AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
Happy 4th of July!
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Owen Thomas, iC.G. Richardson, iJames Steffes, iArthur Jackson, iJennifer Miller, iJ.S. Bradford, iMark Seltman, i
 
Home > Glenda A Bixler
 

Recent Reviews for Glenda A Bixler


The Custodian Cared... (Short Story) - 10/8/2008 1:08:07 AM
Amazing how romance can blossom when least expected. Nice write! Sheila

The Custodian Cared... (Short Story) - 9/24/2008 8:08:31 PM
enjoyed the read

Considered Writing A Diary? Want Your Children to Write? (Article) - 7/25/2009 7:53:15 AM
Helena, I have to tell you that some of the entries in this book were...boring from a reader's standpoint...then I realized that for the individual writing, it may be the one thing that keeps them writing! Who knows how many Nathaniel Hawthornes started out with a diary! Thanks for your comments!

Considered Writing A Diary? Want Your Children to Write? (Article) - 7/16/2009 11:22:27 AM
This is a very interesting review, Glenda, and the question you pose at the end is thought-provoking. For a time, as a teenager, I also kept a diary, but I don't think I would want to share anything of what I wrote then with others - there was a lot of personal stuff in it. But I think writing a diary can be a wonderful way to get into writing and it can also be a good way to let off steam! Some diaries are marvellous things to read for lots of different reasons - take Anne Frank's diary, for example. Helena

Night Angel A Winner! (Article) - 7/6/2009 11:12:17 AM
I enjoyed reading this review, Glenda. Romance novels are not normally my cup of tea, but this one sounds like a romance with a difference. Thank you for the insight! Helena

Tuskegee Airmen - Add to Your Library! (Article) - 1/7/2009 5:55:47 PM
This is just the kind of book I love.

Consider Use of Words Rather Than Ratings (Article) - 12/23/2008 1:26:07 PM
Well done. I love reviews that talk to the point and make judgments because an author only learns from feedback and all authors need to learn. Thanks.

Consider Use of Words Rather Than Ratings (Article) - 12/23/2008 2:32:46 AM
well said

A Wow! for Peaceful Endings... (Article) - 11/9/2008 4:54:46 AM
Intriguing... --Charlie

Thoughts on Online Publishing Services (Article) - 10/13/2008 8:31:44 AM
Glenda, I can verify your article. There are some POD publishers out there who praise your work when you submit it, but after you've spent several hundred dollars on books for reviewers, agents etc. and they have sold overpriced copies to your friends and relatives, you are stuck with a long term contract, and absolutely no way to get a return on your hard work unless you have the money to advertise and promote it yourself. This is so, even when the publisher may not have charged you for the initial set up and printing of one or twoo books. Please pay attention if you are new to this end of the business. Research can save you a ton of money. As authors (writers) we all share an overpowering need to see our work in print; there are those out there who rely on this fact to separate you from your money. Dave R.

New A/D Author - Fred McKinley Writes Wonderful Novel! (Article) - 10/12/2008 2:43:35 AM
enjoyed the review

A Cure For Night Provides Great Drama! (Article) - 10/6/2008 12:49:52 PM
This is a book that certainly appeals to me. The concept is positively poetic. --Charlie

The American Skyscraper (Article) - 9/20/2008 1:41:42 PM
interesting read

The Clinton Diaries - Satirical Fiction (Article) - 9/10/2008 1:54:58 PM
I've heardof this book and have been meaning to read it. (meaning to is the operative word here) After reading Ms.Bixler's review, I've decided, I definitely need to read this. (especially after this last primary) Good job.

