AuthorsDen.com  Join | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Lois Santalo, iLinda Alexander, iWilliam Pusey, iellen george, iGreg Pendleton, iRussell Williams, iCindy Ziperman, i
 
Home > Mark C. Carroll
 

Recent Reviews for Mark C. Carroll


The Lost Book Of The Pharaoh Mar-Kont-His (Short Story) - 1/20/2007 4:33:18 PM
This is an intriguing little piece of fiction. Is it a dream transcribed? There are a few typos and a couple places with too many words. If this is a translation, places that have missing words (and guessed at additional words) need to be indicated ... such. This would make it more 'authentic'. Reminds me of The Egyptologist, Renť

Building of a Tarheel Fan (Short Story) - 12/16/2005 6:06:30 PM
Hail from a Tarheel!

Building of a Tarheel Fan (Short Story) - 7/6/2005 12:07:05 PM
Loved This. Enjoyed your writing style...

Building of a Tarheel Fan (Short Story) - 3/24/2005 10:01:53 AM
Mark, Fascinating stuff here ... highly informative and entertaining write ... thanks for this one!! Best regards, Robert

Building of a Tarheel Fan (Short Story) - 2/18/2005 5:37:47 AM
Great story. i remember watching some of those games with you, and like most little brothers i assume. also became a tarheels fan. but so must have been the good lord above. sky = carolina blue

Building of a Tarheel Fan (Short Story) - 2/17/2005 9:56:39 AM
Hi, Mark. Great story! Why didn't I know this??? Did they win?? Aleta :)

Building of a Tarheel Fan (Short Story) - 2/9/2005 4:34:47 PM
yup! go tarheels! hope they beat duke tonight! good write, mark! well done! :)

The Lost Book Of The Pharaoh Mar-Kont-His (Short Story) - 8/18/2004 4:49:13 PM
Interesting piece of writing. Fiction or true document, these prophecies describe in clear vision some of the shortcomings of our civilisation - knowing a lot about everything, but missing the point. Thanks for sharing this intriguing document. Franz

EULOGY: Bill D. Carroll (Article) - 6/25/2005 12:49:58 PM
Again sorry for your loss. although i did not know bill i have sure learned alot about him in recent months. one thing i can tell you is that he was a good , fair and honest man, and a loving father. luckily for this world even though he was not around early in your life you were passed these same traits. And the world is a better place for it. God Bless you in all your future endeavors.

EULOGY: Bill D. Carroll (Article) - 6/24/2005 2:45:50 AM
Mark, This is so loving and inspiring. Your Dad taught me alot through this beautiful eulogy to a hero, although he says differently. He and his values and philosophy will live on forever as he does now in you and your children. Thank you so much for this wonderful tribute to a Fine Honorable and Loving man, Your Dad! ~Salute!~ xoox The Angel on your shoulder. I send my most sincere condolences, strength, peace and love to you and your family. All my love, Tracey

When Dr. Denis Waitley Speaks; Sailors listen (Article) - 6/9/2005 6:06:16 AM
enjoyed the read

When Dr. Denis Waitley Speaks; Sailors listen (Article) - 5/13/2005 6:09:33 PM
Mark, You make one want to grab the chance to listen to Dr. Waitley. This is a well written article that clearly defines the message the speaker was relaying to the audience. A lot of deep psychology goes into what the man is teaching! Very intereing. Sherry

Motorcycle versus Combat Re-training (Article) - 4/13/2005 9:18:45 AM
great article. as being former military and being a cyclist i can relate to both senarios. and i also feel that retraining motorcyclists is not only ignorant but just plain stupid.

Weight Loss Plan (Article) - 2/17/2005 9:49:30 AM
Hi, Mark. Great idea. Congratulations on current progress. Please keep me informed. This is an area where I must focus as well. Time to exercise is my biggest stumbling block. Keep up the good work! :)

Two cents about Sydney, Austrailia (Article) - 2/17/2005 9:46:21 AM
Hi, Mark. In my browser, your picture is huge and actually is overlaying part of your article. Can you adjust? Thank you, Aleta;)

Weight Loss Plan (Article) - 2/9/2005 9:20:11 AM
Good plan and progress, good article and ... good luck!

A Leadership Process (Article) - 1/25/2005 7:18:35 AM
Thank you Judy. I have corrected the blurry area and appreciate your feedback. Have an enchanted day. Mark

A Leadership Process (Article) - 1/25/2005 5:54:22 AM
Some of this was blurred and I could not read but I think I follow what you are trying to say here.

Racism Part 2 (Article) - 12/27/2004 10:16:04 AM
Good article, Mark. I also agree with Sandy's comments. Ignoring or remaining silent when somone's behavior or actions are inappropriate is just as bad as the person doing the deed. I also feel that people who keep their minds closed are more apt to racist attitudes, sometimes people want to catergorize a whole group based on a few people's actions. Dislike if you will, someone's actions or behavior but don't hate a whole race, religion ect., based on a dislike of one or more persons.

Racism Part 2 (Article) - 12/21/2004 10:54:27 PM
Nice article, Mark. I agree, we should not stand for racist behavior. We can't change how people think, but we can let them know when their actions are inappropriate. I believe too many people have fallen for the "if you don't have anything nice to say, say nothing" line, and believe they it is 'nice' to remain silent when others are saying and doing things that are inappropriate. Until we erase those old cliches, it is extremely important for those of us who see how dangerous they are to speak up every chance we get. Sometimes our silence is more harmful than saying something 'not nice'.

