AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Michael Charles Messineo, iJeff Ovall, iD.E.Z. Butler, iRobert Campbell, iMark Sutton, iScott Knutson, iFrances Seymour, i
 
Home > Betty Jo Tucker
 

Recent Reviews for Betty Jo Tucker


Susan Sarandon: A True Maverick (Book) - 1/14/2008 7:15:04 AM
I love my book! I read it while in my School bus! and I loved your story on her! Write On! Share On! Warmed in the Spirit, Warrior Purple Lady Sweet Sheoxoo STay Positive!

Confessions of a Movie Addict (Book) - 6/6/2002 8:33:27 AM
A Funny Look at Movies by James Colt Harrison, editor of National Film PreVue Magazine If Oscar's were given for the funniest book of the year, then "Confessions of a Movie Addict" by Betty Jo Tucker would win hands down! Film critic Tucker is as star-struck today as she was as a little girl when she was frightened out of her wits by FRANKENSTEIN and later in high school when she did impersonations of Rita Hayworth singing "Put the Blame on Mame." She fell hopelessly in love with the movies and movie stars. The affection she developed warped her mind from that point on to her present day success as a film critic. It has been said you have to be nuts to be a movie critic, and Tucker would probably agree. Tucker takes us through her life in a chatty, gossipy way that serves the book's topic well. She regales us with hilarious personal encounters with movie stars and directors. Her unique and jolly way of looking at films is sampled in the reviews that are also included in the book. If you love movies as much as I do, you'll love CONFESSIONS OF A MOVIE ADDICT. I haven't had so much fun since I watched a Laurel and Hardy comedy. Short of doing pratfalls, Tucker will set you laughing out loud with her confessions.

Spy: Film Review/Poem (Article) - 6/26/2015 5:54:53 AM
Another fine movie that you bring my attention to. I seem to recall ads for Spy but didn't pay much attention because I only watch old reruns on TV. But after reading your review, I'm very interested. I don't know if you are aware or not, but there's a parallel in sports. That is, if you can call NASCAR a sport. Based on the regimen and physical fitness required to drive 500 miles at nearly 200 miles an hour, racer drivers have been often portrayed as athletes. Anyway, Richard Petty, NASCAR legend, said recently that Danica Patrick shouldn't be racing with the boys because she couldn't as a woman. However, Danica always finishes in the upper 3rd of the pack of 40 or so cars, and has quite often led races. Not to mention that Danica is good looking enough to be a great spokes model for racing, earning great endorsements. Is he jealous? By my reckoning, at least 20 other drivers, all male, shouldn't be driving either, because they can't even beat a woman consistently and should be dropped by their sponsors and car owners. It's only fair, Richard, isn't it? Ron

Big Fish: A Film for Father's Day (Article) - 6/24/2015 9:53:48 PM
enjoyed the read

Big Fish: A Film for Father's Day (Article) - 6/20/2015 9:36:50 AM
Shades of Little Big Man! For some reason, although Big Fish came out in 2003, I haven't heard of it. But I like these kinds of storytelling stories, so I'll look for it on the reruns and see if I can pick it up when and if it comes along. I caught some big fish in my time, but being an engineer, my story about that Muskie that had me yelling like I was being chased by a bear, or so my brother said, never got stretched any longer than its 31.5 inches… A keeper and damn good eating. Ron

Jurassic Park III (Article) - 6/16/2015 6:15:24 AM
Mixing 65 million year old dinosaurs with humans is great fun, but I'm afraid that some children (and adults who believe in Bigfoot, Nessie, and flying saucers) may find it all a bit too real and scary. As for "talking" to one another, archaeologists with amazing new tools are beginning to learn that these huge creatures were very birdlike and had local mechanisms similar to modern birds and reptiles like alligators, ostriches and turkeys (modern-day dinosaurs). While not talking to each other in the Dr. Doolittle way, all flocking birds have a way of communicating that is unique, and it is probably no different for dinosaurs. Every morning, one sparrow discovers our birdseed, sits on the trellis and calls out. Very soon there are many sparrows and even birds of other species who have picked up on the call of the first sparrow. I'm really happy that the movies can bring these magnificent, terrifying creatures back to life. I don't watch these movies for the horror. I watch them because of the wonder that they were created by nature at all. Without their demise, we night not be here. Ron

