AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Sharon Burton, iDonna Lynch, iStephen Lodge, iBurton Pines, iGlen Schulz, iJean-Pierre Gregoire, iBonnie Milani, i
 
Home > Stuart Ross McCallum
 

Recent Reviews for Stuart Ross McCallum


Beyond my Control - Epilepsy, Seizure Surgery & Beyond (Book) - 12/12/2009 5:11:18 AM
Epilepsy is a condition I've read personal accounts of in the past, most of which have been vague or difficult to fully grasp; it seems there are few more difficult topics to (successfully) communicate than a neurological disorder and many personal a...more Epilepsy is a condition I've read personal accounts of in the past, most of which have been vague or difficult to fully grasp; it seems there are few more difficult topics to (successfully) communicate than a neurological disorder and many personal accounts end up vague or overly-clinical. This is why Stuart McCallum's book is so incredible. While reading Beyond My Control, I felt the transcendence of a good book--it was as though I entered another world, a world in which I felt I understood what it was like to be at the mercy of this confounding neurological disorder. Stuart McCallum vividly recalls his life before his diagnosis and the confusion of Epilepsy's onset, but he doesn't cower. In fact, Stuart doesn't spend his pages wallowing in self-pity or asking "why me?" but instead inspires his readers with his courage and strength. This is a story about one man's battle with Epilepsy, but it is a story for anyone who knows what it feels like to have life uprooted in an instant, who know the shock and helpless feeling of entering the unknown, but who refuse to be defeated by it.

Beyond my Control - Epilepsy, Seizure Surgery & Beyond (Book) - 8/15/2009 7:39:58 AM
In his autobiography, Beyond My Control, Stuart Ross McCallum reveals his life by placing it out in the open for the world to view. The good. the bad, and the experiences that he has no recollection of due to his seizures are written in a manner that draws the reader into his world. That world was often frightening, not only to himself, but to those closest to him. Those same people would relay the often violent details of the episodes to him after each seizure had passed, yet they remained loyally by his side. With a family and staff that loved and supported him, he was able to maintain a lucrative business in spite of the physical discomfort, and hardships he endured. This reader found the book captivating inasmuch as it was enlightening, yet written on a level that wasn't geared exclusively toward the medical community. That gave it a much more personal touch, making it very relatable to people that have observed others with physical, or medical conditions that are not easily controlled. Clearly, Mr. McCallum is not the type of person to sit back and feel sorry for himself. He aggressively sought medical attention to attempt to control a condition which for many years appeared to be out of the realm of possibility. This survivor spirit ultimately led to making the decision of a lifetime, in spite of not so promising odds. By candidly sharing his experiences, along with giving tribute to those instrumental in his survival and recovery from delicate brain surgery, Stuart Ross McCallum has endeared himself to this reader. His thoughtfulness to others, his love of family and friends, his consideration to customers, and staff illustrates that in the end, instead of seizures controlling him, he seized control. I highly recommend the book Beyond My Control by Stuart Ross McCallum.

Beyond my Control - Epilepsy, Seizure Surgery & Beyond (Book) - 5/5/2009 10:04:29 PM
Mate I am looking forward to reviewing your book, but I can already see that I am in for a great experience, fantastic reviews mate & well deserved. To quote that famous line "I'll be back" Your Aussie mate Dave.

Beyond my Control - Epilepsy, Seizure Surgery & Beyond (Book) - 5/5/2009 2:36:59 PM
I originally purchased “Beyond My Control,” by Stuart “Ross” McCallum, thinking it would be a casual, yet interesting read. However, once I started reading the first chapter, I literally could not put it down until I had finished the book. Although the book is a biographical, and at times harrowing tale, of Ross’ struggles to find normalcy within an anomalous world of coping with epilepsy...the story flows with the feeling of a well-organized novel, rather than a dry, retelling of factual events. Upon finishing his story, the realization that Ross survived his life-struggling ordeal (and lived to write about his experiences in an intellectual, often humorous manner)…is a miracle in itself. His story is more than an account of how Ross and his family, friends, and co-workers dealt with his epileptic episodes; it is also a fascinating look into the often misunderstood side-effects of the illness. Ross’ story is filled with heartache and hilarity; written in an educational and entertaining manner. “Beyond My Control” is a must-read, not just for the informative aspects of coping with a disabling illness, but more importantly for the pure “reading enjoyment” of his story.

Beyond my Control - Epilepsy, Seizure Surgery & Beyond (Book) - 1/10/2009 11:07:13 AM
"Beyond My Control" describes the harrowing journey that you and your loved ones have been living far too long! The amazing way that the author used humor and downright "in your face" honesty in dealing with this horrendous experience...well, it's miraculous, uplifting, and filled with hope for those who are living similarly. This book assisted me in a better understanding of a disease that I was not familiar with; nor did I want to be! Fear of someone with Epilepsy was my original instinct, and shame hits me now; that Fear of the Unknown can turn us into almost uncaring humans. What a torture this must have been for Stuart, as well as his beloved wife and loved ones. Thankfully, the surgery has been successful; and thankfully...this book will be an enlightenment to others such as myself...who are ignorant to better understanding of the unknown. I hope that this book becomes available to many who are like me..so that we too can be better prepared to assist and not hide from those who suffer with this illness. Be proud Stuart, because unveiling this personal story does truly show the strength you had to travel this journey from darkness into the light! You have used your story to heal and to bring hope, where others have chosen to remain in pain and darkness! I will treasure you as a friend and inspiration. Linda Law

Beyond my Control - Epilepsy, Seizure Surgery & Beyond (Book) - 8/25/2008 3:33:01 PM
I just purchased your book! You have been so supportive to me and I have a throat disease and know what it's like to deal with illness that is beyond your control. Stuart you are my champion!

