AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Richard Hardie, iRegina Pounds, iBlak Rayne, iRobert Mills, iKim Lambert, iSherri Smith, iKathryn Perry, i
 
Home > William R. Potter
 

Recent Reviews for William R. Potter


Bent, Not Broken (Book) - 3/18/2012 11:23:57 AM
Congratulations on your new book, William. I hope you make many sales. Terry

The Fright Factory (Book) - 10/15/2011 12:23:22 PM
Congratulations on your new book, William, I wish great success with it. Terry

Dead of Knight-A Jack Staal Mystery (Book) - 8/6/2010 1:25:19 PM
“Dead of Knight” by William Potter is a thrilling and original mystery novel. The main character, Jack Staal, was introduced in Potter’s exceptional collection “Lighting the Dark Side” in the short story, “Prominent Couple Slain.” There, in the span of an average length short story, Potter provided readers enough information about Staal and his fictional hometown, Hanson, B.C., to leave us wanting more, and “Dead of Knight” certainly delivers. A serial killer is on the loose, murdering women on their birthdays. The police slap the moniker “Birthday Boy” on him which only fuels his psychosis—he prefers “Soldier of Justice.” How do we know this? Ah, because thanks to Potter, we get the story from two perspectives, Staal and the Soldier of Justice, cop and killer, cat and mouse. This is a brave undertaking and not easy to pull off. Most mystery and thriller writers stick to the police procedural formula and simply demonize their serial killer as an evil “Other,” a monster, without providing any real insight into their character or purpose. Thomas Harris raised the bar long ago with Hannibal Lecter, The Tooth Fairy and Buffalo Bill and their complex relationships to agents Will Graham and Clarice Starling, and I think few writers have entered his arena out of fear of failure. Potter takes on the challenge and succeeds with a fully satisfying, well rounded novel. It is both an exciting page turner and an equally effective insight into human nature and psychology. Fans of the mystery genre and mainstream readers alike will enjoy this entertaining and thought provoking thriller. Potter’s dialog is brisk and naturalistic and he does not shy away from the graphic verisimilitude necessary to create sufficient terror and repulsion within the reader toward his perpetrator. Hanson, B.C. is a thoroughly believable fictional town that blends seamlessly into reality and Jack Staal is a multi-dimensional, sufficiently flawed character with plenty of his own inner demons to battle while hunting down his antagonist--the perfect ticket for a successful series. I look forward to reading more Jack Staal mysteries. I highly recommend “Dead of Knight” and any fiction by William Potter. George Wilhite Author, “On the Verge of Madness”

A Pirate Story-A five year old's first story! (Short Story) - 7/29/2009 5:39:16 PM
Cute story with a happy ending. But they were pirates. Shouldn't they stay in the stomach of that shark so they don't go out and hijack anymore ships?

Prominent Couple Slain-A Jack Staal Mystery (Short Story) - 11/17/2008 9:17:25 AM
Not my usual fare, but reading your words is like watching a Perry Mason rerun... You have me on the edge of my seat with baited breath waiting for more... Cryssa

Prominent Couple Slain-A Jack Staal Mystery (Short Story) - 11/15/2008 1:30:31 PM
You got me.... It sounds like it's going to be a thriller alright... I love this type of story...(I know....yuck) but it's my thing... I'm in the middle of writing one myself...not an easy feat is it? good job here ... lindalaw

A Pirate Story-A five year old's first story! (Short Story) - 10/23/2008 9:34:52 AM
Alex is a fine storyteller. Congratulations. Love and peace, Regis

Bent, Not Broken Chapter 4 (Short Story) - 10/5/2008 3:23:05 AM
interesting article

Bent, Not Broken Chapter 4 (Short Story) - 10/4/2008 5:12:48 PM
William, I really don't know what to say about Dwayne. I'm aware of the condition, I've come across it a few times before but it still disturbs me, it's a little scary for me, but I'd never 'torture' the man in any way, he has my sympathy, I just wish I understood better. John

A Pirate Story-A five year old's first story! (Short Story) - 9/28/2008 11:25:09 AM
I'm envious; really! I only started writing about a year ago. Reading Alex's story reminds me of how much catch-up I have to do! Lovely little story. Have you got him a PC yet? You have? Really? Brilliant.!

A Pirate Story-A five year old's first story! (Short Story) - 9/25/2008 2:04:38 PM
awww that is very cute. your son has a good head on his shoulders I hope that he keeps it up.

A Pirate Story-A five year old's first story! (Short Story) - 9/22/2008 6:53:23 PM
Alex is off to a very promising start and I know, William, you will encourage him on his bright road. John

A Pirate Story-A five year old's first story! (Short Story) - 9/21/2008 8:59:30 PM
Time to get this boy his very own word processor! They grow up so fast...

