AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Brian Hill, iTom Hyland, iFrank Ryan, iSara Coslett, iWilliam Guy, iMargaret Doner, iKarl Morgan, i
 
Home > Keith John Paul Horcasitas
 

Recent Reviews for Keith John Paul Horcasitas


What Goes Around, Comes Around – and is round: an LP! (Short Story) - 2/12/2015 8:09:34 AM
Great memories. While my younger sister got a 45 player, my twin brother and I never owned any records or players. We considered it wasting money because we could listen to those tunes on our 1930s model console radio, watch them on TV every night or our car radios and they changed all the time. A lot of classmates had records and players so we learned all the new dances at parties and hops. I remember buying that Peter Paul and Mary album for a second cousin's three girls where I stayed briefly when my car was broken down. I overstayed my welcome that Christmas school break, and the album was an appeasement. The owner of the house wasn't pleased with my gift because he thought that music like that corrupted his girls who became hippies shortly after. Doesn't Puff the Magic Dragon refer to smoking marijuana? Finally, my two young nieces and I were in a store and I decided to buy a birthday present for the both of them… They wanted me to buy the latest hit, Saturday Night, by the Bay City Rollers (I'm sure you remember that forgettable tune and forgettable band, the downfall of Howard Cosell's spectacular debut variety show, Saturday Night). I objected and bought them an album by Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young with some of the sweetest harmony ever recorded. They didn't speak to me for two years, but my brother sure enjoyed the album. BTW, both girls got back on my side very soon. Ron

Addicted To Running! / Louisiana Marathon Coming Up! (Short Story) - 1/12/2015 7:47:17 AM
I'm with you, you're my kind of man… a runner. It seemed like I was born to run… always racing my twin brother and anyone else who would race. I got serious in track and cross country in high school. By college, my running was restricted by my spinal cord injury during the summer of my junior year in high school. After being paralyzed in 1963 during spinal surgery trying to fix the earlier problem, I had to quit running and could only walk… So I walked a lot until I couldn't anymore in 1992. In my mind I watch races and feel like I could still compete, and probably would be, like you. One Stanford graduate wrote, at 103, that he had tied up all the records for the Senior Olympics in the over 100 category. Now that's sticking to it! Ron

How He Got His Nickname! (Short Story) - 12/10/2014 10:31:58 AM
The first thing I thought about while reading this was… "Here's Johnny!" ;-) That's a very interesting story about a down to earth individual that the Jesuits were often noted for. Quite a very practical order in the way they conducted life's business. Enjoyed… Ron

Leafing / Leaving a Legacy of Love (Short Story) - 10/27/2014 9:27:26 AM
From what I read here, your mother was a wonderful person that have been the neighborhood. If everyone were like that, what a wonderful world it would be. Happy Halloween. Ron

Teach Your Children, and Let Them Teach You (Short Story) - 9/15/2014 7:09:31 AM
Now that's a fish story! I recall getting warned in Baton Rouge that "we don't write that fast in these parts like you do in Texas." And trying fishing where my brother got caught on the dock by the DNR in Wisconsin. Another time, he took my lure, a treble hook jitterbug that waddled on the surface like a frog and snagged a 40+ inch 40+ pound Muskie that jumped 7 times before cutting his 6 pound test line on a scale on its back where the line had wrapped during jumps. I wish my dad had learned from me, he would've been a better fisherman. You don't need to use all of the "continueds." Ron

Spare Tires (Short Story) - 8/27/2014 9:36:42 AM
After never having a spare tire (because I never drank beer like my brothers did and did) I've been developing one of late. It came in handy last year when a squirrel ran me off the street and into the only sharp curb in the city that nearly cut my tire in half. After some tugging and pulling and calling for instructions, we got that little sucker out and yet carried me all the way to get retired. Thanks for the belated advice… Ron

Blue Plate My - o - nass (Short Story) - 8/21/2014 7:06:03 AM
That was funny. Actually, I think she was flattered. ;-) I wasn't very picky with food as a child, but I didn't like most salad dressings for some reason because they were too spicy, sweet or sour (I do now) and would always insist on having "just mayonnaise" on my salads. But I didn't put it on any of my sandwiches because I thought it detracted from the taste of the meat or cheese or whatever was in the sandwich. I still cringe when fast food restaurants put the obligatory dollop of catchup, mustard, and mayonnaise as though we have to be trained to like all three at the same time. Not to mention the special sauce… So I won't. ;-) The Nabisco plant finally shut down here in Houston a few years ago. It was snatched up by the UT-Medical Center and they created a wonderful classroom and laboratory building out of it. The old hardwood floors are amazing as well as the old metal windows and white painted heavy brick walls, although they cracked when I drove my heavy electric wheelchair over their joints, newly shellacked together. Ron

