AuthorsDen.com  Join | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Kathy L Wheeler / Kae Elle Wheeler, iEdmond Humm, iKH LeMoyne, iHelen Vandepeer, iBarbara Henry, iandrea coltman, iDarryl Jenkins, i
 
Home > Leslie Eugenia Hoffman
 

Recent Reviews for Leslie Eugenia Hoffman


The Gaia Criterion (Short Story) - 3/7/2010 7:06:19 AM
I love this! Your writing is meticulous, of course, but it is the soul and substance of your message that so intrigues me. I am drawn to the notions of de-evolution and co-evolution. Your characters seem very Urantian to me. And, your quantum leap from "then" to "now" (if one can conceive of this linearly) is what really clinched this for me and made the story relevant to the moment. Consciousness - the very idea of its breadth - is one of my favorite contemplative endeavors.

The Gaia Criterion (Short Story) - 3/6/2010 5:13:07 AM
Interesting, and what is making it more interesting is the fact that I am, at this point in time, reading "Perelandra," the second book in the "Space Trilogy," by C.C. Lewis. The language used here is difficult to read (in part) because of the technical side of it, but that did not cause me to cease and desist reading this well-conceived and written story. Something told me I was reading about earth being transformed. There wasn't any one thing, but the idea was there so I wasn't too surprised to realize I had been right. I look forward to the rest of this story.

Her Name Was Genia (Poetry) - 9/19/2013 1:15:59 PM
This poem got to me a little because I knew Genia a long time ago. I can't find anything else about her.

Refraction (Poetry) - 9/3/2011 10:05:35 AM
Original analogy of how facts are bent through time as light is bent. Perfect final lines, memory of our origin fading evolving into myriad tales of creation - David

Her Name Was Genia (Poetry) - 3/24/2011 1:46:03 PM
this poem is so meaningful to me because it is about someone i know not personally but she will always be there in my heart thank you because this has ment alot to me and it this poem is about my birth mom

Refraction (Poetry) - 6/22/2010 12:16:04 AM
This is so beautifully expressed.......pure elegance.

Refraction (Poetry) - 3/27/2010 9:15:18 PM
ah yes, leslie, a melting pot of tales of creation indeed; but take heart for Universal Mind and Memory retains it all. very well scribed, poetess, be well, carolyn

Refraction (Poetry) - 3/25/2010 7:25:42 AM
Refraction is an interesting word to encapsulate this surpassing poetic thought. A synonym for refraction could be deflection, a twist or aberration, a turning aside, or a deviation ... bending ... the list is long. But in context this brings to mind how so much literature in this society is subtly re-created from generation to generation. This, in my own personal experiences, becomes increasingly evident in how the classic authors - Jules Verne, Robert Lewis Stevenson, etc. etc. are edited and interpreted to death in each new edition that reaches the market when their popularity surges for what ever reason. The blessings for me in reading the original manuscript are extraordinary. I could ramble on here dear Leslie but I won't. You have inspired thought with this insight. Thankyou! richard

Refraction (Poetry) - 3/24/2010 7:27:44 PM
I find this write worthy of much more than a single reading; I seem to get more out of the thought process in engenders each time I read. Thank you, Leslie. Love and best wishes, Regis

Refraction (Poetry) - 3/24/2010 3:19:45 PM
...where does truth end and spin begin and how do they coalesce? how much of the original ever filters down to us generations later? what to believe and from whom? You pose these questions succinctly and elegantly, Leslie, in this thoughtful, worthwhile poem. And I love Dixie Lewis's picture and its appropriateness. John

Refraction (Poetry) - 3/24/2010 2:43:55 PM
Conveyed as an integral part of our heritage, our stories are ancient chronicles chiseled from stone and set in rock and even on cloth squares of the story quilt which tells a story, the old-fashioned quilting bee where women sat around the quilt top in a frame sewing unity and sharing their generational stories of their ancestry - those legacies, some even housed in the Smithsonian in art collections of slaves working in tobacco and cotton fields and their treatment on those plantations...stories chronicle weddings, river baptisms, funerals, pecan groves and rationing stamps during the depression...and on the other end of Refraction, us Starseeds, Walk-ins and Lightworkers have a "special light" of refraction when a planet is set aside as an experiment for polarity integration, there exists a unique opportunity for all "refracting through time"...we are the hope of the universe...be well. Love, Sage

Refraction (Poetry) - 3/24/2010 2:28:24 PM
A nice poetic description of the misperception of perceptions.