Beyond my Control - Epilepsy, Seizure Surgery & Beyond (Book) - 8/22/2008 5:43:05 AM
Stuart: This is so real. A lot of people has this disease. I'm glad you have taken steps to have it under control. A book with true lie experience is a gem! Sandie May Angel :o)

Beyond my Control - Epilepsy, Seizure Surgery & Beyond (Book) - 8/9/2008 5:44:45 PM
Wow! What a heart wrenching story....Your title was a magnificent choice...I have found in my own healing process, that one of the things that has helped me most is that there are so many others out there with life's struggles and hurdles....so many more life threatining than my own...I love to read, respond and actively help others..in doing so I am healing....Thank you for your story...God bless you and your family Sophia

Hallucinations - A True Story (Short Story) - 9/9/2009 12:56:43 AM
Stuart, you certainly have some strange memories to look back on. I think it is great that you can share them with your Internet friends. I'm glad you recovered as well as you did, and hope you are now enjoying a really good life. Your friend, Carole

TEMPORAL LOBE EPILEPSY and the PARANORMAL (Short Story) - 9/5/2009 11:16:01 PM
Thank you for sharing another aspect of TLE. Your ability to write in a style that opens up your world to others is astounding. Your North Melbourne buddy, Kathy

Hallucinations - A True Story (Short Story) - 9/1/2009 3:41:14 PM
reading this excerpt brought me back to the first time I read your heart rending story. I felt my heart pounding even though I knew the out come. You have a knack for drawing the reader into your world to share the experience. Your North Melbourne friend, Kathy

Hallucinations - A True Story (Short Story) - 8/30/2009 2:00:25 AM
well done

Hallucinations - A True Story (Short Story) - 8/29/2009 3:13:50 AM
Your stories should be published in all medical magazines. Thank You for sharing this precious informative and emotional story. My respect and gratitude, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

TEMPORAL LOBE EPILEPSY and the PARANORMAL (Short Story) - 4/11/2009 7:27:56 AM
You have me intrigued Stuart. Would love to chat to you about this some time.. Ty and Take care, Ch'erie

A Wonderful Story about a Book (Short Story) - 1/30/2009 8:10:53 AM
I would like very much to ask both you and Carol if I can use this story as well...it is what I call an Extraordinary Visit...what my books are all about...and I can certainly see where this story can be an awesome, inspiring one that can assist another to read the books (yours and Carol's and many others from writers on AD) that come from true life experiences. Your book, and Carol's "It's OK Eli" are told in such down to earth, simple yet uplifting ways that they are exactly what those who can't begin to understand that their pain can be taken to another, less emotionally draining level if they are better informed. I love this story that Carol shared...it is what we as decent human beings are supposed to do....yet many don't! You and Carol are blessings in my life and I am so thankful that I read the books that each of you have written...I wish others would invest in them as well! For themselves...as a gift.... hugs, lindalaw

A Wonderful Story about a Book (Short Story) - 1/30/2009 6:31:37 AM
Stuart, I know I sent these words to you....and you asked if you could share them and I agreed. I just wanted to let you know how much power there are in books and words. I knew after reading your true story, this book would help many. I was blessed to see and feel that healing power when I encountered that very young, scared girl. I am positive she will gain strength to battle, just as you did. Thank you Stuart-- as your book allowed me a blessing! CarolHawks

TEMPORAL LOBE EPILEPSY and the PARANORMAL (Short Story) - 1/28/2009 6:56:00 AM
Years past, TLE in persons was mis-diagnosed as "mental illness" Your tremendous courage in your story will help so many understand they have options...and to battle the disorder! Thank you for continuing to educate those with and without this thing that is..Beyond their control! CarolHawks

Anorexia Nervosa - Control over your body & mind (Article) - 8/26/2009 3:01:32 PM
G'day mate, it is amazing really how one affliction can trigger another at the same time, loved your book mate & a good friend is reading it now. Dave.

Beyond my Control - Prologue (Article) - 5/28/2009 8:06:55 PM
I enjoy all of your work! "Beyond My Control" should be within all of our reach. Just stopping by to see your latest, bro.

BEYOND my CONTROL - One Man's Struggle with Epilepsy, Seizure Surgery & Bey (Article) - 1/29/2009 5:45:19 PM
Truly a story for all. Educational, personal and well written. The best part....a love story within the book of Stuarts lovely wife Lisa, and her battle to save him. I have read this book twice, and within his struggles, he manages some humor. I recommend this to any person in need of an adjustment in their lives concerning their own struggles. He truly battled..and WON!

BEYOND my CONTROL - One Man's Struggle with Epilepsy, Seizure Surgery & Bey (Article) - 1/29/2009 9:11:46 AM
I read this book, and I can tell anyone first hand...it is a book that you don't want to put down. If you do or do not know anything about this illness, the reader will be awakened (in private) to answers that they never would have posed in public. It brought me understanding and also enlightened me to the pain and suffering that you and your loved ones endure, and how love can strengthen you through that journey. I hope others will read this book..it is an education for sure; yet it is a story of love, romance, finances, family, and mystery.... you are a hero... hugs, lindalaw

Beyond my Control - Prologue (Article) - 11/14/2008 4:26:10 AM
You took the chance, your desperation and pride gave you strength, and you won! God returned you to your family and your book is a tribute to healing. You infused humor in your story and that tells of your attitudes in life-even while suffering. Many will benefit from your story and gain the possible strength needed to help themselves. I just hope they too have a wonderful feisty lady such as your Lisa to help them. Got a photo of you in your gown? LOL! CarolHawks

Beyond my Control - Prologue (Article) - 11/12/2008 7:42:06 PM
Stuart, thank goodness you took this journey and have come through to have a more rewarding life...You have touched the hand of God, and He knew you were still needed here...to share your story with others...to encourage and inspire. lindalaw

Beyond my Control - Prologue (Article) - 11/12/2008 7:01:49 PM
I, for one am so glad you took that brave & now lasting step, otherwise I would not be communicating this wonderful writer I now class as a friend. Well done on your achievments mate. Dave.

