AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Frank Ryan, iJerry Engler, iFrederick Brooke, iJeff Alt, iKathleen Morris, iAnthony Dalton, iAudrey Coatesworth, i
 
Home > Lori Paris
 

Recent Reviews for Lori Paris


Evil Exchange (Book) - 4/14/2006 9:55:21 PM
Wow! this is going to be a real page turner... can't wait to read the whole story... hurry hurry :-) ann

Follow Your Heart (Book) - 4/22/2004 2:58:18 AM
Though I ended up never being adopted...I was placed for adoption at birth. I ended up in the foster care system. At 36 I began "the search" for my birth family. I found myself reliving many of my own experiences as I read. Searching is such an emotional roller coaster but no matter the results...the journey is worth it. Thanks for sharing this journey with the world. I hope sharing my story will have the impact on peole as yours does!

Follow Your Heart (Book) - 3/28/2004 9:58:31 AM
Lori Paris’ first novel, “FOLLOW YOUR HEART” is sure to become a favorite. Persons needing to have a guide or a gentle nudge in finding birth parents will surely be captured in heart, mind and spirit with Lori’s book. While reading Lori’s book, I kept thinking how “in depth” and emotionally turbocharged the characters appeared. It was one day after I completed the book, that I found out Lori’s book was fiction based on truth. A truth, so undeniably real, it was almost as though the characters were alive in my mind. Sara Martin, the heroine of the story is catapulted into a nightmare—a nightmare of uncertainty. As a small child, Sara’s parents were viciously murdered. Her only living relative, Aunt Irene, fondly called Reni, takes on the task of raising Sara and teaching her the skills Sara will need as an adult. With Reni’s help, Sara becomes a warm, loving soul whose only aim in life is to please her aunt, who has instilled in her, the will to succeed. The story begins with college graduation, a time of excitement and realizing she would soon have the opportunity to fulfill her dreams. Sam Evans, the love her life, although Sara wouldn’t admit it, became thrust together in solid friendship and love with the sudden death of Reni. Sara, disheveled and alone turns to Sam for support. Fear grips Sara when she finds out, through papers locked in a safe deposit box, that she had been adopted. What would Sara do? Would she hire a detective to search for her birth parents? Would she be welcomed with open arms or suffer the unknown? How will she react to learning the in-depth reason for being given up for adoption? What were the circumstances surrounding her birth parents and the decision that would unravel the very essence of time—urgent time for patience and understanding? What is the meaning and symbol for the title, “FOLLOW YOUR HEART?” It’s all revealed in Lori’s book—a book of warmth, love, compassion and truth. “FOLLOW YOUR HEART” and read Lori’s book. 5 stars, Lori!

Follow Your Heart (Book) - 4/7/2003 12:09:58 PM
I have enjoyed the book and wish you could help me in finding my parents. I don't have much money to spend on a detective or anything in that matter but I have all the information about my parents and what agency I came from. I wish you can help me in that perspective. thank u so much for taking the time to read this.

Follow Your Heart (Book) - 1/13/2003 5:20:52 PM
Lori Paris reveals the complexities and challenges of the ability to search for a new identity through FOLLOW YOUR HEART. Lori understands and conveys courage and daring in this unfolding journey where nothing is guaranteed. Her work demands insight and balance of emotions with integrity and clarity of processing. She gains both and enables the reader to share a new perspective as the journey is traveled together. The reader can only gain from this work.

Follow Your Heart (Book) - 12/2/2002 3:17:59 AM
Judas Priest..that's the FIRST chapter? However did you put so much emotion and concern for people WE JUST MET into so short a space? Beautifully crafted, compelling work Lori. Sven Robinson

Follow Your Heart (Book) - 11/16/2002 8:22:25 AM
I found my eyes watering as I read about Sara's parents. This is a moving story.

Follow Your Heart (Book) - 11/15/2002 2:12:24 AM
A good beginning for a fascinating story. Good luck with it!

Follow Your Heart (Book) - 11/14/2002 5:37:30 PM
Lori: Important premise crafted into an engaging piece of fiction. Push forward. You have a story to tell.

Follow Your Heart (Book) - 11/14/2002 4:37:48 PM
The first chapter definitely makes me want to know more. Well written on a subject that is relevant for a lot of people.

Follow Your Heart (Book) - 11/14/2002 3:06:21 PM
I'm hooked already! What a wonderful idea!

Follow Your Heart (Book) - 11/13/2002 5:45:25 PM
I loved this book! A surperb job in bringing the reader close to the characters and in bringing a beautiful message as well. Although focused on adoption, the problems, feelings, hope and encouragement carries to issues we all face and makes a great read for everyone. Thanks, Lori, for a beautiful, well-written story.

