AuthorsDen.com  Join | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Jansen Estrup, iGracie McKeever, iSu Boddie, iRegis Schilken, iJohn Herlihy, iBob Meade, iSam Vaknin, i
 
Home > Jacamo Peterson
 

Recent Reviews for Jacamo Peterson


A Hard Place:A Sergeants Tale,Revised Edition (Book) - 8/5/2012 3:27:05 PM
I have to admit that when reading books, I am usually lucky enough to find at least one overlooked typo someplace in the book. In Jacamo Peterson's book, A Hard Place, I found my first one only a couple of pages into the book and then continued to find additional errors as I continued to read. They appeared randomly and seemed deliberate, as if they were intended to be in the script so I accepted that and moved on. The story, itself, was a wonderful read! On a few nights, I found myself staying up late into the to see how this group of soldiers were going to get out of the pickle they found themselves in. It was gritty, very descriptive and made me feel like I was right there with the author and his team. Halfway through the book, I chose to visit the review section on Amazon - something I did not do before purchasing the book. The description was enough to draw me in. It was disappointing to see so many reviews criticize the author and challenge the authenticity of many things in the book, including the typos and grammar errors. I soon came to a post by the author himself who wrote to address those critics. The book was a fictional Vietnam War story and the errors within the book were there on purpose. I thought he gave a good rebuttal, it also allowed me to look at this novel in a different perspective. The story was still an adventure and could not have been told this way without the author having been in Vietnam himself. Too many things happened during the story or were said in dialogue that could not have been conjured up by a lay person. Were many of the experiences in the story realistic? Hell yes! Did they really happen? Who cares, it was a great read and that's why the author classified it as fiction! When I returned to A Hard Place, I often found myself chuckling when encountering the typo's and grammar errors, it added a new flair to the story and made it more enjoyable than it already was. John Podlaski Author, Cherries - A Vietnam War Novel

A Hard Place:A Sergeants Tale,Revised Edition (Book) - 8/3/2012 2:24:27 PM
Well! After a lot of input from readers which ran very favorable in the majority, and after Amazon deleting 4 of my five star revues for no apparent reason. I have republished the book with Createspace as an extended version in large print. I believe it to be an excellent war story, and it is based on my last tour in Vietnam. I did three total. I also wish to note that some of the detractors of the story are obviously 'ONE TOUR WONDERS" "WANNABES" or people who were not there at all! Some folks just didn't like the book, I have no problem with that. There are many books which I just do not like. "A Hard Place" is a war story about Vietnam and should be read as such. Enjoy the action and the characters, it is not a poltical diatribe nor an after action report. All that from a retired Senior NCO who was there!

Blademaster of Norda (Book) - 4/6/2012 10:41:40 PM
As I read, I felt like I was actually watching this all occur on a screen!! Great work!!

Archaeology 501/The Field Trip (Book) - 7/5/2010 4:04:09 PM
By ellen "ellen in atlanta" (Atlanta, Georgia USA) (TOP 1000 REVIEWER) (VINE VOICE) This review is from: Archaeology 501: The Field Trip (Paperback) Snakes? I don't like snakes. Well, I agree with Indiana Jones. If you didn't like them before, you'll cross a street to avoid even a twig that resembles one! Jacamo Peterson is an amazing author. He is a Vietnam War vet and wrote most eloquently about it in A Hard Place, and he wrote The Blademaster of Norda, which is an amazing swords and sorcery book that is both exciting and fast paced. THEN here comes Archaeology 501!!! Dr. Johaness Petermann is given a great opportunity to take a group of grad students to Cambodia to explore an ancient temple. On the way in the bush, they come across some pretty funky wildlife...but the horror show strikes when they encounter spiders and then poisonous giant cobras!! That's not the worse thing! There is this humongous weird looking possumy looking thingy that the snakes perhaps are guarding!! It's a race to see who will win - or at least get out alive - the students or the animals! It is a very intense book that only a master of the written word like Jacamo Peterson could pull off. It reminded me of The Tourists - I think that is the name of the book that was turned into a movie where two couples go up a forbidden mountain and are not allowed to return down by natives and military. Something is killing them off. Jacamo Peterson's book is fast paced, and more intense than I can put into words. I plan on rereading it after I calm down from the first read. The characters are well rounded and the location is well known to Peterson. Perhaps some Agent Orange mutated the animals and are attacking anything foreign that comes into the area? I don't know - just know I looked under my bed for snakes when I finished the book. Just in case... A wild, excellent ride.

