AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Temple Williams, iClaudio Herrera, iTiffany Turner, iGeorge Carroll, iGina LoBiondo, iByron Edgington, iStanley Ely, i
 
Home > Lisa A Stafford
 

Recent Reviews for Lisa A Stafford


At Home on the Edge© (Book) - 10/6/2010 11:48:19 AM
A wonderful heartfelt poem! Jen

The Trickster and the Howling Wind© (Book) - 5/28/2009 5:08:29 PM
Looking good, Lisa! I agree with Christy that it's eye catching and I also like your concept as well.

The Trickster and the Howling Wind© (Book) - 6/21/2008 5:58:41 PM
This looks like a fun book that children will be into.

At Home on the Edge© (Book) - 6/21/2008 4:54:48 PM
i'd love to read the book, it sounds very interesting

At Home on the Edge© (Book) - 6/7/2008 6:06:24 AM
Hi, I love this poem; it has a great feel, with powerful and emotive lines; good flow. I would be interested in reading more. Mark, Angel Editing

The Trickster and the Howling Wind© (Book) - 5/26/2008 10:43:48 AM
The cover is very eye catching and the illustrations are richly vibrant. I love the magic you weave with your tale!

NO BETTER WAY© (Short Story) - 3/19/2010 11:16:40 PM
I thought this was a powerful story. Sad but the ending was marvelous.

NO BETTER WAY© (Short Story) - 6/23/2008 12:59:54 PM
Amazingly well delivered. The twin metaphors of death and cold that slowly smother life and passion. Keep writing.

NO BETTER WAY© (Short Story) - 6/18/2008 4:34:48 PM
Your story is interesting, Lisa, and it says a lot in a few words. The statement: Love, feeling, and human warmth became unnecessary luxuries in her small world on the outskirts of city sprawl-- leaves little doubt about the condition of Makhail's emotional condition. I liked the surprise ending.

NO BETTER WAY© (Short Story) - 5/30/2008 8:45:42 AM
Good reading, Lisa. I would have shown her childhood abuse another way instead of telling, but that is my persnickety, picky writer's itch. This story has caught my imagination. Congratulations.

NO BETTER WAY© (Short Story) - 3/21/2008 10:03:27 AM
A fine exploration of the emotional wreckage wrought by life. A nice glimpse inside those who've been damaged psychologically. Rather sad, yet almost hopeful in the end. I liked it.

Brother © (Poetry) - 4/8/2011 7:53:32 AM
I think this one will be my favorite. Powerful piece!!

Cold Comfort © (Poetry) - 4/8/2011 7:47:34 AM
Nice!!

A MATTER OF HEART© (Poetry) - 4/8/2011 7:40:10 AM
Wow!! Strong piece babe.

Cold Comfort © (Poetry) - 6/24/2010 1:59:30 PM
Lisa, This poem is powerful and emotional to read. I can feel your pain through the words of this poem. I especially liked "Why would God plant this hunger in my soul, and leave me empty?" Questioning are belief for an answer to our question shows the passion in words. I believe poems are a way of expressing our deepest feelings to the world. I enjoyed your work and I look forward reading future poems from you. God Bless, Anthony F. Rando

Cold Comfort © (Poetry) - 8/10/2009 10:19:21 AM
I think this is a great poem and it has a lot of emotion. I would break it up into stanzas though. This would make it more presentable and perhaps even easier to read. This poem is free-verse (if I am correct) and so line length can vary but I'd still watch out for very long lines, especially if most of the lines are rather short. Either way it is best to not have long lines as short lines are more effective. Not sure how you intend this poem to be read but if it is meant to be read with a pause at the end of each line then ending lines with words like 'of' or 'for' breaks the flow of the piece, hence making the read not 100% smooth. Reading the poem without pausing at the end of each line, however, doesn't seem to ruin the flow for me. Still I would not end lines with words like 'of' or 'for' or 'the' and the like. Also watch out for the typo in the following line: "I can not go on like this much longer…" can not should be cannot. As poets and writers we at times use phrases that are either too common or overused and therefore are not as original as we could be with our writing. I am guilty of this too. It is best to stay away from those. A phrase you used in your poem "aren’t meant to be" is an example of that. Perhaps you can try to reword it to make it more original. In my opinion I think the line you used “How did it ever come to this?” is actually not needed as the line that follows after it “How did I come to this place…” works very well, making that first line take up unnecessary space. I hope I have been of some help here. I enjoyed reading this poem and thanks for sharing it. And oh please keep on writing. All the best, Lena

Cold Comfort © (Poetry) - 8/8/2009 10:13:31 PM
emotionally stimulating and profoundly real ...

