AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Roxanne Howe-Murphy, iBurton Wolfe, iSheri Hoff, iJohn McCoy, iMike Monahan, iLawrance Lux, iJansen Estrup, i
 
Home > Odin Roark
 

Recent Reviews for Odin Roark


3 WAY MIRROR (Book) - 12/14/2013 7:31:04 PM
I will be getting it.

Perceptions (Book) - 12/4/2012 4:10:02 PM
Big Congratulations on this, Odin Roark! ~~ Diana Legun

ECHOSIS (Book) - 12/4/2012 11:51:32 AM
Quite a rant - nice symbolism at the end, wild geese in Spring ... hopeful ...

ECHOSIS (Book) - 12/3/2012 4:03:26 PM
Heavy stuff. It interests me, but its length is a challenge to this engineering reader of short stories. I was already editing the excerpt. May check back later on this creative piece. Ron

Prosetry at Work (Book) - 6/10/2012 9:04:54 AM
Congrats on your book. I don't have a poetry book and probably won't unless there's some demand, somewhere. Ron

3 WAY MIRROR (Book) - 4/15/2012 3:17:22 PM
Glad I didn't read your excerpt here before I commented on your "Darkness Three," because some answers are in this excerpt. Now I want to know the whole story. Belonging to AuthorsDen might be a boost for Amazon and the creative someones who tread this website; I may need to boost my employment! ~~ Diana

IT (Short Story) - 1/27/2015 2:30:54 PM
I can see how some may extrapolate various meanings from this, but I see only one. I had several family members succumb to, and then die from, cancer. The ramifications were devastating emotionally. Can't find any words other than these, Odin. This piece is like an arrow to the heart. Message received. r

IT (Short Story) - 1/27/2015 7:57:14 AM
I have to assume, and it's a big assumption, that you mean Internet Technology. But then the last two lines, threw me, because I was thinking all the challenges I find that seniors are having with trying to interact on the computer with the Internet. So it's a tossup, except for facing growing older and reminiscing about how things seem clearer in our youth, I didn't get the point of your story. ;-) Ron

Faux Companion (Short Story) - 1/20/2015 6:46:21 AM
When in the big city, its wilderness presents just a few creatures to commune with. So one has to make do with what's available. And, as for companionship, talking to oneself will do. I believe this often happens to prisoners in solitary confinement and was one of the main themes in Castaway. I'm also reminded of Michael Jackson's, Ben. The word "manqué" is foreign to me. It does appear to be French and Richard, with his extensive vocabulary, of course, knew the meaning. I like his explanation of the difference between "would-be" and "wannabe". The loneliness and poverty of being penniless in the expensive city is obvious. I'm not fond of the term, "flash fiction," because it reminds me of our need for "instant gratification" these days, where everything is speeded up in the no time for contemplation. I think of your story as a short, but complete and thoughtful, short story. Enjoyed for its angst. Ron

Faux Companion (Short Story) - 1/19/2015 1:18:39 PM
Hahahaha.... funny stuff, Odin. Dry and droll. I'm sure you chuckled some writing this. "manqué" eh? I'm sure many have dealt with that frustrated hollow-feeling. Especially novelists. Well... thankfully there's some distance between a 'would-be' and a 'wannabe'. At least for a 'would-be' there's still a possibility. For a 'wannabe' there's only the ongoing prospect of bubble bubble toil and struggle. (-: Peace...

Take Me, I'm Free (Flash Fiction) (Short Story) - 11/4/2014 12:53:40 PM
A most delightfully pleasant read ... And ever so full of truth ...

Beer Neck Flower (Short Story) - 10/5/2014 11:01:40 PM
Imaginary writes are sometimes the best to read here on the den.

Closed (Short Story) - 10/5/2014 10:59:48 PM
This says a lot I can relate too, reads easily, says lots, Loved it. When one door closes for me, it seems another opens though, that's life and truly I am blessed.

Take Me, I'm Free (Flash Fiction) (Short Story) - 10/5/2014 10:58:14 PM
I see a flash of victory in this one.

The Nap (Short Story) - 10/5/2014 10:56:55 PM
Nap time renews, and I hope this old man finds a life and a love, even though he's not in his youth. Aloneness isn't happiness either.

Take Me, I'm Free (Flash Fiction) (Short Story) - 9/13/2014 5:45:08 PM
well done

Take Me, I'm Free (Flash Fiction) (Short Story) - 9/9/2014 1:57:45 PM
I'm glad I discovered this piece. Can't figure how I missed it. IMO would make a great Norman Rockwell painting(s). I love the 'flash fiction' form. Great work here. Really enjoyed it.

Take Me, I'm Free (Flash Fiction) (Short Story) - 8/20/2014 6:35:59 AM
It sure isn't. I really like the poignancy of this piece. How cast off junk can be someone else's treasure and trigger memories leading to profound wisdom. Warriors see the world travel experience far different from tourists. You have a fine sense of perception in this little story that touches my memory as well. Must put that unused battery charger out on the street for local scavengers to pick up before the next Heavy Trash Day. Or was that, Recycle Day? Ron

Take Me, I'm Free (Flash Fiction) (Short Story) - 8/19/2014 4:57:25 PM
Flash fiction is the best! Particularly when you don't have the luxury of sitting and reading for a Long time and you made my day ( moment) with this one. It's wonderful and the title fits! I can see the dangling basket perfectly. Thanks for the break!!!!!!

Beer Neck Flower (Short Story) - 8/13/2014 7:06:01 AM
Yes, trying to find sanity in the confines the city. I can't believe that cockroaches can be friends. It's a lonely existence. I see what you mean about prosetry. A bit like stream of consciousness. I use a little bit of it, but I'm not sure whether I would make a novel that way. A couple of asides. While I never drank beer, one time my cousin and I were at the races at Road America when we happened on a fellow walking back to the pits after spinning out and losing his sports car in the mud. He complained about all the money it took to race. He was Augie Pabst, a fourth-generation member of the brewing family. My twin brother made a good living as an industrial engineer, but was often let go in downsizing or fired because the innovations he suggested were not liked by management. Anyway, between jobs, he took up selling silk flowers. Even visited the guy who owned the company and lived quite well in Phoenix. Of course, he made no money and went nowhere with it. Silk flowers don't grow on people. Ron

Beer Neck Flower (Short Story) - 8/12/2014 5:05:05 PM
Some would say senility. I would say survival of the fittest. To function absurdly is better than being dead in my book. Dare we anticipate such things? Why not! M.True

What Do You Do? (Short Story) - 8/12/2014 4:52:44 PM
Where do you go when you're halfway to nowhere? Society seems to to be putting itself though a paper shredder. Too often the guy or gal next to you is from another world, a personal bubble of comfort with no real empathy for anyone but self. The core of a simple one act play perhaps? M.True

Dream-Blisters (Short Story) - 5/31/2014 4:35:08 AM
good one

When the Wheels Stop Turnin' (flash fiction) (Short Story) - 5/31/2014 4:34:18 AM
chuckles

Surreal Dummy (Short Story) - 5/31/2014 4:32:21 AM
holds reader interest

Closed (Short Story) - 4/30/2014 9:07:24 AM
Shades of 'The Last Picture Show.' Ron

What Do You Do? (Short Story) - 3/13/2014 6:54:43 AM
Damn intellectuals! I must admit that although I had studied Latin in high school and recall the phrase, I had to look it up and feel a bit ashamed. So, you must have been writing about me because I have a preference for martinis (gin with an olive, no ice) so I must've been the drunk dumb head in the story. On the other hand, I'm a sucker for Jim Beam and not Old Crow, because it's all about the taste with me. Your story is why I never spent much time in bars in idle conversation with other guys with other agendas on their minds. However, it's spot on for the kind of one-upmanship that tends to happen whenever people start drinking and their real agenda appears. Cheers! Ron

What Do You Do? (Short Story) - 3/13/2014 5:46:42 AM
This left me with a satisfaction of some kind I can't describe. The word 'recognition' comes to mind. Very well illustrated, especially the line: "To humans, who know humans when they see them." Quality of recognition speaking out from this vignette, like people looking without seeing. Neat. ~~ Diana

What Do You Do? (Short Story) - 3/12/2014 9:00:00 AM
well i won't argue, it is a fine write and i liked it budd

When the Wheels Stop Turnin' (flash fiction) (Short Story) - 2/26/2014 7:44:27 AM
I was able to drag and drop the image onto my computer desktop and zoom in to read the caption. Very true -- we have become the 'Kleenex' (un)civilization. Your wheels stop turning brought a wide smile for its humor and smack on-ness. Your line: "Leavin’ me sittin’ on this bed like an idling clunker wanting only to shut down" is a stab of truth that I have seen with my own eyes. Elderly lives, sitting on the side of the bed, watching TV, waiting. My Mother is like that right now...and, like your piece here....we just move along with a laugh wherever one can be made. Thank you. ~~ Diana

The Nap (Short Story) - 2/26/2014 7:36:25 AM
What an achingly beautiful story. The detail pulls such reader interest that I couldn't not read to the end. The character development in here is like sculpture, where the tools place expression that brings the man and the girl to warm-blooded life. "Bleary eyes"....weathered tabletop, finger idly caressing a carved heart. You have the magic of the Blue Fairy, Odin, in so much of what you write. And so often your visions bring in layers of seeing...."...wrinkles like crevasses he once scaled." I think you have ten dimensional perception and awareness; and you write of it well. Every time. ~~ Diana

The Dogs of Sochi (Article) - 2/12/2014 11:59:44 AM
~Odin~ Masquerade is the word for Sochi and making it a world wide ski resort. The poor stray dogs being killed is so sad. Lady Mary Ann

A Crow With Super Smarts (Article) - 2/11/2014 3:58:51 PM
We are all part of the Essence of All Things Living and Innate. There is a cosmic consciousness! M.True

A Crow With Super Smarts (Article) - 2/10/2014 4:59:55 PM
I understood what the puzzle was about only after the crow solved it. But I can't eat crow. Guess I'll eat some worms.

