AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: William Pusey, iAlan Brenham, iPeggy Schmuldt, iPamela Taeuffer, iC.G. Richardson, iMichael Wayne, iBryon Smith, i
 
Home > Harry E Gilleland
 

Recent Reviews for Harry E Gilleland


A Man in Control (Book) - 12/31/2014 8:52:27 PM
Losing Yourself – A review of the novel ‘A Man in Control’ “Life is to be lived, not controlled” - Ralph Ellison Author Harry E. Gilleland’s new novel ‘A Man In Control’ tells the tale of Dave Wynthers, a control freak trying to come to terms with the numerous changes happening in his life. He is a professor of microbiology who suddenly finds his hands full of surprises and sudden changes that disrupt his every laid out plan for the future. These changes include and vary from new love interests to death of family members and to ones as extreme as dealing with terrorists with biological weapons and also tackling the law enforcement agencies. A Man In Control is a mystery thriller centred around the setting of a social drama. The timing of the book’s release is without question bang on, whether intentional or not, it has come out at a time when the whole world is talking about the main theme discussed in the book. And a few important and contemporary social and political issues too have been added to make it a highly relevant story. The author has also used his own background in microbiology to good effect by conjuring up various scenarios and terms and blending it nicely with the fictional story being narrated. A shocking first chapter actually sets the pace and mood for the rest of the book. Harry gets into the mind and psyche of his lead character quite brilliantly, he plays with the reader’s perception and connection to his lead character by constantly pulling the strings from the background and gets the reader to love and hate Dave in the same book. The mature handling of relationships, even if they were flawed to begin with of both Dave’s and Heather’s and then Dave’s and Lorrie’s is another highlight. The author then goes on to extrapolate these relationships against the relationship of Lorrie and Caleb, as if to portray how an ideal relationship is supposed to be. The book has a host of highly interesting characters but none who can match up to the uniqueness of the protagonist. Dave’s calculative and measured mind of a scientist is never switched off, whether he is talking to the authorities or even when he is making love to his girlfriend. But ultimately it is Dave’s insistence on domesticating his powerful and independent women partners that leads to his downfall. Sometimes Dave’s scenes with the police and FBI reminds you of the author’s previous book Zack’s Choice and the similar scenes in them but the content here is far more serious and Dave is no innocent, naive young character like Zack and therefore our attitude towards him too remains different. And it is quite a risk that the author has taken by creating a lead character like Dave, who isn’t easy to cheer for. But it is also a brave step in portraying a lead with grey shades rather than typecast him as either a bad guy or a goody two-shoes. Anyone who has read Harry’s previous books will know that no matter what the theme or subject matter is, he writes in a casual and easy to read manner and this has been repeated in A Man in Control as well. It is an easy to read fiction with no hidden agenda and its only intention is to keep you entertained for the few odd hours you will spend on it.

Zack's Choice (Book) - 6/23/2014 6:53:16 PM
Zack’s Choice is an exciting read from the first to the last page. Author Harry Gilleland brings his talent to the forefront with this exceptional tale. We first meet Zack riding along on his Harley. He notices a hitchhiker and decides to stop. The hitchhiker looks way too young to be out there by himself. Zack takes a chance and picks up the hitchhiker, Bobby. You see from the beginning the charity in Zack’s heart as he picks Bobby up and then feeds and shelters him. Unfortunately for Zack his kindness is repaid by robbery. Zack eventually ends up back on the road only to run into Bobby again, only now Zack discovers that Bobby isn’t who he says he is and it doesn’t stop there. This time Zack does not get off so easy. Though Zack’s life is all planned and laid out before him he is presented with a new road and a choice of whether or not to follow it. What ensues is a suspenseful and thrilling adventure that involves stolen property, the FBI, Vatican, mystery, suspense and fighting the good fight. The dialogue flows eloquently drawing you deep into the story. The characters are solid and real leaving you to wonder what the truth really is. This story delves into coming of age, mystery, suspense, turmoil and ends with enlightenment. I highly recommend it!

Zack's Choice (Book) - 6/16/2014 4:48:22 PM
Sure at the Crossroads - A review of the novel ‘Zack’s Choice’ “Never look back unless you are planning to go that way” – Henry David Thoreau People are often not what they appear to be, the perception and imagery of our assumptions about their character are often wrong and misleading. And it is often said that you can find out a person’s true nature in the time of a crisis; when they are faced with important and critical choices, we get to see their real core, understand what they are truly made of. If this is true in life, then it’s truer in the case of fictional characters. The easiest way to reveal your character’s true nature is to present before them a choice and document the path that they undertake. In author Harry E. Gilleland, Jr’s new novel, ‘Zack’s Choice’ the choice the namesake lead character Zack has to make is something that will truly test his character. Fiction often immortalizes its Heroes & Villains through films & books as moral characters who will make these moral & immoral choices, resulting in victory through sacrifices or by withholding it. But in Zack’s Choice, you have a protagonist who isn’t your archetypal goody two shows hero but more of a character who is at a crossroads in his life, wanting to break away from the secure and pre planned life back at home to take a chance, a chance at redeeming something, and that something maybe as simple as rediscovering himself in the bargain. So you have certain conflicted characters who might think they are the good guys or the bad guys until, when faced with a dilemma, they learn something new about themselves. This is the single most defining element of this novel that enables a reader to assimilate the fiction to his real life because similar to real life, in the novel too its only when the lead character is faced with hardships, does he discover his true self. Zack’s not so ambitious plan to marry his high school sweetheart and follow in his parent’s footsteps come undone the day he meets Bobby Smith who turns his world upside down from the minute they meet and who even manages to convince Zack a farfetched tale about his role in saving the world from its imminent destruction. This is where he makes the first choice, and he soon realizes that our choices don’t affect only us but also those around us. They can affect our lives in unimaginable ways like it does with Zack whose detour takes him to California and across Europe all the while trying to avoid the law. It soon becomes a complex, cat and mouse game between Zack and Bobby and how their characters even after choosing different paths end up affecting each others lives. This is the beauty and great quality of good fictional writing. Our past actions and words do come back to haunt us. An immoral choice made in the past by a character comes back to hurt him in the end. While a moral choice, made by a lead which often involves a sacrifice, actually ends up bringing great rewards to him in the end. You can’t categorize and departmentalize “Zack’s Choice” into a hard and fast genre; it can be a thriller at times and a coming of age story otherwise. But what it is for sure is a first class page turner that is both an easy read but also manages to leave its impact long after you’ve turned the last page. I wholeheartedly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a short and cozy summer read that you can relax with and then prepare yourselves to fall in love with Zack and his naivety and innocence and monitor his growth into an introspective young adult with a good soul by the end of the novel.

A Wandering Warrior (Book) - 6/26/2013 4:48:47 PM
What makes a historical fiction novel a good read is simple; it is historical realism included in a dynamically illustrated tale that is populated with engaging characters along with an especially appealing protagonist and this novel accomplishes just that. A Wandering Warrior is the eighth published work of noted author and poet, Harry E. Gilleland Jr. This tale of historical fiction is set in rugged twelfth century England and follows the life and adventures of young, tough and handsome - Thomas Beaumont. Thomas having only his brother John and Uncle as family finds himself propelled on a dangerous mission of retribution across England because of the actions of a barbarous High Sheriff – Simon Mowbray, who murdered his only brother John, in cold blood. Surviving the hard life of a commoner, Thomas endures life as a feckless warrior, a soldier for hire who fights the battles of others for a price. Handsome and gallant he is afraid of no one and no battle is too small for him. Also, as a consequence of living the nomadic lifestyle of a soldier for hire, Thomas finds little time for dealings with the fairer sex, let alone love. However, Thomas does eventually learn that love and attachments are just what he needs and his days of wandering should become a thing of his past. Written in an earthy but time period appropriate tone - this is a story filled with heart, adventure, and honor that is pragmatic in its portrayal of life in old England. The scenes of bloody violence are expertly depicted with vividly detailed scenes of sword – play, blood, and gore that places the reader right in the midst of the action, making the novel even more engaging of a read. Another entertaining aspect of this adventure- filled tale is the interactions between Thomas and the various women he encounters on his sojourn for vengeance- it is seasoned with a dash of humor, a little sexy and totally enjoyable. The pace of the novel is consistent, and keeps you riveted until the end. In my humble opinion, A Wandering Warrior is a great tale told by a wonderful storyteller and would make a great summer read for mature readers.

