AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Rosemary Patterson, iKarin Fleischhaker-Griffin, iJohn DeDakis, iM. Pritchard, iRichard Mason, iPaul Williams, iAlbert Loren, i
 
Home > dennis batchelder
 

Recent Reviews for dennis batchelder


Soul Intent (Book) - 9/23/2009 6:41:57 AM
Intent Accomplished! Dennis Batchelder's SOUL INTENT, the sequel to SOUL IDENTITY, is an entertaining read, and I do recommend it. This comes as no surprise, as I breezed through SOUL IDENTITY very quickly. As many others have said, Mr. Batchelder is a gifted story teller. The difference between the two books for me is that SOUL IDENTITY grabbed me right away, whereas it took a little getting used to the back and forth between a 1946 flashback, or a reference to SOUL IDENTITY and the present day story in the beginning of SOUL INTENT. Don't let that stop you. Very quickly, I found myself picking the book up during the day to read just one more chapter, especially as I neared the exciting conclusion. Well done, Mr. Batchelder - looking forward to the next book! J.R. Reardon author, CONFIDENTIAL COMMUNICATIONS

Soul Identity (Book) - 4/12/2009 12:02:32 PM
Do you believe in reincarnation? Past lives? The concept of a soul? If these subjects yield you no conclusive answers and only leave you scratching your head in wonder, you're not alone. These are just some of the imponderable questions posed to Mr. Scott Waverly, the quirky protagonist of Mr. Batchelder's novel Soul Identity. It's lucky for us that it was Mr. Waverly that got to field these shag flies because let's just say Mr. Waverly lives in his own very special Field of Dreams. It's a land that most of us only occasionally visit and that's a shame! For in Waverly's world we find that we can suddenly start taking things - including ourselves - way less seriously. We can laugh, test, prod, poke fun, take potshots and let the air out of just about any subject! And that's just what Mr. Waverly does, but then what would you expect from a security consultant that is one flea short of a circus? Scott Waverly finds himself in the unique position of being contacted by an organization that purports to read souls by taking an eyeprint. This organization - Soul Identity - does for eyes what forensics and CSI has done for fingerprints! Seems that the old saying "the eyes are the windows of the soul" was just getting us started in the right direction. That's where this mysterious organization comes in. They've perfected the art of finding out where our soul has been, through centuries of making hand drawings of our orbs. They've even gone high-tech and now use computers to help the process along, but that's where things go downhill. They find a slow leak causing profits to go down and a usurper waiting in the wings to takeover their clientele when they do bottom out. That's where Mr. Waverly comes in. They hire him to find what's going on. I don't know if they would have done so if they'd met him first, but you know what they say about resumes and hiring people - some people sure do look good on paper! Mr. Waverly seems to be in this category. He's brought on board to find the security glitch and he does so in his own ... er ... strange? ... squirrelly? ... unique? ... yes, unique way. He encounters bad guys, assassination attempts and even romance along the way. We're taken on a carnival ride that is slow enough to enjoy and let us view the scenery - and fast enough to keep us interested! More, importantly, we get to reside in Waverly's world at least until the end of this journey! I don't know if any of life's burning questions are answered through Mr. Waverly's travails, but I do know that even if you can't take everything with you - at least keep a copy of Soul Identity around! You'll find it an easy and a very fun read and the perfect companion to accompany you as you soul hop through the centuries!!!

Soul Identity (Book) - 2/1/2009 11:38:22 AM
Dennis Batchelder's "Soul Identity" is a fantastic read that grabs the reader's attention right from the start. The style is very similar to the Da Vinci Code, with the author's incredible attention to detail and knowledge of a vast array of places around the world. We live in an age where computers and technology are evolving at a high rate of speed, and in a world laced with conspiracy theories. Dennis Batchelder has weaved a story incorporating those fascinating elements and much more. I highly enjoyed "Soul Identity" and look forward to the next! J.R. Reardon, author of "Confidential Communications"

