . Searching for words. . . . . Unattainable. Doug

frameless (Poetry) - 11/22/2008 5:55:55 PM
John, Welcome back! It's been a long while since I've had the pleasure of reading you, and you've returned wonderfully, and this return cheers me immensely. A fine fine poem. John

frameless (Poetry) - 11/22/2008 5:55:05 PM
What an unexpected treat to read your words once more, my friend! You have been missed! This piece ... well what a way to return! That last stanza.. it gets a WOW! We have much to catch up on... but I just wanted you to know how glad I am to have you back with us. Always, Myrna

frameless (Poetry) - 11/22/2008 3:40:19 PM
John, How many times I have been tempted to write you. I even went so far as to construct a completed paragraph once but decided you needed a much deserved rest from the world of imagination. I do understand that, although we are free to do as we please, we sometimes find ourselves in a moment of immobility—within a place where time stands still and with a need for a moment of calm to collect our thoughts. Our feelings will, subsequently, make their way to the printed page—to be shared with those in whom we have silenced ourselves. We may even think there is a need for leniency from those with whom we have shared so much in the past; however, like the prodigal son, we see that all is quickly forgiven, and so it is time to kill the fatted calf. It has been far too long since I've heard your thoughts whispered on these pages, but now you are back, and all is well with the world once more. From the hills of West Virginia, I am... Most sincerely yours, David Lee Thompson

frameless (Poetry) - 11/22/2008 2:58:43 PM
It's good to read your work again John. An interesting and insightful piece. There is only one line that appears out of place to me and that is: 'within a fallen castle' but since poetry is so subjective, I may be the only one that feels this way. Maybe I just don't get it. I loved the flow of the rest of the poem. Great work! Chanti

frameless (Poetry) - 11/22/2008 2:25:06 PM
Metaphorically speaking, John, I love it. -gene.

frameless (Poetry) - 11/22/2008 2:21:19 PM
YEAH!!! You are back!! I am so happy to read your words again... It is sad to admit, but there have been days in the past few months where suddenly my mind would wander to you and your poetry and I would wistfully long for the days when you...and your elipses...would return... hee, hee... My friend and ... cohort, it is GREAT to have you back! Now...about the poem... Before I comment, I have to ask if you really did mean a "clock without hand", or if you meant "without hands"? I stumbled on that line and wasn't sure if you meant it symbolically for something or what. I must once again say that I struggle to not read this poem in an every other line format. It forms its own form of poetry when you read it that way and tells a slightly different story. But...it is, of course, better read as a whole. I caught glimpses of so many different possible meanings to this poem. My first thought was that thoughts had been collecting in your head and had finally found their way to where ink spilled upon these pages. But...at a second reading, I caught pieces of wall street toppling...the ticker-tape readings as bullets to those who invested so heavily there...among it all I sense a slight wistfulness and a little bit of nostalgia...and hope of solid ground when you land. Have a fabulous Thanksgiving, John! I am thankful for your writes and so glad to read your works again... Cryssa :~)

frameless (Poetry) - 11/22/2008 2:04:49 PM
Oh John I'm so glad to read your beautiful writes again...Where were you, are you okay, are you staying? We need you here, I need you here. I missed you. This was so beautiful and soul touching. Keep them comin...love and big hugs, Bonnie

wings of wounded angels (Poetry) - 9/24/2008 10:51:22 AM
I love the sentiments expressed within this poem. It reminds me of one of William Wordsworth's poems...Can't remember the title though. Cryssa

laundry day for angels (Poetry) - 9/24/2008 10:24:02 AM
You made me smile...and gave new meaning to both clouds and laundry... Cryssa

Bouquets of Memory (Poetry) - 9/24/2008 10:22:51 AM
This one gave me goosebumps...in a good way. A melancholy yet hope-filled write. Your words capture well the quiet whisperings of the angels that guide our lives...if we but listen... Cryssa

Chambers of my Heart (Poetry) - 9/24/2008 10:20:02 AM
This could be taken two ways and I am trying to figure it out which way it was intended. But then that would ruin your trademark crypticness, wouldn't it...:~) Cryssa

flowers in the heavens (Poetry) - 9/24/2008 10:17:02 AM
Heaven wouldn't be a heaven without flowers. I look forward to the day that all flowers won't send my husband into sneezing fits... hee, hee... Cryssa

counterculture (Poetry) - 9/7/2008 8:32:32 AM
The four legs, four hearts, the fan and the waltz... such a brilliant stanza with a soul and an atmosphere! And "remembering a lost summer of the love generation and nightmares of the jungle" those three lines that say so much about the past and state of mind! Excellent writing, a true poetic talent that doesn't need a prefabricated form to exist. Axilea

infusion (Poetry) - 9/3/2008 6:10:57 AM
I'm ever amazed by your use of words. It's most definitely a great talent to be able to bring words together so beautifully and still invoke such vivid imagery. Another great one.

