AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Iolanthe Woulff, iBrian Hill, iAnita Williams, iGerald Grantham, iBino Pires, iBelle Ami, iRalph Cates, i
 
Home > Debra Shiveley Welch
 

Recent Reviews for Debra Shiveley Welch


Son of My Soul -- The Adoption of Christopher (Book) - 2/15/2009 10:25:54 AM
TITLE: Son Of My Soul AUTHOR: Debra Shiveley Welch COPYRIGHT: 2007 by Debra Shiveley Welch PUBLISHER: Saga Books <http://www.sagabooks.net> GENRE: Autobiography FORMAT: Paperback ISBN: 9781894936934 PAGES: 140 PRICE: $13.95 FAMILY PHOTOS: by Debra Shiveley Welch Can you imagine growing up with poverty, neglect, drunkenness and molestation? Author Debra Shiveley Welch can. In this poignant autobiography the author recounts how she overcomes these things and more. She relates her story in poems, essays and narration. The author is a born storyteller. She takes you by the hand and leads you through her sad childhood. You experience with her the days when both of her parents are gone for days at a time, leaving the small Debra to care for her younger half brother and half sister. She cares for the children with no electricity, water or heat in the house. Through these heartbreaking years it is only her faith that gets her through. You count the years, months and days until her graduation when she is seventeen-years-old. It is then that she can move out of the house. It is then that her life starts to improve and she lands her first job and friends. You rejoice with her when she finally meets ‘the one’. You cry tears of happiness with her when her adopted son, Christopher, arrives at the age of seven days old. In this inspirational autobiography, the reader worries with her, cries with her and prays with her through all of Christopher’s many surgeries. To find out more about Debra Shiveley Welch just visit her website at: http://www.debrashiveleywelch.net. You can find ‘Son of My Soul’ for sale from the publisher at: http://www.SagaBooks.net. By Deborah Hockenberry Saturday, February 14, 2009

Son of My Soul -- The Adoption of Christopher (Book) - 11/27/2007 6:53:52 PM
I, for one, would absolutely LOVE to read this book; it sounds like a winner! Congratulations on both your son's adoption and on the book! How marvelous! More parents should be like you, adopt a child who is truly in need and those who can overlook disabilities and see hope in that child (or children)! BRAVA! (((Hugs))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

A Very Special Child (Book) - 11/26/2007 2:34:35 PM
Wonderful; will have to read this one. I read a lot about special needs adoption; write a lot about the subject too. Am not adopted, but know people who have adopted children; they truly have blessed me, touched my heart. (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

A Very Special Child (Book) - 9/6/2007 11:06:57 AM
Enjoyed your sneak peak...will have to read this one! Pam

Your First Easter (Short Story) - 7/29/2008 10:43:19 AM
Wow! A very insprational and motivational poem. It spells out what Easter Sunday is suppose to be - A Christ Has Reisen - celebration. Hold the bunny and easter eggs please! Christ be with you always! John Michael

Mama Kisses (Short Story) - 7/9/2008 9:11:12 PM
Dear Debra, You have been blessed with a talent to describe your love for Chris in a special poetic form. Blessings, John Michael

Going Home (Short Story) - 7/2/2008 8:38:08 PM
Very well written. I truly enjoyed this story. lindalaw

My Cathedral (Short Story) - 3/5/2008 7:03:53 PM
God's creations are all around us... a temple of sorts... I hadn't thought of it that way before. Thanks for helping me to open my eyes in this way. Cryssa

Mama Kisses (Short Story) - 3/5/2008 7:02:29 PM
I, too, have a child whom others told me would never be able to do anything... We were told she would be an invalid by two adoption caseworkers, and told that since we were happy we obviously hadn't yet come to grips with reality! 10+ years later we still laugh about those two narrow minded women who were so incredibly blind to one of the most amazing children ever. (at least in my humble opinion) (And... on the vindictive side, I always enjoyed having her meet these case workers when my daughter really started showing her true glory...their mouths would always kind of drop... hee, hee....) Cryssa

Mama Kisses (Short Story) - 2/21/2008 8:41:48 PM
Debra, This is so touching and beautiful. What a wonderful loving gift to present your son with. I have been reading more and more this evening from book reviews and here about your wonderful relationship with Christopher. I have been touched and I have been greatly impressed with the life you live and the love that you give. Your Friend, Marilyn Rice

Today I Want to Write About the Courage of the Human Spirit (Short Story) - 2/1/2008 9:34:01 PM
Debra, I was so touched by your story. And I was surprised when the soul ended up being a rabbit. Your son is a real hero in my book. When I was a little girl my uncle brought home a flying squirrel (Actually it was more of a glider than a flyer) which we were blessed to have as a pet for a very short while. He also met his demiss in a drowning accident. Who would have ever guessed he'd fly right into the toilet one day. Poor little thing.

