AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: James Boyle, iDr. Ronald Bissell, iJ.J. Snow, iPaddy Bostock, iAllen Smith, iSu Boddie, iShelley Costello, i
 
Home > P. G. Shriver
 

Recent Reviews for P. G. Shriver


Master Stinky Dances (Book) - 7/22/2009 10:57:40 AM
Congratulations, Gean. Love, peace, and continued success to you, Regis

The Last Gift (Short Story) - 12/26/2014 5:29:01 AM
You make the child-adult language link live. Touching.

The Last Gift (Short Story) - 12/25/2014 8:35:49 AM
Brought a tear to my eye… Priceless. My partner was very excited this morning. She wanted to know the difference between "award" and "reward." (She's Vietnamese and English as second language). I asked her why, and she explained. She was going to collect all the boxes from the several devices I bought for her, iPods, iPhones, and iPads, that she routinely recycles and sends to Vietnam to poor relatives and friends. And then she was going to put numbers on the boxes and rewards inside of $1 to $10 and then number them on the outside, 1 to 10. At a family party this afternoon, she was going to bring out all the boxes and lay them out, and then ask all the kids to draw a number. And then she would ask them all to go pick out the gift (unwrapped with product names on the sides of the boxes) with their number and not open it. Once they all got their gifts, she would ask them to open them all at once. She expected great laughter when everyone found there was only money in the boxes. She doesn't want me to go there… She says it's all the noise… But she really doesn't want to dress me and have me sit around listening to a lot of Vietnamese chatter. She's just that way. I really enjoy those kids and they speak English very well… Much better than she does. ;-) Anyway it's going to be a very Merry Christmas at that party with her joke presents. Merry Christmas to you, to yours, and your wonderful stories. Ron

Fancy's Tale (Short Story) - 12/6/2014 5:21:03 AM
Clever write. My son is such a cat lover, but I've finally thrown off the burden. Still stop for dogs, though. Fancy that.

The Tiger Ate My Goats (Short Story) - 8/21/2014 6:58:01 AM
Thanks, Ron! I'm trying to do good things for young people, but not getting much support for the project. That's okay. I don't give up easily! Have a nice weekend.

The Tiger Ate My Goats (Short Story) - 8/21/2014 6:43:24 AM
A wonderful story that may be drawn from your own experience. It struck home to me. I was 11th in my class, so had no worries about the scary proposition of being valedictorian. Like the girl in the story, I filled my senior year with extracurricular activities and work (setting pins at a bowling alley) so that I had little free time and had to manage my time very well. It was at times like that, fully occupied, that I got my best grades. Anyway, one day over the intercom, the principal announced that I had received the Kiwanis scholarship for the first two years of college. I had been college-bound and taking college prep courses since the 10th grade, so I looked at the scholarship as a big help along with the summer work that my twin brother and I got at a mobile home factory. We were well prepared for college and our financially strapped parents have to pay for two guys to go to college. I was a bit embarrassed to be called out like that over the intercom when everyone in the whole school could hear of my good fortune. While I was graduated, I'm sure there was some jealousy around from those it didn't get scholarships. You work helping young people is to be commended… Thank you! Ron

More (Short Story) - 7/21/2009 7:59:39 PM
A fine story, Gean. You had my attention right from the start and you held it. Love, success, and peace to you, Regis

More (Short Story) - 7/12/2009 3:01:40 AM
This story is simply superb! This is my own life! But the lady in this story got everything after twenty years but i didnt get it yet!

The Funeral in My Backyard (Short Story) - 4/6/2009 4:48:18 AM
Thanks, for sharing. I enjoyed this one. Mariann

The Funeral in My Backyard (Short Story) - 3/22/2009 12:38:14 PM
Very cleverly concocted, Gean. Thanks for sharing. Love and best wishes, Regis

Being a Children's Book Author in Today's Market (Article) - 5/21/2015 7:16:07 AM
I've only written two children's stories and I am told they are "too old for most children." Congratulations on your first place in the contest and this well-written and well thought out article. It seems like most everyone with children thinks that they can write and market a children's book. I don't think that is so. I recall my first and second grade experience being introduced to Dr. Seuss by our teacher taking us to the library and the children's books section. In my mind, since a picture is worth 1000 words, unless a children's book is brilliantly illustrated in a child's way of looking at things, words mean little. That's why Dr. Seuss's books were so successful, his illustrations. Good luck with your efforts to teach other children's authors the route to success. I'm still trying to figure out how to get teenyboppers to buy my latest YouTube hit… ;-) Ron