Refraction (Poetry) - 3/24/2010 1:25:45 PM
So true and so beautifully expressed, Leslie. I love how you've used the word "evolving." It suggests, to me, that the tales are not somehow "less" than the truth. It also seems to imply that the generational storytelling with all its bending and curving is, somehow, the natural progression of our truth.

Casa de la Pacena (Poetry) - 3/12/2010 12:36:57 PM
Once again, you seemingly effortlessly ease the reader into the aura of the scene that you describe; so well done, Leslie. Thank you. Love and best wishes, Regis

Casa de la Pacena (Poetry) - 3/7/2010 7:15:11 AM
I can't help but draw a comparison here to Gene Williamson's style - you both project such strength, awareness and confidence in your writing. Your lines are direct with no superfluous fancy to distract from the holistic image you intend to convey and beautifully succeed in conveying. Each of you is distinctly unique, yet the experience and skill and talent each of you possesses rises up and connects you somewhere in the upper echelons of the den.

Casa de la Pacena (Poetry) - 3/4/2010 3:35:32 PM
Culture poetry always takes your readers on a view-master trip, dear Leslie! I saw stuff just like this in the 60s view masters. I always know when I read you, I will be viewing one of those circular picture view master reels in my mind! You touch on all of the senses here in Casa de la Pacena - I'm waiting for the poem that you grace us with a string of ristras...sandals and margaritaville, Leslie... Love, Sage

Casa de la Pacena (Poetry) - 3/4/2010 2:09:57 PM
Leslie, There's great stillness here without the Renoir being a still life, and such confidence and authority in the writing. I love it! John

Casa de la Pacena (Poetry) - 3/4/2010 11:59:07 AM
I'm there. I see what you see. I smell the coffee. The orange juice. I'm there.

Casa de la Pacena (Poetry) - 3/4/2010 8:30:26 AM
Ha! "gecko pauses on ceiling" to see if someone is going to throw him a tidbit of breakfast. (-: That little beggar ... Wonderful image - love the four layers of it. A colorful series of vignettes here of what (I'm assuming) you viewed from your balcony. You have captured palpable spirit in this one dear Leslie - love the taste of it! Is this place in La Paz? Blessings ... richard

Her Name Was Genia (Poetry) - 2/7/2010 5:53:47 PM
This poem burrows deep within my core. The pain and the senselessness are blaring. I'm always the one to wonder who might've saved her. What had to have been different - what are all the variables that merge to such a wrenching conclusion? Who contributed to what he was and at what point might he have chosen a different path? I also wonder - what does it feel like to write these words? Does it put you in that place, in that time? How do you open yourself without letting it settle in? You are such a wonderful writer; your fearlessness and willingness to venture here speak volumes of your ability and scope as well as they sway and dizzy that part of me who wants to only see the sun. In admiration, Gina ~

Her Name Was Genia (Poetry) - 2/7/2010 2:46:59 PM
Hi Leslie, your meaningful poem has captured my interest. It is sad yet honest, difficult yet real. Life isn't always smooth, sometimes it is bumpy but it's worth the ride. Thank you for sharing. Blessings to you. Best wishes, Sheri

Her Name Was Genia (Poetry) - 2/5/2010 11:08:32 PM
Stark, real, and very sad; I find your poem very compelling and meaningful, Leslie. Love and best wishes, Regis

Her Name Was Genia (Poetry) - 2/5/2010 1:59:36 PM
"Because I knew nothing of intimacy" Of course this has become pandemic in modern society. Wounded by men, wounded by women - people shut down and embrace every evil bird that circles above their miserable lives in an effort to fill all the voids. There is no disguise or adornment in this poem Leslie, it's written quite real and quite well. Loneliness and misery and danger are everywhere. Blessings to you friend ... richard