Grandpa and Grandson (Short Story) - 8/3/2014 7:27:22 AM
There is nothing like catching your first fish. If he is from Kansas, I'm surprised he hadn't already done that. Ron

Learning to Write (Short Story) - 7/7/2014 9:31:55 AM
Good advice. I find that so many authors here don't proof their work before submitting. Some of them are of the opinion that it is something that others should do for them. Maybe after they become famous, others will proof their work before publishing, but no editor wants to read sloppily written work full of errors and will turn down submissions without reading them after a few errors are spotted. Ron

Father's Day - Making a Hole in One, In More Ways Than One (Short Story) - 6/15/2014 6:42:26 AM
A great honor to your father. He would appreciate reading it if he were here. My father was a trucker who loved sports and played softball until he was 45. His other passion was bowling in winter. Said once that he could have been a professional bowler. Even though they had a retirement home on the lake in northern Wisconsin, Dad wasn't too interested in hunting and fishing and didn't have too many hobbies except occasional projects to improve his property and continually helping out others with their projects. As he neared retirement without hobbies, I wondered what he would do in retirement. Suddenly, he took up golfing at 60 and soon had my mother golfing too. He retired at 62 and golfed until about 2000 when his health failed. He died in 2005 having about 20 years of good times golfing, sometimes with three of his sons in retirement. We always knew what to get him on Father's Day. Ron

Valentine Hearts' & Kisses' Memories (Short Story) - 2/12/2014 6:31:32 AM
You have a very good memory to remember such details of your childhood. Gigi made quite an impression on you. We always had Valentines celebrations in grade school, but I don't remember the details. I do remember that my twin brother and I had girlfriends in first grade, but I think that was more my mother's doing. I do remember whenever girls would call us "cute," I would always say, "That means you want to kiss me…" It never failed to turn them off. And then, when we were 10, our mother arranged kissing parties with games like spin the bottle, so that we could perfect our kissing technique. By sixth grade, I was in love with a blonde, Yvonne, but she was in love with Rock Hudson. Little did she know… Ron

Valentine Hearts' & Kisses' Memories (Short Story) - 2/12/2014 4:55:49 AM
a warm rememberance of that first attempt at valentines day love budd

Coach William Rappold Tribute (Short Story) - 1/31/2014 7:01:13 AM
We've all had our coaches and mentors along the way. They have made us what we are. Ron

Uncle Ray - A Quintessential Kleinpeter (Short Story) - 1/18/2014 8:41:38 AM
Made me think of my great uncle Roy. He always seemed to be a bachelor although he was married three times and had a daughter. My grandmother insisted on Guernsey cows because of their cream production. Ron

Uncle Ray - A Quintessential Kleinpeter (Short Story) - 1/18/2014 3:44:10 AM
a fine tribute to him budd

Guy's Great Poboys! (Short Story) - 12/24/2013 11:15:23 AM
Will have to try Guy's Poboys if I ever get to N'Awlins. When I first came to Houston, There was a place on South Main called "New Orleans Poboy." I went there quite often for lunch where they made-to-order your sandwich. They were always crowded and had an assembly line assembling the sandwiches. I don't know if they still operate there, but they were a pretty good transplant. Ron

Elder Walk (Short Story) - 11/29/2013 6:22:15 AM
Since the Elder population is growing, they should be able to assert more power and recognition. It was neat how you are able to promote your event by taking advantage of what Willard Scott did every day. I remember those announcements. I hope someone recognized my uncle before he died a few months ago at 101. I have been an electric wheelchair for 20 years and find that exercise is very important. For those that can walk, we should provide a way for the elders to take a walk every day with companions. For those that can't, just getting out in their wheelchairs is a nice relief from sitting all day long. I recently bought a used Flexociser that I could get under insurance. It provides the kind of motion I need for my legs and arms to keep them strong and provide some resistance for circulation. I can't understand why these kinds of preventive tools can't be covered under insurance. Ron

Elder Walk (Short Story) - 11/28/2013 5:26:34 PM
a fine story budd

Gunpoint Grocery Scare & Co-Workers Humorous Care (Short Story) - 11/18/2013 5:37:39 AM
What a scare! These days they seem to pull the trigger for no damn reason. I never worked in a grocery store, but envied a kid who did and bought a new car while still in high school. My parents have friends who spent their entire careers in grocery stores starting in high school. My mother worked at a lunch counter in an IGA for a few years. I stopped one lunch for a hamburger. And she served me better than any other waitress I ever had. TIpped her a bunch. You didn't have a burglar, just a just a robber. Ron

