AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: JoAnna Drelleshak, iSherri Smith, iSara Russell, iJ.J. Snow, iWayne Anderson, iDarryl Jenkins, iA. Colin Wright, i
 
Home > Larry Rochelle
 

Recent Reviews for Larry Rochelle


MURDER on 15/501 For Sale on AMAZON.com. (Book) - 8/27/2010 12:47:28 AM
“Chatham author completes 21st book” The Chatham Record June 18, 2009 by Bill Wilcox Chatham author Larry Rochelle has just completed his 21st book, a thriller titled “Murder on 15/501,” that is set in the bucolic, rolling hills north of Pittsboro. The fictional setting for his book is Highway 15/501, which, provides entrances into the villages of Fearrington and Deerington, two communities with opposing viewpoints on life. Fearrington is a quiet, up-scale older community of forests, deer and croquet, but Deerington presents a huge contrast with condos built in the style of Route 66 motels with garish colors, neon lights and loud music during the daylight hours. And, at night, Deerington becomes one big party scene with dancing, romancing and a Las Vegas spirit. “Out of these contrasts evolves an intricate murder scheme to bring Deerington Village down,” Rochelle said. “And in its place, the Old Testament God will rule, and Chapel Hill folks will learn to love America again.” Rochelle has had a prolific writing career and a successful one. He has won many awards for his writing, including the 2009 EPPIE National Award for his collection of poetry “Burnt Coffee.” And he has written all of his books using just one finger. “Yep, I’m a one-finger typist,” he said. “I started that way in high school. We had a very old Underwood typewriter and there was no way I could type normally on it. The keys took too much power to push down.” With each book averaging 50,000 words, that’s at least 250,000 keystrokes per book. “It takes a long time,” he said. “Until this book, I tried to get 2000 words a week, or as many as 5000, so that after nine months I have a book almost ready.” But the latest book “Murder on 15-501” took much longer because of the real-life killing that happened down the road. “I couldn’t type much at all,” he said. I could only type a couple of sentences. I couldn’t get into it. It just really inhibited me. I write murder for fun. Here was a real murder, a tragedy.” He said the murder of UNC Student Body President Eve Carson also hindered his ability to write. But now the novel is finished. He will have a reading at McIntyre’s next year. In the meantime the book can be ordered from www.lulu.com and AMAZON.com. Rochelle’s career as an author follows decades of work as an educator. He taught junior high and high school for 15 years in Ohio. In 1978 he earned his masters’ degree and took a job in Overland Park, Kansas, as a writing center director at Johnson County Community College. After two years he went back into the classroom and spent 28 years teaching English Composition, Film and Science Fiction. After moving to Fearrington Village he taught Study Skills for two years at Central Caro-lina Community College before retiring this spring. He was a member of the writers group at Fearrington for awhile, especially with the poetry group but hasn’t written a poem in a year, which he says is another aftereffect of the murder. But his writers’ block is lifting and he has high hopes for the success of his new book, which will be entered in the 2010 EPPIES in July.

TEN MILE CREEK: The Toledo Purple Gang (Book) - 8/7/2008 11:06:53 PM
Ten Mile Creek Teview Larry Rochelle, Fearrington Village Author BookSurge Publishing (2007) ISBN 9781419666650 Reviewed by Regan Windsor for Reader Views (6/07) Palmer Morel arrives at his summer coaching job feeling he has hit the jackpot. Finding his tennis pupil loaded with talent, and two gorgeous women fighting for his affection, Morel decides this may be just the escape he needs after all he’s been through. Things begin to turn badly real quick, however, when he finds himself digging into the inner workings of the Purple Gang, an underground mafia believed to have been destroyed in the 1930s. Very much alive, they seek to destroy Morel to save their secrets. In the meantime, he has also gotten himself in a love triangle that threatens self destruction. This action-packed adventure is a slice-in-time story that involves a lot of action in a very short timeline. Fasten your seatbelts as “Ten Mile Creek” will take you on a wild ride through the action-packed underworld of the mafia. Equipped with sex, drugs, murder, and corrupt cops it leaves no avenue undiscovered! Like a good roller coaster, it’s a short, but wild ride that leaves you wondering what just happened and wanting to get back on for another ride!

ARROW Flies Over Kansas (Book) - 2/22/2007 11:26:17 AM
Congratz on the new book Larry!! Love Tinka

MOODY BLUE: Elvis Visits Kansas (Book) - 1/15/2007 2:56:34 PM
I liked the comparison of "the Wizard and the King, working magic under skies rife with whirling tombs, dodging poisonous snakes raking the fields." Really shows how wonderful life really is.

Panoramic View at PITCH (Article) - 10/18/2005 11:40:10 AM
Well done yet again!! Love Tinka

City of Fountains (Article) - 10/15/2005 3:52:54 AM
Never been to any Kansas City of any kind......but still enjoyed the bit of info so to speak!! Hey you are so quiet....what happened to your poetry?? Welcome home!! Love tinka

The Muse Is Gone (Poetry) - 12/25/2012 11:12:54 AM
It begins it. I have been here before, as I could tell. For finding: that myself I have reborn But not seen, is forever to persist To gather around the seasons of space with the everlastingness of event With the layered energy as it is made of things. Into the logical fiber of the tribute: a thought arises And stays on course, slowly progressing, not done. By fear: the fear that’s been since forever, In the same space the inseparable normal good Being passed through mankind Came accessible to me: I fade into remoteness

Father's Day--1959 (Poetry) - 9/20/2012 7:26:03 AM
The day was short. the thoughts were long. my pen hand ready. my creased fingers jerked to move. my time slipping away. bright sunny days. and the moment flew on to the next way along ahead. no notice or turning of head. moments and time stepping on.