The Dogs of Sochi (Article) - 2/7/2014 7:19:11 AM
It's a very fine report. We need more reporting like this. I am dismayed with people who say they don't want to get the news. Sure, we are bombarded by it, and we have to choose and know what the source is and the motives are for reporting it, but to hide our heads in sand and not pay attention is worse. No news is good news--right? These folks with their head in the sand are probably only getting hearsay from friends, relatives and neighbors. That's the worst kind of news, spread mouth-to-mouth with the story changing with every repeat. As for the dog issue. I had to kill puppies when I was young because we couldn't have 10 dogs running around our farm house. That was the way we controlled dog populations in those days. Letting dogs run loose and having puppies that everyone loves and then rejects is a serious problem that can only be resolved when brought to the attention for its atrocity. That is what the news is doing. And I applaud that. Ron

A Crow With Super Smarts (Article) - 2/7/2014 5:42:18 AM
Marvelous - possibly just as amazing is that the bird is so relaxed and confident around humans after only 3 mos. Our raven pair takes a year to let us within a few feet, even though we give them breakfast every morning. Thanks.

The Dogs of Sochi (Article) - 2/7/2014 3:55:57 AM
I can't watch animals suffering...But this whole thing is one of the dumbest things I've ever seen. I've never been to Sochi..but from what I've seen on the "news" (and I don't believe much of anything I see on the "news" these days) it looks like a great place to bring kids to for a birthday party...that is...if you really hate kids. i guess Iraq and Afghanistan were already booked and there were no other combat zones available. This may indeed be the very first Olympics where not only will gold medals be awarded ...but may be a few purple hearts too.

The Dogs of Sochi (Article) - 2/7/2014 3:44:17 AM
Although I like Keith Olberman, he also seems to miss the point about America’s Purebreed Dog Shows, as he denounces Russia for killing all of these stray dogs. He praises the dog shows, but unfortunately, most of the dog breeders who support and participate in these dog shows care very little about the millions of abandoned mutts and mongrels and purebred dogs that are being euthanized in America’s shelters today. These Dog Shows even dropped Pedigree Dog Food from their official sponsor list because Pedigree supports shelter animals and pet adoptions over spending exorbitant amounts on purchasing purebred dogs from breeders. I think the blame for how we horrendously treat pets today is planet wide. And I sadly don't watch the Olympics or these dog shows anymore.

The Dogs of Sochi (Article) - 2/6/2014 1:47:05 PM
I don't even have to watch this, Odin, I've already seen enough on AOL. Despicable is the correct word.

A Crow With Super Smarts (Article) - 2/6/2014 12:05:55 PM
This is absolutely incredible and so good to see! We humans underestimate the other creatures on this planet far too much. How arrogant are we to assume we are superior when we know so little about the true abilities of our fellow earth dwellers. Rx

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/8/2013 7:13:39 AM
Indeed, keeping guns out of the homes and hands of honest citizens saved the lives of many of those people in Rwanda who hacked hundreds of thousands of their neighbors families to death with Machetes.

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/6/2013 2:32:13 PM
visions of gangsters and mercenaries dance like sugar plums in video game dream-scapes. As long as the weak seek revenge in a pocket pistol the bullies and bullets will rule. M.True

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/6/2013 8:27:59 AM
You are correct: We are a country that is off the charts nuts with how we have acquiesced to the gun industry. 33 residents must die everyday from guns in the hands of nuts as a result. The solution must encompass many areas and will require 100 or more solutions. They include: more intensive police instruction; chip tracking implants in criminals and mental cases; high resolution video cameras in critical locations; psychological and psychiatric interventions; home and school instructions in safe storage of guns and ammo; and about 90 more ideas. Simply passing a law that restricts gun availability to lawful people will not lessen the problem.

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/6/2013 1:40:51 AM
Just wanted to add... In England, if you see ANYONE with a gun outside of a controlled range, there is no grey area and no element of doubt - you KNOW there is a problem.

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/5/2013 2:34:34 PM
You have every right to vent, for you are on the right side of history. The pistol only has one purpose, and that is to be easily carried and used to kill humans at relatively short range. A pistol is not a hunting weapon, and not very useful in warfare. And, as far as warfare goes. When every citizen on every street is armed with military might in the mistaken idea that anarchy is right around the corner… Anarchy is right around the corner. In all the survival stories that I read and hear about, the pistol is only used in fiction. I hope this gets spread around the Internet like some of that John Wayne, Charles Heston "from my cold dead hands" bull crap. Ron

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/5/2013 1:53:39 PM
Being English, I am in total agreement with the regulation of weapons. We have our share of attacks and episodes, but only a small percentage are fatal. That has to be good. To my mind, if everyone may be carrying a gun, how does one spot the threat? Rx

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/5/2013 8:07:17 AM
It ends with all of us lower on the moral scale than rats. At least they kill/eat what they kill. Guns don't kill people? Eddie Izzard says "try pointing your finger at someone and yelling, 'bang! bang!' - I don't think that will kill very many" ... Guns do kill people, even those who aren't the target. They kill those who provide for or care for families, neighborhoods and nations. That is their purpose, just as a black obelisk inspired some distant ancestor to grab up a bone and kill those who had 'his waterhole' ... on the other hand, regulating guns is not even possible. They can be made in a garage, assembled via internet printers and even turned into grenade launchers. Taking note of large capacity clips is useless, too - many of us saw the belt-fed demo recently - a guy firing 800 rounds in a minute - how does that get regulated? Given the mental health of the average American and the widespread sufferers of PTSD (not just battle scars) I confess to being afraid of anyone with a gun, including myself. Just another element in the corporate campaign to keep us afraid of everything. Nice job posing a rabid question, Odin.

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/5/2013 4:09:49 AM
The gun lovers will not be confused by the facts, and will actually avoid facts proudly. I am confused by the facts. People want the killing of human beings to be as easy as possible. Mental stability is fragile in humans, from road rage to sports arguments and family feuds- add a gun and you know what you get. Violence is not an exact science- the police fail at an alarming rate and they are well trained, but the madness that holds a gun is not predictable. I believe huge effort should be placed on creating non-leathal weapons to incapacitate unbalanced individuals- no killing the wrong guy- but also no killing people who really need help in this stressful world. No killing period. One must believe death is a solution to wish it on anyone and love the means to cause it. If guns don't kill people neither do hydrogen bombs. Let's have a sale. John

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/4/2013 9:03:07 PM
Saw this quote on a t -shirt "If guns are outlawed, then only outlaws will have guns." So yeah I'm all for moral people being armed. Many things could have been stopped and maybe a lot less deaths. Unfortunately that is the world we live in now. Have a friend, she takes her concealed weapon wherever she goes. She's not taking her kids into any place she can't take her weapon. She's got a license to carry and that's exactly what she does. Guarantee nothing will happen to her kids.

Targets Be Warned (Article) - 12/4/2013 6:26:30 PM
I saw something the other day that addressed this issue. I'm paraphrasing now, "We are told that just because a few radical Muslims are bad we should not blame all Muslims. I wonder why that cannot work for gun owners?" The guns are not the problem, Odin, and regulation of guns will hardly make a dent in the murder rate.

Simple Times (an observation) (Article) - 6/26/2013 7:03:25 AM
Youth is fast and furious running from experience to experience without time or money to contemplate what we are doing, learning, or becoming. It is only when we reach a plateau where we have enough money, leisure, and time to think about the past, that we start to think about, “the good old days.” Psychologists tell us that our memories are very selective. One of the reasons we have nightmares is that we are constantly sorting our memories and placing the best ones into long-term memory and often taking the worst ones and burying them so deeply in the subconscious that we only think of them when pressed. I can look back on any part of my life and see the bad, probably because I didn't have any bad experience happen to me I needed to block out, but but saw bad happen to others in my environment and in the media of that era. However, most people seem to have forgotten the bad, or thrown it out, and remember only the good. Life certainly has become more complex with each generation. The most disconcerting thing to me is how far we have become removed from our source of food and water. Any disruption in those supply chains will certainly lead to panic followed by anarchy. With the citizenry fully armed by NRA policy, anarchy will certainly lead to atrocity over basic food and water. I'm not so concerned about information, because the more information we have, including reality shows, blogs, and security surveillance, the better our lives become in spite of the sum of all of our fears. Since we have looked back at Earth from another planetoid, our Moon, it is time we start thinking like benign space travelers, saving our planet and others, not wasting our time reminiscing about a childhood we never really had. Ron

Simple Times (an observation) (Article) - 6/26/2013 4:31:10 AM
My 'good old days' had Roy Rogers and Gene Autry matinees for 7 cents and an earlier Wall Street menace. I liked the Once Upon a Time in America era because it seemed to better represent the Thirties and my mother's youth better than the cowpokes. But these new old days have been too fast, too scattered, too alien. Never liked John Wayne or Savalas, but Gunn had a good jazz theme ... see how I'm enjoying the memory lane you put me on? Thanks.

Simple Times (an observation) (Article) - 6/25/2013 11:03:50 PM
The maze has been built. The rats are running. Therese are the days of cryptic messages. I say, gardening is good. Grow your own food. If you have enough, sell it to the neighbors.