Gunpoint Grocery Scare & Co-Workers Humorous Care (Short Story) - 11/18/2013 4:08:17 AM
thank you for the write budd

Traffic Tickets, Makin Groceries & Tulane / LSU / Bama / Saban Blues (Short Story) - 11/9/2013 11:05:04 AM
I never heard the term, "makin groceries." A coworker with a large family always joked that he was going to "get bred [bread]" on the way home from work. I was never riding with my dad when he got his tickets. I was riding, standing behind him in the back seat, when he rolled our car when I was about six. When we were nine, my dad let us drive is brand-new 54 Ford stick shift in the hayfield, alone. We didn't get a ticket, but my grandfather chastised my dad vehemently for letting, "Those kids drive!" Ron

Pancaked Alzheimer's Memories Running Through My Head (Short Story) - 10/20/2013 8:03:35 AM
Congrats on your accomplishment. Your continued participation will insure that Alzheimer's will not affect you. I benefited from a Kiwanis scholarship going to college. While I never achieved 1st in my years of running cross country, I did finish 1st in a 50 mile walk at our college six months before my paralysis. Pancakes were like lead in my stomach. Although my mother made fantastic pancakes--she's had debilitating mini strokes and diabetes, a quad bypass and hip replacement--I swore off them as an adult. Mom had a undiagnosed spinal injury as a baby and never was athletic. In spite of her lifestyle enhanced illnesses, she's still sharp as a tack at 88. Ron

Used Cars & One For Our Teenage Son (Short Story) - 4/6/2013 7:52:18 AM
Your article brought back memories. My father tended to buy new cars in the 1950s, although he told me that (after he bought a 1939 Buick new and had to sell it to my mother's parents because he couldn't pay the payments) he bought many Model As for $50, drove them until they quit, and then sold them for $25 during World War II. I don't recall the Model As, but I do recall a used Plymouth and used Pontiac. He rolled the Plymouth over with me in it and the Pontiac “had to run 30 minutes before it would pull.” He bought new Fords in 1951, 53, and 57. He also bought used cars for “driving to work.” I persuaded him to stop buying new cars, and he never bought a new one after that. My twin brother and I bought a 1935 three window Ford hot rod with a 1950 Cadillac overhead valve V-8 for $100 in 1962. Unfortunately, I wrecked that car in 1963. I bought back my father's 1957 Ford Fairlane 500 in 1963 for $250. I bought three more used cars after that, a 57 De Soto for $100 in 1965, a 66 Toronado for $3000 in 1968, and a 73 Monte Carlo for $3000 in 1975. I drove about 500,000 miles in those three cars. In 1970 and 71, I was invited by Dr. Helen Van Zante, a foremost authority on home equipment, to teach a session on buying used cars for her senior girls in her consumer economics class. It was one of my most enjoyable teaching sessions, with thirty or so beautiful young girls eager to find out about how to buy their first used car! During my years in graduate school, I encountered several immigrants eager to learn how to drive and buy a car. I helped them learn how to drive and buy their first car. In 1970, two of my best students, married, wanted me to help them buy a used car. There were a number of used car lots in my neighborhood and we took a look at all the cars. Danny had his heart set on a derelict Porsche 914 sitting in a yard with a “for-sale” sign on it. For some reason, we never contacted the owner or got to drive that car which appeared to be junk. However, there was a beautiful powder blue Pinto sitting in one of the lots. This was just after the scare about the Pinto gas tank blowing up in a rear end collision. After I coached Danny on how not to be too excited about the car before making an offer, he took a test drive and bought the car for $600. It was a great little car and served them well. After driving my Monte Carlo for a couple of years, Beh, my helper of eight years at that time who had learned to drive from me, wanted to buy a new car. Her brother suggested that she buy an Echo. We took a look at the Echo and both decided that we didn't like the looks or the cheapness of its general exterior and interior. She bought a 2000 Corolla instead, new. Thirteen years later, she has 95,000 miles of city driving with little or no trouble from the Corolla. That was one new car purchase that paid off. Ron

Jury Duty in Baton Rouge and New Orleans (Short Story) - 3/10/2013 3:03:40 PM
most hate that notice budd

Christmas & Santa Pic Stories Published (Short Story) - 12/22/2012 5:02:07 AM
very cheerful for the season budd

Music of Life (Article) - 11/17/2014 3:55:24 AM
Music has always been the best alternative to forget things if you have a bad day and helps you bounce back!

