AuthorsDen.com  Join | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Kevin Weeks, iReverend Dr. Linda De Coff, iMatthew Miller, iRichard Hardie, iHarry and Elizabeth Lawrence, iSteven Ulmen, iJeanne Miller, i
 
Home > Hazel Statham
 

Recent Reviews for Hazel Statham


My Dearest Friend - Newly Released (Book) - 3/22/2008 11:02:07 AM
I have just received this review from The Long And Short Of It and wanted to share it with you all. My Dearest Friend is an historic romance in an unusual but undoubtedly moving style. Ms. Statham indulges in the gushingly dramatic at times, not just leaning toward but splashing heavily into precious sentiment. And indeed, it is an indulgence; in a time when storylines are king and 'fast-paced' is promised in so many, it is almost a luxurious change to sit and savor this tale. Friendship, trust and mistrust, and finally love fill these pages, and we all wallow in every emotion. The wealth of those emotions is hard to explain; as compared to more common descriptions, it is the difference between a ginger snap and a double chocolate brownie, and the word choice is often every bit as rich. The occasional lengthy, complex sentence might be found as detrimental; However, those sentences remind us to savor; to pause and feel a chill, or imagine those strong arms about you. Tension is palapable as the action begins in a gambling den, London, 1812. Robert, the duke, seems to have all the cards in his favor - yet we are soon to learn, his motivations are far deeper, and grim. Upon meeting the petite and quite fashinably turned out Jane chandler, he is motivated to become the good Samaritan. Yet, it seems he will take not take personal involvement; and we wonder how the two shall ever meet again. Their next meeting is not by chance, however. The duke shakes off his inner darkness, in spite of himself, and in spite of recalling a betrayal. Their journey over both land and sea brings them into closer aquaintance, but is full of challenges. The conflicts, communications issues, (how frustrating some of the decorum of the day, when we long for the two to share their meanings more clearly!) the depths of the characters and so much more will keep you reading this romance. Plausible dialogue make the characters, no matter how dramatic, believable. The small details of nineteenth century life, from background objects to the central codes of behavior and honor, add a depth that parallels nicely with the inner lives of the main characters. I loved that he drove the man's man of a vehicle - a curricle - at "breakneck speed." Jane is to be found in her aunt's drawing room composing letters. Carriages, homes and ships come as sharplyinto focus as do the characters; just imagine the busy deck of a ship preparing to sail, or a young woman being shown along the companionway to her cabin. I will without doubt indulge myself in another read of this warm and enriching romance. Review Snapdragon

The King's Man (Short Story) - 4/22/2009 12:31:06 PM
Hazel, I thoroughly enjoyed this story, and especially liked the journal format you wrote it in. I was very happy for David at the end.

Alone (Poetry) - 10/7/2009 11:12:28 AM
Wonderful love story in your words! Loved the lyrical flow.. Anna

A Job Well Done (Poetry) - 10/7/2009 11:10:50 AM
Hahahha! This is adorable! I love how you penned it from the paws of the dog.... loved it! Anna

A Lover's Lament (Poetry) - 10/7/2009 11:09:00 AM
Very sad and tormented emotions eminate from your poem, Hazel. Nicely penned. Anna

The Boy Behind the Fireplace (Poetry) - 9/22/2009 7:22:41 AM
I love this type of story. It tugs on my heart-strings and my curiousity at the same time. A great read. Sheila

A Lover's Lament (Poetry) - 9/22/2009 7:20:19 AM
Love the rhythm and the heaviness of the sadness. Excellent! Sheila

A Mouldy Crust (Poetry) - 4/17/2009 8:37:46 PM
Hazel,what an interesting poem,and it is so true!Those who have,many times, seem so indifferent toward those who are impoverished. It's hard to imagine how someone could be imprisoned for taking stale bread or anything else(stale)for that matter,but prisons are filled with people who committed "minor offenses"just so(they)or their family could have one more meal. A sad but very true poem,but I did enjoy reading it nonetheless. Barbara Henry

Alone (Poetry) - 4/6/2009 4:21:50 AM
This poem express splendid words of love. Mariann

Emotions (Poetry) - 4/6/2009 4:08:17 AM
I enjoyed this poem. Thanks for sharing. Mariann

A Lover's Lament (Poetry) - 4/6/2009 4:03:24 AM
A powerful message of love, yet a sad departure. Welll written. Mariann

A Mouldy Crust (Poetry) - 1/26/2009 10:18:59 PM
Enjoyed both the story you wove and especially the style. sAYS volumes about how those with so much can treat those with so little with such coldness. Fantastic poem Hazel! ~a fellow human and poet, -Zach

A Mouldy Crust (Poetry) - 8/25/2008 7:05:25 AM
Yes, the laws and punishment of the past were brutal. Some countries still practice such punishment. Most in the West don't. On the other hand, it seems that because of the lack of brutal punishment like this poem depicts, crime in the West has skyrocketed. America, as an example, has the largest prison population in the world and its a growing industry.

Lost Love (Poetry) - 8/3/2008 9:00:38 AM
Those painful moments in our life. It is well-written. The image of storm and tempest is well placed. I love it.

