AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Jackie Miller, iJean-Pierre Gregoire, iClaire Power Murphy, HonDL, iKarin Fleischhaker-Griffin, iTony Bertot, iChrisTopher Stone, iRichard Orey, i
 
Home > C H Foertmeyer
 

Recent Reviews for C H Foertmeyer


Badr (Book) - 8/28/2007 11:59:06 AM
I had fun reading Badr! It is a well crafted story; the main characters were defined, shaped, and developed to the point I felt I was there ... living in the moment ... waiting for the next surprise.

Hell's Interstate (Book) - 12/18/2005 4:29:57 PM
Congratulations for your new publishing. Carmen

Moon Cave (Book) - 12/11/2005 5:51:32 PM
I've put this on my 'must have' list because I love anything native american and adventure/mystery. I'm currently reading 'Grandfather's Song' by Jake George (another good novel).

Alex 'n Bender (Book) - 2/12/2003 7:25:03 PM
Review by: Sue Hartigan <br> Member of RIO <br> <a href="http://www16.brinkster.com/allaboutmurder/" target="_new"> All About Murder Reviews </a> <br> <a href="http://www16.brinkster.com/allaboutmurder/reviews_A.html" target="_new">Actual Review </a> <br> 5 daggers <br> <br> <br> ALEX 'N BENDER is another fantastic book from the very gifted author, C.H. Foertmeyer. Mr. Foertmeyer just keeps coming up with one right after another, and I hope that he doesn't stop for a very long time. <P> Alex Carey is dead. Of that his best friend, Bender Baxter is sure. He saw it with his own eyes. Alex had jumped off the cliffs into the water, and did not surface. Bender jumped in and finally found Alex anchored to the river bottom, and although using every bit of strength that he could master, he could not free him. Alex was dead, and Bender knew it. <P> After finally summoning help to the area, Bender knew that they would find Alex, but it would be his body. It had been over twenty-four hours, and besides he had seen Alex dead under the water. He was completely heartbroken, but they had to retrieve the body, and Bender knew where it was. Or did he? <P> Meanwhile, soon after Bender dove into the icy water to help Alex for the last time, and had left to summon help, Alex woke in a dark cave. There was nothing around him except for a small fire, and even that didn't light up the darkness around him. He remembered drowning, and Bender trying to save him, and couldn't figure out what in the world was going on. Alex tried to light a torch and explore his surroundings, however the torch wouldn't stay lit long enough to see much of anything. Finally giving up he went back to the fire, and promptly fell asleep. When he woke again he found that someone had killed, dressed, and put a rabbit on a spit for him to eat. After eating, he fell asleep again to wake to a shimmering light coming from the river of water running through the cave. After much consideration he figured that was the only way out, and dove into the water, and swam in the direction of the light, to surface again in the river. The river current being so strong, it pushed him onto a sand bar, where he lay unconscious until Bender and the rescue crew finally found him, alive. <P> Bender is totally dumbfounded. Although completely, and utterly ecstatic that Alex is alive, he can't believe it. After all he saw with his own eyes that Alex was dead. There was absolutely no mistake about that. After Alex is treated and able to tell Bender what happened, the boys decide that they are going to investigate this phenomenon. Bender's mother had told him the story about an old hermit, Jubel Owens, that lived on the other side of the river, in the wilderness, and Doc confirms this story. Although Doc thinks that this old man has to be dead. After all, he would be 85 by now, and hadn't been seen in town, getting supplies, for a long time. Alex and Bender decide that they are going to hike over to the other side of the river and find old Jubel so Alex can thank him for saving his life. Jubel has to be the only explanation as to how Alex got free, and was saved. <P> After getting enough supplies to last them a couple of days, Alex and Bender head off to find old Jubel. Meanwhile unbeknownst to them, two boys, Dirk and Carter, who have been tormenting Alex and Bender off and on for quite a while, decide to follow them. <P> The woods on the other side of the river are quite different than the ones on the side where the boys live. Although only a few miles from home, on that side of the river the woods are virgin, very thick, and with overgrown foliage. But that doesn't stop Alex and Bender. They are determined to find old Jubel. And it soon looks like they may have done just that. After spending their first night in the woods Bender wakes to find a man sitting by the fire petting Snitch, Benders dog. <P> ALEX 'N BENDER is absolutely wonderful. As with other books that Mr. Foertmeyer has written you cannot put it down. It is written so simply, and yet with so much heart and soul that the reader finds himself in the story, actually seeing the beautiful scenery around him. The characters are so realistic that you actually feel their breath on your skin. <P> The only problem that one may find while reading ALEX 'N BENDER is that Mr. Foertmeyer has tried to demonstrate to the reader the actual language of the Atiri. He has written their thoughts in English, but spelled the words backwards, in order to demonstrate their true language. Although this is different, it certainly isn't that difficult to follow, once you get the hang of it. And in my opinion has added a lot to the feelings of the story. <P> Mr. Foertmeyer gained my appreciation, and admiration of his writing abilities with the first book that I read, CARVER: HIGH MOUNTAIN TRAGEDY, and ALEX 'N BENDER only solidified it. He is a master of the art, and continues to completely thrill me with his work. ALEX 'N BENDER is another masterpiece and will completely engage any reader in the first chapter, carrying them through to the last page. <P> Although he is a talent unto himself, and I don't normally like to compare one authors talent with another, I cannot help but be reminded of Samuel Langhorne Clemens when I read Mr. Foertmeyer's work. He writes in much the same fashion, and I honestly believe some day Mr. Foertmeyer's work will be thought of as the modern day Samuel Clemens. <P> I completely recommend that you get a copy of ALEX 'N BENDER immediately, and prepare yourself for a ride into a wonderful world, one that you will not want to leave. One that will leave you waiting, and hoping, for another world that Mr. Foertmeyer takes you into again, soon.

