AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Amy Sellers, iWendy Laing, iLaurie Conrad, iGina McKnight, icarlton davis, iEdmond Humm, iSteve Kerr, i
 
Home > John Flanagan
 

Recent Reviews for John Flanagan


Shadows of Substance (Book) - 11/8/2011 11:42:15 AM
The patient building of characters drew me in to such an extent I was worried for Henry’s daughter even as she had grown into a strong successful woman. I shared the book with my mother & she became so enraged with Henry Davidson that I had to remind her that he was a fictional character. You done well in giving the reader a geographical feel for the setting. In short – we were pulled in. Kudos Professor. :) Janna

Shadows of Substance (Book) - 10/2/2010 6:12:09 AM
Shadows of Substance is now one of my all-time favorite novels. Good and evil were deftly woven into the book's characters along with the author's accurate historical perspective. I laughed and cried as I read this absorbing story of women trying to survive in a man's world. Bravo to you John Flanagan! ~ Christine Tsen

Shadows of Substance (Book) - 11/28/2007 5:03:02 PM
Angela Farrell and Rosa(Gonzalez) have posted reviews on the Lulu website. Rosa wrote: "John Flanagan's storytelling draws you in and you cannot but submit to the impulse to keep on reading. He describes the type of family situation that one rushes to get caught up in. It's beautifully written and I know already that I will be reading this book many times over. For a first novel this is a tremendous effort." Angela wrote: "I downloaded this book immediately I saw it on Lulu as I had already hugely enjoyed 'We're All Men Here' by the same author. 'Shadows of Substance' is a very absorbing read. The locations and the range of characters are vividly portrayed with immaculate historic accuracy and resounding authenticity. The wonderful quality of John Flanagan's writing is, once again, a joy to read. What I found most striking in this book were the strong female characters, real women, survivors who take on and come through life's challenges, devoid of bitterness, with breadth of vision. To me, this book reads as a labour of love and tenderness for all women of the second half of the 20th century in the West of Ireland."

mr howard sees mrs howard... (Poetry) - 2/8/2015 2:19:10 PM
A truly heart touching slice of life, John.

mr howard sees mrs howard... (Poetry) - 3/13/2014 12:04:59 PM
IN THE END...AS IN THE BEGINNING...'TIL DEATH WE DO PART. A BEAUTIFUL LOVE STORY. THANKS FOR SHARING, JOHN. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

mr howard sees mrs howard... (Poetry) - 8/27/2013 7:55:23 PM
Together in sickness and health. These are the ties that bind!.....M

mr howard sees mrs howard... (Poetry) - 8/24/2013 4:20:06 PM
Such intelligent observation in what some see as mundane, or are just asleep - blind, yet here we see the universal in life's smallest detail.

mr howard sees mrs howard... (Poetry) - 7/20/2013 4:33:39 AM
enjoy the profoundness of your writing peace be with you William

mr howard sees mrs howard... (Poetry) - 6/18/2013 4:21:19 AM
convalescent sun... this one strikes home, john. well don.

mr howard sees mrs howard... (Poetry) - 4/17/2013 12:23:04 PM
~John~ Your heart tender in this splendid write. Lady Mary Ann

mr howard sees mrs howard... (Poetry) - 4/11/2013 7:35:53 AM
you have the ability to take commonplace experiences and situations and bring out the quintessential ceremony of the moment ...

mr howard sees mrs howard... (Poetry) - 4/10/2013 12:12:35 AM
a true love poem love in sickness and in health tender strong real harry

mr howard sees mrs howard... (Poetry) - 4/9/2013 1:38:47 PM
You immediately and deftly take us into the textured world of this couple making the poem an experience through your technique and your genius. Blessings, Christine

mr howard sees mrs howard... (Poetry) - 4/8/2013 2:36:12 PM
Of Heart and Soul You have touched with such Love! Lady Vivian

mr howard sees mrs howard... (Poetry) - 4/6/2013 6:26:30 AM
Easily felt as the whispers of one's inner voice, knowing that certain realities are better served in poetic musings. Beautifully rendered in just the right syncopation of rhythm and searching structure.

mr howard sees mrs howard... (Poetry) - 4/5/2013 12:20:29 PM
I always enjoy the high creativity of your poems. It seems to me that there is an older person in the house being taken care of and some of his belongings are being examined. Otherwise, I haven't a clue. Ron

mr howard sees mrs howard... (Poetry) - 4/4/2013 8:41:17 PM
John - You have captured that love that deepens over the years to support the loved one in the inevitable frailties of living. The lines: words he sent from far that can't avoid often opening and folding, traces of fingers and balm of lips on the starts and endings of his tenderness reflect the early love that has grown to the present. The lines, "take his arm first time out together in a while" remind me of a book I read about an Irish farm family. The author tells of an elderly aunt and uncle who can't get around alone so they always go out together because they can get around by supporting each other. This poem brought that wonderful image back to me. Wonderfully written as always.

mr howard sees mrs howard... (Poetry) - 4/4/2013 9:23:41 AM
life, married life in particular is a serial of opportunities, challenges and an ever evolving process of recuperations. each demanding that we enlist additional resources, strength and accommodations to survive. as we fumble our way through we are buoyed by recollections of the fond times past and search through the hard memorabilia to support them. your creations, the howards are emblematic of the eternal cycle passed between the generations, not by choice of course, by the hands of circumstance and fate. unwilling yet unable to amend the courses we are dealt. john, i see my grandparents, parents and now me in the roles you have set forth with great care. acquiescence rather than acceptance of what is. you have set tenderness to the work which embraces the reality. here is an emotional event that few will not readily relate to. i wish you love and peace my dear friend. jon michael

mr howard sees mrs howard... (Poetry) - 4/4/2013 6:54:29 AM
such a dear feeling in this budd

mr howard sees mrs howard... (Poetry) - 4/4/2013 5:23:30 AM
The ambiance is genuine, quiet, heavy with closure. The sadness is lifted by a degree of comfort and familiarity. It simply is as it is, as it must be. You create in full-color. I bet you dream in full-color, too. This is beautiful and compassionate, John. I imagine an open window to let in a spring breeze laced in birdsong to further ensconse the bond between two.

mr howard sees mrs howard... (Poetry) - 4/4/2013 4:12:34 AM
Wow.. I read this and was drawn back to another time..and another couple, my mom and dad.. a beautifully bittersweet piece.. thank you John Myrna

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.