AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Greg Pendleton, iandrea coltman, iDenise Richardson, iWilliam Wright, iGwen Madoc, iHenry Miranda, iBrainard Braimah, i
 
Home > Joe Prentis
 

Recent Reviews for Joe Prentis


Abraham's Bones (Book) - 4/20/2009 7:22:43 AM
I like a thrilling plot as much as the next person, but characters are what make me buy the books I read for pleasure. If the characters aren't realistic and well-rounded enough to make me care about them, I'm not going to finish the book no matter how good the plot is. Trust me, I read and enjoyed every page of ABRAHAM'S BONES, because it combines a plot every bit as gripping as THE DAVINCI CODE's with characters who are as three dimensional and likable as those in NATIONAL TREASURE. Joe Prentis has crafted a thrilling mix of international politics, science, religion, history and espionage and brought it all to life with a cast of characters whose lives are entwined by rich emotional content. Even though the plot is complicated and full of brilliant intrigue, it shares the spotlight equally with the ongoing saga of the characters' lives, most of which have lifelong personal histories with each other. This blend of an action-filled plot and finely-drawn characterization should make this book a winner with both genders. I also had to wonder while I was reading just how many jobs Joe Prentis has worked in his life, because he writes about politicians, reporters, archeologists, diplomats and even terrorists as though he has been one himself. Every detail--from the architecture in the Vatican right down to the fashions worn by the women--is flawlessly researched and perfectly described. I could see each scene as clearly as though it were playing on a movie screen. (HOLLYWOOD, take note!)

The Hunt Club (Short Story) - 7/7/2013 8:30:49 AM
Ronald, I can't thank you enough for taking time to comment on Hunt Club. I write for my readers and it is especially nice when a story is enjoyed by someone who reads it. Do check out Innocent and Gone in a Minute. I think you will enjoy them. Best to you, Joe Prentis

The Hunt Club (Short Story) - 7/7/2013 6:40:35 AM
Chilling and intriguing at the same time! You've written a nailbiter that, I'm certain, will get you a huge following. If I get a chance from my heavy writing schedule, I'll check in on Innocent and Gone In a Minute. I'm a slow reader, but I always write reviews of what I read and post them on all the websites where the book is sold. Ron

Last Man Standing (Short Story) - 6/27/2009 1:59:04 PM
Humorous and quirky, Joe. That's certainly not the ending I would expect a man to have for this story. You don't have another version you wrote just for yourself, do you? ;-) Enjoyed the read!

Sometimes They Gurgle (Short Story) - 11/23/2008 5:06:08 PM
Wow! I'm left with my mouth hanging open! It certainly had me glued to the page ... intense powerful images ... a riveting tale that could be easily expounded upon should you desire. Excellent read! Best, Elizabeth

Merry Christmas Santa (Short Story) - 11/13/2008 6:02:06 PM
Vivid characters and wonderful prose combined with a feel-good story, made this a wonderful real. Touches the heart and gives you a warm, holiday feeling. Most enjoyable! Best, Elizabeth

Merry Christmas Santa (Short Story) - 11/10/2008 5:44:33 PM
Fascinating story! I'm amazed, yet again, so detailed. Christmas is one of my fave Holidays. I felt as if I was watching a tv version of your story. Better still, like gathering love ones around for a family Holiday reading. Thanks for sharing this touching write.

Sometimes They Gurgle (Short Story) - 11/9/2008 3:27:24 PM
Okay, more, more! Wow! I like the details. You are an excellent story teller. Thanks for sharing another great story.