Cast In Stone (Poetry) - 9/3/2008 6:09:03 AM
Nostalgic, paying homage to a classier, more real and down to Earth time, and a bit sad. Beautiful. The Lindseys and Angelinas will never measure up to the Ritas, Graces, Audreys, and Kates. I can appreciate this one not just for the awesome way it is penned, but also for the sentiment. Thanks for sharing this.

expressionless (Poetry) - 8/29/2008 7:14:28 AM
This is very interesting, unique... there are many contrasting feelings somewhere between meditation and detachment and total despair. This poem also has a very particular rhythm and flow. Axilea

fig meant (Poetry) - 8/25/2008 1:24:54 PM
Never had I heard such a beautiful write John. This was so touching. Missed you my friend. Love, Bonnie

By Way Of Return (Poetry) - 8/20/2008 11:16:38 AM
I love it! Great job!

resurrect (Poetry) - 8/20/2008 11:14:24 AM
Wow...I absolutely love this poem. Bravo!

grant me just one wing (Poetry) - 8/20/2008 7:07:48 AM
such honor and beauty in your words love of country and patriotism your gift of poetry reminds us all that America is worth fighting for liberty, peace and brotherhood all valiant goals thanks for reminding us all that liberty is precious and freedom is a God given right! thanks John

fig meant (Poetry) - 8/10/2008 10:17:45 AM
Your a true poet John.. Beautiful touching poem Ron

fig meant (Poetry) - 8/5/2008 11:28:49 PM
Good Morning To You John, Through Your Poetic Expressions; My Empath of Sorrows Feel Your Loss As My Own. The Poem Is Beautifully Expressed With Feelings Of The Loss & Love Much Love & Happiness To You Embraced ~ Embrassé Vickie

fig meant (Poetry) - 8/3/2008 7:32:15 PM
John - Loved the way the fig tree and the life of your father and grandfather are "grafted " together into one life - its passing and its "infinity." This poem was particularly relevant to me personally. I have a fig tree growing from a cutting from my mother's fig tree which has been passed down through cuttings from her great grandmother's fig tree. - David

fig meant (Poetry) - 8/3/2008 7:08:30 PM
A fine memorial poem, John. Thank you for sharing your sentiments. Love and peace to you, Regis

absent (Poetry) - 7/31/2008 1:25:52 PM
a twilight zone of parenting, and a child who lives on the strength of imagination. it could not be more black and white

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/31/2008 1:21:45 PM
what the fig meant, the fruition, the pear shaped multitudes, all as the leaf slips from the tree to land gracefully upon the sweet soil, destined to feed the tree's sturdy roots, always a part of it, never truly apart. Well penned, John.

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/30/2008 4:45:13 AM
Beautiful...his memory lives within you...and within your words.

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/27/2008 11:47:46 AM
a fine memorial leaf from you poetic tree. I understand too well. I've been making these yearly remembrances since my Dad kicked off the passings in 2003. And your are so right: "fallen fruition every year until all are missing finally infinite I will remember you." I had a little trouble with the line just before this, but you sure ended this in a very telling light: and I wonder: "am I just comforting myself or am I truly facing the spiritual challenge death confronts us with....? (I don't know - my usual reaction!) But then we are poets... Later, michael

absent (Poetry) - 7/27/2008 9:48:05 AM
I couldn't help but remember the parade in "The Music Man" ... the pride that we feel and the joy. You have taken me to a moment in my youth where life's expectancy was filled with hope. I still cling to that hope, yet it is now skewed with reality that there is no magic wand to make everything 'right.' God bless you. Kathy

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/27/2008 9:42:05 AM
John, I know your sadness. Yet, we each cling to the memories and what our departed loved ones bestowed upon us. My heart goes out to you as you remember ... God bless you. Kathy

absent (Poetry) - 7/23/2008 8:01:01 PM
An Awesome write John I haven't been around to read and post review but now I am trying to catch up Peace be with you William

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/23/2008 7:56:11 PM
An Oustanding tribute you have written here John peace be with you Both William

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/20/2008 6:32:05 PM
A tribute that is so different, so full of life. Lovely and vivid title and composition. Axilea

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/17/2008 11:22:41 AM
beautiful tribute John. your father lives forever in you and your words..lovely poem. S