Follow Your Heart (Book) - 11/13/2002 2:33:44 PM
Sounds like a sweet tale that would interest many. Best of luck...

Follow Your Heart (Book) - 11/13/2002 2:20:05 PM
Sounds good. I believe alot of people will be able to relate. Story sounds great. Good luck.

Follow Your Heart (Book) - 11/13/2002 12:46:12 PM
A compelling story that many adopted people can identify with.

Follow Your Heart (Book) - 6/9/2002 9:09:33 AM
Storyline sounds fascinating.

Follow Your Heart (Book) - 5/3/2002 3:57:53 PM
My family adopted a child when she was five and she located her birth parents with our help and has a relationship with them, now. Good luck with your book.

Are You Ready? (Article) - 4/4/2008 12:03:01 PM
Good article.. though I have to say this..and it's not in a bad way: My first thoughts upon reading all the questions.... It brought back to me the same sort of internal examinations that a preganant mother is expected to go through when adoption is in the picture. I know that's not why you did it, but when it is the agencies or social workers asking things like "Are you ready to stay home while all your freinds are going out and having fun?..Are you ready to spend your money on diapers and baby food? etc.." And the bottom line for both sets of questions..well meaning like in your case or not so well meaning like I credit the adoption industry.. it's worth it in the end. It's worth it to go off into the unknown and find out where you came from.. or what your child turned out to be, just as much as it would have been worth it the first time around to have sacraficed the parties and new clothes to have your child with you for life...

I Found My Birth Parents (Article) - 5/8/2007 6:25:58 PM
I, too, found my birth mother and I agree that it is a unique experience - very hard to explain. My birth father eludes me, but for now I am okay with that. My birth mom and I are in contact through e-mail, but I did see her once. We hugged and cried and it was like looking in a mirror for me, as well. Thanks for your article! Your situation is extremely similar to mine in many ways and I'm glad you were able to put it into words that do the experience justice. I enjoyed reading it! Lots of luck to you and your family!

Are You Ready? (Article) - 1/22/2007 4:11:30 PM
I am a birth parent and have been wondering about the child I gave up. This article really touched me in knowing that in hopes one day I too will meet my child. It gives me great hope and strength to move forward with a search so I can can put some type of closer to that chapter in my life. Thank you so much!!

I Found My Birth Parents (Article) - 10/25/2006 2:17:51 PM
Thank you so much for giving me an insight, i've been looking for my birthmother for nine years and my social worker has a meeting with her next week. i'm an emotional wreck but so excited yet scared as to how the future will unfold following this meeting.my adoptive family will always be my family but knowing you're going to eventually meet someone who is biologically a part of you for the first time is undescribeable unless you've been through it yourself...thank you...

Open Your Heart (Article) - 8/30/2005 1:52:43 AM
Thank you Lori for this article. It finally gave me the courage to contact my birth mother after having her name and phone number for almost 3 months. We are still in the beginning stages and trying to take it slowly but I am hopeful we will be able to meet someday soon.

The Complete Picture (Article) - 5/2/2004 8:10:40 PM
Hi Lori I don't believe we've met. I thoroughly enjoyed your article as this touches people in my life. As an advocate and a voice for adoptees, I was wondering if you are aware of APPPAH - The Association for Pre and Perinatal Psychology and Health. There site is at birthpsychology.com. Their interests span the entire range of challenges in being born--and adoption is certainly a significant area of their interest. Vicky

The Complete Picture (Article) - 5/2/2004 12:01:29 PM
Thanks for the indepth look into the heart and soul of an adopted person...HUGS

The Complete Picture (Article) - 5/2/2004 9:02:35 AM
Lori, your article is remarkable. I knew when I first met you, you were special. What exactly? I am not sure, but a substance (a being) in your eyes sparkled. Your eyes danced, and I had no idea why. When I read your book, "Follow Your Heart", the connection became clear. There was no mistaking, uniting with your birth mother and relatives became so obvious, I was elated to understand why I thought you were so special. Your article, "The Complete Picture", is so in depth, and is a wealth of information to those searching for their birth parents. Thank you for opening so many eyes to the bittersweet pain of being adopted, and letting them know what to expect. The joy of happy a reunion can be seen in your eyes. Bless you, Lori.

The Complete Picture (Article) - 5/1/2004 12:25:51 PM
wonderfully optimistic and compelling story! thanks for sharing!

Are You Ready? (Article) - 2/16/2004 6:59:09 AM
Very imformative and thoughtful. I think you are right. Unbreakable bonds are just that. God-given, really. Thanks for this posting.