Honeymoon at the Del (Article) - 6/15/2015 8:12:28 AM
Reads like a real life experience. Certainly every marriage honeymoon comes with its little mishaps. I've never heard of The Dell, but I know it now. I have 2 stories to relate from my brief, three-year marriage. On our honeymoon we drove north through a winter wonderland to Ashland Wisconsin with no reservation for the night. My new wife knew about the Old Rittenhouse Inn, but told me that it had to be booked 6 months in advance. When we arrived on December 28, Ashland had about 3 feet of new snow and the Inn was resplendent in Victorian red and white paint and fully decorated for Christmas. We walked to the door and knocked. I literally asked, "Is there any room in the Inn?" To our surprise, there was. One year later, my wife had an all expense paid trip to San Antonio for top sales in the state of Texas. We flew there from Houston, stayed in the Hyatt on the Riverwalk, and only put 6 miles on the complimentary rental car, spending lavishly and enjoying breakfast in bed. A very nice 2nd honeymoon only hampered by a heavy fog delay in our flight out of Houston and a nasty cold that I had, slowing me down. Ron

Misery Loves Comedy: Film Review/Poem (Article) - 6/2/2015 4:03:32 AM
I can see that you are not only a very good movie critic, you are a poet too! I've been fascinated with comics and know that they often come from difficult or tragic situations and use comedy to overcome depression. I will see if I can see this documentary. Through his father, my student, Eric Hunter, a graduate of theater arts from Notre Dame, has been struggling for many years, and I believe, now makes a reasonable living for he and his family as a comic. http://erichunter.webs.com If depression doesn't get them like Robin Williams and so many others with drugs/alcohol, they tend to live a very long time like George Burns and Bob Hope. Ron

I'll See You in My Dreams: Film Review (Article) - 5/23/2015 9:46:32 AM
Sounds like a movie I'd be interested in. Always liked Elliott, for his wry smile, his handsome good looks, and his voice. My twin brother lost his second wife of 25 years last year in a tragic accident. He is now, rather awkwardly, getting back into the dating game. Last year I had the pleasure of attending the wedding of an old friend who had buried two husbands and was quite lonely until she met another, vibrant senior. The wedding was very festive with both families in happy attendance. The only question was, where with a live? Sun City, his place of residence, or Lake Havasu City, hers. Ron

Hollywood Legends (Article) - 4/30/2015 9:13:54 AM
I wasn't able to listen to the whole talk show, but your voice and interview style is wonderful and I'm sure you have any listeners for your movie addict talk radio. The conversation with Kramer and Heeley was wonderful as well is the idea that they were able to capture these legends in documentaries. Will have to see some of them. Ron

Whiplash: Film/Poem Review (Article) - 4/3/2015 5:00:50 AM
Fine film review, Betty Jo. Among other things I liked its references to Charlie Parker's experiences and to the prior student of Simmons' who 'made the grade' but killed himself. Perhaps the lesson here is that obsessive behavior needs to be defused and generalized rather than channeled into some other obsessive's notion of greatness. And yet too often we honor mediocrity and accept the venal. The film is intense and the acting deserving of all the praise. Can't say I'd like to know any of them, personally.

Ever After: Film Review (Article) - 3/28/2015 10:15:50 AM
I vaguely remember that 1998 movie, probably because of Angelica Huston. I can't believe that Drew Barrymore could play Cinderella especially after her performance for David Letterman on his show one night. I don't watch his show, but happened to be watching that night and have seen that scene repeated. Angelica Huston is certainly quite an actress, but I remember most her father John for his many films including The Treasurer of the Sierra Madre, The Maltese Falcon, Key Largo, and the African Queen, among many others. Ron