Father's Day--1959 (Poetry) - 6/15/2008 8:03:33 PM
:) Your Daddy was big and strong like mine. :) A beautiful memory - very well penned - (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Father's Day--1959 (Poetry) - 6/15/2008 7:04:58 PM
We always remember our dads in a certain way - like something that they do best; or sometimes the things they said. It's a wonder how children can remember everything. Beautiful write! Sandie Angel :o)

Calorie Count (Poetry) - 3/26/2008 5:37:06 PM
I will definitely take your advice...although I am a calorie counting chocoholic... Nice poem.

A Piece of Red Ribbon (Poetry) - 3/4/2008 10:02:56 AM
excellent visual offering of control....!! Love Tinka

The Muse Is Gone (Poetry) - 2/29/2008 12:23:24 PM
Know the feeling..when your spirit is LOW the Muse goes in hiding!! Love Tinka

Friends (Poetry) - 2/29/2008 12:22:19 PM
I am still here....OKAY!! Love Tinka

Morning Comes (Poetry) - 2/29/2008 12:21:27 PM
I do!! Love Tinka

All Quiet (Poetry) - 1/31/2008 10:32:36 AM
Rate your work and people will visit..unrated work does not show okay!! Love Tinka

No One Calls (Poetry) - 1/31/2008 10:31:36 AM
All but me tee-hee!!] Love Tinka

Jumping Off a Bridge (Poetry) - 1/31/2008 10:30:57 AM
Yip!! Love Tinka

No One Knows (Poetry) - 12/17/2007 5:47:11 PM
An interesting write, with wonderful images...but poor puppies! LOL Well done, Larry. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. Your Muse went in a different direction with this winner.

Intimations (Poetry) - 12/15/2007 7:28:27 PM
And it's a good thing; I don't think I could tolerate this o'l carcase for another half century! ;)

Golf Course Romance (Poetry) - 12/11/2007 6:13:52 AM
Larry, Love on the green...isn't that a hazard? LOL Enjoyed the playfulness of this one, well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Confide in Me (Poetry) - 12/10/2007 9:19:17 AM
Unspoken messages, with just a look, a touch...exquisite communication, Larry. Well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Attention Wal-Mart Shoppers (Poetry) - 12/5/2007 10:37:27 PM
Sadly, a lot of what you buy EVERYWHERE is foreign made. It is getting so "made in America" is going the way of the dinosaur. God bless you. Kathy

Attention Wal-Mart Shoppers (Poetry) - 12/5/2007 6:32:32 PM
Right on. But I like the fact that you can find goods from more than China now. I like trading with different countries. I believe it comes back to us in better relationships. It's just that we need to make and manufacture in the USA also. Then the footing would be more equal. Child labor, no way and I don't care what nation it is in. And I don't like the Kid's Nation survival show stressing out children for entertainment. I saw 5 minutes and watched no more. Great poem. Liz

Attention Wal-Mart Shoppers (Poetry) - 12/5/2007 1:01:25 PM
Having worked in minimum wage jobs, I have a certain point of view when it comes to employee/customer relations. I think it's hard for a lot of min. wage workers to care about people if they feel their workplace doesn't care for them. Maybe that's hard for some to understand. But consider that with things like rising gas prices, it's harder for lower wage workers to make ends meet if their standard of living is not increased appropriately. I was lucky to work very close to my home. But a lot of people I worked with lived further away. And traveling gets harder when prices increase faster than wages. This is only one issue, but one that people with higher paying jobs may not consider. Especially when many wal-mart customers make more money than the people greeting them.

Attention Wal-Mart Shoppers (Poetry) - 12/5/2007 12:58:20 PM
Funny but how true, I like this.

Attention Wal-Mart Shoppers (Poetry) - 12/5/2007 10:59:28 AM
very well written. This points out a much bigger problem than what greetings we use. Larry

Attention Wal-Mart Shoppers (Poetry) - 12/5/2007 9:19:06 AM
They also discriminate against people who are disabled or older. I know; it happened to me. I was fired on account of my age/disability. Sad! Never did persue it; who's gonna win against a giant like Wal*Mart?? It's crazy!! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :(

Attention Wal-Mart Shoppers (Poetry) - 12/5/2007 6:32:36 AM
Sam Walton would be rolling over in his grave if he saw the monster Wal Mart has become...shame. An excellent, SPOT ON write, Larry, well done. Problem is, the only store 'round these parts is Wal Mart, or else I'd avoid it at all costs. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. Worked there for three weeks, they fired my twin sister because of age and disability--too slow--how you gonna fight Wal Mart????

