AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Ann Frailey, iRobert Campbell, iellen george, iDeborah Frontiera, iZ McClure, iRobert Wood, iG. Rynk, i
 
Home > Theodore J. Nottingham
 

Recent Reviews for Theodore J. Nottingham


Becoming Real: Essays on the Teachings of a Master (Book) - 2/13/2003 8:30:38 AM
I found Becoming Real fascinating. I wish I had known Durckheim. I imagine him as a brilliant and colorful rainbow able to connect heaven and earth, or ego and spirit. In reading this, my passion of ontology has been intensified.

The Final Prophet: Book One of the Messiah Chronicles (Book) - 11/24/2002 12:57:48 PM
Considering the diminuitions of personal freedoms now in the works after September 11, the author has hit the mark squarely, offering us a taste of what the future might be like if we let fear rule our value judgements. It also explains the solution: complete awareness of Being and Self in all actions, leading to a morality that is situational, but true. Well written and thought provoking.

The Beyond Within (Book) - 3/10/2002 1:18:50 PM
Ted, You and Rebecca are doing great work. I would love the chance to communicate with you. Greg Rieke Kansas City

The Beyond Within (Book) - 2/26/2002 8:40:38 AM
opened my mind to another place undescribable

The Trial of Anne Hutchinson (Book) - 2/14/2002 2:58:47 PM
Im doing a project for school on anne huchinson and I would like to know mor about her

The Mouse That Soared (Short Story) - 11/1/2001 6:00:16 PM
If you don't dream, you can't discover the wonders of life... Enchanting.

The Man Who Could Not Die (Short Story) - 8/26/2001 8:17:23 PM
I have to admit, you grabbed my attention right away and kept it to the end. I love historical twists and that was a good one. I only have one suggestion, If I may. A quote from your story: "This was without question the most bizzare experience of my life and I had made it my ambition to place myself in unusual situations!" Perhaps a bit of elaboration on this statement would be enlightenin. Maybe an example or two would give us more insight on the narrator. Other than that, great story.

Bethanie: A Place of Renewal (Article) - 3/12/2006 3:18:08 AM
Bethanie's website in French is : http://www.centre-bethanie.org

Meister Eckhart and the Birth Within (Article) - 2/18/2006 11:53:39 AM
Thanks, Theodore. Any research on the life of Meister Eckhart is always very welcome. I had always thought that Meister Eckhart was discussing different levels of enlightenment when he used the terms "God" and "Godhead." The two stages I thought were analogous to what Sri Ramakrishna was describing by saying: "There is a stage beyond even Brahmajnana, After jnana [i.e., Brahmajnana or God-realization] comes vijnana." (Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna, 288.) At Brahmajnana, or God-Realization, we know that "I am God." At vijnana, we know that "everything is God." It is a more umbrageous stage of enlightenment. It is at vijnana that we are liberated from birth and death, according to Ramana Maharshi, not at Brahmajnana. However, Swami Abhayananda, author of History of Mysticism, has told me recently that: "As for Eckhart, there is a quote on p. 281 [of the Swami's book, The History of Mysticism] in which he distinguishes between the absolute Consciousness and the creative Power; he calls the one 'Godhead (Gottheit)' and the other 'God'. In all the other quotes he seems content to use the shorthand word, 'God', as an all-purpose term." If the Swami is right, that would mean that Eckhart is not using the terms "God" and "Godhead" for Brahmajnana and vijnana, but for a level of enlightenment one step below. In my scheme, Brahmajnana would be associated with the seventh chakra and vijnana, with the hridayam or spiritual heart beyond the seventh chakra. In Swami Abhayananda's scheme, Eckhart would be meaning to associate "God" with the sixth chakra, where all visions of the "creative power" -- that is, Shakti, the Holy Spirit, Aum/Amen, Prakriti/Procrearix the Divine Mother or Phenomenal -- occur. "Godhead," in this view would be associated with the seventh chakra - that is, with Brahman, the Father, the Formless, Nameless One, the Transcendent. I personally do not agree with the Swami. I still believe that Eckhart meant to reserve the term "Godhead" for a higher experience than simple Brahmajnana. It is a lot to ask, and you may think me absolutely animal crackers for even being concerned about this question. But do you have any insights on it? Brother A

Watchfulness (Article) - 6/25/2003 8:52:02 AM
Great references to the inner place! Compare with Psalm 91:1, "He that dwelleth in the secrete place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty." Who is the icon depicted drawn to represent? Speaking of the Philokalia, perhaps an article on St. Simian and the 3rd method of prayer, directing the mind and the heart to join together in uncesing prayer with guarded attention would be useful. I am delighted with your site. Taylor Barry of New Orleans.

Watchfulness (Article) - 7/14/2002 12:22:38 PM
yet another inspiring and excellent article! +++

Watchfulness (Article) - 3/29/2002 10:44:46 PM
A fine article, which I enjoyed reading very much

Watchfulness (Article) - 3/28/2002 10:08:00 AM
Well written, well received, thank you. I found much benefit in this today.

The Way of Inner Silence (Article) - 3/19/2002 11:04:17 AM
Another excellent read :)

The Power Within (Article) - 3/19/2002 10:59:40 AM
Another excellent article I enjoyed reading very much, and again intend to put your suggestions into practice.

Healing the Inner Self (Article) - 3/19/2002 10:42:08 AM
Glad I found your article. It was a read I enjoyed and understood very well. Intend to practice what you preach :)

Healing the Inner Self (Article) - 3/16/2002 11:21:12 AM
quite true !!!

Meister Eckhart and the Birth Within (Article) - 3/7/2002 12:43:47 AM
Meticulously researched and extremely well written! This is excellent.

The Wheel of Transformation (Article) - 2/4/2002 2:35:05 PM


The Neglected Heart of Religion (Article) - 12/11/2001 10:22:43 AM
Always refreshing - and it is a re-freshing that we all require from time to time - to dig deeper, to reach higher, to search further, and go beyond the platitudes and dogmas... where the mystics go. Thank you for this and all your excellent articles.

The Dark Night of the Soul (Article) - 12/4/2001 8:20:07 AM
Great Article! Truly Insightful and a Soul-Refreshment. I needed that... Thanks Karen Dunn

The Dark Night of the Soul (Article) - 11/19/2001 3:18:01 PM
A very informative article. This article caught my eye because I recently heard Loreena McKennitt's 'Dark Night of the Soul', where she put John of the Cross's words to music. But I was wondering why he's called John of the Cross. Leonardo da Vinci was called as such because he came "from Vinci"--does the reference to "the Cross" intended to indicate he is a person of religious profession, or was he named such after he was made a saint? I'm assuming he was "sainted" (sorry, don't know the right word) because the notes Loreena McKennitt wrote states "St. John of the Cross". Anyway, this is turning out to be a long review. Thanks for the article!

The Habitat of the Soul (Article) - 11/4/2001 5:43:14 PM
Great writing! I hope to see more in the future. The soul is complex but you have broken it down into a wonderful passage to show how to care for those around us.

The Strange Life and Visions of Victor Hugo (Article) - 11/1/2001 5:44:08 PM
Victor Hugo has long been an author I have held in highest esteem. "I wish no slave, I wish no master!" were words that shone like a beacon to me in the darker times of my own life, wishing to shake the tyranny of both. Your article has reminded me now, years later, of my attraction to his work. I pick up Hugo again... Thank you for such an elegant and vivid painting of a fascinating life.

Across the Marshes of Styx: Dante's mystical jour (Article) - 6/16/2001 9:34:17 AM
Excellent!

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.