The Clinton Diaries - Satirical Fiction (Article) - 9/6/2008 5:09:09 PM
Thank you for sharing this informative book review, Glenda. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

Tuskegee Airman: The Biography of Charles E. McGee (Article) - 8/15/2008 8:08:54 PM
WOW! After renting the movie, "Tuskegee Airmen" about 20 times, my hubby bought it. He came from a military family. His father, a radio operator, was shot down twice over Germany. I know this book would make a great addition to his military book collection. Good stuff. --Charlie

The Secret of Lucianne Dove (Article) - 8/14/2008 11:51:33 AM
I can see I'm going to have to get a day-job. I always want to buy what you review. But honestly, this plot sounds delicious. --Charlie

Dear John - Not the Usual Kind! (Article) - 7/27/2008 10:12:33 PM
I've read a few of those letters before, in a book about John Adams, and his rival, Thomas Jefferson. This does indeed sound like a great read! --Charlie

Dear John - Not the Usual Kind! (Article) - 7/26/2008 11:51:02 AM
It sounds like an interesting read for us history boffs.

Thoughts on Online Publishing Services (Article) - 7/19/2008 7:20:01 PM
I'm just excited in general to have a "real" reviewer here at AD... so many times there are just personal comments here. Welcome aboard. I've looked at your reviews--appreciate what you do. --Charlie

Thoughts on Online Publishing Services (Article) - 7/14/2008 5:25:03 PM
You are an unusual person. I have never experienced an Editor/Reviewer that goes to such great lengths to help her clients. Thanks,

Greatness of Italian Music from Dante University Press! (Article) - 7/14/2008 5:16:24 PM
The Italian composers and vocalist have blessed us buy giving us a more beautiful world by stirring our emotions in an elevating way.

No Words (Poetry) - 1/13/2011 9:43:04 AM
As always beautiful writing from a beautiful woman..I certainly hope you are doing ok...sorry I haven't been in the den much..trying to deal with some family matters but I finally posted one last week well thats a start I guess I am really thinking on doing another book see what happens I guess..well please stay safe and well OK...Hugssss much love too you

Q&A (Poetry) - 12/16/2009 4:12:24 AM
Excellent work.

Aloneness Sets In... (Poetry) - 9/27/2009 12:29:03 AM
A wonderful write Glenda, vividly expressing how even in a crowd, we can still feel alone. Bravo! Blessings...Frances

Sharing Words (Poetry) - 9/27/2009 12:27:08 AM
Glenda, Words do possess the power to hurt or to heal. I enjoyed your view of the importance of words and how words add to our lives at different intervals along the way. Blessings...Frances

Three M & Ms... (Poetry) - 6/20/2009 12:35:15 AM
What a BLESSING! I am so glad YOU Adolfo's happily and inspired "BLESSED" Poem shared! I thouroughly enjoyed it! adn it's profound meaning! What a sweetie she is! A heavenly angel, that touched a soul deeply! Adolfo, your style of writing is truly admired! as the story began to unfold, you have a way with words! That's easily understood! WRITE ON! Purple Lady Passion, SHEExooo Love! Light! and PEACE!

Aloneness Sets In... (Poetry) - 6/20/2009 12:30:09 AM
This poem is precious and sad! Glenda THANK YOU for sharing it! WRITE ON! Purple Lady Passion, SHEExooo Love! Light! and PEACE!

Aloneness Sets In... (Poetry) - 5/26/2009 8:37:57 AM
Oh what a lovely tribute to a loved one. Thanks for sharing. Anna

Q&A (Poetry) - 5/26/2009 8:36:53 AM
I feel exactly the same way Glenda. Very nicely penned. The very fact that someone, anyone enjoys something I wrote is an amazing reward in itself. Anna

Aloneness Sets In... (Poetry) - 5/16/2009 12:33:14 PM
wonderful, if I wore a hat I would take it off to you.

Silence (Poetry) - 5/16/2009 12:26:43 PM
If you listen closely you will hear his voice and loneliness will flee forever. There is no loneliness when he dwells within.

