AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: DR FRED BELL, iM. Andrew Sprong, inancy rossman, iAlexander Goldstein, iPaddy Bostock, iAlexandra* OneLight*® Authors & Creations, iJoan Huffman, i
 
Home > Susan K. Smith
 

Recent Reviews for Susan K. Smith


STC - The Satellite Test Center (Book) - 8/7/2010 7:10:27 AM
Sounds interesting Susan. more please...J'nia

Samantha at the Crossroads (Book) - 8/25/2008 10:24:22 PM
Having grown up in the Southeastern United States, but now living in the Pacific Northwest, I have an interest in the subject of comparing and contrasting growing up in the two regions. For that reason, when the book Sam at the Crossroads was recommended to me by a friend, I decided to give it a try. I’m glad I did. In reading it I instantly recognized the area of Montana in which the story takes place. I have traveled there several times and have always found the geography to be most interesting. I don’t want to give anything away, but having explored the Lewis and Clark Caverns in Montana, I also found some of the geological aspects of the story to be most interesting. Sam was not the usual coming of age story, and Sam is not your usual coming of age young lady. I think Ms. Smith has accurately captured and portrayed a young, rural, Montana girl coming of age in the late sixties. I thought that the social and geographical aspects of the story would be of more interest to me than the character of Sam, per se. As I read the book, however, I found myself almost embarrassingly amused by and sympathetic with Sam. She is obviously a character very dear to Ms. Smith and one that she appears to know well. No matter how you look at this book – sociological, geographical or historical setting, or characters and story – Ms. Smith’s book rings true. I very much enjoyed it and most enthusiastically recommend it. I am not normally driven to write reviews, but I truly did enjoy this book. Thank you, Ms. Smith.

The Great Depression - 1929 - 1945 (Short Story) - 11/3/2014 5:35:23 AM
The Great Depression actually began in 1925 when speculators crashed the Florida land boom (again) and was set up by farm subsidies for Canadian wheat which made family farms debt-ridden and finally bankrupt. The world never really recovered from WWI. Excellent slice of "way-back-when" we used to feed ourselves.

World War 2: memories of North Africa (Short Story) - 6/14/2014 8:45:30 AM
Thank you for recognizing this diary's significance and for adding it to the volumes of our wars. I was a toddler then, absorbed in the horrific hubub of ships, planes and soldiers gathering in Tampa for that invasion.

World War 2: memories of North Africa (Short Story) - 6/10/2014 3:45:43 AM
a very well done piece with insight into this period and war budd

World War 2: memories of North Africa (Short Story) - 6/6/2014 7:44:52 AM
Very interesting and detailed. I guess he got too busy with the affairs of life and never finished this wonderful account of his war experience. It's hard for me to imagine North Africa cold and wet, but then I spent a very cold night waiting for our plane in the Cairo airport in January. The days were warm and dry. We had no rain for four days in Egypt. It looked like it never rained and the only water came from the Nile. It seems strange that we had to fight the French to make African landfall. I seem to recall seeing that there was massive loss of life when the French fleet was destroyed. I am very glad you're able to publish what you found. I would love to read your mother-in-law's stories as well and may get to it later. If you check the comment I made this morning on Mark Lichterman's story I recounted briefly, the experience of my three uncles in World War II, one still living at 95. Ron

The Sapphire Ring (Short Story) - 2/14/2014 7:16:55 AM
I'm not into romantic fairy tales, but many are, so I'm sure this will be a hit in that genre. As usual, very well written. I only saw one may be… Perhaps it was maybe? Ron

The Sapphire Ring (Short Story) - 2/13/2014 2:18:15 AM
this is a fine well done story budd

Anastasis (Short Story) - 2/6/2013 7:33:11 AM
in the defense of truth... budd

The Great Depression - 1929 - 1945 (Short Story) - 5/1/2012 3:43:23 PM
Good story. My father lived through the Depression and often spoke of it. As bad as it was in the north, it was far worse in the south. The southern 'good ol boys' took to the woods and hunted game. A few had boats and they took to the water, often bringing home a sizable catch of the day. The gathering of oysters and mussels helped too. The rivers and lakes weren't poluted then. It was tough times, but tough people made it through.

Memories of Japan (Short Story) - 5/1/2012 3:33:37 PM
I've never made it to the orient, but your account makes me want to go. Well done.

Memories of Japan (Short Story) - 6/9/2010 11:55:05 AM
Thank you for sharing this most interesting account, Susan. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

Memories of Japan (Short Story) - 8/12/2009 6:55:03 AM
This is so fascinating Susan. I read your Mother-in-law's precious excerpts and quickly became engrossed. I hope she keeps writing. Hugs, J'nia

Cherry Blossoms (Short Story) - 8/1/2009 10:49:06 AM
A beautiful memory captured in writing.