Cavemen in Tuxedos (an editorial) (Article) - 5/22/2013 8:59:43 AM
As another writer here so aptly points out, are very nature is tied up in a matrix that is our undoing. Unless we can break free from the matrix and then can act sanely, we are doomed to run off the cliff like lemmings or off the cliff in the train like Robert Heilbroner so eloquently described in “The Worldly Philosophers.” In the meantime, “The Population Bomb,” is waiting to explode and doesn't care what we wear or look like. Ron

Cavemen in Tuxedos (an editorial) (Article) - 5/21/2013 4:16:39 AM
I cannot decide whether to wear my bearskin or thatch to the event ... powerfully put, Odin. Perhaps you are the philosopher king, or its herald.

Ghost Town Ghosts (Article) - 8/19/2012 6:23:49 AM
We have no freedom. Few of us would last if the umbilical cord to big money corporations were cut. We get our mobility from the MiddleEast, manipulated by big oil and commodity brokers. We get our power from a corporate grid. We get our food from corporate farms and overfishing the seas. With our pistols, our generators, our tank of gas, and our emergency stock of food, we wouldn't last a month without these tits we suck on. Who are we kidding? Only us. The old west is gone. We aren't a cowboy movie. We are codependent on big money and we don't know it. Revealing write. I can see the tumbleweed already. Ron

Love Unopened (Poetry) - 1/29/2015 1:40:04 PM
Like good short story, you leave us thinking… I think I know. Ron

Love Unopened (Poetry) - 1/29/2015 10:47:16 AM
It's true.. Love can be so unrequited for the most part of our existence.. I guess our world only knows that love should be reciprocated.. Love is hard with expectations and attachments.. Thank you for this sad beautiful ode to love as we know it..

Bestial History Recycling (Poetry) - 1/29/2015 6:34:32 AM
strange how nonviolence breeds violence .... look at Gandhi, King and Jesus ...

Bestial History Recycling (Poetry) - 1/28/2015 7:12:42 AM
Death comes quickly to some and slow to others. But it comes to us all. There is something gut wrenching about seeing death up close and personal. It is the fuel for the terrorists' triumph. I just watched Sons of Liberty and saw good people die who are now lost to history but could have been players among our founding fathers (the ones who survived by mostly staying out of the fight). But I've been thinking lately… When I see what Edward has written below and hear about the glory of the fallen hero, The American Sniper. When it is state supported, is murder anymore pure? Is the terror element removed for those that are targeted by snipers or by drones? Do they think that we are terrorists when we call ourselves patriots? I am not condoning hate or psychotic terroristic behavior, but it seems like an eye for an eye just keeps continuing the vicious cycle. In recent history, it seems like nonviolent action practiced by Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Mandela and others, has a better result than meeting violence with violence. Ron

Bestial History Recycling (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 9:27:37 AM
I would rather use 10,000 drones today than wait 10,000 years for and inch of improvement.

Miasma Ripening (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 9:00:52 AM
What gets me is that they describe the "economy" in terms of consumption instead of some saner measure of quality of life. As I watch Shark Tank, I see people ever reaching for the golden ring by coming up with another gimmick product that passes through the intestinal tract in record time to the yard sale or landfill where even the greedy birds get hooked and die with a tummy full of it…Shit! Once again, you've come to the heart of the matter. Ron

Miasma Ripening (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 4:53:36 AM
Will it come to conflict? Quite possibly as everything else seems to be in conflict so why not the money war fought on the streets as well in the banks? Hard and true writing, Odin. Best always john

Grease Monkey Rainbows (Poetry) - 1/24/2015 12:09:58 PM
This all seems so personal, like it is to those two writers below. To conjure up such grease monkey dreams one must have experienced the reality. Touching and wonderful. Great wordsmithing. Ron

Grease Monkey Rainbows (Poetry) - 1/24/2015 8:32:57 AM
Odin~ Colorful the diesel rainbows..of my father's passing 34 years ago today. Touching the memories held dear you have written a beautiful poem in the quiet ebb knowing. Lady Mary Ann

Grease Monkey Rainbows (Poetry) - 1/24/2015 5:23:29 AM
I wish I could share this poem with my father. He lived for weekends when he could tinker with engines and oil. You amaze me by making the ordinary extraordinary. "Diesel rainbows" a phrase I won't forget. Eileen

Deepening Dusk (Poetry) - 1/23/2015 8:54:52 AM
Great Marcus Aurelius insight. As for me, I will not go lightly into that "deep dark night" or "deepening dusk." Ron

The Enigmatic Middle C (Poetry) - 1/22/2015 11:26:17 AM
A lifetime in an octave scale… Wonderful metaphor of music as life. Ron

Brume of Fear (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 9:14:50 AM
From time to time, while reading you, I have to Google, word or two. And that's a good thing. The subject of this poem is dear to my heart. I find that so many are hampered by clouds of doubt caused by unnecessary fear. There are however those sociopaths and misfits who tend to blindly go where fear should prevent them. And I worry most about those who seem to think beer conquers all fear. Ron

Brume of Fear (Poetry) - 1/21/2015 4:31:46 AM
Far too much fear in this sad world of ours today. I just posted a poem on modern man's fear of wild animals - who were here long before we were, and who are vanishing much too fast today.

Brume of Fear (Poetry) - 1/20/2015 11:32:46 AM
Let us all mount our Pegasus' of confidence and smite that furtive seducer, fear! Several fine lines in this one - evaporative caldrons of doubt - clouded courage - weightless heights of fulfillment ... bravo Zulu.

Unforgiving Reflections (Poetry) - 1/19/2015 7:20:40 AM
I must be lucky. I don't go before a mirror every morning anymore. It's been over 20 years since I looked in a mirror in the morning. And as I recall at that time, I was too busy trying to get to work or finish weekend activities to spend any time contemplating myself in the mirror. Was I missing something? As for mistakes, mess ups and blunders, I've made many. But they all add up to what I am now. While I've written my biography to account for most, I don't dwell on them like some do so much. They certainly shaped me, but I can't go back and correct anything, only face the future with a positive attitude and try not to make the same mistakes again. I do see my face in this wonderful camera on my computer. Unfortunately the lighting here is very bad and I tend to look hideous. On the computer in the other room and a window with natural light, I look much better. I will do my selfies there if I ever do any. Ron

Unforgiving Reflections (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 1:19:08 PM
You certainly have provided me with substance to reflect upon within your verses here, Odin. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

MIrage of Love (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 10:08:57 AM
While I'm somewhat confused, it seems that your poem is the never-ending dialogue between lust and love, their interconnection and the failure of those who try to separate the two. Ron

MIrage of Love (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 6:54:47 AM
Can't agree with Robert C. Pinckert. However... the presence of subtext in a writers work, whether purposefully done or mysteriously infixed, allows the readers an opportunity to glean from, or perceive, the substrates in another's work. Sadly, in my experiences, far too many readers, on posting sites, have little cognition of, or caring for, this truly beautiful component. Too many are only interested in the surface aspects. Instead of reading to grow they read to associate. Reading without cerebration. Skimming over the words to get a gist of what's being said to garner just enough understanding to offer the writer something threadbare in response. Thankfully not every contributor adheres to this bane of superficiality. Using an analogy: The only part of the lake that's visible is the surface. But the real essence/life of the lake is below the surface, and one must dive into the lake to experience that. Unfortunately far too many are afraid of the water anymore. Good insight, Odin. Enjoyed. Peace and continued inspiration...

MIrage of Love (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 4:50:48 AM
Thirst is a powerful thing.

MIrage of Love (Poetry) - 1/17/2015 6:55:23 PM
It's not so much like that with me anymore - decided to go it alone, and feel much better that way, no obligations, no such hurts even, it's just meant to be. But this poem is very good and says it all

Desperate Escapes (Poetry) - 1/17/2015 11:13:52 AM
Another one of the cast off peripherals of the mighty metropolis. The lonely streets and tenements remain the same, or worse, as Trump puts up another tower to mammon. Ron

Ratings War (Poetry) - 1/17/2015 7:07:05 AM
I have to agree with the below as well. Always happy to have stopped by your den. TV is the ultimate circus.

Desperate Escapes (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 9:17:46 PM
Seventy-one years ago I was born into, what would be considered today as, the world of poverty in Appalachia. To be more specific, i am from West Virginia. Eight of us lived in what had been a chicken house, turned into two tiny rooms. Our kitchen was a shack located five or six steps from our living quarters, so that during winter months my mother had to dress as if she were spending the day outside in order to prepare our breakfast. My parents worked hard to feed and clothe us. Our stomachs never knew long periods of suffering the pangs of hunger, and we were loved. I sat in a one-room school, looked at pictures in books, and dreamed about a place called New York City where buildings touched the sky. In 2013, I checked one of the items off my bucket list, that is, I have now been to all fifty states. It is my hope that the ones you speak about in this poem will someday be blessed just as I have been. You have written a piece that depicts despair but ends with a ray of hope. This is quality. David Lee Thompson

Ratings War (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 9:59:25 AM
Congratulations, Odin, on your thousandth entry. Most of them have been excellent, some exceptional, a few priceless! Best, Jan

My Sons (Poetry) - 1/16/2015 4:47:17 AM
A wonderful Ode to Offspring.

My Sons (Poetry) - 1/15/2015 11:28:53 AM
You are truly a wise old oak spreading your wisdom throughout all the branches of your offspring. Kudos. Ron

My Sons (Poetry) - 1/15/2015 11:27:04 AM
A tour de force that weaves figurative language into a magical tapestry of life, love, and a father’s pride told within the context of the cycle of life. Superb.

Dawn Forever Ascending (Poetry) - 1/14/2015 9:01:00 AM
What a wonderful rendition of the changing of the guard as the sun tries to reach down the long alleys created by towering structures seeking the light of day! I haven't been there that early but have driven through a sea of yellow cabs and triple parked to visit an upstairs apartment of a Wall Street mogul. I've walked the city in the warm fall light and had a wild night in Greenwich Village when it was too hot for anyone to sleep. Yes, NYC is a sight to behold and you are describing it well in these poems of its glory. Love the photo… Dawn trying to peak in. Ron

Dawn Forever Ascending (Poetry) - 1/14/2015 7:44:35 AM
And for those of us who have only visited this metropolis-- What an astounding insight to this place that I have loved to visit and loved even more to leave.