Her Name Was Genia (Poetry) - 2/5/2010 12:35:42 PM
Reality of an ill-fated profession and the results of exchanging sex for dollars that can never be spent as death of Genia walks in spirit through the shopping malls, strutting its sexy stuff in the dress shops and shoe stores where stilettos pay tribute and author Leslie Eugenia Hoffman writes the explicit facts of a life gone way too soon... Love, Sage

Saturn Opposite Neptune (Poetry) - 1/30/2010 11:42:44 AM
There is wisdom to be had from the most provocative sources. Saturn sighing is a great image. enjoyed this Leslie. richard

Today, a Son of Africa (Poetry) - 1/30/2010 11:41:27 AM
I am certainly hoping that he is able to achieve what he had in mind and bring your country (and the world) some much needed change. Thank you, Leslie. Love and best wishes, Regis

Main Street Lullaby (Poetry) - 1/30/2010 11:39:46 AM
You have recalled and recreated the ambiance of the moments very effecitively within your verses here, Leslie. Very well done! Thank you. Love and best wishes, Regis

Saturn Opposite Neptune (Poetry) - 1/26/2010 10:33:10 AM
What a wonderful last line! The entire concept is smart and creative; the wit is simultaneously wry and warm. Your opening nicely balances your "planetary dialogue" yet in its almost reticent and somber way keeps mum of the light banter yet to come. The whole piece serves as an unfolding.

My Sister (Poetry) - 1/24/2010 6:38:29 PM
You have managed to introduce the character of your "sister" very eloquently with few words, Leslie. Nicely done indeed. Thank you. Love and best wishes, Regis

Pantoum: Cloud wisps (Poetry) - 1/24/2010 6:36:33 PM
Graphic image and verses very effectively complement one another, Leslie. Well done! Love and best wishes, Regis

Saturn Opposite Neptune (Poetry) - 1/24/2010 6:34:39 PM
Such an interesting way of looking at possible love, Leslie. I love the sidebar to chocolate as well. Thank you. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

Saturn Opposite Neptune (Poetry) - 1/24/2010 3:43:17 PM
I enjoyed this whimsical take on the powers of the stars. If anything to complain about it: it could be longer! :) in short, more, please! Gina

Saturn Opposite Neptune (Poetry) - 1/24/2010 1:44:00 PM
Homing in on love opposites through planetary dialogue! It's a magnificent setting, Leslie, the laws of attraction and the laws of the galaxy...in cosmic terms, elsewhere in the galaxy, gestating stars require a cold, calm womb within a large cloud of dust and gas where the galactic core is anything but calm...Saturn Opposite Neptune, an intense metaphor of the blackhole's gravity shredding gaseous nurseries before anything can incubate there...some are born farther out and have to migrate inward to create new suns in the galactic environment...good to see you posting, Leslie, you've been missed...sending you a bag of chocolate Hershey kissesxoxo Sage

the blasted rain (Poetry) - 12/22/2009 9:42:10 AM
I agree with John Flanagan - your expression is always strong and unique and this time it leaves me, too, with an unsettled being. I'm caught up in your stanza breaks, your wonderful "c" in the second stanza and, in particular, the idea of "fickle moon." I sense layers here - some of which make themselves apparent to me and some that seem too loyal to reveal themselves to a stranger like me.

the blasted rain (Poetry) - 12/18/2009 8:15:07 PM
You do not write about a gentle and benevolent rain; and, it seems to me, you foreshadow effectively the meaning of the last two verses. Nicely done, Leslie. Love and peace, Regis

the blasted rain (Poetry) - 12/16/2009 3:07:43 AM
NICE!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

the blasted rain (Poetry) - 12/14/2009 12:14:52 PM
Ah ... the collimate between the storm and the love-making is effective. And that damn moon always hiding away during the storms. there is a kind of 'breath in the spirit' thing going on in this one poetess. Nicely done! Hoping all is well! Blessings ... r

the blasted rain (Poetry) - 12/14/2009 9:24:04 AM
Leslie, though I almost always find the sound of rain to be soothing, its monotony over a long stretch, with the threat of flooding, would definitely send me deep into the covers before I finally tie a rowboat to my 2nd story window (as happened when the waters rose many years back). I like this this. -gene.

the blasted rain (Poetry) - 12/13/2009 7:35:42 PM
Leslie, It's the atmosphere you create that is so telling; I'm not quite certain why I have the response I have but I'm off balance here, provoked and disturbed...all credit to your strength of expression. John

San Francisco Beat (Poetry) - 11/6/2009 6:15:15 PM
I agree with Richard, I like your stanzas that play like a slide show in my mind. I particularly like your last stanza/line - the idea/image of "young poets of North Beach" seems to bring your presentation full-circle while also portending something good yet to come.

