AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Lem Yedowicz, iVaughn Aiken, iLannah Sawers-Diggins, iCatriona King, iEdie Batstone, iDouglas Skopp, iAntoine Raphael, i
 
Home > Richard S. Tuttle
 

Recent Reviews for Richard S. Tuttle


Elvangar (Forgotten Legacy #6) (Book) - 3/16/2004 1:14:01 PM
"...highly recommended as a top notch read for all ages." - Darryl Kenning, Science Fiction Editor, Reading for Pleasure. Noted fantasy author Richard S. Tuttle has created yet another outstanding novel in the series Forgotten Legacy with Elvangar. The sixth book in the series, Elvangar continues the adventure in a tightly written and exciting story that blends seamlessly into the overall series. The author has written yet another first rate classic fantasy story that may be the best in the series to date. It left me anxious for the next story. Available in softcover and as an e-book in a variety of formats it is highly recommended as a top notch read for all ages. Darryl Kenning, science fiction editor for Reading for Pleasure

Dragons' Onyx (Sword of Heavens #6) (Book) - 2/8/2004 9:57:37 AM
Enjoyed the read ……. Highly Recommended ……. 5 stars Following a recap of the sword of heavens series to date Writer Tuttle’s fertile imagination again drives him forward. Dragons’ Onyx is filled many of the richly drawn series characters we have come to enjoy. Dialog is fraught with excitement. Settings rich in detail as Tuttle has filled his previous works continue in this gripping narrative. Powerful motivations, twists of story line, abundant conflict all are presented with the same enthusiasm, fervor of setting and page turning fast paced drama found in the previous offerings crafted by this talented author. Dragons’ Onyx brings the reader further into a land where craftiness and magic rule. We are again treated to an abiding story peopled with characters who only improve with each new offering. Victors grow more daring. Scoundrels are more unscrupulous as they realize power is slipping away from them. The young and intrepid continue aging, and still have not lost exuberance or vitality. READ FULL REVIEW THIS SITE as article mj hollingshead Reviewed by: molly martin http://www.angelfire.com/ok4/mollymartin http://www.AuthorsDen.com/mjhollingshead

Emerald of the Elves (Sword of Heavens #5) (Book) - 10/26/2003 7:16:59 AM
Talented writer Tuttle continues his spell binding Sword of Heaven series with another original segment of the tale. From the opening lines of Book 5 Emerald of the Elves when a resounding scream brings everyone to alert right down to the last paragraphs when the morning sun breaks across the sky the reader is held captivated. The Culmination was a natural outcome of the action in this well written tale crafted by a master story-teller. Excellent book for a weekend home when weather won’t let you get out much, or a week at the beach. Enjoyed the read, happy to recommend. full review mjhollingshead article this site Reviewed by: molly martin

Dwarven Ruby (Sword of Heavens #4) (Book) - 6/28/2003 9:35:41 AM
Once again Writer Tuttle’s fertile imagination holds him in good stead. Dwarven Ruby is filled with all the calenture, fervor of setting and page turning fast paced drama found in the previous offerings crafted by this talented author. enjoyed the read, happy to recommend Reviewed by: molly martin http://www.angelfire.com/ok4/mollymartin

Abuud: the One-Eyed God (Sword of Heavens #3) (Book) - 3/29/2003 4:21:53 PM
Enjoyed the Read.... Told in twenty-eight chapters the tumult continues through the battles, adventures and the locating of the diamond. Tuttle again adds a map of the known world, and a recap of the two previous books of the Sword of Heaven series for those who have not yet read the books. I enjoyed the read and look forward to Dwarven Ruby, the next in the series of seven works. Reviewed by: molly martin http://www.angelfire.com/ok4/mollymartin

Young Lord of Khadora (Forgotten Legacy #1) (Book) - 9/22/2002 4:32:36 PM
The story of Marak, in Young Lord of Khadora, is one of the most exciting and intriguing tales I have ever read. Tuttle introduces young Marak as a likable and realistic, yet common, lad, then allows the reader the pleasure of watching him grow into an awe-inspiring hero. We find that there is nothing “common” about Marak, but those qualities that are common to man, and in Marak we find extraordinary talent and vision. I love other-world fantasy, and the culture which Tuttle has crafted for Young Lord of Khadora is rich in character and history. The differences between Marak’s world and ours are both delightful and fun to explore. And the similarities—the similarities will make your blood run cold. And perhaps the best thing about this book: Tuttle weaves a story that, literally, kept me guessing and kept me up at night. His—and Marak’s—ideas for Khadora are surprising and brilliant. The book is reminiscent of Raymond E. Feist and Janny Wurt’s Empire trilogy, although it’s faster-paced and less dark. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it without hesitation.