The Ghosts of Camembert (Short Story) - 9/11/2008 4:41:56 PM
You are a fine storyteller, William. You grabbed my attention and held it throughout. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace, Regis

Surviving The Fall-Part 2 (Short Story) - 7/6/2008 8:50:47 PM
Well done - I think I may have to get the book on the next check! Many thanks - you have a wonderful writing style and you move the adventure along nicely!

Surviving the Fall-Part 1 (Short Story) - 7/6/2008 8:43:26 PM
Well done! You have my attention - I'm moving into section 2... ;)

THE VEGAS INCIDENT-a short story. (Short Story) - 2/25/2008 7:29:14 AM
i like this one! suspense with an amusing twist. cool.

THE VEGAS INCIDENT-a short story. (Short Story) - 2/18/2008 1:11:09 PM
It was direct and to the point. I liked it, but I wonder if you couldn't expand on his inate fear a bit, since that's the real meat of the story. Two or three hundred more words would go a long way, I think, in further building that tension. Anyway, like I said, I liked it, and I appreciate the good grammar, which seems rather rare these days.

Dead of Knight is a Thrilling and Original Mystery Thriller (Article) - 8/16/2010 4:49:48 AM
interesting read

Dead of Knight-A Jack Staal Mystery -a Book Review (Article) - 11/13/2009 12:27:11 AM
Congratulations, William! Sounds like a story with twists. Something about killers seems fascinating to me, and it looks as though you delve into his mind. Good luck with this book! Sheila

ALLBOOKS REVIEW EDITOR'S CHOICE AWARD 2009 (Article) - 1/13/2009 7:55:03 AM
Kudos, William! Cryssa

A Character Interview (Bent, Not Broken) (Article) - 12/3/2008 9:58:18 PM
A unique way to give us insight into your characters. You made me laugh. Cryssa

Book Connection Guest post (Article) - 11/10/2008 9:58:10 AM
Your book sounds so intriguing... Cryssa

A Married man is sleeping with??? (Article) - 11/10/2008 9:54:14 AM
Ah, you made me laugh... What I find so sad is all of the forms at school that ask which parent has custody...there isn't a spot to say non-divorced, both parents have custody from the same house... So sad that divorce and cheating are the "norms" nowadays. Cryssa

A Married man is sleeping with??? (Article) - 11/9/2008 1:05:06 PM
You are right.... about the reasons... and also about all the articles about cheaters.... but... how sad that being bored will be reason enough to cheat on the person who is your love.... anyway... that's the way society has opened all these doors... I say...slam then shut...and snuggle with your special person... lindalaw

11 Points to Ponder-A collection of quotable quotes (Article) - 11/5/2008 4:49:35 PM
William, Some gems here, I especially like Tagore (one of my favourite poets) and Maya Angelou. John

Author on a Virtual Book tour (Article) - 11/3/2008 11:22:59 AM
Cool Idea! Cryssa

Author on a Virtual Book tour (Article) - 11/2/2008 7:15:53 PM
good one

A RebeccasReads Review (Article) - 9/28/2008 2:13:47 PM
I really do have to agree, Dwayne Johnson was a piece of work! One of the very best characterizations I have read in a very long time. And a suspense-driven buildup where you just knew this guy was going to go postal at any moment. To say more would be to tell the story. Very well done. Ted

7 Readers Respond to LIGHTING THE DARK SIDE (Article) - 7/2/2008 7:52:21 AM
Very well presented, William!!! This is what sells books (you knew that). You obviously know a critical additional thing: Publishing a book is one thing, but Marketing the book is something quite different. And you are doing an excellent job, here. Kudos!!! Ted

A Closer Look at Lighting the Dark Side (Article) - 5/5/2008 6:43:43 AM
Sounds intriguing... Cryssa

11 Points to Ponder-A collection of quotable quotes (Article) - 11/18/2007 2:01:22 PM
interesting article

Remembering a True Friend (Poetry) - 5/13/2012 6:07:32 PM
Your poem brought a tear to my eye. A lovely, lovely tribute. Rebecca

Tears (Poetry) - 4/14/2010 4:04:57 AM
This stanza popped out at me: "Yes Ive stitched the wound but I often touch the scar mostly from a distance sometimes not that far" Deep. --Charlie

Tears (Poetry) - 11/22/2009 5:44:02 PM
I have been told many times that time heals all wounds; I have not found this to be true. I relate to much of what you've expressed within your verses here, William. Love and peace to you, Regis

Nothing, But I Love You (Poetry) - 5/3/2009 11:53:22 PM
How beautifully you've expressed the love and loss of your mom.