Searching For a Diagnosis..... (Article) - 11/3/2008 1:27:18 PM
This is one small chapter of your wonderful book. Sounds normal-give a depressed patient tons of medications. Just what they need, easy access to overdose with. Blame everything unexplainable on---Depression! What a wonderful book of your battles, I will read it again. CarolHawks

Searching For a Diagnosis..... (Article) - 11/2/2008 7:15:36 PM
well done

Everyone needs Help & Reassurance sometimes in their lives (Article) - 10/31/2008 11:28:00 AM
As always you are so thoughtful. I really appreciate your info and know that others do too.. Thank you, lindalaw

Everyone needs Help & Reassurance sometimes in their lives (Article) - 10/31/2008 4:24:17 AM
Thank you Stuart for the link. You are always thinking of others!

Rovella Starr By Carol Denise Mitchell (Article) - 10/14/2008 2:48:46 AM
well done

Don't hide from Depression - Help is Close (Article) - 8/8/2008 7:54:18 AM
You are write, depression needs help. And meds can help. And you need your family, not withdrawing from them. Your wife was absolutely right to get you to get help. Some take too long and suffer unnecessarily. I am sure you realize this. Noone should be ashamed of depression, and help is available when needed. Some don't realize that help is needed and struggle on. We got help and are feeling better for it. And our families live better lives with us. My hubby Tom, the 2nd one died and now I struggle with grief and depression can come daily, but the grief is more overpowering right now with me than depression. I try to keep busy, but was told by my doctor to take all the time to grieve as you want and don't let anyone tell you differently. Each has their own time. You did not go through this, it is so hard for me still a year after. I just cannot seem to let him go.

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 10/14/2012 9:48:08 AM
Stuart, excellent! This is precisely the poem I needed to read today. Thank you for posting it a few years ago. ~ Sara

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 7/26/2010 1:41:26 AM
Very well expressed, Stuart

Beyond my Control - A Seizure is Close - (IT) (Poetry) - 2/10/2010 9:27:00 PM
Hey Stuart. Reading this poem was something. I think in these few short lines you've spoken volumes to what it feels to be with no control of You! That's some feeling. Many Blessings Friend!

Denial - Refusing to face the unpleasant truth (Poetry) - 1/7/2010 4:14:44 AM
hang in there 'change your environment' !

Stop, Stop, Stop, Your time is not up (Poetry) - 12/13/2009 8:04:16 PM
This is a wonderful heartfelt & true to life poem Stuart, you covered your demons well, a great poem, loved reading it again & again.

Depression Strikes A Merciless Blow (Poetry) - 10/27/2009 7:05:03 PM
Ross, You hang in there. I will always support your unique cause! Your loving sister, Carol Denise

Beyond my Control - A Seizure is Close - (IT) (Poetry) - 10/20/2009 12:46:02 PM
Thanks for the insight into your disorder. Never heard it described in the first person before. Scary. Maybe you could get one of those trained seizure sniffing dogs to give you some warning, but I'm guessing you've probably considered every conceivable option already. Patrick

Beyond my Control - A Seizure is Close - (IT) (Poetry) - 9/6/2009 10:28:07 AM
Stuart, I, too, have seizure disorders, and understand those feelings all too well. When I first started writing, out of sheer frustration, I wrote "The Attack", it's no where near as good as yours but I think we're saying the same thing, and no one will ever understand that hasn't gone through it. This sent chills down my spine and tears from memory. God Bless You. A friend, Mary

Denial - Refusing to face the unpleasant truth (Poetry) - 8/29/2009 9:27:17 PM
Here's hoping your struggle is behind you. Patrick

Stop, Stop, Stop, Your time is not up (Poetry) - 8/25/2009 3:05:42 AM
I liked this one in particular: Stop,Stop,Stop Your Time is Not Up, probably because I am old fashioned enough to like poetry that ryhmes. Truly, thought Stuart, I cannot imagine what it must have been like to live in your shoes. I am so glad they put you right. May you have many more healthy years to make up for the times you missed.

Beyond my Control - A Seizure is Close - (IT) (Poetry) - 7/1/2009 1:14:11 AM
your words pour freely from your head, heart and hand. well done my friend down under. Hugs, Kathy

Beyond my Control - A Seizure is Close - (IT) (Poetry) - 5/9/2009 8:24:51 PM
Thank you for sharing this poem. A friend of mine always tells me about her daughter-in-law's seizures. She had surgery for a brain tumor. This poem gives me insight on how the daughter-in-law must feel. I'm saddened by the idea of you feeling as though you need to apologize. Keep strong:) Hugs, Sheila

Pride & Depression----A Lethal Cocktail (Poetry) - 5/8/2009 9:01:30 AM
Heartfelt poem! You have described depression very eloquently.

Depression Strikes A Merciless Blow (Poetry) - 5/8/2009 9:00:08 AM
Very nicely penned. I have written quite a lot of poetry on this subject. My thirty-six year old daughter has suffered with depression for too many years now, and I felt every word of your poem. It's not just the one depressed who suffers from this terrible affliction. Good job.