She Called Me Academia (Poetry) - 12/4/2007 1:32:44 PM
All I could picture was a basket of holiday nuts. Academia nuts. enjoyed

Apparatus (Poetry) - 12/4/2007 7:17:07 AM
Yep--'cause HE ain't fightin' the war. Using and abusing...sad. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Mr. Spoon (Poetry) - 11/21/2007 10:15:37 PM
Getting into the Thanksgiving "cheer" a bit early, I see. LOL How about changing his name to Mr. Shovel? ummmm, Nah! God bless you. Kathy

Mr. Spoon (Poetry) - 11/21/2007 4:52:53 AM
Too funny; thanks for the smiles! Very well penned; bravo! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D Happy Thanksgiving!

Mr. Spoon (Poetry) - 11/20/2007 9:50:36 PM
Hahaha! I have yet to know of anyone named Mr. Spoon. Guess it's an interesting unique name. Sandie May Joyce :o)

Mr. Spoon (Poetry) - 11/20/2007 7:34:30 PM
Laughing too hard to review-- Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours-- (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Santa Tames the Wolf (Poetry) - 11/18/2007 10:18:54 PM
The moral of this story - fly right, or suffer at whim. (SAW) it coming? God bless you. Kathy

Santa Tames the Wolf (Poetry) - 11/18/2007 8:15:34 PM
Laughing too hard to review--you sure know how to tell a tail!!!!!

Action in the Playpen (Poetry) - 11/17/2007 1:30:55 PM
A powerful pen you've written about. A child's safety is paramount. Well said. God bless you. Kathy

Action in the Playpen (Poetry) - 11/16/2007 7:27:03 PM
They sure do, until the little guys/gals learn to climb, and then it's Katie, bar the door! Excellent write, Larry. Know what else works? Leashes. *gasp* Know I'm in for it now...LOL (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Santa Visits the Topless Bar (Poetry) - 11/15/2007 10:59:17 AM
Larry... alway a pleasure to read your poems.. and laugh! ho ho ho

Santa Visits the Topless Bar (Poetry) - 11/15/2007 6:59:17 AM
He may have lost his shirt, but ho ho ho what a merry night. lol God bless you. Kathy

Santa Visits the Topless Bar (Poetry) - 11/15/2007 5:48:41 AM
LOL Those blinkin' boobs near Anchorage will get ya every time. LOL Enjoyed watching Santa get a bit...uncomfortable...okay, a LOT uncomfortable, when he walks home, shirtless, in the chill of the Northland. Funny stuff, Larry, well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

The Crack by Dawn (Poetry) - 11/14/2007 7:18:51 PM
Smart aleck cracks are genuinely dumb and perpetrate the notion that there's nothing between their ears except air. Kathy

Why Tooth Fairies Are Necessary in NASCAR Racing (Poetry) - 11/14/2007 8:52:11 AM
The tooth fairy, even for children, needs big bucks. I remember getting a dime was a lot of money. Now the grandchildren get $1 or $5 - talk about inflation. Kathy

Why Tooth Fairies Are Necessary in NASCAR Racing (Poetry) - 11/13/2007 1:12:27 PM
Love it! Cute one! LOL

Why Tooth Fairies Are Necessary in NASCAR Racing (Poetry) - 11/13/2007 9:42:28 AM
Thanks for the grin; ya think they have any job openings for ogre's & such...Ed

Why Tooth Fairies Are Necessary in NASCAR Racing (Poetry) - 11/13/2007 8:42:44 AM
LOL Loving NASCAR as I do, I loved this write! And as a fanny pack wearer, myself, thank you for giving me a new idea for a career! Whoo-hooo, combining making money and being at the races, cool beans!! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

My Picture of Heaven (Poetry) - 11/12/2007 9:23:48 PM
As a woman, I appreciate your poem and its message to be more sensitive and caring of our gender. Thank you! God bless you. Kathy

My Picture of Heaven (Poetry) - 11/12/2007 6:37:32 PM
LOL Well done, Larry. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

My Momma Told Me (Poetry) - 11/12/2007 8:32:21 AM
Mom's always have words of wisdom, whether we want to hear them or not. My Mom always said have faith and trust in God, and I do. Kathy

My Momma Told Me (Poetry) - 11/12/2007 7:50:26 AM
Larry, You say a lot here. Powerful lines, especially, believe in God, yes, but reject those who would interpret the Lord in their own warped ways Amen. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Flim-Flam (Poetry) - 11/11/2007 6:12:04 AM
Flim-flam...no wonder people mistrust religion, when so-called "preachers" rob their congregations blind...an excellent, heartbreaking write, Larry, well done. ((((HUGS)))) and love, Karla.