Gilleland Poetry: Storoems and Poems (Book) - 7/21/2005 7:09:14 AM
Within the covers of Gilleland Poetry : Storoems and Poems lyrist Gilleland offers the reader a wide variety of style, subject and feelings to fit any reader want or need. I enjoyed the wide variety of themes from the heartfelt to thoughtful, tribute to merry. There is truly something for everyone, and something for every occasion included in the work. Gilleland Poetry : Storoems and Poems is one man’s life’s journey presented in thought and notion through his insights, notions, understandings and words. For full review read as article AD site mj hollingshead : Gilleland Poetry

It’s Not Your Life! (Poetry) - 5/3/2015 1:43:07 PM
Parenting is a very difficult job...much easier to write poetry! Lol Diana...

It’s Not Your Life! (Poetry) - 4/18/2015 8:33:10 AM
Wise, compassionate, loving words well expressed. Kudos!

It’s Not Your Life! (Poetry) - 4/17/2015 7:17:46 AM
Some wise advice in a poem. I don't have any children, but I've seen, many times, especially during adolescence, when a parent tries too hard to steer their children in a direction that child was never meant to go. I don't know how many times I've said that I was so grateful that my parents did not try to force me to do anything I didn't already want to do. I do recall my father giving me some lectures on life in my teenage and early college years, but they were more like debates that I won rather than him forcing me to do something… I just didn't take his well-meaning advice. Not having children I had many students. All of the students who worked for me and different talents and expectations. I did whatever I could to enhance what they had rather than try to steer them in some other direction. I'm amazed at how well the students have done by directing their own lives. Ron

It’s Not Your Life! (Poetry) - 4/16/2015 11:10:52 AM
Eh . . . All the many books, lectures, poems about child-rearing means zilch . . . Child-rearing is a Rubik's Cube, and just as frustrating.

Soccer With Four-Year-Olds (Poetry) - 4/5/2015 10:38:47 PM
hahahahaha, endearing!

Soccer With Four-Year-Olds (Poetry) - 4/5/2015 9:53:07 AM
A wonderful observation. While I cultivate weeds in my yard to my homeowners' association disdain, we are heading out again next week to renew our childhood and explore the beauty and passion of Texas wildflowers. It's sad they only come once a year and are so fleeting. Ron

Soccer With Four-Year-Olds (Poetry) - 4/5/2015 8:08:11 AM
Kids that age remember where they came from, heaven, and know who God is but us adults have forgotten those memories from that far back, even though we may profess to know God, we have then forgotten the beauty of playing with flowers too...Happy Easter, Peace, -e-

Vultures of the Most Despicable Kind (Poetry) - 3/28/2015 10:42:50 AM
An interesting personification. You hit a note of personal concern of mine. Those that prey on the weak and less fortunate with their lies and deception. Hanging around to gather the last these poor people have left. And, I would include the vulture capitalists who acquire firms from elderly owners and then break them up and sell the assets for a quick profit and a tremendous loss of jobs and well-being for former employees. On the other hand, the vulture gets a bad rap. For there is no better garbage collector and disease preventer than the vulture, except, for the beetles that follow to finish the job. Consider the practice of the Zoroastrians. They lovingly leave their dead in high places where the vultures can pick the bones clean. No need for expensive funeral homes, gravesite, or cemeteries taking up good land. A very sane way of completing the circle of life. Ron

Vultures of the Most Despicable Kind (Poetry) - 3/27/2015 7:19:06 AM
Vultures and ass kissers are the lowest forms of human nature. Michael D.

Vultures of the Most Despicable Kind (Poetry) - 3/27/2015 5:22:37 AM
Ahhh . . . When I read the title of this poem, I knew you wasn't going to be writing about real vultures', but the human kind. I was half right, you spoke of both. Good poem, an honest portrayal.

Vultures of the Most Despicable Kind (Poetry) - 3/27/2015 3:51:41 AM
and their everywhere in our world...enjoyed

Sinking Into the Abyss (Poetry) - 3/8/2015 10:03:38 AM
Having seen my grandmother deteriorate from a vibrant, highly intelligent and well read woman at 85, gradually become a body without a mind until her death that 90, I fully understand the angst of those close to the disease. Let us hope that the disease becomes understood and thwarted very soon so that poems like this will not have to be written. Ron

Sinking Into the Abyss (Poetry) - 3/7/2015 11:45:52 AM
Someone once described Alzheimer's as like going room to room and turning the lights out one by one. My mother had Alzheimer's, and I can say that's an accurate description. I watched my dad die from lung cancer and my mom die from alzheimer's. If given a choice, I'd take cancer over losing one's mind. A powerful write. Michael D.

Sinking Into the Abyss (Poetry) - 3/7/2015 10:01:39 AM
Someday they will come up with a solution to that horrible disease. I turn seventy-six next month, and although I am in pretty good shape physically I do suffer from pretty bad short term memory lost. I don't plan to wind up like the person you speak of in this poem. I only hope I will have the sense to do something about it before I, too and lost.

A Chain of Memories (Poetry) - 2/26/2015 8:17:21 AM
What I'm reading is the story of a typical middle-class couple who stayed together's lifetime in a nutshell. Quite a feat in a short poem. Ron

Keep Toeing the Line (Poetry) - 1/29/2015 12:05:29 PM
Just don't get your toes cut off crossing it! ;-) A good one with a good inspirational message. Ron

Keep Toeing the Line (Poetry) - 1/29/2015 8:13:20 AM
In life, one can't always win, sometime you have to stand therem and take it on the chin. Michael D.

The Specter of Living Too Long (Poetry) - 1/25/2015 6:30:09 PM
Older people have precious traits alien to others, wisdom, experience, time to listen to the inner child, an innocence that becomes unfogged on seeing children playing in such a carefree way, a love for the seasons, yes, a natural enlightenment if they allow themselves to breathe in life. And when they do that, they have a loving nature that draws me to them. Now is all that truly matters, age is a state of mind. I wish to live to a hundred and write to a few thousand or more... smiles... Wishing you bliss! Carol Phelan Aebby

The Specter of Living Too Long (Poetry) - 1/24/2015 11:50:30 AM
Part of what you wrote can be attributed to modern medicine. In the old days, people died more quickly. I'm older than you and can be clearly described by your first stanza, but I don't consider myself old at all, and am looking forward to decades ahead, except, like Michael in the previous poem related, they are dropping like flies round me. To your good health and mine, Ron

The Specter of Living Too Long (Poetry) - 1/24/2015 8:00:36 AM
I'm only 61 and have enough aches and pains already. As they say, if I had known I'd live this long, I'd taken better care of myself. I don't mind gettig old, I just hope I can stay out of a nursing home. If I knew that was in my future, Just shoot me now. Michael D.

The Specter of Living Too Long (Poetry) - 1/23/2015 8:57:12 PM
1-23-2015 Sadly You'll Never Know Whence Your Number Is Up! Do Not Fear Death-- FEAR Where YOU Are GOING!! Etal: While You Are Still Amongst Living You Are Only As Old As You (Make Your Feeble Mind Out To Be) Feel!! TRASK...

