AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Linda Frank, iStephen Lodge, ialex canton-dutari, iMichael Thal, iFrederick Brooke, irichard cederberg, iKathleen Morris, i
 
Home > Lloyd Lofthouse
 

Recent Reviews for Lloyd Lofthouse


Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 13 (Short Story) - 9/14/2014 6:22:35 AM
That was some revelation. I can't believe that no one had talked to the students frankly about what school meant in practical terms like you did. Hopefully some of the ninth-grade students got serious. I know I got serious in the 10th grade when my grades were not what I wanted them to be. But I always knew that I was going to college. One of my revelations was teaching MBA students and learning that they knew little about costing a good or service, probably the greatest cause of business failure. They go into business naÔvely thinking about a product or an idea, marketing it, and pricing it with only revenue in mind, not the actual cost. Their lack of knowledge of the simple mathematics required comes from not paying attention to math in their basic schooling and carries over into their college experience. People who go into business without being able to figure out what their future costs are going to be usually fail quite quickly because they are underfunded or can't handle cash flow problems. Crazy is Normal should be required reading for all educational reformers out there. Ron

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 13 (Short Story) - 9/13/2014 5:34:33 PM
as always, enjoyed the read

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 12 (Short Story) - 9/7/2014 7:13:18 AM
Ruben and Elijah seem to have underlying problems with their families that they may be too embarrassed about to bring up at school. On the other hand it could just be teenage rebellion that many go through. You are right not to give an inch. The most important thing in teaching is to be fair and consistent. The students pick up on any kind of favoritism and it works against teachers who do it. In college, when the president of the student body failed to turn in his assignments in my class, even after I requested that he complete them before the end of the semester, I had to give him a grade of "incomplete," one of the very few I ever gave. If the incomplete was not completed within a semester, it would automatically turn to an "F." I was so concerned about the problem I went to the Dean of Men for advice. He told me that the guy was a "marginal student" and to go ahead and give him the "I." The student never completed the course, left the university and completed his degree in another state. Some years later, he came to our doctoral program at WVU where I was research coordinator and not a professor, inquiring about entering the doctoral program. I'm certainly glad he didn't. Ron

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 11 (Short Story) - 8/31/2014 6:57:15 AM
Makes me glad that I taught at the college level much earlier. My niece graduated recently from the University of Wisconsin in environmental engineering and is working in that field. Last year, she started substitute teaching and has started taking courses to be a science teacher (her grandfather was my, and her father's, my younger brother's, history teacher and wrestling coach). It makes me wonder why she would leave an important field of work in water quality to fight the battles you describe. But then I left a promising career in telecommunication to return to teaching. Ron

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 10 (Short Story) - 8/24/2014 6:20:29 AM
I'm glad you could hold the line against the growing tendency for substandard work to be acceptable and pressure from parents who think their precious children are college-bound even though they aren't. Ron

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 9 (Short Story) - 8/18/2014 6:58:21 AM
In ninth grade, they either know it all, or no not at all. It all depends on one's perspective. I can see why it's so tough teach adolescent students anymore. Ron

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 8 (Short Story) - 8/10/2014 10:46:56 AM
well done,

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 8 (Short Story) - 8/10/2014 6:52:49 AM
From what I read, my impression is that Felix may have never learned to read or write, but had been faking it through the years by getting others do his work for him. Part of his persona was caused by his shame and insecurity for being unable to do what others found easy. I have been accused lately of jumping to conclusions, so if I'm wrong, please correct me so that we won't be at odds over my observation from what you have written. Ron

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 7 (Short Story) - 8/3/2014 7:03:44 AM
There's at least one in every class. I taught only college. Since they were paying for an education, I could afford to ignore loudmouths and impolite demanders. They hated that I graded on "the curve," but in the end they saw the fairness and it, and I gathered quite a following from the better students for my fairness. My freshman year in college, unsure of how I would do, I had a two-hour electricity laboratory with the best equipment and a very patient and wonderful teacher who taught me a grading system that I used the rest of my career as a teacher. In that first lab class there was a student who spoke out constantly and seemed to be so knowledgeable that I worried how I would do. During one lecture session, this guy stuck two ends of a wire into the electrical socket on the panel in front of each of us. There was a loud "pop!" and a flash that got everyone's attention. The guy was lucky he didn't electrocute himself. Anyway, I soon found that I was the star of the exams (not quizzes, I hated them and did poorly), scoring 20 points above all the others graded on the infamous "curve." At the end of the course that so-called knowledgeable, talkative fellow got an F (in those days, good teachers actually failed students in college--they don't anymore for fear of being fired) and I took my A with pride. The grading system allowed me to learn that I was the top student in all six sections of the course. A hotshot chemistry major friend of ours that my twin brother (I refused the trivial bet) that he would do better and he beat my brother and got an A. I beat him hands down. He became the darling of the chemistry department and sold mercury that he stole from the lab. I excelled in chemistry as well as many other courses at that techie school. Ron Ron

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 6 (Short Story) - 7/29/2014 8:03:09 AM
enjoyed the read, I admire you folks who teach those older kids, give me a first grader any day!!

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 6 (Short Story) - 7/26/2014 10:20:42 AM
It's really too bad that teaching has become more disciplinarian rather than instruction. I recall in grade school and junior high we had vice principals that were in charge of discipline, and meted it out so that the teachers could concentrate on teaching. Small custodial staffs were able to, somehow, make classrooms spotlessly clean before every school year. Confrontations like you describe happen quite often in schools. During my senior year in high school, our wrestling coach and world history teacher caught most of the wrestling team out drinking, and kicked them off the squad. Two years later, a strong young sophomore that I trained with my knowledge of leg moves, became a state champion. Ron

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 5 (Short Story) - 7/24/2014 4:26:57 PM
interesting read

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 4 (Short Story) - 7/13/2014 5:53:48 AM
well said, one thing I learned early on, the quieter my own voice the quieter my class as they strain to hear I do teach early childhood, and have not taught in the upper grades, but it is a technique that works in the 4-5-6 year old range the teacher who shouts down the hall has a class vibrating the window panes, my room is quietly buzzing with busy, both classes get the work done, I just like it done more quietly

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 4 (Short Story) - 7/12/2014 5:35:41 PM
Teaching is a very hard job. The parents shed all their responsibilities to the teachers, and if something goes wrong with the kid, the teacher gets the blame. Some students have psychological problems at home which were ignored by the parents hence they've become very angry kids. I'm feeling your frustration! Sandie

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 1 (Short Story) - 7/12/2014 5:12:39 PM
I enjoyed this. I'll be back for more. ~ Dennis

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 4 (Short Story) - 7/12/2014 10:10:51 AM
Teaching in the middle grades when kids are are testing their people skills by acting out must be the toughest job in the world. Fortunately, I only taught college courses where the only discipline I applied was vigorous grading of homework and classroom participation. Since they were paying for taking my course, I told them to get their money's worth. I still had slackers, loudmouths, and losers. I was respected because I didn't let them get away with that bull shit and pass them on like so many other professors did, vying for "Professor of the Year." Ron

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 3 (Short Story) - 7/6/2014 3:10:07 AM
I enjoyed reading your interesting article, your first paragraph is one I, 35+ years in the classroom as described, fully agrees

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 3 (Short Story) - 7/5/2014 10:38:21 AM
I totally agree with you about privatizing schools in this article. As with many privatized public sector functions, the primary focus is profit at the expense of the function, in this case, the education of every school age child. Further exposť will be welcomed. Ron

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 2 (Short Story) - 6/30/2014 4:17:14 AM
Teachers have always been underpaid. In addition to proficiency pay you should be receiving hostile fire pay. Hard to think that a combat tour might be just basic training for the home front, a prep school for independent duty. Bravo Zulu on the writing job, too.

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 2 (Short Story) - 6/29/2014 6:32:24 AM
A good reason to carry, although I don't think it solves any problems. I'm amazed that you are able to close that door on all those guys. I can't imagine what would've happened had they been able to push you aside. I worked for 30 years in a slightly hostile environment of a predominately black university in a poor part of Houston. One student working on the floor of my building went berserk one night and shot a student from another university and then went to a local police station and shot a police officer in the face, giving him brain damage. I had others threaten me but never acted on their threats. I've been to Nogales and you were brave to work in a border community like that. I don't think I'd be up to working there. But it's obvious you had some very good students, just as I had. Ron

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 2 (Short Story) - 6/28/2014 2:17:17 PM
well done

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 1 (Short Story) - 6/22/2014 12:42:01 PM
m.j. hollingshead Thank you. Ronald, What you say about the school newspaper was true and my memoir, "Crazy is Normal, a classroom expose" goes into detail about the staff of the school newspaper.