Responsive Poetry... (Poetry) - 5/3/2009 11:28:59 AM
Beautiful. (both poems) Connie

Three M & Ms... (Poetry) - 5/3/2009 11:27:00 AM
I know I read this before, but must have been tired and didn't comment. I'm sure it soothed my own sleep that night. It's a lovely, love-filled poem. Connie

Aloneness Sets In... (Poetry) - 4/17/2009 4:49:34 AM
Wow..this is wonderful writing sweet lady..I hope you are doing ok..please stay safe and well..Hugss

Three M & Ms... (Poetry) - 4/16/2009 7:36:59 PM
L o v e . i t !!

Q&A (Poetry) - 4/16/2009 7:36:01 PM
Wise words, indeed!! I recently wrote a mini-essay in response to a request for "Why I write" pieces. When you get right down to it, I spent a lot of time and energy saying what you are saying, only in approximately 450 words too many. Still, like you, I relish the process and take pride in my placing my stamp. Not that I can help myself! Thank you for posting this, Glenda. Well-done!! :) Phyllis :)

Three M & Ms... (Poetry) - 4/9/2009 10:53:09 AM
Thank you for sharing this delightful write, Glenda. Love and best wishes, Regis

Aloneness Sets In... (Poetry) - 4/9/2009 10:52:14 AM
Thank you for sharing this, Glenda. I enjoyed it very much. Love and blessings, Regis

Q&A (Poetry) - 4/9/2009 10:50:58 AM
Thank you for sharing this, Glenda. Love and best wishes, Regis

Q&A (Poetry) - 4/6/2009 1:06:51 PM
Glenda, I suppose most of us write because we have too, and some with great skill, as you demonstrate here. -gene.

Q&A (Poetry) - 4/6/2009 5:52:21 AM
Awesome!

Q&A (Poetry) - 3/11/2009 5:27:44 AM
Excellent writing sweet lady..I sure have missed you ..hope things are going great for you..stay safe and well...Hugsss

Q&A (Poetry) - 2/9/2009 4:34:40 AM
That was a nice poem it really made you trhink in the beginning

Q&A (Poetry) - 1/2/2009 10:18:59 PM
There is that need, isn't there? --Charlie

Q&A (Poetry) - 12/23/2008 1:23:57 PM
Absolutely on the mark. Do any of us know why we labor so? It's enough to see the finished product and then go on to the next. Loved it. Thanks for sharing.

Three M & Ms... (Poetry) - 11/25/2008 8:05:48 AM
Sweet! I love little cookie-faced kids! --Charlie

I Too Built A Bridge (Poetry) - 11/6/2008 4:55:36 AM
Nice poem with a GREAT message! Dr D

Silence (Poetry) - 10/25/2008 4:54:45 PM
Lovely poem, Glenda. It's comforting.

Twelve Months (Poetry) - 10/17/2008 4:31:47 AM
I like the way you make words sound erotic in this poem. A wonderful write. Sheila

Sharing Words (Poetry) - 10/11/2008 1:23:52 AM
A thought provoking question for writers of all kinds. I write because I can't imagine not writing. Hugs to you:) Sheila

My Circumference (Poetry) - 10/10/2008 8:36:45 AM
I love that last stanza, the whole thing really but the last line...Wow! ;)

She Dances (Poetry) - 10/8/2008 2:43:35 PM
This poem is a dance of words. Beautifully written! CarolHawks

Swinging... (Poetry) - 10/8/2008 2:42:13 PM
I enjoyed this one....Swings are close to flying. Eli, my 31yr old challenged son ad I swing every weekend at the wooded park. CarolHawks

No Words (Poetry) - 10/8/2008 2:39:48 PM
Sometimes our eyes speak more than our mouths! Enjoyed reading this. CarolHawks

She Dances (Poetry) - 10/8/2008 1:01:48 AM
It's most difficult to describe action like this. You've done it beautifully. Well done! Sheila

Silence (Poetry) - 10/7/2008 2:01:33 AM
Excellent prose He does sustain us and A WHOLE LOT MORE! Rock

My Circumference (Poetry) - 10/5/2008 9:38:35 AM
Glanda, thank Adolph for this. I know nothing about driving a Mack Truck, but I think I know a little bit about the art of writing. And apparently Rudolph is good at both. -gene.

