AuthorsDen.com  Join | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Pamela Ackerson, iT. Cline, iDave Cole, iMiranda Pope, iCharles Neff, iAlan Cook, iMarty Young, i
 
Home > Jodee C Kulp
 

Recent Reviews for Jodee C Kulp


The Whitest Wall - Book One Bootleg Brother's Trilogy (Book) - 1/4/2009 9:45:06 AM
Ms. Kulp, thank you for alerting me to your book, The Whitest Wall. I知 sorry it took me so long to read it. I知 a slow reader and the holidays got in the way. I wish I had your private email to send this to because I知 not crazy about posting reviews on AuthorsDen or Amazon where anyone can see them. You have an excellent command of story telling, including exceptional physical descriptions of setting, characters and tone. I especially like your talent for turning a phrase. The one disappointment I had with the novel was that since it痴 a trilogy, I知 not sure I figured out the mystery. I値l have to wait for Tiger Butterfly or Different Beats. I found the story interesting from start to finish. I知 the kind of reader that likes lots of action, and there were plenty of twists, turns and intertwining to keep me reading. While character conflict is minimal, the potential is always there. I liked Reggae, and learned a lot from him about middle-to-upper class black people. I liked Gunner also, but thought he was a little too preachy too soon with young Q. And I especially liked and appreciated the Cast Introduction at the beginning of the novel. That was a lifesaver for a reader like me who continually loses track of who痴 who. It痴 interesting to me that The Whitest Wall is primarily marketed as a book about Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders. To me the book is about discrimination, discrimination against all that is not white -- ethnic 田olor, disability, and even shades of grayness (i.e., anything perceived as 鍍oo different, including religious beliefs). It痴 about how discrimination not only pervades our culture but lessens it, yet doesn稚 have to, that personal introspection and reaching out through curiosity, respect and even innocence can overcome this shortcoming and raise us, raise America, to new levels. Ms. Kulp, I really appreciate the lessons gained from reading your novel. I wish you all the best of luck with your future work. Terry