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 1 (Short Story) - 6/22/2014 10:03:13 AM
looking forward to reading more

Crazy is Normal, a classroom exposť, Scene 1 (Short Story) - 6/22/2014 6:07:17 AM
I'm interested because your school newspaper was so successful in the highly competitive high school newspaper realm. I have to conclude that the newspaper's success was the result of the work of the advisor, Mr. Lofthouse, and students that were already well-versed in English and other essentials for good reporting. My stepdaughter wrote a controversial article for her school newspaper on students having babies in her junior year. In her senior year, she was made editor. However, for reasons I never heard, she resigned before completing the school year. She was only an average student. Ron

Our Hart, Episode 37 (Short Story) - 3/3/2010 2:22:55 PM
Excellent story, Lloyd, and your book is fantastic! Thank you so much for sending it; I am enjoying it! :) Well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. ;D

How I sold almost 2,000 books in twenty hours TWICE (Article) - 6/22/2014 12:43:38 PM
Bob, You're welcome

Learning Twitter for Authors (Article) - 6/22/2014 12:34:59 PM
Ronald, Blogs don't have much value if the blogger doesn't know what they are doing. For instance, without knowing what I was doing, I fumbled around for two years with blogging. Then I took two workshops and learned the most from the all day workshop. Results: In 2008 when I was a guest on 31 talk radio shows that reached millions, my first book only sold 221 copies. In 2009, I went on two book blog tours and My Splendid Concubine sold 341 copies. Then I took the first, all-day blogging workshop near the end of 2009 and then launched iLookChina. In the next nine months, I wrote and posted 1,000 posts on that Blog and sold 2,375 copies of My Splendid Concubine. iLookChina has also has about 500,000 views and still gets a few hundred daily. In 2011, My Splendid Concubine sold 4,461 books. In 2012, 4,158 copies sold, and in 2013 5,044. I now have several Blogs and three of the Blogs focus on themes and specific subjects that have little or nothing to do with being a writer. Only my signature blog . Lloyd Lofthouse.org covers writing and any subject I feel like sharing. A blog without search engine rank in the top 1% of an Alexa ranking is not going to do much for an author, but if the topics a gblogger writes about are on a blog in the Alexa top 1% search engine ranking, viewers will show up through search engines. But it takes a lot of work to earn a top 1% Alexa search engine ranking and if you stop posting, the rank drops out of the coveted spot in the top 1%. Thank you for "because your work is good", but without a way to attract readers interested in what I write, readers aren't going to find my work because there's millions of titles out there for readers to choose from.

Learning Twitter for Authors (Article) - 6/22/2014 10:06:39 AM
enjoyed reading

Learning Twitter for Authors (Article) - 6/22/2014 6:19:18 AM
Frankly, I don't see the value of blogs (unless they contain good content), Facebook, or Twitter. Most social connections are pastimes, derived from two words: passing and time. I would interpret that to mean wasting time from writing good work. I believe your success is not through all this social networking, but because your work is good. You also are doing something that I wish I could do, and that is belong to a really good writer's group. I belong to one for a while, but the leader of the group was notorious for not showing up for meetings or being very late, and catering to her (English) students rather than working on making the group work together. Ron

How I sold almost 2,000 books in twenty hours TWICE (Article) - 6/21/2014 4:52:48 PM
thanks Lloyd for the info...

Living on the thin side of Black Ice (Article) - 9/2/2012 4:45:30 AM
Good to see you are still writing. Love your work-especially the brilliant analysis of the national debt. My best Lonnie Hicks I am on this site as well

Getting Oriented (Article) - 4/7/2012 9:12:47 AM
I wanted to share an E-mail I received this morning (April 7, 2012) from a friend of my wife's. A few weeks or months ago, when I heard that Jim (the friend) and his family were planning a trip to Japan, I recommended Wally's book, which I wrote this review of. Jim read Wood's book in a few days. Here's Jim's E-mail. I didn't cut or change anything. Focus on the last two sentences. Jim wrote, "With Kyoko as our guide it has truly been a Japanese experience, particularly the trip to Hakone where we stayed in a ryokan. Have used trains and buses for all of our transportation and eaten Japanese food for all of our meals. Had a deep tissue massage in Hakone and the next day felt like someone had beat the crap out of me. The guy was incredibly strong and did not let up when I indicated it was hurting. We've probably taken 4,000 pictures. Will try to write it all up and correlate it to some pictures when we get back if there's time. Tell Lloyd that I finished the book he recommended the first couple of days we were here and went to many of the same shrines and temples in Kyoto. Really enjoyed the book and thank you very much." Wally, if you read this, show this to that "friend" that said you could not write, and I suggest you don't seek his or her opinion of your writing in the future. The fact is that each of us has different tastes in what we read, and this friend's taste in books may not fit what you write but that does not mean you cannot tell a good story. Bertrand Russell (1872 - 1970) said, "I think we ought always to entertain our opinions with some measure of doubt. I shouldn't wish people dogmatically to believe any philosophy, not even mine." Lawana Blackwell, the author of "The Dowry of Miss Lydia Clark" (and a dozen other novels), once said, "Patterning your life around other's opinions is nothing more than slavery." Plato (427 BC - 347 BC) said, "You are young, my son, and, as the years go by, time will change and even reverse many of your present opinions. Refrain therefore awhile from setting yourself up as a judge of the highest matters." And last but not least, Virginia Woolf (1882 - 1941) said, "Literature is strewn with the wreckage of men who have minded beyond reason the opinion of others." We cannot expect everyone to enjoy the same stories, which explains why some books sell millions of copies and others only a few thousand and many of the people that read books that sell fewer copies still enjoy what they read. It's all a matter of individual taste which is a complex issue.