Chambers of my Heart (Poetry) - 7/15/2008 5:11:46 PM
Wow - 1974 (I was 10). I love this; it's like seeing into a younger version of you. The style is different from now, yet the "You" of it still shines through. It's like looking through a family photo album and seeing a picture of you from years ago and saying "Look at you! I recognize you, but you're even better looking now!"

gray afternoons (Poetry) - 7/15/2008 5:06:15 PM
Is it possible to feel nostalgic, grateful and melancholy all at once? These are the emotions that stir in me as I read your words. I sense a longing balanced by no regrets and a peace of mind that can only be attained through time and experience. Perhaps a heavy sigh at times lost and memories found.

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/14/2008 2:54:22 AM
John this touched me so deeply, beautifully penned and truly emotive. So sorry for your loss My Friend.

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/14/2008 12:29:39 AM
The whole tone is hushed-- reverent, poignant and insistant. I love the pear-shaped images. What's most surprising about this, is the tiny paradoxes that make a round whole-- "seeded sweetness of bitter skin", "memories bare beneath leaf", "fallen fruition", and "finally infinite"... The taste of a pear, and the sight of its leaves, comfort foods for one who's missing one... This poem is so beautifully elloquent and hushed. --a masterpiece of art, words, and emotion.

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/14/2008 12:26:26 AM
super verse John, I like it

Bouquets of Memory (Poetry) - 7/13/2008 9:49:21 PM
Dear John, I am here again. This time reading your beautiful poem about your angel. It is not only "Bouquets of Memory" it is a lovely and inspiring Bouquet de Fleurs. Keep going life is beautiful. Love Emile.

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/13/2008 9:03:15 PM
"I become/when leaf" is really special and word skill expressed. How you loved him.

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/13/2008 3:18:07 PM
An exceptional tribute John. It has so much meaning to me now as I'm just returning from mourning my sisters death. You are gifted with elequence and the ability to love.Thank you for sharing...ET

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/13/2008 3:36:26 AM
Exceptional! Your heart reaches out across the spanse of time and place , pays homage in sweet memory to one who was so dearly loved...My prayers are with you!........M

absent (Poetry) - 7/11/2008 1:58:02 PM
Another piquant and evocative write, John. In the midst of such public and communal celebration of liberation and hope, this touches my heart with a sadness for a tiny boy who has emotional awareness way beyond his own years, if I have read this right. Forgive me if my view is skewed, being English apart from anything else! But this so taps into my own childhood pains of living where all is perhaps not so light and easy-going, in ways that you etch for us masterfully here. An eye/hand pressed to a chink in the fence says it all... a little voyeur on the street-party of life, having a wizened understanding that there is more than hotdogs and icecream that is being missed out on here. The very complex thinking of a desire for enlightenment, lightness and liberation to come into his own household, to bring joy to emotionally ailing (perhaps) parents. The typical selflessness of the child, who cares more for the well-being of the parent, notwithstanding his own needs for youthful enjoyment. And, perhaps most especially... the creation of massive imaginary landscapes as a world within a world into which to escape. I have waxed lyrical... and again I apologise if I have put my own personal interpretative gloss on this beautiful cameo. But you have touched chords here, and I wish I could sensitively, delicately address such issues in so suggestive and delicate ways as you do here - rather than head-on! Little children have many epiphanic instants... and so often wish them onto the adults in their world who have long since forgotten what they might be! :)) I hope I haven't outstayed my welcome here. But again, much applause for a revelatory write. Kate xx

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/11/2008 1:52:29 PM
I love the allegory here. A great work John! Your dad will always live on through you. Chanti

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/11/2008 5:49:58 AM
I echo David Thompson's remarks and would relay that the first word that came to mind as I finished your poem was "Exquisite." Your heart and your character lie before us here glowing in the purest form of beauty.

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/10/2008 7:45:37 PM
What a wonderful bond you and your dad must have had. You express it very emotionally You're very fortunate I can tell by the way you write your dad invested alot of time with you. Doug

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/10/2008 5:37:52 PM
There never comes a day when we do not remember. Fathers live in memories and the words we write. Beautifully said, John.

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/10/2008 4:32:18 PM
isn't it funny how the simple things are the ones we hold most dear to our hearts? And how people like our Moms and Dads make a simple thing like eating figs etch in our memories forever and it is a special time and memory? great write!

absent (Poetry) - 7/10/2008 4:26:47 PM
I really like this poem "absent"! a child's imagination is a magical and wonderful thing! its a real shame the parents were wasting time watching twilight zone instead of spending time with their son!! time goes so quickly and I like the way you put the imagination of the child in play with the bursting of fireworks and the natural surroundings of nature the sky, the earth and looking at the world through the child's eyes...you sure do know a child's heart!! very very well done!! bravo John!!!

