AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
USA Independence Day
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: alex canton-dutari, iAlexandra* OneLight*ģ Authors & Creations, iTheodore Soderberg, iA.J. Mahari, iBurton Wolfe, iBonnie Milani, iDavid Snowdon, i
 
Home > J.A. Aarntzen
 

Recent Reviews for J.A. Aarntzen


Corman the Carp (Book) - 1/19/2010 7:50:44 PM
I normally don't like fish stories, but this was really interesting, so I will probably buy the book, so I can find out what happens

The Legacy of Hickory Robinbreast Part 30 (Short Story) - 6/19/2011 7:25:47 AM
Great way to end a chapter! The reader has no choice but to keep reading in order to find out what happens next. Well done. Donna

The Lucky Shirt (Short Story) - 6/15/2011 2:38:49 AM
What a fascinating story!I have some favourite things to wear, but none of them have ever turned out so fortunate. I felt sorry for poor old Bob though, but then, perhaps he brought it all on himself. Thanks for an entertaining read. Val.

The Lucky Shirt (Short Story) - 5/19/2011 5:41:30 AM
An insightful story, J.A., and one I enjoyed. I've met others who have a favorite shirt, or cap, and they're undaunted by teasing, continuing to cater to the subject shirt or cap by it's daily wear :) Bob

The Lucky Shirt (Short Story) - 5/13/2011 8:35:35 PM
possibly miscategorized in the science fiction, but then again maybe not. i smiled throughout the entire story and of course being the ever romantic...loved the ending. what fun. thanks for sharing- jch

My Name is Space (Short Story) - 4/22/2011 4:54:22 AM
A moving, well written story that fills the reader with sadness for the fate of Space. Donna

The Legacy of Hickory Robinbreast Part 25 (Short Story) - 1/20/2011 6:47:29 AM
I'm still here, Joe. Still reading, taking it all in - a quiet observer, for a while . . .

The Redeemer Part 26 (Short Story) - 11/16/2010 5:13:39 AM
interesting read

Cow (Short Story) - 11/13/2010 9:48:58 AM
I really love this story Cow. Told from the animals POV. This would make a really great children's story. I love the retelling of Jack and Jill on the hill, the nusery rhyme and the beanstalk story. Really wonderful!

Cow (Short Story) - 10/18/2010 6:00:19 AM
What a wonderful story. I loved the weaving of so many children's stories into one. And being told by the cow was the perfect imaginative touch to make the story new and suspenseful. WELL DONE. Donna

Cow (Short Story) - 10/16/2010 8:46:28 PM
I liked your story. It was different and lighthearted.

The Redeemer Part 24 (Short Story) - 9/19/2010 11:13:04 AM
Well written, holds the interest of the reader. This should be a book that sells well! Donna

Moon Counting (Short Story) - 9/18/2010 3:01:05 PM
interesting read

The Hounds of Perdition (Short Story) - 9/18/2010 3:00:05 PM
i like your writing style

The Redeemer Part 24 (Short Story) - 9/18/2010 2:58:09 PM
interesting read

The Legacy of Hickory Robinbreast Part 03 (Short Story) - 9/4/2010 2:16:15 AM
i'll be back to read more

The Legacy of Hickory Robinbreast Part 02 (Short Story) - 9/4/2010 2:02:59 AM
interesting read, off to read more

The Legacy of Hickory Robinbreast Part 01 (Short Story) - 9/4/2010 2:01:42 AM
off to read more

The Legacy of Hickory Robinbreast Part 20 (Short Story) - 9/4/2010 2:00:17 AM
interesting read

The Redeemer Part 23 (Short Story) - 8/22/2010 11:08:43 AM
holds reader interest

The Redeemer Part 22 (Short Story) - 7/25/2010 12:14:43 PM
enjoyed the read

Rita's D'Artagnan (Short Story) - 4/15/2010 3:24:08 PM
You know, any story that can include the very mention of d'Artagnan and The Three Musketeers is a well worth while experience. Thanks for sharing. Ted Anthony Roberts Swashbuckling Author

The Chimney Sweeper's Wife (Short Story) - 3/21/2010 5:47:16 AM
i've got to read more

The Legacy of Hickory Robinbreast Part 07 (Short Story) - 11/27/2009 3:26:37 PM
Amazing how you make this seem so easeful. You must go to sleep at night and wake in the morn' pen-in-hand. I know you've been writing many years, and have many finished works to offer; however, the scope and breadth and continuation of your collective work remains quite impressive. It's no wonder you have movie offers with your very charming, very lively characters. If you ever have a New York premier, you must invite us!

Up the Hill (Short Story) - 7/2/2009 2:14:49 AM
now we finally find out where rocks come from!

Raccoon Pizza (Short Story) - 3/7/2009 2:10:51 PM
Delightful story; well done!

The History of My Poetry (Article) - 6/19/2008 5:32:59 PM
Very interesting article. I wish I had read it a long while ago, nevertheless, my view of you as a grand writer would not have been affected. Funny you mention Lao Tzu. One of my poems, The Enigmatic Way, was heavily influenced by the Tao Te Ching. I'm hopeful you can dig up some of those '70s poems influenced by the Gita and post them here. It's a shame that Wisher and psuedopoet are lost, but they remain somewhere inside you and will likely manifest in new and refreshed ways.

Beautiful Being (Poetry) - 7/26/2011 8:27:42 PM
I CAN UNDERSTAND THE PAIN THAT PROMPTED THIS WORK...OUR FAMILY LOST 'CANDI' LAST YEAR. SHE WAS AN UNIQUE, FELINE LADY. AND THOUGH FATE WAS SOMEHWAT KINDER TO US, FOR WE HAD HER FOR 18 YEARS AND SHE DIED OF OLD AGE...NO MATTER HOW THEY LEAVE US, WE REMAIN WITH A VOID THAT CANNOT BE REPLACED AND MEMORIES THAT WE WILL NEVER LET GET AWAY FROM US. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS & FAITH... JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Us and Them (Poetry) - 7/10/2011 11:38:51 AM
This one leaves me feeling tense and on edge, perhaps born of the "strain" of which you write. Yes, I think that like is drawn unto like. I think you have an amalgam of biology and psychology and spirituality here, yet I believe in and trust in empathic relation, compassion and appreciation for those outside our fence. I believe in connection over separation. Your words validate these things for me in an interesting and inverse way. Don't ever let your ink run dry, Joe!