Dawn Forever Ascending (Poetry) - 1/13/2015 4:09:38 PM
To me this is an exquisite and very real "insight" into what is surely one of the most vibrant cities in the world. I have a couple of friends who live there but I've never been. Thank you for sharing this gift, Odin. Love and peace to you, Regis

Fragility of Wealth (Poetry) - 1/13/2015 10:29:12 AM
"There but for fortune, go you or I." Wealth is often squandered in the heavy pursuit for it. Your poem illustrates the serendipity of it all. And that we can't take it with us. Ron

Fragility of Wealth (Poetry) - 1/13/2015 3:31:45 AM
I like the Hugo quote the best, and this is another powerful piece.

Fragility of Wealth (Poetry) - 1/12/2015 11:27:18 AM
"With only his dapper suit And plastic boutonniere"... Well, at least the flower won't wilt. I wish I could say the same for us. The strains of melancholy in this undergird well the substance of the piece, Odin. A message, I'm sure, anyone 'seasoned' can relate to. Enjoyed.

Fragility of Wealth (Poetry) - 1/12/2015 10:13:35 AM
I think this is powerful rather brilliant poetry Odin. Thank you for your touching art! Christine

Dummying Up (Poetry) - 1/12/2015 8:35:16 AM
What shakes me is the fact that most legislation is written by lobbyists. This legislation is so long and convoluted with hidden agendas written in, that no Congressman has time to read it, but only to laud or oppose it according to party line or advice from those who grease their palms. The PACs are running things, and like you have written so well, are pulling the strings that make the "image" of representation sour. Ron

Dummying Up (Poetry) - 1/12/2015 7:16:33 AM
You speak truth through a unique metaphor. When will it ever change? And how? It seems only money talks.

Forever Plastic Flower (Poetry) - 1/11/2015 8:39:10 AM
Very insightful. My experience with a few veterans with combat experience bears out what you wrote very well. They seem to be disillusioned with life in general and have great difficulty adjusting many, many years after their service. On the other hand, those that did not see combat, seemed to have adjusted quite well and are very supportive of their service experience. That should tell us something. The vast majority of those that serve in the armed forces do not see combat, at least at close range, except during World War II. My two uncles that saw combat in World War II both lead very troubled lives. My uncle that served the entire war without leaving the United States is 95 and has led a long and well-adjusted life after retiring from the Air Force as a major after 20 years. Ron

Forever Plastic Flower (Poetry) - 1/11/2015 8:08:29 AM
~Odin~ Splendid your insight of the veterens. Lady Mary Ann

Forever Plastic Flower (Poetry) - 1/11/2015 4:22:08 AM
Well said, Odin. Your poem causes me to remember that B17 pilot with no legs who told me so seriously, "Boy, there is nothing more "X" than an "X" GI. Don' ever forget it." I can't remember anymore whether or not he was being sarcastic. Probably, so young, I did not even know what sarcasm was.

Forever Plastic Flower (Poetry) - 1/10/2015 10:15:12 PM
Well expressed poetic truth. This is the somber reality for some vets. The majority of us adjust but not always too well. Some miss the service life and it's so true that a soldier will always be a soldier...Amen

Stacks of Aloneness (Poetry) - 1/10/2015 1:01:09 PM
Great story poem. Lonely books for lonely men. Cool. Got me thinking about the zillion books, mostly unread, in the West Virginia University library. Ron

Thrift Shop Foreshadowing (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 11:35:25 PM
Dreamy poetic lines mixed with reality bites. Like having a hot fudge sandwich with mustard and ketchup. Just does not mix. Reality bites.

Thrift Shop Foreshadowing (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 10:35:15 AM
I can imagine this being a short film with all of its ghastly images. Certainly a thriller for me, as one who dusts off old images and dons them while searching through history. Ron

Thrift Shop Foreshadowing (Poetry) - 1/7/2015 7:06:19 AM
Indeed a piece educed from experiment and observation rather than theory. The image compliments the style and spirit of your (perhaps) black and white vignettes. This, at once, reminded me of Raymond Chandler; a writer I've always enjoyed. Excellent! Peace...

Shirt Pocket Depth (Poetry) - 1/6/2015 1:48:21 PM
I can feel the loneliness and contemplative regard in this.

Shirt Pocket Depth (Poetry) - 1/6/2015 11:54:58 AM
One of the enduring mysteries, and pleasures, of your work is the (always present mist of) subtext. The way you've sculpted the imagery here would easily lend itself to a black and white medium, too; one accentuating shadows and form. And yah... I agree. It's time to move into a new season of deeper insight and output. Especially for those who honestly aspire to originality. A fine poem, Odin, well cogitated and birthed. Peace...

Shirt Pocket Depth (Poetry) - 1/6/2015 11:52:40 AM
I always like the way you turn a phrase scratch a nerve tap an emotion but occasionally you bring the structure down.. like now.

Shirt Pocket Depth (Poetry) - 1/6/2015 7:36:53 AM
Time will catch up with you. Quite a piece… A timepiece with a lot going for it. Much enjoyed your wandering through it. Ron

Shirt Pocket Depth (Poetry) - 1/6/2015 3:29:42 AM
Your pieces are always captivating - as is this one.

Shirt Pocket Depth (Poetry) - 1/5/2015 1:36:06 PM
~Odin~ Gentle stirring merged as one with his breathing. A full life yet in depth of life's vestige semblance whispering of glistening eyes. Wonderfully penned!! Lady Mary Ann

Echoes Recharging (Poetry) - 1/5/2015 8:22:52 AM
So much said here in one little poem. Of all those things, I always thought that "peanut butter and jelly" was not nutritious and the lazy mother's fast food of the day. And I never spoke humorous one-liners, "sadly," but gladly. I also never had "Penthouse" dreams, but always dreamed about a cottage in the woods… Something I achieved once… But had to let go. From what I read, we are left "longing for new beginnings" but settle for "wisdom's journey to continue, "as the tether wanes." Ron

Echoes Recharging (Poetry) - 1/5/2015 5:06:27 AM
where echoes recharging invite wisdom's journey to continue Another fascinating poem and graphic, my friend.

Timeless Reunions (Poetry) - 1/4/2015 8:22:26 AM
Who said said pharmacology was a lost art? :)

Timeless Reunions (Poetry) - 1/3/2015 2:08:11 PM
This poem covers all the bases. I love the first line and everything in between. Well thought through, smoothly transitioned, and hopeful in the positivity that more awaits.

Timeless Reunions (Poetry) - 1/3/2015 12:59:13 PM
I believe that memories work like this providing reunion all the time. But in a literal sense, I met my love (first marriage) at a real reunion, and as fate would have it, time quickly dissolved that reunion into a memory. Once again, very profound and filled with irony. Ron

Timeless Reunions (Poetry) - 1/3/2015 11:36:16 AM
Poetic prose is one of my favorite mediums for poetic exploration. My brain functions naturally in that particular mode. A fine moment you've reasoned here, Odin. And the quote, of course, is one of those that remain vibrantly relevant for anyone. I enjoyed your careful plucking of imagery in this to blend together the wine of your message. Much of it resonated in me. Two, however, had an afterglow: "wrathful guillotine", and especially... "fate hovering overhead" Speaking for myself: life does come down upon us as a fierce deluge sometimes. Enjoyed this... Peace

Dreamers Dream (Poetry) - 1/3/2015 7:56:32 AM
I'm in love with this poem. May I print it and frame it for my writing room? You capture the writer's dream as well as many other kinds of dreams. Nice work!

Dreamers Dream (Poetry) - 1/2/2015 10:06:33 AM
I keep thinking this is a real venture, like my uncle and grandfather buying a surplus truck after World War II and heading for Alaska to strike it rich. Only to come back soon after not even finding a job. And, it reminds me of the dust bowl, and of those who have come to the Big Apple to make it, and haven't, just like Nashville and Hollywood. Dreams are not often realized, but when we chase them we are richer for it, both as individuals and humanity. Another great one… Ron

Dreamers Dream (Poetry) - 1/2/2015 6:02:59 AM
Is the dream like the journey, Odin, not a destination but a vehicle? Excellent beginning to your New Year.

Candle-Life (Poetry) - 12/30/2014 8:38:20 AM
The subtext in this is, at the same moment, multi-faceted and personal. I have always deeply related to the candle as a metaphor for an individuals life. I've lost track of how many times life's windy storms have extinguished my flame, my momentum, my desire, my focus, my output. Somehow, though, by means infinitely more mysterious than my ability to comprehend, the flame invariably crackles back into life and a new season begins. I imagine that we can only consider it a major blessing if our personal candles burn all the way down. Enjoyed, and appreciated, this, Odin...

Candle-Life (Poetry) - 12/30/2014 5:49:41 AM
Beautifully written.

Candle-Life (Poetry) - 12/30/2014 4:18:20 AM
A first birthday, A stealth venture into the attic, Or an exploration of one's personal catacombs Candles are marvelous, as is your poem. We need to light up the world with them.