Nothing, But I Love You (Poetry) - 4/27/2009 4:49:52 PM
A most compelling account of tender love for your mom, William. My deepest sympathy. Love and peace to you, Regis

Nothing, But I Love You (Poetry) - 4/19/2009 10:40:40 AM
William, With such tender words as these, I'm certain your mother felt the tenderness of your heart as well during the time she was ill. Having lost my own mother in 2000, this poem brought tears to my eyes. May God embrace you with many comforting thoughts about your mother throughout the days ahead. David Lee Thompson

Nothing, But I Love You (Poetry) - 4/11/2009 6:41:28 AM
William, This is a poignant write with a mixture of emotions throughout. True to real life, emotions are every bit as complex as the situations that trigger them. The overwhelming feel of helplessness in this tribute breaks the heart. Keep the ending lines in your heart over all. Love and Hugs, Sheila

Nothing, But I Love You (Poetry) - 4/7/2009 10:15:03 PM
How my heart feels the pain you suffer and agonize, yet sometimes it is out of our hands. So gently you handed her spirit over to God where she now flourishes, no longer tired or in pain. Tearful, yet understandable. It is very evident the love she had for you and you still have for her. I am truly so sorry for your loss and for the pain you still embrace... Be always safe, Karen

Nothing, But I Love You (Poetry) - 4/7/2009 4:19:16 PM
William, There's tenderness, regret and self-examination in this confessional and a natural sense of guilt, but it's also a tribute to a fine woman who loved you as much as you loved her. Again, William, I'm sorry for your loss. John

Nothing, But I Love You (Poetry) - 4/7/2009 2:33:31 PM
This lovely poem has said completely all you need to say to your Mother, and she knows. Very loving tribute to her. Cynthia

Nothing, But I Love You (Poetry) - 4/7/2009 11:31:26 AM
exquisite in its tenderness... May peace light your heart and comfort you, especially as Mother's Day approaches. Cryssa

Nothing, But I Love You (Poetry) - 4/7/2009 7:00:51 AM
William <Tears> This poem is beautiful..I understand you pain, I have felt to when my own Mother died. May God hold you close and ease your pain, know that you done all you could for her. God bless, and watch over you. Many blessings, ~Linda

Goodbye Mom (Poetry) - 3/24/2009 3:21:05 AM
This is so truly beautiful...my thoughts are with you.

Goodbye Mom (Poetry) - 3/22/2009 5:43:47 AM
This is a beautiful way to remember your mother, William. I'm very sorry for your loss. The line about how her pain is gone brings a momentary smile - and I hope that line/fact brings you some comfort. Love and Hugs, Sheila

Goodbye Mom (Poetry) - 3/21/2009 10:17:48 AM
I am sorry for your loss, William. This is a fine tribute to your mom. Love and peace to you, Regis

Goodbye Mom (Poetry) - 3/12/2009 4:50:11 AM
So sorry for your loss of such an amazing Mom. Lovely tribute.

I'm 40 (Poetry) - 3/10/2009 4:03:32 AM
I've got ten years on you, bub! Will be fifty in June! *sighhhh* Oh, to be 40 again, or better yet, 30 or even 20! LOL Enjoy your youth while you have it; the years fly by quicker as you age! TRUST me on that! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Goodbye Mom (Poetry) - 3/9/2009 9:47:42 AM
I am so very sorry to hear of your loss, William! My mom passed away 2 1/2 years ago. Although writing our book about her helped ease much of the pain, I still miss her. May you find peace and comfort as you walk this path of letting go and grief. Cryssa

Goodbye Mom (Poetry) - 3/8/2009 6:36:27 PM
So very sorry..I know how hard it is to say good bye to your mom..I feel your pain...Hugssss

Goodbye Mom (Poetry) - 3/8/2009 5:56:23 PM
Sorry to hear of your loss; you're in my prayers, William! She now rests in Jesus' Strong Arms! (I know the pain too well; lost my mom nearly 19 years ago, on March 17, 1990; she would have been sixty in May of that year!) May God bless you and comfort you in your time of grief! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :(

Goodbye Mom (Poetry) - 3/8/2009 4:04:09 PM
William, My deepest condolences on the loss of your mother, clearly a fine lady, and thank you in your pain for sharing this elegant tribute to her. John

Goodbye Mom (Poetry) - 3/8/2009 2:46:12 PM
Hello William, A great tribute to your Mom and well written too. I know she's smiling with you, it is a temporary separation, "Mom is close...never far." Cynthia

