AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
USA Independence Day
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Alexander Goldstein, iPamela Ackerson, iSheri Hoff, iValerie publisher@nightengalepress.com, iJeff Mason, iB. B. Riefner, iR.E.E.S Blogs Linda Smith, Publisher, i
 
Home > Cristina Kessler
 

Recent Reviews for Cristina Kessler


No Condition Is Permanent (Book) - 7/18/2010 2:56:38 AM
I know the issues in a world gone mad are personified in Sierra Leone on microcosm. There are those there who have looked into the face of evil and not blinked. I know this because my friend Mariatu is from there and is one of those amazingly special individuals who survived the terrible civil war, though not without personal loss and mind numbing memories of the atrocities inflicted on her and her loved ones there. I learn about how to be a better human from her. I am proud to call Mariatu from Sierra Leone my friend.

My Great-Grandmother's Gourd (Book) - 2/3/2010 10:39:28 AM
I LOVE THIS STORY

All the King's Animals (Book) - 7/6/2009 8:24:33 PM
a really interesting read for children. -- DragonCub ~ Online bookstore Sell and buy books http://www.DragonCub.com/books

Trouble in Timbuktu (Book) - 7/1/2009 3:19:14 AM
Looks like a great story.

No Condition Is Permanent (Book) - 6/30/2009 7:03:21 PM
Your review is interesting, i believe that you are a great writer, and I am glad that you are followiing your dreams. Thanks for your love for the third world countries and your humaniterian work.

My Great-Grandmother's Gourd (Book) - 5/5/2008 10:27:46 PM
I true and wonderful story. I knew Cristine Kessler during the time she was inspired to write this story. Cristine actually did investigative work as she always does and spent time in the area where the baobab trees are located and Fatima (of which real name may be concealled. That why I love her books because I know there are factual elements and not here say in her books.

Our Secret, Siri Aang (Book) - 11/26/2004 5:31:49 AM
School Library Journal Gr 4-8-While gathering firewood in the bush, 12-year-old Namelok stumbles upon a pregnant rhino and watches her give birth. She names the baby Siri Aang ("Our Secret"), vowing to keep the animals' existence hidden. Times are changing for her Maasai community, and her father has moved the family to a new home with better grazing and water for his cattle, near a Kenyan national park where tourists and a store offer new opportunities to earn money and to spend it. With the advent of Namelok's monthly period, it is time for her to stop wandering freely to visit the animals and to prepare for the circumcision ceremony that signifies her entrance into womanhood. Although she is reluctantly prepared to go along with this, she also wants to attend school and keep up her contact with the rhinos. When the mother is killed by poachers, Namelok tracks the baby through the bush for days, eating little but berries and tree bark, and encountering a lion. She is a curious and courageous character, caught between the values of a nomadic culture and a more sedentary modern society. Because of the wealth of descriptive detail, readers will easily envision the Kenyan landscape and be caught up in the suspense of this intriguing survival story. The cultural dilemmas of the Maasai should stimulate discussion. While the small rhino's story ends happily, youngsters can only hope that Namelok and her family can negotiate the changes in their lives as successfully.-Kathleen Isaacs, Edmund Burke School, Washington, DC Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.

Our Secret, Siri Aang (Book) - 9/28/2004 2:14:37 PM
(((cristina))) sopai. :) i have been interested in maasai culture for many years; and have wanted to travel to kenya and tanzania. this book sounds like it would be a grand introduction into east africa and the maasai culture. sounds like a fascinating book, one that i would love to read. ashe oleng. :) *that is all the maa i know LOL* (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :)

Our Secret, Siri Aang (Book) - 9/28/2004 9:10:22 AM
Sounds like a book I really could enjoy! I love reading about the Maasai culture~!

No Condition Is Permanent (Book) - 9/28/2004 6:46:26 AM
Although I was criticized for using Krio I would write it exactly the same way if I had to do it again. I wanted to take my reader to Africa rather than take Africa to my reader. Also, the topic is important for kids as American classrooms become more diverse every year with kids from other countries. I hope that this book will encourage my readers to offer a hand in friendship to these kids that could be reeling from culture shock as new students in America. Some may even be facing circumcision, for although they have left their homeland their parents have most likely brought their traditional customs with them.

Great Gobs of Green Goober (Article) - 1/25/2008 8:40:43 PM
Hello from Africa. A nice piece. It seems like when one spends enough time in the African bush strange things can happen - especially with elephants around! Willie

Great Gobs of Green Goober (Article) - 7/2/2006 5:20:17 PM
Hello Christina, that must be a bogenvalia bush in the background of your picture? I have been to Johanisburg and to Sun City etc. Love y our story.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.