The Story behind the National Debt (Article) - 6/13/2011 9:53:11 AM
Trask, How much California spends on dealing with illegal aliens is part of the California state budget and the states are not allowed deficit spending as the feds are. Since the feds print and mint money, they spend too freely. However, your criticism of cheap labor or welfare as the culprit for the National Debt depends where you place your opinions and anger and how much you understand. * U.S. Government Spending ó http://www.usgovernmentspending.com/united_states_total_spending_pie_chart The United States Total Spending Pie Chart for 2011 shows us that the Federal Budget is divided up into nine areas: 1. Health Care is the largest slice of the pie at 18%. (I suspect this is Medicare) 2. Defense and Federal Pensions each add 16% for 32% of the budget. However, that doesn't include people that work for state governments. For example, since I was a California Public School teacher and my retirement comes from CALstrs, which is self-funded by the members, my retirement is not part of that slice of the national pie. 3. Education is the fourth largest slice of the pie at 14% and that does not count what each state pays for the public education systems. Each state also has a budget for public education but that money is not part of the national pie and does not contribute to the national debt. The majority of the cost of education is carried by each state. Federal funds are not the majority of money spent on education. 4. What we call Welfare makes up an 11% slice of the national budget. In 1996, under the Bill Clinton administration, Congress passed the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act, which gave control of the welfare system back to the states. Because welfare is no longer under the control of the federal government, there are basic requirements the states need to meet with regards to welfare services. Still, most states offer basic assistance, such as health care, food stamps, child care assistance, unemployment, cash aid, and housing assistance. After reforms, which President Clinton said would "end welfare as we know it,"[19] amounts from the federal government were given out in a flat rate per state based on population. Following these changes, millions of people left the welfare rolls (a 60% drop overall),[24] employment rose, and the child poverty rate was reduced. Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Welfare#United_States 5. Protection is 5% (I imagine that some of this 400 or so billion goes toward Homeland Security and patrolling our borders in an attempt to slow and keep out illegals coming to the US to work in the fields or sweatshops. 6. Annual interest for the National Debt today is 5% or about $400 billion. 7. Transportation is 4% 8. The costs of running the general Government is 2%. * Social Security's Enduring Truths by James Roosevelt Jr. ó http://www.aarp.org/work/social-security/info-06-2011/social-security-truths.html Social Secruity is labeles as an entitlement program and many critics in the US mistakenlgy think this means welfare. Not true. We never hear how Social Security is funded and I suspect many Americans believe Social Security is also adding to the National Debt and needs to be cut. An excellent piece in the the AARP Bulletin by James Roosevelt Jr., the grandson of FDR, clears this up. Social Security is self-funded by the contributions of the workers and the law does not allow tax money to go toward Social Security. Where does the deficit come from? Overspending. The US government spends about $3 for every $2 that comes in as revenues such as that collected by the IRS in taxes. The Iraq war to date has cost about $800 billion. The interest on the National Debt averages about $400 billion. This means that since Obama has been in office, the US has paid out more than a trillion dollars in interest payments and that has added to the National Debt. Subtract the cost of the Iraq War and the interest on the National Debt due to overspending and that just about covers what the US is spending on welfare today. As for foreign aid, The OECD calculated that (in 2008) the US spent about $25 billion in foreign aid per year. I wonder where this item fits within the federal budget. Read more: http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_much_foreign_aid_does_the_US_Government_give_away#ixzz1PBBOHKB6 Who Gets U.S. Foreign Aid The U.S. will give an estimated $26 billion in foreign aid in 200870% more than when President George W. Bush took office (the figure doesnt include funds related to the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan). More than 150 countries get financial assistance from the U.S. Here are the six that received the most this year. COUNTRY AID PURPOSE 1. Israel $2.4 billion Virtually all of this money is used to buy weapons (up to 75% made in the U.S.). Beginning in 2009, the U.S. plans to give $30 billion over 10 years. 2. Egypt $1.7 billion $1.3 billion to buy weapons; $103 million for education; $74 million for health care; $45 million to promote civic participation and human rights. 3. Pakistan $798 million $330 million for security efforts, including military-equipment upgrades and border security; $20 million for infrastructure. 4. Jordan $688 million $326 million to fight terrorism and promote regional stability through equipment upgrades and training; $163 million cash payment to the Jordanian government. 5. Kenya $586 million $501 million to fight HIV/AIDS through drug treatment and abstinence education and to combat malaria; $15 million for agricultural development; $5.4 million for programs that promote government accountability. 6. South Africa $574 million $557 million to fight TB and HIV/AIDS; $3 million for education. 7. Mexico $551 million Click here for details. 8. Colombia $541 million Click here for details. 9. Nigeria $491 million Click here for details. 10. Sudan $479 million Click here for details. *Source: Estimates based on figures and documents from the U.S. Department of State. Click here for more information. Historically, who has increased the National Debt the Most? President Ronald Reagan is the first President to increase the National Debt by more than $100 Billion in one year! President Ronald Reagan is the first President to increase the National Debt by more than $200 Billion in one year! President George H.W. Bush is the first President to increase the National Debt by more than $300 Billion in one year! President George H.W. Bush is the first President to increase the National Debt by more than $400 Billion in one year! President George W. Bush is the first President to increase the National Debt by more than $500 Billion in one year! President George W. Bush has increased the National Debt by more than $500 Billion AGAIN! Almost hits $600 Billion! President George W. Bush has increased the National Debt by more than $500 Billion a THIRD time! President George W. Bush has increased the National Debt by more than $500 Billion a FOURTH time! President George W. Bush has increased the National Debt by more than $500 Billion a FIFTH time! Please explain how cheap labor and illegal immigrant contributes to the National Debt? This New York Times piece is revelaing about illegals and cheap labor. http://www.nytimes.com/2006/06/19/business/19illegals.html "In contrast to the typical image of an illegal immigrant ó paid in cash, working under the table for small-scale labor contractors on a California farm or a suburban construction site ó a majority now work for mainstream companies, not fly-by-night operators, and are hired and paid like any other American worker." "More than half of the estimated seven million immigrants toiling illegally in the United States get a regular paycheck every week or two, experts say. At the end of the year they receive a W-2 form. Come April 15, many file income tax returns using special ID numbers issued by the Internal Revenue Service so foreigners can pay taxes. Some even get a refund check in the mail." And USA Today says, "Many illegal immigrants pay up at tax time." http://www.usatoday.com/money/perfi/taxes/2008-04-10-immigrantstaxes_N.htm USA Today says, "In 2006, then IRS Commission Mark Everson told Congress that "many illegal aliens, utilizing ITINs, have been reporting tax liability to the tune of almost $50 billion from 1996 to 2003." An IRS spokesman said more recent figures aren't available. The Social Security and Medicare taxes from mismatched W2s for the same period was $41.4 billion, Hinkle said. That adds up to roughly $90 billion in federal taxes during the eight-year period. He calculates that illegal immigrants contributed $428 billion dollars to the nation's $13.6 trillion gross domestic product in 2006. That number assumes illegal immigrants are 30% less productive than other workers. Journal.US says, "Illegal Immigrants Pay Billion in Taxes..." Journal US says, "According to the Congressional Budget Office and the Social Security Administration, undocumented immigrants pay many different types of taxes, including sales, property, and social security taxes individual income,..." "Officially, the Social Security Administration estimates that about seventy five percent (75%) of illegal workers contribute to the overall solvency of Social Security and Medicare by paying taxes."

The Story behind the National Debt (Article) - 6/11/2011 6:30:46 PM
And This State Mexifornia Alone Blew Your Our TAXPAYER$ On Illegals Aliens Year 2010: $23.5 Billion$... Huh-I Guess That(Cheap Labor/Welfare ) Doesn't Have Anything Do With National Debt? Lloyd: While I Appreciate All Trouble You Went To In Writing Above-I Do Not Believe Any US.Gov Statistics Or Anything US.Gov Mass Media Is Controlled By--Quoting Them Is Nice--Illegals Paid $428 Billion$ To Trillon$ To Gross Domestic Product? Its Biggest Farce Yet Hidden In Covered Conned By US.Gov As Mass Media! I Really Believe You Should Become Homeless Live Sleep In Streets Los Angelese Sleazy "Sanctuary City" For 1 Month --Boy Will Your Attitude Change! TRASK...

The Story behind the National Debt (Article) - 6/10/2011 9:07:25 AM
Good essay, Lloyd. Keep in mind we have now added two more wars, Libya and Yemen, and three actually if you count the shifted escallation from Iraq to Afghanistan. So I think the end of Obama's administration will show at least a national-debt tie increase with Dubya's.

The Story behind the National Debt (Article) - 6/9/2011 2:58:41 PM
A powerful essay, Lloyd. But will we acknowledge the past--and will we learn from it? -gene.

Rachel Cord, PI (Article) - 7/2/2010 3:04:35 AM
enjoyed reading your review

The God Patent (Article) - 6/30/2010 9:05:07 PM
Lloyd, what an incredible review. I'm going to Amazon right away to get this book. By the way, I'm still reading - and loving - "My Splendid Concubine". I'm in the process of moving from Texas to New England, so that's why it's taking me so long. Otherwise, I totally agree with you - the books I love, I read quickly. Great review. Best as always, Suzann

Rachel Cord, PI (Article) - 6/30/2010 2:59:49 PM
A review by L. L. is a review of which to take note! Thanks for sharing this...it's always good to hear about "new" writers. :)

Building Characters Through Conflicts (Article) - 9/24/2009 6:43:34 AM
'My Splendid Concubine' traces the love life of Sir Robert Hart a young Englishman born before his time. Torn between the rigid Victorian morals and the conflicting values within himself he left England for China during the Ching Dynasty. , , , A great write one of those fascinating story- one of those books you donít want two put down.

First Eighteen Months (Article) - 9/23/2009 4:53:57 PM
Man, after reading this, I wonder if I will ever get my book out...but, persevering does reap its results! Your articles are very helpful... Thank you for sharing~

Becoming Respectable (Article) - 7/20/2009 8:51:52 AM
enjoyed the read

Wai-nani (Article) - 7/15/2009 7:50:23 PM
Thank you Mr. Lofthouse. Your credits are quite impressive. I especially liked your comments about the dolphin interaction. I took great pains to make that part of the story realistic and believable even though it does add a fantastic element to the story. Linda Ballou

First Eighteen Months (Article) - 7/6/2009 2:45:16 PM
Lloyd, a fascinating tour through agents, rejection slips, and publishers. I'm betting that your energy and determination will pay off big-time. -gene.

Wai-nani (Article) - 6/29/2009 7:54:04 PM
Except for two brief stopovers at Pearl Harbor during the war, going out and coming back, most of what I know about Hawaii comes from books (Michener,for example), so I look forward to picking up a copy of Ballou's novel. Thanks for the review,Lloyd. -gene.

Six-Hundred Hours of a Life (Article) - 6/27/2009 12:28:34 PM
An excellent review, Lloyd. Six-Hundred Hours of a Life sounds like a winner. Thanks for letting us know about it.

Connecting the Dots to Discover the Truth (Article) - 4/6/2009 1:02:50 PM
Great! and now the CIA works for Obama, Reed and Pelosi.

Connecting the Dots to Discover the Truth (Article) - 4/6/2009 10:53:45 AM
Yikes! Sounds electrifying on all counts. Beautifully written, as always, Lloyd.

A True Journey Through Fire (Article) - 2/7/2009 11:26:50 AM
Excellent review of timely topic, perhaps always timely, unfortunately. R

Left, Right, Fact or Fiction (Article) - 12/20/2008 8:24:09 PM
Another splendid article, Mr. Lofthouse. President-elect Obama would be wise to appoint someone with your outlook, Press Secretary!

Revelation (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 9:09:38 AM
Listening to talk radio 580 last nite when I couldn't sleep - it's subject was Santa claus, etc, and the radio announcer stays on the radio all holidays cause so many people are very alone and lonely. His attitude is so great and comforting.

Learning from Death (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 9:07:49 AM
Death surely disrupts our lives quite often and the older we get the more deaths occur in our lives. But life goes on and on til we're dead, indeed.