Twelve Months (Poetry) - 10/4/2008 11:58:10 AM
Lingering...awesome. Liz

My Circumference (Poetry) - 10/4/2008 11:55:42 AM
Awesome. Liz

My Circumference (Poetry) - 9/24/2008 12:12:00 PM
I admire those who can drive these huge trucks, Glenda. I appreciate Adolfo's point of view. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

Twelve Months (Poetry) - 9/24/2008 11:58:38 AM
Richard! How nice of you to dispute another reviewer...If interested, check out my blog, Reviewer Gets a Bad Review which discusses the various types of reviews that we might get for our work... But I am soooooooo happy that you commented using the word, honestly...for in the end, I feel that words shared honestly are far more worthy than any that evolve from feelings of dishonestry or hate! Had to laugh at the immaturity issue...guess I'd better not ever share my "BedBug Bites" poem! LOL Thanks for posting, cause I've now got somebody else to track...YOU!

Sharing Words (Poetry) - 9/23/2008 5:25:29 AM
You present this so well that it makes me believe that I'm doing something right. I know the feeling from a lifetime of sharing thughts and writing, and I agree with every line. Will be looking at other offerings of yours. - Bill

My Circumference (Poetry) - 9/22/2008 7:17:47 PM
Me? I'm a "Mater". People come on my road, but leave it quickly, it seems. I spend much of my time running up and down the same road--forwards, and then backwards at highspeed, trying--Trying to finally get things RIGHT! So it goes... everyone's life is a different journey. His sounds very lonely. I imagine it's hard to see the stars when you're in a big rig. Do they come with sun roofs? Because it they do, that might be the answer. How could anyone feel lonely on a road that stretches through infinity, while Eternity's winking down at you? At any rate, it was a pleasant ride. Thanks for the lift. --Charlie

Sharing Words (Poetry) - 9/18/2008 5:11:03 PM
I write to communicate with others; so that they can get to know me. I also often find the expression very therapeutic. Thank you, Glenda. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

Twelve Months (Poetry) - 9/13/2008 6:00:50 PM
Oh my,I love your words sweet lady..well done ....have a wonderful and safe evening...Hugss

Twelve Months (Poetry) - 9/13/2008 5:14:56 PM
Some love encounters can never be erased from one's memories. Thank you, Glenda. Love and best wishes, Regis

No Words (Poetry) - 9/13/2008 9:38:35 AM
this poem was very beautiful I really like it

Twelve Months (Poetry) - 9/9/2008 7:13:59 PM
I love that last word "rear"-- it has so many meanings, and it leaves the reader wondering at that-- conjuring all sorts of images not intended, but somehow related to the poem. --Charlie

Sharing Words (Poetry) - 9/9/2008 7:10:33 PM
The relationship between a reader and a writer is perhaps the most intimate there is-- they share things--have a mind connection that many a lover never do. --Charlie

Twelve Months (Poetry) - 9/9/2008 2:25:16 AM
good one

Twelve Months (Poetry) - 9/8/2008 6:31:41 PM
Well done. lindalaw

Twelve Months (Poetry) - 9/8/2008 5:41:06 PM
How sweetly endearing and gentle with wonderfully lingering thoughts... Be always safe, Karen

Sharing Words (Poetry) - 9/8/2008 8:17:54 AM
What I write is seen by thee Arranged the way I it aught to be To tell a tale or present some facts The words are guided by my acts To share a time of days gone by We feel that age and maybe cry Unable to return and change things then Accepting all that has been The past can make our hearts react But all words written should be exact To please myself is what I do Wishing it is the same for you To reveal the past is inspiring Where I do my reveling I share with all my heartfelt words So those gone by can still be heard

Sharing Words (Poetry) - 9/7/2008 5:34:54 PM
I often write for myself, but I also find sometimes that I "need" to have one particular reader in mind when I write. Either way I have to satisfy me first, which is true of course for any writer. Thanks, Glenda, for getting me to think about this. -gene.