How To End Racism. (Article) - 12/20/2004 9:42:44 PM
Dear Mark, I read and enjoyed your article on how to end racism. You made an interesting point about the irony of the racist Hitler if he had succeeded in his war may have ended racism. I feel you are a good man and can see the danger of the evil of racism. You have probably given a lot more thought to it than I have but I feel racism is just one branch of the overall evil of discrimination. Discrimination has been with us since the earliest of times when one village or cave was wary of the village or cave on the other side of the hill. The only difference between racism and other forms of discrimination is that it is easier usually to recognise the different races. Even if Hitler had won his war and succeeded in eliminating many races I doubt if he would have succeeded in eliminating discrimination. I believe there are three causes for discrimination, fear born of insecurity, Basic hatred within the heart of some individuals that looks for some outlet to vent it on, hatred that is taught to an individual or group by someone with basic hatred in their heart or by someone who benefits from the practice of that discrimination. I am by no means an expert on this subject and have not studied psychology, but having been born and raised in Northern Ireland I have witnessed discrimination based on religion, although in my opinion religion was just an excuse used for it. Most of the people of that poor country were all poor regardless of what religion they were, and good paying jobs were few and those who had them were afraid of losing them. I think the arrival on the scene of Ian Paisley and Bernadette Devlin on opposing sides provided an explosive situation that inflamed men's hearts and politicions used the situation to control sections of the population. I had already departed from that country before the Devlin/ Paisley bubble burst and could only observe sadly from a distance. A few observations I have made, when fear born of insecurity is removed and the inflaming rhetoric has died down,ordinary people get along just fine. Also we have shown the ability to accept other races such as Chinese and Japanese. Perhaps one of these days we will find blacks and whites being more tolerant of eachother, but I think first both have to also learn it is a two way street.

Foxhole Mentality (Article) - 9/21/2003 5:12:24 AM
enjoyed the read

Shame in Coronado California (Article) - 9/21/2003 5:11:55 AM
well said

Foxhole Mentality (Article) - 8/18/2003 1:58:42 PM
Great analogy for leadership. I'm in the for-profit world and can easily relate to this. Great work!

Foxhole Mentality (Article) - 7/12/2003 10:34:03 PM
This is well thought out...and it is something I can relate to and agree with. Good write here.

Instant Oxymoron: Add Safety (Article) - 6/6/2003 11:55:45 PM
This is the best article I have read here so far. Everything starts (and ends) with a word. Before we can define the meanings of words we use, there is no hope of any proper communication. You are right: it is safety versus life. The only time one can be truly safe is when one is buried; nothing is going to happen then, and nothing would matter if happens. Hope to see more of such pieces..one thing though; you wrote two verbs in one sentence. I gather this was a typo:"If Risk is exists SAFETY does not". Well done, Mark!

MILITARY MEMBERS DENIED GI BILL ENROLLMENT (Article) - 5/10/2003 5:52:05 PM
informative article

Tinker Tornadoes, Turtles, Carp, and Catfish (Article) - 5/10/2003 5:48:39 PM
enjoyed the read

MILITARY MEMBERS DENIED GI BILL ENROLLMENT (Article) - 4/26/2003 11:31:59 AM
It is indeed unfortunate that provisions of the bill do not allow the service members the opportunity to have education rights that are more flexible and forgiving. Over the years, the GI bill has helped millions of service members and former service members reintegrate back into our society, and has paid dividends many times over the initial investment. It's time to revisit this issue with our legislators. Make your voice heard...contact your State Representatives today!

MILITARY MEMBERS DENIED GI BILL ENROLLMENT (Article) - 4/14/2003 1:56:59 PM
I strongly agree with everything that you have written.

Instant Oxymoron: Add Safety (Article) - 3/4/2003 9:33:00 AM
Interesting article mark. I tend to see safety and trust tied closely together. When I have done everything I know I can do to affect a particular thing/outcome, I let go to trust and feel safer. Also. I think a fair expectations are always in order--if things work out the way I prefer 50-50, then I am getting a good deal. That is my most fundamental trust expecation. Good article. Bill Cottringer

Instant Oxymoron: Add Safety (Article) - 3/2/2003 4:13:21 PM
Interesting POV. I like the idea of education vs. safety. It implies an interesting controversy in our culture. The idea of risk and how it surrounds us all is also quite provoking. I wonder to what extremes this idea could be illustrated and practiced?

snipett (Poetry) - 11/13/2007 2:51:39 PM
As the author you admit to not remembering exactly what you were "referring to". Yet it seems obvious enough that you are commenting on how powerful and frightful fear is, the dominance of it, that it holds dominion even over the mind of man, capable of twisting it this way and that until it drives one mad. Simply read that which you have written...read it as if someone else had written it. It think it is quite profound in its simplicity...like a fairy tale of a poem. Dean Forchette

snipett (Poetry) - 11/11/2007 2:53:24 PM
Fear can indeed change lives; unfortunately, I don't see it as a very positive influence. Your brief write makes the reader think. Thank you, Mark. Love and peace to you, Regis

A Struggle For Control (Poetry) - 6/13/2007 5:48:49 AM
Interesting pen,Hugss

A Struggle For Control (Poetry) - 6/12/2007 6:30:41 PM
Nature trumps us all, she is the one in control.... Be safe, Karen

There's No Place Like Home (Poetry) - 6/12/2007 10:12:36 AM
Long time no see Mark!;-) Unique metaphors in this gem of a poem! Eileen