Threading Hunger's Needle (Poetry) - 12/29/2014 9:05:37 AM
You speak of the great unwashed, the sheeple, who go about their business with their icons staving off fear, always hanging together in mutual comfort, feeding. Little wisdom comes from this. Wisdom comes from sacrifice and loss… From overcoming fear by the realization of what it really is, an insidious control device. Sterling, as usual. Ron

Threading Hunger's Needle (Poetry) - 12/29/2014 8:40:16 AM
~Odin~ Of wisdom ways you'd wisely seek. Five things observe with care. Of whom you speak, to whom you speak, and how, and when, and where. Written by my grandmother Jan. 21, 1906. She was then 12 years old. Wisdom's whisper to nurture... Lady Mary Ann

Next Doorness (Poetry) - 12/28/2014 12:14:44 PM
Indeed they are, Odin. And some of the 'headlines' of late have been somewhat startling. 'ISIS closing in on Israel from the North and South.' Jerusalem Post. 'Global Financial Collapse.' Natural News. 'The Lions of Allah Will Strike at the West. Al-Qaeda' warns that 'Lone Wolf' attacks are just beginning.' Catholic Online. I truly am on the edge of my seat, waiting with bated-breath, at what will unfold in 2015. Thought-provoking this. Peace.

Next Doorness (Poetry) - 12/28/2014 9:01:24 AM
A far cry from nosy neighbors or party lines… Or is it? The ubiquitous interlopers are solving crimes at a much faster rate than ever before, but at what cost to our privacy? Ed is right about the Internet. Lately, I've noticed an upswing in unsolicited email targeting me for my profile as someone who "likes" this or that. I think those that are on Facebook will eventually regret who they, "friended." Ron

Next Doorness (Poetry) - 12/28/2014 7:41:34 AM
This is a subject that needs more exposure. It's much worse than just satellites. The internet is loaded with more information about each of us than most of us suspect.

Foreshadowing's Penumbra (Poetry) - 12/27/2014 11:21:04 AM
Like awaiting death… The flowers being prepared every day for its eventual coming. Ron

Eye Sketching (Poetry) - 12/27/2014 4:26:33 AM
How healing this alternate world… And how fascinating your pieces are. Love the graphic, too.

Eye Sketching (Poetry) - 12/26/2014 9:09:29 AM
One thing about being alone is that one can quietly contemplate visions like this. In contrast, those that spend their time in rowdy, loud environments, constantly talking on the phone or texting, that have to be doing something every minute of the waking hour, are missing the essence. The second to the last stanza is the most telling… "Never succumbing to reality's disappointments." Ron

Holiday Dangers (Poetry) - 12/25/2014 9:51:23 AM
It disturbs me greatly that our economy is based on consumption. Couldn't it be based on something else, like compassion? Yesterday, a good friend told me that she had 100 presents under the tree with glee. She has two grown sons and a couple of grandchildren. At least she just bought herself a Smart Car, showing that she's downsizing a bit from that Mercedes SUV. As usual… A good one… A sleeper… A keeper. Ron

Holiday Dangers (Poetry) - 12/24/2014 2:55:15 PM
I like the term: stuff-junkies. It's totally obsessive and mandatory materialism of the 21st Century. Society has cultivated the lowest common denominator of human behavior. It's tough to watch. Thank you!!!

Torture's Toxic Contagion (Poetry) - 12/24/2014 1:18:05 PM
This is a difficult subject to tackle and to find the right words that uncover the anger, reveal the hypocrisy, that unblunt the sensibilities, and that seek out a commonality of human decency. You have done them all...and brilliantly.

Holiday Dangers (Poetry) - 12/24/2014 11:23:27 AM
thought provoking

Blowing Off Steam (Poetry) - 12/24/2014 7:06:01 AM
From your lead it seems that you have posted this elsewhere to mixed reviews. I have found that those who tend to, "go off the rails," sometimes have something quite pithy to say. Unfortunately, I find they are often very loud and repetitive, losing the essence of their fine madness. I like the poem for the truth that it's telling. I guess most people would like to put thoughts like this out of their mind. Are they afraid that they will go there as well? Ron

Blowing Off Steam (Poetry) - 12/24/2014 3:20:11 AM
I've always thought that being a little mad was a good thing for me, but if you listened to my spouse she'd tell you that I'm Totally Mad! (but she says she loves me anyway.)

Torture's Toxic Contagion (Poetry) - 12/23/2014 2:09:03 PM
Chilling words of the consequences of using torture for political purposes. To paraphrase, "They who do not learn from history, are doomed to repeat it." As a result of the atrocities of two world wars in the 20th century, the United States came to the understanding that there were certain humane ways to treat prisoners. When people in the highest levels of the government condone brutal, unlawful behavior for their own purposes, we have to examine our government and change it for the better. Ron

Torture's Toxic Contagion (Poetry) - 12/23/2014 6:05:25 AM
Very creepy, effective, painting. Powerfully scripted imagery, too, Odin. Things are unraveling quickly out there. Frighteningly so. The lunatic scale used to be 1-10... now it's 1-99 and striving for even more numbers. Your razor-edged words slice into the gristle of the disease and leave this reader shaking his head in agreement. Well done. Peace to you...

Torture's Toxic Contagion (Poetry) - 12/23/2014 3:10:35 AM
Are we so glib with our conscience That we think “out of sight, out of mind” is an escape? This so sadly fits so many arenas today.

Torture's Toxic Contagion (Poetry) - 12/23/2014 2:44:01 AM
thought provoking read

Escaping the Clouds (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 2:45:50 PM
Whether we regard the path of obstacles or embrace the "teachers" along the way... hmmm I like your perceptions Odin! Be well, Christine

Escaping the Clouds (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 9:51:29 AM
An analogy using a treacherous path to describe life ahead. And very well done, I might add. Ron

Escaping the Clouds (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 3:33:18 AM
like the graphic and the words too

Incessant Bubbles (Poetry) - 12/21/2014 9:33:42 AM
It never does and, speaking from my own experiences, it never will (get easy). Your phrase: "I got into my “Go fuck yourself” mood. Readying up my usual protective…" I do know this mood well and, sadly, too much of my life has been subjugated by this frame of mind. The reader gets a slice of insight into the writers thought-processes and personality here, Odin... the overall gist made me laugh. For some peculiar reason it brought to mind one of your many memorable scenes in 'Echosis'. Stoddard smiled ear to ear. "Oh, yes, Teach. A nice ride in the park." Experiencing a sudden mood change, he asked, "Could you help my young friend into the carriage. He's drunk." Peace to you....

Accepting 1+3=1 (Poetry) - 12/21/2014 9:33:38 AM
thought provoking read

Incessant Bubbles (Poetry) - 12/21/2014 9:14:36 AM
inspiring, tomorrow you just might buy 3 burgers and share 2 with friends

Accepting 1+3=1 (Poetry) - 12/21/2014 8:51:29 AM
Aloneness can be devastating or it can be enlightening… It depends upon the strength of the individual involved. As for being down and out in Manhattan. That can be a very devastating realization. I like being alone. But I need a stimulating environment around me. I can't imagine four walls, a chipped coffee cup, and watching three ants for creative stimulation. That would be a bit like my room at the Y in 1966. Dreary. Ron

Accepting 1+3=1 (Poetry) - 12/21/2014 3:37:14 AM
Food for Thought, and Well Done.

One's Own Slipstream (Poetry) - 12/20/2014 8:08:07 AM
Slipstream... much in the subtext here that this reader can associate with. Also a great word for delineating the backwash of a persons forward momentum. It can also aptly address a position someone can take behind someone whose momentum they want to take advantage of. How many leeches in our lives have fallen into our hard-fought slipstreams to take advantage of us. Peace and health; IMO two of the most important attributes in a person's life. Always your work, Odin, is an honest, and unpretentious, exploration of mind and heart and so appreciated by this reader. Thank you for all your intelligent kindness the last few years. Peace to you...

One's Own Slipstream (Poetry) - 12/20/2014 6:04:47 AM
well done, enjoyed the read

One's Own Slipstream (Poetry) - 12/20/2014 5:21:56 AM
This appears to be life as a jet setter. I was never able to move fast enough to create a slip stream. I knew only hurdles, obstacles, and back stabbers so plentiful that it has been hand-to-hand combat all the way. But the finish line appears to be the same. We're both exhausted. Nirvana? Maybe.

One's Own Slipstream (Poetry) - 12/20/2014 3:35:29 AM
Finally the peace… Discovering one’s own slipstream, And I think well worth the long ride.

One's Own Slipstream (Poetry) - 12/19/2014 11:59:12 AM
Another "life in a poem" that you do so well. This one focuses on the accelerated pace of modern life where we don't take "paths" anymore, but move quickly into the "fast lanes" of the freeway that life offers to us. The key to your poem is the word, "free." It means taking the easy way out and eventually turns into a nightmare, until we go back to the slow lane of just walking paths. Ron

One's Own Slipstream (Poetry) - 12/18/2014 5:51:48 PM
Are you sure you did not read my unwritten biography (probably more likely to be my autobiography)? Well done, Odin. Love and peace to you, Regis

Track One, Side Two (Poetry) - 12/18/2014 9:25:08 AM
Odin This is sensational poetry! So much wisdom and reality checks woven into this very well written poem! I enjoyed reading your words, thanks for sharing your LP of life. Peace, love and light, Amber

Track One, Side Two (Poetry) - 12/18/2014 2:00:47 AM
well done, well said

Track One, Side Two (Poetry) - 12/17/2014 4:00:54 AM
Love your father's birthday message; it's well worth contemplating.