Guns Out (Poetry) - 11/8/2007 10:36:33 AM
An intriguing look into what goes through the mind of police officers when looking for a fugitive. Love. Kathy

Hemingway Tried First (Poetry) - 11/7/2007 8:29:38 PM
Larry, Someone determined enough to die will find a way--have even seen people will themselves to death. They give up. Fortunately, in my case, I never carried through. Look at what I would have missed out on: my words, for one! Sadness in these lines, well penned. However, I don't think Hemingway was the first: I think Judas was, when he hung himself after betraying Christ with a kiss. Could be others, earlier than that... (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Hemingway Tried First (Poetry) - 11/7/2007 7:11:20 PM
Your poem is food for thought, for a lifetime. The direction of our life is our choice, and sometimes the choice will end with our death - be it through stupidity, carelessness, or our own hand. Kathy

Guns Out (Poetry) - 11/7/2007 11:59:52 AM
I enjoyed this, a look inside. Walt

A Domestic (Poetry) - 11/5/2007 7:58:57 AM
Domestic violence is becoming a bigger and bigger problem with each day. I can't understand this. It breaks my heart whenever I hear of a murder/suicide resulting from this violence. Your poem is well written and the message is clear, as are the images. Kathy

Coach Williams at the Luncheon (Poetry) - 11/2/2007 1:30:59 PM
Glad he was able to control his fall. Don't know him, but there must be an underlying truth to your poem. Sorry :( Kathy

CD Find at Carrboro Flea Market (Poetry) - 11/1/2007 5:47:40 PM
Excellent. Love the imagery and lines you use, Larry. One just doesn't read, they experience your words. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

CD Find at Carrboro Flea Market (Poetry) - 11/1/2007 10:46:16 AM
Treasures come in all kinds of packaging. Sounds like you found an exquisite one. Don't know the name, but now I have to check it out. Thanks. Kathy

Back Row at the Varsity (Poetry) - 10/31/2007 12:51:19 PM
Adultry - Nothing can surpass it. Hope no one gets caught or hurt in the process. Kathy

Lovin' the Electric (Poetry) - 10/30/2007 11:02:53 AM
Short-circuited her marriage - or was it already burned out? Kathy

Near James Taylor Bridge (Poetry) - 10/30/2007 10:41:11 AM
Hope it was worth it to her - lieing and cheating. Kathy

Souls Chase Echoes (Poetry) - 10/27/2007 9:03:11 AM
This is lovely.

At the Boutique (Poetry) - 10/26/2007 2:16:49 PM
What a wonderful tryst. Sounds like every man's dream come true. Kathy

Waiting for Your Call (Poetry) - 10/23/2007 1:24:15 PM
A bit errie for me. Sounds like a story you'd hear around the campfire wanting to scare folks. Kathy

Breaking It Off (Poetry) - 10/23/2007 11:49:12 AM
Sometimes it just takes the other person a little bit longer to figure out and see what is right in front of them. Maybe the caveman thing would work -- lol -- club her and drag her home. Kathy

How Do You Say Good-bye (Poetry) - 10/23/2007 10:57:44 AM
Rather like "if a tree falls in the forest, does it make a sound?" But, I think you can still say "good-bye" if only for yourself. Closure is always a good thing in life. Kathy

Black Widow's Bite (Poetry) - 10/22/2007 6:11:13 PM
GAD I hate spiders: thank you, Larry, if I have nightmares of arachnids, I'm blaming you!! Very creepy, but effectively penned. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. What I fear more than Widows are brown recluse: been bitten four times by them. *cringe*

Breaking It Off (Poetry) - 10/22/2007 6:10:00 PM
One sided love, one sided conversations lead to loneliness...I hear you here, Larry, well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Black Widow's Bite (Poetry) - 10/18/2007 4:25:37 PM
Good poem. I am not a big fan of Black Widows myself. I live in the desert and maybe one Black Widow a year makes into my home.

Deep Woods at the Botanical (Poetry) - 10/16/2007 7:19:05 AM
It makes me really mad - high society events replete with staggering amounts of food for "goofy" causes and the aftermath of food waste. And, then the homeless "feast" on what's leftover. Wouldn't it be amazing if they had such a feast and invited the homeless to eat. But, then of course the socialites wouldn't attend. Arghhh! Kathy

False Christianity (Poetry) - 10/9/2007 6:25:24 AM
How sad! Kathy

False Christianity (Poetry) - 10/8/2007 11:11:18 AM
Is a "false liberal" one who pretends to be tolerant but is not?

False Christianity (Poetry) - 10/5/2007 2:37:54 PM
nothing "christian" here the gospel is a radical thing --- radical because it cuts to the very roots of our assumptions a thought provoking write john+

False Christianity (Poetry) - 10/4/2007 11:38:10 PM
I guess it just shows that government and religion should be kept seperate. Just think though...with lower taxes, that crowd would have alot more money to help those in need instead of paying for an inept goverment beauracracy that is incapable of managing the most trivial affairs ($12 for a loaf of white bread is what you get with that). Edwin

False Christianity (Poetry) - 10/4/2007 3:21:28 PM
Hmmmm. I have to think about this one. I would like to have been there to experience it. We sure do a lot of things in the name of religion, don't we?

False Christianity (Poetry) - 10/4/2007 2:29:50 PM
Excellent! 'Nuff said!