A MATTER OF HEART© (Poetry) - 8/7/2009 12:33:06 PM
Loved this poem! What rich emotion it invokes.

LIPS UNKISSED© (Poetry) - 6/28/2009 9:17:45 AM
You make great impact with your verses, Lisa. Thank you. Love and best wishes, Regis

Confession © (Poetry) - 6/26/2009 11:55:09 AM
Honest and real; thank you for sharing of you self, Lisa. Love and peace, Regis

SEDUCTION © (Poetry) - 6/26/2009 11:53:28 AM
What could I respond... ...except yes. Love and best wishes, Regis

Cold Comfort © (Poetry) - 6/26/2009 7:43:09 AM
I can relate, Lisa. Very moving and expressive. Love and best wishes, Regis

A MATTER OF HEART© (Poetry) - 11/10/2008 9:40:00 AM
Your work is so very awesome. You are very talented. And your feelings are VALID! Life is going to be better. Feel my love, please.

Cold Comfort © (Poetry) - 9/10/2008 6:27:54 PM
That was beautiful, honest, raw and pure.

LIPS UNKISSED© (Poetry) - 8/15/2008 8:44:51 AM
I've written many poems but... never thought of writing about... the kiss. Such elicitation of touch sensation in your words, I could almost feel that I was being kissed. ~Zach

Brown Bread© (Poetry) - 8/15/2008 8:38:42 AM
This elicited an uneasiness in me; I found myself feeling sad for the mother and the hidden drama lived out around the brown bread. Very, very good treatment of a painful subject, Lisa. ~Zach

MAMA © (Poetry) - 7/22/2008 1:16:16 AM
I wonder is you had wrote this in negro dialect (1880) how it might have come out

A MATTER OF HEART© (Poetry) - 7/22/2008 1:13:59 AM
the pain of this poem starts out inside of you and comes out of you in the end. I got twisted on this. that's good.

LIPS UNKISSED© (Poetry) - 7/22/2008 1:10:56 AM
Your use of words is quite interesting. You paint your poems on paper.

Confession © (Poetry) - 7/22/2008 1:07:53 AM
I had the same dream in 1988

SEDUCTION © (Poetry) - 7/22/2008 1:05:31 AM
Evokes a deja vu image of somewhere i've been before. good work.

Cold Comfort © (Poetry) - 7/22/2008 1:03:09 AM
A wonder look behind the mask of love for convience that exposes the human effects of playing love games

MAMA © (Poetry) - 7/8/2008 12:20:06 AM
Thank you for sharing such a difficult journey. God Bless You! John Michael

SEDUCTION © (Poetry) - 6/27/2008 9:09:08 PM
Very sensually inviting, well said... Be always safe, Karen

Confession © (Poetry) - 6/22/2008 10:52:37 AM
Very nice, very nice indeed. I know this dream, and have reached to touch it...once or twice, only to find the morning mists parting. But I still believe in it.

Confession © (Poetry) - 6/8/2008 9:11:37 PM
This sounds a familiar path and the heart of a true poet.

Confession © (Poetry) - 6/5/2008 5:46:29 AM
I enjoyed the word play, your use of language. I think we all dream and sometimes hope that to be one day's reality. bill

Confession © (Poetry) - 6/5/2008 4:09:16 AM
What a beautiful, spiritually heartfelt write with which you have gifted your readers! I love the simplicity and depth. Love the "whirling Dervish" line...this is very nice work.

Confession © (Poetry) - 6/4/2008 8:58:21 PM
Your "Confession" is finally upbeat and inspirational in its message. The oening line is very powerful.

MAMA © (Poetry) - 6/4/2008 7:56:48 PM
This one reaches in and squeezes the heart - painfully penned sadness - (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Confession © (Poetry) - 6/4/2008 7:32:46 PM
Lisa, Stunning - from opening lines to last, I was drawn into your words - thank you, well done. (((HUGS))) and love, karla.