Winged Lessons (Poetry) - 12/14/2014 5:22:15 PM
~Odin~ Beautiful black opal wings ~ magestic this of God's creatures. Superbly penned dear friend. Lady Mary Ann

Winged Lessons (Poetry) - 12/14/2014 10:33:13 AM
Just finished editing a book where a crow played the part of a spirit of an ancestor, constantly guiding the coming of age of a new beginning. You are right. We give birds and animals little credit for their innate intelligence. But sometimes, they surprise us with their ability to understand us better than we understand ourselves. Ron

Winged Lessons (Poetry) - 12/14/2014 9:55:08 AM
Nicely conceptualized, Odin, and a great image. "With pompous cawing at a resting traveler, As if he didn’t belong?" Michele and I have colorful and layered experience in this area. Birds (Ravens, Hawks, Falcons, Eagles, Owls) have always played a mysterious role in our lives; especially in the areas verging on the meta-physical. I have come to understand a Raven's vociferousness around humans as its desire to communicate and share. At times even offering a portend, to hikers or travelers, of what may be approaching on the near horizon. Blessings of peace and wisdom to you...

Winged Lessons (Poetry) - 12/14/2014 7:15:25 AM
c'est magnifique!

Winged Lessons (Poetry) - 12/14/2014 5:51:42 AM
Odin, Excellent! I could see the crow in my mind and see the shadow ever menacing. Love and blessings, ~Linda

Winged Lessons (Poetry) - 12/14/2014 3:19:49 AM
Poe's Raven is one of my favorites - and I like listening to both ravens and crows talk - they often make more sense than some people I know do. PS: The 115th Annual Christmas Bird Count starts today, and I'll be out counting birds.

Endangered Trailblazing (Poetry) - 12/13/2014 11:27:35 AM
I'm surprised no one has commented. I see a journey here from boyhood to climbing the ivory towers of Metropolis. We are all standing on the shoulders of giants and that will carry on through this century. Let us hope that this climbing onto the accomplishments of the past does not leave us too far from the muddy earth of our origin. Ron

Holiday's Roadside Wreckage (Poetry) - 12/10/2014 3:57:21 AM
Until we take the time to recognize and live compatibly With who we really are. How so very true, for all of us.

Holiday's Roadside Wreckage (Poetry) - 12/9/2014 12:11:00 PM
Another great analogy between the highway and life during holidays. From my limited life I always thought that "black ice" was the kind of thing found in urban freeways, particularly the Chicago Loop, when the oil leaked on the road so badly, that even a little bit of rain would cause the highways to become ice like from the black deposits of petroleum that had built up. I guess, today, with all the clunkers taken off the road, there isn't much black goo on the roads anymore, so now we call ordinary white ice… Black. The irony would be if that could be transferred to complexion. When everyone becomes black by complexion, it will be much harder to profile humans and that problem will go away. But as long as we describe a good economy in terms of consumption, roadkill will continue unabated. Ron

Holiday's Roadside Wreckage (Poetry) - 12/9/2014 11:28:39 AM
so true, an excellent piece Odin most interesting reading peace be with you Merry Christmas William

Crackle-Barrel Oracle (Poetry) - 12/8/2014 8:28:22 AM
Many of Santayana's cautions come to mind from your poem. I like this one: "The world is a perpetual caricature of itself; at every moment it is the mockery and the contradiction of what it is pretending to be."

Inner child Awakening (Poetry) - 12/8/2014 7:51:41 AM
I don't know about inner children in my dreams or not, but in my life I hope that I can approach new ideas with the openness of a child before I judge their worth. I judge this poem worthy. Ron

Inner child Awakening (Poetry) - 12/8/2014 3:47:32 AM
I always listen to my inner child - and I hope he never leaves.

Crackle-Barrel Oracle (Poetry) - 12/7/2014 10:47:56 AM
if I hadn't read Richard, I guess I would've missed the irony in your crackle (?) barrel wisdom. Just like the boom towns of the turn of the last century created by rich despots, we are about to repeat history and bring the captains of industry down to earth once more. What will be the ghost towns of the future? Only the carver knows and only the canine acknowledges like he always does. The answer lies in the box of chocolates. Or is it, the cookie jar. There are no cracker barrels left except by the sides of the interstate highways, selling nostalgia. Ron

Crackle-Barrel Oracle (Poetry) - 12/7/2014 7:30:23 AM
Image brought a chuckle. A 'crumb-faced good boy' indeed. Haha "Eroded stick now but a sliver Awaits to discover its purpose As whetstone awaits the blade." The subtext in this stanza speaks volumes to me; not only about each individual but also about this once great nation struggling to discover its purpose once again and get its edge back. Alas. Love the layers of meaning in this. Sadly most readers will never see it. Your work, Odin, remains vibrant, insightful, and on the edge of poetic cognizance. Enjoyed. All the best to you...

Crackle-Barrel Oracle (Poetry) - 12/7/2014 4:04:03 AM
"A mutt’s whine suggests acceptance" Mutts are very wise. And your photo looks just like one of my wise old mutts named Tater.

Eyeless Masks (Poetry) - 12/6/2014 3:38:06 PM
Intelligent and cutting. Your unique insights into the human condition oblige the reader to think outside of the box. Most won't though because most are just "swirling caldrons of platitudes"... In carpentry this telling image would be known as sinking a 16 penny nail in one swipe. Well done, Odin. Enjoyed.

Eyeless Masks (Poetry) - 12/6/2014 8:53:05 AM
Another tour de force in poetry! While giving us a grave warning about the danger of those masquerading about us, you come up with lines like, "bungeed atop slippery slopes," and wow me. Ron

Love's Symphonic Passion (Poetry) - 12/5/2014 10:39:17 AM
As spotted it better than I. I saw it as a coming of age into understanding what love really is. Unfortunately so many cannot seem to make that higher bonding. Ron

Love's Symphonic Passion (Poetry) - 12/5/2014 4:35:05 AM
A marvelous musical metaphor!

Recycled Wisdom Lost (Poetry) - 12/4/2014 1:38:30 PM
There's a lot here beyond just the recycling of "stuff." We stand on the shoulders of all history and should not discard it if it doesn't fit our current lifestyle. For there is much to learn from history's lessons. So many civilizations lost when they outgrew their resources. The earth itself, is at that point today. Yet, we consider "the economy" to be the constant recycling, and heavy wasting, of earthly resources, as though there were no end. Ron

Recycled Wisdom Lost (Poetry) - 12/4/2014 6:34:05 AM
Inequities and injustices permeate the land at every level from the opulence of homes and wealth accounts down to the smallest morsel left for the trash collector. It is obvious to the discerning mind and oblivious to others. Even solutions are disregarded. How dare we call this civilization!

Recycled Wisdom Lost (Poetry) - 12/4/2014 5:21:14 AM
One of the most obscene songs of any season is the one with lines "A child, a child, shivering in the cold - let us bring Him silver and gold, let us bring him silver and gold" ... a blanket, or a warm embrace, seems so much more appropriate.

Surviving the Candle (Poetry) - 12/3/2014 10:36:53 AM
A poignant poem. The fact is, this isn't the first, or even the last, forced migration of people because of the brutality of war. Africa has probably seen more of this than anywhere else. I don't agree with having these people of similar culture and language "taken in" by other countries. In the past, when the dogs of war are over and the victors have taken their spoils, the civilian population can return and rebuild. I can cite Lebanon as a good example of that. When people end up in far-off countries like the Jewish people did in World War II, they tend to assimilate, making it much harder to go back. Ron

Surviving the Candle (Poetry) - 12/3/2014 9:40:03 AM
My heart grieves as well. The whole thing gets mind-numbing. Yes... 'there's something more than wrong with the picture.' - sadly the subtext (if you will) feels malefic but remains elusive. A stage is being set for....

Surviving the Candle (Poetry) - 12/2/2014 5:02:07 PM
So sad a situation, makes me feel sad, but I don't let it bother me to the extent I cannot survive.

The Revelation of Winter's Warmth (Poetry) - 12/2/2014 8:24:15 AM
A very unique way of expressing winter's worth. Four seasons provide for a much wider variety of life and life spans. Where I live winter is much less dramatic and the seasons mix with the fluctuating daily temperature. Shifting gears a bit, I was reminded of the time not too long ago, when it rained heavily in Death Valley. Suddenly there were flowers that had been seen for a very long time. For the creatures that eked out an existence there, it was a cornucopia of of abundance. For much of the northern United States, winter provides for an abundant spring most years. Nature's work is a glory to behold. Survival of the fittest reaps great benefits. Ron

Apathy's Remedy (Poetry) - 12/1/2014 9:49:27 AM
As usual, you have written well about a subject that never goes away. I recall in college in our church group with very low participation, how we worried about civil rights and the Vietnam War, two issues we were very much involved in. Strangely, they got done in spite of Michael Jackson's man in the middle, going nowhere, doing nothing. Lately I've been bombarded by hundreds of new causes being shepherded by ordinary people, asking for funding. They all report one interesting thing: their efforts are succeeding! Yet, they always need more funding and more, followers. All I can gather is that it doesn't take much more than an Internet presence these days, regardless of apathy, to get things done in a positive way. If only the U.S. Congress could figure that out. But then, we have to vote, and that is just too painful for most folks to do. Ron

Apathy's Remedy (Poetry) - 12/1/2014 4:35:03 AM
Apathy - perhaps the greatest malady of the modern era - and the saddest - and it seems to be spreading ever faster these days.

Apathy's Remedy (Poetry) - 11/30/2014 9:50:58 PM
This reminds me of the old joke-- Professor to one of his students: "Which is worse, ignorance or apathy?" Student: "I don't know, and I don't care."

Time's Echo (Poetry) - 11/29/2014 11:45:09 AM
I do not find myself contemplating such lofty things as duality. My mind is either filled with wonder about what is going on around me, or stories that I want to get down in electronic code for the world to judge much later. I am not as accomplished a writer as Jan and you. Perhaps it is because I can't follow the premise of your poem. Ron

Time's Echo (Poetry) - 11/28/2014 11:38:52 AM
So good, this one, Odin. How wonderful that we all will reside on one of those waves, perhaps as sound or some special color, perhaps to cross the line of Creativity's sight or land upon Its cheek and lend a spark down to the future. At least to become a tiny part of an ever expanding possibility.

