AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Tobias Roote, iJackie Miller, iCarl David, iKaylin kaylin@kaylinmcfarren.com, iNancy Shattuck, iElizabeth Weeks-Rowe, iKen Brosky, i
 
Home > Henry Custer
 

Recent Reviews for Henry Custer


Concept of Justice (Book) - 3/8/2004 8:14:47 AM
Concept of Justice is such a realistic picture of the criminal mind that I couldn't help feeling a little bit relieved that I don't live next door to Henry Custer. Anyone who can plan burglaries, murders, kidnappings and counterfeiting schemes with such flawless attention to detail should be watched very carefully! The book's main character, Martin Lovett, makes some very bad choices in his life and isn't always a nice guy, but he remains oddly likable throughout the story and I found myself rooting for him despite his flaws. Maybe it's because of his devotion to his wife Cindy, a fine woman who knows nothing of his criminal activities; or it could be because of the dirt-poor family Marty came from and all the hardships he had to overcome growing up. Possibly it's just that the lowlifes he gets mixed up with make him look like an Eagle Scout in comparison, but I know I couldn't help feeling that Marty was really a decent guy and wanted a happy ending for him. Concept of Justice unfolds one subtle layer at a time and culminates in a resolution that is both surprising and completely credible, thanks to some tenacious law enforcement officers who add even more human flavor to this intriguing story. The author's extensive knowledge and expertise in a variety of professions is impressive and make for a book that has no loopholes or slips in logic that annoy me to no end. This crime thriller will keep you up late turning pages to find out how the deliciously complex plot turns out, but you definitely won't regret missing a little sleep for this book.

Bizarre Justice (Book) - 12/13/2003 5:26:11 PM
Experience the thoughts and feelings of schizophrenic Martin Lovett as he attempts to maintain his status as a good father and loving husband. Once again aging Marty is drawn from peaceful retirement back into the seedy realm of his past. You see, Martin Lovett is also an efficient and remorseless killer. Lies and deceit become the norm as Marty juggles his two very different lives. His concept of justice may not conform to that of the society in which we live. An eye for an eye you say? What if you owe more than two eyes? However bizarre, justice must ultimately be served.

Dirt Floor (Book) - 8/22/2003 10:41:16 PM
Sounds like a great book Henry. I hope to read it all soon since your synopsis has tempted me!

Dirt Floor (Book) - 8/21/2003 12:17:42 PM
A great trip down memories lane for those of us who shared similar experiences during those difficult days. Still there was a lot of love and sharing and laughs, which Henry recounts so well. Great book.

Bizarre Justice (Book) - 8/13/2003 12:46:10 PM
I am so glad that we will see more of Marty Lovett. This one promises to be every bit as good as its predecessor.

Dirt Floor (Book) - 8/4/2003 6:12:14 PM
Dirt Floor recounts the author's boyhood as he started his life during the Great Depression, suffered through badboy teenage angst, and ended up in the armed forces. Henry Custer's style is entertaining and often poignant as he recalls his father's life-savings purchase of a car that ran only once (ouch) and the awful death of a schoolmate (Billy Rabbit). A wonderful story of his family's struggle to survive during a difficult time in American history.

Concept of Justice (Book) - 6/28/2003 8:42:18 AM
Henry Custer has crafted an intriguing and engaging thriller. His hero (if you can call him that), Marty Lovett, always dreamed of getting his hands on the big prize. It's the one thing that's driven his whole life starting in the economically-challenged '40's. Years later his big chance finally comes, but things go terribly awry, resulting in a kidnap/murder that floats to the surface 30 years later. This is a riveting and exciting morality tale that teaches an important lesson: be careful what you do and who you do it to, because it just may come back to haunt you.

Bizarre Justice (Book) - 5/11/2003 9:58:42 AM
Another addition to what I'm sure will be a very long list of exceptional books by a gifted writer and storyteller. Godspeed to the publisher for getting this one available soon!