The Whitest Wall - Book One Bootleg Brother's Trilogy (Book) - 11/13/2008 2:27:46 PM
Jodee Kulp has created a new third-person Catcher in the Rye! Review by Lyelle Palmer, Ph.D., Special Education Professor Emeritus, Winona State University, Minnesota. lpalmer.winona.edu Kulp captures the chaotic turmoil of culturally-muddled miscommunication and FAS brain fog of lost-boy Kevin, a 21-year-old going-on-ten jailed for murder, seemingly by his own matter-of-fact confession. Walls surround the characters as the culture of a stable, rural lily-white community braces for an influx of racial minorities and city dwellers seeking a more relaxed lifestyle. A possible serial killer presents a sinister unease in this paradise. We live in external and internal worlds謡hat if the internal world did not exist for you? What if you had no pictures, remembrances, no images of future, possibilities, eventualies. What if you were always shocked when awakening from the grayness of sleep by the sudden vividness of the real world? Walls of multi-cultural and ethnic differences, language, mores, dress, worship and foods can be breached as people get to know each other. But the whitest wall of all is inside Kevin, whose every awakening is an abrupt screaming perceptual shock. Imagine not being able to imagine--unable to project ahead possible causes and effects or to remember and to learn from his past, living only in the literal present, he is bewildered to find himself behind bars where his fly entertainment antics annoy and enrage rather than entertain his cellmates. His innocence would be charming and cute if it were not so indicative of the legacy of scrambled brain cells his mother created in him in her sodden search to wall out the real world and drown her deep emotions of despair. Kevin has learned only one culture--that of the slang gang using hood hip-hop and cop-out; communicating in the rural mainstream strains beyond credulity. The old saying, 的f you had half a brain, you would know would apply to Kevin, except that he has less than half a brain, although he appears to be a regular young man with a strong desire to please. To the sheriff痴 question, ..Do you know why you are here? Kevin replied, 的 killed doc Johnson. Is this a simple open and shut case? The warp and woof of the story line present a dramatic and complex set of young characters who learn about life and being an adult in different ways, from family, elders, sexual encounters, advice and threats. If only Kevin had the ability to learn, he might have a chance for survival in a world that can be treacherous and dangerous when you hang out with the wrong crowd. Kulp has an impressive grasp of non-mainstream cultures and the ability to present speeches in dramatic and sensitive settings. This story will connect with inner-city minority kids and young adults. We all do stupid things in our youth, but we learn from escapades and develop the maturity that comes from experience. We explore cultures and develop abilities to understand and communicate in several cultures. What if we knew only one culture, one language, one family, one neighborhood? Travel broadens, but for the alcohol-challenged, one can get lost様ost in the bottle, lost in the world, lost to friends, lost to family, ultimately living with a lost brain. Kulp makes these lessons not only palatable, but intriguing with clues, characters and sub-plots that lure young readers on into enlightened understanding. Everyone wonders why certain people do things that appear strange to us. Since communication and miscommunication is an issue for each of us, this theme is universal. The Whitest Wall is a worthy read, a trip into a novel world, written with entertainment quality as vivid as a screenplay with a multitude of metaphors for interpretation and meaning. Is Kevin the culture of America that is single-mindedly focused on contemporary entertainment with little thought to past or future, lack of awareness in communicating with foreign cultures? Is the white wall the blindness to aspects of ourselves and society? This tantalizing tale should engage youthful readers and provoke discussion among those of high-school age and older. Caulfield, move over, there is much more to tell! Kulp captures the chaotic turmoil of culturally-muddled miscommunication and FAS brain fog of lost-boy Kevin, a 21-year-old going-on-ten jailed for murder, seemingly by his own matter-of-fact confession. Walls surround the characters as the culture of a stable, rural lily-white community braces for an influx of racial minorities and city dwellers seeking a more relaxed lifestyle. A possible serial killer presents a sinister unease in this paradise. We live in external and internal worlds謡hat if the internal world did not exist for you? What if you had no pictures, remembrances, no images of future, possibilities, eventualies. What if you were always shocked when awakening from the grayness of sleep by the sudden vividness of the real world? Walls of multi-cultural and ethnic differences, language, mores, dress, worship and foods can be breached as people get to know each other. But the whitest wall of all is inside Kevin, whose every awakening is an abrupt screaming perceptual shock. Imagine not being able to imagine--unable to project ahead possible causes and effects or to remember and to learn from his past, living only in the literal present, he is bewildered to find himself behind bars where his fly entertainment antics annoy and enrage rather than entertain his cellmates. His innocence would be charming and cute if it were not so indicative of the legacy of scrambled brain cells his mother created in him in her sodden search to wall out the real world and drown her deep emotions of despair. Kevin has learned only one culture--that of the slang gang using hood hip-hop and cop-out; communicating in the rural mainstream strains beyond credulity. The old saying, 的f you had half a brain, you would know would apply to Kevin, except that he has less than half a brain, although he appears to be a regular young man with a strong desire to please. To the sheriff痴 question, ..Do you know why you are here? Kevin replied, 的 killed doc Johnson. Is this a simple open and shut case? The warp and woof of the story line present a dramatic and complex set of young characters who learn about life and being an adult in different ways, from family, elders, sexual encounters, advice and threats. If only Kevin had the ability to learn, he might have a chance for survival in a world that can be treacherous and dangerous when you hang out with the wrong crowd. Kulp has an impressive grasp of non-mainstream cultures and the ability to present speeches in dramatic and sensitive settings. This story will connect with inner-city minority kids and young adults. We all do stupid things in our youth, but we learn from escapades and develop the maturity that comes from experience. We explore cultures and develop abilities to understand and communicate in several cultures. What if we knew only one culture, one language, one family, one neighborhood? Travel broadens, but for the alcohol-challenged, one can get lost様ost in the bottle, lost in the world, lost to friends, lost to family, ultimately living with a lost brain. Kulp makes these lessons not only palatable, but intriguing with clues, characters and sub-plots that lure young readers on into enlightened understanding. Everyone wonders why certain people do things that appear strange to us. Since communication and miscommunication is an issue for each of us, this theme is universal. The Whitest Wall is a worthy read, a trip into a novel world, written with entertainment quality as vivid as a screenplay with a multitude of metaphors for interpretation and meaning. Is Kevin the culture of America that is single-mindedly focused on contemporary entertainment with little thought to past or future, lack of awareness in communicating with foreign cultures? Is the white wall the blindness to aspects of ourselves and society? This tantalizing tale should engage youthful readers and provoke discussion among those of high-school age and older. Caulfield, move over, there is much more to tell! Review by Lyelle Palmer, Ph.D., Special Education Professor Emeritus, Winona State University, Minnesota. lpalmer.winona.edu

