AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Mary Deal, iGerald Grantham, iJennifer Miller, iPeter Oszmann, iKH LeMoyne, iMichael Csizmadia, iPeter Egan, i
 
Home > Nicholas Samuel Stember
 

Recent Reviews for Nicholas Samuel Stember


Tabloid Purposes (Book) - 11/4/2004 1:56:28 AM
Each story in this anthology has their nasty little personality and I will say it like that because each horror author brought their scariest little kick to the head with a steel toed boot, and the Sci-Fi authors even got into the act. Stember proved he could scare with the rest of them when he wrote the story "The Third Rule" and thank you Nick for giving me the motivation to make this anthology a reality. Each author involved is at the top of their game and expect bigger things from each author involved with it. Hasan Abood and Nicholas Mounts came on this anthology fresh from Reality Check; their stories "A Perfect Shot" and "Me, Myself, and Insanity" create a dark landscape in the anthology but it is hard to tell which writer was the tone setter for this anthology. I wanted stories that I will enjoy reading and proud to own a copy of this anthology in my collection of horror and sci-fi books. Each writer proved they are in it for the long haul when they wrote the stories; the power in the anthology is one that makes it the definate hard horror anthology. I wanted to make this thing one that a person will own if they own a copy of Bone Chills by Terry Lloyd Vinson or Reality Check.

Tabloid Purposes (Book) - 10/30/2004 11:33:26 AM
sounds like a great read, nick! thanks and congrats! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :D

Tabloid Purposes (Book) - 10/30/2004 12:27:13 AM
It's a great Horror Anthology. Pacoine did a fabulous job selecting stories from a dark side. Excellect read!

Twilight (Book) - 9/14/2004 2:47:38 AM
This is one book that I have to put on my reading list. I have been meaning to get a copy now for awhile but with the funds at the moment I am going to have to wait until next month. This does have an Outer Limits Vibe and in fact would make a good movie; you should seriously write this into a screenplay. It would make a killer movie.

Twilight (Book) - 7/9/2003 2:38:00 PM
Congrats on getting your book published! Sounds really interesting! Thanks for the excerpt... ;) Warm Love *Brittany Renee*

Without a Cause (Short Story) - 1/29/2013 5:03:38 AM
Nice job ... I enjoyed it more than I expected to ... thanks.

The Third Rule (Short Story) - 6/19/2007 11:44:16 PM
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

Too Many Elves (Short Story) - 9/30/2006 6:10:40 PM
Very good. A fantasy about a fantasy game. No wonder it was accepted. Good writing. I'll be back to read more. And I see Nick P. enjoyed it, too. He's a good judge, but then I'm prejudiced. JohnB

The Third Rule (Short Story) - 1/23/2006 7:46:42 PM
B R R R R R R !

Cyberlink (Short Story) - 5/31/2004 7:52:06 AM
This story I recommend for those who read Asimov, really imaginative story. I am a sucker for a good Science Fiction story and as I said in your other reviews. Your strength in your talent is being a writer that is quite well rounded. The other writer I can say this of is Steven Shrewsbury. You two should get together and cowrite a story together.          It took me a while to navagate the site itself but when I found the story it was well worth the wait. It shows you were at this for quite some time, and have the talents to take the Sci-Fi genre to places that no other writer can really match. I highly recommend this story for those who are looking for smart Science Fiction. I hope the agents are reading this review because they definately don't even know what they are missing here.

To Quell a Phoenix (Short Story) - 5/24/2004 8:58:03 PM
Interesting story. I've written a few of sci fi poems that come at it from that angle, and even had a few of them published.

To Quell a Phoenix (Short Story) - 5/16/2004 2:04:11 PM
You got yourself quite the imagination when it comes to writing Sci-Fi; and this story is well written on that field. I can see where you are going to be an influence in the near future. I am doing a recommendation of this one on my blog. Keep cranking them out, you have a gift for the imagination and this is a walk into the depths of that imagination. I came into reading this one after reading some of his horror stories, highly recommended. A writer that is related in style to his will be the writer, Joni Latham. I have grown to have a strong correspondence with both writers and grown to have a respect for their talents in horror and Sci-Fi. You new guys just getting into writing the genre -- read the story "The Third Rule" because that is basically shows them how its done.

The Crimson Fox and the Narcissus Emerald (Short Story) - 5/15/2004 8:52:18 PM
It shows in your writing that you have been at this for a while, I was only 16 when this one was first written or published. I am impressed by your well rounded talents. You put a lot of your imagination in your writings, I saw this with your horror works and now I see it here. This one has a Outer Limits vibe going here. You are going to influence a lot of younger writers when they get older; this is classic writing here, don't change a thing it will stand the test of time (Joseph Armstead said this of me when he commented on Among Shadows.) I sent out "The Fandom Writer" for the contest. This story and "The Third Rule" are basically two of the most important stories of your career.

Blood From a Stone (Short Story) - 5/15/2004 8:29:08 PM
I am envyous of your talents of writing Science Fiction. I am surprised you haven't sent this one to Asimov Science Fiction Magazine. This is highly recommended for those who like to read Science Fiction. You have a real talent for writing Science Fiction as well as when it comes to writing horror. I have the roots to write Science Fiction but seems that horror is second nature for me.

and the home of the brave (Short Story) - 4/11/2004 11:14:47 PM
Your work reminds so much of Rod Serling it is scary.         This is a strong write, and one that will stand the test of time. I wish I wrote within the Sci-Fi genre but I don't have the technical knowledge to write a good one though. I agree with Linda here, this work is quite engaging and creates a dark addiction.

Too Many Elves (Short Story) - 4/11/2004 10:55:22 PM
That sounds cool. The story had a good flow to it, I like the title. Reminds me of some of the people who read my work and asked me if I played rpg's but told them I don't because it would take the effectiveness away from what I did. That one was nicely done and very creative.

Too Many Elves (Short Story) - 4/1/2004 5:45:44 AM
Not bad, not bad at all. I knew what the end of the story was going to be somewhere in the middle, but that didn't take away from a story that flowed pretty well.

The Third Rule (Short Story) - 2/29/2004 2:59:42 AM
Holy f-ck this one is one of those that got me, you have a really disturbing imagination. Coming from me that says a lot because I penned a lot of really sick horror stories on here. You can say I could almost get Terry [Vinson] puking. I am glad I did not eat anything when I was reading this because I would of thrown up all over my keyboard.

and the home of the brave (Short Story) - 8/30/2003 11:24:10 AM
Hi Nicholas, Ironically I turned off the news a short while ago with a "war scene" going on behind the newscasters. Eerie. Good story, it's very thought provoking. Something perhaps many others should read. Erin

and the home of the brave (Short Story) - 7/29/2003 12:55:51 PM
Hi: I've checked out your new book info & a few of your short stories. You're a very engaging writer. Even though I'm not a real sci-fi enthusiast, I enjoyed your stories. Good work!

The Race (Short Story) - 4/1/2003 3:35:19 PM
interesting

Just Once In Twelve Hundred Years (Short Story) - 3/15/2003 11:16:21 AM
This one is a strong write by far, very original piece. I can see a bit of a Brian Lumley feel with this one.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.