Us and Them (Poetry) - 7/7/2011 10:41:51 AM
THIS WORK IS SO INTERESTING AND CERTAINLY A REMARKABLE OCCURRENCE THAT IT APPEARS ON THE 'NEW POETRY' LIST AT THIS TIME BECAUSE IT SUBSTANTIATES HOW 'SIMILAR' IDEAS ARE EXPRESSED SO DIFFERENTLY. I, JUST A FEW DAYS AGO, SUBMITTED A POEM BY MY SON, WHICH I DO FROM TIME TO TIME, ENTITLED; CLUB US. 'US'...THE FACTOR FROM ONE POET, AND THE CAUSE OF IT FROM ANOTHER. BOTH OF WHICH I TOTALLY AGREE WITH. THANKS FOR SHARING AND PLEASE, WHEN YOU HAVE THE TIME, DROP BY MY DEN AND TAKE A LOOK AT HIS WORK AND YOU'LL SEE WHAT I MEAN. LOVE, BLESSINGS & FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Us and Them (Poetry) - 7/7/2011 5:16:59 AM
some stirring truths here

Churly (Poetry) - 6/23/2011 4:44:03 AM
Really great descriptions to which I can totally relate, except I feel this way not in relation to the "unpleasant to unfold," but all that I've been waiting for - that highest, most elusive expression that is all too possible and could, if circumstances permitted, happen in an instant. But it doesn't. And even though you may want to give in to resignation and letting go, you can't help but hold out a little longer, then longer, then longer . . . . in a strange state of stewing and groaning mixed with invigorated envisioning and wanting . . . Here's to Churly!

Beautiful Being (Poetry) - 6/9/2011 5:17:49 AM
Sorry to hear about this; I don't know what we'd if our Tibetan Terrier was run over. Best wishes.

Beautiful Being (Poetry) - 6/2/2011 4:11:07 AM
This is beautiful, Joe. You have a beautiful, loving heart and I believe Kayla feels your emotion from her new place - her everywhere-at-once place. You'll be able to sense her in the breeze as she rustles the leaves, makes the tall grasses sway and the daisies dance. You'll see the sparkle in her eye reflected in the sun glittering off the lake. You'll see the color of her spirit in the blossoms and butterflies. You'll feel her love well up from your core and, in the quiet times, you'll feel the connection between the two of you and know it will never wane. This will bring you peace. Sending hugs to you, Laura and all your precious animal teachers.

Beautiful Being (Poetry) - 6/2/2011 3:29:18 AM
this is a beautiful tribute to an obviously beautiful spirit! So sorry for your loss of her

Cold Calculations (Poetry) - 5/22/2011 6:28:28 AM
Ah, the grind. The longing. The surface image. The depth. But we are, indeed, something - we are Everything . . . and Everything is Us. The Great One Unfolding. Beautiful!

Cold Calculations (Poetry) - 5/19/2011 8:27:33 PM
Many thoughts pop into my mind as I read each line of this deeply moving poem. A fine poem to ponder over! Peace, love and light, Amber

Cold Calculations (Poetry) - 5/19/2011 6:53:35 PM
deep introspections

Cold Calculations (Poetry) - 5/19/2011 9:22:12 AM
interesting, poignant and thought provoking words

Talk in Your Sleep (Poetry) - 5/9/2011 4:54:00 AM
Finding peace, that is the paramount thing. Well penned and heart touching.

Talk in Your Sleep (Poetry) - 5/7/2011 4:50:02 AM
seems a bit sad--well expressed

Talk in Your Sleep (Poetry) - 5/5/2011 2:41:50 PM
I love the title; it's a grabber. The first and fifth stanzas are my favorites, but I do so relate to this poem in its entirety. I recently lost my aunt and grandmother within just two weeks of one another. In her last days, I know my grandmother was trying to find her peace.

Talk in Your Sleep (Poetry) - 5/5/2011 9:00:22 AM
Joe - One day your mother will be at peace and until then - listen closely to her words because they have meaning. Both, my mother and father had Alzheimer's and towards their end their words were unrecognizable to me, but yet I carried on a conversation with them knowing it would one day be our last. God Bless You and your Mom, Deborah

Talk in Your Sleep (Poetry) - 5/5/2011 7:31:53 AM
This reminded me of my own mother in law who lived with us for many years the last several of which she had Alzeimers and spent most of the night talking out loud in her own worlds. fee

It (Poetry) - 4/23/2011 12:01:30 PM
Clever write. :-) Tom

Conflicted Not Conflicted (Poetry) - 4/21/2011 3:21:42 PM
I imagine you driving to work - the low hum of the vehicle, the smooth steady vibration of tires on pavement, the familiar scenery - all variables in spinning the mind's wheels, reeling with words, every word . . . there connecting with other words, sound and resonance, alliteration. . . I imagine you stringing them together, ephipanies, a weave . . . maybe you reach for a close-by pencil and jot a note or two on a piece of paper - all while never taking your eyes from the road. Love your love affair with words.

Conflicted Not Conflicted (Poetry) - 4/21/2011 9:27:31 AM
fun!

Solitaire in the Wind (Poetry) - 4/12/2011 3:27:43 PM
I love the first two lines of each stanza. You have very interestingly woven together the charm and lure of gypsy-style riddle makers with the modern bend of everyday living. Your writing often reflects your simultaneous/concurrent presence and exploration in both the world we perceive with our senses and the world(s) beyond (or maybe perception beyond). There is a flavor of fantasy that colors the edges of this piece in a very interesting way.

Eagles on the Bay (Poetry) - 4/12/2011 3:19:56 PM
How wonderful! I love the sensitivity and realizations that underpin this poem. I like the juxtaposed "feel" of looking up, then realizing all you have by looking right in front of you. What a joyful place to be.

Solitaire in the Wind (Poetry) - 4/11/2011 5:05:28 AM
It's not only a brilliant story but a deeper look at the way everyone seems to be absorbed in their own world. A poem of substance and depth.