Soul Identity (Book) - 1/10/2009 10:47:36 AM
As the old saying goes, "The Eyes are the window to the Soul". In Dennis Batchelder's Soul Identity, this is more than a figure of speech. Rather, it is the premise behind a twenty-six hundred year old organization tasked with finding, recording, and managing their clients' soul lines. Similar to a finger print, a persons eyes, specifically their iris patterns is unique - at least while they are alive. At some future point after their death, their iris pattern may repeat in a new body. It is this unique pattern that identifies that this new body carries the same soul line as the previous body. But in the present day, the organization - aptly named "Soul Identity" - is finding it harder and harder to match soul lines - especially the company overseer souls - even though technology has made it easier to capture, read, catalogue and compare iris patterns. Could it be this same technology is actually preventing this company from its mission? Is someone using this technology against them? In comes Scott Waverly, a security and technology expert hired to find the answers and save "Soul Identity" and its millions of soul lines from disappearing forever. Though skeptical of the company's claims, Waverly quickly finds himself in the middle of a philosophical, technological, and life threatening affair which has him jet setting around the world to save the company as well as his life. In his debut novel, Dennis Batchelder has created a fast paced barnstormer similar to the likes of Lincoln Child in novels such as Death Match and Utopia. Though taking on the questions of immortality through the possible reincarnation of souls, Batchelder, similar to his fictional "Soul Identity" overseer Archibald Morgan, does not delve too deeply into the philosophical and spiritual implications of this "technology". Rather, the novel relies on the wonderfully written dialogue and suspenseful situations the protagonists must overcome to solve the mystery behind who is trying to destroy "Soul Identity" and why. This novel is a very engaging read and I would encourage anyone who enjoys novels such as those written by Lincoln Child, to consider purchasing Soul Identity - you are sure to enjoy it. The book ends with a few teaser preview chapters from the sequel which looks equally good if not better. I, for one, am anxiously awaiting the release of Batchelder's next book.

Soul Identity (Book) - 8/25/2008 5:38:16 PM


Soul Identity (Book) - 8/15/2008 1:14:00 PM
The Eyes Have It! No, that's not a typo. Eyes are critical to this story. From the deep blue eyes of Scott Waverly's soul mate, Valentina, to the eyes of the members of Soul Identity, eyes play a big part in this drama. You'll have to read it to find out why. Soul Identity hires Scott Waverly, an eastern shore of Maryland computer security genius to evaluate their security. He meets Val, a computer geeks' image of Venus. Together they find the clues and unravel the mystery of why another company is trying to eliminate Soul Identity. Having lived most of my life in the Washington DC area, I traveled many a day on the way to Ocean City across the bridge and Kent Island where portions of this story take place. The story makes one feel they are there again. Dennis's writing reminds me of Stephen Frey, or a young version of Jerry Labriola. I hope to see Val and Scott pitted against many more bad guys in the future! Benjamin Blue - Author of Storm Killer

My Perfect Beggar (Short Story) - 10/1/2008 3:12:23 AM
I can't imagine living like that! Intriguing write; well done!

Das Ist Verboten! (Short Story) - 9/21/2008 3:32:15 AM
Wow, what an experience, and das ist gute! :) (I know enough German to get into trouble; one of my neighbors in Ohio was German; she taught me; have learned a few more German words since then. :) ) Excellent story; well done! :)

Opal Fever (Short Story) - 8/26/2008 6:41:59 AM
Dennis, I loved this! The details about opal mining are fascinating and I especially liked the touches of humor throughout. Your last sentence was the perfect ending. I would love to see pictures of the opal mines and the 30 room Underground Motel. Linda

Is it Vlado's? (Short Story) - 8/17/2008 4:33:19 PM
What a mouth watering story Dennis!!! Beats the Chinese food I had celebrating my nephew's birthday - Oh to have a meal as good as Vlado's! Well said, my friend! ellen george

Real Men in Docker River (Short Story) - 8/11/2008 6:35:03 AM
Dennis - Real men have lots of adventures! And lucky for us they also write about them! Thanks for sharing with us - as you have been around the world, please share your experiences with those of us who only dream of it. Please? ellen george

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.