Brainwrecked (Article) - 4/15/2015 6:18:14 AM
"Brainwrecked" caught my attention, because I'd never heard that term before. But I was pleasantly surprised while reading to find that that "grueling drive" you had mentioned I had taken many times and know exactly what you mean. Mostly, it was from Houston to McAllen. I have only been to South Padre Island three times and find it hard to imagine that place being anything like Greenwich Village, a place I've also been. But I think it probably was for you, metaphorically speaking. I must congratulate you on securing a book signing. I only tried once and was unsuccessful. I have had some bookselling sessions and found that while my audience was a bit inattentive, those that did stop and talk were quite wonderful to share my books with. Because I have great difficulty signing my name, I actually fear having to sign many copies before a long line of fans… It is so physically difficult. If that happens, I may just have to get a stamp of my signature. My only children stories are few, two or three. Brian Bushytail and the Urban Forest was written about a squirrel living on the 288 forested corridor just south of downtown Houston. It is posted here and published in my first short story book. Ron

Brainwrecked (Article) - 4/15/2015 4:07:34 AM
Congratulations! A most touching entry. May the glow last a lifetime!

Terror in My Own Backyard (Article) - 12/23/2014 10:35:50 AM
I'm glad that you are able to write us about this unfortunate situation. Coincidentally, I just sent friends and family the latest article from David Waldman, GunFAIL LXXXII, recounting the last 100 gun incidents with injury of many kinds including 17 fatalities. Like you, I grew up with guns and hunting, and often found that many that when hunting used guns very irresponsibly. Now with so many pistols in the home for protection, many more incidents and accidents are happening. I understand how you feel about Nemo because my own dog, Jazz, was killed by a large dog. This was the year after a previous attack by the same dog had injured him severely and I told the owner to keep that dog under control. I posted the story here called, Jazz's Death. Ron

Terror in My Own Backyard (Article) - 12/23/2014 5:46:31 AM
So sorry Nemo's injury. Doesn't sound as if it was malicious (like 911) and with your calm and care I'm sure he will recover 'without knowing what hit him' ... you are the leader of his pack and your courage will see him through, just as it will in your neighborhood and nation. FDR was right about fear. Take a deep breath and have a wonderful holiday. Best, Jan

Free Stuff: Does it Really Work? (Article) - 7/17/2009 7:48:26 PM
Fascinating article, Gean. Whether fact or fiction, it kept my attention and kept me reading. And gave me something new to seriously consider. I'm a sucker for self-help information. I'd even try filling my own dental cavities if I thought I could do it without pain. (Okay. I'm just kidding.) Now, let me go check out your bookmarks. Richard

Christmas Waits (Poetry) - 1/11/2015 8:00:46 AM
Such a wise and poignant poem. Much enjoyed.

Christmas Waits (Poetry) - 12/23/2014 6:22:44 PM
Waiting if out for someone is very hard, it always doesn't even happen. Hopefully it will happen for you. Take care.

Christmas Waits (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 3:31:21 AM
poignant read

Christmas Waits (Poetry) - 12/21/2014 2:59:47 PM
the spirit of giving is the only true gift one would need ... well written sentiment

Christmas Waits (Poetry) - 12/20/2014 4:58:51 PM
If you will allow me, I will give you my empathy because I can relate. I wish for your wishes to be true. Love and all the best to you, Regis

Christmas Waits (Poetry) - 12/20/2014 3:30:05 AM
Hopeful poetry. Thoughtful as well, but to endure such a wait must be a private hell. Praying for you to have that Christmas that you have waited for so long. Peace, love and blessings, John Michael Domino

Christmas Waits (Poetry) - 12/19/2014 12:25:21 PM
I sense a sadness In your poem that cannot be denied. Ron

Christmas Waits (Poetry) - 12/19/2014 10:43:57 AM
Maybe, maybe this year, but don't give up. Nice and thoughtful.

Christmas Waits (Poetry) - 12/19/2014 7:12:37 AM
We all are still waiting for the message of Christmas to penetrate the hearts of humanity. Once again, we must wait another year. A skillfully told tale.

Instead (Poetry) - 12/17/2014 5:59:05 AM
I love this. Sad and melancholy though it is. It is REAL. And I don't agree with with Ron and Reg on this one. Don't go looking. It back fires and is not worth it.

Instead (Poetry) - 11/16/2014 10:48:08 AM
You share a timeless and universal theme through your verses. Bittersweetly harsh and real; and I do have to agree with Ron for the most part. Thank you for sharing. Love and best wishes, Regis

Instead (Poetry) - 11/16/2014 10:28:45 AM
Love starts out like a burning fire, and over time it burns down down to embers, the hottest part of love. Michael D.

Instead (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 9:36:34 AM
Love, inspiration, hope, and romance. You have covered a lot of ground. And so darned well. Perfect ending. Loved this!