Goodbye Mom (Poetry) - 3/8/2009 1:41:39 PM
My condolences to you on your loss but I can tell by this write that you are also celebrating the life of a great woman. Fee

Goodbye Mom (Poetry) - 3/8/2009 11:56:46 AM
My most sincere sympathies for your loss William. It's a wonderful tribute/poem you've written for her. When we lose our mother we lose our best friend. Remember, she's always as close as your next thought. I wish you peace of heart, Marcia

My Columbian Goddess! (Poetry) - 2/28/2009 5:50:22 AM
William, You shamelessly lead the reader on to believe what they may...lol. For me he is a tall, robust fella with a French accent. I drink of him daily. Great job here:) Love and Hugs, Sheila

Clover Thomas R.I.P. (Poetry) - 2/28/2009 5:47:19 AM
William, I like the sense of realism within the lines. There's a depth to this character that lends credibility to your descriptions. She bursts off the page. Love and Hugs, Sheila

Clover Thomas R.I.P. (Poetry) - 2/22/2009 10:21:29 AM
I think this is very well done, William. You have presented the character very effectively with economy of words. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

Clover Thomas R.I.P. (Poetry) - 2/10/2009 1:46:09 PM
Sounds intriguing... Cryssa

Clover Thomas R.I.P. (Poetry) - 2/9/2009 12:47:01 AM
This is excellent...you've got me anxious to read more...well done!

Clover Thomas R.I.P. (Poetry) - 2/8/2009 4:45:33 PM
William, The recall is excellent, the selected details so apt and moving and strong... "Always the fruit You can pick but never peel." is perfect in the context of the character, adds weighty definition. I love this this, it's so fine. John

Clover Thomas R.I.P. (Poetry) - 2/8/2009 4:25:28 PM
Hi William You've certainly got my interest. Sounds like a character worth knowing. Cheers! Liz

Clover Thomas R.I.P. (Poetry) - 2/8/2009 4:23:27 PM
Wow this one is so realllll. Fee

Remembering a True Friend (Poetry) - 1/31/2009 12:44:16 PM
William, this is so beautiful in its simplicity. What a great loss when such a friend leaves you behind. This is a special and memorable tribute. Connie

The Last Photograph (Poetry) - 1/30/2009 3:09:24 PM
i used to have a box of pictures of almost everything that reminded me of ppl i loved.and same as you i didnt know why i kept these things to only remind me of stuff i didnt wanna be reminded of.This poem deff. got my attention,and was lovely to read.

The Last Photograph (Poetry) - 1/14/2009 12:07:48 PM
Photographs can indeed awaken deep feelings, William. Love and peace, Regis

Call Me Daddy (Poetry) - 12/22/2008 11:43:04 AM
Gripping and real. Love and peace to you, William. Regis

No Batteries (Poetry) - 12/17/2008 11:56:40 PM
Dang, this is intense! Great imagery. Thank you! -Katie Simpson

Remembering a True Friend (Poetry) - 12/14/2008 3:58:07 PM
...the honest beauty of this write...is in its remembrance...a friend held close forever. beautiful William... John

Never (Poetry) - 11/28/2008 10:42:05 AM
...wonderfully well written and sensitive portrayal...of something missing...hits home...and is just a fine...fine write. John

My Columbian Goddess! (Poetry) - 11/28/2008 12:19:13 AM
Cool coffee write. She's a goddess for sure. Thanks, bro. Love and peace, Regis

Never (Poetry) - 11/11/2008 1:19:17 PM
Truly sad, real, and very moving, William. I wish you love and peace, Regis

Never (Poetry) - 11/11/2008 5:47:38 AM
This poem is heartbreaking. Holly

Never (Poetry) - 11/10/2008 11:53:21 AM
I can relate to many parts of this... Your poetry rings with a melancholy wistful ache. Cryssa

Never (Poetry) - 11/10/2008 5:32:20 AM
I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Never (Poetry) - 11/9/2008 10:50:24 PM
Wow, how well you express your thoughts and the hurt that went before. Boy can I relate to this.... Be always safe, Karen

Never (Poetry) - 11/9/2008 4:19:40 PM
William, This simple eloquent poem tears at the heart because it goes straight to the core of the matter and every child who has experienced neglect in any form will know exactly the import of your fine and moving words. John

Never (Poetry) - 11/9/2008 11:59:40 AM
This is heart breaking. The effect parents have on our lives is cumulative and embedded deep within our core. I try to be very cognizant of that fact in my interactions with my beautiful, young daughter. I try to parent in a "conscious" way where I choose my words and my actions according to what I believe will create the most accepting, nurturing environment for her. I pray for all children that they might be appreciated and loved and respected for the treasures they truly are.