Belching Fire (Poetry) - 10/3/2007 9:43:11 PM
It's good. I don't get the last line though--has a lot of meanings. Perhaps you mean them all.--Charlie

Elmo’s Diner Line-Up (Poetry) - 10/1/2007 5:28:01 PM
Ah, those incredible diner waitress. Always a friendly smile, a quit wit and an incredible laugh. Makes you wonder where they eat. LOL Kathy

Mocha and Mystery (Poetry) - 10/1/2007 8:29:55 AM
So, what's the next chapter in this mocha & mystery? Aw, who needs the book - I've got an imagination. Kathy

The Hospital Visit (Poetry) - 9/26/2007 9:53:30 AM
Those moments in time - the fear, the need to get children taken care of, the moments passing way to slowly, the answers that make no sense, and finally relief. Your did this myriad of events and emotions true poetic justice. Kathy

The Hospital Visit (Poetry) - 9/24/2007 7:12:42 PM
One feels the tension, the worry, in your words, Larry: well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Death Fangs (Poetry) - 9/24/2007 5:57:27 AM
You have successfully brought the ferocity of this fight right to the ending. The conflict is graphic and clear in its escalation and events. Thanks and very best regards Chris

Dispatch with Speed (Poetry) - 9/23/2007 12:55:17 PM
The 911 operator - such a 'heavy' job. Well penned with an edition of hope, which I'm sure what each one feels as they dispatch help. Kathy

Dry Pine Straw (Poetry) - 9/21/2007 11:59:47 AM
Farmers relying on their crops to help them make it through the winter --- yep, but give them just the right amount of rain, please no flood nor drought. Kathy

Dry Pine Straw (Poetry) - 9/20/2007 8:18:37 AM
A wonderful, atmospheric poem that takes you instantly along with it.

Dry Pine Straw (Poetry) - 9/20/2007 2:38:39 AM
The killing drought..... The farmers nightmare and the fires freind. Nice pictures found in these words. thank you Chris

Dry Pine Straw (Poetry) - 9/20/2007 12:02:53 AM
...well written visuals...summer...where even the asphalt does not hear the rains tears...in heat. enjoyed... John

Dry Pine Straw (Poetry) - 9/19/2007 10:16:38 PM
I love your imagery, Larry, I've said it before, I'll say it again: I love your imagery. :) Seriously: so few words pack a vivid punch, one sees the scene unfolding before the eyes. Excellent. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Down to Earth, Earthy (Poetry) - 9/17/2007 7:29:56 PM
vivid characterization of a person whose roots are embedded in life ...

Down to Earth, Earthy (Poetry) - 9/17/2007 5:41:45 PM
Larry, Your character portraitures are spot on in perfect, succinct lines: no wasted motion, no wasted words. There is down home reality to your worlds, you take us there. Well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

In the Silence (Poetry) - 9/17/2007 12:41:49 PM
Great write Walter!! Love Tinka

In the Silence (Poetry) - 9/17/2007 8:47:19 AM
Truly romantic --- all he wanted was her. Such a beautiful write about longing. Kathy

Lonesome Cajun Fiddle (Poetry) - 9/16/2007 10:37:03 AM
A touching poem and I can hear the lonesome cajun fiddle.

Lonesome Cajun Fiddle (Poetry) - 9/16/2007 10:20:12 AM
Moving write Larry!! Love Tinka

Lonesome Cajun Fiddle (Poetry) - 9/15/2007 8:28:49 PM
Larry, The sad, haunting strains of a lonely Cajun fiddle are poignantly heard in these lines of longing; well done! I don't always get to review, but I love the way you pack so much imagery in your poetry. I do read your work; you're one of the best here. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Lonesome Cajun Fiddle (Poetry) - 9/15/2007 8:02:11 PM
Larry, As one who dearly loves the sound of a Cajun Fiddle, you plucked my heartstrings with this one. Very pleasing little number you have penned; enjoyed this one! BRAVO! Saving it! (((HUGS))) and much love, your Cajun Music-Lovin' Friend in Texas, Karen Lynn. :D *Aaiiieee!!* :D

Lonesome Cajun Fiddle (Poetry) - 9/15/2007 5:46:25 PM
A lament of the heart - wonderfully portrayed. Peace, Kathy

The Shack off the Highway (Poetry) - 9/14/2007 6:48:34 PM
This was a beautiful collection of words!

Without Katie (Poetry) - 9/6/2007 8:49:55 AM
beautiful

Franklin Street (Poetry) - 9/1/2007 2:46:16 PM
A real picture of a girl searching for romance. This could make a great story.

Addition/Subtraction (Poetry) - 8/30/2007 6:38:13 PM
So true, so many remain insular. Not like the days of old.."Good morning Mrs Smith, how's the kids" "fine, now give me hald a pound of yer best back rasher, hows Freds back?"

The Meaning of Lux (Poetry) - 8/27/2007 7:04:41 PM
I couldn't help but think that the glow mentioned, that lasts even after love's deep ardor burns to ashes, might feel a little cold. But it doesn't have to be I see. I really like how this was written. Nicely done! ((Hugs and LOve)) ~SilentDream

The Meaning of Lux (Poetry) - 8/27/2007 4:10:43 PM
well i had to go and check out what the word 'lux' meant coz id never heard of it before. i think what youre saying here is beautiful in that it isnt the purchase itself but also the way it is presented that brings the glow to the heart/face of the person presented it. and even if something goes awry and the two split up for whatever reason they will both still remember the way love was presented... be it in a huge 'marry me now' at a baseball game kinda way or a 'what this ring doing in my glass' kinda way... interesting idea.