Passing Through... On the Way to Infinity (Poetry) - 10/31/2009 8:51:18 AM
I look to the moon seeking familiar. I can relate, Leslie. I appreciate your unique way of sharing via your verses. Love and best wishes, Regis

Bora Bora (Poetry) - 10/31/2009 8:43:39 AM
You have recalled, recreated and shared the beauty of this place very effectively via your verses, Leslie. Thank you. Love and best wishes, Regis

Measured Moments (Poetry) - 10/30/2009 5:33:45 PM
You have very effectively recalled and shared these special moments, Leslie. Love and peace, Regis

grand mal (Poetry) - 10/30/2009 5:32:45 PM
I do love the way you shared such an experience via your verses, Leslie. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

San Francisco Beat (Poetry) - 10/30/2009 5:31:47 PM
Thank you for sharing these glimpses of this interesting city, Leslie. It is an appreciated lesson for me. Love and best wishes, Regis

San Francisco Beat (Poetry) - 10/27/2009 9:47:53 AM
WE found an inter-net cafe on Vancouver Island and I just had to throw a rainbow ball here. The snapshot quality of your stanzas, like vignette's, offer colorful glimpses into where your heart travels with your talented pen. Well written! Rock the Casbah LEH! r

Measured Moments (Poetry) - 10/19/2009 12:53:12 AM
This is the kind of memory that should be cherished.

San Francisco Beat (Poetry) - 10/19/2009 12:51:31 AM
Reminds me of the poets in berets and black turtlenecks I watched on television and in movies.

San Francisco Beat (Poetry) - 10/18/2009 8:57:30 PM
And there are many beats aren't there? Be always safe, Karen

San Francisco Beat (Poetry) - 10/18/2009 3:29:46 PM
As I recall, Leslie, San Francisco has many sides, and your great talent captures the beat that was Ginsburg and Kerouac and friends. -gene

San Francisco Beat (Poetry) - 10/18/2009 1:45:06 PM
A generation in good company, Leslie. Be sure to wear some flowers in your hair to look as good as this poetry...it's classic, it's you, a poet with a style all of your own...I've been reading many of your poems and they are originally composed with many themes that accentuate landscape, people, places, and spiritual textures. Many should take interest in your work...and congratulations on your literary accomplishments...be well. Sage

grand mal (Poetry) - 10/17/2009 8:50:29 PM
synaptic splendor ...

grand mal (Poetry) - 10/17/2009 9:03:26 AM
YOUR IMAGERY ON A SAD OCCURENCE... IS DONE VERY WELL. THANKS FOR SHARING AND GOD BLESS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Bora Bora (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 5:36:10 PM
exceptional imagery that brings to life this Pacific setting ....

Measured Moments (Poetry) - 10/7/2009 12:12:34 AM
nicely done, leslie. embracing scorpio's full moon... carolyn

Measured Moments (Poetry) - 10/4/2009 7:39:04 PM
great continuity and direction ...

Measured Moments (Poetry) - 10/3/2009 2:34:50 PM
Beautifully conceptualized. One of the best I've read today. Blessings ... rlc

Measured Moments (Poetry) - 10/2/2009 1:02:37 PM
--the scent of sugar pine refined by our campfire, its smoke ascending precipitously toward jagged silhouettes of Sierra Nevada peaks --awaiting Great lines, Leslie. Makes me want to be there but I dare not intrude. -gene.

Bora Bora (Poetry) - 10/2/2009 10:58:50 AM
Rich in movement, texture and rhythm, this poem is one of the most artistically expressed that I've read since joining AD. It is filled with spirit and radiates outward warming and luring this reader in. I've read and re-read. Your opening stanza is terrific. Beautiful!