Stop, Stop, Stop, Your time is not up (Poetry) - 4/20/2009 3:01:22 AM
Stuart, this poem about depression is eye opening not only for the writer, but for the reader. Hopefully it inspires one to search for purpose and meaning to go on. I know it did for me. Your friend, Kathy

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 4/13/2009 3:23:33 AM
Hello Stuart. Nice to see you here, I know you from Goodreads. Your poem hits the nail on the head as I am a sufferer of depressive anxiety disorder. I could so relate to your words. Your friend, Kathy

Please forgive me..... (Poetry) - 3/21/2009 7:30:42 AM
Wow, Stuart Ross McCallum. Where have you been writing at around here? I have missed your powerful verses somehow. This one strikes right between the eyes to those of who lived to regret the day, we ever thought the grass was greener on the other side. Excellent strong voice in your message. Photo is earnest looking and fits the words you wrote well. Hope to hear more from you.

Please Don't Be A Closed Book (Poetry) - 3/4/2009 5:50:39 AM
Amen!

Please forgive me..... (Poetry) - 2/28/2009 4:50:56 AM
I liked the poem Stuart! What would life be like if we couldn't forgive. Randy

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 2/8/2009 5:00:43 PM
We sometimes wear that "mask" to cover-up our true emotions when we are hurting so deeply, and, sadly, a lot of people never reach out for help when they are most desperate. I think that is why it is important for us (humanity) to be kind to one another as we never know what the other person is enduring or how they are struggling. Hope ... without it, there is nothing. Very emotive piece, Stuart. My heart and prayers are with you all in Australia today. ~Elizabeth

Depression Strikes A Merciless Blow (Poetry) - 1/25/2009 2:18:05 PM
Outstanding message in a wise poetic task performed. I salute You, Poet. In respect, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 1/25/2009 2:11:05 PM
Sublime message to inspire and guide... A poetic ambrosia. In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Please Don't Be A Closed Book (Poetry) - 1/25/2009 2:00:30 PM
Wise ponderings and message. Keep Your pen busy. In respect, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Beyond my Control - A Seizure is Close - (IT) (Poetry) - 1/24/2009 4:13:55 AM
A clear depicting of an epileptic seizure through this outstanding composition, "Beyond my Control - A Seizure is Close - (IT)". I salute You, Poet. In respect, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Beyond my Control - A Seizure is Close - (IT) (Poetry) - 12/29/2008 2:44:28 PM
Dear Friend, We all have Seizures in our lives. Seizures just like those beyond your control inflict us all. A seizure could be not being able to pay your bills; or domestic or child abuse. You are not alone in your grief and your pain. Others who care about you are right there with you. Hang in there Stuart. The world would be under seizure without you!

Beyond my Control - A Seizure is Close - (IT) (Poetry) - 12/12/2008 10:19:22 AM
Hello Stuart, Yes, thanks for this offering - well done!! Best regards, Lance

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 12/8/2008 11:24:16 AM
Hello Stuart, 'Inspirationally' perfect!! Best regards, Lance

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 12/8/2008 1:33:40 AM
We not only deserve to be happy ! It's our God given right. Take control. It's all good. Tony

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 11/15/2008 4:57:07 PM
Very inspiring write, Stuart. I am not sleeping too well, but I use these waking hours to meditate and read uplifting books. I find peace and courage from my bible, I pray and talk to God, then I can rest. Thanks for sharing this, Stuart!

Pride & Depression----A Lethal Cocktail (Poetry) - 11/7/2008 3:45:55 AM
Thank you Stuart as you know Ron from my book. Thank you each one for your kind responses to this writing. I enjoy AD and the people here are tremendously kind, talented and caring towards everyone. Thank you for remembering a proud Cherokee, Ron 3Hawks Surber. Your AD friend, CarolHawks

Pride & Depression----A Lethal Cocktail (Poetry) - 11/6/2008 8:46:51 PM
This is true for other conditions that are more or less invisible. I can easily see my own attitude towards fibromyalgia. Yes, we need to speak, but fear of rejection and cruelty is an important aspect. So we must fight against ignorance too. Generously written. Axilea

Pride & Depression----A Lethal Cocktail (Poetry) - 11/6/2008 4:45:55 PM
Oh Stuart, false pride can be such a dangerous aspect and then to try to wash the pain away with alcohol is such a sad shame. God bless your friend and may she find solace in understanding, in my thoughts and prayers... Be always safe, Karen

Pride & Depression----A Lethal Cocktail (Poetry) - 11/6/2008 2:11:22 PM
Wonderful writing mate, & so true, how many of us (especially males) are guilty of saying "it will be OK" instead of seeking help, you risk your life all because of pride. I admit I used to & to a very small extent still do. Don't be afraid to ask! Great work Stuart mate. Dave.

