AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Shirley Woods, iCHANTI LACE, iBrad Bathgate, iAntoine Raphael, iM.D. Wiselka, iDr. Ronald Bissell, iellen george, i
 
Home > Mel Hathorn
 

Recent Reviews for Mel Hathorn


The Castlereagh Connection (Book) - 7/4/2003 8:57:34 AM
Great book! Great character development! A must read.

Sticking it to the Man (Short Story) - 11/9/2011 5:37:58 AM
What man is it exactly that you are obsessed with 'sticking it to'? Is his behavior more fraudulent than yours? And, why is this piece categorized as humor?

Women in White: Parts 1-6 (Short Story) - 9/30/2010 6:31:27 PM
interesting read

No Broccoli Tonight!!! (Short Story) - 3/30/2009 12:26:53 PM
The most clever write I've read in a long, long time. The poor man. I'd send a dollar but spent my last one on string beans for tonight's dinner. Keep up the good work Mel.

Yes Virginia, There is a Free Lunch (Short Story) - 8/5/2007 10:06:35 AM
well written and informative

Hartford PGA Tour: Going to the Dogs? (Short Story) - 6/22/2007 6:45:20 AM
loved that old hound dog! enjoyable read but glad i wasn't in that traffic

Sewer Tax Redux (Short Story) - 1/31/2007 5:55:01 PM
sooo funny-love your gumption!

The Gilded Cage (Short Story) - 1/16/2006 8:38:57 AM
good story, well done! :)

Celts and Kings Chapter Three (Short Story) - 5/22/2004 9:30:56 AM
Good job, Mel. You got my attention. I want to read what happens next.

Governor Rowland's Footguard (Short Story) - 3/3/2004 12:25:01 PM
it made me laugh...well-crafted story.

Excerpt from The Journey: A Story For Those Who Blew It Or Are About To (Short Story) - 1/10/2003 1:50:03 PM
Mel, Interesting...I'd like to see where this one goes. Good Luck

Excerpt from The Castlereagh Connection (Short Story) - 7/18/2002 9:02:36 AM
Not bad. Worth the read.

George Will's Unanswered Questions (Article) - 2/7/2013 1:15:48 PM
You have tackled many difficult issues and handled them well all of which demonstrates that you are thoughtful, intelligent person. One solution to the issue of changing word meanings, and new issues not dealt with in the Constitution is to amnend that document with a mandatory Constitutional Convention every 75 years with the exress purpose of clarifying issues with new, crisp language that is a precisely stated as possible, by adding rights that we have come to accept (privacy, right to marriage, right of mobility, to send our children to school of our choice, and many more). We might even rely on national polls and try to abide by those that the people support in large numbers. Nice job.

The Top Ten Reasons To Be A Liberal (Article) - 7/23/2011 10:23:39 PM
I'm so glad I found this article. Articulation is not one of my strengths and this article articulates why I am a liberal. I am surrounded by conservatives and the ones in my life are a) quick to judge; b) quick to condem; c) quick to insult; d) quick to hate. It is refreshing to find have this and the next time my conservative friends jump all over me, I am going to give email them this article.

But Who's Going To Clean The Toilets? (Article) - 5/8/2011 11:29:12 AM
It is the same in England too. How long will it be before there are just managers with no workers? Our local council has just had a cost-cutting round and got rid of a lot of staff. Trouble is, they got rid of a lot of workers, left the management on £200,000 a year, but got rid of office workers and cleaners! I look forward to the day when the CEO gets his head down a toilet!

But Who's Going To Clean The Toilets? (Article) - 4/30/2011 5:42:16 AM
Interesting thought. Leads me to wonder...were there no capitialist system in America, where people start at the bottom and work their way to the top, would not Oprah and Bill Gates be spending their days cleaning out toilets, too?