Sometimes They Gurgle (Short Story) - 11/9/2008 1:49:23 AM
Holysmokes, what a great story, Joe!! EXCELLENT!! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Sometimes They Gurgle (Short Story) - 11/8/2008 12:07:22 PM
Joe, Great title . . . an exceptional story - riveting!! Best regards, Lance

Starting Over (Short Story) - 11/7/2008 6:28:53 PM
I enjoyed this story, Joe. I love the feeling of hope at the end. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace to you, Regis

Starting Over (Short Story) - 11/7/2008 4:15:36 PM
Absolutely fabulous story! It's so vivid, you put the reader on the scene. Thanks for sharing this detail moving story. Pier

The Political Pain in My Gut (Article) - 9/1/2014 10:17:17 AM
There is a lot of common sense in your thoughts, Joe. I would recast your premise like this: There are two kinds of people who should never run for public office--those who believe in a past that never was (conservatives), and those who believe in a future that never will be (liberals). We need more pragmatists who live in the world of reality that most of us find difficult enough to deal with. Where are the honest, competent, organizers who can bring people together toward a common goal?

The Political Pain in My Gut (Article) - 9/1/2014 9:21:35 AM
Perfect article. Until we realize that they are not on our side so much as on the side with the money and power.. things will not change. Can we work together? That's a big question. There is no two party system.. only one party and we are not invited. Thank you for a great thought provoking read.

The Political Pain in My Gut (Article) - 9/1/2014 3:58:18 AM
It's been nearly 240 years since this experiment has begun. Like all governments, there has been constant bickering and extremism since the very beginning, and that's not likely to stop anytime soon. I agree with you that change will probably come about gradually. How we can break the stranglehold that money has on the political process? I don't know. We do have the right to amend the Constitution and provide changes to the structure of government so that it will operate more smoothly and fairly. The revolutionary changes in communication as result of the Internet have led primarily to abuse (I received over 200 requests for donations from political candidates, not just in my district and state, but from all over the United States yesterday). As I stated previously, I think we need to lower greatly the money required to run for office, allow for Internet voting, do away with the obsolete Electoral College, provide an avenue for other parties or even individuals to run based on voter support (electronic signatures) and not money or party affiliation. Do away with primaries, and require representatives to vote on bills according to what their constituents want rather than their funding sources (each Congressperson would have to poll constituents on each vote prior to voting, allowing for a more democratic base for lawmaking--petitions are currently working to do just that in some areas). There are a lot of areas for improvement and streamlining government so that it will be less costly and more in line with what people want. Government for the people and by the people. Ron

Make Your Own Dogfood for a Healthy Pet (Article) - 9/14/2013 3:13:12 PM
Dogs became man’s best friend thousands of years ago because there is a mutual connection between dogs and the human race. Your best (human) friend might betray, desert, or get tired of you, but your dog will remain faithful until the end. How could we do any less than provide for them? Thanks for taking the time to comment. I enjoyed reading your thoughts, Ronald. The very best to you and yours.

Make Your Own Dogfood for a Healthy Pet (Article) - 9/14/2013 11:05:15 AM
When I got my hand me down Pomeranian, he already had an attitude and he came with a bag of geriatric (he was still a young pup, perhaps 2 years old). My ex wife had showed me that if you put food in the dish for them all the time, dogs will eat when they're hungry and not get fat… Provided they get enough exercise. Jazz had the run of the house and yard with a doggie door that he used at will. Anyway, I fed him the geriatric food and he stayed very trim, lively, and healthy, tearing out of the house and around it to chase birds and cats at lightning speed that straight into the yard back. As a result I never had to clip his toenails because he wore a path in the grass. I never fed him any treats except his daily milk bone for his teeth. I mowed the yard in those days and his little poop was so dry it fertilized the lawn nicely but never got on my shoes or my bare feet. He was very strong and survived a three pit bull attack (two weeks to recover) a big lab mix attack (one week to recover), but died when the big lab mix was running loose and caught him again. I could've saved him with emergency surgery, but he died about eight hours later from blood loss. So strong to have survived the initial attack at about ten years old. Wrote about it here in my story Jazz's Death. I learned a long time ago when you pour the juice off of cooked vegetables or peel them you are throwing away valuable vitamins and minerals. My mother was really good at doing that. She has diabetes. I do not and will not get it. Ron

