AuthorsDen.com  Join | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Ken Brosky, iZannah Hackett, iconrad larson, iMichael Wayne, iAnn Frailey, iGary Caplan, iPaul Williams, i
 
Home > Dan Ronco
 

Recent Reviews for Dan Ronco


Unholy Domain (Book) - 9/26/2010 10:32:26 PM
I really enjoy a book and story that takes me to that reality which this story did.

A View of United States Energy Supplies in 2028 (Short Story) - 7/4/2014 3:58:14 AM
enjoyed reading your informative narrative I look forward to reading more of your work. m

Will Humanity Survive the Singularity? (Article) - 6/28/2010 8:42:43 AM
i dont think we should look to the cumputer programmers to design the moral and cognitive range of a post-singularity super intelligance; the global zeitgeist or general ethos of world populations will play a fundemental role.

Will Humanity Survive the Singularity? (Article) - 5/21/2008 11:43:18 PM
Dan, Interesting piece. I don't agree that chess programs are intelligent though - for obvious reasons. What do you think of the counter-theories from Penrose et al that indicate consciousness is not algorithmic in nature and can never be written into machine code? Another profound question that arises if strong AI is possible concerns the ethics of programming a genuine intelligence as a slave to humans. There's something profiundly abhorrent in this, but before saying any more I need to declare that I am not a religious or Christian person. Having said that, my point is that religion claims humans were created with freedom of choice - not programmed to love 'god'. This seems like a sensible and ethical precedent (and again I emphasise I am NOT religious). So how could we opt for creating slaves...intelligent, self aware slaves? I suspect such a crrature would experience such a level of cognitive dissonance it would self destruct. keith

Superhumans: The Next Step? (Article) - 2/9/2008 11:21:28 AM
Great article. I think you need to reconsider your opinion on AI though: bleeding edge physics seems to indicate that consciousness - the root of our intellectual abilities - is non algorithmic. Have a look at Penrose. AI will probably continue to provide super fast number crunching toasters, but never the equivalent of human intelligence. Even when we consider augmented memory, we are merely being childlike and forgetting the prodigious and well demonstrated capacity of our existing abilities. Nope! AI is a flat dead end I'm afraid. Keith

The Future is not Star Trek (Article) - 1/2/2008 9:58:18 AM
interesting read well done

The Future is not Star Trek (Article) - 12/28/2007 3:51:01 AM
Dan, AI will take a giant leap when nano technology allows Borg-like sharing of intelligence... but the ultimate fear will not be realized as per Penrose explained. Enjoyed the read... ...Michael

The Future is not Star Trek (Article) - 12/26/2007 10:15:37 PM
delightful article, Dan. Really enjoyed it. I don't subscribe to your strong AI theory though. Godel's incompleteness theorem and much of Roger Penrose' work seems to indicate that consciousness is non-computational, and without consciousness, AI can never add up to much more than super-fast number crunching. Very best 2U. Keith

Are Women Becoming More Like Men? (Article) - 12/2/2007 11:15:07 AM
One simple answer'Yes'

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.