Are You Ready? (Article) - 1/27/2004 8:19:09 AM
Lori, thanks for pouring out your heart, your article is well written and informative. I was not adopted, but disowned by my dad and this caused me to do some soul searching. If you have time read my poem, He's Got To Be My Dad, you'll find where my journey ended. God Bless You and Your Loved Ones Officer William Heffner

Are You Ready? (Article) - 8/9/2003 1:13:19 PM
Excellent article..you are heroic indeed...bless you and both your mothers.. Vesna

Are You Ready? (Article) - 4/18/2003 3:18:03 PM
I've read a few of our articles, and your work is very insightful and thought provoking! Carrie Author of "Family Bound: One Couple's Journey through Infertility and Adoption" http://www.familybound.com

Open Your Heart (Article) - 4/18/2003 3:15:37 PM
Thank you again for another wonderful and insightful article! Carrie Author of "Family Bound: One Couple's Journey through Infertility and Adoption" http://www.familybound.com

I Found My Birth Parents (Article) - 4/18/2003 3:15:10 PM
Thank you so much for sharing this! As a mom to an adoptive son, I wonder what type of experiences he may have! Carrie Author of "Family Bound: One Couple's Journey through Infertility and Adoption" http://www.familybound.com

Are You Ready? (Article) - 3/22/2003 8:46:44 PM
I am 24 and just starting to think about searching for my b-parents. My parents now are God sent, but I wonder so much about where I come from. It was so nice to read an article about the pros and cons of searching. Thank you so much for your help

Open Your Heart (Article) - 3/22/2003 5:19:16 AM
Yes, Lori, I don't think anyone but adopted children can understand the desire to just see someone who looks like you! Other people take that for granted; they have several folks around that have their physical traits. As an adopted child, the only time I see someone who looks like me is when I look in the mirror. Thanks for a nice article.

Are You Ready? (Article) - 12/11/2002 11:23:12 AM
Your article was excellent, but it doesn't go far enough. Adoptees need to understand the consequences of dropping in and then out of their birthfamilies lives. I lost my only child to adoption as a very naive teenager. My son contacted me out of the blue one day many long and sad years later. He came, he saw, he took, he went. He stirred up devastating memories and unresolved grief, sent me into deep depression, used me to benefit his adoptive parents (hadn't they gotten enough from me when they took my child?), and then he left. I opened my heart to this child (he always had my heart), and he cut it to ribbons. You talk about choice and that the adoptee is in control. Do you honestly ever think that the birthmother had a choice or was in control? Especially a teenage birthmother? Here comes the adoptee, and for the birthmother it can be just another way to experience the loss, the grief and the powerlessness all over again. Birthmothers were victimized once already by "the system," the adoption agency and the adoptive parents. Adoptees, have compassion - please don't do it to them again. If you come into their lives and you are met with love, open arms and respect, have the decency to treat those people with at least respect and decency, if not love.

Open Your Heart (Article) - 10/25/2002 1:50:10 PM
What an awesome Article. I am also adopted and i want so bad to meet my Bio-parents. I have mafe the step once but am so afraid of being rejected that i have not called back. And reading this article just makes me feel better because they are going thru the same thing.

Open Your Heart (Article) - 9/30/2002 1:02:34 PM
What fantastic articles. I am adopted and I'm one of the ones whose experience is not great, but Ill push on to find the whole person you talk about. Ill be buying your book, as I relate exactly to what you talk about.

I Found My Birth Parents (Article) - 9/27/2002 4:01:16 PM
I knew the author in high school and never knew her history. I found it fascinating and inspiring. May Lori Ann Griggs Paris' story help others to reach out and find answers to those gnawing questions, as she did.

Are You Ready? (Article) - 9/13/2002 3:04:30 PM


Open Your Heart (Article) - 8/28/2002 5:47:20 PM
Good article. I did open my heart, home, and all to my daughter who turned to be my birth"daughter". My story can be read over at authorsden.com and all. I was used by my adult adoptee daughter after her adoptive parents discarded her like a old shoe. She is mentally challenged and now the adoptive parents are screaming "Wrongful Adoption." Sincerely, Karissa Anne Lowell

Are You Ready? (Article) - 8/28/2002 5:41:16 PM
Good article. I am a birth "mom" and adult adoptee. My daughter who was taken away from me is also an "adult adoptee" and used me when she found me via my sister. Sincerely, Karissa Anne Lowell

Open Your Heart (Article) - 6/20/2002 7:59:45 PM
It has been 4 months since my half sister located me. We talk on the phone almost everyday and we do e-mail everyday. I find almost anything on adoptions very helpful to better understand how she feels. I also had alot of feelings that surprised me. I will be getting your book.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.