Eagles on the Bay (Poetry) - 4/8/2011 3:44:29 AM
You capture nature at it's most finest moments. Much peace, love and light, Amber

Solitaire in the Wind (Poetry) - 4/8/2011 3:43:50 AM
Another fine poem from the master story teller. Peace, love and light, Amber

Solitaire in the Wind (Poetry) - 4/7/2011 3:52:14 AM
Interesting, lovely experience. Thanks.

Eagles on the Bay (Poetry) - 3/26/2011 10:03:32 AM
beautiful perspective

Eagles on the Bay (Poetry) - 3/26/2011 1:48:47 AM
VERY BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Eagles on the Bay (Poetry) - 3/24/2011 8:55:01 AM
beautiful sentiments!

The Road (Poetry) - 3/12/2011 8:55:38 AM
love this, such a metaphoric write, well done!

The Road (Poetry) - 3/10/2011 11:31:02 AM
What an amazing journey you have led us down. There is so much here. Your story unfolds from the narrow to the infinite. You acknowledge your connection to others who've gone down this same road and imprint this on the reader's psyche with "tasted its sediments Others had gone down it before me Their sweat and blood dripped and mingled With its sand and tar," despite your assertion "this was my struggle - its resolution all mine." It feels to me that this is a micro-apocalypse, but all at once universal. The road is Life and eventually we lose our corporeal selves unto it, merging with it on an unfathomable and eternal level. "Home" becomes who we truly are when fully merged - our false selves shed. So much to consider and analyze, interpret, feel, consume . . . this leaves me reeling (and I love the word "pall").

Out the Window (Poetry) - 3/7/2011 4:48:39 PM
Very interesting ~ love the anchor here, which is a world outside a world. Your last stanza brings you "face to face" with your readers; it lets us in. You've taken us from the wide to the narrow while the peripheral fades. I liked this glimpse inside "your way."

On a Boat (Poetry) - 3/7/2011 8:16:31 AM
Wow, I've never had the opportunity to enjoy a boat, but I love to swim. I can imagine it, however.

It (Poetry) - 2/25/2011 8:42:00 AM
intriguing!

It (Poetry) - 2/24/2011 12:43:41 PM
mysterious

The Blue Bugs (Poetry) - 2/11/2011 10:25:20 AM
i like this-creative and fun!

The Blue Bugs (Poetry) - 2/10/2011 8:47:27 AM
What marvelous ambiance you've created - I imagine an old English village of sorts with a bit of magic, a tad of mayhem, a snapshot moment. Love the word "klaxon," its sound and appearance are pleasing in a clanky, befitting way. My favorite line is "Mud has gotten into the butter. . ." Love this side of you, Joe!

Out the Window (Poetry) - 1/27/2011 9:10:02 AM
Excellent work.

To A Better Day (Poetry) - 1/18/2011 4:32:05 PM
Yes, be the change you wish to see in the world, as Ghandi said.

To A Better Day (Poetry) - 1/13/2011 7:27:56 PM
Time for prayer yes, but also time to roll up the shirt sleeves, very inspiring piece... Be always safe, Karen

To A Better Day (Poetry) - 1/13/2011 6:07:57 PM
Very nice difference you are making with this poem. HEALING THE WORLD BEGINS AND FINISHES WITH THE HEALING OF OUR OWN INDIVIDUAL HEARTS

To A Better Day (Poetry) - 1/13/2011 2:36:27 PM
Well put!

To A Better Day (Poetry) - 1/13/2011 12:50:04 PM
Yes!

To A Better Day (Poetry) - 1/13/2011 11:45:40 AM
How true are your words. If the world is to be saved, each and every one of us must do something to save it! rege

To A Better Day (Poetry) - 1/13/2011 8:01:33 AM
J.A. Beautifully written quite thought provoking. It reminds me of people who say, 'But that's the way we've always done it' That really gets on my nerves. Take care. Mary

Excerpt from The Men From Faraway (Poetry) - 12/31/2010 7:06:53 AM
An amazing undertaking ........... and very well done. I am left wanting to read more. Donna

The Entrenched (Poetry) - 12/18/2010 12:16:28 PM
nicely done - I like it

The Entrenched (Poetry) - 12/16/2010 12:37:13 PM
This poem holds so much truth-poignant write!

Travelling Back in Time (Poetry) - 12/5/2010 1:09:58 PM
incredible stuff to ponder!

Keeping Humor (Poetry) - 11/18/2010 1:56:49 PM
i truly love this-beautiful and creative--well done!

Keeping Humor (Poetry) - 11/18/2010 3:57:52 AM
Very nice; I love the John Denver references. I am happy for your friend and for those of you who so love him that he is on the flowery, canopied path to wellness.

Keeping Humor (Poetry) - 11/18/2010 2:48:54 AM
Very good poem; hope he's getting stronger.

First Snow (Poetry) - 11/5/2010 2:00:48 AM
lovely write-the first snow is always so wondrous transforming the earth!

First Snow (Poetry) - 11/4/2010 7:43:16 AM
Nice contrast of the crows with the snow. Imagery is beautiful here.

First Snow (Poetry) - 11/4/2010 6:01:54 AM
J.A. You describe this so beautifully. Although we have mild winters in the desert, I sometimes really miss the snow, and you have made me long for it. Mary

First Snow (Poetry) - 11/4/2010 4:13:06 AM
Wow. THIS is fantastic! I love the mood, the style, the subject - all of it. I believe this is your very best - born from the most fluent, authentic part of your core. Your word choices are divine and the landscape you paint feels so real that I believe I can see my breath as I enter the spaces between your stanzas. I love the mingling of the crow (a symbol of mid-late fall) with the winter - in this way you have artfully expressed one of the loveliest transitions of all the seasons. I am adding this to my favorites. Thank you for the perfect start to my day ~

On a Boat (Poetry) - 10/23/2010 4:20:59 PM
i love this--it souns peaceful, rejuivinating and fun-

On a Boat (Poetry) - 10/22/2010 4:58:43 PM
I like the self-awareness and heartfelt contemplation behind this. The short lines read like the sound of a speed boat traveling over the wake left by others of kindred nature.