George Will's Unanswered Questions (Article) - 10/3/2010 6:34:47 AM
interesting read

Why I am a Luddite (Article) - 7/30/2010 8:47:36 AM
Clearly, we appear to be long-lost spiritual brothers who were separated at birth, for my own form of clinical Luddism closely approximates 'urine' (that's a medical joke....sorry, these moments occasionally spontaneously occur of their own volition, the result, doubtless, of decades spent in the snake-oil biz). The truly sad aspect of all this is that it takes so many years of observing the brain-cell-blitzing follies of one's fellow opposed-thumb creatures to formulate these attitudes, such as you describe. How ineffably sad that we cannot come to similar conclusions (that life is actually an insanely funny nightmare, dreamed up by some mouth-breathing moron whose oxygen supply has at some point in past been severely compromised, nudge-nudge, grin-grin) much earlier in life, thereby saving more of that precious substance known as 'the life experience' for more productive things. At any rate, I very much enjoyed reading your own observations (on the absurdities of modern techno-obsession) almost as much as I enjoy writing my own (along parallel lines). Cheers and aloha mai e, Kalikiano

A Reasonable Teaching Philosophy? (Article) - 6/18/2010 11:02:01 PM
enjoyed the read

The No Child Left Behind Act: Why It Doesn't Work (Article) - 6/18/2010 11:01:06 PM
interesting article, as a first grade teacher my own take on no child left behind doesn't work because there is no one size fits all child

Constitutional Amendment to end Corporate Personhood (Article) - 6/18/2010 10:57:31 PM
interesting premise

Constitutional Amendment to end Corporate Personhood (Article) - 2/19/2010 2:26:32 AM
Interesting thought. But where did you get the idea that the constitution grants the government the right to take rights away? The constitution affirms God given individual rights and bans the government from taking those rights away. Under your proposal could not the government ban the free speech of entities such as the Democratic and Republican Parties and ban them from advertising for the candidates? Does this not remove and contradict the rights of state and local governments as stated within the document? What about the artificial entities known as books, newspapers, broadcasting networks, the internet? …and lastly, does it not also remove the rights of the artificial entity known as “We the People.”? The sole control of free speech belongs to the individual. You can listen, or not listen, you can agree, or disagree with what is being said. Alas. if only everyone would agree with me, and say only what I wish to hear, what a far better world this would be. Then again, perhaps not. Thank God for the constitution as is, for it is only God and the constitution that stand between us and the slavery of tyranny.

Constitutional Amendment to end Corporate Personhood (Article) - 2/18/2010 9:53:24 AM
Mel, Please see my article at http://www.authorsden.com/visit/viewarticle.asp?AuthorID=13386 We should all be contacting our elected officials regarding this now.

Call for a Third Continental Congress (Article) - 11/9/2009 11:06:21 PM
Mel, I only scanned thru your post and found it agreeable as a whole, because I was immediately distracted when you got off on a wrong foot, by calling or Republic a Democracy. That sounds trivial, but it is the root cause of the present day idology that our Constitution is a living and changable thing. The Liberals, now out of the closet as Progressives, are using the lie that we are a Democracy to justify destroying our Constitution. Plese read what our forfathers said about Democracies. They had no good thing to say about them for just this reason... The rest of your post was most interesting. jerry

Study Finds Link Between Bush Supporters and Mental Illness (Article) - 8/16/2009 4:06:59 AM
Interesting study, Mel. 69 people in Connecticut…hummmm .I can’t help but wonder how many people with mental illness voted for B O. Oh well, the good news is …Bush is out of office…the bad news is…. B O isn’t yet. .

Call for a Third Continental Congress (Article) - 4/4/2009 4:18:58 AM
We already have a constituition. The "people" that have been chosen to follow it are ignoring it and making up their own rules while placing themselves above the constitution. These people are not doing their jobs. Our borders open. We have been invaded, and they are more concerned for the welfare of the invaders. This government no longer serves the people, it rules and dominates the people. The government does not give us our rights, God and constitution do. If we held the government accountable, wall street and others would fall in place. Patriotism, honor and loyalty, needs to be taught in schools in our schools again. Those who wish to change America and our constitution for their own special interests should be remove from power and brought to justice. We've are now a nation of tribes and the tribal leaders need to be replaced with Americans in our government. It is time to bring back American Citizenship and a government that doesn't bride it's people but rather serves it's people and protects their freedoms. Continential Congress? How about Nuemberg trials instead.