What is really behind the recent brutal beatings in Minnesota? (Article) - 10/27/2008 1:53:24 AM
well said

United We Stand . . . Divided We Fall (Article) - 8/9/2008 11:11:45 AM
God bless you! :)

Shoulda Woulda Coulda (Poetry) - 1/19/2011 8:14:39 AM
WOW! My heart is with you.

Shoulda Woulda Coulda (Poetry) - 1/18/2011 10:43:44 PM
this one made me cry. ~Z.B.McClure

OTHER mother (Poetry) - 1/18/2011 10:36:16 PM
God bless the other mothers! A lot of wisdom in this write. A lot of love. ~Z.B.McClure

Twirling, swirling heartache (Poetry) - 1/18/2011 10:32:01 PM
here is a prayer that we all can pray, and this poem expresses it so well! I do believe that God loves hearing prayers like this, and will keeping on answering them. Excellent write! ~Z.B.McClure

Bed 43 (Poetry) - 1/18/2011 10:26:32 PM
Bed 43 - has such intensity and feeling in it! This narrative is like a roller-coaster ride in the dark, but I applauded the ending with my heart. Amazing write, and I just praised the Lord for His goodness. ~Z.B.McClure

Impatiens In My Garden (Poetry) - 1/18/2011 10:19:13 PM
symbolism used in such a personal, loving way. Your poem gets me right in the heart! ~Z.B.McClure

A Pit Bull With Lipstick (Poetry) - 1/18/2011 10:14:15 PM
ah a poem with attitude, but the good kind! I like this one a lot Jodee... made me smile. ~Z.B.McClure

Grandpa knows I'm a good girl (Poetry) - 1/18/2011 10:10:14 PM
What a powerful, moving poem! I couldn't stop reading till I reached the end, which was perfect. Then I spent a long time thinking about it. Wow! ~Z.B.McClure

OTHER mother (Poetry) - 10/30/2009 6:02:38 AM
Without the pain, she will not grow! Bravo!! Blessings...Frances

Twirling, swirling heartache (Poetry) - 10/2/2009 9:41:33 AM
Teach me to stand stubbornly still Ready to embrace her when she returns But not seek her as she runs toward the ruins To trust that You are there knowing more than I will every understand. Honest and real; your verses express an attitude that I admire and respect. Thank you, Jodee. Love and peace and best wishes, Regis

Impatiens In My Garden (Poetry) - 10/2/2009 9:38:52 AM
The love that you express for your daughter shines throughout these verse, Jodee. Thank you for sharing. Love and best wishes, Regis

W i t h e r (Poetry) - 8/12/2009 6:50:04 AM
Thank you Jodee for the opportunity to read truth in flight, kindest regards, annie.

Bed 43 (Poetry) - 5/8/2009 7:21:24 AM
My daughter's journey has been hard won - it has been a battle initially to survive as an infant, four foster care placements before age five months, attachment issues, learning disabilities, and finally into the mental health/chemical dependence world - she is a warrior - she IS A STRONG woman! (her mom - jodee)

Bed 43 (Poetry) - 5/4/2009 6:50:29 PM
Such a shame, yet you have a strong will.... Be always safe, Karen

Bed 43 (Poetry) - 5/3/2009 7:35:28 PM
Jodee, Your mother's death and the fact that you don't wish the same fate come alive in your write. Excellent. Mary