ET Where Are You? (Article) - 7/3/2013 2:46:34 PM
Ronald, I think you are correct in wanting to keep your books close to reality even though you are exploring the unknown. Unless you’re writing pure fantasy, where you create a world and all of the laws governing it, you are likely to get in trouble with your readers if you go too far afield. One of the things that occurs to me that might help a science fiction writer is reading articles in astronomy magazines. Astronomers assume (correctly I think) that the rules that govern the part of the universe we can observe, also applies to the far reaches of space. That is not to say that all life forms will be exactly like what we have on earth. After all, if we had never seen a fish, would we believe that one could possibly exist? I think the next few decades will be very interesting as we push outward into space. Who knows what new things we will discover, and the new developments in technology? Before the discovery of electricity, who could have predicted what we have today. There will be many other breakthroughs that might make things possible that are far beyond our imagination. Good to hear from you.

ET Where Are You? (Article) - 7/3/2013 11:21:13 AM
I read the article. Ever since I heard Carl Sagan talking about it, I have understood that there were many stars with planets, many planets orbiting each star, and many planets orbiting in such a way as to provide a stable environment for the formation of life. In my first two novels, The Kaleidoscope Effect and Alone? I delved into these ideas without trying to spend too much time on fantasy. While fantasy drives much of what is considered “science” fiction today, I find much of it mostly just soap opera about human experience. Aliens are generally bad guys. Aside from some of the flaws from my bad writing, I have been asked to describe some things more thoroughly, i.e., the interstellar spaceship and its occupants. For that, I remained purposely vague, because we have no way of knowing what will really work when we travel to the stars. In one chapter, I attempted to describe a planet, that while filled with life, was completely alien to human life. Attempting to physically explore such a planet, was a recipe for disaster. Would like to see some of your ideas on the subject. I see you have written some novels, perhaps thrillers? Ron

Did Something Good Happen to You Today? (Article) - 11/24/2012 9:32:27 AM
Which way shall I take the course to my reader’s hearts, What scale and tools do I collect with, What voyeur’s wrap I claim in readiness. Are the ages of my father come to bear, Or will be for next generation’s benefit: And for sure hope luck to smile a lot, Unless I weaken in devotion, That I harbor this pretext, Where course is subject to a wanton age. Gather, flock with us; examine all to beyond: Valiant person have surpassed our time.

We love you Rocky (Article) - 5/29/2012 4:16:07 AM
Lovely, lovely tribute, Joe, and in my eyes, you and your wife are heroes for taking Rocky in and caring for him. Brings me happiness to know he had a loving home and caring companions. My daughter has a dog who is part Weimaraner and part pit-bull and he is the most intelligent, sweetest dog I've ever seen. And tough-guy image? Only strengthens it, in my view. Christy Tillery French

The Financial Crisis in America (Article) - 6/3/2011 8:57:01 PM
GREED MONGER$ USA---WHY: FEMA Concentration Camps Stare You All In Your Face---Got To Be 70 + Million USA Homeless Most Children Starving For (Corn Fed Gasoline) Food Live Sleep Your Own Back Yards Streets---This Is Whats Really Important! 90% Humans You They Think They are Infallible! Only Act Of (God) Will Stop It... Credit Illuminating Write... TRASK

Max Takes No Prisoners (Article) - 2/8/2011 8:35:52 AM
Oh this is perfect! What a day brightener. John

Writing a Novel and the Feverish Impulses that Drive Us (Article) - 12/14/2010 4:57:54 PM
How interesting that you incorporate personal emotions into your writing but rely on advice to fill in the details. I write in a similar manner, packing my novels with my own quirks while hoping scientific fact will fill in the plot.

Writing a Novel and the Feverish Impulses that Drive Us (Article) - 12/14/2010 1:24:46 PM
I wondered how much of the romance in ABRAHAM'S BONES was from personal experience because--like all the other elements in the book--it comes across as completely realistic and spot-on!

Writing a Novel and the Feverish Impulses that Drive Us (Article) - 12/14/2010 6:44:01 AM
Great article, Joe. I agree that writers can (and should) call on emotions they've experienced to make their characters real. While I've never rapelled into a cave, I can certainly imagine how one of my characters (who shares my fear of heights) felt when she swung over the ledge and into the dark.