Passing Through... On the Way to Infinity (Poetry) - 9/21/2009 4:37:50 PM
Beautifully written. Flashes in time - years, even decades, recorded in and often remembered in only a moment. Entire lives - flashes in time - only moments to infinity. I relate to the idea of "passing through." Your last stanza is particularly wonderful to me not only in expression, but in consciousness.

Main Street Lullaby (Poetry) - 9/18/2009 8:15:15 AM
Leslie - Enjoyed your Main Street Lullaby, especially the vivid imagery and rhythm, these lines especially: In cadenced harmony tires roll over damp pavement crooning the lullaby of Main Street and the vivid colors of: The Rock Man reaches for rose quartz and listens to one more story while tangerine mist blankets Main Street - David

Bora Bora (Poetry) - 9/17/2009 12:51:32 PM
Oh my, this is great writing..stay safe and well...Hugss

Bora Bora (Poetry) - 9/15/2009 8:14:31 PM
Leslie, during the war of my youth I "visited" many Pacific Isles, but always managed to miss the one I wanted to see. Thank you for this lovely poem which takes at last me to the Bora Bora of my early imaginings. Thank you... -gene.

Bora Bora (Poetry) - 9/15/2009 5:37:16 PM
Leslie, Intense images, excellent choice of language and absolutely the right atmosphere, rich and exotic. John

Passing Through... On the Way to Infinity (Poetry) - 8/24/2009 2:13:08 PM
Leslie, this is poetry as it should be writ. The road to Infinity in three marvelously fresh stanzas. If this hasn't been published, I hope you'll see to it soon. The New Yorker springs to mind. -gene.

Passing Through... On the Way to Infinity (Poetry) - 8/23/2009 8:51:14 PM
Love your style, really original, this is excellent writing.

Passing Through... On the Way to Infinity (Poetry) - 8/23/2009 11:18:37 AM
...IF WE COULD ONLY KEEP THAT IN MIND...WE ARE ONLY ON A 'PILGRIMAGE' PASSING THROUGH...ON OUR WAY TO....FOREVER. GREAT WRITE WITH STRONG PHRASES AND GOOD IMAGERY. THANKS FOR SHARING AND GOD BLESS YOU. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Main Street Lullaby (Poetry) - 8/12/2009 7:44:49 PM
How colorfully splendid a piece this is... Be always safe, Karen

Main Street Lullaby (Poetry) - 8/12/2009 4:06:51 PM
Superb writing, Leslie. Notably... In cadenced harmony tires roll over damp pavement crooning the lullaby of Main Street -gene.

Today, a Son of Africa (Poetry) - 8/12/2009 3:54:02 PM
Yes indeed, Leslie. Auspicious. -gene.

Main Street Lullaby (Poetry) - 8/12/2009 12:24:08 PM
AWESOME IMAGERY IN THIS WORK THAT SUPPORTS ITS THEME SOLIDLY. THANKS FOR SHARING AND BLESSINGS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Pantoum: Cloud wisps (Poetry) - 7/21/2009 9:41:46 PM
Great poem,I am looking forward to reading the next poem,take care EDWIN

My Sister (Poetry) - 7/21/2009 9:40:40 PM
Excellent and beautiful poem,Welcome to the den :-),take care EDWIN

My Sister (Poetry) - 7/19/2009 8:32:22 AM
DEEP EMOTIONS ARE EVIDENT IN THIS WRITE IN WHICH ONES OBSERVANCE OF A FRIENDS DIMINISHED COGNITIVE SILLS IS MET WITH SORROW BUT A DETERMINATION TO CONTINUE BEING A FRIEND TIL THE END. VERY WELL DONE! THANKS FOR SHARING AND BLESSINGS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

My Sister (Poetry) - 7/18/2009 1:30:19 PM
What a wonderful writer you are, Leslie. I'm swept up in the skill in which you craft these thoughts to your free spirit sister, culminating beautifully in in the closing line. -gene.

Pantoum: Cloud wisps (Poetry) - 7/18/2009 1:20:58 PM
I'm happy to inform you, Leslie, that I like what I read here. The surf sings. -gene.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.