AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Barbara Henry, iRichard Rydon, iMyra Darwish, iWilliam Cottringer, iJames Skivington, iJohn McCoy, iRoxanne Bland, i
 
Home > Peter J. Kautsky
 

Recent Reviews for Peter J. Kautsky


The Sludge (Part 11) (Short Story) - 2/25/2015 6:28:53 AM
Terraforming from an unlikely source. I like that one! Quite a surprise from the fears expected from the comet. I didn't do any checking, but an atmosphere of 10,000 feet on Earth is quite an interesting observation. The mushrooms are quite a surprise, as well, because I thought that the planet could be replanted from the experimental plants that were already at the base. For example, the chickens could replant by just walking around outside after eating their chicken feed… Unless they had been feeding on recycled flesh of other chickens and animals like carrion eaters instead of grains. I was beginning to wonder if you were able to get back to the story. Maybe this one was hard to write because it contains so many revelations. I did note a few typos near the end. You might recheck and fix them. Otherwise the writing is clear and superb. That last line leaves me glinting for more… Ron

The Sludge (Part 10) (Short Story) - 10/20/2014 12:29:34 PM
I'm beginning to get an inkling of what the title suggests. Dust plus rain equals sludge? I'm afraid these bits you are offering are too small for me to chew. But we'll see what transpires when the plot thickens. Ron

The Sludge (Part 9) (Short Story) - 9/22/2014 4:16:25 AM
Things are really starting to get interesting. I can't recall from previous reading, but I think that the eruption of Olympus Mons is related to the comet's arrival. A couple of small typos. You may also check the timing of visual and contact with the comet because of limitation of the speed of light. "… stood outside except [excepting] the communications officer." "… five [fife] minutes…" Ron

The Sludge (Part 8) (Short Story) - 7/23/2014 4:51:11 AM
I'm beginning to like your science. Especially things like "chlorine" soil and sillyscopes with CRTs? Cool idea that Olympus Mons can become active. Proves that Mars still has a molten core and no magnetic field? Since they're all going to bed I would prefer a good, cheap wine or perhaps some Jim Beam or other reminder of good old Earth. Readers always like it when you get ready to, "go to war." Ron

The Sludge (Part 7) (Short Story) - 6/30/2014 5:40:22 AM
Cabin fever on Mars. I like it. Sounds very realistic. Ron

The Sludge (Part 6) (Short Story) - 5/21/2014 6:36:17 AM
This was a disappointment to me, because I expected some terraforming to be happening in spite of its improbable results. The discussion with the admiral got a little out of hand with talk about "imploding" a black hole? I thought we were dealing with a colony planet, not some far out wild West galaxy stuff? I forgot where the admiral is, but if he is on the Earth, some space station, or anywhere off of Mars, communication wouldn't be instantaneous unless you have some form of communication that was faster than the speed of light. I don't think you were trying to talk about asses, although they can be quite cute, but were rather trying to assess the situation. Finally, there are too many seems, something that I often do along with all using the word, appears. At any rate, your story is now getting weirder and that could either be a good thing or bad… We'll see. Ron

The Sludge (Part 5) (Short Story) - 5/9/2014 6:42:11 AM
Things are moving swiftly. I think your take on gardening would turn the stomachs of some space gardeners. It seems to me that, between Isaac Newton and Albert Einstein, we have a good handle on trajectories and can tell quite well where objects come from. Also, I think that the comment would have been slingshoted more likely by stars than planets. Ron

The Sludge (Part 4) (Short Story) - 4/27/2014 6:35:31 AM
Okay, now I know that this is more like Star Trek, so far I don't see the dramatic soap opera that Star Trek always was with all of the "characters" the much more important than story. Back to the story. I got the impression that the comet was to be considered for some terraforming using its ice, striking Mars on the opposite side to prevent damage to the colony. Now I see the focus on the titanium core and an impact only a short distance away. My short-term memory isn't too good, so I may be wrong. I didn't go back to look at the previous offerings… No time. My summation is that the titanium core is a capsule containing life from another galaxy "a long, long, time ago." Anyway I like the terraforming idea better… Even if it would be only temporary with Mars's gravity. I'm sure there's a lot of organic material in the ice that could provide some very interesting future life forms. Ron