On a Boat (Poetry) - 10/21/2010 4:44:59 PM
Quite compelling ~ I feel the same way about water, about the sea. It gives me clarity and unalloyed pleasure! Best Wishes, Christine

Les Izmore and Morris Lecz (Poetry) - 10/7/2010 3:53:08 PM
This reminds me of something John Prine would sing! Love the last stanza.

Dominion (Poetry) - 9/26/2010 6:28:38 AM
so well written-a sad yet beautiful rememberance and remnder

Dominion (Poetry) - 9/24/2010 9:46:35 AM
So sad, but brilliantly told. Keep telling your story. It needs to be heard. Thanks Dick

Six Ways to Sunday (Poetry) - 9/24/2010 9:44:46 AM
J. A. You're still knocking them out of the park, I see. Definately a 4 bagger. Thanks Dick

Six Ways to Sunday (Poetry) - 9/11/2010 2:02:10 PM
spoken vocabularies do a way of impressing people as do some poems ...

Six Ways to Sunday (Poetry) - 9/9/2010 5:13:09 PM
I remember the old timers (like me now) in my little Arkansas town would used that phrase. They used it like you wrote this poem, going at a project at every conceivable angle to find a solution. Nice write.

Six Ways to Sunday (Poetry) - 9/9/2010 3:26:21 PM
love the final verse the best, enjoyed the write!

Six Ways to Sunday (Poetry) - 9/9/2010 2:35:48 PM
"Is it wrong To stay where I am Perched on a fence Lost in the morning sun" ~ love this stanza. Some say that if it feels right both at and beneath the surface, then it likely is not wrong. To sit in peace in the dissolution of judgment is a gift we can give to ourselves - Rumi once wrote something like "out beyond the notions of right and wrong, there is a field - I'll meet you there." I love that. Nothing is until we think it so, right? "Creation hinges upon a spark" is wonderful.

The Whistlin' Keg (Poetry) - 8/31/2010 5:33:53 PM
What wonderful ambiance you create with your moody maritime tale! I picture a camp-style fire on the beach, good friends and a good dose of folk wisdom with this salty story at its heart. Your imagination is keen and your wit as swift as wind through sails.

The Whistlin' Keg (Poetry) - 8/31/2010 1:12:00 PM
Well done indeed enjoyed....stay safe and well....Hugss

The Whistlin' Keg (Poetry) - 8/26/2010 7:03:15 PM
How well you bring back the colorful past with such delightful tones... Be always safe, Karen

The Now (Poetry) - 8/26/2010 6:44:00 PM
A wonderful moment to be in

The Longing (Poetry) - 8/26/2010 6:42:29 PM
Enjoyed this Longing for rain.

The Whistlin' Keg (Poetry) - 8/26/2010 6:39:49 PM
Ye did a good job with this. Love that last verse. The blackmaster reminds me of a sailing hurst. ;-)

The Whistlin' Keg (Poetry) - 8/26/2010 5:45:43 PM
You sure made me feel as though I were stumbling on land-legs across the deck of the ship. I'm glad it wasn't the Blackmaster! I enjoyed your story. Connie

The Whistlin' Keg (Poetry) - 8/26/2010 2:38:12 PM
Time waits for no man, but it sure is nice to allow your mind to go back now an again. Well done sir. Thanks Dick

City Cicada (Poetry) - 8/13/2010 5:39:32 AM
First, I love the photograph! Second, dock spiders are scary and I, too, would have been frantic to escape! A couple summers ago, we had many more spiders around the dock than usual and, therefore, found many on the boat! Even worse, when we would reach a fun cruising speed, they would fly up from the front and land on us! One landed right on my daughter's cheek and I completely freaked! I still cringe at the thought of that image forever singed on my psyche. Yes, I know that I'm a naturalist, and I don't go in search of harming spiders, but if it's me, the kid or a spider - you can bet the spider's "outa here"! Finally, I love your poem! It so perfectly represents the typical human reaction to what we consider a nuisance - spray it; kill it! The poor things are just being who they were intended to be - trying in their own way to fulfill their purpose, each one having its place - its niche . . . (except of course for those particular spiders who fly up in full attack mode from the underside of boats)!

The Now (Poetry) - 7/30/2010 9:44:02 AM
This, for me, was very meaningful and thought provoking. If there never is a tomorrow and it's always now, can there still be a yesterday? I wonder... You wonít remember it, but you turned me on to the Den late last year. Iím ever so thankful that you did. Thanks again for all youíve done. Dick

The Now (Poetry) - 7/30/2010 8:09:12 AM
Happy Birthday wishes! As for the Now...why would we ever want to be anywhere else? Great expression here :)

The Now (Poetry) - 7/30/2010 4:05:23 AM
Happy, Happy Birthday! I love this poem - it is alive! It reaches out like a divine flame igniting the reader's passion for life, for living - in the moment! Your first and second stanzas are written very differently, yet are perfectly compatible. The first is like a beautiful, sparkling awakening followed by the second, which is penetrating and profound wisdom - with the first stanza, you open the door to the soul and with the second, you walk right in. This is one of my new favorites. Have an irrepressibly wonderful, fully-infused birthday - now!

The Longing (Poetry) - 7/22/2010 4:54:50 AM
I've read this poem many times since you posted it. There is so much going on with and inside the language. As Paul observed, you have very thoughtfully composed this piece - from your careful choice of words and attention to sound to the ending word of each stanza. I am grateful that you've ended the poem with "somewhere" - it feels like a hopeful assurance. The more I read of your work, the more I imagine each side of your brain reaching out in invitation to the other side - a grey matter collaboration of creativity and analysis. Several of your lines are some of the best I've read. I particularly like: "The shaman summons the raven A craven ritual from dim origins..." and your fourth stanza is wonderful. Your underlying message rises through a scene created/based within nature. This feels very primal, very fundamental. Each of us is infused by this - our heritage. In some ways, this reminds me of a poem upon which I'm currently working; we've used a similar subject/backdrop to impart a similar message.