Pride & Depression----A Lethal Cocktail (Poetry) - 11/6/2008 1:39:46 PM
Beautifully worded and expressed, a true LOVE OFFERING from a gentle and caring soul. Miss Carol is a beautiful Lady and I feel honored to call her friend. HUGS! SC

Pride & Depression----A Lethal Cocktail (Poetry) - 11/6/2008 1:02:52 PM
Stuart, this is a beautifully written account of depression,and I know it will help others,who have this condition. Eileen

Pride & Depression----A Lethal Cocktail (Poetry) - 11/6/2008 11:52:55 AM
Oh my dear friend Stuart... this is so lovely... and... you know how I love Carol too... She is a special soul who has endured much, yet always finds ways to encourage and uplift others... she is one of those blessings that God sent me thru this wonderful venue...AD... Stuart, plz keep writing about this horror DEPRESSION...we all have bouts with it...admitted or not...and many of us have it so severe that it's a daily battle to stay afloat... I am one who strongly believes that PRide cannot be used to camouflage the pain.. others see it anyway, so we fool no one but ourselves...and in the process deprive ourselves of some type of healing so we can lead active and good lives... :-) Eli and Ron are Carol's gifts and blessings ... and often they are in disguise... We know that don't we? God bless you both. lindalaw

Pride & Depression----A Lethal Cocktail (Poetry) - 11/6/2008 5:44:52 AM
good one

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 11/4/2008 10:05:57 PM
A warm and wonderful poem that uplifts the spirit. I too am familiar with pain emotional and otherwise;-) Thank you for sharing! Eileen

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 10/27/2008 7:35:48 PM
Thank you, thank you Stuart as out of the ashes life does begin anew and your offering of hope is so enlightening... Be always safe, Karen

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 10/27/2008 2:07:21 PM
G'day Stuart, this is a beautifuly written poem, love the rhyming pattern but most of all love the meaning that comes within. Wonderful mate. Dave.

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 10/27/2008 2:59:51 AM
Hi Stuart,this is a well written poem.Your poetry are always full of advice that is helpful and informative where people can disgest it in their souls to become better human beings.I remember when I read this poem by Slyvia Plath in high school and she talked about people wearing masks to cover up what they are feeling.Its important that people have someone in their lives whether its a friend or a family member to talk to about our problems.All of us need sunshine and the last thing people need or want to hear is people judging them for their problems.All of us deserve to be happy like you said and have much needed positive guidance to make through the hardships of life.Your poetry is therarpy to anyone that is feeling sad and down.You have a beautiful soul and its always a pleasure reading your poems.take care Edwin

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 10/27/2008 2:57:52 AM
Wonderful words written for others-- from a wonderful caring person. You have shared once again, a heartfelt writing. Thank you Stuart, CarolHawks

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 10/26/2008 3:36:40 PM
I one time about 15 or so years ago got very close to crossing that "invisible line", would have to, but someone kinda caught me, so now I have been on Zoloft ever since and I seem to stay mellow even when I am working only part time and looking at a bleak, moneyless, foodless future...something will work out on this end, hope things are okay down under too...Ed

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 10/26/2008 10:37:15 AM
Oh my,wonderful writing,I really like how you did this sweet man....outstanding....be well and always safe...Hugs

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 10/26/2008 7:59:08 AM
Dear Stuart: Thank you for such a timely write! You must have read my mind. I needed this so much!!! Hugs to you, Sandie Angel :o(

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 10/26/2008 6:44:02 AM
Stuart, you seem to reach into my deepest thoughts...but I suppose it's because we've both been there before... Thank you for the calming words... I really needed them today... hugs and love always, lindalaw

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 10/26/2008 5:50:22 AM
Thanks you for those encouraging beautiful lines. Your poem made my day. Ingeborg

When we are Hurting inside--emotional pain (Poetry) - 10/26/2008 3:59:01 AM
Nice, very nice!!!!!!!!! I LIKE IT!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Denial - Refusing to face the unpleasant truth (Poetry) - 10/9/2008 10:18:05 AM
You are doing a good service Stuart. Trust me, your words are making a difference in people's lives. All the best. ~ Sara

Denial - Refusing to face the unpleasant truth (Poetry) - 10/1/2008 5:11:53 PM
Stuart, You are not alone. Sometimes all of us wealthy, rich poor or not have to face the down side of life. That affliction is an essential part of life. Your poetry moved me because I read your book a second time and realized; truly that if it's not one thing it will certainly be another. We are survivors.

Please Don't Be A Closed Book (Poetry) - 10/1/2008 12:42:28 PM
Bravo, for your openness on this subject. Solitude is a symptom, one we need to break free of. Thanks for a great write!

Denial - Refusing to face the unpleasant truth (Poetry) - 10/1/2008 12:40:17 PM
Wow, Stuart, dido! I,too, suffer from depression, and newly rising from it's darkness. Bless you for naming it for what it is. It's like waking from a long nightmare, but now we see the light! don't you just fell so alive now? I do! Bless you, Stuart, and everyone who has been down this dark road. Great messege in this. Thanks for sharing!

Denial - Refusing to face the unpleasant truth (Poetry) - 9/30/2008 6:27:15 PM
I have suffered from depression; not a fun place to be. However, I've learned to deal with it by writing, and by relying on the Lord, counting the many blessings I have in comparison to a lot of other people. All of a sudden, my life doesn't look so bad!! Great write full of honesty and truth; well done, Stuart! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D Thanks for the review on my story; much appreciated! :D

Denial - Refusing to face the unpleasant truth (Poetry) - 9/29/2008 7:40:25 AM
Acceptance is the first step toward feeling better. An honest and well penned poem.

