AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Darryn Murphy, iSharon Burton, iKaren Epp, iDavid Snowdon, iMarie Wadsworth, iJeanne Miller, iAnn Frailey, i
 
Home > Alvin C. Romer
 

Recent Reviews for Alvin C. Romer


Awestruck Among The Literati (Short Story) - 4/4/2007 5:42:02 AM
"Authors in-the-flesh:" sounds like a topic that might have some commercial impact. By all means, let us hear more about your true-life encounters with famous authors.

Another Tribute to the Strong Black Woman (Article) - 9/21/2010 4:32:36 AM
interesting read

Whatever Happened to Innocence? (Article) - 7/3/2010 8:34:09 PM
This is a awesome article, I sometimes think of the same things especially when my grand kids call and say something to me that make me think, or when I use to live near them and they would do something totally wrong and I would say to them good thing you all were not alive when your great-grandmother was alive because you would have been getting off the floor asking your ? "How did I get down there", because then our grandparents and neighbors raised us and we were truly innocent because we did not experience what the kids of today experience, you mentioned marbles kids of today do not know what marbles is or jacks or hopscotch they never leave the video games and they surly never go outside. I also talk to several young ladies and try to explain to them about importance of raising kids correct and stop trying to be friends to them and be a mother and some of the things I hear as comments like why "I can not do that my kid will be angry" and my thought to that is Oh my God thank you for my upbringing, I also was raised by a single mom, and a great big mama and I never heard the excuses from my mom and she had less then single moms had now, and she try to involve me in all she could in the community and church, now they are not innocence at all because the streets have raise them not the village we had to raise us.

Giving Thanks In Spite Of... (Article) - 4/22/2010 6:43:42 AM
Dear Alvin. What a beautiful article. You are truly a beautiful soul and warrior for God the Father. Yes we all need to be grateful for that which God as given, even the challenges.Your spirit is strong in the Lord in spite of all that has happened. Continue to be a blessing to others and I will do the same. I will continue to keep you in my prayers. I am with you always. Rev. Shaneetha

People Come Into Your Life for a Reason (Article) - 3/27/2010 9:10:40 AM
The reason may be good or bad.The only thing how you look at it and the other person react to it.

Standing in the Gap (Amid Adversity and Angst) (Article) - 2/27/2010 2:57:39 PM
The word of God is like fruit; it will give you life only when you partake of it.Alvin the word of God's truth is the food from heaven for your mind, heart,spirit,and soul. You cannot do it alone. You will never be able to do all that needs to be done in your world without God's help. The truth has set you free long time ago. Bless you Rev. Shaneetha

My Journey To Eden (Article) - 2/23/2010 2:32:29 PM
Alvin that is so beautiful and very much the journey of the mind that we all need for our spiritual respite. I call it walking between the worlds of reality and the souls true consciousness. When we go there we have complete access to God.Live there Alvin. It is the only place of peace on our planet.

Sweet Solitude -- Enjoying a Space of One’s Own (Article) - 1/15/2010 5:00:34 AM
Dear Alvin.Your thoughts and words transcends time and space. You have found that place within that belongs to only you.It is the place where the soul dwells.it is a place of peace, trust, love,and forgiveness.I too love living in the country with nature for the pass ten years.Each day my Sweet Solitude waits me. It is my own personal sanctuary. God Bless you with more peace, health and love.

But For the Grace of God -- My Epiphany (Article) - 12/17/2009 7:41:17 AM
My Dearest friend Alvin. your words of faith are profound as we see that our Father / Mother God has gotten the glory in this challenging situation. I believe that God will restore to you all the years that the locus have eaten. The essence of who you are is strong in the lord.That will never change. There are many who love you and will stand with you till the end.