$ $ $ $ $ Three Keys to Success $$$$$ (Article) - 4/2/2010 7:32:08 AM
You forgot one, Joe! At some point in your past, you also need to have been addicted to drugs/alcohol/sex or been mentally ill. Actually, the mental illness can be an ongoing thing. People love to hear about what you did in rehab or therapy. No charge for the addendum.

$ $ $ $ $ Three Keys to Success $$$$$ (Article) - 4/1/2010 2:36:12 PM
Joe, you are so funny. You should have waited to post this on April Fools Day. (Unless, of course, you aren't joking. Hmmm.)

$ $ $ $ $ Three Keys to Success $$$$$ (Article) - 4/1/2010 1:23:17 PM
Joe, this makes you sound almost as cynical as I am. But it's a well-taken point. "A cynic is one who, when he smells roses looks around for the coffin. An idealist is one who thinks that because roses smell good that tyeh will make an edible soup." --- N.L. Mencken

$ $ $ $ $ Three Keys to Success $$$$$ (Article) - 3/31/2010 7:12:57 AM
Thanks for the three easy steps to success! Statistics will support all three. For the rest of us, hard work and a quality product that the world awaits is our only shot.

$ $ $ $ $ Three Keys to Success $$$$$ (Article) - 3/31/2010 5:43:04 AM
Joe, I do believe you are on to something here. Thanks for the free advice. I'll check my closet for that short skirt, and my bag to ensure I have the $200,000 and head out the door toward success.

Tell it like it is! (Article) - 11/1/2009 10:19:29 PM
Social Security = I Need Say Welcome To The Club... Any Such Thing As Honest Politician$ Tell Me What Any One Them Has Done Personally For You(?)Or Your Neighbors!? Why I Stop Voting... EXP. One Quart Of Oil On Year Ago After Rebate $.69... Now Year Later One Quart Oil $3.59 After Rebate $2.49... Invaded By Literally Millions Illegals Mexicanos Aliens Sucking Welfare System Everything Else Dry....With 52 U S Senators Voted Give Them My Your Paid Into Social Security...Free Food Stamps, Free Medical, Housing Not Counting $5,000 Delivery Each Trash Bin Baby.. Los Angelese Sleazy County For Illegals We Taxpayer$ Paid Out $444 Million$ Alone Year 2007... I Cannot Collect For My Dental Nor Glasses Mere $147 + $119 Denied By Medical... Adding 14,000 Foreclosures Each Day Where Do You Think All These People End Up **HOMELESS In Streets- Got To Be 60 Million + Living In Streets Your Own Back Yards...They're Lucky If They Even Qualify For Food Stamps----I Know I Was Homeless... ** Next FEMA Concentration Camps! Only Thing Stop Is An ACT Of (GOD),i.e. I Won't Dare Hold My Breath... TRASK

Tell it like it is! (Article) - 10/31/2009 12:06:15 PM
Great article...It's hard not to respect someone that is that honest!

The Eyes Have It (Article) - 10/28/2009 7:10:30 AM
Joyce, Both of your novels are near the top of my list of books I intend to read in the near future. I found the first one to be very realistic and have the same kind of recommendation for them that I have for LaVyrle Spencer and Barbara Delinsky. I did not intend in any way to condemn any type of woman's romance fiction. I was just pointing out the fact that much of it is so far away from the image that men have of themselves that few of us read it. It is all a matter of marketing. Readers read books they can identify with, and go back time after time for another fulfilling reading experience.

The Eyes Have It (Article) - 10/28/2009 5:50:34 AM
Joe, you REALLY need to read my other two books! They're not romances, but they are romantic women's fiction, and my male characters are REAL men. My husband reads all my books, and while I'll admit that he is a bit biased, he never lies and would tell me if he didn't like something. He thinks all the male protagonists are based on him. He's wrong, but at least that tells me they're realistic characters!

The Real Reason for the National Debt (Article) - 12/21/2008 8:08:05 PM
Amazing Write On Money$.... TRASK

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.