Never (Poetry) - 11/9/2008 10:25:41 AM
This is an interesting write and I can look back and apply most of what you said to my own father with a difference perhaps. He was from a different time and a different era where men were taught not to show affection, not to be loving but for all of that he came home from a war and slaved as a laborer for thirty years to raise nine of us kids...so I had no doubt of his love. fee

I'm 40 (Poetry) - 11/9/2008 9:28:12 AM
Hey there is nothing wrong with being 40.You're still a young guy.take care Edwin

My Columbian Goddess! (Poetry) - 11/9/2008 9:25:54 AM
A very good poem you have written.take care Edwin

Never (Poetry) - 11/9/2008 9:24:10 AM
Powerful poem,I can really feel your pain and anger.Some of the words in your poem I can relate to because that's exactly how I feel about my dad.I enjoy reading this poem,take care Edwin

No Batteries (Poetry) - 11/3/2008 11:59:34 AM
Any father's worst nightmare, I'm sure... (or a mother's for that matter). --Charlie

Gray Rain (Poetry) - 10/29/2008 3:23:00 AM
little mysterious...some deep meaning,good to watch rain falling on window pane etc.etc. neerja

We Dance Alone (Poetry) - 10/17/2008 3:09:21 AM
A romantic piece. The intimacy feels genuine here. Great write! Sheila

Remembering a True Friend (Poetry) - 10/13/2008 1:23:27 AM
True friendship has no price tag and is something to cherish. This is a beautiful tribute to a special friend.

Remembering a True Friend (Poetry) - 10/3/2008 9:05:07 AM
A loving and respectful tribute. True friendship is a treasure. Thank you for sharing this gift, William. Love and peace to you, Regis

Remembering a True Friend (Poetry) - 10/1/2008 5:39:06 PM
William, you tell this so directly and simply and with such truth and honesty it makes a great impact. Thank you for this. John

Remembering a True Friend (Poetry) - 10/1/2008 2:48:48 AM
William, This poem has such a sad tone. It reminds me, though, of how lucky we are if we have someone like the person you describe. Hugs, Sheila

Remembering a True Friend (Poetry) - 9/30/2008 5:52:29 PM
Lovely writing dear man...take are OK...Hugssss

Remembering a True Friend (Poetry) - 9/30/2008 4:39:05 PM
A sentimental wonder expressing so many mixed emotions, yet pure love shines through clearly.... Be always safe, Karen

Remembering a True Friend (Poetry) - 9/30/2008 1:14:18 PM
This is wonderful. True friendship is priceless. You can tell your heart was in this poem. Mary

Tears (Poetry) - 9/22/2008 2:22:22 AM
This is wonderful because it starts out somewhat negative and dark, then takes an upswing. I especially like these lines, "Ive stitched the wound but I often touch the scar mostly from a distance sometimes not that far." Those lines say much, especially about the healing process. Well written, William.

I'm 40 (Poetry) - 9/18/2008 7:12:10 PM
William, we don't have much choice, and all of it is a struggle of varying degrees of ease and difficulty, almost a game, and a game. John

Tears (Poetry) - 9/15/2008 1:27:40 AM
This poem conveys the feeling of sadness without bitterness. It has a soft and lovely flow. Axilea

Down Here. (Poetry) - 9/14/2008 2:59:40 PM
They say that men don't cry. Then what the hell am I? They say time heals all. Then how much time is left? I can so relate to what you express via your verses, Scott. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Down Here. (Poetry) - 9/14/2008 10:15:15 AM
I've been down there too. Isn't it strange how writing about it somehow comforts us? About 11 years ago I had a stillborn son, I wrote lots and lots of poetry--not very much of it good, by the way, but the emotions in them were raw, as they are in yours, and when I'd read them, I was always amazed at the bit of progress I'd made. When you don't write, you may not notice a change at all, it's so slight from day to day. But a couple of weeks later, you think, WOW! It's at least not as bad as it was then. And then, paradoxically, there's always the seeing that atleast YOU understand yourself. Misery does love company, and who better to accompany you, than the you who was even more miserable than you? (it made sense to me...) Angels descend to the depths of wells to hoist us out on rusty winches. Glad you made it up to the light again. --Charlie

Tears (Poetry) - 9/13/2008 12:13:12 PM
I love the gentleness of this piece. I think that sad and painful memories are like that...the wound is healed, but sometimes we touch the scar...and the last stanza says it all and completes the poem perfectly. Cryssa

Tears (Poetry) - 9/13/2008 6:04:43 AM
Wonderful writing sweet man..have a wonderful and safe day OK...Hugs

Tears (Poetry) - 9/13/2008 3:19:23 AM
William, You've weaved beauty within these words, Great read, Take care Blessing's Valerie