Smartphone (Poetry) - 7/15/2014 7:21:39 AM
A most informative and delightful poem. I have known about Siri since it first came out, because Apple has always had interesting voice responses to various aspects of their operating system and because I worked with dictation systems for so long. Unfortunately, I don't think many iPhone users know about or use Siri. My helper has had an iPhone for some time but doesn't use it. On a recent trip with a lawyer friend of mine, she was my front seat passenger and copilot. She was constantly asking Siri for this or that and getting instant answers as we rolled down the road on a trip that I had planned very poorly for, not knowing the territory. My friend came through with the answers time after time and made our trip truly eventful because of all the knowledge she brought. If anyone out there has an iPhone, I highly recommend Siri. Just learn how to use it. For all you Stone Age writers out there, there is no hope. ;-) Ron

Smartphone (Poetry) - 7/15/2014 3:33:40 AM
chuckle

Smartphone (Poetry) - 7/14/2014 6:12:42 PM
Perhaps you should ask her to speak in Australian English. Heeeheeee!!! Sandie

The Luxury of Heartache (Poetry) - 12/26/2012 8:44:00 AM
Cool, reaching back in time to remind us of the heartache many still experience today. Well done! Cheers, Dan

The birth of a child called Prose (Poetry) - 12/26/2012 8:25:09 AM
I like this, and think you ought to keep parenting it <grin>.

The Luxury of Heartache (Poetry) - 12/26/2012 8:22:00 AM
Interesting notion, Lloyd, that heartache is a luxury.

Learning from Death (Poetry) - 7/31/2011 9:16:58 AM
Good to see you posting again, Lloyd--even with this sad but excelled poem that reminds us that death in an unwelcome teacher. -gene.

Learning from Death (Poetry) - 7/31/2011 9:05:11 AM
Good poem, Lloyd. Sometimes we win a battle here and there, but never the war.

Learning from Death (Poetry) - 7/31/2011 8:39:19 AM
Sobering thoughts indeed, Lloyd. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Walking the Path of Dead Explorers (Poetry) - 7/26/2011 9:03:18 PM
Nicely done. Wom wondering what would happen if electricity suddenly disappeared? There is absolutely NO reason it should remain!!!!!! rge schilken

The Never-Ending Book Promotion Blues (Poetry) - 2/7/2011 10:14:07 AM
Good Grief, I know exactly what you are talking about. It is a never ending battle which I never fully engaged in and so I lost. I enjoy writing the stories, not trying to publicize them. rege

Putting Cupid's Arrows on Ice (Poetry) - 1/30/2011 1:07:36 PM
Lloyd, so glad to see you writing again, and raising a little hell. You may be right about Cupid, but, hell, nobody have said that love was easy. -gene.

Walking the Path of Dead Explorers (Poetry) - 1/29/2011 2:33:14 PM
Certainly you have given me pause to reflect, Lloyd. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Never-Ending Book Promotion Blues (Poetry) - 1/29/2011 2:28:38 PM
Thank you for sharing your experience, Lloyd. And yes, that does explain why you have not been around AD very much. Love and peace, Regis

The Never-Ending Book Promotion Blues (Poetry) - 1/29/2011 4:40:40 AM
WOW!! You have been a busy man! I am seeing the positive here instead (if you don't mind) How exciting to travel too & promote over in China! Everywhere you have been!! No matter the outcome it's all empowering you inside the self marketing experience you surely are having a great experience!! It is hard to self promote, (being the little fishes) and approaching potential prospects. And Honorable Mentions!! Now you are a bigger fish in the sea of writers This is outstanding Lloyd!! All My Best Wishes For You Vickie

Putting Cupid's Arrows on Ice (Poetry) - 1/28/2011 5:46:27 PM
I appreciate your wit as you share it via your verses here, Lloyd. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Never-Ending Book Promotion Blues (Poetry) - 1/25/2011 1:24:50 PM
I have felt your pain.

The Never-Ending Book Promotion Blues (Poetry) - 1/2/2011 2:19:10 AM
well said

The Never-Ending Book Promotion Blues (Poetry) - 1/1/2011 12:49:15 PM
Welcome back, Lloyd. I missed you. You'll feel a lot better once the cash register chimes. -gene.

Walking the Path of Dead Explorers (Poetry) - 12/16/2010 7:16:47 AM


Walking the Path of Dead Explorers (Poetry) - 8/6/2010 10:03:38 AM
At least, Lloyd, they should post signs along the Path of Dead Explorers that read: Mobile phones and other electrical gadgets are forbidden on the Path of Dead Explorers, Or Else. -gene.

Walking the Path of Dead Explorers (Poetry) - 8/2/2010 3:25:59 AM
An excellent piece of writing, Lloyd

LIttle No More (Poetry) - 5/2/2010 8:26:17 AM
This is so cute, and so true. They start out as wonderful, lovable little darlings and the older they get---yes, the grow away from us in every way.

LIttle No More (Poetry) - 5/2/2010 1:16:50 AM
Fine work, Lloyd

LIttle No More (Poetry) - 5/1/2010 7:28:40 PM
Lloyd, This was adorable! I was feeling very nostalgic and thinking of my six children growing into adults, but that last line had me rolling on the floor! "A form of blackmail for parents seeking tranquility" Ain't it the truth? Mary

LIttle No More (Poetry) - 5/1/2010 7:27:22 PM
Luv the narrative, Lloyd, and the whole approach, tone and attitude...should all youngsters be removed from home at 12 and not returned till their 21st birthday? A friend of mine is all for that but I'm not as convinced although the argument has some merit. You made this personal and very real and it's such a satisfying piece of work. It's good to see you back; don't stay away so long next time. John

Revelation (Poetry) - 12/26/2009 8:33:26 AM
Yes, our vises and virtues reside in us and not in the machination of powerful churchs and their very well fed leaders.

Revelation (Poetry) - 12/25/2009 12:02:28 PM
Amen to that, Lloyd! I completely agree. Love and peace to you, Regis

Revelation (Poetry) - 12/24/2009 9:56:28 PM
This is exactly what I'm saying. Thank you. Namaste

Revelation (Poetry) - 12/24/2009 9:20:17 PM
There is most likely need for all of them, to accomodate all our human needs, but I draw the line, when power structures, such as organized religions, abuse their power when entering into political arenas, or pseudo type shams, that demean the very belief they are supposed to uphold. As Juliet said, well written. Jasmin Horst

Revelation (Poetry) - 12/24/2009 5:24:18 PM
Ab-so-lutely!!!!!

Symphony (Poetry) - 12/24/2009 5:00:57 PM
Lloyd--this is a beauty, a hymn to the divinity of creation. Yes, these are the real songs, the ones worth hearing--not the eternal/internal combustion engine--which deafens and drowns out birds and heart beats and wind and rain. This cutting off will be our ruin. I think everyone past a certain age feels it.

Revelation (Poetry) - 12/24/2009 4:55:25 PM
Yes, and it needs to be said over and over again! There is divinity, but The Divine is not to be found inside any organizational structure. I love the way this winds rhythmically up and then steps down--rap-rap-rap--making points all the way.

In All Probability-- (Poetry) - 10/24/2009 4:37:20 PM
I occasionally google you to see what you're up to. I even bought your book. I worshiped you for 18 years. But now every time I read how disappointing I am to you - it hurts. I may have made mistakes, but even my mother (the witch) still loves me. Isn't that what parents are suppose to do? Love their children? regardless? Sincerely, The Boy Half Your Age

Underground (Poetry) - 10/14/2009 8:26:58 PM
Powerful images. Thank you for your service and for sharing.

Combat Jazz (Poetry) - 10/14/2009 8:09:52 PM
Glad I checked out some of your older stuff. Great write.

Symphony (Poetry) - 10/14/2009 5:30:03 PM
A nice metaphor. Enjoyed.

Symphony (Poetry) - 10/14/2009 4:41:01 PM
Lloyd, I share your disillusion, that 'fedupness' with the way we've gone. Thematically and structurally this is very fine, moving from the hateful unnatural to the natural, wanted sounds of the world, its real music, "Buzz of insects Wail of wolf Yip of coyote..." and then the (symphonic) movement upwards to the stars, what's beyond us and awaits eternal, spiritual, fulfilling. And you might well be right, a final (deserved) destruction, a wiping of the slate and a new start. Thank you for this fine offering. John

Symphony (Poetry) - 10/14/2009 8:49:28 AM
Much to ponder in these lines, Lloyd - so many forget what it is like to wake up to the call of a bird, the click of antlers, the holyhush of morning. During the crush of the day, they forget the sounds of creation. At night, TV takes the place of the whine of a mosquito, the mighty crack of thunder, the quietude of another blessing given (and forget to thank Him for it) Thank you for the excellent reminder. My new favorite of yours. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Rain (Poetry) - 10/13/2009 7:52:36 PM
A wonderful creation.

Rain (Poetry) - 10/13/2009 9:33:06 AM
I like your thoughts and associations with rain, Lloyd. I like rain. Usually. But then-- the rain raining faster than the wiper wipes... -gene.

Rain (Poetry) - 10/12/2009 6:44:07 PM
I like nothing more than gentle rain, it's sweet melancholy's seem like a great gift to me.