How to Become A True Christian and a Distinguished Gentleman (Article) - 11/20/2009 8:06:22 AM
Mr. Romer, i have a dear friend who is a Christian and a Gentleman ( most of the time, SMILE!) and i can't wait to share this with him as he embodies so many of your personal beatitudes. thank you for your thoughts and insights. ama

People Come Into Your Life for a Reason (Article) - 9/23/2009 12:47:01 AM
I believe that there are persons who were in my life exactly when I needed them to be. Once the need was fulfilled, their purpose in my life was gone and those persons faded into the my life's web. I feel that I've too, been in people's lives exactly when they needed me. I can remember helping so many people through difficult times in their lives and when they no longer needed my assistance, moved on. I was never hurt or upset by it, I was simply glad I was there when they needed me and only hope they remember me as the person who held their hand when they needed someone to hold onto.

Electile Dysfunction in the Time of Need (Article) - 5/24/2009 6:37:02 AM
Great article Alvin :-)

Making A Stand For the Boys (Article) - 5/21/2009 7:31:49 AM
It is gratifying to know, people like you ... are in the world, Mr. Romer. Your task will require monumental effort, but so do most things, worthwhile. Warm regards ... Reginald V. Johnson

Persevering Through Road Blocks (Article) - 5/19/2009 3:36:33 PM
interesting read

Persevering Through Road Blocks (Article) - 5/15/2009 8:01:56 AM
This is a wonderful article. Thank you for sharing.

A Southern Man (Article) - 4/10/2009 5:36:00 AM
Exceptionally well done. Makes me want to leave New York City! Regards ... Reginald V. Johnson

Shame On You, NY Post! (Article) - 2/20/2009 2:00:22 PM
C'mon...The only dividing factor comes from those like crackpot attention grabber Al Sharpton, throwing up the faux race card and playing the tired song of victimhood over and over. Grow up. There was absolutly nothing racist about the cartoon. It makes one wonder why the only ones to become so outraged over political satire anymore are radical muslims and uber-liberals...why is that??? Congrats to Reginald (below) for his rational take on this.

Shame On You, NY Post! (Article) - 2/20/2009 1:30:50 PM
Wow - it is truly a shame that Donna Hill is encouraging people to buy the paper, considering how offended she was by the cartoon. She said: "Now, I will not only buy it, but will encourage any and everyone I know to do the same through all of the outlets available to me, which are many!" I think I know what she meant but I wonder if NY Post would run an edit on it, and if so, just how would they edit such an article? Also, I wonder if Donna Hill is as offended by all the black on white racism. After all, it is by far, the most prevalent racism in our country today.

Shame On You, NY Post! (Article) - 2/20/2009 11:20:10 AM
I have seen a number of divisive comments about our country, its people, and President Obama. It is interesting to note, almost all these diatribes start out (in the first paragraph) with a premise that is capricious and false. From this shaky foundation they proceed to build a platform of scorn, derision, and deceit. I am part of the author’s so-called “entire race of people” and do not agree with her declaration. From this conjecture, one can surmise there are millions of others she did not consult … before lumping all of them into her company of misery. If we truly want to “get past racism”, we must stop looking at everything from a racist perspective. President Obama did not write the stimulus bill. Nancy Pelosi and Harry Reid were the main originators and offered no attacks against this obviously satirical cartoon. If we wish President Obama to succeed, we must stop painting him as a black president (as his detractors are doing, everyday), he is just as white as he is black. Furthermore, he is the president (not the black president) of this great country. Once we reduce him down to skin complexion … we fall into the abyss of all small-minded people, demean the transcendent aspect of his presidency, separate him from millions of supporters not kissed by the sun … and perpetuate the very “disease” which the author purports to eradicate. Respectfully, Reginald V. Johnson

How Is the Economy Affecting Your Writing Career? (Article) - 2/16/2009 9:00:26 AM
Writers write--we can't help it, but getting readers into the stores (or online stores) is where the rubber will meet the road in this economic crisis. Books are discretionary--so only time will tell. Amazingly our new book is about someone losing their job--we had no idea when we started writing What Doesn't Kill You back in '05 how timely it would ultimately be.

How Is the Economy Affecting Your Writing Career? (Article) - 2/15/2009 2:45:45 PM
Your views on the economy is very refreshing. I have learned a few new things. Thank you very much.