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/10/2008 3:16:00 PM
Oh my goodness this reminds me of my father~`*

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/10/2008 10:58:53 AM
Outstanding tribute John!! Love tINKA

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/10/2008 10:38:02 AM
John, One year ago I knew not your father's son. But then, one day some happenstance created the moment for our paths to cross. You read one of my poems or I yours, and I have enjoyed the splendor of your words since. I wonder if your father, before his passing, knew of his son's gift to please mankind simply by his intermingling of twenty-six letters of the alphabet. This homage to your father is a thing of beauty that cannot be surpassed and causes me to reflect upon my own father's passing more than eleven years ago. So, let us weep with you during this moment of remembrance, for it brings both joy and sadness to our own hearts to hear one speak with such eloquence. David

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/10/2008 7:45:56 AM
This touched my heart and brought tears to my eyes as I remember my father who may be living his last days...I must go now, can't see anything I write....

absent (Poetry) - 7/10/2008 7:39:52 AM
What an amazing way to describe the 4th of July celebrations! from a little child eyes that stands bordering the street where that marathon of Twilight Zones would go by, where he was lose the scents of flowers that were stolen by those of hotdogs and cotton-candy. Masterly you make him to go away wearing a coat of warmth and sparkling eyes. More than excellent. Georg

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/10/2008 6:16:20 AM
Bless those than can remember their fathers with love. Georg

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/10/2008 3:15:03 AM
Absolutely beautiful as your heart and soul is shown here. You will always miss him and his memories you will cherish forever John. Thank you for sharing. Newfie Hugs, Rose

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/10/2008 2:38:55 AM
VERY-VERY NICE!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 9:13:48 PM
John,,, I feel every word as I read this most beautiful poem...it represents a bond between a father and son... I know you are missing him so,,,May you find comfort in all the memories that never go away. Blessings, Christine

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 9:00:42 PM
such a beautiful tribute as well as a lovely write of remembering

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 7:45:39 PM
Very beatifully treasured words John. I really felt this ... your heart was really into every word. You have much to give John. Nobody could have said it better than Chantilly Lace, you have become one of the greats John, and I am really proud of you. You are model writer... an example ... and you are a good one !!! Harold M. Nash

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 7:30:17 PM
Know all too well the sting of death: just lost our daddy in May, still miss him so much! (See below.) Powerfully penned; so sorry for your loss! You are in my prayers, John! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :( >tears! <

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 7:13:34 PM
John, Having just lost my Daddy, the feelings you express in powerful, yet so beautifully moving, lines of rememberance touch the deepest part of me - so sorry for your loss - does it (grieving) ever get easier? (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 5:50:36 PM
A poem that bares your soul...a tender write with deep feeling. A friend of mine once said that parents shouldn't be allowed to die until their children are ready to let go... but then, maybe no parents would ever die...Thank you for sharing your poignant thoughts with us, John. It wasn't until my third reading of your poem that I caught the meaning of some of your phrases... I am always stunned by how each of your words is so carefully chosen to elicit just the right amount of emotion, thought, meaning, and sometimes ambiguity or double meaning. I especially loved these lines... "to turn the heart unknowingly again three seasons and left right this combination of flesh will revolve..." The combination to the heart and memories of your father and his passing... Superbly done! Cryssa

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 4:43:57 PM
All this feeling...it expresses who you are and what your father meant to you...Great tribute John, great write

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 4:35:25 PM
An exquisite rendering, John. Perfect! John

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 4:26:37 PM
Sad but a very nice tribute. We will always miss our parents and they will love on through us.

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 4:04:08 PM
John, the love you express for your father is the strength of true love. Your father is indeed fortunate to have such a loving son. The passing of our father is such as traumatic event. I still mourn my father's passing in December last. Your poem is a fine tribute to your father. God bless. JMW

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 3:12:14 PM
Dear sweet John, your words carry such weight and meaning with strong sentiments of love. You and your father are one and will always be as you carry his qualities with you everywhere you go.... Be always safe, Karen

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 2:37:34 PM
You are apart of your Father, living & loving this day with a grateful heart in step with a spiritual heartbeat, remembering as he taught you to. Respectfully, your friend Holly

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 2:31:35 PM
rendered completely open... and poignant; a true turth in the telling of memories and loves. .. . a beautiful fruition of spirit.. . ness