Cinderella: Film Review (Article) - 3/16/2015 3:45:27 AM
I was going to disagree with you about remakes until I read your review. I guess this technology progresses, fanciful things that could only be done in animation by Disney earlier make an age-old story more realistic to the audience. And, I guess, each generation has to be reintroduced to the lessons such a great story provide. Last Halloween we went to the zoo and it was filled with children in costume. I would say 70 to 80% of the little girls were dressed as princesses. Ron

Dancing at Lughnasa: Film Review (Article) - 3/10/2015 4:35:12 AM
I'm having trouble with the words lately. I looked up "cherse" and couldn't find it anywhere. From what I know of Spencer Tracy, from my home state of Wisconsin, he was a rather plain speaking man, so perhaps it was just his way of saying, coarse (?). I was trying to describe the vernacular of a Scottish fellow and wanted to use the word, "brogue," to describe it. To be sure, I looked it up and found that the word meant, only "shoe." So I reluctantly didn't use it. Now you have verified that the word is used to describe a way of speaking. Thank you. I like historical fiction, so I probably will like this story even though I find plays that are converted to movies often quite uninteresting. Ron

Take the Lead: Film Review (Article) - 3/1/2015 9:13:19 AM
I missed this one… But I see that you didn't. I like Banderas, too, and I love dancing. Especially Patrick Swayze, Kevin Bacon in Footloose, and Jennifer Beals in Flashdance. My former girlfriend is a professional dancer who has taught many and I keep urging her to try out for America's Got Talent for her rendition of Tina Turner's, Proud Mary. In high school during my senior year, the noon hour, after a quick lunch, allowed men to use the gym Mondays and Wednesdays, while the women used the gym on Tuesdays and Thursdays. Fridays were coed and set aside for dance classes. Our teacher was a local celebrity DJ who had had many occupations in his long career, one of which was an Arthur Murray dance instructor. I am forever grateful for those classic dances that I learned in those Friday afternoons, dancing with all the best looking girls in our school. The guys who didn't join in, didn't know what they were missing. Ron

Whiplash: Film/Poem Review (Article) - 2/8/2015 8:11:46 AM
It's hard to believe, but this kind of abrasive teacher/student relationship often achieves greatness through some kind of perverted excess pressure like Michael Jackson's father. I'm often amazed at how actors can play the part of a musician and pull it off. I suppose they use tricks and some CGI, but when an actor can sing better than the original singer, that's really pulling it off. But I am glad that Glen Campbell is doing his own. My nephew is a drummer in his own band but I've never heard him play or even seen a video. He must not be that good. I don't think he has any designs on being a career drummer and has just entered the National Guard. I never thought of drumming as being something to be excellent at. While some lead singers have been drummers, when I went to concerts and had to sit through long drum solos I became quite bored… I guess one had to be high on drugs to understand the nuance, and I wasn't. Once again, won't be seeing this one until it hits TV. Ron

Getting Back at Oscar® (Article) - 1/31/2015 11:22:16 AM
It appears to me that Oscar, by his figurine and his name, is a man. ;-) A fine list of leading ladies. Wasn't Spielberg spurned by the Academy for many years? Ron

Getting Back at Oscar® (Article) - 1/31/2015 6:03:17 AM
Well done. Thanks for seeing this aspect and speaking up. Hollywood ought to be ashamed of itself for leading such a masculinized, endless warfare parade. Blame Spielberg and Hanks for starting this new militarized tinsletown -

Strange Magic: Film Review (Article) - 1/27/2015 8:38:35 AM
While I've found many animated movies these days to be too kidly for me, based on the songs that you described, I think I'd like this one. Ron

American Sniper: Film Poem and Review (Article) - 1/21/2015 7:08:43 AM
Like most first run movies, I haven't seen American Sniper, but from what you've written, I get the gist of what the movie is about. Young people who pay money to see movies and are video game fans probably like to fantasize that they are the shooter in all those killed scenes. They have no real idea what it's like to really kill. I often say, "If you kill something, you should eat it." My sister is a military fan, patriot, and gun carrier. She wrote that she saw the film. Strangely, she didn't write her impression of it. Perhaps she, like you, was a bit uncomfortable with what she saw. However, I don't think she has any trouble depersonalizing the enemy. I do. I've been in some of those countries and met the people. They have the same thoughts, desires and characteristics as you and I. Often they are forced into war by their leaders just like we are with the draft. Ron