Rain (Poetry) - 10/12/2009 4:57:55 PM
Lloyd, You must have looked out my window: raining even as I review your refreshing words. I'm with John Flanagan (below) - the rain is never changing, we change with the rain, because of the rain. Well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Rain (Poetry) - 10/12/2009 4:09:54 PM
Lloyd, It's our circumstances that change, not the rain and not nature's, and what we welcome in one place we fear in another. I like how you ponder and wonder here and predicate through personal experiences and link to the recent disasters my neighbours in SEAsia have endured. This is very fine. John

Happy Faces (Poetry) - 10/11/2009 12:46:16 PM
Lloyd, I'm afraid that too often we walk through life and miss the funny part. -gene.

Happy Faces (Poetry) - 10/10/2009 10:15:22 AM
Yeah, laughter's the only remedy for the human condition.

Happy Faces (Poetry) - 10/8/2009 8:33:20 PM
Loved the history lesson and yes I am a firm believer in laughter and smiling every day no matter what is going on. A day without laughter IS a day wasted, as life is so short. Wonderful piece and delivery.... Be always safe, Karen

Happy Faces (Poetry) - 10/8/2009 11:17:17 AM
ABSOLUTELY! THE BIBLE SAYS; ...A MERRY HEART IS LIKE....MEDICINE... I DO BELIEVE THIS AND I THANK GOD THAT AS CRAZY AS THIS WORLD CAN GET...THERE IS ALWAYS 'SOMETHING' TO BE GLAD ABOUT...THIS MAKES ME SMILE. THANKS FOR SHARING AND GOD BLESS YOU. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Curtain Calls (Poetry) - 10/6/2009 4:49:09 PM
Lloyd, Power writing! No holding back, the drama unfolds, act after cruel vivid act with snacks and treats in between for comfort and irony. At your very best here. Kudos! John

Curtain Calls (Poetry) - 10/5/2009 8:42:08 PM
Powerfully penned, after all the horror, better be laughter - well penned, Lloyd! (((HUGS))) and love, karla.

Curtain Calls (Poetry) - 10/5/2009 8:05:46 PM
Take a bow, my friend; be well and be happy. Laugh, and I for one, will laugh with you. Another fantastic write in the Lofthouse manner. -gene.

Mountain Memoires (Poetry) - 10/3/2009 12:30:46 PM
Why be concerned about where those memories go so long as we can live and relate those memories now, and, my friend, you do it so well. I like the phrase, the purple Detroit haze. -gene.

Mountain Memoires (Poetry) - 9/27/2009 1:53:51 PM
The reason why people write and take photographs to keep the memories flowing down to the next generation behind... Be always safe, Karen

Mountain Memoires (Poetry) - 9/27/2009 8:48:25 AM
"Drinking the mountain-peak army with our eyes" is also my favorite line of this "retreat within" - a trek to a time that will always exist somewhere in the landscape of All That Is. You have given this reader a story as might've been shown through old black and white, flickering family films.

Mountain Memoires (Poetry) - 9/26/2009 7:13:47 PM
Lloyd, ..."Drinking the mountain-peak army with our eyes" is, for me, the outstanding image in this fine memoir, days re-lived vividly, richly with a proper nostalgia for what was, not gushing but strongly embedded, and that great question at the end makes me sit up straight. John

The Darkness (Poetry) - 9/25/2009 1:12:02 PM
The sad thing, Lloyd, is that I agree with you and applaud your skill in relating it. -gene.

The Darkness (Poetry) - 9/24/2009 6:35:47 AM
Bravo! The world of realiity, methinks! More recognitioin should be given for poems such as yours, Lloyd, where truths abound. Seems we are still warring over the "Crusades"...never learning there is no win-win situation. Blessings and Love - Micke

The Soulful Veteran Speaks (Poetry) - 9/24/2009 6:26:56 AM
Every time I hear of a listing of "casualties" in war, I know the count does not include those who come home batterred and crippled...and mostly "forgotten". This is our Nation's s-h-a-m-e! Our veterans deserve much more from our Government and people. Their stories should be told over and over again; your poem is raw and telling, as it should be. Thank you, Lloyd! Blessings and Love - Micke

The Darkness (Poetry) - 9/23/2009 5:00:55 PM
Lloyd, I'm honoured and happy my 'descent' set off such passion in you. Thank you for this, and thank you for the review. John

The Darkness (Poetry) - 9/23/2009 6:35:17 AM
Great come back from your review at John Flanagan's den on "descent"! Ya know when your fired, your fired and this came from the bottom...deep down in the soul of one who can see the difference! Well done! Nice to meet you! I've been more out than in and am trying to be more in than out, never mind the ups and downs! HA! Love and Peace~ Kimmy~

The Darkness (Poetry) - 9/23/2009 4:46:26 AM
It's dark and troubling and all too true.

The Soulful Veteran Speaks (Poetry) - 9/22/2009 10:59:53 AM
Lloyd, well said by a veteran who knows that for many (most) the war never ends. As you know, not all war protesters were in the classroom (understandably) but some of us vets of earlier wars were in the streets. Was anyone listening? So glad you're home where you belong--with your trusty pen in hand. -gene.

The Soulful Veteran Speaks (Poetry) - 9/22/2009 10:50:58 AM
It was sad, I greeted and worked with those who were sent back to work. Imagine, some of them got to my head. They never knew: I have learned that many of them are now dead.

The Soulful Veteran Speaks (Poetry) - 9/21/2009 7:35:24 PM
There were many who returned home never to be the same again. The silent fears, the heartache at what was witnessed that remains forever as do the secrets you heart and soul holds... Be always safe, Karen

The Soulful Veteran Speaks (Poetry) - 9/21/2009 5:07:11 PM
Lloyd, You've lived this, you know this, it's intimate, personal, real...and powerful as your writing always is. Good to see you post poetry again. John

Media Whores (Poetry) - 9/9/2009 7:39:17 PM
History retold in powerful lines of rememberance, Lloyd. Have also heard that those that forget history are condemned to repeat it. (Or something like that.) Excellent. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Media Whores (Poetry) - 9/9/2009 5:45:09 PM
Lloyd, Admirable passion and compassion in this powerful pen, and your understanding of history is simply excellent...you know your stuff! Fine writing indeed. John

Media Whores (Poetry) - 9/9/2009 5:11:37 PM
MasterPoet, I agree.

Media Whores (Poetry) - 9/9/2009 10:24:56 AM
A profound and compelling write. I cannot understand, with all that is at stake, why anyone would want our President to fail.

Media Whores (Poetry) - 9/9/2009 10:01:14 AM
Steinbeck is one of my favorites. Your poem has forced me to search my copy of the Grapes of Wrath. Our political views may only be slightly different; concatenating a diverse set of events/things/media gimmicks is something worth pondering. You have done a fabulous job!

Teen Daughter on a School Night (Poetry) - 9/8/2009 11:48:37 AM
Well said, Lloyd. It seems to happen to most of us. Cheers

Teen Daughter on a School Night (Poetry) - 9/8/2009 10:01:07 AM
This is indeed a true and meaningful perspective, Lloyd. Thank you for sharing it. You (and perhaps your daughter) might want to check out my poem posted here at AD entitled, "Back to School." Love and peace to you, Regis

Teen Daughter on a School Night (Poetry) - 9/8/2009 7:24:20 AM
Hope, yet for our teenagers, if this write is any indication - well done, Lloyd! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Teen Daughter on a School Night (Poetry) - 9/8/2009 5:59:55 AM
Hopefully the wick never gets that low. Very nice.

Teen Daughter on a School Night (Poetry) - 9/8/2009 5:39:52 AM
Terrific poem, Lloyd! I can see her, and bless her lively imagination. Perhaps she'll save the world.

Teen Daughter on a School Night (Poetry) - 9/8/2009 12:30:29 AM
Lloyd, There's something terribly sad and empty in this situation and in the controlled, elegant telling of it. A fine poem. John

Teen Daughter on a School Night (Poetry) - 9/7/2009 9:04:48 PM
Ah. Yes. My imagination was beaten to a pulp, only to raise its rather alien head while I'm playing the back nine. I wonder where I would have gone with my imagination, my candle burning at both its ends. Superb poem, Lloyd. Bravo. Patti Martin

Confucian/Chinese Morality (Poetry) - 9/7/2009 10:48:27 AM
Every culture has so much more to offer beyond the stunted political "ism" it shows the world.

What Did Oxford Do? (Poetry) - 9/7/2009 10:45:08 AM
I think I getcha. I just started to "read" someone's book and ran into this problem almost immediately. It's not going to be a "reading task," at all... Oh, Lord, I do empathize! (BTW one of my fav's--in my own preoccupied 18th world--is "Elicks" for "Alex.")