Insomniacís prayer (Poetry) - 6/6/2007 8:06:15 AM
I just went through a period where I simply could not get to sleep. Your verses hit home hard. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Insomniacís prayer (Poetry) - 6/3/2007 4:26:47 PM
Why of course not Mark. Try watching TVand you'll laugh yourself to sleep or reading a book, and you'll tire your eyes to sleep or surfing the internet and you'll burn your eyes to sleep. What a clever and well penned prayer. Thanks for sharing. My best, Gloria

Insomniacís prayer (Poetry) - 5/24/2007 11:51:46 AM
Wow Mark this is so me , night after night. I ask myself this over and over. Rose

A Triolet  (Poetry) - 12/14/2006 10:13:57 AM
Cleverly created verses, Mark. Thank you for sharing this gift. Love and peace, Regis

Little Chick (Poetry) - 12/14/2006 10:12:46 AM
Thought-provoking, Mark. Thank you for sharing this offering. Love and peace to you, Regis

Little Chick (Poetry) - 12/14/2006 6:44:52 AM
Enjoyed

A Triolet  (Poetry) - 11/11/2006 1:48:12 PM
Short and oh so sweet. Every now and again I read something and think 'Wow why didn't I write that?' This was one such time. Such a catchy line 'Will tomorrow remember my name' Great poetry! Chanti

A Triolet  (Poetry) - 11/11/2006 11:35:55 AM
Today is the first day of the rest of my... or is it tomorrow is the last day of the past of...yikes I am confusing myself...you said it Much better. nice job!

Hometown (Poetry) - 11/8/2006 8:17:25 PM
interesting-could almost hear the banjo!

Mud and Bare Feet (Poetry) - 11/8/2006 8:16:40 PM
i love this one, could almost feel that mud seeping between my toes-it made me nostalgic for my childhood

Danse Macabre Ku2 (Poetry) - 10/1/2006 4:28:35 AM
Enjoyed these thank you for the smile pax A

Danse Macabre Ku2 (Poetry) - 9/21/2006 8:32:21 PM
Sweet haiku, Mark. Thanks for sharing. Love and peace, Regis

Always There (Poetry) - 9/8/2006 5:56:10 PM
I appreciate the kind words, I unfortunately lost the tune and I am not sure I will be able to add to it. thanks again. Mark

Always There (Poetry) - 9/4/2006 3:16:39 AM
Respected Savant, Poet, It is a miracle poem, Where the nature speaks, sparks through the thoughts of the Poet. The wonderful, colourful painting of the Words of the Poet springs melody. God Bless you, Yours cordially, N.K.OSHO

Danse Macabre Ku2 (Poetry) - 9/3/2006 8:35:07 PM
"fish kiss their lucid ceiling" What a unique expression. I loved the original ways of describing things you have and your witty play on words. Great haikus.

Mud and Bare Feet (Poetry) - 8/29/2006 11:20:37 AM
Fun and unique!

Danse Macabre Ku2 (Poetry) - 8/29/2006 2:26:59 AM
I like 5-7-5 ku, Apparently so do u...ed

Danse Macabre Ku2 (Poetry) - 8/28/2006 9:54:56 PM
I like that "pippy popping sounds"....

Mud and Bare Feet (Poetry) - 6/14/2006 9:18:31 AM
IT WAS A PLEASUR TO READ SUCH FINE WORK.

The secret meaning of life (Poetry) - 5/4/2006 9:08:33 AM
What a lovely write! Totally agree with you. Amy I. Ramdass

SAN FRANCISCO, Whenter (Poetry) - 12/23/2005 2:17:48 PM
So much in so few words. Well done poet.

Uno (Poetry) - 12/23/2005 12:12:01 PM
Very interesting thought pattern here...less is more.

SAN FRANCISCO, Whenter (Poetry) - 12/6/2005 4:57:17 PM
Interesting viewpoint! Amazing how prescient you are!

SAN FRANCISCO, Whenter (Poetry) - 12/2/2005 10:16:36 PM
Such things should not bring joy! Excellnt,though sad Mark... Eileen

SAFE: Selling A Fictitious Environment (Poetry) - 11/15/2005 12:13:46 PM
Fabulous! Thanks Mark. The "living dead" indeed :)

Insomniacís prayer (Poetry) - 11/2/2005 4:43:03 AM
I asked that same question myself! Short but concise and well-written poem!

Uno (Poetry) - 10/5/2005 8:58:05 PM
Gee, I liked that card game...Ed

Uno (Poetry) - 10/2/2005 1:34:21 PM
I like this...Thank you **

Uno (Poetry) - 10/2/2005 9:00:04 AM
Rebellious! Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

Uno (Poetry) - 10/1/2005 11:27:54 PM
One word for this: Cool! blessin's Bro. Mark, cynth'ya lewis reed

Hometown (Poetry) - 10/1/2005 10:18:47 PM
Nice..who doesn't appreciate home?! Thanks for reading and responding... Rhonda

Always There (Poetry) - 9/26/2005 1:29:23 PM
wonderful talent..