Denial - Refusing to face the unpleasant truth (Poetry) - 9/27/2008 5:53:28 PM
You deal with a most important topic within your verses, Stuart. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

Denial - Refusing to face the unpleasant truth (Poetry) - 9/27/2008 4:33:14 PM
Dear Stuart. I have been there, for me the 1st step was recognising and admitting. I was lucky to have family and friends pull me through. To this day I keep an eye on the triggers and talk about it. As you are aware, Australia has Beyond Blue and various other palces for help. I would like to take the time to thank the community leaders for recognsing depressioin is major concern and treatable, and the celebrites who donate their time to promote a wonderful cause. Take care Tony

Denial - Refusing to face the unpleasant truth (Poetry) - 9/25/2008 7:12:09 AM
Hi Stuart: Thank you for such a wonderful gem of a poem!!! I should save this one in the library. It speaks to me! Sandie Angel :o)

Denial - Refusing to face the unpleasant truth (Poetry) - 9/25/2008 4:09:25 AM
Oh my, this is wonderful writing..well done sweet man...be well and safe ..Hugsssss

Denial - Refusing to face the unpleasant truth (Poetry) - 9/24/2008 3:21:56 PM
Wow... sure do recognize some of those symptons, as I'm certain do others... Thankfully, many of us have found ways to deal with them...and I sure am glad you are getting thru those days too... lindalaw

Denial - Refusing to face the unpleasant truth (Poetry) - 9/24/2008 2:45:39 PM
You are a beautiful man Stuart with an open, honest heart. I am of the belief that we need to face our demons head on and recognize what is.... Be always safe, Karen

Denial - Refusing to face the unpleasant truth (Poetry) - 9/24/2008 2:36:16 PM
Wonderful writing mate, its so true one does not have to suffer alone, asking for help is like climbing a mountain, but once you make the decision & reach that peak the rewards are boundless, I know cause I went through & still a little sometimes with my darling wife. your mate Dave.

Denial - Refusing to face the unpleasant truth (Poetry) - 9/24/2008 10:32:54 AM
[in 2002 i went through an interferon induced depression ,but depression is depression i tired 3 anti -depressants befoe one worked it got me over the hump..hope your over the hump.....good luck stan

Denial - Refusing to face the unpleasant truth (Poetry) - 9/24/2008 8:02:25 AM
Glad you are winning Stuart....Write On

Denial - Refusing to face the unpleasant truth (Poetry) - 9/24/2008 4:38:01 AM
Hi Stuart,your poem speaks of wisedom that people should indeed take into consideration.The reason why some people are in denial because sadly people are very judgemental and they will look at a person in a different way where they see them as an "outcast" instead of helping them out.Its important that we help and care for them,but most importantly we should be good listeners.Being a good listener is more than just using your ears.Its about listening to your heart and being able to communicate with them on a spiritual,emotional and mental level.I just wish that people who are judgemental would open their minds and just accept people's problems instead of looking down at their noses at them as if they are not good enough.Maybe people wouldn't be in denial with their depression. Another reason why people are denial because they want to look "weak or vulnerable". Superman was weak when Lex Luthor gave him that kryptonite.It just makes people become more human which is something that people will respect a lot.That's my take on it.I enjoy reading this poem and your message,take good care of yourself

Please Don't Be A Closed Book (Poetry) - 9/23/2008 6:41:11 PM
You make some very valid points in these verses, Stuart. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

Depression Strikes A Merciless Blow (Poetry) - 9/23/2008 6:40:26 PM
I am familiar with what you write of here, Stuart. It is the reason why my mother chose to leave this world early on. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Depression Strikes A Merciless Blow (Poetry) - 9/18/2008 5:48:25 PM
Stuart, this is very poignant... yet it seems so sad when we cannot do anything to really help... guess as long as we listen to the signs...and give our support and caring...perhaps we can be there for one of God's children...??? nicely written...altho a very tough subject... lindalaw

Depression Strikes A Merciless Blow (Poetry) - 9/15/2008 8:07:24 PM
Yes, this is so true. I have had this happen with a friend I least expected, so we do have to keep our eyes open for any signs that may be there-thanks for writing this. The moth image is so effective, too.

Depression Strikes A Merciless Blow (Poetry) - 9/15/2008 8:06:09 PM
Apathetic, uncaring society doesn't give a rip: shame. May these compassionte lines reach out and save just one. Well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Depression Strikes A Merciless Blow (Poetry) - 9/15/2008 4:41:06 PM
There seems to be a high incidence among the youth of today, more so than in the past. I wonder if it is from all the tension and demands placed upon our children today. Wasn't it better when life was simple and children could just be children.... Be always safe, Karen

Depression Strikes A Merciless Blow (Poetry) - 9/15/2008 2:12:32 PM
Wonderful, thought provoking work here Stuart, everyone should keep an eye out for family & friends, well done mate. Dave.

Depression Strikes A Merciless Blow (Poetry) - 9/15/2008 10:22:44 AM
You are doing a good thing here Stuart. Keep getting the message out. Be well. ~ Sara

Depression Strikes A Merciless Blow (Poetry) - 9/15/2008 10:17:43 AM
Oh my,you are so sweet..I can feel your words...be well and safe always..Hugs

Depression Strikes A Merciless Blow (Poetry) - 9/15/2008 2:47:15 AM
Hi Stuart: You are very thoughtful. Sandie Angel :o) :o)

Depression Strikes A Merciless Blow (Poetry) - 9/15/2008 12:35:58 AM
Hey Stuart,its so important that people be there for their family and friends so that they can get the help that they desperately needs.Depression can be detected early if we do something about it now before it gets worse and I feel sorry for that young girl who mentioned before your poem.Thanks for the poem,take care Edwin

Depression Strikes A Merciless Blow (Poetry) - 9/15/2008 12:30:43 AM
Hello Stuart, Another intense piece from you - but this made me reflect deeply inside, and "deflect" my observations outside, to see the "signs" in other people who may be struggling with blows from life. Sadness and loneliness not dealt with at early stages grow into depression and giving a helping hand may "save" the person from the quicksand. Nice write Friend. Cynthia

Please Don't Be A Closed Book (Poetry) - 9/8/2008 12:17:15 PM
Yes, you are right, poetry frees the thoughts that sometimes weigh us down, and that can be dangerous for some. Thanks for this, there are many out there who need to remember this.