What Did Oxford Do? (Poetry) - 8/31/2009 6:08:01 AM
Well said. J'nia

China & Tibet (Poetry) - 8/30/2009 3:46:40 PM
I do appreciate the way you share your philosophy in such a succinct and thought-inciting way. Thank you, Lloyd. Love and peace, Regis

The First of All Virtues (Poetry) - 8/30/2009 3:45:36 PM
You make some apt and timely points here, Lloyd. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

values in China cause a result (Poetry) - 8/30/2009 3:44:52 PM
You're right, Lloyd. I'd have to educate myself a bit more. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

The Art of Shaving (Poetry) - 8/30/2009 3:43:57 PM
Seems like a rough "baptism" of the shaving ritual, Lloyd. I was never in the army but my father told me a lot of stories. Thanks for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

What Did Oxford Do? (Poetry) - 8/30/2009 8:00:29 AM
Let's hope it means Freedom, Lloyd. -gene.

What Did Oxford Do? (Poetry) - 8/30/2009 6:21:29 AM
Excellent, Lloyd - enjoyed reading this. Well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

What Did Oxford Do? (Poetry) - 8/29/2009 5:15:21 PM
I appreciate your point of view, Lloyd. Thank you for sharing it. I love a good story told aloud. Love and peace, Regis

What Did Oxford Do? (Poetry) - 8/29/2009 5:05:24 PM
Well said, Lloyd, well said! John

The Art of Shaving (Poetry) - 6/15/2009 8:03:12 PM
When i went into the navy I was but 17, blond and very fair...I would never had to shave ever if it wasn't for the company commander. I tried but still I had fuzz, actual peach fuzz that could barely be seen, but he ended up shaving me dry and I was in the hospital for two weeks healing and the company commander got a reprimand...I knew him after boot camp and he was the nicest of guys and never seemed to hold a grudge with me...Ed

The Art of Shaving (Poetry) - 6/15/2009 6:47:42 PM
For all that time I spent in the navy, I can't remember the shaving experience, but I'm sure it must have involved a lot of nicks. Today, I trust my trusty Norelco electric shaver to do the job, passably, sans blood. Incidentally, Lloyd, I like what you did with The Art of Shaving. -gene.

The Art of Shaving (Poetry) - 6/15/2009 3:53:34 PM
Lloyd, Riveting opening and closing lines and in between a hard hard lesson in discipline and the ultimate reality check. This has power and great relevance. Bravo! John

Virtual Vampires (Poetry) - 6/5/2009 7:20:09 AM
excellent point.

Virtual Vampires (Poetry) - 6/4/2009 5:11:00 PM
Lloyd, Very good questions indeed. A few years back I imposed a rule on myself to read two hours a day no matter what and for the most part I've kept to it (when my mind's working) - it was the only way to get away from nonsense. John

Virtual Vampires (Poetry) - 6/4/2009 2:12:57 PM
Let's face it. Lloyd speaks Truth! I'm too old for this much time in front of a CRT. There's no time to write, if you start with all this social networking jazz. Plus I'm with Bennett. This whole society needs a session of dumping the trash & cleaning up the harddrive.

Virtual Vampires (Poetry) - 6/4/2009 1:51:52 PM
Let's face it, we're cooking our brains blogging becaue other, more organic, outlets for communication and social cohesion are failing us. I think a lot of rebooting has to go on and I don't mean on the computer. Your poem's well put together.

Virtual Vampires (Poetry) - 6/4/2009 1:06:46 PM
Lloyd, LOL! Can I tell you a few things? May get to see some awesome vids (like mine *ahem*), but then again, you'll see a lot of crap. LOL Blogging seems to be safer, AD, too - (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Virtual Vampires (Poetry) - 6/4/2009 11:38:01 AM
Lloyd, if you find out, let me know. I usually do my surfing at the beach. -gene.

I Never Dream About My Brother (Poetry) - 6/3/2009 11:20:06 AM
Wow, family memories are sometimes undone, but there is a bonding and love that holds steadfast, magnificent writing, yet with a sort of meloncholy undertone.... Be always safe, Karen

I Never Dream About My Brother (Poetry) - 6/3/2009 7:17:55 AM
Powerfully penned poignancy, Lloyd, these family memories - well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :( Leaves me feeling a bit sad -

I Never Dream About My Brother (Poetry) - 6/3/2009 6:18:15 AM
This is a fascinating penning of the family story, at least part of it. So well done in fact that it leaves me wanting to read another chapter or 20. Excellent! J'nia

I Never Dream About My Brother (Poetry) - 6/3/2009 5:03:34 AM
Very well done.. enjoyed very much sweet man..stay safe and well..Hugsss

I Never Dream About My Brother (Poetry) - 6/2/2009 3:37:25 PM
Thoughtful and sad. I like your way of putting it all together.

I Never Dream About My Brother (Poetry) - 6/2/2009 3:33:49 PM
Lloyd, Remarkable telling, truly. It's in the details, use of nicknames, family scenes and events that this poem shines and comes alive, larger than life, I see these people, I feel their presence, and there are too many good lines and descriptors to mention but outstanding for me are, "And prayed to the Catholic Christ Hanging on the wall Cross" and "...in some cosmic isolation We think of as hell"....simply excellent. This is superb writing. Kudos! John

I Never Dream About My Brother (Poetry) - 6/2/2009 3:19:08 PM
I really enjoy free verse, and this was a fine example. I look forward to reading more of your work.

I Never Dream About My Brother (Poetry) - 6/2/2009 2:54:32 PM
Dad sounds like a man I would liked to have known. Mom reminds me of my mother. My two older brothers died within the past 12 years. I still get the urge to pick up the phone and call them. This is a a great poem, Lloyd, of a fascinating family. Another powerful Lofthouse creation. -gene.

I Never Dream About My Brother (Poetry) - 6/2/2009 1:58:34 PM
A heavy piece of family history. The honesty and the story are both brilliant. Thanks, Lloyd, for sharing this one.

Meltdown (Poetry) - 5/30/2009 8:57:27 PM
We will rediscover our need for closeness of community or face an increasingly dark and threatening future. Only by facing this, all of us, as you have in your poem do we have the slightest chance for a resurrection of hope. Run amok materialism and wildly self indulgent indiviualism have reached the end of the line. Yes, you're doing the job a poet, a prophet or seer must do.

Meltdown (Poetry) - 5/27/2009 7:01:51 PM
if god didn't exist mankind would find it necessary to create him, so he can forgive himself ... i would be interested in his reply ...

Meltdown (Poetry) - 5/27/2009 8:56:37 AM
Powerfully thought provoking, Lloyd. Sad when one loses their faith - but the ending gives me hope. Yes, He answers. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Meltdown (Poetry) - 5/27/2009 7:09:54 AM
You speak for many here and you speak it well. I too miss the family reunions etc. It seems that our identity could be easily found in our relationship to others, particularly familial relationships. We lost that to consumerism, and status, and hype, and individualism, which is a misnomer. If one small cluster pierces their lip or navel or eyebrow, soon millions more follow suit. Will we ever get back to what is important in the development of family, community, and shared responsibility? It is unlikely. With sadness, J'nia

Meltdown (Poetry) - 5/27/2009 4:12:01 AM
Hi Lloyd, A powerful write that defines the changes, and sadly so. Thank you for sharing... In Spirit, Bear

Meltdown (Poetry) - 5/26/2009 8:04:10 PM
Yes, times have changed a great deal, but memories like this one are there for us all...e

Meltdown (Poetry) - 5/26/2009 6:49:30 PM
So many changes in such a short period of time, still leaves my head spinning. I can remember some of those family gatherings but everyone is long gone now, only the memories that rewind over and over.... Be always safe, Karen

Meltdown (Poetry) - 5/26/2009 4:04:34 PM
Lloyd, This is the history of an entire culture swing and shift, a loss of essential fabrics, a falling apart at the seams of what we were and should have stayed. It's a marvellous poem, and I thank you for sharing it. John

Meltdown (Poetry) - 5/26/2009 3:35:36 PM
Wow!

Meltdown (Poetry) - 5/26/2009 1:40:53 PM
Another powerful Lofthouse write. Sadly, I can identify with a lot of this. Would that it were not so. -gene.

Underground (Poetry) - 5/22/2009 2:47:53 AM
Most warriors are more boy than man, boyhood lost forever in the dark caves of war. A truly compelling write.

Underground (Poetry) - 5/21/2009 11:45:46 PM
A well written piece,Great work,take care EDWIN

Underground (Poetry) - 5/20/2009 4:56:12 AM
Great writing sweet man..enjoyed very much...stay safe and well..Hugss

Underground (Poetry) - 5/20/2009 1:59:48 AM
"Undergraound" Complete and such vivid detail. Have heard not that I went on the "Tunnel Rat" tour but my husband has. Had the opportunity but that is one adventure regardless "once a Marine always a Marine" I just did not want to try! Regardless, I know this was not a tour by description instead reality and you have shared it from a bird's eye pov~Thanks! Sure my husband will know exactly what you are portraying after his 30 yr stint in MC <smile>. Take care, Gwendolyn

Underground (Poetry) - 5/19/2009 6:16:10 PM
War is hell, as you aptly pen here, Lloyd. Well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Underground (Poetry) - 5/19/2009 8:39:26 AM
The not so glamorous side that is usually not written about. You have many experiences for the world to read about. Excellent write. R

Underground (Poetry) - 5/19/2009 7:01:15 AM
Lloyd, this should become a classic of wartime memoirs. I find it difficult to think of anything more frightening than to be stuck in a wormhole. Aside: I was there for the invasion of Okinawa, on a navy DE a few miles offshore. It turned out to be the worst naval engagement in U.S. history. I was a baby at the time. -gene.