Concept of Justice (Book) - 4/24/2003 4:48:17 PM
When you have in hand a novel that is both deeply compelling and darkly disturbing, what are you going to do? On the one hand, you can't put "Concept of Justice" down. Henry Custer has command of his craft. He's going to make you keep turning pages whether you want to or not. On the other hand the subject is stark, real, and, in that sense, disturbing. It is not necessarily a fun read. But it is a good read ~ a damn good read! And for the latter reason, alone, I urge you to beg, borrow or... or better yet buy your own copy of "Concept of Justice." You'll want to read it more than once anyway!

Concept of Justice (Book) - 4/20/2003 6:14:26 PM
When I read the boat scene, I found myself wondering how in the world I was going to like Martin. When the character got his life together, I breathed a sigh of relief that lasted until his middle-age. There a new bout of doubt and the meat of the story begins. A unique point of view from an interesting author.

Concept of Justice (Book) - 3/7/2003 8:11:27 PM
Mr. Custer, You have the gift of a true storyteller. Every one of the characters came alive in your story. Martin Lovett the main character had me feeling sorry for him and then wanting him to pay for his crimes…. Your book reads like a movie! Thank you for taking me on a journey I will never forget! I wish you all the success you clearly deserve! I look forward to reading your new book, “Dirt Floor.”

Dirt Floor (Book) - 12/24/2002 2:22:04 PM
Loved your first book...know I'll love this one, too...

Dirt Floor (Book) - 12/1/2002 2:34:29 PM
Henry, I was born in '41, so barely missed those early days of your story but was always fascinated by my parents and grandparents' stories about this time in our history. Dirt Floor should be required reading for high school students to give them a better understanding of real life in those days, and will also be very interesting to everyone. Wishing you every success, Marcyle Taliaferro

Concept of Justice (Book) - 11/25/2002 4:43:17 PM
As a Criminal Justice minor...I am intrigued...

Concept of Justice (Book) - 11/18/2002 5:18:39 PM
Intriguing story line, Henry! Vivid description of Christine's plight and makes me want read more. Congrats! God's Grace, Marcyle

Dirt Floor (Book) - 11/13/2002 8:14:39 PM
You had my attention Henry, thumbs up!

Dirt Floor (Book) - 10/21/2002 1:57:41 PM
Sounds pretty interesting... Makes you feel like your watching a movie or actually there.

Concept of Justice (Book) - 10/1/2002 6:06:17 PM
I rarely can sit for any length of time reading a book. I finished this book in two sittings. Once I started, I could not put it down. A very good drama, excellent writing and vision by the author.

The Cattle Drive (Short Story) - 7/18/2005 11:12:31 AM
Enjoy your writing.

Saga of the Beads (Short Story) - 2/5/2005 3:52:59 PM
Hay, This story was indeed a turnaround. As a Lenape myself,I could see the humor in this.Your wife made a good choice on how to spend her money.

A Good Day (Short Story) - 6/26/2004 5:05:03 AM
I like the way you made Jake and Sara's relationship the mainstay of the story, yet, what was really going on (Jake's hatred for his job and his boss)was so passive. Very nicely done. M.Rose

The Ride (Short Story) - 1/8/2004 7:36:25 PM
so well written and very enjoyable... your use of words wraps the reader like a warm blanket

The Cattle Drive (Short Story) - 11/2/2003 6:41:31 AM
enjoyed the tale

Good Folks, They're Everywhere! (Short Story) - 5/26/2003 3:32:19 PM
Definitely a case of 'Do as you would be done by!'

The Cattle Drive (Short Story) - 5/26/2003 3:22:42 PM
Great story,like Karen, I too felt like I was there with you. My grandfather used to read Zane Grey books, he loved Cowboy stories, I think he would have envied you no end.