The Longing (Poetry) - 7/20/2010 3:05:19 AM
Very well composed poem

The Longing (Poetry) - 7/16/2010 4:50:18 AM
I love this earthy poem, it is filled with such radiant thoughts and imagery.. Peace, love and light, Amber "V"

Solid Ground (Poetry) - 7/2/2010 6:26:32 AM
This is beautiful in both substance and presentation. It's pure and unobscured. Sincerity rises to the surface vulnerably offering itself to the page. There is a soft underbelly appeal to this poem, which I love. I feel like you've opened a door and are peeking inside a bit before opening it a bit more. I can't wait to see where it leads.

Solid Ground (Poetry) - 7/2/2010 6:20:52 AM
beautiful sentiments

Solid Ground (Poetry) - 7/1/2010 10:17:52 PM
i like this

Embark (Poetry) - 6/21/2010 4:49:46 AM
So well written and thought provoking. I'm so sorry for your loss. I know he is greatly missed. Blessings to you and your family.

Embark (Poetry) - 6/21/2010 3:39:05 AM
Delightfully achieved poem

Embark (Poetry) - 6/19/2010 6:07:06 AM
Hi J.A. Your poem says so much to me personally. I can feel your warrior energy. To tell you that I am sorry for your loss of your father would be in vain, no one can truly understand each person's true feeling of loss, we go through such unique lives that empathy is the only feeling we truly can share... In the words of a poet: Fly, free spirit, fly, reach those places you could not when you were alive, now you truly know how to fly... Much peace, love and light, Amber

Embark (Poetry) - 6/18/2010 6:07:24 AM
i am sorry for the loss of your father, this is a beautiful poem written with beautiful depth

Embark (Poetry) - 6/18/2010 5:07:52 AM
I'm sorry for your loss, J.A.; my deepest sympathy. John

If There Is (Poetry) - 6/4/2010 2:41:07 PM
"If there is a dream Then thereíll be the dreamer If there is a day Then let it be today..." These lines are particularly exquisite, Joe. I see your muse rides along to work with you on most of your commutes - how lucky for her that she can express through your unique and beautiful perspective.

If There Is (Poetry) - 6/4/2010 10:25:15 AM
yes, a lovely write, indeed!

If There Is (Poetry) - 6/4/2010 6:09:41 AM
Words of hope and lovely...

If There Is (Poetry) - 6/4/2010 5:19:33 AM
Nice! A very good write. Peace, Dayvid

Free Verse (Poetry) - 5/26/2010 6:41:54 AM
I enjoyed this one, JA !

Free Verse (Poetry) - 5/23/2010 7:32:38 AM
"...With no limiting structure Trying not to house creativity In an ill-fitting cage But letting it expand..." Love these lines. I would also love to see your former work and know the unencumbered "Aarntzen stream of consciousness." In my own work, I've found that rhyming schemes sometimes serve to weaken the thread between me and All-That-Is, that place from where truth and spirit glide in and find a vehicle (my pen) for expression. By releasing intellect (which rhyme often requires), one writes from this "other place" - the all-connected place, the place which is universal and, therefore, wholly relatable to all readers at some core level. I used to find myself adjusting my poem to fit the rhyme, rather than the other way around - rhyming, I think, should enhance and not distract. Certainly, the sound and rhythm of a piece can be beautified through alliteration and rhyme and these ornaments should not be kept in a box. But, they should alight a poet's words like the twinkling of an eye alights a smile. These are my observations, thus far; I am still learning. But, it is only very recently that I think I've begun to understand poetry's essence and, if I dare say, "purpose" or "place." Show us more of Joe, show us Joe freed ~

Free Verse (Poetry) - 5/21/2010 2:07:25 PM
ha ha ha. I like it a lot. Donna

Free Verse (Poetry) - 5/21/2010 3:30:54 AM
ah, free verse! i love it-free verse and the write :)

Yet (Poetry) - 5/15/2010 12:22:17 AM
and that latest call being the ongoing oil spill in the gulf of mexico... let us hope it can serve as an effective call to action! well scribed, ja. peace, cg

Yet (Poetry) - 5/10/2010 2:14:39 PM
Your intellect and your values come across strongly in most everything I've read of yours, J.A. There is some rigidity to your style though some may call it structure. I like your message and like Gina appreciate your hopeful tone.

Yet (Poetry) - 5/10/2010 10:05:03 AM
Very thoughtful in subject and presentation. I like how you separated yet connected with humankind - acknowledging your shared responsibility, yet rising up sufficiently high to gain objectivity. The hopefulness with which you infuse your closing raises the overall vibrational frequency of this piece, and your "yes" is simple and profound.

Yet (Poetry) - 5/10/2010 3:31:14 AM
Very well written

Yet (Poetry) - 5/8/2010 7:37:42 AM
humanity will change in time ... still needs some major evolving ... your poem is organized and exploratory ...

Yet (Poetry) - 5/7/2010 6:01:25 PM
Thoughtful, strong and very worthwhile. John

Yet (Poetry) - 5/7/2010 4:42:52 AM
Yes, is the saving grace. We must turn this around or we will not have an Earth to live on... Nice piece of poetry! Peace, love, and light, Amber "V"

Yet (Poetry) - 5/7/2010 3:41:08 AM
so well written-a call to change that I pray we heed

The End of Pages (Poetry) - 4/25/2010 4:12:10 PM
Your musings are full of spirit and intellect; I especially like the last stanza. And, I know somewhere - from the other side of my core - that there is so much more. More than has ever yet been imagined; more than has ever yet been perceived. And the "more" itself is eternal and evolving and burgeoning. It is, afterall, an expanding universe, no?

They March on St. Petersburg (Poetry) - 4/25/2010 4:07:51 PM
"...They will have inklings from the mist..." is a wonderful line, Joe; so metaphysical.

Forgina Aflame (Poetry) - 4/25/2010 4:04:16 PM
This exudes mystery and long-robed nuance - a veil waiting to be lifted. I love the first stanza; it makes me want to keep reading. I like the connection between "Heed not their words" and "for they are of the herd" - a sentiment we share. And the last stanza beautifully unites with the first. I'm intrigued by the "candle" and the "burning" and their metaphorical relationship to one's passion - expressed through a niche, a gift to shed light for self and others...