Tears (Poetry) - 9/12/2008 5:35:34 PM
beautifully written poem of how you found the strength you needed to get through the years,unafraid to shed some tears...ET

Tears (Poetry) - 9/12/2008 2:57:11 PM
Very nice! Probably most of us could identify with touching the scar. I admire the way you are striving to find complete healing. Connie

Tears (Poetry) - 9/12/2008 2:50:32 PM
Well executed, William! Really cool, the way you brought it from "No" to "Yes" - and there certainly is "freedom in the years" for all of us. Note: I have just received "Dark Muse" and am already on page 68, and am starting a review as I go. Fascinating and utterly unique read so far. You do nice work my friend :-) Ted

Tears (Poetry) - 9/12/2008 2:46:35 PM
This is a pretty good poem.The first line of your poem really says it all.I enjoy reading it,take care Edwin

No Batteries (Poetry) - 9/11/2008 4:45:23 PM
Raw with meaning and emotion, William. Well done. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

We Dance Alone (Poetry) - 9/11/2008 4:22:21 PM
You have very effectively shared the ambiance via your verses, William. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Too Loud (Poetry) - 9/11/2008 9:24:47 AM
One of my favorite commercials of all time is an old LDS commercial about parents fighting, but the actors are children...it always puts it into perspective for me of how childish arguing really is...and reminds me to look at it from a child's perspective of hearing it too. Thanks for sharing... Cryssa

I'm 40 (Poetry) - 9/11/2008 9:21:21 AM
I hit 39 last week... My husband keeps telling me that 40's are better than 30's. Cryssa

No Batteries (Poetry) - 9/11/2008 9:19:41 AM
Oh, Wow! The emotions that this brought on! You are a master of creating visual images. Your lines "His stomach twists and turns and splashes across his shoes. His dream house now a steaming, smoking mountain of memories and debris." showed vivid images and made me feel as though I was standing in his shoes. Cryssa

My I Do Partner (Poetry) - 9/6/2008 5:06:27 PM
A lovely affirmation of love and committment. Nicely expressed, William. Happy belated Anniversary to you both. Love and peace to you, Regis PS: Thank you for your comments on "Daddy's Girl." No. I do not have a grand daughter.

Gray Rain (Poetry) - 8/29/2008 2:00:09 PM
I find the rain symbolic, mysterious, enchanting and very inspiring. Great poem, William. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace, Regis

Gray Rain (Poetry) - 8/26/2008 5:58:54 PM
One of the great-great thing about rain in summer, is that the mosquitos all stay home in bed. Any color of rain suits me just fine, but I like this color very well indeed. --Charlie

Gray Rain (Poetry) - 8/25/2008 6:55:29 PM
Sounds like a challenge, had rain here for the last 5 days, now cool weather, great write, sounds like your having fun anyways, take care Valerie

Too Loud (Poetry) - 8/24/2008 3:30:25 AM
AW" so many emotions, from the heart of a little child, give them the best they grow oh' so fast, Take care, Valerie

My Columbian Goddess! (Poetry) - 8/23/2008 8:21:05 PM
Did you ever think about selling this to a coffee producer -- company-- processor as an advertisement? It would make a great comercial! --Charlie

Too Loud (Poetry) - 8/23/2008 6:50:07 PM
Well this awakened emotions deep within. I don't think this is "cute" poem. To me, this is deeply meaningful. Thank you, William. Love and peace, Regis

My I Do Partner (Poetry) - 8/18/2008 4:29:16 AM
So Sweet, a lovely way to show her how much you care, Take care, and Bless the both of you ! Valerie

I'm 40 (Poetry) - 8/17/2008 2:53:20 PM
I'm a bit older than you. Don't feel older at all. I support you and all of you endeavors, Regis

I'm 40 (Poetry) - 8/17/2008 8:54:11 AM
Happy Birthday !!!! the forty's are a wonderful time, Take care Valerie

I'm 40 (Poetry) - 8/16/2008 8:08:08 AM
Happy Birthday Leo, I hit 5 0 today.