The Specter of Living Too Long (Poetry) - 1/23/2015 4:01:04 PM
Think of the legacy you'll leave behind. Today you wrote something those who know and love you will forever treasure. Celebrate you are here and still making a difference. Life throws us all curve balls thank God we were given the chance to play the game. Death comes to us all and so does life. Life it well and dance the dance. Loved this poem and can relate to every line. Kathy J Parenteau

The Specter of Living Too Long (Poetry) - 1/23/2015 2:31:48 PM
I'm seventy-five, Harry. I relate BIG time.

A Bit about Roots (Poetry) - 1/3/2015 12:41:04 PM
Except when getting a root canal. ;-) It's interesting that I wrote about branches today, while you wrote about roots. Ron

A Bit about Roots (Poetry) - 1/3/2015 8:13:11 AM
An enjoyable read.

Our Neighbors’ Leaves (Poetry) - 12/19/2014 11:44:15 AM
Michael has a great point. I once had a half-acre lawn that I mowed with a 19 inch rotary push mower. It took me nearly the whole weekend every week during the summer to keep it mowed. I never raked leaves (I didn't have many trees but there were many in the neighborhood), but just let them blow around in the wind until spring. My lawn never suffered, but then, it was never considered to be "pristine." I think those that wish to have immaculate, pristine green lawns that are heavily weed killed and fertilized, and take their clippings and leaves and bag them to be taken to the landfill are doing a real disservice to the environment. They are major polluters and need to change their ways for everyone's sake. Ron

Our Neighbors’ Leaves (Poetry) - 12/19/2014 9:05:34 AM
We too get most of or leaves from the neighbors trees. I hate to rake, so I got a mulching lawnmower, and just mulch them. It's good for the lawn. Michael D.

Imploring My Poetic Muse (Poetry) - 9/6/2014 7:23:53 AM
How full well I know the feeling. I turned to music for inspiration and also let a bit of my dark side peek out. I then wrote one of those "sing to the tune of" sets of lyrics.

Imploring My Poetic Muse (Poetry) - 8/30/2014 4:47:08 PM
A great goal Harry that is a never ending pursuit for the perfect poem. That's why this goal NEVER ends! Amen!

Imploring My Poetic Muse (Poetry) - 8/30/2014 11:11:51 AM
Sometimes our muses just give us a peek and then go away for us to try to figure out, "the rest of the story." Ron

Doing Battle! (Poetry) - 8/26/2014 6:14:44 AM
Very funny, but like Ron I try not to use insectides. Michael D.

Doing Battle! (Poetry) - 8/25/2014 8:14:03 AM
I grew up getting stung and bit by all manner of nature's creatures and plants, and suffered no allergies as a result. While I have killed nests of yellow jackets and other nuisance creatures and plants, I try to avoid using insecticides and other chemicals with long-lasting affects and don't get any pleasure from killing any of nature's creatures, even when it's a necessity. Ron

A Unique Southern Gem (Poetry) - 8/23/2014 4:36:31 PM
A great poetic write! Our nations History should be studied by all so that History will not repeat itself.

A Unique Southern Gem (Poetry) - 8/23/2014 11:26:22 AM
I've never been there, but I guess I could guess. From your poem it reads like a wonderful place that would be even better with the lover on your arm who enjoys history like my ex did. Ron

Worn Down by the Sea and Life (Poetry) - 9/18/2013 12:24:02 PM
I can't help thinking that you are the old man from whence you are describing. Your fine edges are still working quite well with this one. Ron

Worn Down by the Sea and Life (Poetry) - 9/17/2013 12:39:58 PM
O my god you struck deep into my soul with this tale. But you ended it with such perfection that I can give you a well earned A+. Brilliant!

Mortality (Poetry) - 6/24/2013 11:27:53 PM
Jesus is my Hero. Man will let you down ever time. Peace, love and abundant blessings, John Michael Domino

Mortality (Poetry) - 6/23/2013 3:07:13 PM
And yet the death of each and every saint is precious in God's sight because they are then transformed, reborn with spiritual bodies and ushered into the heavenly realms of glory... no, death is not the end, but rather a fresh beginning, a necessary threshold, a momentary night heralding a new dawn. Squirrels and saints alike, the knock on death's door is but a brief candle wick snuffed only to be transformed, transfigured, transubstantiated. Seasons don't fear the reaper... nor do the wind or the sun or the rain... Don't fear the reaper. Though the lyrics come from a Blue Oyster Cult song, my faith in afterlife is not a cult-like tenet, but a rock-solid belief based on years of an intimate relationship with the Creator of the Universe, and confirmed and corroborated with several decades of answered prayers. We cannot always get what we want, but if we remain faithful, we get what we need. That comes not from the Rolling Stones, but from the One whose grave stone was rolled away to reveal the firstborn from the dead--our savior and Lord, Jesus Christ. Thanks to his work, we can echo the line from John Donne's sonnet with conviction: Death Where is Thy Sting? Roger

Mortality (Poetry) - 6/23/2013 6:44:35 AM
It is really too bad that that kid is so heartless. I recall a story when I was a teenager about guys who drove in the night and killed animals with their car in a wooded area. The story ended with the driver losing control and dying––good riddance. The English professor friend of mine who read my short story, Brian Bushytail and the Urban Forest, said she couldn't finish reading it is it contained too much death. Recently, while driving in the same area that I wrote the story about, the squirrel darted out and did a 180° turn under my left front wheel. I overreacted and ended up close to the front steps of the house, between huge trees, with a slashed front left tire. Yet I was grateful that the squirrels survived. The only time I ever recall running over any animal in the road was a tragic time when my grandmother and I were driving to California in 1966. As I climbed the Cascade Range in Oregon, I believe, although I tried to avoid them, I ran over two squirrels and know that I hit them, in spite of my efforts to avoid them, because I saw them in the review mirror. It made me sick to think that I couldn't miss them. Ron

Mortality (Poetry) - 6/23/2013 1:43:45 AM
as we all should you are so right all life is precious budd

Mortality (Poetry) - 6/22/2013 5:23:13 PM
Harry, Its so sad how some people can care SO little for the death of one of God's creatures, big or small. Some people are void of compassion. Excellent and preceptive write. Love and blessings, +Linda

Nature’s Yard Art (Poetry) - 6/22/2013 9:54:32 AM
that was a wonderous vision then budd

Fishing For Financial Data (Poetry) - 4/11/2013 7:12:33 AM
Strange, once they determine your age, they redouble their efforts as though somehow you are going senile. The only ones I've known who have fallen for these shysters tend to be young, and inexperienced. It's a shame that so many of them are ashamed of their loss and don't come forth and vigorously get the FBI on the asses of the bastards. Ron

Fishing For Financial Data (Poetry) - 4/11/2013 2:28:02 AM
a warning to the unwise budd

Closeness of War (Poetry) - 2/21/2013 11:11:00 AM
Yes, war has, always been impersonal because the other side was usually characterized as being evil and therefore, deserving to be killed, no matter how atrociously. However, killing someone up close and personal often caused a soldier to have second thoughts about what he was doing and quickly forgive his enemy after battle. Today's impersonal arm's-length killing from the office shows us how far removed we are from mortal combat in today's world. War has become a video game for most, and a reality show, for sure. I for one, will study war no more. Ron

Closeness of War (Poetry) - 2/21/2013 3:36:17 AM
it does take the horror out of war and liken it to just a video game' far to sad what technology has allowed man to become budd

Dried Flowers (Poetry) - 2/17/2013 9:03:20 AM
What a wonderful story about the remembrance of first love. So many young women lost their loves to war. Let's hope it stops soon. Ron