The End of Pages (Poetry) - 4/23/2010 7:19:22 PM
Philosophically insightful in pondering all that exists... Be always safe, Karen

The End of Pages (Poetry) - 4/23/2010 3:43:21 AM
i like this! well done

The End of Pages (Poetry) - 4/23/2010 2:26:04 AM
Fascinating piece, JA

They March on St. Petersburg (Poetry) - 4/9/2010 4:07:36 PM
A grand and great view, Joe, and the energy in the lines carries the poem forcefully, vigorously...so appropriate for the occasion and theme John

They March on St. Petersburg (Poetry) - 4/9/2010 4:36:35 AM
Powerfully written, J.A.

They March on St. Petersburg (Poetry) - 4/9/2010 3:40:43 AM
poignant write-well said and a sad tribute to those who faught

Forgina Aflame (Poetry) - 4/3/2010 4:45:00 AM
Sounds pagan, like a ritual to get rid of negative energy. Something to think about.. Hope all is well in your Universe. Happy Ostara! Peace, love, and light, Amber "V"

Forgina Aflame (Poetry) - 4/2/2010 6:25:28 AM
interesting read, i like it

Having the World (Poetry) - 3/26/2010 4:18:41 PM
This, Joe, is a poem to tolerance and understanding...the acceptance required if we are to get along...and something of a cry in the wilderness given our present mindsets. Yes! John

Having the World (Poetry) - 3/26/2010 1:23:48 PM
actually, i was confused - it reads of seperation "us" vs "them"...especially "we'll shoot mortars"...whats up with that? not very peaceful or loving - did I misunderstand this?

Having the World (Poetry) - 3/26/2010 7:22:23 AM
"Universal clemency" - I like it! As usual, Joe, you bring your strength and convictions to your lines, each one as succinct and clear as the values you espouse. Someday, I'd love to read a non-rhyming Aarntzen poem - your heart/spirit flowing on the page in an "unhindered" stream of consciousness...

Having the World (Poetry) - 3/26/2010 3:38:50 AM
well said!

Person (Poetry) - 3/21/2010 4:58:53 AM
"Per son per daughter" - what a great line. Love the play on "per son", "per you", "per me", "per us." The photo is darling and is the perfect companion to your poem. While your message is serious/poignant at its core, it is made light, airy and fun by your photo and overall presentation.

Person (Poetry) - 3/12/2010 7:16:45 PM
absolutely true--well written!

Person (Poetry) - 3/12/2010 4:34:48 PM
Very well presented,and a great point of view. fee

The Swans of Glory (Poetry) - 2/28/2010 6:21:33 AM
Very pretty ~ soothing, warming, gratifying...perfect for my Sunday morning.

The Swans of Glory (Poetry) - 2/27/2010 7:17:50 PM
Such poetical writing, so easily read and inspiring too.

The Swans of Glory (Poetry) - 2/26/2010 8:58:30 PM
very lovely poetry!

Architecture (Poetry) - 2/12/2010 8:59:13 AM
Unity of the physical and spiritual and the cycling of both. Nothing stays the same--transmuted or recycled into other forms. Decay and chaos precipitate new growth and new forms. Something for us to remember in these chaotic times. Like the way you think, J. Blessings, Lin

Architecture (Poetry) - 2/12/2010 7:26:54 AM
Unique and direct with a nice flow in both substance and sound. This is a full-circle observation of not only the creative process, but its effect, its apex and its inevitable transformation to something else. As you might've guessed, I particularly like the like stanza.

Architecture (Poetry) - 2/12/2010 4:39:53 AM
i like this!

Architecture (Poetry) - 2/12/2010 3:38:23 AM
Well said.

The Eyes of Another (Poetry) - 1/29/2010 5:56:31 PM
Truly well told, Joe, with detail that stirs and moves this admiring reader. Very fine indeed. John

The Eyes of Another (Poetry) - 1/29/2010 3:22:19 PM
Very moving and inspirational tribute, Joe; I'm sure he'd be humbled by the notion of being honored by a poet.

The Eyes of Another (Poetry) - 1/29/2010 6:16:30 AM
This is so beautifully told JA You are a true story teller! Much peace, love, and light, Amber "V"

The Eyes of Another (Poetry) - 1/29/2010 4:31:05 AM
incredible and inspiring!

The Horse Songs (Poetry) - 1/24/2010 5:58:10 PM
Wonderful title and I like your use of the word "quarter" as it relates to both currency and a horse, and rings so well with "abhor." Your reverence for ways close to the Earth shines out from among these words.

The Horse Songs (Poetry) - 1/17/2010 7:12:03 PM
you've described it well

The Horse Songs (Poetry) - 1/15/2010 4:44:23 AM
a wonderful capture of part of a culture--the equines are such a gift!

The Omega (Poetry) - 1/3/2010 7:57:45 PM
i enjoyed the flow of this-well written and enjoyable

The Omega (Poetry) - 1/2/2010 11:07:11 PM
This moves well, the words seem to have just slid from your pen and I like that it went full circle. Nice one.

The Omega (Poetry) - 1/2/2010 11:53:03 AM
I like your way of telling a story from that perspective which necessitates that you shed your skin. You make strong social statements with a unique style. Interestingly, my first thought as I finished reading was "the meek shall inherit the Earth." Happy New Year, Joe ~ wishing you joy, prosperity, peace, ease, health and all those other essentials to well-being.

The Omega (Poetry) - 1/1/2010 10:49:58 PM
Intense poem, done with finesse You are a great teller of stories. Much peace, love, and light, Amber "V"

The Omega (Poetry) - 1/1/2010 7:05:40 AM
Wow great poem

Einstein (Poetry) - 12/22/2009 10:04:18 AM
Two of my favorite Einstein quotes: "Look deep, deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better." and "I feel myself so much a part of everything living that I am not the least concerned with the beginning or ending of the concrete existence of any one person in this eternal flow." I, too, have always been a fan of Einstein, though I haven't always been keen on his less than confident attitude toward women's academic and intellectual abilities/capabilities. For such an insightful man, some of his personal letters that are now published demonstrate a bit of a superior perspective - men v. women . . . With that said, I enjoyed your tribute and your unique presentation.