Underground (Poetry) - 5/19/2009 4:14:09 AM
well said

Underground (Poetry) - 5/18/2009 11:59:54 PM
The use of imagery and the detail in this are incredible. Your last three lines tore at my heart.

Irony Rules (Poetry) - 5/18/2009 7:43:50 PM
His appearance is a protest To a fast moving world Powered by MasterCard and Vis You make and apt, timely and powerful social statement via your verses here, Lloyd. Harsh but real and true. Love and peace, Regis

Disposal Time (Poetry) - 5/18/2009 7:42:21 PM
You certainly do bring back memories, Lloyd. Well done. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

Underground (Poetry) - 5/18/2009 6:19:02 PM
Lloyd, This is splendid in detail, tension, imagery and language, I was hooked from start to finish; I've never been to war and it's through such well expressed and vivid telling that its dangers and indeed horrors come home to me. Thank you so much for this. John

Underground (Poetry) - 5/18/2009 5:24:27 PM
You have very effectively shared what truly must have been a most fearsome experience. Thank you, Lloy. Love and peace, Regis

Disposal Time (Poetry) - 5/14/2009 11:58:33 AM
What was good as a kid is delightful innocence. Well done. R

Old Friends (Poetry) - 5/9/2009 9:16:05 PM
Exactly. A mountaintop with only one way in, surrounded by concertina wire, protecting the last safe, sane, beautiful place on earth. And a cat.

Gun Control (Poetry) - 5/9/2009 9:11:54 PM
And in the city near where I live, they have just recorded the number of homicides is just shy of one from the whole last year. We're five months in. It's too late. It's just too damn late. It isn't only homicide, it's fratracide. And the council is worried about the city incinerator, not increasing the police force. You are SPOT ON. Do not change one word.

Disposal Time (Poetry) - 5/4/2009 6:10:51 PM
The days when life was good.... Be always safe, Karen

Disposal Time (Poetry) - 5/3/2009 3:55:30 PM
Lloyd, This explodes with life, the details and images so right; many great lines here but my favourite is, "Like boiled acid around a hunk of lead." Vivid and excellent! John

Disposal Time (Poetry) - 5/3/2009 12:05:47 PM
This is great, Lloyd, and reminds me of similar incidents from my boyhood days of hunting for empties--always a treasure find--to keep me and my cousin in chili dogs and pop and Saturday morning movies. -gene.

Irony Rules (Poetry) - 5/3/2009 4:05:47 AM
A well written poem,take care Edwin

Irony Rules (Poetry) - 5/2/2009 11:42:10 PM
Lloyd, Yours is always a strong, true voice speaking as it sees and caring as all of us ought, but don't, unfortunately. There's a sense of betrayal in this, we've led by bad example and it may be too late to turn and "for water to turn into wine." We are as societies and as a species quickly falling apart. John

Irony Rules (Poetry) - 5/2/2009 6:47:02 PM
There's much you've said here Lloyd. The devil never sleeps and our young ones are his favorite prey. Bless the boy you write about that he may see the true light and change his ways before he becomes just one of those cardboard signs on a street lamp post, or worse.

Old Friends (Poetry) - 5/1/2009 6:32:33 AM
Lloyd interesting facts presented enjoyed your "Old Friends" presentation, great dialogue. Perhpas the latter does not sound so bad come to think of it, smile. All the best, Gwendolyn

Exhaustion (Poetry) - 4/29/2009 12:06:05 PM
Geez, I can only dream of taking vacations such as the ones you mention. Love the sarcasm, how very true.... Be always safe, Karen

Exhaustion (Poetry) - 4/28/2009 5:34:49 PM
Lloyd, Borrowed money, borrowed time, ant and grasshopper, you say it so well; I think Oscar Wilde was right, I'll have to die beyond my means, and it looks like the rest of us will, too, if we continue with this madness. John

Exhaustion (Poetry) - 4/28/2009 3:36:13 PM
NOT MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE...Hugssss

Exhaustion (Poetry) - 4/27/2009 6:02:17 PM
If thats fun for you, you can HAVE it...glad i have no more credit as if I haven't the money to buy something, I don't get it...Ed

Pain Free (Poetry) - 4/12/2009 7:46:40 AM
Good for you. Think I'll try it as our prescription cabinet hold so many drugs at a cost of about $1,000.00 per month. In this case vegan=new shoes. I like that. Thanks for sharing. J'nia

Pain Free (Poetry) - 4/10/2009 3:00:12 AM
You almost make me want to try it. I could use even a few painfree days in my life. Maybe I'll give it another go with more success this time. Bobbi

Pain Free (Poetry) - 4/9/2009 2:24:35 PM
Excellent writing dear man...keep smiling OK...Hugsss

Pain Free (Poetry) - 4/8/2009 4:31:55 PM
Excellent, Lloyd, problem is, to be healthy, it's expensive, can ill afford (pun intended) to eat Vegan. Need to, though - maybe I'd feel better. The powers that be have priced good for you foods, natural foods, out of poor people's budgets. Sad, isn't it? (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Pain Free (Poetry) - 4/8/2009 3:50:43 PM
Lloyd, I'm glad you're in the club...not that I'm vegan but I don't take medication, only herbals, and the aches and pains have eased a little. Way to go! John

Pain Free (Poetry) - 4/8/2009 2:51:54 PM
Good for you, Lloyd. I promised myself that when (if) I reached my age I would indulge myself again in scotch (or brandy) and good cigars if I could afford them. -gene.

Pain Free (Poetry) - 4/8/2009 2:28:18 PM
If it makes you better for it then I say go for it, interesting piece.... Be always safe, Karen

Pain Free (Poetry) - 4/8/2009 1:14:57 PM
I like it :) Good job - Great message

Shopping (Poetry) - 4/7/2009 11:34:55 PM
You do bring out many valid points, perhaps it is the "American" way??? Be always safe, Karen

Shopping (Poetry) - 4/7/2009 5:04:39 PM
Lloyd, Great take and point of view, stunning opening line grabs the reader and holds, and you're so right about the exercise, more demanding than walking around a gallery, that's for sure. John

Shopping (Poetry) - 4/7/2009 4:28:08 PM
Lloyd, I identify with Karla on this one..no money for shopping. I am on a very fixed income. I just do the best I can. Enjoyed this, Lloyd. Many blessings, ~Linda

Shopping (Poetry) - 4/7/2009 3:51:13 PM
Lloyd, Why I window shop: free. Can't afford anything, no way. Sad. But people go NUTZ when there's a sale. Not me - like to get out and watch 'em. Squirrels. LOL (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Shopping (Poetry) - 4/7/2009 3:01:40 PM
Lloyd, How true, and I loved that last line! Nowadays, that's the only thing many of us can do. Mary

Shopping (Poetry) - 4/7/2009 1:17:21 PM
This one caught my attention because I too have spurts of Shopping Fever...sort of like an alcoholic on a binge!! Thing is...I've learned to almost kick the habit...and like you...I too walk miles of concrete when I visit Sam's or Wal-Mart, or Home Depot ... and Dillard's... I comb thru every aisle too, don't want to miss a thing, and ponder...but but it's becoming amazing to me that I can do all that walking, and leave without spending a dime...most times! Great writing as always... this one was light Lloyd.. nice and fun! hugs, lindalaw

Old Friends (Poetry) - 4/7/2009 8:20:43 AM
Lloyd, you should have kept quiet about that cave, or else you gonna have the six billion with you, but then who knows where it is, it could be anywhere, your clue, ancient trees don't excist no more, another legacy of Mr. Bushler, especially in this country. Blessings! Jasmin Horst

Old Friends (Poetry) - 4/7/2009 7:14:24 AM
uh... democracy! what good has it done for us? And we want to inflict it upon others! And Bush? There will be an extremely loud cheer coming in from the North when he is convicted and sentenced to hang for war crimes. You make some good points here in this 50 year debate between you and your friend. The fact that you are still friends suggests that there is hope for humanity after all. Our Dog, we never leave home without him. Cheers, J'nia

Old Friends (Poetry) - 4/7/2009 5:51:00 AM
Our future is our children, Obama said. If that is so, why are we killing them? Abuse; abortion; doesn't matter - we're killing our hopes for the future! That being said, this poem raises many questions. Do we need more in Texas? Enough here, already. Believe me, I know: the NorthCentral part of the state is growing faster than can be kept up with. I want to move OUT. Sorry I couldn't effectively review your poem - it's good, but raises too much controversy - half will agree with you, half with your friend - no one wins, I don't think. :( (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Old Friends (Poetry) - 4/7/2009 5:12:02 AM
I'm gonna take along a few dogs when I head for my cave. When you first met your friend more than 50 years ago, there were only about 2.5 billion people on Earth; today, there are over 6 billion, and many predict we will soon have 10 billion. Texas may be big, but the entire planet probably won't be able to provide enough food and fresh water for that many. As for Bush, I truly hope he goes down in history as the very worst President we've ever had - an Iraq invasion based on lies, the horrendous Katrina Fiasco, and that guy bin Laden, who he never even went after, and who is still out there - laughing at us, today.