Designing Tip for Men (Poetry) - 2/11/2013 1:44:08 PM
Thanks for reading and commenting, Ron. Double check your dictionary re the word "bust". As a verb (not a noun), "bust" means "to burst or break", thus making my use of the word "bust" correct. Cheers! Harry

Designing Tip for Men (Poetry) - 2/11/2013 10:54:22 AM
I believe the word is, “burst." A bust is another thing altogether. ;-) I agree with you 100%, that's why I do my design and installation before ever bringing a woman on the scene. Ron

Dragon Fighting All Afternoon (Poetry) - 2/3/2013 1:20:35 PM
Your story does beguile me, but if he had befriended the Dragon I would have liked it more. Ron

The Grandfather Clock (Poetry) - 1/31/2013 5:39:10 PM
Wow! Your poem reminds me of the song, "My Grandfathers Clock..." A terrific timeless poetic piece! Bravo! John Michael

Aged Love Between Seniors (Poetry) - 1/22/2013 12:32:01 PM
It's hard for me to agree because I've known many seniors who were single and seemed to get along fine. I remember my great aunt, some fifteen years after my great uncle died, telling me that an old coot was after her and she was having trouble trying to ditch him. As far as I know, she never hung out with another man. On the other hand, couples who've been together a long time seem to have a kind of communion that sustains them both. An aunt of mine ( my uncle ran off and disappeared) resisted other men for many years, but eventually took up with several boyfriends before she had dementia and could no longer be with her last one. Ron

Aged Love Between Seniors (Poetry) - 1/22/2013 7:29:39 AM
I appreciate you looking at all the stages where love is present, alive and flourishing. Cheers, Dan

Aged Love Between Seniors (Poetry) - 1/22/2013 6:34:22 AM
Splendid how you take the stages of love through the stages of life. Excellent work.

Aged Love Between Seniors (Poetry) - 1/22/2013 6:01:48 AM
truer words have never been written budd

Cancer Could Not Break Her Spirit! (Poetry) - 9/26/2012 10:13:22 AM
A fine old to a valiant woman. I am reading more lately about the body's ability to defeat cancers that are continually occurring naturally. If we have the right stuff, we can go through life without cancer. In the case of your friend, I believe her determination turned on certain genes that created the white blood cells necessary to fight the cancer much longer than expected. Ron

Cancer Could Not Break Her Spirit! (Poetry) - 9/25/2012 11:24:58 PM
Powerfully written, Harry

Living With His Memories (Poetry) - 7/21/2012 11:00:59 AM
Many do this. And I guess I am in that boat. However, I am unfamiliar with that ordinary man he describe doing since ordinary things that ended up to nothing but living longer than everyone else. Such a pity to have memories like that and only wish to be reunited with family and friends instead of recounting the extraordinary things life has visited. Ron

Shredding Checks (Poetry) - 7/17/2012 10:33:01 AM
You just about covered it. Before there was money, people traded their work, their livestock, and whatever they could grow, and ended their life with little or nothing unless they were on King, Lord, merchant, or banker. Nothing has really changed except the amount of disposable income we have which we quickly dispose of. I don't have much and never accumulated much. But somehow, this house is filled with junk I don't need, all purchased by those checks, cash, or debits I didn't have to spend. They call it the economy. I call it a bit wasteful. On the other hand I just had to “prove” all my expenses last year for the small subsidy I get to take care of paying for my three attendants. It's a pain to dredge them all up, even if I am using the computer for proof. Ron

Privatize! Privatize! Privatize! (Poetry) - 6/5/2012 10:02:45 AM
That's exactly what my studies show. Competition is good. However, it quickly becomes monopoly when unrestrained. But the voting public doesn't understand is that private companies only do what's in the contract for the amount they charge. Any service that is outside the contract either doesn't get done or is expected to be picked up by charity or volunteer work. They won't stop until they have eliminated the post office and public education. Ron

Reckon I Should Move Overseas? (Poetry) - 3/2/2012 4:30:56 PM
I know, it's a tough situation....my son served 8 yrs in the Marines, and is now in school, so I am glad for him on that count..but the days of making a living working in a store are long gone, things are too expensive....sad... good write

What Does One Death Matter? (Poetry) - 3/1/2012 5:00:36 PM
Harry, again i like your use of the sparrow, the common is never enough praised. to love the loveable is true. Budd

Sparrows of the Human World (Poetry) - 3/1/2012 4:56:24 PM
Harry, the drab do not garner attention but the noticed get eaten the flat tone goes unheard where the listened to get captured or worse hurray for the common, the poor the normal they can champion the mundane thank you Budd

Sparrows of the Human World (Poetry) - 2/27/2012 8:57:26 PM
Yes, and how can this happen? The Poor are poor, they disappear weirdly, shot without discrepency. Gone before their time, as it were. Sad, so sad. Great piece, Harry. Erin Elizabeth Kelly-Moen

Sparrows of the Human World (Poetry) - 2/20/2012 9:52:32 AM
interesting analogy ... clever and well written ...

The Ant Farm (Poetry) - 1/28/2012 8:04:31 PM
...this is a valuable little verse that begs a sequel... can you imagine if the occupy Wall Street movement were to hit more than a public nerve and actually make the 1% feel consequences... wonder what that might look like... if the ant fits... wear will it end up? Anyways, Harry, your poem deserves more comments... it is quite a good write.

Americans Acting Like Nazis (Poetry) - 11/10/2011 7:33:43 PM
"We are a different, better class of people today." sarcasm aside, couldn't have said it better ....

Americans Acting Like Nazis (Poetry) - 11/9/2011 8:28:30 AM
Bravely spoken, Harry. Thank you! Time to review the meaning of "all men/women are created equal"... Peace & Blessings, Carolyn

Dog (Poetry) - 11/6/2011 3:03:04 PM
Beautifully expressed! Dogs do have angelic ways.

Dog (Poetry) - 11/6/2011 11:18:58 AM
Harry, This made me cry. I have a precious dog named Blackie. I don't know what I'd do without him. Enjoyed your story, yes...dog's DO save lives. Many blessings+ ~~Linda

Dog (Poetry) - 11/6/2011 6:17:19 AM
A beautiful story...well written...e

Dog (Poetry) - 11/6/2011 5:00:09 AM
Dogs truly are man's best friend, and their immense loyalty and devotion is both amazing and inspiring. I just posted a poem about a starving old dog still defending a boarded up home, long after her family had moved away and cruelly left her there. I think we human beings can learn much from dogs.

New Exogenous Species: Kudzu Bugs (Poetry) - 11/3/2011 10:36:27 AM
When I was in Georgia, kudzu bugged me, even wrote a poem about it. And now we have these stink bugs along with snake head fish and those lovely Chinese carp jumping in our boats. As I look out on our bird feeder as dozens of English sparrows and one red squirrel annihilate our birdseed. What's the world coming to? Ron

Insulated From Nature (Poetry) - 8/23/2011 9:10:53 PM
How well you describe all that we left behind through the technological march forward. Much to be said for days past... Be always safe, Karen

Insulated From Nature (Poetry) - 8/22/2011 3:18:15 PM
Strong write. At what price comes this progress? Your poem spells out a bottom line whose exorbitance is increasingly becoming untenable, and it does so with an alacrity and wit that makes for worthwhile reading.

Insulated From Nature (Poetry) - 8/22/2011 10:30:46 AM
With apologies to General Electric, Harry, Progress is often Our Least Important Product. And the proof is laid out for us in your powerful poem. -gene.

Insulated From Nature (Poetry) - 8/22/2011 5:41:14 AM
I very sadly agree with you, especially these sad 'modern' days when even our young children now only know indoor technology, and less and less of them learn to marvel at the wonders of good old Mother Nature. Unlike many today, I long for those Good Old Days when most of us enjoyed The Great Outdoors, and now I always avoid the Interstates and travel the old country roads.