A MATTER OF HEART© (Poetry) - 6/2/2008 5:14:36 PM
Yes, I agree. Some anger just goes so very deep and this poem shows how and why. Thanks.

A MATTER OF HEART© (Poetry) - 5/30/2008 8:47:46 AM
A Matter of Heart comes through brilliantly, fierce enough to kill.

LIPS UNKISSED© (Poetry) - 5/29/2008 7:34:37 AM
Your words bring definition and depth to the experience. I felt a little awkward around stanza 2. It felt like there was something missing.

A MATTER OF HEART© (Poetry) - 5/26/2008 9:45:03 PM
Very nice poem...well-written, great imagery.

Brother © (Poetry) - 5/16/2008 7:29:45 AM
Hi Lisa, I read your poem, "Brother". Wow it blew me away! Though I am not a "brother" in the black sence, I loved reading it. One can almost see one's self in Africa in these various places. Well researched and well done!Please feel free to visit my sites .Either at www.freewebs.com/kendoo or here in the"Den".

LIPS UNKISSED© (Poetry) - 5/4/2008 1:23:45 PM
Such a unique piece of work . . . I was totally mesmerized by your delivery . . .

LIPS UNKISSED© (Poetry) - 5/4/2008 1:18:13 PM
...words to bring...color to lips...becomes the definition of kisses...given and taken...perhaps unknown...in your wonderful poetry. excellent Lisa... John

A MATTER OF HEART© (Poetry) - 5/3/2008 1:18:28 PM
This is really well-written. The build up, the way you makes us feel your emotion, excellent stuff.

MAMA © (Poetry) - 4/30/2008 8:27:49 AM
Very well written, I couldn't have the heart to give 'em away though, it'll kill me. I'd rather them be besides me and maybe through my struggles learn....Suffering for sake of love is a gift.

Brother © (Poetry) - 4/10/2008 7:28:57 PM
Wow, this has so much detail and history, it is a joy to read and is the kind of write one can reread and always see new details as you make this place and these people alive to us, very well-written.

Brother © (Poetry) - 4/8/2008 3:14:40 AM
Poetry with the history of an ancient land called into play within the power and seeds of the mighty, modern-day warrior whose girth and solid stance bequeathed to him by ancestors long gone, but live forever as a mighty oak from seeds like acorns dropped where needed to grow . . . "Brother" is a ringing endorsement to the honor and a tribute to the old as we plod toward the new . . .

MAMA © (Poetry) - 4/3/2008 8:47:14 PM
You tell a story well in this, and we can really relate to this character as if she is talking directly to us as we stand beside her-this is a keeper.

MAMA © (Poetry) - 4/2/2008 2:18:36 PM
A moment in time etched forever in a pure heart, in the hopes of a better life for another.... Be always safe, Karen

MAMA © (Poetry) - 3/31/2008 11:08:55 PM
...beautifully written poetry...of loss...and hopes...for one wished of a better life. very well penned Lisa... John

MAMA © (Poetry) - 3/31/2008 7:05:42 PM
A sad poem to me, I could never imagine having to give up a child... but beautifully written. Thanks for sharing...Lavendar Jazz

Brown Bread© (Poetry) - 3/27/2008 10:43:34 AM
A deep emotional and powerful write. Thank you for sharing.

She Liked to Ride © (Poetry) - 3/26/2008 1:20:00 PM
Very intriguing with a sense of mystery, well done... Be always safe, Karen

She Liked to Ride © (Poetry) - 3/26/2008 12:33:22 PM
Dealing with your evil side today, are you? I could seen the wind blowing the gauzy curtains slightly through the half opened window above the deserted street in the second floor apartment . . . The moon splays the scene in ebony and fading colors . . .

ANOTHER FRIDAY NIGHT© (Poetry) - 3/26/2008 2:20:17 AM
I love it when I come here to read your offering . . . You are very good at sarcasm and truthfullness . . . I think I;m in love with you . . . LOL . . . I KNOW I'm in love with you poetry . . .