Thanksgiving Versus Thankstaking (update) (Poetry) - 11/25/2014 12:52:16 PM
I take joy in your wit and wordsmithing, Odin, but oh-ho-ho how depressing the stark truth of your message. Trying as it might to stare down its worthy opponent. It nevertheless stands tall for the feast of the fittest, Knowing that only with tempered rumination of words and avoidance of gristled ear Can it win back the hearts of the diet-wary gluttons And the indecisive ringside hopefuls surging at the doors. ... I was thinking that these graphic lines might have many applications in these turbulent political times. xx

Thanksgiving Versus Thankstaking (update) (Poetry) - 11/25/2014 9:03:09 AM
Your satire is screaming! Many of the hard working class workers' won holidays to enjoy their families and rest and recuperate have fallen prey to the 24/7 mentality. Partly brought about by the simple initiation of electricity and lighting, eventually leading to to the complex and multinational Internet driven world of today, where nano seconds count for the money changers of the world, holidays have changed. For the workers, it is a whittling away of their freedom that they've become so accustomed to that they don't even vote to try to change anything. Gobble, gobble… Indeed! Ron

Thanksgiving Versus Thankstaking (update) (Poetry) - 11/24/2014 6:24:51 PM
Unfortunately this poem is full of truth Fortunately not everyone is under this roof. Gobble or Google? Too much of ANYTHING is NOT a good thing! Thank you Odin. Happy Thanksgiving! John Michael

X Continues Marking Many Spots (Poetry) - 11/18/2014 11:36:51 AM
You have traveled nearly a light year from that ignoramus Midwestern origin. But it looks like you got stuck in the Big Apple and never were able to travel to those surreal foreign destinations that created high cinema art. Or not. I was exposed to the same influences while sticking it out in the Midwest for heading for the California sun and hippie heaven where I remained quite "square." A very revealing bit of biography in a poem. And very well expressed… One of your best. Ron

X Continues Marking Many Spots (Poetry) - 11/17/2014 4:01:47 AM
Growing up, learning the hard way Probably the best way to learn. Enjoyed this piece very much.

Imagining the Unimaginable (revisited) (Poetry) - 11/16/2014 12:19:41 PM
The unimaginable I can imagine and do so each day. It works for me should work for others too. Life isn't difficult, life is precious and each new day I imagine something good is going to come by me.

Reliving Upside Down (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 10:29:39 AM
Very personal and poignant. In the beginning, life is all up. After a while, it starts down. That's when we start to visit the upside of things. Ron

Reliving Upside Down (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 5:37:50 AM
Thanks for helping me keep life in perspective. I just let go of the notion that my 'activism' has had any real effect on historic events, even within my own family. You help me, this morning, to smile and say, "it is okay ... really."

Dodging Hate's Siren-Shriek (Poetry) - 11/14/2014 3:47:23 PM
People like to talk about evening the score. War never evens the score, war, to quote Edwin Starr's lyrics . . . "War, huh, yeah / What is it good for / Absolutely nothing / Uh-huh / War, huh, yeah / What is it good for / Absolutely nothing / Say it again, y'all . . . The thing is, and the problem is that we never go into war to win anymore. Let's see, Japan hasn't made war after their war machine was shut down. And Germany, same thing. We go into war more for political gains than to keep corporations solvent, although some of that is going on. War!

Dodging Hate's Siren-Shriek (Poetry) - 11/14/2014 8:52:50 AM
Yes, the vivid description of what it is to be, "boots on the ground," is testament why we should not let hate get away from us and join into the continual war machine that is the focus of the military-industrial complex. The monetary survival of these companies requires that we maintain war continuously. Once everyone wakes up and discovers that hatred does not solve anything, we are on the way to healing the world. Ron

Dodging Hate's Siren-Shriek (Poetry) - 11/14/2014 4:55:29 AM
If it is possible to say that such a rendering of a soldiers plight could be claimed as beautiful, then this is it. Those, who wield pens that, it was once said, are so much mightier than the sword (or bayonet or gun or missile) have the freedom to paint pictures that are vivid enough to make changes ...and so, paint we must. Rx

Unfinished Life (Poetry) - 11/13/2014 9:00:00 AM
Quite philosophical and instructive. I think the most important thing is to mirror the book, Lust for Life. For if one doesn't, then one is merely fodder for the population explosion… Just a baby maker that is disposable in war or under medical experimentation. Ron

Ubiquitous Shadows (Poetry) - 11/12/2014 8:04:24 AM
While shadows are welcome in the heat of the desert, they can be depressing in a large city where the chance for sunlight to reach the streets is much lessened. Those mean streets can also be depressing. Hence, the tone of your poem. I've also been intrigued by shadows that are following the bright stars and making sure that these stars shine even brighter… The unseen administrative assistants, valets and others who wait in the shadow of service. Ron

Ubiquitous Shadows (Poetry) - 11/12/2014 5:21:26 AM
Sinister and illuminating, Odin. Unfortunately, all too many hear that ohm, the one which so resists the brightness and gives too much value to guilt and remorse. And yet without the play of glare and shadow we, like the Earth, would be barren and lifeless as the Moon. You so often show us how flexible and durable this Chinese opera forces us to be.

Ubiquitous Shadows (Poetry) - 11/11/2014 1:45:04 PM
Somewhat histrionic (this piece) but I was caught by these two words, "garroting shadows", which develop an interesting image of depression strangling you. I explored this in my piece: 'Black Dog'. A subject easy to relate to - especially for anyone who has lived past 50 on this planet. Enjoyed.

Ubiquitous Shadows (Poetry) - 11/11/2014 12:56:12 PM
The shadows we accumulate and jump at gather a gloom that is both within and without, making the world a crowded place for those who just want to run and hide. It can be very oppressive to not even be able to shake our own shadow when it seems to hang at our shoulder and condemn. This is a very insightful view of depression, Odin. I guess Peter Pan's shadow-write might be of the more playful variety! :) xx

Menu Of Days (Poetry) - 11/11/2014 10:29:30 AM
I have only been there three or four times, but you have described well the menu of days that Manhattan provides for those that venture daily into the streets. Ron

Menu Of Days (Poetry) - 11/10/2014 2:59:55 PM
enjoyed this a lot

Bus Stop Contender (Poetry) - 11/9/2014 10:41:05 AM
You brought to light a thought I had about those who are avid sports fans. Most of these are the ones that retire to their screening room and develop their fantasy of being a ballplayer (contender) that they never were by idolizing their favorite players and teams, never having to get into the game and play themselves… Essentially living in the past. Ron

Unspoken Words (Poetry) - 11/9/2014 4:24:04 AM
As with Ron below, your nostalgic piece brought back many wonderful memories for me as well.

Unspoken Words (Poetry) - 11/8/2014 9:44:58 AM
And perhaps it is this set of youthful experiences that sharpened the eye and skills of the latter day poet that emerged in full regalia, thence to mesmerize a waiting audience in boundless moments of sheer pleasure.

Unspoken Words (Poetry) - 11/8/2014 9:01:43 AM
Brought back memories of my early childhood, and even memories of my grandfather who grew up on a homestead of his father, loving smoked meat and having to deal with the dead of winter. Ron

Language Quest (Poetry) - 11/8/2014 5:42:43 AM
Fresh and clouded, as Nature intended. I like that 'verbal tundra' - melting and releasing the methane of change. Excellent.

Unspoken Words (Poetry) - 11/7/2014 10:06:01 PM
Good memories of home life of the past - that are always good to have!

Language Quest (Poetry) - 11/7/2014 3:45:53 PM
It seems most want a quick headline, an obvious titled email and off to the next event.

Life's Warranty (Poetry) - 11/7/2014 6:53:38 AM
I always insist on a "lifetime warranty." Of course, we all know what that means. It means betting that the owner of the warranty will not die before we do. In either way we lose, and before we do, Ed has shown us what we have in store before our warranty runs out. Ron

Life's Warranty (Poetry) - 11/6/2014 2:05:23 PM
Otherwise…we may never live to welcome arthritis, cataracts, rotting teeth, angina, tinnitus, thyroiditis, ulcers, kidney failure, varicose veins, shingles, skin cancer, sleep apnea, vertigo, arrhythmia, Peyronie’s disease, dysuria, enlarged prostate, fallen arches, and dementia. But who's complaining? Aren’t extended warranties wonderful? :)

Another Morning After (Poetry) - 11/6/2014 10:20:10 AM
A poem for our time. It is ironic that we struggle so much with one another as though we do not wish to find happiness. I recall an interview I had with the owner of an environmental consulting firm the day after the Reagan/Carter referendum on Carter's failure in Iran. As we ate lunch, he was despondent because he knew that many of the projects that he was working on would be canceled. In his office, he showed me a picture of him in the back of the canoe with President Carter in the front. A scene I had seen on television. As a result, he could not offer me work. At the same time, I interviewed with Lockheed Marietta in a quality control position. They asked me to help them achieve "zero defects," a concept that I despised because of its wasteful obsession with perfection. Other interviewees were ecstatic because Reagan had won and they had a large order of C-130 Hercules from the country of Iraq. I didn't take the job at Lockheed. Ron

A Florist's Lament (Poetry) - 11/3/2014 12:04:18 PM
An unusual subject beautifully displayed. I hope and wonder at the botanists work on transforming beautiful wild plants into commercial operations requiring massive doses of fertilizer and who knows what else, just to create a passing fancy and adorn the homes and palaces of the rich and frivolous. Rose parades and spring flower shows attract money and extravagance with a regard for the beautiful flower trampled by the roadside or gassed by city pollution or evermore powerful vehicles belching deadly gases. Ron