Insulated From Nature (Poetry) - 8/21/2011 3:55:52 PM
Yes, modern man has comfort beyond compare, but are we really all that comfortable or are we just living beyond our means...we would surely be better living as they did in the past, when time moved slower & it seemed life did longer last...e

What Does One Death Matter? (Poetry) - 8/21/2011 8:08:58 AM
Very well written food for thought. Thank you for sharing. Donna

What Does One Death Matter? (Poetry) - 8/20/2011 7:54:58 PM
You've used euphemism, in this turn of events in the lines to implicate the ideas to the reader. Tying the end with the young boy saying his final line... Thanks for sharing...

What Does One Death Matter? (Poetry) - 8/20/2011 7:21:17 PM
Touching... By Nature Sparrow If New Born Baby Bird Cannot Fly --Momma Bird Kicks Baby Bird Out Of Nest-- As Child I Buried Many Of Them In My Back Yard...Most Neighbors Simply Threw Them In Trash Cans... TRASK..

Tales Around the Campfire (Poetry) - 8/20/2011 7:39:00 AM
Thanks, Harry, for filling me in on what I've missed in not being a scout and not enjoying those campfire tales. -gene.

Tales Around the Campfire (Poetry) - 8/20/2011 6:00:21 AM
Fun story...I remember those days & after a story like that I used to climb trees and sleep up off the ground...till I fell out in the middle of the night...LOL

Tales Around the Campfire (Poetry) - 8/19/2011 10:38:38 PM
Quite a tale here, seems you've went out of your way to rhyme and just kept this in free verse, altogether... Thanks for sharing...

The Summer of Drought (Poetry) - 8/13/2011 9:04:22 PM
Boy, you really made this drought come alive, I was thirsty after reading this, lol!! It was amazing how you made each line more and more oppressive, but didn't overstate or repeat descriptions. Nice work.

The Summer of Drought (Poetry) - 8/9/2011 5:45:01 AM
The unfortunate part of no rain will be that when it ends it will in devastating floods when it does start to come down...I have to say that living in NJ may not be the best place, but we seem to have a temperate climate, with rain in summer & snow in winter...stay safe & try to stay cool...Ed

A Lifetime of Walks Along the Seashore (Poetry) - 8/8/2011 4:56:37 PM
A "storoem" to remember, teeming with love and devotion....Well done! Connie

A Lifetime of Walks Along the Seashore (Poetry) - 8/8/2011 2:12:01 PM
Excellent...those born by the sea, like me, will as well die there, as did she...ed

The “River Horse” (Poetry) - 7/23/2011 12:54:18 PM
interesting...must do a little 'research' in fantacy to decipher...but interesting just the same

A Baby Was Born Today (Poetry) - 7/18/2011 3:27:55 PM
Wow, this is so sad! Let's hope that there are positive births in this world. rege schilken

The Hot-air Balloon Ride (Poetry) - 7/5/2011 3:55:00 AM
lol! The was hilarious! Thanks for sharing! :)

The Hot-air Balloon Ride (Poetry) - 7/4/2011 9:13:28 AM
Funny, Harry. Hot air can almost always get one in trouble. -gene.

A Daughter’s Dream (Poetry) - 6/26/2011 10:26:01 AM
This really arouses sympathy and hope. "God works in mysterious ways" and sometimes speaks through dreams. If this is fictional, you have a lot of compassion in your heart. Connie

America Is a Christian Nation (Poetry) - 6/1/2011 1:39:28 PM
WHAT CAN I SAY HARRY...YOU ARE, OF COURSE, RIGHT. AMERICA DOES NOT, IN MANY INSTANCES(NOT ALL), EXEMPLIFY A CHRISTIAN NATION. HOWEVER, LEFT ME GIVE YOU A PERFECT EXAMPLE OF WHY I LOVE AMERICA IN SPITE OF HER MANY FAULTS. THIS ARTICLE, FOR INSTANCE, THAT YOU HAVE WRITTEN - IN MANY COUNTRIES YOUR WORDS WOULD BE A DEATH SENTENCE OR, AT LEAST, A LONG PRISON TERM. FREEDOM OF THE PRESS! FREEDOM OF SPEECH! I LOVE IT! FREEDOM OF RELIGION! OKAY, SO ADMITTEDLY WE'VE GOT SOME MESSED UP INDIVIDUALS WHO ARE STILL 'BLIND' TO THE LOVE OF GOD, BUT WE DO HAVE COURTS AND THEY WORK(MORE OFTEN THAN NOT-SMILE). SO WHAT AM I SAYING? THE NUMEROUS FREEDOMS THAT ARE ENJOYED IN AMERICA IS 'BECAUSE' AMERICA, INDEED, 'IS' A CHRISTIAN NATION. WE ARE NOT A PERFECT CHRISTIAN NATION BUT WE ARE KEPT AFLOAT BY THE PRAYERS OF THE MILLIONS OF FREE WORSHIPPING CHRISTIANS WHO CALL THIS NATION THEIR HOME. I AM A CHRISTIAN, I OFTEN DO THINGS THAT ARE NOT RIGHT BUT THANK GOD FOR 'MERCY AND GRACE' THAT COVERS MY SHORTCOMINGS. THIS SAME 'MERCY AND GRACE' COVERS AMERICA, A CHRISTIAN NATION! AS LONG AS MY BOWL HOLDS WATER, I AM NOT CONCERNED ABOUT ITS NICKS AND CHIPS HERE AND THERE...'CAUSE ITS MY BOWL AND I LOVE IT AND I(AND OTHERS) CAN DRINK WATER OUT OF IT, JUST FINE, WHEN THIRSTY. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

America Is a Christian Nation (Poetry) - 5/27/2011 4:30:01 PM
America is flawed, the planet is flawed, the universe is flawed, every man and woman are flawed, there are none righteous, no not one! Thanks for the reminder.

Who Were the Savages? (Poetry) - 4/22/2011 6:15:54 PM
I think you answered the question, Harry. -gene.

The Whitewater Trip (Poetry) - 4/8/2011 5:31:02 PM
Fascinating, Harry. Exciting trip. Great write. -gene.

One Price for Mankind’s Folly (Poetry) - 3/22/2011 3:45:42 PM
The chief reason for their demise is silly indeed; well said! Some of the 'medicine' shops in my part of the world are ...disgusting to say the least. Fine work, Harry. John

The Re-gifted Birthday Card (Poetry) - 3/12/2011 11:43:05 AM
A loving tale, Harry, lovingly told. -gene.

The Re-gifted Birthday Card (Poetry) - 3/12/2011 5:56:14 AM
A very nice story. Some of us are "keepers" and can't bear to let go of the beautiful memories a card or letter brings. And as in this story, we know who among us will treasure what we treasure. Warm and wonderfully expressed. Connie

The Re-gifted Birthday Card (Poetry) - 3/11/2011 9:45:23 PM
How uniquely unto its own with a heartwarming tale to share something of sentimental value from the past, well said. Be always safe, Karen

Sound the Alarm! (Poetry) - 2/3/2011 12:20:02 PM
You summed it up perfectly in that last line, Harry. Peace. -gene.

Sound the Alarm! (Poetry) - 2/1/2011 3:17:03 PM
Harry, It's so true. History repeats itself. You've expressed it well in this marvelous poem. Mary

Hunting Bargains (Poetry) - 1/18/2011 10:12:58 AM
Harry, Beautiful poem. I, too, love old things passed down through generations. Things like those are priceless. Mary

Reflections on Martin Luther King, Jr. Day 2011 (Poetry) - 1/17/2011 1:06:21 PM
This is such a great tribute to a man who changed the course of history that I read it four times. I applaud your talent Harry as I know Dr. King and the brothers Kennedy are slso doing.