Saga of the Beads (Short Story) - 5/26/2003 3:13:37 PM
I hope Jody's beautiful bead work brought in at least ten times its original value. A very interesting story.

I had a Dream (Short Story) - 3/19/2003 12:29:22 PM
Took time from reading your "Concepts of Justice" book to check out this site and, specifically, this VERY VERY FUNNY

The Ride (Short Story) - 10/24/2002 4:17:31 PM
It reminds me of my first ride with my older brother.

A Good Day (Short Story) - 9/14/2002 9:55:18 AM
oh, boy..talk about employee rage..there are times i would love to kill MY one boss, but i can't even think of doing it; it goes against my christian beliefs!! :) good write, though!! love the pic of the guy drinkin' his beer and gettin' blitzed!! love, your friend, karen lynn. (((HUGS)))

I had a Dream (Short Story) - 9/3/2002 1:55:24 PM
i've dreamt of hell before, myself, and believe you me, it WASN'T funny; still, i found myself laughing through this one!! and i love your little yellow guy wiggin' out; that and the story made it worth the visit!! funny stuff (if hell can be written about in a funny way...)!!

I had a Dream (Short Story) - 9/2/2002 3:22:44 PM
Hell on earth...I love it!!!!and I love the guy/devil on the page...Thanks for the laugh!! Very clever!

The Cattle Drive (Short Story) - 6/5/2002 9:28:20 AM
Superb writing! Excellent grammar! You definitely have a knack for telling stories and would most likely do well in selling a how-to book!

The Cattle Drive (Short Story) - 6/3/2002 6:29:07 PM
Very good Henry, enjoyed reading it. You should let a magazine print it for you.

The Cattle Drive (Short Story) - 6/3/2002 6:03:11 PM
When I read your stories I feel I am there with you.

The Cattle Drive (Short Story) - 6/3/2002 5:56:28 PM
Good story, Henry - you must have had quite a childhood

The Ride (Short Story) - 5/28/2002 6:42:16 PM
I remember this story Henry! Thanks for sharing it around the campfire and in print xoxoxo

The Ride (Short Story) - 5/20/2002 6:03:28 AM
Very enjoyable write. Sometimes we'll never know what a stranger can inspire us in a certain way which makes a difference in our life. Sandie Angel :o)

The Ride (Short Story) - 5/11/2002 4:34:26 AM
A feel good vignette...nice job!

The Ride (Short Story) - 5/10/2002 5:02:00 PM
I enjoyed this story and could feel your excitement as you got on the bike.

The Ride (Short Story) - 4/29/2002 8:36:55 PM
A very touching story Henry and kept my interest all the way. Can't wait to get you book that is being published to come out.

Good Folks, They're Everywhere! (Short Story) - 4/27/2002 5:10:21 PM
This is certainly the writings of a person who receives ‘good’ because he is ‘good’.

The Ride (Short Story) - 4/27/2002 5:00:14 PM
I though you “motorcycle people” were tough, insensitive and loners, boy was I wrong! Nice story.

The Ride (Short Story) - 4/27/2002 3:36:29 PM
This story brought a tear to my eye. As I was reading it I could hear your voice the the inflection that you put into your stories.

Safe Driving - It's not for Everyone (Article) - 5/22/2004 2:57:15 PM
all so true

Safe Driving - It's not for Everyone (Article) - 5/21/2004 10:01:42 AM
Hahahaha! Way too true. You've apparently driven in my town recently.

Safe Driving - It's not for Everyone (Article) - 5/20/2004 6:10:14 PM
Smiles on my face! Debbie

Safe Driving - It's not for Everyone (Article) - 5/20/2004 4:21:00 PM
Awesome article...your talent always impresses me...