Please Don't Be A Closed Book (Poetry) - 9/7/2008 4:05:04 PM
Excellent advice, Stuart. I think though, people who might need the most help, haven't the will or the confidence to do as you suggest. You have to have hope, to show yourself; in the hope a hand will reach across space into yours. But the hopeless, they have no hope and they can't see their way there, so they never show themselves. ~ Sara

Please forgive me..... (Poetry) - 9/4/2008 9:04:35 PM
GREAT! BRAVO! I wrote a similar poem about Christian friends who were judging me - "Let he who is without sin - cast the first stone...." John Michael - check out my website sometime.

Please Don't Be A Closed Book (Poetry) - 9/4/2008 12:11:30 AM
Hello Dear Friend Stuart- How honestly you have expressed what is in your heart and it is really a "heart opener" for all of us who are afraid to reach out for fear of ridicule and rejection. But reaching out also brings real friends and you have found them here at the den, Stuart. Praying for you always- Cynthia

Please Don't Be A Closed Book (Poetry) - 9/3/2008 6:37:44 PM
Stuart, I feel this was written for my eyes. I tend to close myself off in a 'box' of my own at times, and so many, many times believing I don't count, that I don't matter. I have to really dig deep sometimes to find my self worth in this world. I was once an abused wife, verbally more than physically. Sometimes verbal abuse can be worse. During those horrible years I lost all my self esteem and self worth. Thank you for this poem, Stuart. I'll be tracking you and reading more of you. Many blessings, ~Linda

Please Don't Be A Closed Book (Poetry) - 9/3/2008 6:16:14 PM
A positive point of view, a therapy in itself. Thank you, Stuart, for this. John

Please Don't Be A Closed Book (Poetry) - 9/3/2008 6:10:43 AM
Wonderful message in this!

Please Don't Be A Closed Book (Poetry) - 9/3/2008 3:51:34 AM
Hi Stuart,depression is a big problem.I think the reason why some people are closed books because of the fear that some family members and friends will look at them in a different way and be too judgemental.Thankfully not everyone in this world is like that and it is important for people to reach out and talk about their problems head on.This is a great poem that a person can take and use it to solve their own personal problems with the help of caring human beings who are open-minded.take care Edwin

Please Don't Be A Closed Book (Poetry) - 9/3/2008 2:16:01 AM
well said

Please Don't Be A Closed Book (Poetry) - 9/2/2008 8:12:57 PM
Wow Stuart I think you have said it all. To keep things bottled up within ourselves only manifest other problems. Always better to face our demons head on and ultimately put them to rest with the aid of others, great writing and wonderful insight... Be always safe, Karen

Please Don't Be A Closed Book (Poetry) - 9/2/2008 7:26:12 PM
Wonderful Stuart. lindalaw

Please Don't Be A Closed Book (Poetry) - 9/2/2008 6:53:58 PM
Great write, hiding yourself never helps you get over your problems. Mary

Please Don't Be A Closed Book (Poetry) - 9/2/2008 6:47:32 PM
Wonderful writing mate! so true, so true. Dave.

Please Don't Be A Closed Book (Poetry) - 9/2/2008 6:44:53 PM
Yeah that second and third paragraph for the most part speaks volumes about me...the negative parts that is...but the rest is inspirational which is the category I think this should be in...thanks, Ed (up over, LOL) & Rufuz

Please Don't Be A Closed Book (Poetry) - 9/2/2008 5:58:16 PM
Stuart: What a great message this is! I love it!!! Sandie May :o)

Beyond my Control - A Seizure is Close - (IT) (Poetry) - 9/1/2008 6:23:49 AM
Wow Stuart, I stumbled upon your site today and I'm glad I did. I've been there and done that but praise the Lord, I'm going on 10 years seizure-free! blessings...Frances

Keeping the Dark cloud of Depression at bay (Poetry) - 8/21/2008 1:39:28 AM
Hello Stuart, It takes courage to put these in words...but you did it and it has blessed us. I never knew depression could be so difficult, but we are here for you and I will be praying for you, dear friend. Cynthia

Keeping the Dark cloud of Depression at bay (Poetry) - 8/19/2008 7:38:42 PM
Stuart, you captured the inner darkness of keeping depression at bay..and those who suffer from it know that struggle. Sadly, it affects everyone around the one who is depressed and knowing what to do is difficult .... so, keep writing and helping others. lindalaw

Keeping the Dark cloud of Depression at bay (Poetry) - 8/19/2008 3:13:20 PM
As usual, beautiful writing Stuart, I shared my wifes depression with her & it is very hard for a partner let alone the sufferer, my heart goes out to all those who have this affliction. Thank you for contacting my friend Letizia, she has & is putting a lot of work into helping writers on the website, Book Creators Circle. Your Aussie friend Dave.

Keeping the Dark cloud of Depression at bay (Poetry) - 8/19/2008 3:07:54 AM
I hear ya, my friend...thank the gods for anti-depressants...;-) ed

Stop, Stop, Stop, Your time is not up (Poetry) - 8/8/2008 7:43:43 AM
Go forward, be positive, always stay positive in your thinking. Depression is won over also by keeping busy or just taking a walk outside. I know what you go through as I've had it since 1984. It isn't fun when you are down, you have to bring yourself back up. Noone can do it for you, It must be you.