Reflections on Martin Luther King, Jr. Day 2011 (Poetry) - 1/17/2011 11:42:33 AM
I totally agree with these elloquent lines, Harry. One would hope that this would be a better country had Dr. King, Jack, and Bobby lived to make it so. -gene.

An Unattainable Dream? (Poetry) - 11/30/2010 8:54:27 PM
reminds me of "all i am saying is give peace a chance" ... enlightened perspective and nicely crafted poem ...

A Horse Of Legend (Poetry) - 10/11/2010 7:52:26 AM
Your greatest admiration shines through! Best Wishes, Christine

Remember Me (Poetry) - 9/15/2010 2:42:53 PM
You're a helluva storyteller, Harry. -gene.

Remember Me (Poetry) - 9/14/2010 7:21:31 PM
How sad and a scene that seems to repeat itself far too often... Be always safe, Karen

Remember Me (Poetry) - 9/14/2010 1:17:52 PM
Powerful!

Remember Me (Poetry) - 9/14/2010 5:39:55 AM
Harry, A heartbreaker for sure. One always wonders why these things happen and what would thier lives have been like. A true tearjerker. Mary

Alternative Lives (Poetry) - 8/4/2010 3:53:22 PM
Interesting how you present one scenario with more than one outcome. Oh the choices we make, huh? Be always safe, Karen

A Hero’s Tale (Poetry) - 7/31/2010 6:33:12 PM
Brilliant write Harry, The tragedy the Vietnam war was the lack of respect for the men and women who fought in that conflict with failing support from home. You do a fine job to highlight the bravery and courage of at least two of those soldiers that should have been honoured long before they were. Best regards, David

Talons of Death (Poetry) - 7/25/2010 5:55:24 AM
nature indeed is a giant restaurant ...

Talons of Death (Poetry) - 7/22/2010 4:39:57 PM
Wow, that was almost as hard for me to read as it was for you to watch. Which, to me, shows how wonderful your talent is.

Talons of Death (Poetry) - 7/22/2010 3:14:06 AM
An excellent poem, Harry; these birds of prey are quite scary !

Ancient Enemies (Poetry) - 6/16/2010 6:10:10 PM
A very interesting interpretation! Blessings, Christine

Ancient Enemies (Poetry) - 6/16/2010 9:20:58 AM
Very funny. I think you have a point here. ;)

Gunshots In The Night (Poetry) - 6/16/2010 4:05:15 AM
A nice reflection on the inequality that exists in our society. The mental imagery you paint makes me feel like I was there...best regards, Dave

Singing By Whales (Poetry) - 6/16/2010 3:51:54 AM
Gee Harry, I wish the world could read this poem. I have had the privilege of watching these magnificent creature at close range off the east coast of Australia on their annual journey South every summer. They are a sight to behold! The Australian government is at this present time in the international court trying to ban Japan's annual hunt of 1000 Minke whales for so called 'scientific purposes'. Let us hope that their 'soulful song' does not fall upon deaf ears. A pleasure to read!

The Roar of the Lion (Poetry) - 6/15/2010 9:06:54 AM
Greetings, Chantilly Lace, Elisabeth Barstowe, & Karen Palumbo ~~ My thanks to each of you for reading my work and leaving a comment. I am pleased that you all enjoyed my poem. Cheers! Harry

The Roar of the Lion (Poetry) - 6/14/2010 5:01:27 PM
You bring out the beauty that is usually left unseen... Be always safe, Karen

The Roar of the Lion (Poetry) - 6/14/2010 9:32:32 AM
I absolutely love this!

The Roar of the Lion (Poetry) - 6/14/2010 7:45:58 AM
Very well written..enjoyed dear man..I love the lion such a beautiful creature..stay safe and well..Hugss

An Old Man’s Nighttime Frustration (Poetry) - 6/13/2010 2:54:21 PM
Oh Harry, what a wonderful insight...but I'm sure you're imagining your future;-) Dave

The Gulf Oil Spill –2010 (Poetry) - 6/3/2010 1:40:25 PM
Dear Harry, This is a well-written comment on this subject. If only there wern't so many of sarah's sheeple, blindly following her off the cliff.

A Dis-Ash-ter (Poetry) - 5/19/2010 4:28:32 PM
Harry, Like life - the ash tree's lament. Much enjoyed, ~D.

A Dis-Ash-ter (Poetry) - 5/16/2010 5:30:33 AM
You have a very nice style, Harry, good work

A Dis-Ash-ter (Poetry) - 5/15/2010 4:57:07 PM
I like your style, this speaks to the fallen. I don't know how I have missed your storoems. I look forward to reading more. Be Well, Carin

Traversing The Sea Of Life (Poetry) - 3/31/2010 12:20:57 AM
Excellent work, Harry

Traversing The Sea Of Life (Poetry) - 3/28/2010 3:42:51 AM
WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

The Used-to Age (Poetry) - 3/25/2010 7:51:07 PM
My goodness, life is just beginning! Now you have the time to revisit all those things you did not have the time for. 65 is only a number, life is what you choose to make of it... Be always safe, Karen

Gunshots In The Night (Poetry) - 3/25/2010 4:27:13 AM
OH! This leads my heart into that place where I wish I had the power to reach out and lift all the innocent children and struggling people into safety. God knows I need it too.

My Storoems (Poetry) - 3/21/2010 3:05:02 PM
Your storoems are fantastic pieces of writing...they hold the attention until the very last line... I think there is a firm place for hybrid pieces that are not strictly poems (but as defined by who?) yet have poetic elements that make them more than pieces of prose...I have written some myself...In the final analysis, writing that is enjoyable, meaningful and holds the attention...what need is there for it to be compartmentalised, and by who? Hugs, Diana..

An Old Copper Bell (Poetry) - 3/21/2010 2:57:02 PM
This is an enthralling tale, and how wonderful the bell ended up in a collection where it's past and value were considered...I love your writing.. Hugs, Diana..

The Glory Of War (Poetry) - 3/21/2010 2:51:11 PM
This really hits the mark...There is nothing glorious about war..As Wilfred Owen reminded us: "The old lie: Dulce et decorum est Pro patria mori. Best wishes, Diana..

Visiting My Uncle Walter's Grave (Poetry) - 3/21/2010 2:43:30 PM
You touch my heart so strongly with your writing. Your Uncle Walter died for the freedom of our countries too,(UK) and I truly thank him for this. This brings back many childhood memories...I love your storeoms...I call mine Prosetry.. Hugs, Diana..

The Garden Statue (Poetry) - 3/21/2010 2:36:43 PM
Very touching piece with a strong message...I enjoyed this alot.. Hugs, Diana..

Overabundance (Poetry) - 3/21/2010 2:34:20 PM
This is all so true. Oh for a goodnight kiss from my husband now..Your words truly hit home... Hugs, Diana..

A Shoulder To Cry On (Poetry) - 3/21/2010 2:31:09 PM
An angel perhaps?...I have heard of cases like this before.Your sister sensed although she was a stranger , all was safe. Whoever she was, she did a wondeful thing...How pleasant to hear of an act of selfless kindness to a total stranger.. Hugs, Diana..

The Bad Old Days (Poetry) - 3/21/2010 2:26:04 PM
A very hard hitting yet moving poem. Whilst tracing my family tree, I came across many little infants in my own family who died so young from these ailments...and it really grieved me all these years later..Perhaps the grief in all those Mothers words still lingers in these places... Hugs, Diana..

Springtime Renewal (Poetry) - 3/21/2010 2:20:54 PM
A very uplifting and joyful piece which makes us appeciate the passing of Winter finally, and the beauty and happiness that Springtime offers us all yet again... Hugs, Diana...