Blademaster of Norda (Book) - 9/9/2009 3:29:45 PM
I come to AD every day and check on my works and the works of others I really like this site. In doing all that I have forgoten to update my own comments. Blademaster of Norda is now published by iUniverse in paperback, Kindle and hardback versions. I have now begun laying out the storyline for the sequel(unamed as of yet) I have begun writing the prequel to A Hard Place it is Vietnam circa 1966. I have completed the first draft of a horror story entitled Archeology 501-The Field Trip about an archeological dig in SE Asia gone really bad!(snakes and monsters).I hope that you will check out my two published works, I believe them to be good reading. I will be publishing more in the near future. :-) Jacamo

Blademaster of Norda (Kindle Edition,Revised) (Book) - 4/7/2009 7:27:21 PM
I have posted the updated revised edition,both of the text and the cover art.I believe that it reads better,which makes it a more exciting Saga about Warrior Knights and the battle to save mankind from the Dark Lord and his Dragons.

A Hard Place (A Sergeants Tale) Revised (Kindle) (Book) - 9/1/2008 11:28:11 AM
This book has given me great insite into the realities of what these soldiers went through. I can honestly say I have read this many times and still am amazed! He manages to capture the way they talked and acted then in a way that you can see in your mind the people as though they are still here. I would recommend it to anyone who has a friend or family member who participated in this war. It is written from someone who was on the ground fighting not from the men in charge. It is written in a way that you can feel, hear and even smell what it was like to be there! I hope someone turns it into a movie!!!!

A Hard Place (A Sergeants Tale) Revised (Kindle) (Book) - 8/26/2008 1:20:22 PM
I wrote this book to honor the service and sacrifice of all Vietnam Veterans,and yes that includes me! To all members of all the Armed Forces who were there,whether Volunteer or Draftee, who served with Honor and Distinction this book is dedicated to you. Let us never forget our fallen and lost Brothers. Our cause was just,Our Service was Honorable.We did not lose the Vietnam War,we were pulled from the field.

A Hard Place (A Sergeants Tale) Revised (Kindle) (Book) - 8/25/2008 6:31:58 PM
Raw, gritty and as real as it gets. "A Hard Place" is a first person view of Sergeant Peterson's third tour in Vietnam, at the tail-end of the war. It tells how Peterson led his small special operations unit through over a year of hunting down North Vietnamese Colonel Tranh, a particularly sadistic-minded terrorist and killer. The Sergeant is a hard-boiled, honorable, caring, tough-as-nails, lead-from-the-front badass. He takes his men on hair-raising patrols, sets up ambushes, comes under plenty of fire, works the army system, and even has some fun. And we get to experience it first-hand: hoping he makes it, cheering him on through the slogs through the jungle to find Tranh, smelling his ham and eggs C rations, tensing up when his convoy crests the hill, mourning the deaths of his men. "A Hard Place" is intense, direct, and unvarnished. It's filled with Peterson's overwhelming interpretation of what honor, comradeship, and courage under fire is like. If you want to experience life in the Vietnam war, told from the viewpoint of an NCO on the ground, this is the book for you. You'll gain a whole new perspective on (and a new level of respect for) what it means to serve your country... I know I did.

Blademaster of Norda (Revised) (Short Story) - 10/5/2008 6:54:18 PM
jacamo: this is a nice setup for the book... your battle knowledge shows. i liked the image of greyhawk slipping on the gore and coming up laughing.

Blademaster of Norda (Revised) (Short Story) - 10/5/2008 9:32:59 AM
Awesome so far. The characters are interesting and the plot is forming nicely. I can't wait to see how the story unravels.

Blademaster of Norda (Revised) (Short Story) - 9/30/2008 3:36:48 PM
Jacamo!! Excellent! You will have a lot of folks into Swords and Sorcery, epic stories of the struggle of good vs evil, etc., waiting to buy the book, my friend! Your talents are varied - thanks for sharing them! ellen george

Blademaster of Norda (Revised) (Short Story) - 9/20/2008 6:57:06 PM
Chapter 1 of Blademaster of Norda is an entertaining start to Jacamo Peterson's latest book. The author's military background shines brightly as he deftly describes the battlefield and the tactics of two forces engaged in a nighttime melee in a dark and foreboding forest. I look forward to reading future chapters to learn the fate and fortunes of the young king and his stalwart knight captain. glenn g. thater Author of Harbinger of Doom http://www.authorsden.com/glenngthater

Blademaster of Norda (Revised) (Short Story) - 9/12/2008 4:48:46 PM
The complete book "Blademaster of Norda" is finished,but not published. I'm looking for the best way I can find to get the book in front of the reading public.This chapter only introduces the main character Greyhawk and starts him on the road to his confrontation with the Dark Lord, Lucifer. Many battles are yet to be fought,long perilous journeys made, and other exciting adventures await. Jacamo Peterson

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.