Twirling, swirling heartache (Poetry) - 3/29/2009 8:19:04 PM
Deep thoughts, apprehensions, and uncertain emotions, "twirling,swirling heartache" - what every mother feels. You prayers will guard her and create a shield, that is it's power. Cynthia

Fallen Colors (Poetry) - 1/23/2009 11:11:52 AM
I am a friend and gladly serve those with disabilities and your poetry is a gateway into understanding. Keep on writing Jodee- you've probably heard this a lot, but you have the rare gift of touching hearts with the way you use words. This is fine writing. -Zach

W i t h e r (Poetry) - 1/23/2009 11:03:56 AM
I don't know what to write. I am left speechless by this poem and touched to the marrow of my being! Wow! -Zach

Twirling, swirling heartache (Poetry) - 10/30/2008 1:50:24 PM
Well written, entertaining yet profound... Wishing you well.. Sam

Twirling, swirling heartache (Poetry) - 10/30/2008 12:45:35 PM
Good write, Jodee; well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

OTHER mother (Poetry) - 10/29/2008 7:54:05 AM
Great message in this, Jodee; brava! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Fallen Colors (Poetry) - 10/29/2008 7:53:17 AM
Powerful writing, Jodee; we need to educate the public about living with disabilities or living with those who have disabillities; otherwise, nothing will ever change! Keep writing and speaking out; I'll do the same! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn (who understands; I'm disabled, too!). :D

Grandpa knows I'm a good girl (Poetry) - 10/7/2008 4:31:24 PM
good one

Grandpa knows I'm a good girl (Poetry) - 10/7/2008 2:47:49 PM
Very sincere, heartwarming write that fills one's soul with a sadness, yet with the light of God's love too.... Be always safe, Karen

Grandpa knows I'm a good girl (Poetry) - 10/7/2008 2:04:40 PM
Jodee, This is such a beautifully written but heartwrenching write. I followed all the way through the story, and could feel the pain the girl was going through. Marvelous write. Mary

Grandpa knows I'm a good girl (Poetry) - 10/7/2008 11:36:24 AM
Jodee, My son suffers from a TBI - and his grandpa died the year of his insult - this brings tears to my eyes. I know Jamie couldn't cry at his Pop's funeral and he wanted to, but post insult he doesn't cry. He wore one of his Pop's suits in honor to him. What a somber occasion. Thank you very much for this - I'm not assuming you have a brain injury - if you do kudos to you! If not, then you know someone who does so equal kudos! Again, Thank you, ~D.

A Pit Bull With Lipstick (Poetry) - 9/5/2008 7:44:16 AM
Sounds like my mom! lololol (:

Fallen Colors (Poetry) - 9/2/2008 1:34:16 PM
Hello Jodee, Hauntingly beautiful. I couldn't think of other words. Well done! Please fell free to visit my site here in the "Den"

Committed (Poetry) - 8/13/2008 8:10:41 PM
i can relate to this and your strength is weaved well throughout this, the thrid stanza is my favorite

A Pit Bull With Lipstick (Poetry) - 8/8/2008 11:55:41 PM
Hi Jodee,this is fantastic.I especially like the ending.You have written a very good poem.Keep up the good work,take care Edwin

Committed (Poetry) - 8/8/2008 11:54:38 AM
What a beautiful inspirational poem about love and family. Too often these days, those are forgotten. Beautifully written. Mary

Committed (Poetry) - 8/8/2008 11:19:10 AM
Hi JODEE,I enjoy reading this poem.Having love from family and friends is the greatest feeling in the world and I'm glad that you are trying to better yourself and improve yourself.All of us are not perfect,but we can become better human beings.Being yourself is the greatest feeling in the world and you have indeed show that in this poem,I enjoy reading it and continue with the success of being "YOU".Take care Edwin

A Pit Bull With Lipstick (Poetry) - 7/15/2008 9:20:25 PM
Such sweet sentiments expressed well.... Be always safe, Karen

A Pit Bull With Lipstick (Poetry) - 7/15/2008 8:34:58 AM
Sweet and validating. Nicely expressed, Jodee. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

A Pit Bull With Lipstick (Poetry) - 7/15/2008 7:38:19 AM
Oh, this is so nice. Your mother must feel extra blessed when she sees it.

