AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Jennifer Chase, iJames Becher, iMark Seltman, iWilliam Pusey, iAndrew Feder, iKaren Epp, iBilly Allmon, i
 
Home > S A Robinson
 

Recent Reviews for S A Robinson


Driving with Shannon (Book) - 1/18/2010 9:11:01 PM
I loved the book. Have you ever seen the movie "SLC Punk"? i dont know if its supposed to be real events or anything, but i live a couple hour drive from salt lake city, and as far as the punk scene there goes, its just like the movie

Driving with Shannon (Book) - 1/24/2005 11:08:28 AM
so relieved to see that some people are willing to pay for that book you wrote. aren't you glad you didn't take any of my advice? Klutz von B. emailed in a frenzy cuz she thought the Amazon excerpt was you writing about little old me... ah well you always loved Sue more. she is cuter. appearently Amy told Klutz's mom that you used everyone's REAL NAMES and she was so curious she actually bought the book! hope this means you're well supplied with hot dogs, Fluff, pizza and smokes. at least you're not freezing your a** off in a storage space. or are you? oh, Madame Rand sends her love. nice cover photos. where is this new story collection anyway? love to Dave, too. your first love,kate (if you don't count that other girl)

Driving with Shannon (Book) - 11/8/2004 1:09:49 PM
Hey Sven this is Banshee! From your book remember me ? Remember 2nd ave and central and Jim Bigelow ? Call me 757-344-3629 hope you get this

Driving with Shannon (Book) - 6/8/2003 5:19:07 PM
Here is a novel that reads like a television reality show about a few months in the lives of a group of punk rockers. S. Robinson makes you feel like you are right there. For those who want a true experience with graphic detail, this is a jewel. If you are uncomfortable looking at life in the real world life for people that live differently than most of us, read it anyway, you might learn how much alike we all are. S. Robinson succeeds in putting humanity and heart and much humor into this story about punk social movement, and reminds us all what itís like to be young, to feel powerless, and what it takes to make those early life decisions. You will root for the characters, laugh with them, fear for them and feel joy when they find a moment of happiness. And thatís just good reading.

Driving with Shannon (Book) - 5/24/2003 2:33:21 AM
Publish America Review by Frank Los Angeles (2/19/2003) I defy anyone to not smoke while reading this book.It brought me back to my youth and all the painful feelings that only punk rock could alleviate. I felt that I was privy to the perspective of youth and wondered when I got cynical.I would love to again be in a backseat screaming a Social Distortion song and feeling the freedom that Sven and Dave felt while driving with Shannon.The lyrics at the beginning of each chapter were a great device and allowed my personal relationship to the songs to be included in the telling.I was drawn in from the beginning and could not put it down. I was sad when I left the characters at the end because, I enjoyed our journey together. A book for punks, from punks.

Driving with Shannon (Book) - 4/23/2003 8:01:37 PM
This was one of the best books that i have actually read, I normally dont read books but i could not put this one down! I fell in love with Sven and Dave while reading this book. I reaaalllly enjoyed reading it. Thank yiu soo much for writing it. :)

Driving with Shannon (Book) - 4/15/2003 7:06:54 PM
Sven...I am so impresssed...the detsils you remember from our history in Orono is fantastic! I can't beleive you used every one's real names. You know I still miss Glenn I can't belive he passed away it took me a while to get over it...i'll never really be over it reallly...and i miss mick & pete too...Thank you so much for your honest efforts in writing Driving with Shannon...What a lovely walk down memory lane..I had the biggest crush on you!

Driving with Shannon (Book) - 1/26/2003 6:17:24 AM
Spellbinding, humorous, horrifying, and screaming of truth If you want to experience, or perhaps relive, the eclectic mixture of GLAMOUR, DESPAIR and FIERCE DETERMINATION that made up the mid 80ís punk rock scene, let Sven Anarki tell you all about it, he knows. When boredom and distain for constraints of any kind drive two desperate teenagers to drop out of high school, they hit the road in a last ditch effort at life, disguised as a random cross country search for anarchy. Follow their cigarette butt strewn path from one American punk scene to the next as dwindling funds make the difficult choices between food, smokes, soap and Aquanet (both for ever lengthening Mohawks) become more obvious. Keeping their demons at bay with razor blades, gritty determination, and a bizarre sense of humor, they manage to focus not only on the daily survival game and relentless pursuit of girls, but on their own evolving relationship, eventually realizing that what is saving them is not the will to survive, but their allied effort in the struggle not to give up. Written with no affectation, it is pure storytelling, and with such vivid descriptions and frightening detail, it will make YOUR hair stand straight up.

Driving with Shannon (Book) - 12/2/2002 5:45:34 PM
Sven, So intense, so compelling...fantastic!

Driving with Shannon (Book) - 12/2/2002 8:26:45 AM
Wow, Sven, this excerpt is really fascinating. I was an 80's teen myself; sounds like you lived the dream many of us had then. Sounds like a great read!

Driving with Shannon (Book) - 11/25/2002 2:16:31 PM
A very vivid account of life for teenagers in the '80's. Exceptionally written by someone who lived it!

Driving with Shannon (Book) - 11/22/2002 8:41:25 AM
Ok, Ok, I am sold. You are one talented dude! Even an old lady like me knows a creative soul when I see it!

Driving with Shannon (Book) - 11/14/2002 10:06:42 PM
You little fudgepacker! Entrmesis means literally "enter messy". Now make me another flauta fantastico and quit writing so many books.

Driving with Shannon (Book) - 10/31/2002 8:33:37 PM
Wow! Takes me back. I used to work at a 'road house' in the early eighties... we had a 'punk' band there one weekend... yep remove the tables and the chairs! The owner of the bar {A college professor to boot almost had a stroke when he saw them moving the tables to the outside!} Wasn't his 'cup o' tea' though! Went back to rock'n bands after that! Anyway, I like the way you bring your story out. Your book should do well. It is one thing to write, but to write and bring the reader into the scene, well that is the thing! You have done it well! Good luck!

Driving with Shannon (Book) - 10/30/2002 8:36:46 PM
Take the chairs out of the club it's SLAM NIGHT! An era in my life I wouldve been better off not telling anyone about. Sven your story brought me back! Great story!

Driving with Shannon (Book) - 8/8/2002 8:26:43 PM
I'll trade you an msm med rare for a shot of jagermeister.

Driving with Shannon (Book) - 8/4/2002 4:33:50 PM
Kind of a radical "Bill and Ted's" Mis-Adventure...Cool! I like what I've read so far...awesome!Good luck...looks like a lot of fun in reading material...

Wounded Knee: The life and death of Sitting Bull (Short Story) - 4/21/2007 4:39:54 AM
Great story! The American Indians were certainly treated unfairly, but we can't change history. You're a good writer. Carolyn

The Blitz (Short Story) - 8/20/2006 8:49:07 PM
Hmmm. Now that brings back memories. Wonder what the real war story was?

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.