Emotions (Poetry) - 6/6/2008 9:13:18 AM
Emotions are sometimes hard to control and must be let out to get better feeling coming into your heart. Nice write, hope more come this way. Prayers go out to you today.

Lost Love (Poetry) - 5/19/2008 7:32:12 AM
He is out there somewhere. Not lost behond belief. He will come to you at the right time and free you from your wanderings. The sea always give up its lost in time.

Lost Love (Poetry) - 5/15/2008 2:25:20 PM
The visual images in this is great & I love the romantic side to this. I'd say this is a great poem.

A Job Well Done (Poetry) - 5/14/2008 6:02:01 AM
This is unique and outstanding... "A Job Well Done" strikes wise thoughts. In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Emotions (Poetry) - 5/14/2008 5:57:06 AM
Wise ponderings in "Emotions" delivers a profound message. In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

The Boy Behind the Fireplace (Poetry) - 5/14/2008 5:54:30 AM
I have enjoyed the reading of "The Boy Behind the Fireplace". An artiful composition of poetic magnificence. In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Lost Love (Poetry) - 5/13/2008 7:37:01 PM
Great classical feel here that Poe and Shelley would be proud of, loved this.

Lost Love (Poetry) - 5/13/2008 7:30:15 PM
Has the feel of time past when wives waited along the shore for the sea farer to return.... Be always safe, Karen

Lost Love (Poetry) - 5/13/2008 2:43:11 PM
This has a lovely scent of the ocean... "Lost Love" has a touching rhythm that strikes imagination... I could hear the heart pumping love's emotions throughout the beautiful imagery and lines of this magnificent poetic jewel. May You enjoy a long healthy creative life through a blissful living. I salute You, Poet. In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

A Mouldy Crust (Poetry) - 4/23/2008 11:15:06 AM
Very good, brought back a memory for me. In Halifax NS, there was a building called the D. Wolfe building. Back in the late 17 and 18 century,ships would sail down the harbour with passengers. These passengers were people like in your peom, they might have only stole a mouldy crust of bread. The people were taken through an underground tunnel to a cell in the D Wolfe building, they were starved, and abused, and there they spent the rest of their days in a cement cell by themselves. As a logistics officer for the government I was in charge of demolishing the building... the building that would give anyone the creeps. On one of the cells this was scratched by a women on the wall. My only crime was I got older. Thanks for the reminder, of the good live really we have. Nicely penned. Sue

Alone (Poetry) - 4/23/2008 11:05:01 AM
Hazel Enjoyed your poem love the rhyming, felt one with the poem. Thanks for sharing . Sue

A Lover's Lament (Poetry) - 3/25/2008 7:37:07 AM
I'm convinced. . . you were a bard in your last life! Again, I can almost hear the music. .

The Boy Behind the Fireplace (Poetry) - 3/25/2008 7:35:26 AM
This is really haunting (no pun intended). I am interested that you used such lyrical style and so well (rarely done well nowadays). It reads as if it should be set to folk music.

The Boy Behind the Fireplace (Poetry) - 3/23/2008 11:53:11 AM
Hazel, I read your poem"The Boy Behind The Fireplace" I found it to be a very strange but sad account of this unknown child. Thanks for this. Enjoyed very much. Please feel free to visit my sites at either www.freewebs.com/kendoo or here in the "Den"

The Boy Behind the Fireplace (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 8:45:48 PM
What a sad tale. And yet, this lad has not been forgotten, for you have immortalized him forever in verse. The truth may never be known for sure this side of Heaven, but countless thousands will now remember his life, if only for a moment. Great write Hazel! Is this the germ for a novel? Sounds intriquing. -Zach

Alone (Poetry) - 2/25/2008 1:24:21 PM
Good poetry and sentimental feeling pop up when reading it. It is great in my estimation. Have a pen pal in Daventry Eng and she visisted me Nov 14-17 here in Pennsylvania. Had a good time and hope to see her again sometime. Lois

A Lover's Lament (Poetry) - 2/2/2008 4:31:21 AM
Powerful write. The sadness and disappointment are an offshot to its deep interlying anger. Very nicely written

The Baronial Hall (Poetry) - 1/8/2008 9:50:50 AM
I very much enjoyed reading your poetry. The imagery and mood were absorbing as was the fun! Write on! Kathy Adams

Alone (Poetry) - 1/2/2008 6:08:12 PM
Words of beauty and romance so nicely woven... Be safe, Karen

Emotions (Poetry) - 11/3/2007 12:43:06 PM
I really enjoyed this. Sometimes I really want to get a little righteous anger going. And they say women are hard to understand. Nice write. Thanks--RaeLynn

A Job Well Done (Poetry) - 10/25/2007 8:35:39 PM
Such a delightful, fun hearty piece filled with adventure. Aren't pets fun.... Be safe, Karen

The Baronial Hall (Poetry) - 10/17/2007 1:23:38 AM
lovely use of alliteration...grand imagery, great flow in these beautiful quatrains. Excellent work!

The Baronial Hall (Poetry) - 10/16/2007 9:42:19 PM
A seat at the table in the days of old, very descriptive and a nicely woven tale... Be safe, Karen

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.