Always There (Poetry) - 9/26/2005 12:53:31 PM
Beautiful thoughts create a lovely poem! Fine write! Eileen

Always There (Poetry) - 9/26/2005 11:29:12 AM
Excellent...I wrote something similar...here goes...it was re-posted not so long ago!! Can You See Me As you walk your shoreline... Can you see me? In the depth of the ocean I am down at the bottom Where shells dance and bump As you walk your shoreline Can you hear me? I am restlessÖ And always ready to change They call me EB & FLOW Can you feel me? I am the sand under your feet The wetness of the sandÖ AreÖ those tearsÖ That rolled down my face KnowÖ Each time you walk a shoreline There will be another stormÖ Deep within meÖ I rumble Each silver sunray on the horizon Another blessed kiss send your way!! Copyright © 2003 ~ 2005 Tinka Boukes All Rights Reserved

Youthful Facade (Poetry) - 8/22/2005 3:33:25 PM
Yes,....I am trying to strip and leave my character exposed , but it's harder for some....at least so I find! Excellent , Concise and evacotive write! Really Great! Peace Rich Criso Suarez

Active Duty Ebb (Poetry) - 7/6/2005 2:08:53 AM
Wondrfully written Haiku. The end of one experience and the beginning of another. I look forward to reading where your journey takes you...

Active Duty Ebb (Poetry) - 7/3/2005 2:00:21 AM
A well composed write that says it all, best of luck ...

Fished out (Poetry) - 7/2/2005 1:25:32 PM
Another way of stating humanity's bent on destroying that is this planet. Thank you, Mark. Love and peace to you. Regis

Active Duty Ebb (Poetry) - 7/2/2005 1:23:20 PM
Nice haiku that expresses what you feel and shares it. Thank you, Mark. Love and peace. Regis

Active Duty Ebb (Poetry) - 6/26/2005 6:35:29 AM
well done!

Active Duty Ebb (Poetry) - 6/23/2005 4:07:28 PM
Congratulations. Smooth sailing from here on in.

Active Duty Ebb (Poetry) - 6/23/2005 2:48:34 PM
Mark, I'm glad you're safe; you are in my prayers, and thank you, Sir, for your service. :) Pleasant journeys, no matter where the wind takes you-- (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :) Great haiku, too :)

Active Duty Ebb (Poetry) - 6/23/2005 2:44:44 PM
all the best to you; you are in my prayers!

Danse Macabre (Poetry) - 6/9/2005 10:40:26 AM
The title surely fits the ku! I love it Mark!;-) Well done! Eileen

Fished out (Poetry) - 6/8/2005 9:58:31 AM
Mark, hee hee. You must have been looking over my shoulders at the fish I caught--tiny!!!! LOL Thanks for the memories--excellent write! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :)

If I Knew, I Never Learned (Poetry) - 6/7/2005 8:36:31 AM
super duper cool piece Mark, I tell my wife everyday that inorder for her to help herself she should face up, it's like talking to a wall though. I faced up and I am a better person for it, nowhere near perfect but a little better. My wife keeps slipping in the mud with her superior know it all attitude, blame game, it's everyone elses fault etc

Fished out (Poetry) - 6/7/2005 8:31:59 AM
hello Mark, great fish of a write

Fished out (Poetry) - 6/6/2005 9:39:24 PM
This brings back memories of my fishing days with my father, when I was a lad. A fine piece

Fished out (Poetry) - 6/6/2005 10:58:14 AM
I used to love fishing, don't get to it anymore... loved this wistful poem Mark! Eileen

Fished out (Poetry) - 6/6/2005 7:02:55 AM
Sadly, many once pristine fishing holes are now 'fished out' and sometimes in our modern world today, even paved over. The Big Ones truly have gotten away from us.

Fished out (Poetry) - 6/6/2005 5:14:29 AM
Ego's are the only things large in fishing.

Fished out (Poetry) - 6/6/2005 5:10:39 AM
Truth is the fishing is more like wishing to make a catch in a well great lines ... sometimes what we catch in life only appears large to us ...

If I Knew, I Never Learned (Poetry) - 5/15/2005 4:30:07 AM
Many truisms which give pause to stop and reflect here, Mark. To keep going deeper into things is the way to stay afloat and to move on... trouble is we have a natural tendency to live life like a shallow puddle, not realising how we are either stagnating or just plain drying up! But boy oh boy is it true that we never forget our mistakes and failures... well, perhaps it is others who never let us?! Good thoughts worth holding onto - TY Kate x

If I Knew, I Never Learned (Poetry) - 4/15/2005 8:22:09 PM
You have some good thoughts there in this poem. Wonderful write, Mark! Sandie Angel a.k.a. Sandie May Angel :o)

Plaid (Poetry) - 4/13/2005 9:09:15 AM
Mark, Interesting write ... well-done ... outstanding!! Best regards, Robert

CPO Limericks #1 (Poetry) - 4/5/2005 11:35:40 AM
Mark, A very exacting and humorous limerick - exceptionally done!! Best regards, Robert

If I Knew, I Never Learned (Poetry) - 4/1/2005 8:30:29 PM
Brief but profound!

If I Knew, I Never Learned (Poetry) - 3/29/2005 12:20:47 PM
Mark, Very unique ... profound - outstanding!! Best regards, Robert

If I Knew, I Never Learned (Poetry) - 3/27/2005 3:07:06 AM
Very powerful thoughts. M.Rose

If I Knew, I Never Learned (Poetry) - 3/26/2005 10:16:38 AM
lots of meaningful truths thoughts and emotions here very enjoyable

If I Knew, I Never Learned (Poetry) - 3/25/2005 12:11:20 PM
Short but very meaningful in expressive thought and emotion. Thank you, Mark. Love and peace. Regis

If I Knew, I Never Learned (Poetry) - 3/24/2005 2:16:24 PM
Love the message in this excellent short poem, Mark! (It surfs beautifully over the waves;D) etw

If I Knew, I Never Learned (Poetry) - 3/23/2005 1:15:18 PM
excellent write, mark! well done! :)

If I Knew, I Never Learned (Poetry) - 3/23/2005 1:09:10 PM
as your words will never die...this is short and sweet

Bellwether (Poetry) - 2/18/2005 5:41:57 AM
good poem. seems the confusion makes you think more about it to try and figure it out. keeps the poem on the mind. sure is a long way from mud and barefeet.