Today I Want to Write About the Courage of the Human Spirit (Short Story) - 12/5/2007 9:23:06 AM
God bless your son; we need more caring kids like him in our world today!

Today You Are Sixteen (Article) - 5/1/2008 9:48:06 AM
My children all hold my heart the same way...adopted or not... Cryssa

Should I Have a Child? (Article) - 3/5/2008 6:57:03 PM
Perfectly stated! We once had some friends who told us they weren't ready to have children because they couldn't yet afford for them to have dancing, music, and acting lessons yet... I remember laughing then, at the thought of those things being the most important things... They couldn't believe that children could be raised without those essentials. I guess someone should tell my children they are deprived, even if they are loved. hee, hee... Cryssa :~)

Should I Tell My Child He's Adopted? (Article) - 2/19/2008 10:23:31 AM
Debra, This was so good to hear, especially these words, "Show them the pride you have in choosing them out of all of the other children in the world." While I was not adopted, I was raised by my mother and my daddy, who is not my biological father. I have always known this and when I was little I thought the term, Step Father was a wonderful and special term. In my mind I could see my daddy picking, not only my mother out of all the other women in the world, but picking me along with my four brothers and sisters to be his child. To me he had married all of us. I felt very special. Sadly to say, I learned that not all of my friends thought that a Step Father was like your "Real" real father, that he was the one who loved you and picked you out from everyone else and he was like the best dad in the world. Once when a friend of mine told me she could never love a step father as much as her real father, I asked this question. "Do you mean to tell me if you found out today that your father was not your "Real" father that you'd just stop loveing him the way you do now? I was only about twelve years old and I don't even remember the girls name. But I hope she never forgot what I said. I think I should call my dad and let him know that he is still my night in shinning armor. *Smile* Thanks again for sharing, Marilyn

Monsieur Squirrel (Article) - 2/19/2008 10:12:27 AM
Debra, I just loved hearing about Monsieur Squirrel. I wish he could meet my neighbor, Bob Tail Squirrel, who I just saw again this morning after returning from the grocery store. He shimmied half way up the tree and froze into place. I suppose he thought I'd buy his branch impersonation. *Laughing*. By the way, how does one tell the difference between a male and female? Just curious. Thanks again for the write. Marilyn

National Adoption Month (Article) - 11/26/2007 2:33:10 PM
Beautiful article; God bless you and your son! What a wonderful thing adoption is! I write a lot about the subject myself, particularly special needs adoption! :) Check out some of my stories! :) (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Monsieur Squirrel (Article) - 8/26/2007 8:09:28 AM
Debra, Squirrels are my favorite mammals to rehab. (Babies are quite wonderful, adults not so cooperative) I currently have a few fallen and mismatched infants to foster in my triage until release time. Thanks for noticing Monsieur Squirrel and taking the time to write about him. Enjoyed. Linda Bergman-Althouse author of "Save Them All"

The Resurrection (Poetry) - 4/23/2010 8:19:45 AM
Excellent write! I belong to The Lord and this poem takes me back to that day! ~Zach

Alone (Poetry) - 2/27/2010 7:15:08 PM
I have this same kind of alonelness and it isn't pleasant to try to live with it thinkig everything is o.k. Loneliness gets to you very much at times.

Wearin' The Green (Poetry) - 12/16/2009 4:21:10 AM
Fine tribute, Debra

Kyle (Poetry) - 6/1/2009 1:45:25 PM
Heartwrenching write, Debra. Suffering the loss of a loved one is pain personified. Good job and a lovely tribute. Anna

Wearin' The Green (Poetry) - 6/1/2009 1:43:26 PM
Wonderful tribute to your Dad, Debra. My Mother was Irish, and I can hear her voice in your words. Really enjoyed this piece. Anna

Wearin' The Green (Poetry) - 1/18/2009 7:53:25 PM
Loved it!!!!

The Resurrection (Poetry) - 7/13/2008 10:23:05 AM
a beautiful prayer cloud, watering the earth.

The Resurrection (Poetry) - 7/9/2008 9:06:57 PM
A "Wonderful" prayer poem to JESUS about the power of His Resurrection. AMEN Please visit my website because it's all about Him.