Einstein (Poetry) - 12/18/2009 1:05:55 PM
awesome!he is one of my heroes as well-a wonderful tribute!

Einstein (Poetry) - 12/18/2009 11:12:27 AM
Albert E would have smiled on you, Joe. As do I. -gene.

Einstein (Poetry) - 12/18/2009 6:10:48 AM
This tribute to Einstein was pure brilliance. GOD BLESS Tony Nerone

Einstein (Poetry) - 12/18/2009 4:10:46 AM
Wonderful tribute to a rare man indeed. John

If A Maker (Poetry) - 12/6/2009 5:57:46 PM
Yes, and each of us is a maker. Creating always. Yet, we are so mired in this culture as we've allowed it to evolve that many of us do not recognize the creativity with which we've been empowered. Worlds live inside us. We make them manifest through our thoughts, intentions, dreams, imagination and we propel them through our emotions. Alas, how many have the kind of emotional intelligence to harness this kind of creative power? We are too caught up in the net of what's been to date, what seems likely, what's practical....we've forgotten how to dream, how to imagine that nothing is impossible unless we believe it to be so. Thank you, kindred spirit, for another wonderful poem.

If A Maker (Poetry) - 12/5/2009 4:28:37 AM
I like this a lot. Good ponderings here. John

If A Maker (Poetry) - 12/4/2009 6:29:53 PM
you make an excellent point with this lovely write!

If A Maker (Poetry) - 12/4/2009 4:38:43 PM
...your licence is in the pen, and worthy and noble it is. John

If A Maker (Poetry) - 12/4/2009 2:47:08 PM
I wish it were like this. But, there will always be the power-hungry control-freaks and this dream, unfortunately, just never comes to pass. Beautiful poem. We'll just have to keep trying I suppose. Maybe someday.

Nearby Roads (Poetry) - 11/30/2009 9:47:17 PM
I love this! I can really relate to it, and I suppose I always question those other roads less travelled and love the idea of the adventure they hold. Wonderful poem, a keeper for sure.

Nearby Roads (Poetry) - 11/30/2009 12:59:17 PM
i enjoyed this-it speaks to the value of slowing everything doen a bit

Nearby Roads (Poetry) - 11/29/2009 12:43:04 AM
I enjoy reading this poem.Excellent work.take care

Nearby Roads (Poetry) - 11/28/2009 11:51:02 PM
some of my most sacred places were found on such side roads and their beckonings...good luck

Nearby Roads (Poetry) - 11/28/2009 4:00:50 AM
enjoyed the read

Nearby Roads (Poetry) - 11/27/2009 5:44:01 PM
The alternative routes with their invitations and allure, "A secret unbeknownst special gem..." ...you deliver this with gentleness and true feeling. John

Nearby Roads (Poetry) - 11/27/2009 3:16:11 PM
Listen to that "something inside." Take the road that calls to you most clearly. Show up late for work or don't go in at all. Call in and let them know something personal came up - the "you" of your day deserves its time, its turn. Explore the road, the day, yourself - imagine the treasures waiting just beneath the routine.

In My Milieu (Poetry) - 11/25/2009 9:03:37 AM
You ask some profound questions. Well penned and much enjoyed.

In My Milieu (Poetry) - 11/24/2009 5:06:20 AM
A well written piece,I enjoy reading it.take care

In My Milieu (Poetry) - 11/22/2009 6:12:25 AM
Very spiritual here, Joe! I love: "...I do not want to be its master/And it seeks no servitude from me..." because this line dissolves our usual linear perspective on relativity. The "something that preceded me" was always me and ever will be me - that part of the broader whole, that part of the Self that stands outside just on the periphery. I call it the "observer." What moves me about these words is that our observers are our connecting strand - that part of Self that unifies us with other selves. It is the One.ness that, if we should stop to take notice, enables us to honor that Light that shines out through others' eyes - our One.ness Light shining back at us. Wonderful Sunday morning read over a cup of hot tea. Thank you ~

And So We Continue (Poetry) - 11/6/2009 9:27:11 PM
a very well thoughtout work of art very good

Cook and Me (Poetry) - 11/6/2009 6:32:23 PM
Your inner storyteller and your inner poet have merged in this ambitious portrayal of salty characters brought to life in rhythm and rhyme. I am amazed by your energy; I would've been exhausted for a month after attempting this! I could see a somewhat scaled back version as a great, full-color-illustration children's book.

Sushi (Poetry) - 11/6/2009 6:27:10 PM
Now, how does one go from Cook and Me to a ku?

And So We Continue (Poetry) - 11/6/2009 6:25:32 PM
I like how your title and your form both reflect the "ever-revolving" as it relates both to the Earth and the incessant cycles of human behavior. You've also carefully demonstrated the link between the two. Your use of "and so" as it begins nearly every line grinds the reader in its redundancy into the "feeling" that you're trying to convey, which seems to me to be "when will there be change?" You're right, the message is important and there are many who do not hear nor will they. Yet, there are many who do hear and humanity seems to be undergoing a shift of consciousness toward a new and heightened awareness. Yes, it lies beneath all that is apparent - for now. But, I think you know that already as you're part of it.

And So We Continue (Poetry) - 11/6/2009 6:09:35 PM
well said and it needs to be written about over and over again

And So We Continue (Poetry) - 11/6/2009 3:01:20 PM
THANK GOD 'EVERYONE' IS NOT A PART OF THIS ONGOING, NON-RESISTENT, MAD CYCLE OF EXISTENCE...LIKE 'YOU' FOR INSTANCE. THANKS FOR A TIMELY, WELL EXPRESSED, 'WAKE UP' CALL. BLESSINGS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Sushi (Poetry) - 11/3/2009 8:34:22 PM
a bit eerie for the fish! a good start to writing haiku but if i remember right, its sylables are 5-7-5--not sure, i havn't done much with them

Cook and Me (Poetry) - 10/25/2009 8:46:25 PM
i enjoyed this tale-fun and creative!