Cherry Blossoms (Short Story) - 5/24/2009 7:35:12 AM
Wow! What a story. Fortunately we are loaded with them here. Yummy blossoms which last for weeks. Glad you finally saw them. Cheers, J'nia

The Great Depression - 1929 - 1945 (Short Story) - 1/29/2009 1:35:42 PM
Susan~! Could probably include the Bush years as-well . . . nicely penned!! Hugs, Lance

The Great Depression - 1929 - 1945 (Short Story) - 1/29/2009 6:35:27 AM
Great story, Susan; well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

VJ Day Kiss - 70 years ago (Article) - 8/12/2015 5:29:01 AM
It was a great release from a terrible 4 years of the grip of war. I was 3 so I don't remember, but I probably got a great big kiss from my mommy! The most beautiful girl in my neighborhood. ;-) Ron

Flat Earth? It depends ... (Article) - 8/6/2015 7:28:03 AM
Another well referenced article on a cogent subject. As I was reading about how physics can make the earth flat, I thought about what our shape may be if we were able to travel near the speed of light… flat? And our mass… I believe we would be massive to the point of ridiculousness. I think Einstein had a perfect title when he came up with the Theory of Relativity. It's all very relative, depending upon your viewpoint. I'm still amazed that with my 1973 Monte Carlo burning too much precious fossil fuel destroying the balance of CO2 in the atmosphere I circumvented the spherical earth 12 times in the 300,000 miles without getting wet once trying to drive across the oceans. Ron

Stories and the Brain (Article) - 7/28/2015 4:40:13 AM
Congratulations on your new novel. The guy in that video is quite a preacher. He would make a flat rock interesting to more than a geologist. Now I know what's wrong with me, although I have edited a couple of books were other people, I haven't read a book in years. Hence, my brain is probably atrophying rapidly. Does reading short stories and articles count? I believe that I've read every short story and article in Playboy over the last 40 years. Does watching TV count? I am now averaging watching about 15 TV dramas every week and there isn't a single laugh track in any of them. Am I going brain dead? ;-) I Google and Wikipedia a lot… Does that count? Ron

Trinity and The Long Peace (Article) - 7/11/2015 7:44:17 AM
Once again, very informative and enjoyable… If one can enjoy discussing the atomic bomb as a weapon of peace and the utter horror of a world locked in world war. Makes me wonder why anyone would want to go back to the, "good old days." Ron

Leap Second - the new Y2K? (Article) - 6/26/2015 5:40:53 AM
Your articles are always so very informative and entertaining. For some reason, I never heard of leap seconds. I only leapt for seconds when I was a teenager competing with my brother. I soon learned that seconds caused belt overflow. ;-) I guess leap seconds are something that physicists are interested in. They don't seem to bother me one iota. Is an iota like a second? I guess that's a question for physicists, so I will bow out. I am very familiar with doomsday predictions. I wonder if Prince is still "partying like it's 1999?" When Y2K came along we had mostly Macs at work. For some reason, the Mac operating system calendar ran from 1904 to 2040, so our Macs were not in jeopardy. However, some of the database programs I created had 2 digit years. All I had to do was go through the code and change those year fields to 4 digits and I was all set. I seem to recall the "major conversion" took me something like, two days. I also seem to recall that many mainframe and even Windows operating systems, scrimping on space that code took up, add everything in 2 digits, requiring months to correct the problems. I wrote several doomsday, apocalyptic stories in 2012 and completed a book of them, Verge of Apocalypse Tales, in October 2012. My birthday, along with my brother, was December 21, 2012. I entered the hospital on December 4 within an aggressive pneumonia that didn't respond to antibiotics because it may have been a fungus. On December 11, a surgeon operated on my right lung and removed the offending infection physically. Had the surgeon not done that, I was on a timeline to die on the 21st. Thankfully, I haven't had any more lung problems, or even any flus, since. Not looking for doomsday any time soon. Although I do hear from authors here quite often that they fear the worst, almost daily. ;-) Ron

Magna Carta - 800 years and still going strong (Article) - 6/25/2015 8:41:08 AM
Thank your both, Jansen and Ronald, for your insights and adding value to this conservation. Cheers, Susan

Magna Carta - 800 years and still going strong (Article) - 6/15/2015 4:28:22 AM
Magna Carta - written in Latin, signed and immediately repudiated by King John (who spoke French), invalidated by the Pope (who might actually have been able to read it) is somehow considered a blueprint for we commoners (who spoke Old English, Welsh, Old Norse, various Celtish, Saxon and Irish dialects but could read none of them)and our desire for demos. A much ballyhooed and overrated document. I suspect the birthday celebration is designed to draw our attention to Britain as much for racial and hierarchic/wealth accumulation legitimacy as for historical reasons. John and his successors ignored this 'covenant' and remained brutal tyrants for centuries, largely because 'English law' was never written down and varied from location to local, from moment to moment, whim to whim. Limiting the power of rulers was not even a new idea - it was first recorded in about 500BCE, during the world-wide explosion of religions - e.g., Zoaster invented the concept of 'good and evil' - the Buddha renounced his kingship and created Buddhism, Mideastern tribes began an alliance and generated 'common' unifying legends, Christ Mithra was born in Iran and spread his cult west, etc. - nevertheless, discussions of history are important and Ms. Smith is to be congratulated for bringing an important underlying theme into the open. Pour the meade and the discussion begin.