A Florist's Lament (Poetry) - 11/3/2014 7:39:06 AM
Odin~ Aura of beauty the Stargazer Lily radiates. I worked in a flower shop for many years. We often wondered how our floral arrangements faired when they left the shop. Natures caring grace to the seeds grow into beautiful flowers. Truly appreciate your write Odin. Lady Mary Ann

Tinsel Threads (Poetry) - 11/2/2014 6:38:03 PM
well done poignant read

Shadow-Chasing (Poetry) - 11/2/2014 11:21:03 AM
Like many of your poems of late, this one has a gloomy cast that is fitting of Halloween. The seeming futility of life as a whole, when I look out and see all the glory that nature has honored us with and our need to protect and cherish it. While many run from the shadow of death while entertaining it, death is a natural part of life and therefore, to be respected but not, necessarily, fear its coming. But then, like Thoreau so insightfully observed, "Most men lead lives of quiet desperation." Fortunately, I don't. Ron

Shadow-Chasing (Poetry) - 11/2/2014 5:31:02 AM
well said

Shadow-Chasing (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 3:39:07 PM
Intriguing food for thought. Rx

Ceiling-Stare (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 12:57:54 PM
You have reflected many an old soldier's plight after returning to what he thought was a peaceful life only to be tortured by his memories. Oh how we grind up our young for the glory of patriotism as long as it is they who serve us rather than us who must make the sacrifice for "our freedom" and glory? A most poignant and penetrating piece of work… One of your best. Ron

Ceiling-Stare (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 10:06:55 AM
It's a sad, and seemingly hopeless, state-of-affairs, Odin. And no matter what the system does it never seems to get any better. "Reflecting the dead life of ‘round-the-clock TV." Man... did you hit this nail on the head. My wife and I are shocked at how revolting so much of TV has become. Thank God for books, and audio books. Peace...

Ceiling-Stare (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 7:06:42 AM
Your message is less shrouded in metaphor perhaps because PTSD is itself disguised by the surroundings that give rise to its presence. It is a condition not limited to the warrior, but to anyone whose sensibilities have been battered without understanding or recourse.

Ceiling-Stare (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 3:43:34 AM
Heart-breaking reality. Sometimes I wonder if those that do not return aren't the lucky ones. Rx

Seek As I Seek... (Poetry) - 10/30/2014 7:44:16 PM
Very provocative. A writer might hope, in all they write, that their words would stir a reader beyond their own perceptions. A good wordsmith can. You have for me. Thank you.

Time-pieces (Poetry) - 10/30/2014 7:38:41 PM
I love the phrase "while surviving our adult impatience". It expresses what we so often give up as we leave childhood, a patience for being in the moment, not caught up in a crosswind of time. "It's joy in just being" indeed! I like this poem very much.

Seek As I Seek... (Poetry) - 10/30/2014 6:01:42 AM
A fine surgical declaration, Kent. Creative types/writers (IMO) are all like bodies of water. To remain vibrant there must be an inlet, to encourage circulation and cleansing, and an outlet, to allow a purging. Without this writers become like stagnant ponds, or dead seas, and more interested in a tweeting shallow acceptance from others of like mind. In addition to Franck's great quote: We, as a fraternity of kindred spirits, have an obligation to use all the tools and colors at our disposal to explore and express what comes through us. This despite how readers cry and complain because they don't understand, or they can't cogitate outside the box of their own self-imposed limitations. I think it's an embarrassment when readers (who claim to be writers and poets) cry because they don't understand the more advanced and beautiful words and the more forward thinking elements of philology. Never rest your quill poet. Regards...

Seek As I Seek... (Poetry) - 10/30/2014 2:54:43 AM
Write On - Indeed!

Seek As I Seek... (Poetry) - 10/30/2014 2:46:27 AM
keepn writing

Bus Stop Dreams (Poetry) - 10/28/2014 6:28:29 PM
Constructive quiet time is very hard to find these days. At least for this reader. To forget about a computer for a week might be nice.

Love's Ghost Town (Poetry) - 10/28/2014 6:21:19 PM
I think we all hope love is restless enough to tumble forward and perpetually move! I reckon!

Appetite of Dreams (Poetry) - 10/28/2014 6:16:12 PM
To clear your mind is a deep state of relaxation right before a sleep state. Reminds me of old school thespian prep work. Cool poem.

Appetite of Dreams (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 1:57:53 AM
'Imagination yet to savor' - marvelous!

Appetite of Dreams (Poetry) - 10/26/2014 5:41:12 AM
Nicely conceived. Good imagery with some mysterious allusions for this reader as well. REM is certainly a reference to rapid eye movement or paradoxical sleep, but your mention (in the same stanza) of the fourth letter of the Greek alphabet - Delta - and the eighth - Theta - leaves a wispy trail of mystery for the reader. Enjoyed this. Hope all is well. r

Electric Sugar Highs (Poetry) - 10/25/2014 9:32:43 AM
The perils of seeking fame and fortune. And I wonder what happens when they get there, whether it be to the top of the list or just an impersonation. It is strange what drives some people to adore what they don't even know. This one strikes home for so many, whether they follow their favorite sports team or join a cult to emulate something they don't even understand. The images are striking and as clear as neon and sugar highs. Kudos! Ron

Tears Hitching Rides (Poetry) - 10/24/2014 7:29:42 AM
I don't think we can control our tears. I know I can't. They come spontaneously with a certain kind of emotion as an expression of sadness. Some of us have more sadness than others. I rarely feel enough sadness to cry. But when I do, it's more of a release then a omen. I have noted that people with brain injury, dementia, and stroke, tend to cry much more over every little thing that people without. Perhaps their emotions are much more on edge and more easily upset, leading to the flow of tears. I think it's better not to have any regrets in life, because I'm sure as one ages, they would come back to haunt and cause tears to flow. Ron

Tears Hitching Rides (Poetry) - 10/24/2014 3:13:53 AM
Do tears come as a result of pain? Or does pain come as a result of tears? A most profound question

Tears Hitching Rides (Poetry) - 10/23/2014 7:46:05 PM
What poet from any age would not want to be the one who penned just the second verse?

Clickety-Clack (Poetry) - 10/23/2014 12:24:51 PM
I don't think anybody misses the train coming by close to the house, shaking it, at all hours the night and day with that clickety clack most pronounced along with the occasional whistle and the smoke, the belching black smoke that covered everything in darkness even after the rains came and it wouldn't wash off. You've written a nice, sentimental piece, about the romance of the rail, but I can't wait until they have a train between Houston and Dallas that makes it in one half hour so that all that traffic on I 45 will be reduced and the skies will be less cluttered with daily commuters. Ron

Love's Ghost Town (Poetry) - 10/21/2014 2:46:58 AM
the fortunate few know there is no beginning or end to love. It just is… These are indeed, the very fortunate.

Lifer Maps (Poetry) - 10/20/2014 11:18:52 AM
What I gathered from this is that it's never too late to change one's life plan when experience tells us that it's time. Ron

Cosmic Dust Perpetual (Poetry) - 10/19/2014 3:05:14 AM
Might We Ever Learn... I often seriously doubt that, these days. But I still like to sit quietly and observe ants at work - truly marvelous.

Lifer Maps (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 5:52:56 PM
Life is the experience! M.True

Bus Stop Dreams (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 5:51:30 PM
This is me too, always trying to distance self from self while coyly observing someone else's reality. Life incognito! M.True

'round My Neck (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 5:44:15 PM
That’s when the shape changed, Weight got heavier, Ounces went to pounds, Pulling my head down, My eyes seeing less and less sky. Brilliant! M.True

Rainy Day Watercolors (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 5:41:22 PM
MacArthur Park? The ink on my printer does the same thing. And we still take life so seriously... M.True

Body Parts (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 5:37:53 PM
Shades of Asimov and Bradbury! We are on the fringe of a corporeal reality that once again belongs to the rich and powerful. Those same aristocrats who were fortunate enough to be able to wear all of the fanciest of clothes. I wonder how much I could get for a kidney these days? M. True

Virtual Trust (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 5:32:05 PM
In a world where even our loved ones are victim to the fickle nature of reality, this 21st century life gives us little to grasp and less to hold fast to... M.True

Today’s Madness Becoming Tomorrow’s…. (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 5:28:21 PM
To be in a mind where the beauty of all imagined possibilities and the ugliness of all dire sins committed can free or forever break the gentile spirit of youth. Do we even consider such a state of fragile innocence anymore? I weep for the children... M.True

Dining On the Ship of Dreams (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 5:21:36 PM
Anything to do with food and sea going vessels has me from the get-go. This, a sweet fantasy. M.True

Playful Beyondness (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 5:18:06 PM
What are we waiting for? Revelations may stir our imagination but to want to believe there is something more is nothing more than an excuse to disregard what is. M. True

The 1% Evening Prayer (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 5:13:41 PM
In a pig's eye - as the saying used to go... M.True

Carnivoricide (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 5:11:00 PM
Continues delivering putrefaction Smothered in the Air-Wick of deceit. How truly insane it is that we choose to destroy nature's sumptuous reality only to replace it with plastic and poison. M.True

Romance-Another Visit (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 5:05:49 PM
Romance is always a great topic and you have made me pause to reflect once more one one of the finer things this life has had to offer. M.True

Pocket Fuzz And... (Poetry) - 10/16/2014 5:01:34 PM
Another adventure in the thrift shop. It is a reasonable thing to imagine the past, the grand balls and Christmas parties and the accompanying gowns and tuxedos. There is the the history of style to consider too and of course the question of who died and left a spouse or family member to deal with clothes no longer needed. M.True

'round My Neck (Poetry) - 10/13/2014 2:44:29 AM
I think you speak for most of us who travel long distances and only go a short way.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.