AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Robert Campbell, iAlan Brenham, iGwendolyn Moore, iDavid Snowdon, iDouglas Skopp, iPatrick Granfors, iSandi Schraut, i
 
Home > Elaine E. Bunbury
 

Recent Reviews for Elaine E. Bunbury


What Hope Have You! (Book) - 8/31/2003 12:31:05 PM
Review by Marion Cumming. Dear Elaine, What a wonderfully moving saga you have written. I was stirred to tears several times, especially upon reading of Ruth's death and at the end of your story. In spite of numerous melodramatic coincidences, you create such angaging believable characters, that one becomes deeply immersed and concerned. Your descriptions of nature and landscape are so breathtaking one years to visit South Africa to become enveloped in such panoramas. You have rendered a precious service to your homeland and the world. I hope your splendid work is adapted as a screenplay and for theatre, it's glorious, compassionate message deserves a very wide audience.Thank you for your courage, eloquence and caring spirit, Sincerely, Marion Cumming, Victoria

What Hope Have You! (Book) - 5/19/2003 1:35:37 AM
insanely readable!!

What Hope Have You! (Book) - 3/13/2003 11:12:18 PM
Mi potete far sapere di chi sono questi versi, chi li ha scritti e come si intitola questa opera: E tuttavia è bene che la speranza non cessi di batterci sulle spalle, perché ci ricorda l’esistenza di un paesaggio più vasto e ci aiuta a vivere nei momenti peggiori. Grazie 1000

What Hope Have You! (Book) - 12/29/2002 2:51:54 PM
enjoyed the preview

What Hope Have You! (Book) - 11/22/2002 5:48:03 PM
I have not read this novel yet, but after reading the except, it is a must read on my list. Just the small portion I read was written with style and grace. The characters came to life almost instantly!!!!

What Hope Have You! (Book) - 8/4/2002 2:18:10 PM
I read the novel "What Hope Have You!" by Elaine Bunbury because I am attracted to stories about racial injustice. I had no idea what I was in for, though. Growing up in the United States I experienced race riots, interracial relationships and have often wished I was African American because I am disgusted by the way many white people treat black people. This book opened my eyes to even greater injustices in the world, the history of South Africa. Bunbury has written a brilliant masterpiece; historically revealing and in my mind socially relevant in a world of daily struggles between the races still. The author's description of the landscape, the language, the emotions of the cast of literally colorful characters in her epic novel will take any reader's breath not only away, but suck it out of their body. I will be affected by the reading of Bunbury's novel for some time. The ironies involved in the hate that often fosters man made rules about separating races (Apartheid) and the insulting consequences of, in this book's case, a white man raping a black woman and the resulting lineage is beautifully portrayed in this magnificent story.

What Hope Have You! (Book) - 8/3/2002 3:29:09 PM
Why do we read? Well the answer lies in this book. It is a story that shows us the remarkable struggles of three families and hidden strengths they develop from unsuspecting sources into a hopeful future. This story can at times be dark and trecherous as it deals with the unjust legacy of colonialism; yet it also deals with a brigher topic in the power that we as a species has to overcome ineffable odds. Please read this book as it is a learning experience and a true foundation of beautiful literature

What Hope Have You! (Book) - 7/30/2002 10:24:00 AM
I recently finished reading your book and wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed it. The story and the characters are interesting. I enjoyed the book and learned a great deal at the same time.

What Hope Have You! (Book) - 7/30/2002 2:46:06 AM
I have just read "What Hope Have You!" I couldn't put it down once I started it. Such an education for one born and raised in Victoria. Thank you for writing the story. I learned so much and enjoyed the tale

What Hope Have You! (Book) - 7/26/2002 4:28:57 PM
I feel as though I have been given a view of another world. The book vibrates with authenticity. I became so engrossed I forgot it was fiction. Your characters came alive for me.

What Hope Have You! (Book) - 7/26/2002 4:26:34 PM
I truly enjoyed reading your wonderful book,"What Hope Have You!" I couldn't put it down. It was intriguing and educational and a book I shall never forget. It took many interesting twists and turns which made it a real 'page turner' Thank you for writing it.

What Hope Have You! (Book) - 7/26/2002 4:16:40 PM
I finished your amazing book a few weeks ago and wow! what an incredible story. I marvel at how you were able to take the facts of your own family history and spin a detailed, creatibve and fascinating portrait of each of its members. You were able to trace and unravel such a complicated and intricate history. And what a gift to your children and your children's children to teach them all about their roots.

What Hope Have You! (Book) - 4/17/2002 8:04:20 PM
I've never been much farther than my own backyard in Florida, but Elaine Bunbury's description left me feeling that I had seen the streets of a town in South Africa. Very descriptive and interesting.

The Legacy of Apartheid. (Article) - 5/10/2009 9:16:22 PM
Great article.Indeed, apartheid left a scar on South Africa that is ever lingering. Milton

The Legacy of Apartheid. (Article) - 8/12/2008 6:37:47 AM
Nice.heheh

The Legacy of Apartheid. (Article) - 8/1/2008 9:33:50 AM
In the USA we have had our share of social problems. Still, the South African govt. could have learned from our mistakes. You said, "Laws were passed restricting black people from being trained for skilled work and wages were kept low for black people, doing unskilled work. This causes poverty which in turn causes crime." What did these leaders expect??? "You reap what you sow." Thanks and God Bless you and your beautiful country. John Michael

The Legacy of Apartheid. (Article) - 6/3/2008 6:01:57 AM
Wise words and I pray a solution is found to help all the people who are affected by Apartheid.

The Legacy of Apartheid. (Article) - 5/23/2008 9:39:34 AM
enjoyed the read

The Legacy of Apartheid. (Article) - 8/7/2007 12:15:41 PM
In spite of its problems, South Africa is a beacon of light on the desolate continent of Africa. While it is true one should not forget the past ... it would be counter productive to develop a "victim mentality." South Africa is resilient because it respects and allows participation from all its citizens. It matters not that the face is black or white, what matters most .. is its contribution. Good people like you and your family is why it can and will continue to prosper.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.