The Sludge (Part 3) (Short Story) - 4/18/2014 6:43:11 AM
I'm thinking like Star Trek now. The plot thickens. The titanium sphere appears to be intelligently made. Dark sludge with carbon would suggest life. Are we re-creating the Blob? You still could use some minor editing and correct paragraphs by using a dumbed down version of MS Word (save in text (.txt)) before copying and pasting into the AD editor and then doing some touch up editing in the editor. That will make it much easier to read. Ron

The Sludge (Part 2) (Short Story) - 4/13/2014 6:47:42 AM
I agree that the dust will be a big problem, both on the Moon and on Mars. Some of your references to 21st-century technologies like the Galileo telescope and watching presentations on screens don't seem to fit the 24th century very well. In spite of all the talk about terraforming and other projects, the gravity of Mars is not conducive to maintaining an atmosphere. The polar ice caps may be frozen carbon dioxide rather than water. I had to think a minute about scrambled eggs. Not being military, I realized that you're talking about the gold braids on military uniforms. I think you need to explain why a colony on Mars would have to be military. I see most of future space exploration to be benign combination of international government and private enterprise. There are no bad guys out there to fight… Why the Air Force shuttle project was scuttled. Still could use a little editing. Ron

The Sludge (Part 1) (Short Story) - 4/8/2014 6:58:12 AM
I must commend you for your realism. However, I think your timeframe, in the 24th century is way off base. Based on the course of human exploration and development, we should reach the stage you are describing within the 21st century, even though it looks quite improbable right now. I'm also not sure about the title, Sludge, and how it relates to what you are writing in this brief introduction. While I recognize that there is little protection from radiation, I would think that external shields would prevent most occupants from receiving excessive mutations leading to leukemia. Besides advanced treatments will probably make leukemia and other cancers history. The gravity of Mars seems to me to be a more serious problem. That's why I prefer colonies to be at Earth orbit around the sun and rotating so that Earth gravity can be maintained until we have a way of evolving into beings that can live well and prosper in other gravities. To my mind, colonizing planets is not a good idea. In my novel, Alone?, I explore some of the same issues from the standpoint of the first manned missions to Mars in this century. Ron

A Bottle of Wine (Short Story) - 9/25/2013 7:04:24 AM
As I read this, it gave me a flashback to my academic days with all the intrigue that went on between single faculty. However, I'm not a connoisseur of fine wine, preferring the cheap variety from California. Very interesting and enjoyable. It certainly does seem to be part of a larger work… A novel? Ron

A Fiasco In Paradise (Short Story) - 8/23/2013 6:44:36 AM
Quite interesting. He-man gets the girl. I can identify with the sunburn. It was only in Hawaii once and that was for about an hour at the Honolulu airport to go through customs. Very scenic. Brought back some memories. One was a South San Francisco used car salesman who had such a foul mouth that even though the immaculate white 65 Buick Riviera that I tried out didn't even have a squeak, I didn't consider buying it from such an asshole. A friend of mine, the Capt. Nemo of San Francisco regattas, wanted me to partner with him buying a wooden 32 foot folkboat. I was leaving town and couldn't maintain or sail the boat anyway, so I passed on the deal. My friend bought it anyway and we went sailing just before I left. I got the tiller as we sailed around Alcatraz and Treasure Island. The fog made the ribs of the hull very slippery and I found myself bouncing along them, flat on my back on the wet bottom with no one at the tiller. I collected myself and got back to the tiller before the captain came to my rescue. You alternately spelled Erik, Erick. That's an easy one to correct. Ron

A Fiasco In Paradise (Short Story) - 8/22/2013 6:01:25 AM
very interesting story budd

White Clouds (Poetry) - 5/20/2015 1:11:36 AM
Refreshingly stimulating... I love looking at clouds drifting by... You will know when you are ready.... Diana....

White Clouds (Poetry) - 5/10/2015 8:05:48 AM
I was watching the clouds like you yesterday, but I did not ask that question. And you leave me wondering why you did? Was it that you are placing more significance in those clouds than a "herd of looping goats?" Ron

White Clouds (Poetry) - 5/9/2015 2:17:32 PM
Someday y9u will be though . . .