Music of Life (Article) - 11/16/2014 7:31:50 AM
There's nothing better than sitting around a communal group with a guitar or a piano and singing the old songs. Ron

Life / Death / Hospice / Breath (Article) - 8/17/2014 9:55:39 AM
At first I thought you were writing about that evil, "bad breath," but then I see you were writing about the last breath of those dying. I have been kept alive by three attendants for 22 years and came close to death with pneumonia in December 2012 (the nurses at the hospital admitted it to my attendants, but not to me). "He isn't going to make it." Still, thoughts of death don't bother me although my primary helper tends to want to discuss it all the time. You have a beautiful voice. I couldn't understand the words very well, but my hearing isn't what should be, so it's probably my fault. I just posted my first video trying to sing without any lung power right here on AD with my poem /song, I Sing, yesterday. Ron

ADD (Adoration Deficit Disorder) (Article) - 3/13/2012 2:42:43 PM
With all due respect, there are many a religious, even Catholic sufferer of ADD and/or ADHD who do attend church but still need the medication to function productively in their daily lives. The way this particular illness has been branded by so many as somehow illegitimate or as a scam conspiracy designed to medicate people is extremely unfair to all of those who suffer from the condition - some so severe that holding a job or making it to graduation can be difficult if not impossible without the medicines designed to treat the disorder and alleviate symptoms. I'm all for everyone developing a better relationship with the Almighty, however I do not see doing so as a medical cure for a very real genetic illness.

Rick Santorum For President - http://www.ricksantorum.com/index.php (Article) - 3/12/2012 4:29:17 PM
Rick and Jill went up to Capitol Hill to fetch a pail of money. Richly Rick came down and broke Obama's crown, and the Dem's came tumbling after him.

Rick Santorum For President - http://www.ricksantorum.com/index.php (Article) - 3/11/2012 4:44:36 PM
Santorum for President. Amen, And Amen.

Rick Santorum For President - http://www.ricksantorum.com/index.php (Article) - 3/9/2012 1:47:56 PM
My first to political contributions of 2012 went to Herman Cain and Newt Gingrich, respectively. However, my third one is going to Sen. Santorum, and each of Gingich's emails for additional funding has received a reply urging him to get out of the race for the good of the country. Santorum may need to promise him the VP spot in order to get him to drop out, allowing Santorum to win the nomination.

It's Called Christmas with a Capital C (Article) - 12/17/2009 2:25:13 PM
*clapping* Hear, hear! AMEN!!!! Merry CHRISTmas to you; thank you for this article! Well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :(

Og Mandino - The Greatest Salesman in the World (Article) - 1/21/2009 6:43:25 PM
I agree. That's a great little book.

Cooking Up Some Romance! (Poetry) - 2/7/2015 9:56:26 AM
I've thought long and hard how I would show this year, the gratitude I have for her cooking, so dear. We don't see eye to eye all the time, but when we eat together, nothing could be more fine. Ron

Cooking Up Some Romance! (Poetry) - 2/7/2015 7:43:18 AM
I cooked her a meal, with loving care. we sat down to eat, a meal to share. I try to do, whatever she wishes, and then we argue, over who's doing the dishes. Michael D.

New Orleans 'Yat Limerick (Poetry) - 9/3/2014 8:50:10 AM
Now I know where it's 'Yat. Those roots run deep. Ron

New Orleans 'Yat Limerick (Poetry) - 9/3/2014 7:09:28 AM
I understand the sentiment if not the words. Anyone who thinks of his roots as being "below sea level" can't be all bad. :-)

Micah 6:8 Applied to Social Media (Poetry) - 1/26/2014 8:19:29 AM
Nice thought...this is probably my favorite scripture. Cheers, Dan

Saints and Sinners Prayer (Poetry) - 3/27/2012 8:13:53 AM
You surely do take your sports seriously! :)

Valentine's Prayer and Survival Poem (Poetry) - 2/13/2012 5:00:12 PM
Good advice, given in a humorous way, but serious nevertheless.--or the doghouse! Your wedding picture is gorgeous! Connie

Valentine's Prayer and Survival Poem (Poetry) - 2/13/2012 9:41:45 AM
Oh what our culture has come to, when expectations exceed reality more and more every year, and, somehow, it always seems to cost more? Well, I had better take your advice and go shopping… Ron

Tim Tebow (Te-beaux & John 3:16-eaux) (Poetry) - 1/16/2012 2:59:27 PM
BEING TRUE TO ONE'S FAITH...PLOUGHING...GOING AGAINST THE GRAIN! I SALUTE TIM TEBOW AND I THANK YOU KEITH, FOR SHARING THIS FINE TRIBUTE. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Holiday Blues (Poetry) - 11/3/2011 9:01:17 PM
'yippee kay yay' is what we gotta say! Holiday blues cruise can't be far behind.