No Real Intimacy (Poetry) - 8/27/2007 7:48:50 AM
Exquisite poetry that paints a very real picture, for me.Jen

Hideout (Poetry) - 8/18/2007 6:41:49 PM
This was delightful! An excellent display of expression

Hideout (Poetry) - 8/18/2007 6:34:52 PM
Fantastic capture of such a situation!

When Angels Act (Poetry) - 8/10/2007 10:16:58 PM
Very beautiful truth.

The Rush of Turtles, The Pause of Magic (Poetry) - 8/9/2007 5:40:00 AM
Poor little thing. Sounds like he got away in the end though. An original and suspense filled poem & well written too. I love turtles. Thanks.

Mixed-Up in Religion (Poetry) - 8/8/2007 5:21:35 AM
id love to go to an ice cream social. i have no idea what one is but if it involves ice cream... but im thinking youve been to one too many? and hung out with these people who dont swear, dont tell rude jokes [or seem to have any sense of humour at all] and have felt completely uncomfortable. i think its crazy but you have painted a completely accurate picture of conservative christian like ppl. you know... i go to church and my pastor never fails to shock me. i will ALWAYS remember when my best friend spat her drink through her nose at my birthday BBQ when the pastor told someone to step out of his sunlight coz he was a solar powered sex machine [being bald and all] YE GODS!! HAHAHAH! anyways yup... a lot of religious people do live so far from reality its hard to connect with them...

Talons of Red and Purple (Poetry) - 7/31/2007 3:10:55 PM
Very creative.

No Mood Ring (Poetry) - 7/30/2007 2:20:11 PM
Almost all good and a little sad...So well done.Jen

She Already Knew (Poetry) - 7/27/2007 7:46:31 AM
Yep. And boy, will she be in for a big surprise! Very good.

Pine Needles on Red Brick (Poetry) - 7/26/2007 6:41:48 PM
An era that may not be so very far away ifin we look closely at today.

Since You Moved (Poetry) - 7/22/2007 5:47:54 PM
Nice work!!! It takes poets like u to help keep poetry alive!!!!!

Take What She Can Give (Poetry) - 7/20/2007 1:59:15 AM
none of this can be forced and learn only that she gives to you what she can. rings true tyo me. Bom Bhole! Roshan

Get Your Wig On (Poetry) - 7/18/2007 7:16:25 PM
wicked little thing; the poem and the woman :} .ness.

The Love/Hate Computer (Poetry) - 7/17/2007 4:57:50 AM
Interesting pen indeed...Hugssss

All Clear (Poetry) - 7/15/2007 4:53:21 PM
Ain't it the truth!

Iraq's Lost Anger (Poetry) - 7/14/2007 8:16:24 AM
Spot on--not only the soldiers, but innocent children and women...tragic.

Persistence of Wisdom (Poetry) - 7/12/2007 7:08:15 PM
this is good...the theme is one more than a few can relate to...the concise construction of this work adds to its power. Splendid job!

Night Light (Poetry) - 7/1/2007 10:50:28 AM
I get moonstruck myself.....and being bluemoon last night I guess I've got it BAD!! Love Tinka :P

Forest Fireflies (Poetry) - 7/1/2007 6:02:16 AM
Awesome write....I great imagery!! Love Tinka

Night Light (Poetry) - 6/30/2007 12:45:41 PM
Good write that I understand, being one of the weak who has trouble with the full moon. Bless you...JDM

Cool Wind (Poetry) - 6/28/2007 4:19:06 PM
Larry, a nice picture you've painted here, I could sense everything happening in every line...I sure did like this!

Cool Wind (Poetry) - 6/28/2007 3:04:51 PM
very nice

Cool Wind (Poetry) - 6/28/2007 12:14:48 PM
Nicely done,reminds me of long ago on the lake, thanks

Cool Wind (Poetry) - 6/28/2007 4:58:56 AM
Lovely imagery Larry, well done. Waves of love }}}}}}}} Barbara

Notions of Palmistry (Poetry) - 6/26/2007 5:39:48 PM
yes, I see it you will be a hero of hero's, you will come into a great deal of money and have women throwing themselves at your feet; No wait I was reading it upside down. ;0)

Notions of Palmistry (Poetry) - 6/26/2007 11:10:35 AM
I liked this...kinda spooky....mysterious...a bit magical, but in the end simply a man searching for answers... This is a well written piece of verse.

Pale Blue (Poetry) - 6/25/2007 3:11:36 PM
Vividly painted in just a few apt words...nicely done! I can see her! What a memory!

Opening Katie's Treasure Box (Poetry) - 6/19/2007 1:28:25 PM
Wow, heartfelt and very emotional. The story was well written and very sweet. Keep up the great work, Mrs. Cooper

At Home, After (Poetry) - 6/15/2007 10:08:01 AM
Well written Larry!! Love Tinka

He's Out There (Poetry) - 6/13/2007 5:39:56 AM
Interesting pen

Katie's Relapse (Poetry) - 6/12/2007 3:40:33 AM
Poetry by a mystery writer? Perfect and powerful. Fabulous! L.

Requiem (Poetry) - 6/11/2007 4:14:49 PM
did you teach at JCCC? Your name is familiar...liked the poem, but adding more structure might air it out a little, which of course my not be what you want.