What I Believe (Article) - 1/22/2004 5:42:13 PM
Excellent, well expressed statement of belief, Henry. Like you, I find the acceptance of faith, any faith, mostly a product of the circumstance of nativity. In my poem, "Atheists All," I make the point that the other side of the belief coin is disbelief. If one is a believer in a particular god, then one is necessarily atheistic toward all other gods recognized throughout history. We’re all atheists — kids, dads and mothers, Some just believe in fewer Gods than others. Understand why rampant atheism we all reflect, To know why Gods of all stripes, some reject. Best regards, Leland

What I Believe (Article) - 1/22/2004 7:32:26 AM
A well-conceived and thought-provoking article, Henry. You echo what many feel but are perhaps uneasy to express. Now keep in mind that there have been more than 100,000 recorded religions in human history, most of which died out with their followers. Secondly, we are all a product of our culture. As you point out, it would be hard to believe that today's Christians who were born in New York would not now be Muslim had they been raised in Doha instead, for example. Thirdly, it is called 'faith' not 'proof' for a reason. I believe in Jesus Christ, myself, but do not believe in a spiritual existence immediately following death. [After all, Jesus did not raise Lazarus' spirit from the dead but rather his physical body - as is reported by his followers to have happened to his own. Subsequently, I feel this 'afterlife' for all will occur only when every living human being obeys the two commandments Christ pronounced at the same moment - assuming that is ever possible, of course.] However, this is through conjecture and [hopefully] more analysis than merely blind faith. Anyway, follow your heart - and keep using that magnificient brain of yours, Henry, that wants more than simple explanations to some very complex questions. I am sure you will find your own answers to your questions eventually. I always enjoy reading another author's well thought out and honest feelings, by the way. [One minor point though: you have a typo in sentence #1 where 'afterlift' should obviously be 'afterlife'.] Again - I thought it was a good read.

The Short Rows (Article) - 10/4/2003 8:55:28 AM
good article, henry, and good pic of yourself in your younger days! (you still look good even now!) haven't heard from you in a while, you been okay? feel free to stop by my den anytime; you are always welcome to visit my den! :D (((HUGS))) and love, your texas friend, karen lynn.

The Short Rows (Article) - 10/3/2003 9:34:35 PM
Picture of me in 1953 Germany, riding a 1929 NSU, 250cc machine. Article published in HSTA STAReview 1999.

North by Northeast (Article) - 3/25/2003 4:28:30 PM
enjoyed the read

North by Northeast (Article) - 7/24/2002 6:00:22 PM
Very enjoyable reading!

North by Northeast (Article) - 5/4/2002 7:39:19 AM
Made me regret not joining you on the northern leg!

North by Northeast (Article) - 4/27/2002 4:52:35 PM
You made me feel as though I was riding with you and having had feeling such as you described, I was in spirit.

North by Northeast (Article) - 4/27/2002 11:12:04 AM
HI Henry Wish I could Have Been With You. SHELL

Biker Babe: A Profile (Article) - 4/24/2002 4:41:42 PM
A great article told in a loving manner, concise but complete in communicating its sentiment

The Old Muse (Poetry) - 11/21/2012 8:56:44 PM
Unpardon me but I relent it boldly; For it is far ahead, if I can be sure of it, And far it is, that my hallucination be valid, And hallucination it is, as it should be, And however, unlike itself, mysterious, unknown, and untested, So it be foreseen in my tireless search.

Remembrances (Poetry) - 11/19/2011 3:41:16 PM
Henry, I believe great writing will bring forth an emotional response in the reader. This poem did that for me. I almost felt I was there from your descriptions. I love this one!

Ashes to Ashes (Poetry) - 11/19/2011 3:35:22 PM
Bittersweet...

My Trail (Poetry) - 11/19/2011 3:28:28 PM
Henry, I laughed for several minutes about the beginning - (Someone once said "Lead, Follow or get out of the Way!" My sentiments exactly.) It's the little things like this that give us a bird's eye view into someone's personality and I truly love this attitude! The poem is great, I can almost see you smiling as you wrote it!