Favorite Films of 2014 (Article) - 1/10/2015 10:46:55 AM
For an old movie junkie, I don't recognize most of the titles. Of late I haven't even watched any musicals except the TV version of The Sound of Music with Carrie Underwood. I'm surprised you didn't include Gravity, but I may be in the wrong year. Historical movies, however distorted, are some of my favorites. I didn't see any in your list. I noticed that you didn't number them. I, too, have a bit of difficulty ranking creative work. My helper, Rose, is much clearer on the subject. To her, everything is ranked by the amount of money that it makes. Sure makes things simple, if rather stupid. Ron

Big Eyes: Film Review (Article) - 12/29/2014 7:50:50 AM
You have a keen eye for acting and are quite a poet! I frequented North Beach from 1966-68, and more than once stopped by the upstairs Keane Gallery on Broadway to admire the bigeye paintings and wish that I could buy one… Now I wish I had. I particularly remember one that showed the entire Jerry Lewis family. Jerry was dressed in a blue and gray checkered clown suit. From The Semaphore, A Publication of the Telegraph Hill Dwellers: "On one of his “runs” (a day or more of heavy drinking), he got into it with Banducci after insulting patrons and assaulting a woman at Enrico’s Cafe. The altercation resulted in a lawsuit and Keane was charged with disorderly conduct. The charges were eventually dismissed. While in divorce proceedings, he and his wife Margaret became involved in a contentious lawsuit over the copyrights to the paintings that featured “sad eyes,” usually on a female waif wearing Polynesian attire. The question? Who was the actual painter? In 1970, a “paint-off ” was scheduled for Union Square. It was covered by Life magazine and provided great fodder for Herb Caen’s column. Margaret appeared and painted the “eyes.” Ron

Big Eyes: Film Review (Article) - 12/28/2014 5:03:20 PM
Great review an poem..! I felt as you totally mismatched stars..I kept remembering V.Leigh insisting she have a cameraman that loved women in Gone With the Wind..and because she persisted; the film is a classic. Tks again for insightful review!

Surviving Christmas: Film Review (Article) - 12/12/2014 12:14:59 PM
It may be a fun holiday movie, but I think I'll pass on it. I've seen enough family holiday movies to last a lifetime. I'm still looking for a replacement for, Planes, Trains and Automobiles, and don't think I'll find one, Home Alone. ;-) Ron

Wild: Film Review (Article) - 12/5/2014 9:47:44 AM
I much prefer this type of real life movie because it shows the human condition well. And, as a person who always struck out on the trail alone, I'm especially interested deep within my soul. I've noticed that there touting the actress in the latest spinoff of the Hunger Games. In spite of her triumph against insurmountable odds, I find the whole premise quite phony and contrived, like so many science fiction depictions of the future these days. Ron

Jessabelle: Film Review and Poem (Article) - 11/22/2014 8:52:35 AM
I find most horror stories to be so unbelievable as to be laughable, like Vincent Price turned to comedy in his later roles, because things were becoming so outlandish. Blood and gore seem to have taken a front seat in most Hollywood horror epics. The picture of Jessabelle with two faces that I assume is showing two personalities reminds me of a character with two heads in American Horror Story: Freak Show. I checked yesterday and it is one actress playing a conjoined woman with two heads, each like my twin brother and I, with different ideas and personalities. Very well done, I might add. Ron

Dead and Breakfast: Film Review (Article) - 10/27/2014 9:41:12 AM
I think I'll pass on this one. While I certainly like a creative horror film like the Rocky Picture Show, the need for unnecessary gore, picking off cast members one by one, is simply not my cup of tea. Ron

Father's Day Golfers Again! (Poetry) - 6/21/2015 8:48:38 AM
As well as a fantastic movie critic, you write a pretty mean poem, as well. My father was an avid golfer, all my brothers, and their sons, enjoy it as well. Ron

Father's Day Golfers Again! (Poetry) - 6/21/2015 3:18:22 AM
fun read! enjoyed the tribute

Father's Day Golfers Again! (Poetry) - 6/20/2015 6:12:51 PM
A wonderful tribute to your dad from a golfing prespective! BRAVO!