Plaid (Poetry) - 2/17/2005 9:53:14 AM
I would have to say, "YES". And, it is such a shame. The only place that I like to see plaid is in tartans. ;)

Bellwether (Poetry) - 2/11/2005 12:39:00 PM
crap, i think not enjoyed the flow and confusion is one of the best feelings to write or write about we all been there!!! enjoy this, truly

Bellwether (Poetry) - 2/9/2005 2:50:46 AM
I agree with Robert. Confusion can yield good poetry. Glad I stopped by. M.Rose

Bellwether (Poetry) - 2/8/2005 4:45:53 PM
sometimes confusions yields good poetry ...

Bellwether (Poetry) - 2/8/2005 10:45:14 AM
i like it too

Bellwether (Poetry) - 2/7/2005 8:36:13 PM
Well, I don't know where it came from, but I know I like it! This was very interesting and very intriguing, Reindeer

Naught (Poetry) - 2/6/2005 2:49:53 PM
Yep what better reason than this.

Naught (Poetry) - 2/6/2005 1:20:49 PM
what better reason

Plaid (Poetry) - 2/6/2005 12:30:30 PM
Well I rather like plaid it blends in very well in a quilt.

Plaid (Poetry) - 2/6/2005 6:20:51 AM
LOL interesting question, but I am clueless :) pax A

Ring of Love and Understanding (Poetry) - 12/28/2004 3:31:45 PM
very simple and sweet why don't we get it? enjoyed

Ring of Love and Understanding (Poetry) - 12/22/2004 4:48:37 PM
very good, I like this :)

Ring of Love and Understanding (Poetry) - 12/22/2004 11:04:54 AM
Splendid sentiments Mark! We need the "special rings" desparately in this world today! Holiday blessings to you!

SAFE: Selling A Fictitious Environment (Poetry) - 12/21/2004 3:43:35 AM
There's so much truth in this one. Good job Mark! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

Fickle Time (Poetry) - 12/18/2004 8:09:27 AM
May the bells keep ringing May the birds keep singing.

Fickle Time (Poetry) - 12/15/2004 1:12:15 PM
This is such a short sweet poem!

Fickle Time (Poetry) - 12/14/2004 2:15:02 PM
fun rhyme, true concept!

Fickle Time (Poetry) - 8/25/2004 6:42:01 PM
unique approach ...

Fickle Time (Poetry) - 8/21/2004 2:54:13 PM
Interesting... Sandie May Angel

Fickle Time (Poetry) - 8/21/2004 11:22:24 AM
short and sweet, and clever!

Insomniacís prayer (Poetry) - 8/13/2004 7:01:57 PM
Good one, short and to the point. I get it on certain days. I think the worrying just makes it worse by keeping the wheels turning in your head. Bob H

SAFE: Selling A Fictitious Environment (Poetry) - 8/11/2004 9:53:18 AM
so true!!! what is life without risk and chances excellent piece!!

Stop Before You Step (Poetry) - 4/22/2004 1:08:51 PM
This is quite a thought-provoking conundrum, Mark... there are different reasons why we stop before stepping, and different sorts of things that we might be stepping into, after all! For example, indecision is quite disempowering if it is simply the inability to make choices; on the other hand, to consider all the options and their potential consequences is very empowering and positive - but this is in the realms of material decisions. But, out there in the spiritual/emotional arena, then often there is a need to take the risk, to launch out into the unknown in ignorance or "blind faith", and to only have the revelation and understanding come to you subsequently. Perspective is positional, after all, and sometimes you have to "step" before the revelation or full understanding comes. Also, whatever we ourselves plan or purpose by our stopping and stepping, unless we are operating in a total vacuum we are inevitably affected by the choices others around us make as well, which will fundamentally affect the outcome. Hmmm... plenty for the old grey matter to wrestle with here, but I'd better stop for now! Thanks for the challenge KB

Stop Before You Step (Poetry) - 4/17/2004 12:36:14 PM
An insightful piece. I can picture you standing like an oak tree rooted by indecision.

Stop Before You Step (Poetry) - 4/9/2004 2:21:02 PM
This is good Mark. I do believe that a pivital point in our personal/spiritual development is in slowing down to think about the power we have a making all the choices that confront us each moment, and the likely consequences we will get from those choices. It is really an awesome responsibility once you get to that awareness. I think it is a mark of maturity, or even a definition of it. I am getting in touch with the wisdom of Freud--stopping to check with the superego about conflict choices between the parent/ego head of our personalities and the child/id heart part. You may want to check out my latest article about this at my site (success and common sense. I think the "Original Sin" of mankind is simply not realizing where our free will to make choices comes from and then using it responsibly. Good words! Very True. Bill C.

Stop Before You Step (Poetry) - 4/8/2004 8:14:49 PM
"Stop Before You Step" is profound. It caused me to stop and think, and then apply it to myself. The message, to me, is that once I have stopped and considered, then decided where I want to go, understanding the ramifications and potential consequences, my feet take wings! Nothing is holding me back. Well done. Thanks, Mark, for causing me to Stop Before I Stepped.