At Kravitz's (Poetry) - 2/3/2015 9:29:08 AM
Nicely penned. Wonderful imagery, very appetizing story. -- Jeff

At Kravitz's (Poetry) - 1/14/2015 8:24:41 AM
I'm thinking this may have been one of those dives where New York writers gathered to converse and compete, and, perhaps get published by meeting an agent or publisher. I may be wrong, but I think that's what you're writing about, not the ambience or the food. I believe it's gone now, but I had the pleasure of dining from the menu (no charge) at my cousin's wedding to a Catholic Italian princess at the Enrico and Paglieri garden restaurant off Fifth Avenue. It was quite a treat. Ron

At Kravitz's (Poetry) - 1/13/2015 5:33:17 PM
Oh boy! This Arkansas boy met and married into a Jewish/Italian family in the city. I was presented to food I never knew existed. And yes. The buildings. I was agog. But it was the food that captured my heart as well as did Nanette Schiavo.

Hearing a Puddle (Poetry) - 1/2/2015 8:31:47 AM
About as surreal as a poem can get! Regardless, I love it! Ron

Tee Shot (Poetry) - 10/19/2014 9:32:04 PM
Tee Shots? At first I thought of Long Island Iced Tea! That's the golfer in me. GREAT write right on course!

Tee Shot (Poetry) - 9/28/2014 6:39:36 AM
In the immortal words of Bobby Jones, you "play a game with which I am not familiar." Putting for birdie is not in my repertoire. But your description is "spot on." This is a superb account of why even the daffiest duffer comes back to whack away again and again.

Tee Shot (Poetry) - 9/27/2014 7:22:21 AM
I can't believe that no one's commented on this. I don't play golf, but I get the picture. I'm going to forward it to my brothers and my mother, all avid golfers. Ron

Out for Chinese (Poetry) - 8/19/2014 2:54:28 PM
enjoyed .... well written ...

Out for Chinese (Poetry) - 8/11/2014 11:22:51 AM
What a way to start coasting your way through the weekend! With a little bit of the news mixed in for good major. With two you get egg roll… Ron

Out for Chinese (Poetry) - 8/10/2014 4:55:58 PM
Sometimes we just have to throw both hands up in the air for things we can't change, and then just do what interests us most... Sandie

Out for Chinese (Poetry) - 8/10/2014 4:28:37 PM
I see humorous highlights throughout this poetic piece. Well done!

The Empty Nest (Poetry) - 8/10/2014 10:59:50 AM
enjoyed the read

The Empty Nest (Poetry) - 7/16/2014 5:54:44 AM
good work ... enjoyed reading your verses ...

The Empty Nest (Poetry) - 7/7/2014 11:11:38 AM
Wonderful story of the lifecycle of the sparrow. I was amazed this spring, when the purple martin house that has been vacant for 30 years, suddenly had a sparrow occupant. Because the house is very high up, I was unable to observe the nest or how many chicks survived, but starlings were certainly curious and the purple martins came around like they always do to reject the place as too something or another. They seemed mightily jealous that some lowly sparrow was nesting there. My only observance of a nest was wrens nested in my hanging fern on my apartment balcony in Atlanta. They were brave enough to come inside my apartment when I left the sliding glass door open. From a chair, I always saw the nest twice. First I saw eggs, and later about four hungry mouths. The parents had an assembly line flying one after the other into the woods below, shortly coming back with a green worm in beak for the hungry mouths. I never caught the chicks learning to fly. They disappeared overnight. Ron

The Empty Nest (Poetry) - 7/6/2014 9:33:50 PM
Fascinating story. Enjoyed it much.

...still a rose (Poetry) - 6/14/2014 8:29:03 AM
So much knowledge of roses and when to plant here. My helper planted a miniature rose last fall and it bloomed through the entire winter, including a couple of light frosts. It is blooming profusely now. But this is Houston, not "up north." Ron

...still a rose (Poetry) - 6/14/2014 7:24:40 AM
Love is a rose. Michael D.

...still a rose (Poetry) - 6/13/2014 6:42:17 PM
Wow!! This is an eye-opener about the roses! Sandie

...still a rose (Poetry) - 6/13/2014 4:27:58 PM
Excellent poetic educational information about roses.

Rowing a Boat on Top of the World (Poetry) - 4/18/2014 8:12:46 AM
This was thoroughly enjoyable. You made me feel like I was there and your adjectives were superb in description. My kind of poem… One that gets down and dirty and tells a story. I guess the suggestions that I made have not worked. I have no trouble, but then I'm on a Mac and use Safari as my browser. I also use a very old version of MS Word. The latest versions of MS Office are filled with security patches and all sorts of formatting that is totally unnecessary. Ron

Rowing a Boat on Top of the World (Poetry) - 4/18/2014 7:17:28 AM
I have the same issue, Peter. Let Jennifer know. A partial solution is to disable the editor. You will lose a lot of nice features, but your text will not run together,

Cold Morning in March (Poetry) - 3/12/2014 9:38:59 PM
me too ...