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 2:24:25 PM
Beautifully presented memoir and tribute, John. So still and reverential, yet nourishing to the heart and soul. Sorrow's tears makes for tender flesh and you harvest richly with your fruitful words. Your father's seed lives in you and reproduces its own kind, like for like. My love to you at this time of anniversary... I know how the moments are relived almost as if happening all over again at the first revolution. You paint this canvas larger than life... what you feel is no mere fleeting figment, but is that which will endure... and ultimately prosper. A precious write, thank you. Kate xx

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 2:17:29 PM
Such poignancy! How bittersweet the memories, aren't they? This settled within my heart and I so wanted to weep for you, with you.. for I lost my father in July also. I stood beneath his beloved orange trees that day and said goodbye there.. it was where he would have wanted such things. Beautiful sadness, this is... Always, Myrna

fig meant (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 2:14:42 PM
Very touching . . . Doubly so, because I cannot remember my own father in such terms . . . He was a good man . . . Too good in my opinion . . . But you'd have to read the book to figure out why . . . I am sorry for your pain here, buddy, but I envy how you remember your father . . .

absent (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 12:01:16 PM
A beautiful poem my friend, your powerful imagery creates a wonderful vision for the reader, well done! Blessings, Joyce B.

absent (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 9:27:49 AM
through the dreams of a child's eyes...a beautiful piece on many levels.

infusion (Poetry) - 7/8/2008 5:55:48 PM
I agree with Kate, the last two lines of her review describe your writing very accurately. You created such an effective and lasting atmosphere in this poem. Axilea

absent (Poetry) - 7/8/2008 11:21:36 AM
What can I say that hasn't already been said. John, this is REAL good. I really like your fifth stanza "wishing . . .to believe . . . . ." It restores my faith. Doug

absent (Poetry) - 7/7/2008 8:23:25 PM
My goodness this has such heart~*

absent (Poetry) - 7/7/2008 9:21:53 AM
John,, I really don't have the words,,,my tears fall as I read this over and over again,,,,,Freedom through a childs eyes... Touchingly BEAUTIFUL! Love and Blessings, Christine

absent (Poetry) - 7/7/2008 8:24:56 AM
Wow! I recall my feelings as a child, watching my brothers march at Valley Forge...the flags, the uniforms, in the unison of the soldiers steps, I found out what it was to be proud, to be an American! I placed my hand over my heart, not out of mere habit, no, not that day... but because I was overwhelmed with respect for how much they withstood, and why! A face of duty and discipline embeds in the child of flit and circumstance...enlightening some taste of expectancy to lay down your life for your country, if you had to! Wow! AGAIN!...this "absent" brought me back to a place, I had yet to grasp like this! Perhaps I too have been "absent" lately, this poem can fill so many other places and circumstance in life, one's we shouldn't dare miss! Outastanding poem, John...Another...WOW!!!!!!! Love and Peace~ Kimmy~

absent (Poetry) - 7/6/2008 6:03:50 PM
Wonderfully written John, hope you did enjoy your holiday. Thank you for sharing these sentiments many blessings to you and take good care. Sincerely, ~Gwendolyn

absent (Poetry) - 7/6/2008 1:11:16 PM
Absolute nostalgia...throughout this offering. Thank you for sharing!! love Tinka

absent (Poetry) - 7/6/2008 9:02:29 AM
you blend the fever of youth with the nostalgia of age....and this trickles slowly in the waning twilight... only to be illuminated... so brilliantly...so gently and wildly backdropped with life. .. heart.tugging write. ness

absent (Poetry) - 7/6/2008 8:22:50 AM
John I love how this poem is told through the wide spread fingers of a four year old...how his hope and imagination fills in the missing parts of life...Great read John

absent (Poetry) - 7/6/2008 4:01:43 AM
Such a deep emotional write John....I'm with Chanti, it's not hard to see why you are becoming so popular here at the den. Splendid work! Love Holly

absent (Poetry) - 7/6/2008 3:48:23 AM
John, I love how you've written this, through the eyes of a child. Your writing always stirs your readers emotions with it's imagery and the way that you are able to use words. "while softened ice cream sandwiches melt and hot dogs become the thieves of flowers scented,"...my favorite lines.

absent (Poetry) - 7/5/2008 8:13:51 PM
SO evocative. . .beautifully conceived and beautifully written. Thank you for sharing this, John. I am sure that, like me, others will come back and read the poem again. . .and again. . .'Pea' <3

absent (Poetry) - 7/5/2008 6:21:53 PM
This poem is very engaging in every way, John. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace to you, Regis

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.