AuthorsDen.com  Join | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Stephen Lodge, iJames McClelland, iShervin Hojat, Ph.D., inancy rossman, iDavid Snowdon, iDenise Richardson, iJeff Ovall, i
 
Home > Maud Muller
 

Recent Reviews for Maud Muller


The Neocon Conspiracy (Book) - 12/6/2008 6:21:28 PM
something for all persuasions Maud Muller has delivered a thoughtful book on what could happen to America if it slips further to the right. She bases this on a premise that back in 1964, after Barry Goldwater's defeat, five Republicans got together a figured out a way to rule America, regardless of who wins future elections: privatization. If you're a conservative, you're gonna love the first six chapters. But you won't like the next couple: a liberal-slanted view on what happened to Clinton in the 90's. But you'll be back in full swing for a few more chapters after that, nodding along, as Muller sucks you into the vortex of moral decay and corruption. On top of the political overtones, Muller tells a love story between a deeply spiritual Elizabeth Whalen and an undercover liberal Joshua Freeman. Whalen's spiteful marriage to the top-dog conservative Grables is Freeman's impetus to expose the Founding Five, and this triggers a wave of betrayal, murder, sacrifice, and redemption. (Come to think of it, Whalen's and Freeman's story is a bit like Whittier's "Maud Muller" poem of what-might-have-been. Hmmm.) And when it's all over, the reader will wonder if this could really happen. Some of the ideas are intriguing: the failure of social security and medicare leading to a national healthcare plan; the Patriot Act growing into a Weapons Control Act, backed by conservatives, banning all but hunting riles; and the nationalization of local/state law enforcement agencies into the Department of Homeland Security. This book is fun for all: If you're a liberal, you'll find a happy ending and enjoy the buried zingers. If you're a conservative, you'll be tickled that Muller used the "Intelligent Design" argument to discover the conspiracy. Muller's characters are full-figured and sympathetic, her descriptions are detailed, and her story is decently paced. A good start for Muller!

The Neocon Conspiracy (Book) - 2/7/2008 6:18:49 AM
I tried to post my review on this page, but it must be in one place - please read my review of The Founding Five - it is an excellent book - Ms. Muller has a gift and cannot wait to read more from her! ellen george

The Neocon Conspiracy (Book) - 1/27/2008 2:44:19 PM
This "Excerpt Chapter One" gives an excellent and clear picture of what the whole of "The Founding Five" is about. I liked what I read here and am most impressed with the contents and style of its author. May "The Founding Five" reach millions of American hands ~ and get to the million sale's Mark soon. May You enjoy a long healthy creative life through a blissful living. I salute You In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

The Good Neighbor (Short Story) - 3/9/2008 10:28:45 AM
It's well-written, literate, and has great potential. I think that, as a dramatic story, it could use just a bit more drama, perhaps a greater exploration of the characters' states of mind - a little psychological suspense. Just a thought.

First Kiss (Short Story) - 3/9/2008 10:20:38 AM
I liked it, but I felt the end came just a little too quickly, and I agree with Randall that an exploration of the era would be helpful, as it always is when talking about school.

The Bridge to Nana (Short Story) - 3/9/2008 10:12:32 AM
This is really terrific. I think you capture many emotions and several of life's challenges quite well: regret, loss, relief, self-preservation. You clearly had a point to make, and you made it well.

First Kiss (Short Story) - 2/13/2008 7:59:28 PM
Nice topic. Perhaps if you point out what year the story takes place in. Would Frank get expelled nowadays?

Obama's Surprise (Article) - 6/9/2008 8:34:25 PM
There once was a man who believed From racism, we could be relieved. What a foolish mistake The doubters would make, From bigotry they could not be freed.

Is the Sky Falling? (Article) - 4/18/2008 1:03:36 PM
"We Social-Democrats always stand for democracy, not “in the name of capitalism, ” but in the name of clearing the path for our movement" Lenin, Letter to Inessa Armand (1916)

Obama's Surprise (Poetry) - 6/8/2008 7:07:50 AM
good one

Obama's Surprise (Poetry) - 6/7/2008 5:00:51 AM
This interests me Maud, tell me more if you wish, i am just a bystander in a foreign land to you...Wondering what comes next with it all. Kind regards Ch'erie

An Obama Limerick Revisited (Poetry) - 5/3/2008 6:37:36 PM
lol. You do limericks masterfully. Love them. Liz

An Obama Limerick Revisited (Poetry) - 5/3/2008 6:05:29 PM
Cute. I like the first one. You're good with those. Thanks

An Obama Limerick Revisited (Poetry) - 5/3/2008 11:09:59 AM
Again, PERFECT just as the first time...yes that name would be quite scary in any office...Ed & Rufuz (w00f)

An Obama Limerick Revisited (Poetry) - 5/3/2008 10:13:37 AM
Giggles, again! Hugs Selene

An Obama Limerick Revisited (Poetry) - 5/3/2008 7:57:58 AM
Maud, Oh, Lord, is right! Well done - (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Limericks from the Left (Poetry) - 5/2/2008 12:15:43 PM
I love Limericks, and absolutely adore these prizes of yours! One thing...on the third: Bush nearly went bankrupt twice in oilfield business in West Texas; Saudies bailed him out both times and how he conveniently bought into the Texas Rangers...and bought into Texas Governorship...not a fan of his... Blessings ~~ Micke

Limericks from the Left (Poetry) - 5/2/2008 11:39:21 AM
Beyond brilliant. I got a chuckle or two but mostly the truth struck at my core, sadly. Excellent Liz

Limericks from the Left (Poetry) - 5/2/2008 11:33:54 AM
definitely a chuckle or two or maybe twenty...thanks for them...Ed

The Performance (Poetry) - 1/27/2008 12:34:21 PM
An ontological social... "The Performance" sings the facts of life. In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

The Performance (Poetry) - 1/21/2008 4:42:07 PM
This is as enjoyable as the circus! Great rhythm and rhyme. I see kids jumping rope as they recite it. Cheers

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.