Web of Deceit (Forgotten Legacy #3) (Book) - 9/22/2002 1:31:19 PM
Filled with lots of adventure, excitement, magic and intrigue Web of Deceit is the third in this well developed series produced by writer Richard Tuttle. Web of Deceit is filled with the same admirable clever writing, collection of appealing characters and well wrought story line we have come to enjoy in the previous works. Dialogue is snappy, often tart, and fiduciary as the various characters interact with one another. Situations are developed in a plausible manner by writer Tuttle. Battle scenes are filled with enough magic and stress to please the most discriminating reader of the genre. Reviewed by: molly martin http://www.angelfire.com/ok4/mollymartin

Ancient Prophecy (Targa Trilogy #3) (Book) - 9/22/2002 12:34:55 PM
Ancient Prophecy by Richard S. Tuttle is the thrilling conclusion to the Targa Trilogy. The concept of traveling to different universes is really intriguing, and I enjoyed the interaction between the different races. There are some shockers in this book that really surprised me. As an avid fantasy reader I thought I could tell when revelations in a story would come unless they were illogical, but I was way wrong. Tuttle continues to amaze me with his logically twisting plots and his continuing character development. One of the best fantasy trilogies I have ever read.

Dark Quest (Targa Trilogy #2) (Book) - 9/20/2002 5:40:24 PM
Dark Quest by Richard S. Tuttle is an exciting sequel to Origin Scroll. Alexander, Jenneva, and Oscar are back to fight off the diabolical schemes of Mordac, an evil magician. Once again Tuttle’s plot is twisting and turning, and his characters leap from the pages into your mind. Filled with the thrill of finding a new fantasy author that I love, I am off to read Ancient Prophecy, which is the conclusion of the Targa Trilogy. I recommend this book to all fantasy fans regardless of age.

Abuud: the One-Eyed God (Sword of Heavens #3) (Book) - 9/17/2002 8:48:43 PM
Just finished the book and it is one of the most exciting novels I have ever read! Non-stop fantasy adventure and I can never out-guess Tuttle when it comes to a plot! Just when I think I've figured it all out . . . bingo . . . he surprises me. I highly recommend this book to you. You won't be disappointed.

Origin Scroll (Targa Trilogy #1) (Book) - 9/17/2002 3:22:41 PM
This was my first read of author Richard S. Tuttle and I have to say that I am greatly impressed! It’s a wonderful tale of sword and sorcery that features young (15?) kids that are thrust into maturing rapidly. The characters come alive and remind me of friends I have known. Beware though; Tuttle manages to bring emotions to the reader superbly. I laughed and cried and actually found myself warning the characters when danger approached. I will not detail the plot as it would spoil the read, but I wholeheartedly recommend this book to readers of all ages.

Star of Sakova (Forgotten Legacy #2) (Book) - 8/13/2002 6:50:17 PM
Exciting read…….. 5 stars……….. highly recommended Come observe an extraordinary land springing from the fertile mind of Writer Tuttle on the pages of The Star of Sakova. It is a land where we find a barbarous people who continue to try to finish the abrogation of a populace begun long ago, magic spells, governmental machination and a particularly dastardly form of disingenuousness. The Star of Sakova is an exciting work continuing the saga begun in Tuttle’s Young Lord of Khadora. Reviewed by: molly martin http://www.angelfire.com/ok4/mollymartin or read full review as article under AuthorsDen author m j hollingshead

Young Lord of Khadora (Forgotten Legacy #1) (Book) - 7/21/2002 1:59:34 PM
Writer Tuttle has a fine start on a fantasy series based on another world filled with well developed situations, people, locations and mores. Reviewed by: molly martin http://www.angelfire.com/ok4/mollymartin Criterion use for review: ____+___ Original Story Idea? ____+___ Does the first sentence, paragraph, page hook your attention immediately? ___+____ Is there a plot? a subplot? Do they tie in to make the story complete? ___+____ Are transitions handled so the flow of reading isn't interrupted? ____+___ Do the main characters seem real? ___+____ Does the dialogue between characters seem natural? ___+____ Conflict Present? Was the conflict believable? Was it able to sustain the book? ____+___ Was motivation logical? Believable? Could you see yourself reacting that way in that situation? ____+___ Was the climax believable? Could you envision this really happening? ___+____ Did the conclusion seem a natural outcome?

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.