Cold Morning in March (Poetry) - 3/11/2014 7:44:06 AM
Your phraseology raises my awareness of the images you are painting. Bravo! Ron

The Trash Regime (Poetry) - 2/9/2014 11:12:27 AM
An interesting article. When we move into communities, particularly suburban communities, they seem to have developed considerable rules and regulations to maintain lawn order. It is best we go along with them or they will come up ways to make our lives miserable. If that is fascist, so be it. Ron

Possessed (Poetry) - 12/4/2013 7:43:00 AM
Try using "paste special" or "paste to match style" from your word processor program. The AD editor has trouble with some of the formatting programs like MS Word throw at it. Straight text or rich text format (.txt or .rtf) are the best formats to paste. You can then reformat the text using the editor and not your word processor. You have taken a rather surreal look at vampires. Finding ice to be an aroma is rather interesting… Actually, quite strange like the rest of the poem. Ron

The Panera Perspective (Poetry) - 6/17/2013 6:31:14 AM
This was spectacular and reeks of personal experience. Trees with the flight path and vaginas with coffee brewing in the background. Hats off to the freelance writer! Ron

Saga of the Pillow Man (Poetry) - 5/13/2013 7:28:55 AM
A uniquely interesting view of pillow making in the United States with imported pillow covers from China. You seem to have first-hand knowledge of the goings-on. Ron

Harvest of Stones (Poetry) - 3/30/2013 9:08:45 AM
Reads like a very dramatic nightmare. You have a classy style that I really like. Ron

The Imeldific Cat (Poetry) - 3/30/2013 4:11:33 AM
~Peter~ Fascinating the charm of a cat and the "mee-ow." Loving this write. Lady Mary Ann

Harvest of Stones (Poetry) - 3/29/2013 4:01:02 PM
very nice indeed budd

Pay Cut (Poetry) - 1/15/2013 1:39:02 PM
A nice poem outlining the situation. Fortunately, the cliff is mostly hype, created by politicians and the media. Most of us can stand a little change in our income unless we are overspending to the max. There are certainly many parts of the budget that can be reduced because they are special concessions for special groups––mostly rich, who paid to have those concessions in the law. Leaving war behind and reducing our military to defense will go a long way in reducing the deficit.

Pay Cut (Poetry) - 1/8/2013 3:34:25 PM
Very erudite, as we witness the decline. Though if we played a different game to the one they want, mayhap things would climb?

Pay Cut (Poetry) - 1/7/2013 7:39:33 PM
And so it goes; how right my long gone father was about men's "systems", particularly the financial one/s. Your verses reminded me to thank my dad, long gone these many years. Love and peace, Regis

The Imeldific Cat (Poetry) - 10/24/2012 2:58:03 PM
good poem ... interesting topic ... should've incorporated her excess of shoes ... still works well ..

The Imeldific Cat (Poetry) - 10/16/2012 8:25:17 AM
A very creative look into the life of a cat lover. It looks like a Marcosain syndrome to me. ;-) Ron

The Imeldific Cat (Poetry) - 10/15/2012 8:21:48 PM
Haha, I loved this, Peter! What a princess! Even though I have no knowledge of her color, fur-length or pad colors, she reigns supreme! As cats should, in my opinion. Erin Elizabeth Kelly-Moen

Zen Postale (Poetry) - 9/30/2012 7:09:21 AM
"of the mute mailman who knows everything, who expressed himself with an act of violence" most mailmen i know can shut up ... many know little what's beyond their zip code of being, just like many poets i know ... statistically, mailmen are the least aggressive in the workplace, so going postal is a misnomer ... anyway, like your poem, at least it hasn't lost its zip ...

Zen Postale (Poetry) - 9/28/2012 1:38:41 AM
Well done, Peter !

Zen Postale (Poetry) - 9/17/2012 10:10:46 AM
For your first poem posted, this is a tour de force! You've hit on a subject I love so dear–junk mail. The imagery is fantastic. However, I must warn you, that one of our premier members who has a following as great as AD itself, is one of those. And you certainly won't want him to go postal. ;-) Ron

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.