Are There Creative Differences Between Female and Male Writers? (Article) - 1/19/2009 6:59:58 PM
Why don't you do a science project on this for your personal opinion. Maybe post it in your blog so others can keep it up. Give a short story line and have others create a story from it. You judge and compare your writers, male vs. female. I would love to get into this. In my amatuer opinion without any deep thought, I can easily say that men may have the possibility to be logical, directive, and rational, descriptive, and professional? Women may have the emotional thing down, the compassion and the softer side...but then again, I didn't ponder enough. I am more interested in doing this study with you to see the statistics.

These Treacherous Times of Ours (Article) - 11/28/2008 12:25:26 AM
We DO need to heed the things of the Spirit. Always good to "read" you Alvin. cynth'ya

Giving Thanks For the Right Reasons (Article) - 11/27/2008 8:10:28 AM
Thanks for this. My family has distanced itself from me since my mother died in 1993. Being alone is not bad when I think of the memories I had when my mother was alive. Now my family want to talk about who has the bigger house; and the better furniture. I have always lived in an apartment and hoped if I had money I could help others. Thanks for this story...sometimes it's better being solo.

It's A Done Deal! (Article) - 11/9/2008 9:21:52 PM
Its Nice We can Dream-Huh! Credit Illuminating Write... TRASK

It's A Done Deal! (Article) - 11/9/2008 11:43:20 AM
It is a great thing that Obama has won for sure, but Biblical prophecy has nothing to do with it. It never ceases to amaze me how people always find someting in the Bible to justify this or that. The Bible was written by people - not God and it is highly unlikely that there is any such thing as God any more than King Neptune lives in the ocean.

Dawn's Early Light (Poetry) - 5/29/2013 5:29:17 AM
Nice to happen upon this, this morning, enjoyed!

Soul to Soul: An Ode to My Lady (Poetry) - 7/18/2010 5:34:50 AM
Wonderful writing ..enjoyed very much dear man..Hugss

Soul to Soul: An Ode to My Lady (Poetry) - 7/15/2010 2:16:32 PM
This is a mighty poem ~ a rare gift! Blessings to you and yours, Christine

Missing What I Love Most (Poetry) - 6/29/2010 12:52:21 PM
Love this!!

It's Because You Love Me! (Poetry) - 12/6/2009 11:59:55 PM
Very romantic, and it flows beautifully. Well done. Sheila

Missing What I Love Most (Poetry) - 10/16/2009 4:38:44 PM
Are you real? Written so well. Makes the celibate persons want to come out of celibacy just for a moment.

For the First Time (Poetry) - 6/4/2009 3:21:27 AM
Passionate write Alvin...tender, and loving. Nicely done. Anna

It's Because You Love Me! (Poetry) - 6/4/2009 3:17:47 AM
Wow! Beautiful write Alvin. So much love in your words. Anna

Dawn's Early Light (Poetry) - 11/5/2008 5:57:27 PM
Wonderful thoughts Alvin! Each day is anew! I wrote books about prison ministry - they know what a new day with THe Lord us like. You are most welcome to visit this Christian agape love website. Your brother in Christ, John Michael Domino

It's Because You Love Me! (Poetry) - 9/26/2008 12:37:56 PM
Powerful! May God bless you richly with success!

It's Because You Love Me! (Poetry) - 6/2/2008 4:24:49 PM
How sweet a write to your significant other. You are worth so much to her. Just to having written this to her is tremously uplifting to her and everyone who reads it. She knows she is needed and loved by you and that is all that counts. Work together forever, you two.

Dawn's Early Light (Poetry) - 5/21/2008 8:25:56 AM
Just beautiful!!