Swinging... (Poetry) - 9/6/2008 5:20:54 PM
as i recall, there is a freefall feeling as you swing higher and higher...a reckless abandon...a momentary freedom from self and the world below. Thanks for this reminder, Glenda. -gene.

No Words (Poetry) - 9/4/2008 5:15:02 PM
You are right, Glenda. There are times when words are simply not enough. Nicely done. Thank you. Love and best wishes, Regis

Swinging... (Poetry) - 8/30/2008 5:22:13 PM
We used to have a boat swing when I was a child. Oh the hours spent sailing the seas over the ravine. Thank you for the great memories, Glenda. Love and best wishes, Regis

I Too Built A Bridge (Poetry) - 8/27/2008 7:30:44 PM
very thought provoking

Silence (Poetry) - 8/24/2008 11:15:01 AM
I agree silence is a must and we definitely don't get enough of it. Trying to get it almost seems like trying to drink eight glasses of water a day. You're lucky if you drink two glasses. There's a unique peace in silence that's calming. I think that people need to get off all these pills like prozac and start taking silence. At least you don't have to get a doctor to recommend it either. Besides its more than free. It's freedom!

No Words (Poetry) - 8/24/2008 11:08:46 AM
I give it two thumbs and two big toes up! I don't why I started thinking about baseball when you said,"At first I wondered, "who is this...Would give me such a pitch." Anyways you hit a homerun with this one!

Silence (Poetry) - 8/16/2008 5:47:13 PM
I loved this poem. It hit me right in the heart. I know what silence means to me. Sometimes it's good--others, not so good. But, good job with pouring your emotions into this. Pat

Swinging... (Poetry) - 8/16/2008 7:56:13 AM
Don't we all love swings? Something about them has a spiritual quality, especially in our memories of them... good write. lindalaw

Swinging... (Poetry) - 8/16/2008 7:52:23 AM
...seems to me I've read a poem that reminds me of this, in a book called something like "Out of Body Experiences"... I wish I could remember the exact title and author's name. I like the extra spaces in this poem-- that's for swinging out-- and then the clumped lines-- that's coming home. --Charlie

Silence (Poetry) - 8/15/2008 8:31:04 PM
...a peace-bringing song. --Charlie

Silence (Poetry) - 8/15/2008 6:19:58 PM
Sometimes I beg for silence also... and sometimes I have to force myself to be silent...not an easy task! This poem hit home to me.. thank you, lindalaw

Silence (Poetry) - 8/15/2008 1:40:37 PM
I agree with you. Silence can be very therapeutic. Thank you, Glenda. Love and best wishes, Regis

She Dances (Poetry) - 8/13/2008 10:09:44 PM
So many subtle sounds that make this work. "Slowly sensuously, her silver breast shimmies"... all those "s" sounds at work-- a sensual sound, yet snake like (just like her movements). Here's another line: "Wrists twisting, finger cymbals set the beat" inner-line sound-echoing, and again with the "s" sounds. And my favorite, "Veil flying free, as freely as she" That "ee" echoed over and over again, in "ing" and "free" and "freely" and "she". And the "f" alliterating the whole of it. And not many know this, but "v" is "f's" twin-- shaped the same, just voiced instead of voiceless, so to the mind, when reading this line out loud, you lips find a familiar path, and they like it... a lot! Either you're a lot more "kinet" than you let on about poetry, or else you're a natural with stuff. You should read some of David Hightower's poetry. His poetry is a study in alliteration-- each line echoes something, and I love reading it out loud. And it's mostly intuitive, he tells me. But honestly, when it's done too much on purpose, it's not nearly as good. This is good. Those sound-echoes make the picture pop-out alive. --Charlie

She Dances (Poetry) - 8/13/2008 11:39:43 AM
You certainly covered and uncovered all of the seven veils in beautiful poetic dance, well done! Jasmin Horst

She Dances (Poetry) - 8/13/2008 10:42:26 AM
A fine description of a wonderful art form; thank you for sharing it, Glenda. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

I Too Built A Bridge (Poetry) - 8/13/2008 5:32:22 AM
Hi Everybody! I'm still getting the hang of A/D...and I wasn't aware so many of you had commented! Thanks so much! I'm trying to get my friend to publish more broadly...maybe when he reads your words, he will! Thanks again!