Is Reaganomics Dead? (Article) - 3/20/2009 4:40:57 PM
Reagonomics ended when the administration ended. Greed was allowed to blossom and dominate when honorable decent men of good will like George Shultz, Bill Bennett etc were replaced by the low lives of today.

Is Reaganomics Dead? (Article) - 3/20/2009 9:44:46 AM
Excellent write.

No Taxation Without Representation (Article) - 10/18/2008 4:40:41 PM
well said!

The Christmas Train (Article) - 7/22/2008 10:08:13 AM
A heartwarming story. Train sets and Christmas are a part of growing up in a Christian family in the USA. Little villages with lights bring back very fond memories. A great write!

The No Child Left Behind Act: Why It Doesn't Work (Article) - 7/10/2008 7:25:11 PM
Bravo! Arguably, when trying to improve efficiency in a factory which produces widgets, one can propose standards which all widgets must meet in order to be sold. But children are not widgets, and who among us would want our child treated as a product on the assembly line? In the last several years of my teaching, I have witnessed many incidents which support your concluding sentence -- NCLB inhibits rather than enhances learning!!

The No Child Left Behind Act: Why It Doesn't Work (Article) - 2/3/2008 3:15:38 AM
Very Good Article. No Child Left Behind Is a Noble Thought. But the question is, Where are we taking them? Let me see, if I understand that TAT correctly, We should be judging people by what they look like, rather than what they do? Now that's good teaching, if inteligence doesn't get in the way. I’m afraid we are no longer teaching children how to think, but rather what to think. Schools are wonderful places to create a better society. Just look at the wonderful results in Nazi Germany. Yes, it’s a great society when the government starts doing your thinking for you. If you really want to change education for the better, it’s time to get some of the quacks out of our University system and replace them with real educators. Teacher's who do not view children as tools to advance their personal agendas. There are still some very good teachers, but far too few, I'm afraid.

Why I am a Luddite (Article) - 8/12/2007 9:29:28 AM
sounds reasonable to me! i enjoyed your article

The Top Ten Reasons To Be A Liberal (Article) - 8/3/2007 4:54:39 AM
I enjoyed the explanation of the top ten reasons for being a liberal. This reminded me of Conservative Roman times, as christens (Liberals) were being served up for dinner for our furry loin friends. If you have the opportunity to listen to Mr. Rush Limbaugh syndicated radio show (which I find every amusing), he would tell you “How you can tell if you are a liberal” with a statement like; you know you’re a liberal if you….. I like your perspective keep up the good work.

13 Fun Ways to Screw Up the System Legally (Article) - 3/4/2007 10:03:23 AM
Immature suggestions. Poor ideas. && I fail to see the purpose. Even the writing is childish; "I have listed only a few of the many and creative ways to disrupt the system."- Closure like that is meant and used by learning children, not adults. Also... This is rather pointless, despite your insistence as to 'demonstrating the dysfunctionality of the system.' Dysfunctionality is not a word. These problems are not the Republicans fault. Views like these are why the liberals weren't able to win the election. This idea of fighting the problems within our nation by causing minor problems on a corporate level, and inconveniencing your fellow citizens, is ridiculous.

Call for a Third Continental Congress (Article) - 11/7/2006 2:55:52 PM
Three points: 1 - We already had a Third Continental Congress. It was called on December 20, 1776. They modified and finalized the Articles of Confederation on November 15, 1777. The new Articles of Confederation were not immediately ratified due to the war. They were ratified on March 1, 1781. If we were to call another Continental Congress, it would be our fourth. 2 - The flaws in government are not with the constitution, but with the officials we (speaking of the people as a whole, and not of you or I specifically) elect to office. If the people elect upright people to office, the problems you outline will not be of issue. 3 - Mechanisms were built in to our constitution to allow the people to make changes as needed; to our laws, our policies, and to the constitution itself. These mechanisms were established to allow changes to be made when the majority of the people call for it, but with protections to keep crack-pots from making sweeping changes that would not be in the best interest of the people.