Instead (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 9:10:30 AM
Every love goes through stages. You are writing about wanting to return that "hot" time when your love was young. Unfortunately, we grow older and circumstances change. There are tons of literature out there (and videos) on how to return that spark to your relationship. It's all money grabbing baloney. But I prefer to suggest something much more drastic. We are not monogamous by nature. I suggest you seek out romance and let this boring guy know so that he won't be blindsided by the revelation. And then go out and find romance with other men. You don't have to marry them and declare undying vows of togetherness… Just have fun and let them know that that's all you're after. You will be surprised how your attitude will change. But then again, if you are uptight about being with only "your love," you will continue to suffer as both of your lives continue to change in your codependent lifestyle of misery. Ron

Instead (Poetry) - 11/14/2014 11:30:30 AM
I'd love it to be this way with someone in my life- supposedly i'll just wait and grow old waiting.

My Tears (Poetry) - 1/8/2012 9:53:43 AM
Very beautiful and heart felt Gean! Wonderful thoughts of the loved ones that has moved on but those memories will last a life time! Thanks for sharing and many blessings to you and yours this new year! Debbie

My Tears (Poetry) - 2/16/2010 3:21:53 AM
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

My Tears (Poetry) - 2/13/2010 6:51:00 AM
A truly beautiful write, Gean...touching and tender words. Very well penned, my friend. Anna

My Tears (Poetry) - 2/12/2010 4:36:03 PM
"My tears are jut memories of a past, a present, a future event, of joy of death of life of pain of pride." Very moving indeed. Great work. AM

My Tears (Poetry) - 2/12/2010 2:33:50 PM
You poem's sentiments reach deeply into my soul and echo there, Gean. Sad, true, and very compelling are your verses. Love, peace, and best wishes to you, Regis

A Hair (Poetry) - 8/11/2009 9:49:54 AM
Very interesting. I agree that it's amazing what can trigger inspiration to write. Good job, Gean, nicely crafted poem. Anna

A Hair (Poetry) - 7/22/2009 10:56:09 AM
Isn't it amazing what can trigger inspiration? Thank you for sharing this interesting perspective, Gean. Love and best wishes, Regis

How Do You Say I Love You? (Poetry) - 7/18/2009 7:52:11 AM
This is a wonderful and insightful revelation of a grandmother's love. Of course, I'll never be a "grandma." But one thing I get to experience every day is being a great-grandfather. If and when that day comes, my friends, you'll find it a startling event. It makes you want to grab the newspaper and check the obituary column for surely you must be listed there somewhere. Thank you for sharing "How Do You Say I Love You?" This is great! Richard

The Lonely Chair (Poetry) - 5/8/2009 8:54:15 AM
Fabulous! The lyrical flow of your work is wonderful. I am a big fan of lyrical poetry and that is the style I write. Very nicely done indeed!

How Do You Say I Love You? (Poetry) - 5/8/2009 8:52:57 AM
LOVE it! I am the grandmother of a glorious 3-year old grandson. The questions! giggle...he is the light of my life! I really enjoyed this poem. I think every grandmother would.

Free Me (Poetry) - 5/8/2009 8:51:27 AM
Very nicely penned, Gean. I agree that most of us spend a lifetime searching for that place we fit. I believe true happiness and fulfillment come if we look hard enough and have the courage to keep on looking. Great job!

The Lonely Chair (Poetry) - 4/27/2009 2:18:39 PM
This is a great write you rhyme like I do. I will have to check but it reminds me of one of mine "The Old Rocking Chair" I will post it if it is not up yet. Check some of mine and let me know what you think. I will also be tracking you. Don

Free Me (Poetry) - 4/6/2009 5:43:18 AM
I love the way you have expressed your words. Mariann

The Lonely Chair (Poetry) - 3/22/2009 12:31:41 PM
A very fine and heartwarming story, Gean. There are some things that have a host of memories. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Mariah Said (Poetry) - 3/22/2009 12:28:27 PM
In my humble opinion, your poetry is very good, Gean. Thank you for sharing your gift. Love and blessings, Regis

How Do You Say I Love You? (Poetry) - 3/22/2009 12:26:01 PM
A lovely expression of love for your grandmother, Gean. Since my parents moved to Canada from France before I was born, I never did meet any of my grandparents. Thank you for sharing. Love and best wishes, Regis

Free Me (Poetry) - 3/22/2009 12:23:58 PM
Everybody busy or down. My world so cold, so lonely, Happiness rarely around, Somebody set me free. Embrace me with your warmth, Love me as I am, You express very powerful and meaningful sentiments via your verses in this poem, Gean. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you oh, and freedom too, Regis

The Lonely Chair (Poetry) - 8/24/2008 4:41:46 PM
What a sweet sweet dear story, so much it brought the happy tears, thanks for sharing this beaute, Take care Valerie

The Lonely Chair (Poetry) - 8/23/2008 9:19:43 AM
What a beautiful story. I hope that chair will be protected and I wish it would never be destroyed. You know things that mean a lot to us are usually those things that perhaps have no monetary value but emotionally a price tag could not be placed on them. This obviously is one of those. This is a powerful write.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.