The Room Beyond the Veil (Book) - 11/20/2002 3:47:59 PM
enjoyed the excerpt

The Room Beyond the Veil (Book) - 11/19/2002 8:06:23 AM
I got so invovled in reading the excerpt from the book that I felt very disappointed when I got to the end and there wasn't more! Sounds exciting and I enjoyed the upbeat, modern day conversation.

Sonoma Quadrant (Book) - 8/26/2002 12:50:17 PM
An intriguing sequel to Cat's Lair that further expands on the connection between religiona and science. Another great book by Chuck Foertmeyer!

The Cats' Lair (Book) - 8/26/2002 12:43:14 PM
This book portrays an interesting cobination of science fiction and religion that keeps you turning the pages! I would reccomend this to science fiction readers of all ages.

Sonoma Quadrant (Book) - 8/24/2002 7:51:21 PM
An excellent sequel to The Cat's Lair with further development of the Guardians and the "world" in which they live. The story presents an interesting perspective on how the powers of good and evil could be working behind our everyday lives. Another easy to read and hard to put down adventure.

The Cats' Lair (Book) - 8/23/2002 4:54:00 PM
An excellent thought-provoking book with a unique twist on time travel combined with religious/spiritual characters. A must read for sci-fi fans of time travel tales. It was fast-paced and such an enjoyable read that I literally couldn't put it down and had to finish it in a single session. I will likely read it again soon just to enjoy it all over again.

Carver:High Mountain Tragedy (Book) - 8/23/2002 4:47:20 PM
An excellent high-adventure story which I have recommended to my teenage son and to his school as a must read for teenagers. It presents perspectives on how bullying and intolerance can lead to dire consequences when handled incorrectly. A definite page-turner.

The Cats' Lair (Book) - 8/23/2002 9:45:05 AM
I definitely recommend this book! It's a fast-paced story, but still manages to be rich in detail and quite immersive. I tend to be a fan of stories that delve into subject matter of the unknown or spiritual, and The Cats'Lair proposes a very interesting perspective on the concept of time. I also found myself genuinely concerned for the fate of our main characters -- rooting for them even and feeling as though I knew them and could relate to them. Even their extraordinary circumstances were made believable by the detailed and descriptive writing. It was entertaining, thought-provoking and I found the conclusion to be very satisfying and worthy of the story that built up to it. This is definitely one that I will read and enjoy again.

Carver:High Mountain Tragedy (Book) - 7/27/2002 12:58:02 PM
I've read it and I agree..it's a page turner. You feel you are in the locations the author describes, the characters are very real. Hard to put down. A must read for teens in my opinion.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.