Old Friends (Poetry) - 4/6/2009 6:46:40 PM
Lloyd, what's a cave without a book of verse? Maybe the best way to win the argument with your friend is to write your way out of it. Maybe you did. -gene.

Old Friends (Poetry) - 4/6/2009 5:31:55 PM
In a way you both bring out very valid points yet as long as we allow illegals into this country we are all in danger, but we let them in to make up for the abortions because we lack the work force with each new year that passes. Give it some time and you will see that George W. Bush will go down in history as one of the best presidents for the simple reason there was never another blind attack on our soil under his watch. As for living next to Islamic extremists, we already are, you friends arguement is a valid one. Hope you forgive me for speaking out. Be always safe, Karen

Old Friends (Poetry) - 4/6/2009 5:26:11 PM
Lloyd, Is there room for me, too, in that cave? Please say yes. How well I can identify with this and yet I try and tell myself I shouldn't be disappointed with the world, I don't have that right...but I can't help it. Once again, your voice is strong and worthwhile. John

About Spring (Poetry) - 4/6/2009 7:09:09 AM
You have written some fabulous lines here. Enriching and a joy to read. Blessings, J'nia

About Spring (Poetry) - 4/5/2009 8:15:31 PM
festive and well written ...

About Spring (Poetry) - 4/4/2009 4:16:06 PM
Lloyd, Beautifully observed, full of rich images and full of hope and promise; for me, the third stanza is excellent, "...dressing again for summer romances." That is splendid. John

About Spring (Poetry) - 4/4/2009 11:30:46 AM
In your well-chosen words, you articulate beautifully Spring in the west. Happily, the Spring you describe is universal. I can attest, as I look out my window, that Spring is in bloom in the east as well. -gene.

About Spring (Poetry) - 4/4/2009 11:14:26 AM
Such beauty in your words of Spring - well done, Lloyd, a peaceful place to be, this write - (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

About Spring (Poetry) - 4/4/2009 10:15:05 AM
Beautiful write and how much I agree. I always feel so invigorated by nature and being outdoors and I love gardening for the reasons you describe. What a beautiful world we inhabit. Chanti

Words of Wisdom (Poetry) - 4/3/2009 7:55:48 PM
Lloyd, These words cut, especially towards the end, but they ring true, too true for most of us. John

Words of Wisdom (Poetry) - 4/3/2009 6:47:00 AM
A splendid little treatise on a few sources of manipulation. Excellent. Blessings, J'nia

Words of Wisdom (Poetry) - 4/2/2009 12:28:06 PM
Dear Lloyd, forgive yourself. -gene.

Words of Wisdom (Poetry) - 4/2/2009 11:10:43 AM
Why not exercise together, its good for what ails ya, as well as it can strengthen relationships...ed

In All Probability-- (Poetry) - 4/1/2009 2:03:53 AM
An excellent poem,I enjoy reading it,take care Edwin

In All Probability-- (Poetry) - 3/30/2009 1:50:59 PM
Great writing..well done indeed...Hugss

In All Probability-- (Poetry) - 3/29/2009 5:15:24 PM
Lloyd, That virus couldn't have been more wrong! Great exploration (in a quiet calm voice and tone) of 'the dream' and the constant reality, the cold truth that no one in the end owes us a living, a career or an identity. It's good to see you back posting poetry, I missed you. John

In All Probability-- (Poetry) - 3/29/2009 4:45:39 PM
You tell quite the tale, Lloyd, one thing for sure, your life hasn't been dull. You're right - have better odds getting struck by lightning than getting rich - since I've been indirectly hit, does that mean I'll win the lottery?!? Sigh ... got to have money to play. Well penned, Lloyd. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

In All Probability-- (Poetry) - 3/29/2009 1:47:20 PM
Yes, it's a crap shoot "they" say. My aim in life was never to be one of "Them." I'm glad you survived and tell it as it is. Use to tell my kids they could be anything they wanted to be if they worked hard enough at it. They are in their 30's now and probably have about 40 years left in which to accomplish the task. I never said how long it would take. oops! I enjoyed this poem; said a lot in a few pristine lines. Cheers, J'nia

The Iceman (Poetry) - 3/29/2009 10:41:01 AM
Love this one, Lloyd. Alone in that snow, while blue and rose fade into the night sky--whew! Gorgeous. Never learned to ski, but did this a lot with my sled in childhood, long after everyone else was gone.

In All Probability-- (Poetry) - 3/29/2009 10:38:26 AM
Yes, fantasy land as we know it. The last line says it all.

In All Probability-- (Poetry) - 3/29/2009 8:38:15 AM
Ah the lottery of life is ongoing, if we live we win, if we get lead poisoning from having pencils up our nose, well we then...ed

In All Probability-- (Poetry) - 3/29/2009 8:09:19 AM
Interesting write of how life never quite turns out the way you think. Also, the importance of education. No, most don't win lottery tickets fortunately. Mary

In All Probability-- (Poetry) - 3/29/2009 7:54:04 AM
Yes, of course, to the Sinatra question. He said he hated My Way, but it made him a ton of money. Trying to grow up to be somebody ain't easy, unless you're somebody to start with. Happily for you, and us, that virus was wrong. -gene.

Unsung Words (Poetry) - 3/21/2009 8:27:51 AM
Good job you do on writing. I love to read your poetry. They make great sense and are helpful to me too. Always be true to yourself and you will succeed.

The Iceman (Poetry) - 3/21/2009 8:26:17 AM
I have never experienced downhill skiing, but have a friend who teaches it and loves it. She is 57 and ski's terrifically. Keeps in shape doing it. Your poem expresses very well the feelings one ges while downhill skiing. It looks like you keep in shape too by doing it.

Serenity (Poetry) - 3/20/2009 7:08:48 AM
Awe... a sense of awe resounding deep within my marrow. Enjoyed this immensely. Blessings, J'nia

Unsung Words (Poetry) - 3/19/2009 8:25:04 AM
What a remarkable journey through life. Well penned. Blessings, J'nia

The Iceman (Poetry) - 3/19/2009 8:20:45 AM
Exciting, you captured my imagination and I thrilled along side you. Thank you. Blessings, J'nia

Dance Floor Lust (Poetry) - 2/28/2009 7:58:26 AM
Beautiful, powerful and terrible. So much Evil done in the name of God. Darkness will manifest itself, no matter how strongly you deny it.

Devil's Advocate (Poetry) - 2/28/2009 7:53:33 AM
It's hard to stick your head up--and suffer the consequences of a cross burned on your lawn, but you are right, of course. Bravely written! Our Founders were quite a bunch of far-seeing fellas--all that Locke mixed with Hume and flavored with Hobbes got us quite a country.

The Iceman (Poetry) - 2/25/2009 2:37:10 AM
Great poem,take care Edwin

The Iceman (Poetry) - 2/24/2009 5:30:18 PM
Although I do not ski, I can appreciate this sharp perspective that you have provided via your verses here, Lloyd. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

The Iceman (Poetry) - 2/24/2009 5:06:47 PM
Lloyd, Throughout this sharp focused telling the man becomes adventurer, soldier ("navy watch cap") warrior and iconic hero - a well conceived extended metaphor for doing and bravery, and the end hugely ironic in the context, so easily we forget those who go beyond the call of duty. John

The Iceman (Poetry) - 2/24/2009 8:28:42 AM
An exhilarating write, Lloyd. My few attempts at skiing (back in the olden days when I was alive, to quote my daughter) were like fun (though I didn't know what the hell I was doing) until I uprooted a tree and wrapped myself around a fence. If I were to venture to ski country today, I'd be the guy in the soft chair next to the fireplace, sipping on something warm but not too stimulating. -gene.

The Iceman (Poetry) - 2/24/2009 5:40:31 AM
Have I known the thrills of downhill skiing? You betcha. Many moons ago ... sigh. You bring it all back in crisp, vivid lines - well done, Lloyd. I once was one of those fools. And I'd do it again, if my body would let me. :) (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

The Iceman (Poetry) - 2/24/2009 4:51:04 AM
A snap shot of life in the frozen arctic that is only for brave souls to penetrate and live to describe it. Skiing is an exhilarating sport.

Devil's Advocate (Poetry) - 2/23/2009 8:10:51 PM
You've been on an anger kick lately. Lloyd. I like the way you do it. But sadly the tyranny of public opinion has been with us forever. The only way to get around it is to ignore it--if you can. -gene.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.