Stop Before You Step (Poetry) - 4/8/2004 12:43:23 PM
oh wise man.......well done! lol

Stop Before You Step (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 9:41:50 PM
well-developed wisdom ...

Stop Before You Step (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 9:29:47 PM
An impressive piece, Mark! Excellently said, beautifully written! Love, Sheila

Stop Before You Step (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 8:11:01 PM
Hi, Mark. Another masterpiece, I see. This is really sooo true. I've done this many times. Sometimes I've waited longer than I should have and others, not long enough. Fortunately, I'm wise enough to see that and learn from it. Have a great day. :)

Stop Before You Step (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 7:21:27 PM
Bravo! Good to see you Mark! This is wonderful work and I hope we see more of it! Great insight !

Stop Before You Step (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 6:21:33 PM
Following one's heart requires willingness and courage to take risks. Well done Mark. ~Joseph

Stop Before You Step (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 4:29:10 PM
This was outstanding, I loved this, so powerful, and I believe I understand all to well what you mean, Reindeer

Stop Before You Step (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 4:04:23 PM
(((mark))) much insight and power in this inspirational piece--i'd like to know what inspired it (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :)

Scraps (Poetry) - 2/17/2004 4:52:29 AM
Very nice! :)

O'Callahan FF-1051 Decklog (Poetry) - 2/9/2004 10:41:15 AM
Hi, Mark. This is an awesome poem / log entry. I agree that a book of logs like these would be an impressive statement from the members of our Armed Forces. I'm going to be contacting your for your permission to use this in the Delaware Legionnaire. Have a great day! :)

The secret meaning of life (Poetry) - 1/11/2004 12:55:54 PM
Right on the nose Mark!..or is it the HEART!!?? magnificent write...indeed Love..just as it is! Vesna :)

The secret meaning of life (Poetry) - 1/1/2004 11:31:00 PM
You nailed it, Mark. Love is the secret meaning of life: love is rewarded with eternal life. Very well written, to the point! ~~Bonnie Q Associate Editor, Washington Waltsan Publishing, Texas

The secret meaning of life (Poetry) - 12/9/2003 6:15:40 AM
Beautiful and so true, I loved this wonderful poem, Reindeer

The secret meaning of life (Poetry) - 12/6/2003 8:23:46 PM
love is the key to the universe ... wise write ...

The secret meaning of life (Poetry) - 12/6/2003 7:08:45 PM
Yes! Well crafted poem!

The secret meaning of life (Poetry) - 12/6/2003 3:06:11 PM
So true, Mark! You cannot put love in a box... wise words you impart... In Spirit, Bear

The secret meaning of life (Poetry) - 12/6/2003 1:31:08 PM
and it s a meaning that gets lost amongst the petty bickering so many of us waste time doing. Wise words Mark. Excellant piece.

Insomniacís prayer (Poetry) - 11/20/2003 4:28:44 AM
You are truly the "Dr. Seuss" of expressing the thoughts of writers. Insomnia for me I've learned is something that can be medically controlled with doctor's supervision, and it can also be a way of God trying to speak to us, if that insomnia had nothing to do with worrying about things we cannot control. I like to call it "dreaming with my eyes open." Even we writers need to deal with sleep disorders more than anyone else. Could be caled an occupational hazard. A great change in routine works for me. blessin's to you MC Carroll. cynth'ya lewis reed

Night Shadows (Poetry) - 11/12/2003 3:31:49 PM
Great poetry Marlene

Insomniacís prayer (Poetry) - 11/9/2003 3:56:13 PM
My sister suffers with Insomniac. Her answer is to get up and read. My answer is to get up and do somehting different for 1/2 hour or longer and when the yawns begin go back to bed. Reading would keep me up all night :-) Wonderful write.

The Sailor's Ebb (Poetry) - 11/9/2003 3:53:20 PM
Powerful write.

Night Shadows (Poetry) - 11/9/2003 3:52:08 PM
The energy of night is so wonderful! :-)

When Lonely (Poetry) - 11/5/2003 4:14:02 AM
OH..this is a grand write indeed..you have an innate talent to express overwhelming emotions using only a few words..yet in doing so you express the depth perfectly..ty Vesna

Soul Reflection (Poetry) - 11/5/2003 4:10:20 AM
..the depth of this write is almost lost if it isn't read at least twice..then, slowly ,but surely, it hits you..the bombarding of one's soul with guilt,fear and anger... Excellent job! Well done!!! vesna

Night Shadows (Poetry) - 11/5/2003 4:07:21 AM
Standing Proud I could see you standing proud upon the bridge pondering on the whys and wherefores.. Insightful write..ty Vesna

Ode To My White Hat (Poetry) - 10/23/2003 12:46:07 PM
All the sailors will love this

Colors of six (Poetry) - 10/23/2003 12:42:18 PM
Calls my soul to olive seeds?

My R. D. (Poetry) - 10/23/2003 12:37:49 PM
The refreshing bath

Insomniacís prayer (Poetry) - 10/23/2003 12:35:39 PM
Write some poetry before you try to slumber.

Battery Death (Poetry) - 10/23/2003 12:31:29 PM
Controlled by the eye of another. How true

Boys:Men (Poetry) - 10/17/2003 6:11:24 AM
That final line is a killer. Interesting write.

Hope (Poetry) - 10/9/2003 1:32:38 PM
We have to have others in our life to be complete

Night Shadows (Poetry) - 8/4/2003 10:45:00 AM
Pretty!