Brown Bread© (Poetry) - 3/25/2008 5:31:57 PM
...sad pen...a slice of life...not found in bread...enriched with visual images...of something more...inside. wonderful expressive write here Lisa... John

ANOTHER FRIDAY NIGHT© (Poetry) - 3/25/2008 5:23:47 PM
The dark makes us all look better, but wait for the dawn...isn't today also Tuesday...;) ed

Blues© (Poetry) - 3/25/2008 5:21:54 PM
...words...as if to wear the color...of scarred notes...from a horn of...plenty blue...hitting the low sounds...a street artist. excellent pen Lisa... John

Brown Bread© (Poetry) - 3/24/2008 5:38:06 PM
So much tension in this home....the emotions are so thick, I feel like I'm in that kitchen silently watching the drama being played out. Welcome to Authors' Den! Connie

TAMAR’S LAMENT© (Poetry) - 3/24/2008 5:32:45 PM
This gets a "WOW" rating, in my limited vocabulary! You have captured in this brief poem all the elements of that family scandal/tragedy. Connie

TAMAR’S LAMENT© (Poetry) - 3/23/2008 2:35:18 PM
Big time heavy-duty stuff here, my friend . . . You have the knack . . . The street smarts, coupled with however much proper education you might have amassed, and it all comes into play when you give us words such at this . . . I am mightily impressed and I am mightily happy that someone has shown up who can WRITE poetry!!!!!

Hot Chicken© (Poetry) - 3/22/2008 5:53:59 AM
Lisa, Hope closed her eyes against His hands and whiskey kisses, And dreamed of the city, Bright lights and Hot chicken The last few lines says it all, Lisa. Awesome write! Blessings, ~Linda

Hot Chicken© (Poetry) - 3/21/2008 5:06:25 PM
Great writ - excellent imagery. Thanks, ~D.

Hot Chicken© (Poetry) - 3/21/2008 2:42:50 PM
very descriptive and good imagery... All some people got is hope...

Hot Chicken© (Poetry) - 3/21/2008 1:13:13 PM
Sometimes life in dreams is better served than the reality, well said.... Be always safe, Karen

A New Bed© (Poetry) - 3/21/2008 6:38:01 AM
Another great piece of writing...

Blues© (Poetry) - 3/21/2008 6:27:03 AM
I like your style... you talk about real issues. You are very talented...I guess you already know that. Keep writing and I will be reading

Brown Bread© (Poetry) - 3/21/2008 6:22:48 AM
Whoa, I really like this... You have a nice way of playing on words.

Brown Bread© (Poetry) - 3/21/2008 5:05:18 AM
Wow, what a twist. I have to give you some props on this one. It was so vivid and paints some of our past so perfectly! Great Write Indeed!

Blues© (Poetry) - 3/21/2008 2:57:26 AM
I don't usually comment on but one poem per person per day . . . In your case I had no choice but to come here . . . Thank you for not laying a victim status on the street worker . . . Although there are some who are truly victims out there, the biggest majority, by far, are there because they want to, no matter how many excuses sofiety tends to give them . . . This is fact . . . Straight from a former street person . . .

Brown Bread© (Poetry) - 3/21/2008 2:53:14 AM
Two in a row that you have aced . . . See what you are doing? . . . You're posting such gems, that when I come here daily I will be expecting yet another one . . . Doesn't that intimade you? . . . LOL . . . Yet another slice of life as we know it . . .

Brown Bread© (Poetry) - 3/21/2008 2:26:19 AM
Lisa, Welcome to The Den. Your poem, "Brown Bread" was not what I was expecting. I did find it sad but open and honest. I wish I had the power to change the ways of the world. Peace, Love and Blessings Always, Paul.

A New Bed© (Poetry) - 3/20/2008 12:46:08 PM
Oh, hell yes I like this . . . My kind of story-telling poetry, with just enough "realisism" interjected to make you wonder . . . You have a gift . . . Welcome to AD . . .

A New Bed© (Poetry) - 3/20/2008 12:27:33 PM
Wonderful piece of story telling through poetry. Many emotions in this one and brought out very artfully.... Be always safe, Karen

A New Bed© (Poetry) - 3/20/2008 3:48:13 AM
This is an extraordinary piece of work. The flow and rhythm are both excellent but what really makes this piece is the layers of interpetation...in this short narrative, you have a novel. I am going to put you on my tracker list as I will be reading more of you. Welcome to the den.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.