The Old Muse (Poetry) - 11/19/2011 3:10:55 PM
Hi Henry, this poem is short but it speaks volumes. I can hear the truth of the words and brings to my mind a quote I've heard - "Youth is wasted on the young."

The Old Muse (Poetry) - 6/14/2009 8:49:24 PM
How true and how foolishly sad. Due to being disabled, I tend to be around older folk most of the time, and I am so very grateful for that. It has changed the face of my writing for the positive sharing stories with them and learning so, so much. I love this poem, and am going to add it to my library because it is something we all need to be reminded of sometimes.

The Old Muse (Poetry) - 6/14/2009 2:40:47 PM
Yes indeed stay strong dear man...keep smiling...Hugsss

The Old Muse (Poetry) - 6/12/2009 5:21:17 AM
Hi Henry, I feel a sense of lost hope in this write... Don't let them be burned... the muse is alive and well... stay strong... In Spirit, Bear

The Old Muse (Poetry) - 6/11/2009 3:12:33 PM
How sad if it is all lost, let up hope not... Be always safe, Karen

Remembrances (Poetry) - 1/8/2004 7:17:40 PM
what a beautiful journey you've had together...and shared with us so well! I've been to telluride...my aunt has a house there...we stayed in a cabin in clear lake city tho it is sooo beautiful up there jessica aka gypsie

Remembrances (Poetry) - 4/27/2003 10:38:42 PM
If I could have gotten such a great history lesson in such an enjoyable manner as this, I might not have detested history when I was in school! Way to go, Henry!

Ashes to Ashes (Poetry) - 2/17/2003 12:51:41 AM
Very touching poem, great thought put into it.

My Trail (Poetry) - 2/17/2003 12:48:33 AM
I agree with these ideas!! Great poem of truth and independence!!

Ashes to Ashes (Poetry) - 12/8/2002 3:13:46 PM
Henry, Loved the way you handled the subject of death in this poem. Death is as much a part of life as birth, yet it's handled as though it's to be unexpected! Great job. From one P/A author to another, enjoyed your site.

Ashes to Ashes (Poetry) - 5/20/2002 5:59:41 AM
Wonderful write Henry!!!!! It is unique!!!!! Sandie Angel :o)

Ashes to Ashes (Poetry) - 5/17/2002 12:21:39 PM
This is what needs to be taught about Death. Death is not the terrible thing that it is made out to be. Your family is lucky that as a writer you are a great teacher of how to accept death with peace and love. Good write and guess I have an article to hunt up :-)

Ashes to Ashes (Poetry) - 5/16/2002 1:47:46 PM
Very beautiful thoughts--

Ashes to Ashes (Poetry) - 5/15/2002 6:19:56 PM
A lovely gift to your family! Beautiful flow and expression...

My Trail (Poetry) - 5/12/2002 7:32:38 AM
I agree with both you and May Lu - that everyone should do better..... But I'm giving you a 10 for your efforts and writing which I believe you have given it your best at the time of your writing. Thank you for sharing this!!!!! Sandie Angel :o)

My Trail (Poetry) - 5/12/2002 6:19:44 AM
It is wonderfully written. I had given it a 7 because I believe we should all strive for better. May Lu $*_*$

My Trail (Poetry) - 5/11/2002 8:05:23 PM
interesting thoughs...

My Trail (Poetry) - 5/11/2002 5:52:37 AM
You are right! That's just what I have been doing. I make my own judgment and follow my own path. Sandie Angel :o)

My Trail (Poetry) - 5/11/2002 5:42:55 AM
Hehe Henry, this was a great write!!! you are right!

Remembrances (Poetry) - 4/29/2002 10:00:18 AM
I enjoyed this!

Remembrances (Poetry) - 4/29/2002 3:45:32 AM
Nicely-written!!!!! Sandie Angel :o)

Remembrances (Poetry) - 4/28/2002 5:38:15 PM
Very nice...I enjoyed the journey...

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.