Wearin' The Green (Poetry) - 3/17/2008 10:40:06 AM
Don't let them hold ye down... wise words of wisdom for anyone... thanks for sharing them. Cryssa

Kyle (Poetry) - 3/17/2008 9:16:57 AM
heart touching poetry that bleeds of loss and sorrow... Those that depart are never far from our hearts... Cryssa

Wearin' The Green (Poetry) - 3/10/2008 10:17:35 AM
Oh! I love this. An' wise word they be from your Da. What a beautiful way to say Goodbye... Micke Jinks

The Haunted House (Poetry) - 3/9/2008 7:41:43 PM
Debra, Oh my gosh, that was scerrrrryyyyyy!... *LOL*... and very well written. *Shivering with goosebumps*

Kyle (Poetry) - 3/9/2008 11:33:19 AM
Debra, This brought tears to my eyes. My heart goes out to your friend and her loss. I helped raise my sisters three children, before I got married and even after then they would all come and spend as much time during the summer and Christmas holidays as they could. Then after they were all grown with children of their own, I started receaving visits from their children. One of the most precious things my niephew, Chuckey, ever said to me was said to his fiance before they married. She didn't understand why he wanted to go spend his vacation out of state with this aunt of his that she didn't know. He said, "But you don't understand, Marilyn is not just my aunt. She is like a mom, a sister and a best friend all rolled up into one" This is one of my heart treasures.

Once Upon a Morning Dreary (Poetry) - 3/6/2008 1:09:10 AM
Debra, I just about died laughing as I read. I think my face turned red as I thought about my own writing and how I get so wrapped up in it and the wonderful story that I'm sure is pounding right out of my finger tips, til I go back and read... what.."Did I write all those words?" and... "Where in the world I go to school and who taught me how to spell and who was that fake of a english grammar teacher anyway? Thanks for sharing. It was very intertaining.

The Resurrection (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 7:25:30 PM
This brings a tear to my heart and chills to my skin... superbly written! (I think you have one typo though... Your first "All is quiet" is written as "All is quite") :~) Cryssa

Mirroring (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 6:50:55 PM
I know this feeling well... Through the eyes of my husband and the eyes of my children, both adopted and home-born. Isn't it amazing how easy it is to forget a child is adopted? Cryssa :~)

The Jingle Dancer (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 6:48:15 PM
The imagery in this poem is superb! I loved the line "Her body as supple as a new-born branch." You take the reader through the dance with your words... leaving us breathless and wanting more. I absolutely love watching Native Americans dance... there is nothing quite like watching a story that they tell come alive through their movements. Cryssa

The Haunted House (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 6:47:32 PM
Wha! I haven't been to a haunted house in years, but now I can say I have tonight! Thanks to "The Haunted House". Gave me goosebumps! -Zach

Alone (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 6:45:36 PM
This is simple, yet complex in its expression of emotion. I have walked this path... wondering why others don't seem to notice that my world has changed-- fallen apart... Only those who have walked the same path can truly understand. From your poem I know that you have walked those streets too... Well done! Cryssa

Once Upon a Morning Dreary (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 6:43:15 PM
(LOL!) "D This poem tickled me! I do not believe I've ever read this kind of poem and I loved it. (Read Poe) Like the way you included the editor. Thanks for inviting me via your poem to join you as you tap tap tap! -Love, in Christ, Zach

Once Upon a Morning Dreary (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 6:42:04 PM
Hilarious! I had a good laugh at this one... Cryssa

The Jingle Dancer (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 6:36:29 PM
Wow! A movie made of words. I watched and enjoyed. If you listen closely, you will hear me saying "more! more!!" I like the way you show me things I've never seen before. The verbs you chose are so specific that I could 'see' this dancer poised, on her toes,tinkling, gliding, pivoting, swaying and finally bowing. Great job! -Zach

Spring (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 6:26:16 PM
Wonderful personification of such a sweet season. Good work. The Lord is great. -zach

Springtime (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 6:23:41 PM
Oh this poem makes me yearn for Spring! I can smell the daffodils. Hear the robins...You've given me a ray of Springtime in the midst of northern New York's blustery snow. For that I'm grateful to you. -zach

Mirroring (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 6:18:26 PM
When I read your poem "Alone" I just had to read more. And I was well rewarded Debra. I just love the way you express feelings in such concrete ways. I am going to have to buy your book "Son of My Soul". zach

Alone (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 6:13:15 PM
Debra, when I read this it made me think of times I've felt alone, and what you have writen haunts me. The imagery is so fresh. You've incarnated the feeling of alone, and that is quite an achievement in my opinion. Wow! Please continue to write poetry. You have a way with words! -Zach

The Haunted House (Poetry) - 10/7/2007 5:32:25 AM
enjoyed this tale ... good rhyme & meter to this poem ...

The Haunted House (Poetry) - 10/6/2007 7:55:34 PM
Fantastic! Just Fantastic! A wonderful tale of horror, intrigue and much suspense.... Be safe, Karen

I Enjoy Being a 'Tiel (Poetry) - 9/6/2007 11:05:43 AM
What a an unusual and interesting poem! Really loved it. Pam

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.