Katie's Relapse (Poetry) - 6/10/2007 1:22:46 PM
This really captures the intensity of "Katie's relapse.

Katie's Relapse (Poetry) - 6/10/2007 1:13:52 PM
Oh, wow. That was a powerful piece. Your description is very emotionally precise.

Take Your Child to Work (Poetry) - 6/2/2007 11:58:04 AM
Yuck!! Love Tinka

Break-in (Poetry) - 6/2/2007 10:13:43 AM
Excellent....you know how to capture the real picture with words!! Love Tinka

Take Your Child to Work (Poetry) - 6/1/2007 7:14:32 PM
Funny :) Thank god she didn't work in the morgue :)

Break-in (Poetry) - 6/1/2007 4:04:08 AM
Very good! This flowed like butter.

Break-in (Poetry) - 5/31/2007 6:32:06 PM
I can dig it!

Tracing (Poetry) - 5/30/2007 4:37:43 PM
I think brass rubbing would be more fun! :)

Tracing (Poetry) - 5/30/2007 11:20:52 AM
Sensual delight....that tracing thingy!! love Tinka

Poisons (Poetry) - 5/28/2007 9:54:43 AM
Interesting write....I guess "issues" does rob our smiles...it does mine!! Love Tinka

Report Card Missing (Poetry) - 5/27/2007 10:04:08 AM
yeah great story/poem enjoyed

Report Card Missing (Poetry) - 5/24/2007 11:40:01 PM
You created a adventure in this write.Great

Report Card Missing (Poetry) - 5/24/2007 7:03:06 PM
Oh, my, Larry, taut verse has me wondering what will happen next. Well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

At the Town Square (Poetry) - 5/24/2007 11:37:10 AM
Wonderful offering filled with "Life" Love Tinka

Avoidance Reaction (Poetry) - 5/22/2007 7:06:09 PM
interesting write

Katie's Nightmare (Poetry) - 5/21/2007 2:58:27 PM
Larry, a good one. I remember those Ohio days. Tiffin is my hometown, Elizabeth

Katie's Nightmare (Poetry) - 5/21/2007 11:24:16 AM
Oh My...you do have a way with words....well done!! Love Tinka

A Note Posted at My Work (Poetry) - 5/20/2007 6:35:14 AM
I am speechless....there a BAD people out there my friend!! Hope you are safe by now Larry!! Love Tinka

From Jen's Diary (Poetry) - 5/19/2007 10:21:17 AM
What great imagery this is.....from hurry scurry to complete isolation!! Love Tinka

Moving In (Poetry) - 5/18/2007 8:12:33 AM
i guess that's the way it goes

Psychiatric Report (Poetry) - 5/17/2007 6:53:57 AM
Interesting indeed...HUgss

Psychiatric Report (Poetry) - 5/17/2007 4:01:37 AM
Hmmmm, it defies reason and sense, so much for shrinks eh Ch'erie

Psychiatric Report (Poetry) - 5/17/2007 3:34:25 AM
How much does he charge? Lol - Nicky x

When the Police Arrived (Poetry) - 5/16/2007 3:35:14 AM
Vividly imaged, the scene unfolds before the eyes...excellently captured in engaging verse, Larry! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Motel Flophouse Under Siege (Poetry) - 5/14/2007 1:32:35 PM
this would make an outstanding lead into a story...there is a lot not being said here, which allows the reader to fill in the gaps...the suspense if great filling the reader with ominous expectation.

Motel Flophouse Under Siege (Poetry) - 5/13/2007 10:26:11 AM
Wow...this was well written....great work here!! Love Tinka

Motel Flophouse Under Siege (Poetry) - 5/13/2007 4:47:21 AM
More, please! Excellent poem, Larry! :)

Motel Flophouse Under Siege (Poetry) - 5/12/2007 8:08:25 PM
This poem has me in suspense.Great write

The Phone Call (Poetry) - 5/11/2007 12:25:09 PM
Profound offering!! Love Tinka

Razor Wire (Poetry) - 5/10/2007 10:06:31 AM
Good ending!! Love Tinka

Backroom (Poetry) - 5/9/2007 10:49:12 AM
No Comment...naughty!! Love Tinka

Pure Coffee (Poetry) - 5/8/2007 10:10:07 AM
Par excellence!! Love Tinka

Pure Coffee (Poetry) - 5/7/2007 8:30:05 PM
You really made a masterpiece with this one.Enjoyed.

Short Circuit (Poetry) - 5/6/2007 9:25:02 AM
Well penned......knowing the feeling of a anniversary ruined many times!! Love Tinka

Short Circuit (Poetry) - 5/5/2007 10:42:59 PM
Nice one!! Very nice. Glorious anticipation and passion in vividly imaged lines, as only you can do: well done, Larry. (((HUGS))) and love, karla. STAY SAFE

Dear Jack (Poetry) - 5/5/2007 8:09:34 AM
Emotive offering!! Love Tinka

Dear Jack (Poetry) - 5/4/2007 11:20:31 PM
This really highlights life.Great write.

Dear Jack (Poetry) - 5/4/2007 8:30:13 PM
Deep thoughts and emotions run through this one, Larry, well penned! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. The ending stanza MOST powerful.