Father's Day Golfers Again! (Poetry) - 6/20/2015 2:31:08 PM
Quite a jovial little piece of poetry you gave us . . . And I have a very good feeling that they did, all three of them, had fun!!

Gone Girl: Poem and Review (Poetry) - 10/11/2014 10:06:51 PM
Well done Betty Jo Tucker! Thank you for being you. Amen

Gone Girl: Poem and Review (Poetry) - 10/11/2014 12:23:33 PM
A good poetic tribute. Michael D.

Father's Day Golfers (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 11:12:06 AM
good one

Father's Day Golfers (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 10:14:12 AM
Very Nice poem! Golf- no comment...

Father's Day Golfers (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 9:24:21 AM
My father, who took up golfing at 60, is dead now, but he would have loved this little ditty. Three of his sons enjoyed playing with him and still love the game whenever they can. Chasing a little white ball that keeps getting in impossible situations, in the hot sun and pouring rain, only to lose it in a hole. What fun! Ron

Father's Day Golfers (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 6:31:11 AM
Aaahhhh!!! Those who love to play golf will have so much fun playing. There are two of my co-workers who have joined some golf clubs and they travel to play golfs. I think it's so much fun in what they're doing. Great poem!! Happy Father's Day!!! Sandie

Father's Day Golfers (Poetry) - 6/15/2014 6:14:38 AM
Well said! Golf is for fun. Champions and heroes are where you find them.

Maleficent Film Poem and Review (Poetry) - 6/2/2014 5:45:47 AM
Love the poem an I am gonna go to movie after read. your excellent review!

360: Film Poem (Poetry) - 6/2/2014 3:13:47 AM
well done

Maleficent Film Poem and Review (Poetry) - 6/2/2014 3:13:09 AM
enjoyed the read

Maleficent Film Poem and Review (Poetry) - 6/1/2014 8:38:24 AM
I'm not fond of fairytale spinoffs, but Maleficent does give a good platform for Angelina Jolie to stretch her acting skills and for the director to continue to use his artistic imagination. Ron

Sandy Hook Lament (Poetry) - 3/14/2014 11:52:47 PM
poignant read m

Sandy Hook Lament (Poetry) - 12/17/2012 7:10:46 AM
it is true and so sad budd

Sandy Hook Lament (Poetry) - 12/17/2012 6:52:20 AM
So very true... Peace, Dan

Sandy Hook Lament (Poetry) - 12/17/2012 5:13:45 AM
Amen

360: Film Poem (Poetry) - 11/6/2012 9:01:22 AM
I love your poetry critiques of movies. It seems like a lot of movies are more about relationships than about plot. This one makes me think that I should stay away until I don't have to pay to see it. And then I just might, because I'm a sucker for trashy films. Ron

Bel Ami Poem (Poetry) - 9/10/2012 9:36:57 AM
Great movie review! In my day, I saw so many bad movies. Today I think they turned out a bad movie a week. By cramming sex, violence, and impossible action, they give a short rush. In the old days we had to sit through hours of agonizing boredom like Cleopatra. Robert Pattinson strikes me as a weird looking guy that by some twist of fate attracts women by weird looks. Unfortunately, he has to have good material to pull it off like Johnny Depp. Ron

Bel Ami Poem (Poetry) - 9/9/2012 1:45:58 PM
never seen this one sounds like i didn't miss anything worth remembering budd

True Grit Poem (Poetry) - 12/26/2010 1:31:29 PM


True Grit Poem (Poetry) - 12/25/2010 7:50:42 AM
Well, Betty Jo, I don't think the poem will become a classic, no insult intended. However, it does make me want to see this new movie. I love the old movie with John Wayne. Can't see how someone else could make Rooster Cogburn come to life the way he does. And Mattie is just Great in it, along with Attorney Dagget. Anyhow, thanks for the heads-up about the new version! Today's the birthday of Jesus--enjoy and celebrate! Merry Christmas and Happy New year to you Connie

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.