Too Loud (Poetry) - 8/12/2008 6:40:24 AM
Hi... This is nice. You are handsome. I am a newbie here. I hope i am not intruding. Hope to hear from you.......hehe

Too Loud (Poetry) - 8/1/2008 2:56:28 PM
yes, this sounds like my own loud italian family, but we are all used to each other, lol. Cute poem :)

Call Me Daddy (Poetry) - 7/4/2008 2:31:52 PM
Good job, William. Being a dad, twice, I can relate. Keep it it up. Terry

Call Me Daddy (Poetry) - 7/2/2008 8:23:35 AM
Awesome! Isn't it ghastly to be a dad at a birthing! Mom has the hardest task, but we dads are wrecked. Been there, done that, twice, and it scared me to death. This was with two different wives. I thought it would be different, easier, the second time around. It wasn't. Super job writing this one, William :-) I wish I had read it before my first birthing! BTW - I am now awaiting the arrival of your book. I am looking forward to a great read, and I will write a review if you like. Ted

Down Here. (Poetry) - 5/13/2008 9:04:34 AM
oh,so sad !!!with books and poetry to get going on,no one can ever be alone...keep that in mind

We Dance Alone (Poetry) - 5/13/2008 9:01:43 AM
nice.romantic

Call Me Daddy (Poetry) - 5/12/2008 2:39:11 AM
very touching and dramatical verse Gene, gee I'm glad the baby got out ok, I was a blue baby but I survived to be a big strong man, this touched me,

Call Me Daddy (Poetry) - 4/8/2008 8:53:09 PM
This clenches the heart from word one and doesn't let go until the very last meaningful words, this is excellent, the way you told a story so well within a poem without messing with the poem.

Call Me Daddy (Poetry) - 4/8/2008 2:42:04 PM
Awesomely and incredibly powerful indeed. Woooo "Call Me Daddy" I was praying every stanza for the survival myself...and could just feel your heart breaking. I know those must be the most beautiful words you hear and long too. Continued blessings to you, ~Gwendolyn

Driving To Somewhere Else (Poetry) - 4/7/2008 1:04:17 PM
I sometimes feel that way.I love how you ended it...Sometimes the only cure is being with those we think we want to take a break from. Just thinking about "driving to somewhere else" and getting away is often all we need to rejuvenate us because it makes us realize how much we have to be grateful for. wonderful description. Ahna

Call Me Daddy (Poetry) - 4/7/2008 12:46:08 PM
That was Powerful! I felt like I was there, watching the doctors frantically attempting to rescue the little baby I loved so much, even after only seeing him for a few seconds. It was heart breaking, and I held my breath through every line, not wanting him to die yet, willing him to live, and then he was laid in your arms alive, and I felt a wave of relief come over me. Very touching, and full of emotion. That was beautiful. Ahna

Call Me Daddy (Poetry) - 4/6/2008 3:37:11 PM
...well penned write...of a birth day...separated...words of unknowing...until they would finally come together to celebrate one. excellent memories...and one whose father will always hold. John

Call Me Daddy (Poetry) - 4/6/2008 2:27:42 PM
--brings back some pretty difficult memories for me too. I definitely see the correlation between yours and Cryssa's poems. Life is so very precious and beautiful. I'm glad he made it through. --charlie

Gray Rain (Poetry) - 4/6/2008 7:23:36 AM
I love the first stanza... the thoughts expressed there really challenged me to try to think of the silver lining in the gray rain. I think that when a gray rain falls it is like the heavens are expressing my gray/blue feelings and crying with me. Cryssa :~)

Call Me Daddy (Poetry) - 4/6/2008 7:17:48 AM
Wowie! This poem strikes such a powerful chord within me! Now I understand your review of my poem, Picture of Health... Thanks for sharing such a deep and poignant memory of your son. Moments like that change us...touch us deeply...and leave us with new insights into life and its fragility and the blessings of God. I loved the last two lines of your second to the last stanza. Powerful emotions expressed within those two lines...expressing the fear and realization that in some ways we all hold in our hearts when we realize that life as we know it here has a finite number of days. Your poem touched me deeply. Thank you for sharing... Cryssa

My Columbian Goddess! (Poetry) - 4/5/2008 7:31:08 PM
Yes, iced coffee is great too!

Call Me Daddy (Poetry) - 4/5/2008 7:29:55 PM
Ah, really nice. Enjoyed.

My I Do Partner (Poetry) - 3/26/2008 6:13:54 AM
It's a very big deal to truly be in love with your I-Do Partner. Lovely poem.

My I Do Partner (Poetry) - 3/22/2008 12:28:52 AM
What beautiful, loving thoughts you have expressed here.