One Hand, One Heart (Poetry) - 8/24/2007 1:28:08 PM
I think that this poem is very vivid and full of imagery. I love the flow in this piece. Thank you for sharing such an inspirational and uplifting write with us. Stay blessed~ Afrika Midnight Asha Abney www.authorsden.com/afrikamaabney

It's Because You Love Me! (Poetry) - 8/7/2007 8:13:24 AM
This would be a beautiful song. Good work Alvin. Phyllis

It's Because You Love Me! (Poetry) - 6/11/2007 11:34:52 PM
Very clear. Love inclusion makes most all other things worth while.

It's Because You Love Me! (Poetry) - 6/8/2007 2:22:53 AM
Well penned. Thank you for sharing this piece with us.

It's Because You Love Me! (Poetry) - 5/9/2007 5:57:28 PM
Well written. Perhaps he should be giving love rather that questioning and asking for it. Be safe, Karen

It's Because You Love Me! (Poetry) - 5/8/2007 11:19:13 AM
Love completes our life.enjoyed

Dawn's Early Light (Poetry) - 3/25/2007 9:23:59 PM
Hey Alvin, I always say, "God makes everyday brand new." This was nice. Thanks for sharing Phyllis

Dawn's Early Light (Poetry) - 3/17/2007 9:39:27 AM
Yes, each day bears its own gifts! Love & Light always and in all ways, Joseph*

Dawn's Early Light (Poetry) - 3/15/2007 1:21:05 PM
This is so wonderfully written and it was a very pleasurable read. Thanks for sharing this with me on the Den.

For the First Time (Poetry) - 12/26/2006 5:47:33 PM
Very passionate and very well written. ~Tina Martin~

Missing What I Love Most (Poetry) - 10/21/2006 6:03:05 AM
this was so wonderfully written when will your poetry book be published ? We await.

Neglected (Poetry) - 8/31/2006 11:30:05 AM
This poem really tugs at the heart.

Neglected (Poetry) - 7/28/2006 5:38:10 PM
For me, personally, your poem speaks not so much of the remorseful reflection the title implies,as of a "hunger" for something no longer on your plate.

Neglected (Poetry) - 7/3/2006 8:47:03 PM
Hey, like Sis. Aleja Bennett's book title says so plainly: "Only the Strong Survive." Heard a sermon once on tv about a woman who thought she could change a man's mind. . . thought she needed him so much. Against her first notion, she let him go because she would have become his god if she continued to try to mold him. Only God can mold us into something that is impossible for others to do. But when the wayward brother decided to become more of what God's idea of a man should be, and he went back 4 years later to the woman who painfully let him go, she still didn't take him back. Why? Because when she saw what God could. . .it became a witness to her as to the way he had changed. While God was molding him, God was also molding and strenghtening her for an even greater blessing. And she knew that God could do just fine without her help if He could change the way that her ex behaved. The ex wanted her back. . . but the woman he wanted was now on another totally different spiritual level, and knew even if God never brought another man back into her life, that God was all she ever needed, and never to worry again because the Creator was in control of her future. So the poem shows us all that neglect is a normal emotion. But it also shows the true center of our strength should never be another human being, but the One who created us all. Wonderful poem, saving it for later reflections with my Ladies Bible Class. . . . thank you Bro. Al, cynth'ya

One Hand, One Heart (Poetry) - 6/19/2006 11:44:43 AM
I AM THAT WOMAN OF WORT BUT I KNOW YOU ARE TALKING OF ME AND NOT TO ME SO THAT IS UNDERSTOOD MY FELLOW POET

Missing What I Love Most (Poetry) - 6/19/2006 11:43:34 AM
I REALLY WISH THAT YOU OULD BE THE MAN I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR

For the First Time (Poetry) - 6/19/2006 11:42:28 AM
WOW THIS IS DEEP MY FELLOW POET I HAVE BEEN CELEBITE FOR 3 YEARS I FEEL LIKE THAT VIRGIN RIGHT ABOUT NOW.

Missing What I Love Most (Poetry) - 6/17/2006 5:52:15 AM
God help us celibate folks.

Missing What I Love Most (Poetry) - 6/16/2006 12:35:40 PM
Goodness . . . I believe that I will have to corner my lovely wife tonight after reading this. Richard

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.