The Top Ten Reasons To Be A Liberal (Article) - 8/17/2006 3:45:08 PM
Mel, As a British subject I know little of the nuances that American politics plays over its populace but your description of liberalism (especially as opposed to conservative)sounds pretty close to the mark in my opinion. In the UK we have the conservatives with a new leader, David Cameron and the new conservatives with Tony Blair (formerly labour). Our liberal democrat party may one day fight on a level playing field with the two big boys (perhaps sooner than many may think as the labour party is millions in debt already). I particularly agreed with your portrayal of the closed system. Even in the UK the conservative party has had a beating in the recent past because their policies were aimed at stifling change, keeping the pound for example (as opposed to adopting the Euro), protecting this and defending that. In short there was to be no change but stalwart consolidation. Not that I agree with new labour's policies either, especially as their 'reforms' has raised taxes to the point where we pay virtually 55% of everything we earn in tax. I can see where your previous commentor, Russ, latches onto the political slant of your article. Never the less, conservative thinking can only stifle the enormaous leaps and bounds that the world is turning out today. If anything I believe that, as is often the case, a balance needs to be struck between bold innovation and careful progress. Conservatism has its place in the world - but not as the protector of selfish wealth and certainly not to enable obscenely rich conglomerates to excrete their polluted filth all over the rest of us and our planet. I hope you get many hits on this one. Shane Ward

Georgie Porgie (Poetry) - 7/10/2014 1:32:29 AM
well done

The Battle Hymn of the Republic Updated" contributed (Poetry) - 2/22/2013 7:57:34 AM
His humor was getting worn mighty thin by then (1901) but his pen still had a keen blade's edge. Many thanks for posting it. Never has it seemed more appropriate.

The Battle Hymn of the Republic Updated" contributed (Poetry) - 5/4/2011 2:01:07 PM
Seems I'll never cease to be in awe of Twain's genius. I love his quotes. Thanks for sharing. Tom

Georgie Porgie (Poetry) - 10/21/2009 7:29:13 AM
This is nothing less than fantastic! Patrick

Georgie Porgie (Poetry) - 10/18/2008 3:46:25 PM
What an original write. I'm going to print this out and hang it on my wall. :)

Georgie Porgie (Poetry) - 4/27/2007 10:43:54 PM
Wow !!! lovely ..........beautiful.....loved it a lot...gonna share it with my frieeeennnnddddddddddd...............love. neerja.

Georgie Porgie (Poetry) - 1/23/2007 1:35:45 PM
Love it!!!

Georgie Porgie (Poetry) - 11/3/2006 11:36:41 AM
This should be in the paper....M

Lament for Lost Liberties (Poetry) - 11/3/2006 11:35:37 AM
A unique clever look at the powers that be. Wellsaid.....M

Lament for Lost Liberties (Poetry) - 6/14/2006 9:10:36 AM
IT WAS A PLEASURE TO READ SUCH FINE WORK.

Georgie Porgie (Poetry) - 2/13/2006 5:58:37 AM
Mel your on a roll...

The Battle Hymn of the Republic Updated" contributed (Poetry) - 2/10/2006 11:25:18 AM
Mel, Excellent! Thanks for sharing! Well done! (((HUGS))) and love, your Tx. friend, Karen Lynn. :D

The Battle Hymn of the Republic Updated" contributed (Poetry) - 2/10/2006 11:20:34 AM
I was able to see Hal Holbrook play Mark Twain in "An Evening With Mark Twain" when it played in Phoenix. Twain had an uncanny way of cutting through the BS of many things and his political satire has only been equaled by Will Rogers. Thanks for this, in case we forget... Elizabeth

Lament for Lost Liberties (Poetry) - 1/27/2006 1:07:08 PM
Not nice, Mel! It hurts to smile and cry at the same time ;-)

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.