Farewell, Dad…Sort Of (Poetry) - 3/21/2010 2:12:44 PM
What a wonderful and loving description of a real Dad who did it all..and how sad this is his lot at the end of such a recognised and giving life..I hope he is in a happy place inside his mind for most of the time.. Sending Love and Hugs, Diana..

Two Mothers’ Bravery (Poetry) - 3/21/2010 2:04:30 PM
Oh what a brilliant and epic tale! I thoroughly enjoyed this, and was willing such an end...Also a testament to Mother's total and unrelenting love for their sons...Splendid! Hugs, Diana..

Two Mothers’ Bravery (Poetry) - 3/21/2010 9:44:29 AM
Breathtaking. Maternal love for an offspring is eternal and for some unbendable even if it means death for them. Love it. Liz

Edible Fungi (Poetry) - 3/21/2010 4:24:10 AM
Nice poem, Harry

Springtime Renewal (Poetry) - 3/15/2010 2:16:25 AM
Well written, Harry.....thank goodness spring is finally arriving.

Farewell, Dad…Sort Of (Poetry) - 2/13/2010 5:47:53 AM
I do think this must be among the saddest realities possible. I am sorry it is yours to endure. I was spared, and perhaps I should say my Dad was spared. It is so unfair for your Dad to ever be remembered this way- beyond himself. But- you do have the best memories of a Dad second to none- and just perfect for you. I felt bad that the caregivers in the nursing home couldn't have an idea just who they were caring for- but he did give them reason to be fond of him. Best wishes, John

The Bad Old Days (Poetry) - 1/12/2010 6:16:52 AM
Message well taken. I know the old cemetarys filled with children. I would have been dead or crippled a dozen times by now. Strange we never see a "Ceclor Saves" bumper sticker. John

Overabundance (Poetry) - 12/17/2009 3:48:45 AM
Great poem,excellent work.take care

Overabundance (Poetry) - 12/16/2009 10:57:21 PM
Interesting and very thought provoking.... Be always safe, Karen

The Garden Statue (Poetry) - 12/14/2009 9:39:18 PM
Well written piece and a brilliant yet subtle message that I hear of how materialism has become more important that the reason for the Christmas celebration. As in the angel I think is delivering Jesus to his manger... Be always safe, Karen

Visiting My Uncle Walter's Grave (Poetry) - 11/16/2009 8:05:21 PM
The sad and unfortunate story of so many who have lost, very poignant.... Be always safe, Karen

An Old Copper Bell (Poetry) - 9/13/2009 10:10:13 PM
Wow, what a fantastic story, such a treasure is that bell... Be always safe, Karen

An Old Copper Bell (Poetry) - 9/11/2009 7:25:54 PM
Harry, Fantastic! This is a wonderful story. It had me entralled all the way, and I'm sure people look at this antique and wonder. I've found a lot of priceless "junk" from studying my family history. Mary

An Old Copper Bell (Poetry) - 9/11/2009 5:39:45 PM
Harry, I've just read a novel in verse, and a fascinating novel at that, rich in detail and crafted in telling, and with great resonance (no pun intended). Fine work. John

Graveside Grief (Poetry) - 8/24/2009 8:19:14 PM
I like this alot. Having recently lost my brother, this really touched me-- he loved angels, so this had alot of meaning for me.

Graveside Grief (Poetry) - 8/24/2009 4:04:19 AM
Hi Harry This is a unique and interesting perspective that you illustrated. Thank you. Liz

Graveside Grief (Poetry) - 8/24/2009 3:31:22 AM
VERY NICE!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

At Her Mother’s Funeral (Poetry) - 7/15/2009 10:04:10 PM
Ah yes, miracles do happen as God wraps his arms around the injured. Very well written piece filled with spirituality... Be always safe, Karen

Sex! (Poetry) - 7/9/2009 5:48:28 PM
Oh my.......interesting indeed dear man...stay safe and well...Hugsss

Sex! (Poetry) - 7/9/2009 2:38:52 AM
A well written piece,take care EDWIN

Sex! (Poetry) - 7/7/2009 11:11:45 AM
Harry, Is sex rfeally that complicated. Perhaps you left out the poetry. -gene.

Sex! (Poetry) - 7/7/2009 5:23:14 AM
HAVING 'SEX' IS ONE THING, 'MAKING LOVE' IS AN ENTIRELY DIFFERENT THING. SO, THOUGH I DON'T AGREE WITH YOU, YOUR POINT IS WELL TAKEN AND YOUR POEM WITH THE PHRASES, RHYME AND IMAGERY THAT ARE WRITTEN QUITE WELL, DO SOLIDLY SUPPORT YOUR THEME. THANKS FOR THE SHARE AND GOD BLESS. JOYCE

Pigeon Parade (Poetry) - 7/1/2009 5:13:53 AM
A well written poem,take care EDWIN

Pigeon Parade (Poetry) - 6/30/2009 2:20:03 PM
INTERESTING...THE UNDESIERABLES HAS BECOME A OBVIOUS EXHIBITOR OF THAT OLD CLICHE'...IF AT FIRST YOU DON'T SUCCEED... WHAT A GREAT WRITE WITH VERY GOOD IMAGERY THAT'S VERY INFORMATIVE. THANKS FOR SHARING AND BLESSINGS.

April Summer (Poetry) - 6/30/2009 12:27:32 PM
I'm sorry if I wasn't supposed to laugh. I feel your pain. Well done.

My Life Thus Far (Poetry) - 6/30/2009 12:23:50 PM
Sounds like a wonderful life.

Pigeon Parade (Poetry) - 6/30/2009 12:19:35 PM
Though pigeons can be beautiful birds, I'd prefer the cardinals, blue jays, robins, etc... in my backyard. Have fun watching. Nice write. Enjoyed.

My Life Thus Far (Poetry) - 6/17/2009 4:39:05 PM
A life well lived, accomplishments many with future pages of the book yet to be turned... Be always safe, Karen

April Summer (Poetry) - 4/26/2009 9:27:11 AM
Thank you for sharing this well written poem and your feelings.The heat is indeed unbearable.I can only imagine what it will be like in the summer time.Take care and stay cool Edwin

April Summer (Poetry) - 4/24/2009 11:40:29 AM
93?!!!! Still waiting for the HOT here, Harry. And hope that the ocean breezes will keep it livable. -gene.

April Summer (Poetry) - 4/23/2009 2:26:41 PM
Think you expressed it very well and YES it was unbearably HOT, HOT, HOT.... Be always safe, Karen

Why Did My Grandmother Have To Die? (Poetry) - 4/22/2009 12:52:55 PM
What a beautiful way to express such loving emotions for a child's understanding.... Be always safe, Karen

April 14, 2009 (Poetry) - 4/16/2009 11:41:30 AM
The heartbreak through your words surrenders to the compassion, adoration and love you hold close of this wonderful woman, your Aunt. May God open his heart, hands and kingdom to welcome her in. In our thoughts and prayers.... Be always safe, Karen

April 14, 2009 (Poetry) - 4/15/2009 1:36:00 PM
sympathies for your loss, but a nice tribute to her nonetheless...Ed

A Smooth Band Of Gold (Poetry) - 2/10/2009 2:38:46 AM
Excellent and great poem.I enjoy reading it,take care Edwin

A Smooth Band Of Gold (Poetry) - 2/8/2009 7:39:56 PM
Wonderfully done, Harry. I love (and envy) the rhymes. -gene.