The Spooky Animal Dance (Poetry) - 7/29/2003 11:10:48 PM
for more years than i care to mention i have been a fan of your writing and wished i had a gift like that to share with the world. it is good that you encourage your son maybe he does have the gift you have, and just needs some encouragement to let it out.

Insomniacís prayer (Poetry) - 7/29/2003 11:07:04 PM
as i sit here after my second job, trying to wind down i can definately relate to this piece.

Sound The Alarm (Poetry) - 7/29/2003 11:03:23 PM
other than poor spelling this brings out your true character. loved it. (almost as much as "mud and bare feet"

Slippery Snake (Poetry) - 7/29/2003 10:59:14 PM
Leithan definately inspires you. keep writing some poems with him in mind and the world will be better for it.

Night Shadows (Poetry) - 7/13/2003 10:14:46 AM
This is beautiful verse! ~Nikki~ Stay Safe and Come Home Soon

Night Shadows (Poetry) - 7/13/2003 9:24:35 AM
Mark, everything most pass so slowly, until the intense moment of action you go through. Not much to break the silence. Bill Murray

Night Shadows (Poetry) - 7/12/2003 10:37:57 PM
Nice...very nice. I spent a good deal of time on board various Naval vessels during my time...this is an excellent discription of the seemingly endless boredom that fills the gaps between those intense moments of action.

Night Shadows (Poetry) - 7/12/2003 3:52:46 PM
Can't tell where. Sorry.

Night Shadows (Poetry) - 7/12/2003 2:57:58 PM
(((mark))) *salute* thank you for your service to our nation stay safe...i'm prayin you come home soon, safely, unharmed beautiful poem--vivid descriptions (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :)

Night Shadows (Poetry) - 7/12/2003 2:11:22 PM
Great description, Mark! Where was that? The Gulf? Nevine

Sound The Alarm (Poetry) - 6/27/2003 7:45:22 AM
You are a good man Mark, carrying out your good mission in life. Keep it up! Bill Cottringer

Slippery Snake (Poetry) - 6/27/2003 7:43:17 AM
Kind of like the early bird gets the first worm; the early worm gets eaten. Short and true. Bill C.

The Sailor's Ebb (Poetry) - 6/27/2003 7:40:53 AM
Your good character shows well for others to see. You are a master teacher my fellow writer. Cheers for the effort. Bill Cottringer. P.S. Check out my last couple of articels--Unconditional Love, Two Profound Words, Life is a Test and Centeredness. I think we are moving towards the same truths, priciples and realities and people like us need to validate each other so we can keep moving in the right direction.

The Sailor's Ebb (Poetry) - 6/13/2003 12:48:22 PM
Love it.

The Sailor's Ebb (Poetry) - 6/13/2003 10:20:52 AM
Amen Mark. My soul will never leave, its home here near the sea, either. Great job! Jill

Insomniacís prayer (Poetry) - 6/9/2003 3:47:24 AM
Sometimes feels like this, doesn't it? I can relate. I've had times when I felt like this..exactly. Good poem. I had to check out your poetry. Your last name was my maiden name...I am glad I did. ;) Silver

Insomniacís prayer (Poetry) - 6/4/2003 5:23:38 PM
exactly, right on the money and doesn't mince words. Must be one to know one.

Sound The Alarm (Poetry) - 5/29/2003 4:00:55 AM
I really loved it!

Slippery Snake (Poetry) - 5/29/2003 3:58:46 AM
Very correct prediction. A cute little poem. Hope to read many more kids poems from you as they are scarce and the world needs more.

Slippery Snake (Poetry) - 5/28/2003 10:13:03 PM
Darling. I bet he loves it. [lol]

CPO Limericks #1 (Poetry) - 5/13/2003 5:10:08 PM
I believe I have worked under Paul. Thank God I never was worked by Rich.

O'Callahan FF-1051 Decklog (Poetry) - 5/11/2003 4:33:53 AM
excellent read

CPO Limericks #1 (Poetry) - 5/11/2003 4:32:49 AM
chuckle

Sound The Alarm (Poetry) - 5/11/2003 4:31:55 AM
thought provoking

Sound The Alarm (Poetry) - 4/14/2003 1:57:27 PM
thank you for your service to our nation...i salute you! this is a powerful, emotionally charged poem...thanks for sharing. (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :)

Sound The Alarm (Poetry) - 3/2/2003 4:16:14 PM
Nice poem. There's a lot of 'blues' in the lines!

Sound The Alarm (Poetry) - 11/5/2002 3:30:27 AM
This was good. You have balanced your love for your family and your love for you country in this one. Sandie Angel :o) / May Lu $*_*$

Sound The Alarm (Poetry) - 11/4/2002 10:50:35 PM
Deep poem permeated with the Spirit of Courage. A man for all seasons. A man to be counted on to always do his best. Bill

Ode To My White Hat (Poetry) - 9/11/2002 7:00:14 AM
This poem, to me makes me want to read more poetry!

O'Callahan FF-1051 Decklog (Poetry) - 9/11/2002 6:58:44 AM
There should be a book of these logs, I would buy it!

Hell's Yard (Poetry) - 9/11/2002 6:41:54 AM
Very Vivid

CPO Limericks #1 (Poetry) - 9/10/2002 8:33:07 AM
That freakin' Rocks!

