AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Tony Lambert, iTiffany Turner, iChynna Laird, iJean-Pierre Gregoire, ijude forese, iJoan Hovey, iChidi Asika-Enahoro, i
 
Home > Dai Wilde
 

Recent Reviews for Dai Wilde


ONE DAY IN APRIL: an Irish lullaby (Book) - 4/11/2010 2:39:49 PM
One Day in April : An Irish Lullaby (Amazon Reviews) Possibly a classic? by Geoffrey Barrett (Amazon user published 2004-06-25 ) This book is definitely not an easy read, but it is short. Indeed, I cannot say that I have quite finished it myself. Yet, it certainly receives five stars for its originality. It is one of a kind. While entitled "One Day in April," it actually spans an undeterminable (or maybe I just haven't determined...) This book is definitely not an easy read, but it is short. Indeed, I cannot say that I have quite finished it myself. Yet, it certainly receives five stars for its originality. It is one of a kind. While entitled "One Day in April," it actually spans an undeterminable (or maybe I just haven't determined it) period of time. The book is littered with the self-reflections of the omnipotent narrator (the author? a supreme higher being? who knows?). Here is an example: "Meanwhile, in an interlude, in the hinterland of Albuquerque, at a local Cafe, the consumate question of purpose, came to bear on why a novel should ever be written, or why he, the novelist should write at all, especially here." is this joyce? many would argue no. But, like much of joyce's work, this one begs for explanation. The quote in the dedication really sums up the experience one feels while reading this book: "A word is not like a butterfly you can stick with a pin on a board." It is written by David Wilde, the author of the eclectic biography, "the Life and Times of EC Zeke Cortez." For those with a taste for something different and willing to take a chance. Sun, 04/11/2010 - 3:03pm

Hurricane Katrina: A Disaster Relief Volunteer’s Perspective (Short Story) - 6/9/2008 3:09:12 PM
Chuck McCoy posted 3/14/07 . 12:45 PM MST As a fellow worker in the disaster relief effort in New Orleans I feel David has captured the exhaustion, frustration and helplessness experienced by most of us involved there. However, he only mentions the cleanup or "gutting out" portion of the work taking place. He was also involved in rebuilding several houses and constructing new houses. His efforts as he worked with Crossroads Missions are greatly appreciated by the CR Staff and the people who are now living in those houses. Please encourage the "Wilde One" to use his writing talents to share more of his experiences with your readers. Chuck McCoy, a volunteer with CrossroadsMissions.com Katrina relief volunteers fatigued on a daily basis C:\Documents and Settings\gpsa user\My Documents\Hurrican Katrina (log).mht

Black Innocence: the Immigrant (Article) - 6/11/2008 3:55:26 PM
"you are quite mad or a genius in the wilde" Lawrence Ferlinghetti 1993

The Explosion (Poetry) - 6/11/2008 2:20:35 PM
I wanted to thank everyone in the Spanish/Portuguese Department at University of new Mexico for such a touching and deeply felt response to my recent crises at UNMH, especially the contributions which will save me from a fate worse than it might otherwise have been on emergence from the institution. Also I was overwhelmed by the site of so many friends and colleagues who kept up my spirits with flowers and words of sympathy with their visits to my room on the 7th floor. I hope this short message says what I have found to be almost too big to put into mere words and that, perhaps the poetry will somehow convey. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. David

Ballad of Jean-Marie (Poetry) - 6/11/2008 1:33:45 PM
5.36 friday june, 2002... Todd E Eddy, a review Thu, 20 Jun 2002 14:22:52 -0600 "To say Wilde writes in a "unique style" would undermine the talent and gift he has to offer. The challenge is not for him to simply tell a tale, but the willingness of the reader to bend their own rules of convention. To open their minds to a more expansive world of words and literature: Existential, Post-Modern, Beat. These are all to narrow a description. To put plainly, Wilde is to wild to lasso and brand. There is no corral big enough to contain his work. He is a different breed of writer."

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.