Distant Star (Poetry) - 10/12/2009 2:52:42 AM
LOVELY!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Distant Star (Poetry) - 10/11/2009 10:50:27 AM
Your exquisite photo and words marry and create for me a union that speaks on behalf of the horizon itself. What is this thing called "distance" and how does it relate to the journey? There is always a point beyond destination, always a burgeoning yearning.

Distant Star (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 9:07:49 PM
interesting write

Distant Star (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 3:35:15 PM
Very illuminating, J.A., I really like this automatic writing style. I do this sometimes also. It is quite freeing and liberating. Peace, love, and light, Amber "V"

Distant Star (Poetry) - 10/9/2009 2:42:30 PM
J.A. What a wonderful about the quest beyond. What is out there. Mary

Were You There? (Poetry) - 9/28/2009 1:49:45 PM
This is excellent- in subject matter, distinctive style, wording and what is not said.

Were You There? (Poetry) - 9/28/2009 1:28:27 AM
A well written and interesting poem.I enjoy reading it,take care EDWIN

Were You There? (Poetry) - 9/26/2009 5:59:39 AM
Love, love it! I love the concept and I love the flow, which is natural and unimpeded. I have considered these same notions on many occassions. Our world(s) are as we create them so say the sages; thus, we draw unto our experience that which we "intend for" whether that intention be at a conscious or subconscious level. And, perhaps, those intentions were set - by us - before incarnation. I wonder who intended for me? I have written of these ideas in "am" as well as "induction" and other poems. This poem of yours has immediately ascended to within the top two or three of my all-time Aarntzen favorites! You are awake; you are a light shining!

Were You There? (Poetry) - 9/25/2009 7:14:55 PM
interesting write-i like it

Were You There? (Poetry) - 9/25/2009 6:04:06 PM
What an interesting concept, so very deep in thought... Be always safe, Karen

Were You There? (Poetry) - 9/25/2009 5:52:18 PM
...love your take, how it goes, how you see it, what it is...this everyday life with its sudden, accidental interactions almost as if they didn't happen or exist and yet they do all the time. Yes! John

Abrupt and Resonating (Poetry) - 9/17/2009 6:19:43 AM
J.A. I really liked the way your constructed this poem, it builds with intensity and all of the words you have chosen give this so much power. Nicely written. Peace, love, and light, Amber "V"

Things (Poetry) - 9/13/2009 7:34:35 PM
i like this-though it is, on the surface, rather silly, the depth and thought provoking qualities come through

Things (Poetry) - 9/12/2009 4:41:18 PM
"Because it is inside of us Somewhere Where things donít reside Somewhere Beyond our reckoning And beyond our pride We search for it And we know That we can recognize it When we see it But if all we see Are things Then it is beyond us..." For me, these lines are the heart of your poem. There is an abrupt rhythm here that highlights your black from white approach to nothing versus everything. I like how the notion of "truth" emerges. There is a see-saw effect here combined with depth of concept/thought that made me have to read this piece several times with a focus that would keep me from getting lost in it.

Song to a Distant Lover (Poetry) - 9/12/2009 10:18:07 AM
You're a great poet/writer and I applaud you loudly. Your ending for this poem, "To allow spirits to hover And not to say goodbye And let the future uncover All the reasons why" is poetic genius. Marcia~

Things (Poetry) - 9/12/2009 10:13:00 AM
Great write - all is an illusion.

Things (Poetry) - 9/11/2009 5:48:00 PM
Wonderfully Zen...and the tight language to match. Oh yes! John

Kite's Day (Poetry) - 9/7/2009 12:51:53 PM
I can see the kite being tramped and torn. I really like this poem

Abrupt and Resonating (Poetry) - 8/31/2009 10:12:08 PM
my mind is picturing a volcano preparing to erupt...explosive piece ;)

Abrupt and Resonating (Poetry) - 8/29/2009 5:38:10 PM
Tremendous drive and energy generated by superb word choice and honed structure. John

Abrupt and Resonating (Poetry) - 8/29/2009 12:42:39 PM
Beneath words, beneath expression lies the character, the essence of thought. How one chooses to convey the foundation of a poem intrigues me immensely. You have a very unique style, which is once again demonstrated here. Your love for sound and transition seems paramount in word choice and lends to the "out loud" appeal of your work. When one reads your poems aloud they come to life in an interesting way. Your intellect shines from between each word, each stanza. I particularly like the third stanza here. Ever your fan.

Abrupt and Resonating (Poetry) - 8/29/2009 7:44:02 AM
Physics, hierology and mythology... "Abrupt and Resonating" is an intriguing mingling of subjects. "Ecclesiastical" and "apolcalyptical". These words turned on the light on, -- on the true symbolism of "Abrupt and Resonating". Unique and creative idea. Thank you for sharing "Abrupt and Resonating". In appreciation, Dixie Dawn Michelle

Kite's Day (Poetry) - 8/26/2009 8:55:39 PM
not a bad way to spend a day-very nice

Song to a Distant Lover (Poetry) - 8/20/2009 10:42:41 AM
i cant stop myself saying wow

Kite's Day (Poetry) - 8/15/2009 9:32:46 PM
And so it has, but what a creative story and photo to compliment... Be always safe, Karen

Kite's Day (Poetry) - 8/15/2009 5:38:54 PM
J.A., Enjoy you approach and take in this poem, a clever perspective...and I like the strong pace of the lines. John

Kite's Day (Poetry) - 8/15/2009 10:26:47 AM
UNIQUE CORRELATION DONE VERY WELL AND ENJOYED. THANKS FOR SHARING AND GOD BLESS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Backyard Chipmunk (Poetry) - 8/4/2009 3:05:53 AM
Excellent poem,take care EDWIN

Backyard Chipmunk (Poetry) - 8/3/2009 7:54:29 PM
Amen to this, I SO agree with you. I have been lucky in that a little baby chipmunk ran in front of my feet on a walk this past spring-he got very still, so I bent down, and he let me get a quick pet of his back-- well, I was thrilled, as you can see as I am still talking about it (same happened with a squirrel and I, only I didn't get the pet in, lol)-these are what make life worth living-not money, cars, clothes and big houses, moments like that- and there lives do have meaning, touching someone's life in ways we may never see. Thank you for this- it shows a gentle heart and a wise mind. Into my library it goes.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.