God Loves You, Peace, From Someone Who Cares (Poetry) - 9/19/2011 10:18:40 AM
Keith, This touches my heart. May your daughter always have Jesus in her heart and will always be a shining light for Him. Many blessings, ~Linda

Heaven and Hell (Poetry) - 9/19/2011 10:15:00 AM
Keith, Amazing poetry from a talented pen. Many blessings, ~Linda

Let Go, Let God (Poetry) - 9/19/2011 10:13:31 AM
Keith, This song has special meaning. My friend Shelia passed away of cancer and Hospice was with her when she died. They helped her in many ways, God bless them, and God bless YOU. Many blessings, ~Linda

Let Go, Let God (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 5:44:47 PM
Those who serve in Hospice Care must be chosen by God....they are a wonderful comfort and help for patients and their families. Connie

Stephenie (Poetry) - 9/12/2011 5:41:27 PM
What higher praise can there be for a friend? "You honor the Cross...You've helped me to grow in Love And to better listen to the Dove" God bless your friendship! Connie

Heaven and Hell (Poetry) - 8/8/2011 9:20:18 PM
I think this is great. I hope you did well with it. That's not an easy feat to do, either, and do it well, too.

Heaven and Hell (Poetry) - 8/6/2011 7:19:26 PM
Leaves Lot Room For Discussion,i.e. Looking From 1's Own Eyes... Credit Illuminating Write... TRASK...

Psalm 23 (Poetry) - 10/3/2010 10:17:03 AM
Amen. This is so beautful, wonderful offering. Blessings, Christine

God Loves You, Peace, From Someone Who Cares (Poetry) - 9/1/2010 9:28:09 PM
Spritually enlightening... Be always safe, Karen

Hurricane Who Dat? Warning by an Anonymous Writer (Poetry) - 2/8/2010 6:03:50 AM
I absolutely adore this, Keith. As one interested in weather, as one who once lived near New Orleans, as a Saints fan, those Colts found out what a hurricane feels like! Who Dat, Who Dat! Superbowl Saints, 'Ain'ts' no more! Saving this one. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Hurricane Who Dat? Warning by an Anonymous Writer (Poetry) - 2/5/2010 11:55:34 AM
WELL...EVERYBODY KNOWS WHERE YOUR MONEY IS...AND ALL I CAN SAY IS ...MAY THE BEST 'SWIMMER' WIN!! THANKS FOR THIS GREAT SHARING AND GOD BLESS. LOVE, JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Hurricane Who Dat? Warning by an Anonymous Writer (Poetry) - 2/5/2010 9:07:00 AM
Now THAT'S one hurricane I love!! GEAUX, Saints, GEAUX, GEAUX, GEAUX!! AAIEE!!!! :D (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Saints / Colts Humor (Poetry) - 1/29/2010 9:32:51 PM
I guess I should refer you to a couple of friends who have a stake in this contest. They would of course agree. My Detroit Lions were devoured early on. Patrick

An Ode/Limerick to Brees, Payton & 2009 NFC Championship New Orleans Saints (Poetry) - 1/25/2010 12:27:04 PM
I LOVE it! GEAUX, SAINTS, GEAUX!! Whoo-hoooo!!! Laissez les bon temps rouler! AAAIIIEEE!!!! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. ;D

Stephenie (Poetry) - 7/22/2009 12:19:48 AM
Beautiful work,take care EDWIN

LOVE SONG (Poetry) - 1/23/2009 3:47:04 PM
eh?

Hearts (Poetry) - 1/21/2009 4:53:47 AM
This is a very good poem.I enjoy reading it,take care Edwin

Suicide, Fall, Grief, Volunteer Work (Poetry) - 1/21/2009 4:52:43 AM
This is a unique and beautiful poem.Thank you for sharing and explaining the message in it,take care Edwin

Hearts (Poetry) - 1/19/2009 11:47:53 AM
Good write, great hearts are made to be loving persons, and looking forward to Valentine's Day of love even without a lover, is to be experenced by having a good heart and using it to pass love to others you meet on the way of life.

Suicide, Fall, Grief, Volunteer Work (Poetry) - 1/19/2009 11:46:35 AM
Thanks for the explanation of the seasons and renewal of life. I did know of it and believed it, but reading it here has made it absolutely more believable and comforting. You do know how to comfort grieving people. Such a nice write. Glad I saw it here.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.