Shoulda Woulda Coulda (Poetry) - 7/8/2008 9:21:09 AM
Your testimonial leaves the reader wordless. Powerfully compelling, Jodee. Love, peace, and best wishes, Regis

W i t h e r (Poetry) - 7/8/2008 9:17:53 AM
Your verses touch the reader's soul, Jodee. Thank you. Love, peace, and best wishes, Regis

K N O W S. (Poetry) - 7/7/2008 10:15:13 AM
A compelling and soul-stirring write, Jodee. Love, peace, and best wishes to you, Regis

W i t h e r (Poetry) - 6/21/2008 5:51:11 AM
A sad but beautiful write that I enjoyed very much. Blessings...Frances

K N O W S. (Poetry) - 5/20/2008 2:58:58 PM
Oh that she would be healed by our merciful God up above.

K N O W S. (Poetry) - 5/20/2008 6:27:49 AM
This is just plain heart rendering...full of anguish, pain, and heartache's and allowed this reader to feel remorse & sadness. God Bless.

K N O W S. (Poetry) - 5/19/2008 10:01:22 PM
So much inner anguish and pain suffered to an end that never seems to end. Through God's love one finds inner strength and the perseverence to keep going forward and for the soul to heal.... Be always safe, Karen

W i t h e r (Poetry) - 5/7/2008 12:15:37 PM
A wonderfully inspirational piece that really grabs all the emotions to make one see..... Be always safe, Karen

W i t h e r (Poetry) - 5/6/2008 10:32:59 PM
Your poem made cry, and if the angles read it they would cry too.

UN -- b e c o m i n g (Poetry) - 4/25/2008 12:00:49 PM
Your writing style is unique, and Your writings are examples of art, knowledge and wisdom. A visit to Your Den is a pleasing experience, and a learning opportunity. I have enjoyed the reading of a profound and artistic piece of work that nourishes the soul and enriches the mind. A true poetic task scented with essence of wisdom... "UN -- b e c o m i n g" glows. In respect and admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

UN -- b e c o m i n g (Poetry) - 4/19/2008 12:43:51 PM
We all must face the challenges that come our way, sometimes we must also recognize our strengths and weaknesses, delicately and very well said to bring dignity to our lives no matter what.... Be always safe, Karen

Bear In Mind (Poetry) - 3/25/2008 11:03:58 AM
Great work and wise message. "Bear In Mind" is a profound composition in contents and art. In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Fly Away Dear Mother (Poetry) - 3/25/2008 11:00:51 AM
I like what I read here through the lines of "Fly Away Dear Mother". In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Fallen Colors (Poetry) - 3/16/2008 5:42:54 AM
Outstanding work. "Fallen Colors" glows in contents and message. In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Shoulda Woulda Coulda (Poetry) - 3/16/2008 5:37:21 AM
I like this composition... "Shoulda Woulda Coulda" depicts the subjects dealt, dissect them and takes the reader on tour through the realms of ontological and spiritual worlds. I have enjoyed the reading of "Shoulda Woulda Coulda". In respect to a great pen, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Fallen Colors (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 5:33:49 PM
Such a lovely, poignant, powerful piece--filled with images of hurt and love and beauty and ugliness, all combined into one truth. Thank you for sharing this, Jodee.

Shoulda Woulda Coulda (Poetry) - 2/22/2008 9:06:31 AM
These words needs to be heard... I only hope those who need it will listen. Thank you for sharing them. It is a powerful message you share... Cryssa

Shoulda Woulda Coulda (Poetry) - 2/22/2008 6:23:33 AM
Oh my,so powerful..please stay safe and well...Hugssss

Shoulda Woulda Coulda (Poetry) - 2/21/2008 6:44:31 PM
An extremely heartwrenching write that about tore my heart out, your pain so intense, almost unimaginable, yet crystal clear.... Be always safe, Karen

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

ゥ AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.