Driving To Somewhere Else (Poetry) - 3/21/2008 6:33:48 PM
...well written words...come full circle...and do a turn around in your poetic thoughts... John

My I Do Partner (Poetry) - 3/21/2008 5:30:02 PM
Really kind and lovely. Cheers

My I Do Partner (Poetry) - 3/21/2008 3:40:39 PM
i must say you are blessed to have a kindred soul as your mirrored reflection in this life. blessed are your words. randy

My I Do Partner (Poetry) - 3/21/2008 3:39:06 PM
My husband and I are just coming up to our 19th anniversary... He is still everything I have ever wanted in a mate...my "I do" partner, I guess. :~) Cryssa

Driving To Somewhere Else (Poetry) - 3/21/2008 3:37:28 PM
Oh, I know these feelings well... and I don't commute! hee, hee... but sometimes it is nice to escape in fantasies that I don't really want to come true except in minute portions... Cryssa

Brother (Poetry) - 2/19/2008 7:34:15 PM
Very beautiful. Noble. Cheers

Brother (Poetry) - 2/19/2008 7:28:57 PM
Such sincere sentiments, I can relate to only too well. Time on this earth is short, make amends and try to bring your family together one more time. God bless you.... Be always safe, Karen

Down Here. (Poetry) - 2/19/2008 4:28:35 PM
This cries out to me... from the depth of despair and anguish. I have a similar poem, "InkBlots"... I, too, am surprised at the depth of the darkness I was in when I wrote it, but... the poem perfectly captured what I was feeling at the time. I don't want to erase that time because of the things I learned from it... Cryssa

The Last Photograph (Poetry) - 2/19/2008 4:25:35 PM
I have a few of those nostalgic photos tucked away... Thanks for the walk down memory lane. Cryssa

Brother (Poetry) - 2/19/2008 4:24:14 PM
This poem tugged on my heart strings... Amazing the things we let come in the way of sharing our love with our family members sometimes... Cryssa

Down Here. (Poetry) - 2/19/2008 9:26:45 AM
I don't know whether this is a true reflection of what really happened to you or not. But the poem seems written by a man at the end of his thether. Move on, because when one door closes, another one opens. Show her how you can get on with life, and good luck my friend. A moving heartfelt poem. Best wishes, Gerald J Tate

We Dance Alone (Poetry) - 2/13/2008 3:05:51 PM
Wow, really hot! Love the subtlety and great images, you really create the moment for the reader!

We Dance Alone (Poetry) - 2/11/2008 5:26:39 PM
Very intoxicating and moving.... Be always safe, Karen

We Dance Alone (Poetry) - 2/11/2008 8:26:02 AM
Such beautiful, sensual romance.

We Dance Alone (Poetry) - 2/10/2008 4:06:42 PM
Very nice writing...HUgssssss

My Columbian Goddess! (Poetry) - 1/9/2008 8:25:03 PM
A witty write. It seems I've found another coffee addict. Chanti

Down Here. (Poetry) - 1/9/2008 8:23:21 PM
A profoundly moving cry from the heart. It's amazing how much soul searching goes on in those dark days. When you're immersed in it, it's hard to imagine it will ever end...and yet it does. Thank God! I like your style. Chanti

Down Here. (Poetry) - 12/27/2007 12:11:38 AM
This is very touching. I think sometimes good things come out of a broken heart. You were able to re-discover yourself. Heart break has a way of adding that extra something to a person's writing too; a whole different dimension and depth. Thank you for sharing this poem:)

My Columbian Goddess! (Poetry) - 12/21/2007 6:33:15 PM
Crackpipe? Lost his soul? Whoops! I'd better pour myself another cup of coffee and think about about what I wrote here. lol

The Last Photograph (Poetry) - 12/13/2007 6:19:04 PM
This one brings back a few memories. I've definately been haunted by the odd old photo in my junk drawers. Well told. Keep it up! Cheers, Dani

The Last Photograph (Poetry) - 11/30/2007 4:55:43 AM
A lovely look down memory lane. Dee

Gray Rain (Poetry) - 11/30/2007 2:42:56 AM
You paint a clear picture with your words. I can almost smell that coffee brewing...a night owl's favorite drink! Nicely penned! -Sheila

Gray Rain (Poetry) - 11/21/2007 2:49:53 AM
well done, write more

Down Here. (Poetry) - 11/21/2007 2:49:01 AM
poignant read

Down Here. (Poetry) - 10/18/2007 11:06:02 PM
You have described your situation very well, being so dishearted and down on life in general. Divorce is never easy and no one ever walks away the winner..... Be safe, Karen

Gray Rain (Poetry) - 9/27/2007 7:04:36 AM
Boy, do I hate those days when I can't seem to rise above the grayness in my heart. Daydreams of 'sunshine' shatter when reality 'rings' in. Having said that, I'm blessed to have more sunny days than gray ones. Sometimes I've got to make my own sunshine - ice cream always seems to help. Kathy

Gray Rain (Poetry) - 9/26/2007 9:12:54 PM
Such a sweet poem. You are very lucky to be getting some rain, everything here is slowly dying....Very well written, descriptive piece... Be safe, Karen

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.