Responsive Poetry... (Poetry) - 8/13/2008 5:29:10 AM
Regis - I'm so happy you enjoyed our poetry! Poetess - Wow...I'm going to have to share more of my stuff if you're tracking! LOL Thank you so much for your comments!

Responsive Poetry... (Poetry) - 8/12/2008 5:35:13 PM
I love your comparison to his poem! Loving and gentle and caring! Must I add COMFORTING! as another year is celebrated! A wonderful Happy Blessing Glenda!!! WRITE ON! I hope you do! I am Tracking your heart and you! Warmest Blessings, LOVE, Light, and Inner Peace, Warrior Purple Passion Soulful SHEExooo Stay Positive!

I Too Built A Bridge (Poetry) - 8/12/2008 5:31:42 PM
UNCONDITIONAL Love I felt clearly ~ I like this poem, has you reading it a few times, to let it sink in... I think it's filled with a deep depth of beauty and thought! The lines gave the reader much to comprehend of love and surviving! Trust is the underlying thoughts here, I hope I am close... and I do hope (in your time here at the den) you come to read my heartfelt touches of your spirit, I hope to touch. WRITE ON! WELCOME HERE! Warmest Blessings and Inner Peace, Warrior Purple Passion Soulful SHEExooo STay Positive!

Responsive Poetry... (Poetry) - 8/2/2008 11:23:45 AM
Sensually captivating; thank you for sharing, Glenda. Love and peace to you, Regis

I Too Built A Bridge (Poetry) - 8/2/2008 11:22:35 AM
The bridge is powerfully symbolic; thank you for sharing this poem, Glenda. Love and blessings to you, Regis

I Too Built A Bridge (Poetry) - 7/31/2008 7:13:04 PM
I am not sure if you meant it this way, but it sounds like God speaking to a wandering soul, lovely work

I Too Built A Bridge (Poetry) - 7/31/2008 2:21:24 PM
There is a lot of sad feelings expressed in this poem. The meters and rhymes are perfect so this flows very well. Sandie May :o)

I Too Built A Bridge (Poetry) - 7/29/2008 4:22:26 PM
We all have friends and there are many different kinds of friends in our lives. This was a passing though one I suppose. Even then we have to go on to better and pass onto a nother life in this creative world. You can do it, it seems we all need to get a better life sometimes and cross bridges to get there.

I Too Built A Bridge (Poetry) - 7/29/2008 1:15:38 PM
Spiritually sound, sturdy in structure, and a foothold on reality...to cross over this bridge is to know that many new opportunities await...be well always, Glenda...and welcome to the den...Blessed Be. Warmly, Sage

I Too Built A Bridge (Poetry) - 7/28/2008 4:21:51 AM
Wonderful writing here Glenda I enjoyed every moment, I know some people who need to build a bridge. Well done. Dave.

I Too Built A Bridge (Poetry) - 7/26/2008 4:48:21 PM
Great response... and that is just the kind of bridge that's built to last forever. Trust is truth, is it not? And THAT, will stand to the end of time. --Charlie

I Too Built A Bridge (Poetry) - 7/25/2008 10:32:05 AM
This is a strong writing... there is always a drift in relationships; yet we must learn to rebuild and gain strength... I enjoyed this. lindalaw

Responsive Poetry... (Poetry) - 7/25/2008 9:17:10 AM
Your writing is great, glad I got to read it today.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.