The Abortion Controversy (Poetry) - 2/4/2009 11:32:12 PM
I have been debating this for a long time. It isn't just holding a bible and then rule the world. I'm not holding grudge at anyone or anything, I'm going by way of common sense that when circumstances arise that as you say the mother's life is at risk, then the mother needs to be saved. I have just finished watching a fictional show at surfthechannel.com in a TV series called "Master of Horrors", there is an episode in there entitled "Pro-Life". The show was about a teenage girl impregnated by a devil, and the girl knows that the father of the baby is a devel, and so will the baby be and she wanted to kill the devil inside her. But the father of the devil disguised himself as God, came to the teenager's father and gave him a message to that he must protect the baby. The teenage girl went into a clinic to abort the devil's baby, but the father, along with his 3 sons, broke into the clinic, murdered the doctors and some innocent people in the process of trying to locate the teenage girl. The father kept saying that he heard God talking to him to ask him to protect the baby, and so he thinks it's okay for him to go and kill other innocent people to save the devil's baby. At the end, the doctor did not abort the devil baby for it was growing to full term in a matter of hours, and the teenage girl gave birth to the devil's child. The devil came into the clinic to look for his newborn son, he killed the teenage girl's brothers. Whem the devil came to in front of the father of the teenage girl, the father of the teenage girl then realized that it was NOT God who had communicated with him, it WAS actually the Devil who had disguised as God to communicate with him so that he would go about to kill people in order to save the devil's baby. I had a lot of thoughts after I've watched that show. It made me believe that some people who are non-believers of God, and yet they disguised themselves as a messengers of God and give out damaging messages to the innocent people. There are far too many unplanned pregnancies that ended up with full-term babies being killed by their parents; and there are way too many mothers who do not want any babies to begin with; or that they are not prepared to have any babies, but then have brought the babies to full term and give births. After that they resent for having the babies so they torture and abuse the babies to deaths. I agree to some extend that babies are human beings, but I don't agree with the people who are not ready to have babies and the people who do not want any children to have them. They don't have a right to give birth to babies and then abuse and torture them to deaths. Children are helpless and defenseless. If anyone has given birth to children and regret having them, then they should just give them up for adoption so that the babies would have proper love and care. There are many people in this world, but not everyone is cut out to be a parent. Women are not baby-making machines, women are human beings who are more than capable to having their own thoughts; making their own decisions on whether or not to have the babies. When a woman is not ready to have babies, then precaution SHOULD BE used to prevent pregnancy. This responsibility DOES NOT SOLEY lie on the women, the men have to take action and be responsible for what they do as well. Just recently a woman gave births to 8 babies, and yet she already has 6 other children at home. I have no idea why she needs so many children, and taking fertility drugs to have so many children is against nature. It's not what God has planned for her to do. She and the babies and those 6 other children at home are going to have hardships in life for a long time!!! In conclusion: People have to be careful about devils who disguised themselves as God's messengers and tell you to do the wrong thing, as in the show that I have watched tonight. The father of the teenage girl thought he was communicating with God, and he didn't even think twice when he went on rampage to kill the innocent people. It was wrong for him to do that!!! Devils always prey on the ones who are vulnerable. Too bad!!! Sandie Angel :o(

A Butterfly in January (Poetry) - 2/2/2009 10:58:57 PM
I believe it was Crogi's spirit coming to reassure you since a butterfly in winter is so unuual. Amazingly unusual things happen with spirits and a yellow butterfly is the symbol for my love for Tom also who died aug 17 08. Butterflies are great loving critters and come what may soothe us when we see them around us.

It Was Time, Rusty; It Was Time (Poetry) - 2/2/2009 8:02:13 PM
Thank God for the memories, Harry, and the talent to capture those memories in your wonderful tribute to Rusty. -gene.

A Butterfly in January (Poetry) - 2/2/2009 2:12:26 PM
So sorry about your beloved Corgi, but your words sing of being surrounded in beauty, especially by the special butterfly that came to visit.... Be always safe, Karen

A Butterfly in January (Poetry) - 2/2/2009 5:36:15 AM
How very touching. I had just written a poem very similar called "A Butterfly in Winter" and had the same type of experience. I thought it was an amazing gift to see my butterfly in winter and it brought me joy. I'm glad it brought your wife a sense of calm and reassurance. Lovely. Best, Elizabeth

A Butterfly in January (Poetry) - 2/2/2009 3:37:28 AM
BEAUTIFUL, I LIKE IT !!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

President Obama (Poetry) - 1/31/2009 5:52:15 PM
What a relief just to see a ne face at the head of our country...it will be a struggle and take time but let us be hopeful and have faith... nice work...

President Obama (Poetry) - 1/31/2009 4:19:00 PM
I'm glad the Americans have Obama now, hopefully he will make a difference; but Americans have to be patient about everything. Sandie Angel :o)

President Obama (Poetry) - 1/31/2009 4:04:13 PM
Harry I must be a pessimist because I do not share your hope in Obama, not because he is Obama but due to the situation we find our country in. I liken it to a three legged cat with severe diherra trying to cover poop on a frozen pond. We have handed Obama a hot potato. Unfortunately, the ones responsible for heating the spud up are still in power and they have no intention of changing their ways. Let us all pray for divine intervention. Marion Dollar

President Obama (Poetry) - 1/31/2009 2:25:01 PM
Harry, I, too, am glad that Obama is giving our nation hope. But I often wonder, are we putting too much on him? What happens when the economy worsens, and he did honestly say it would. Will we forget where this recession started and blame it on him? I hope not, and I really hope he succeeds. Mary

To My Uncle Walter (Poetry) - 1/8/2009 10:04:54 AM
Harry, the uncle you never knew...lives, thanks to you. -gene.

To My Uncle Walter (Poetry) - 1/6/2009 7:46:36 PM
My mothers first love, whom she was engaged to was also killed in Normandy and she always kept all that was given to her. Sentimental write and one fantastic tribute... Be always safe, Karen

To My Uncle Walter (Poetry) - 1/6/2009 3:27:37 PM
Harry, what a beautiful tribute to your uncle...yes, time does erase all the memories of those people who were so important to their families and our country. The images you paint here are full of love, thanks, and your heartfelt wishes. I truly enjoyed this.

The Tuskegee Airmen (Poetry) - 9/24/2008 9:33:56 PM
good poem to remember the past

The Tuskegee Airmen (Poetry) - 9/24/2008 3:58:14 PM
All should be proud of their valiant display, as with all who served, we still honor our soldiers. Wonderfully historic piece of history that helps to complete the puzzle... Be always safe, Karen

Florida Has Pythons! (Poetry) - 9/14/2008 9:40:34 AM
Only 23' long, Harry?? YIKES!! That's a LOT of snake!! LOL Too much for meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!! LOL (I don't like spiders and snakes...LOL) (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

My Sickly, Old Ash (Poetry) - 8/18/2008 5:30:53 AM
Wonderfully written, Harry. I do envy your talent for rhyme. I also empathize with your empathy for your backyard ash.

My Sickly, Old Ash (Poetry) - 8/17/2008 1:13:14 PM
A wonderful poem about your tree, and something you love. And as fighting for the tree to stay alive, something we all must do. I had a rosebush, and I was positive it was dead, but underneath of it was a brand new bud. There is always hope. Mary

A Snake In The Pea Patch (Poetry) - 7/4/2008 9:48:16 PM
Loved the title, the building to climax, and the peas flying into the air, Harry! And, most especially, "Suzy the snake was safe for today." Erin Elizabeth Kelly-Moen

What Is Dead Inside Such Men? (Poetry) - 7/4/2008 5:03:05 PM
Harry, powerful poem. Worth reading again and again. I have asked myself, in my adult years, many of those questions. Still searching for the answers. When did all the horrors begin? At the cave? Thanks for sharing this. -gene.

A Snake In The Pea Patch (Poetry) - 7/4/2008 4:57:52 PM
Harry, what took me so long to get here? I love this poem. The writing is excellent. And the rhymes...! -gene.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.