Please forgive me..... (Poetry) - 8/8/2008 7:41:47 AM
I went through depression, ended up in State hospital, my 1st husband did not stand by me, so I married a person from state hosp who was a schizophrenic type person and we got along very well and helped and supported each other til his death Aug 17 07. Now I miss Tom very much, my 1st husband remarried and is dead also. So I am alone in the world and still fighting off depression. It will always come and go with me but can be fought each day. Just stay positive.

Stop, Stop, Stop, Your time is not up (Poetry) - 8/6/2008 3:38:58 PM
YOU said it Stuart, NOW REMEMBER It! and come back HERE, when HOPE has left your heart! YOUR NAME IN A COLUMN WHICH SHOULDN'T BE Y(U People Will BENEFIT WITH WHAT YOU COULD DO!!! It's true! That is another reason why your spirit gravitated to this den! Just listen to your instincts as you have, and more of what you share will touch where it should... Giving hope all around is what we are on this earthly planet, I have found! YOU know what you are go through ( I think daily) STuart, and for that I commend you, your heart is true blue! as what you share will give someone hope in a much needed way! I feel it...The way you express it. WRITE ON! Warmest Blessings, LOVE, and LIGHT, and Inner Peace, Warrior Purple Passion Lady SHEExooo STay Positive! Namaste!!!

Please forgive me..... (Poetry) - 8/6/2008 3:23:45 PM
This reaching out and wanting to be accepted, I understood clearly STuart, my daughter apologizes for each time, she "thinks" she put me through something I might not have had to experience (in her eyes that is) that day or moment! I love the deep intensity in your heart - YOU layed the cards down and was truly O P E N and HONEST! I'm happy for you and your wife ( that she has someone totally honest with his feelings, she knows where her life is heading and where your love is being felt from) YOU are just as lucky to have her and her loving patience and understanding! MORE PEACE Ahead! I hope to bless YOU! "Both" WRITE ON! Great therapy for what ails you... Warmest Blessings and Inner Peace, Warrior Purple Passion Lady SHEExoooo STay Positive!ALWAYS!!! even when the torrential winds and rain pushed down on your HOPE! Keep it positive, and the rest will follow...

Beyond my Control - A Seizure is Close - (IT) (Poetry) - 8/6/2008 3:17:52 PM
And...What a sad feeling that must be knowing all too well, the sensations you experience without much warning! My daughter goes through it too and I'm right there (most of the time) when I'm not - I feel crushed! Blessings are in Disguise, and I am finding out, through your heart- Just how wise you really are! Your heart must stay strong! Hang In! Always be prepared (the best way you can) as you know Stuart1 I'm sending you warm healing energy, that these moments may cease - and if not, then lessen upon their progression. WRITE ON! This was written very cleary and stately! Warmest Blessings of LOVE, LIGHT, and Inner Peace, Warrior Purple Passion Lady SHEExooo STay Positive!

Beyond my Control - A Seizure is Close - (IT) (Poetry) - 7/24/2008 12:26:19 AM
Dear Stuart, Thank you so much for sharing your experiences through your writing!! I have a physical challenge too, and I wouldn't be who I am today without it..!! I've written little children stories too.. Our problems are a blessing, gifts in disguise for great evolvement.. showing human strength of spirit through infrequent vulnerability ! Great to meet you here! Love, Suzie :-D I'm saving to show a friend who experiences what you share...

Beyond my Control - A Seizure is Close - (IT) (Poetry) - 7/23/2008 1:39:33 PM
wow, so glad to have read this-you have enlightened us to what it must be like to have a seizure. having health problems myself, i know how hard it is for others to imagine what it is like to be in your shoes, but you did a great job of showing us here.

Beyond my Control - A Seizure is Close - (IT) (Poetry) - 7/18/2008 7:13:13 AM
"Standing up, leaving my pride and dignity back there on the ground..." <---- pretty much says it all. Why should YOU have to apologize? Because "THEY" are uncomfortable around people with a seizure disorder? (Being around someone who can only make noise, can't see/talk/hear/move makes ME nervous.) You have as much right as anyone to live as normal of a life as you can (such as it is, when it's ruled by a disability). An excellent write, welcome to the Den, you're among friends. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Beyond my Control - A Seizure is Close - (IT) (Poetry) - 7/18/2008 3:42:33 AM
Very scary

Please forgive me..... (Poetry) - 7/13/2008 5:26:27 PM
Wonderful ode to your loving and very understanding wife who has stayed by your side through both good and bad times. Takes a special person, but you already know that, great write... Be always safe, Karen

Please forgive me..... (Poetry) - 7/12/2008 4:50:24 AM
We wish you every happiness.

Stop, Stop, Stop, Your time is not up (Poetry) - 7/10/2008 3:35:31 AM
Sometimes Life is a you know what.Life can throw us a curveball and we need to hit a home run and a grand slam and not let life circumstances strike us out of the game.We need to enjoy our lives and reach for our goals.Most importantly we deserve to be happy.I am glad that you are trying to beat depression.You are indeed a better human being because you know that you have a problem with depression and you're trying to fix it.take care of yourself and I wish you nothing but complete and total happiness.You deserve it 1,000% Edwin

Stop, Stop, Stop, Your time is not up (Poetry) - 7/8/2008 3:54:16 PM
Stuart, I wish you well and I understand the difficulty and challenge you face. Take good care. John

Stop, Stop, Stop, Your time is not up (Poetry) - 7/6/2008 10:48:34 AM
I understand the sentiment here from much personal experience. My Mother (deceased), sister, brother, and myself all struggle with depression. It's a strange battle that sucks out your life force, and gnaws at your will, and the verve that we all need to press forward and share. I pray thee well McCallum ...

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.