CPO Limericks #1 (Poetry) - 9/5/2002 11:30:20 AM
what fun! josie

CPO Limericks #1 (Poetry) - 9/4/2002 6:39:35 PM
a limerical delight;-)

CPO Limericks #1 (Poetry) - 9/4/2002 5:53:11 PM
lalalalala bobert says no.

O'Callahan FF-1051 Decklog (Poetry) - 8/1/2002 12:42:05 AM
Now that is one fine log entry...great job Amor

O'Callahan FF-1051 Decklog (Poetry) - 7/31/2002 4:12:37 PM
Wonderful I didn't know that.. i loved the rhyme of this poem Gen

Ode To My White Hat (Poetry) - 7/31/2002 3:09:29 PM
TEN!! for your service to our nation TEN!! for a great tribute to your Navy cap TEN!! because i love this write! :) (((HUGS))) and love (and *thank you*) karla (USAF, medic, 83-85)

O'Callahan FF-1051 Decklog (Poetry) - 7/31/2002 3:02:17 PM
Ahoy, matey...fine poem! At ease! :) TEN!!! (((HUGS))) and love from a former air forcer, karla. :)

The Spooky Animal Dance (Poetry) - 7/22/2002 12:49:17 PM
Title caught my eye...and I'm glad it did... Definitely NOT garbage--enjoyed this delightful write...

The Spooky Animal Dance (Poetry) - 7/21/2002 7:32:14 PM
and the fact that you did it together makes this an absolute 10.. <smile> A great whimisical poem. Kudo's to you both! Namaste' Dreamweaver

The Spooky Animal Dance (Poetry) - 7/21/2002 7:31:36 PM
This is not garbage... and the fact that you did it together makes it even better.

The Catch of the Day (Poetry) - 6/20/2002 9:31:22 PM
caught a mermaid? ;)

The Catch of the Day (Poetry) - 6/20/2002 4:54:25 PM
Nice!

The Catch of the Day (Poetry) - 6/20/2002 11:40:42 AM
=) this was awesome.

The Catch of the Day (Poetry) - 6/20/2002 11:33:35 AM
This is a great fish story...love the metaphor...;-)

The Catch of the Day (Poetry) - 6/20/2002 9:27:10 AM
Quite catchy poetry indeed~*

Soul Reflection (Poetry) - 6/20/2002 8:51:47 AM
EXCELLENT~

Soul Reflection (Poetry) - 6/20/2002 7:46:57 AM
interesting subject, wish i had more time to discuss my thoughts on the matter, enjoyed the read.

Soul Reflection (Poetry) - 6/20/2002 7:14:34 AM
Good work! There are many images in this write.

Soul Reflection (Poetry) - 6/20/2002 12:01:16 AM
very good...

Soul Reflection (Poetry) - 6/19/2002 11:15:23 PM
Great images. I really like the ending. Beautiful work.

Slow Scent (Poetry) - 6/19/2002 8:05:10 PM
slow scents have a tendency to endure...

Slow Scent (Poetry) - 6/19/2002 7:18:18 PM
Short and sweet, but great all the same. Nice write.

Reflection (Poetry) - 5/17/2002 4:36:22 PM
like the use of the nose as the dividing line ... all that separates us from the rubber room ... humbling, the nose, ever a reminder.

Boys:Men (Poetry) - 5/17/2002 4:33:21 PM
a fine line indeed, separating the boys from the men

Falling Quick (Poetry) - 5/16/2002 11:45:37 PM
Good write!

Falling Quick (Poetry) - 5/16/2002 11:06:24 PM
the cycle of life expands...

Emerald Wine (Poetry) - 5/8/2002 10:33:56 AM
That last line fooled me for a bit. Very cleverly written. ~E

Clouds Of Lonliness (Poetry) - 5/8/2002 10:32:41 AM
Absolutely beautiful. Can feel the mood you set...and the mood you were in. ~E

DNTL (Poetry) - 5/8/2002 10:30:56 AM
Very touching piece. Phrasing has impact on the reader. Very good. Free verse is one of my favoirte forms. The impact of free verse is how you phrase the lines. ~E

Hope (Poetry) - 5/8/2002 10:29:02 AM
LOvely free verse. I like the way the thought flows too. ~E

Boys:Men (Poetry) - 5/8/2002 10:26:21 AM
I like the comparison. Thoughtful, and well written. ~E

Boys:Men (Poetry) - 5/7/2002 7:02:23 PM
forsake no one...

Insomniacís prayer (Poetry) - 5/3/2002 1:02:09 PM
Cute or sad...which? As a professional hypnotherapist, I can tell you that we don't need as much sleep as we age, and...we sleep at a different brain wave level as we age. Get up an write something. In the quiet of the night we are most productive as writers. Believe me...the next night...you WILL sleep. ~E

Customer Service (Poetry) - 5/3/2002 12:59:13 PM
Ain't it the truth. Brought a smile to my face. ~E

A Question for Dad (Poetry) - 5/3/2002 12:58:15 PM
Absolutely touching piece. Well written and constructed. ~E

Reflection (Poetry) - 5/3/2002 12:57:16 PM
The verse is absolutely great. The arrangement of lines needs work. Combine into one verse, and your last verse [as you have it] lengthen the lines. I wouldn't change a word. Very touching piece. ~E

A Question for Dad (Poetry) - 4/24/2002 3:43:01 AM
Very creative :) .... j

A Question for Dad (Poetry) - 4/23/2002 2:45:16 PM
Marvelous piece. Please do it again.

Insomniacís prayer (Poetry) - 4/11/2002 11:44:19 AM
Can feel the uneasiness through your words

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.