When Your Husband Came Home (Poetry) - 5/4/2007 11:01:11 AM
The optimal portrayal of infidelity!! Love Tinka

When Your Husband Came Home (Poetry) - 5/4/2007 8:00:03 AM
Oh myyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

When Your Husband Came Home (Poetry) - 5/3/2007 6:22:00 PM
Oh,my--a poignant portrayal of infidelity, excellently penned. Well done, Larry! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Before the Kids Come Home (Poetry) - 5/3/2007 1:33:28 PM
Glorious, passionate anticipation in this one, Larry, well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Before the Kids Come Home (Poetry) - 5/3/2007 10:22:21 AM
Have you been....for two hours??? Nevermind...enjoyed this one!! Love Tinka

Before the Kids Come Home (Poetry) - 5/3/2007 6:44:45 AM
Larry, As Sue says, treasure those hours. Enjoyed reading this. Many blessings, ~Linda

Before the Kids Come Home (Poetry) - 5/2/2007 5:53:19 PM
treasure those hours, two hours can be a great long time

Steps (Poetry) - 5/1/2007 8:02:23 PM
This has such depth to its actions. Loved It.

Short Skirt (Poetry) - 4/29/2007 10:44:28 AM
Even a pastor is but a man. lol Nice visuals in this tongue-in-cheek write. Enjoyed the read. Chanti

Short Skirt (Poetry) - 4/29/2007 2:38:06 AM
can't escape human nature ...

Short Skirt (Poetry) - 4/28/2007 7:58:55 PM
Well done, Larry, you've captured temptation (and falling into it) in engaging, illustrative perfection! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Short Skirt (Poetry) - 4/28/2007 3:09:13 PM
LOL, I feel guilty but I can't help looking at the ladies with cute butts and pretty faces. It's all Eve's fault, maybe apples should be banned...

Short Skirt (Poetry) - 4/28/2007 3:03:33 PM
What are you looking at when you go to church??? Naughty boy's out there huh?? Love Tinka :)

Short Skirt (Poetry) - 4/28/2007 2:44:14 PM
Delightful imagery Larry! I am afraid I am guilty of such voyerism myself at times...... :-)

Your New “Do” (Poetry) - 4/28/2007 12:01:19 PM
Interesting write!! But I do like it...well done!! Love Tinka

Your New “Do” (Poetry) - 4/27/2007 6:36:27 PM
Well, sir, if this doesn't stir the imagination!! Well done!

Your New “Do” (Poetry) - 4/27/2007 6:02:26 PM
Sounds like mountain dew to me bro

Holding Hell Over Your Head (Poetry) - 4/17/2007 7:07:15 AM
This is very odd and juvenile.

Tumbling (Poetry) - 4/15/2007 9:50:35 PM
Larry, Beauty until reality rolls us into a cravasse one cannot escape from...innocence of childhood taken away...well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Flight Fright (Poetry) - 4/14/2007 11:33:31 AM
My Goodness what horrifying imagery......very well done!! Love Tinka

April Goodbye (Poetry) - 4/14/2007 9:46:23 AM
Very well written!! Love Tinka

Noon Hour Artist (Poetry) - 4/11/2007 6:47:25 AM
Outstanding. I could see him there, this is excellent poetry, beautiful imagery. Reindeer

Noon Hour Artist (Poetry) - 4/10/2007 9:27:39 PM
Beautiful imagery, Larry, as only you can do: you paint the scene in vivid verse. Well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Stop the Crucifixion (Poetry) - 4/6/2007 11:01:11 AM
I totally agree with Karla and Donna!! Excellent!! Happy Easter my frind!! Love Tinka

Stop the Crucifixion (Poetry) - 4/5/2007 4:09:37 PM
Larry, "...hiding themselves in the crowd, swarming forward, trying to see the violence and secretly hoping for the mystique of cruelty, ...." GAD what strong images these lines hold: the very same ones who listened to His teachings, who were healed by His hands, who believed, betrayed Him at the end. It continues to this day: they believe when it's convenient for THEM. Excellent, excellent reminder! A keeper--thank you. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Stop the Crucifixion (Poetry) - 4/5/2007 4:08:49 PM
wow. that's is full of vinegar and piss. different approach to the deed. i like the format and your combination of modernity to the crucifixtion. thanks, ~D.

Pinning Photos (Poetry) - 4/5/2007 5:55:19 AM
Interesting poem...Happy Easter!! Love Tinka

Primates Hold Hands (Poetry) - 4/3/2007 11:19:57 AM
Well written!! Love Tinka

Wives (Poetry) - 4/2/2007 1:37:39 PM
Hahahahaha..."You'll know you lost the battle when she gets you to pee.... sitting down. This rings a bell.....say no more!! You'll know you lost the battle when she gets you to pee.... sitting down. Love Tinka

Eight Times a Night? (Poetry) - 4/1/2007 10:16:26 AM
eight times a night? four times yeah even five once, but I think I would be to tired if he tried any more then that lol.

Eight Times a Night? (Poetry) - 4/1/2007 5:26:13 AM
hahahaha....a "V 8" that's what I would call it in my language "weer uit" ( fell out AGAIN ) in other words..in-out 8 times and fall to sleep without actually getting "there"....lol!! love Tinka :))))

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.