Magna Carta - 800 years and still going strong (Article) - 6/14/2015 6:09:17 AM
You always come up with timely, educational articles. Much appreciated. We have been fortunate to have received the benefits of the Magna Carta. Unfortunately, I don't believe that many young people even know what it was. History is so devalued these days except by those who want to use it to create a political viewpoint and mold people into their way of thinking. The bloodless way the Magna Carta was enacted set a precedent for how leadership and the people can come to an agreement without war. Very rare 800 years ago and still rare today. We seem to come to an agreement only after much blood is shed. Ron

Jane Austen and Blackadder (Article) - 5/28/2015 9:39:53 AM
Another, very informative, romp through British and literary history via the comedy Blackadder. I haven't watched much BBC over the years, so I don't recall the series, and I certainly have not read all of those classics written by women that you describe. What I did find, to my delight, was that the actor who played Blackadder in the series, is none other than the beloved bungling Mr. Bean! Ron

VE Day - 70 years ago (Article) - 5/6/2015 5:40:52 AM
The 70 million deaths of World War II should teach us something. At least, although the bomb has spread to many countries, we haven't unleashed nuclear war, yet. It is so easy for everyone to forget how devastating World War II was and make the mistake of triggering World War III over petty differences. As always, very informative and a great reminder of our checkered past. Ron

The Last of the Doolittle Raiders (Article) - 4/12/2015 7:36:08 AM
I remember their brave, almost suicide mission, very well from several documentaries and movies that I've seen. I was only a year old at the time that it happened, but the raid certainly was a morale booster, followed by the Battle of Midway, another morale booster for the war in the Pacific. It's hard to imagine what Hite went through in captivity for 40 months. Another wonderful and very informative article, Susan. Ron

20th Century Blues (Article) - 4/1/2015 8:52:31 AM
Always love your presentations. So informative. Yes, the 20th century was very tumultuous… Filled with highs and lows. So far the 21st seems to be starting out better even though so many seem to have 21st-century blues. Every generation has a hard time learning from history. Billy Joel's "We Didn't Start the Fire" is classic. Things are getting better all the time… Ron

The Pi Day of the Century (Article) - 3/31/2015 10:43:49 AM
Actually, I saw a post that said - my PIN is the last four digits of Pi. :) Take care all who enter here

The Pi Day of the Century (Article) - 3/11/2015 5:04:40 AM
How could I have missed seeing this somewhere! You certainly come up with some interesting articles. Now that I know, I will watch media activity on the 15th when we are scheduled to see a performance of Cirque du Soleil here in Houston. I will see if they use pi in calculating their complex acts. In high school, and later, using slide rule engineering in college, 3.1416 seemed fully adequate for most calculations. However, our resident genius mathematics instructor, Warren Z. Watson, the subject of a memoir I wrote about him and posted here in the story section some time ago, felt otherwise. With the help of the university's newly acquired IBM 1120 computer and its printer, as well as some students, Mr. Watson had the computer calculate and print out pi. He then had the students cut out the significant digits and attached the ends of the paper together and then placed them in the hallway on the second floor of Bowman Hall. The resulting string of digits went down one hall to the end and then turned around and came back all the way down the hall over the top of all the doorways. I don't know how many digits there were in all, I'm sure that Watson knew, but it was an impressive display of pi and the power of calculation by the computer that took many hours to calculate and print at that time… 1961. Ron

Mr. Fusion (Article) - 1/23/2015 7:20:08 AM
I love your information filled articles and this one is particularly dear to my heart. Back to the future, indeed, was quite predictive of the future. The vehicle wasn't. After 60 years of futility with fusion, the video suggests a coming breakthrough… finally. I wonder if I should run out and buy Lockheed-Martin stock? For the sake of our world and every being on it, let's hope that the breakthrough comes sooner rather than later. Now, if we could only stop all the bomb making and saber rattling from the older, fission process. But then, I recall that the H-bomb was the first time we achieved fusion on earth… Oh well… Ron

Mr. Fusion (Article) - 1/22/2015 9:29:29 PM
The title caught my attention: Mr. Fusion indeed! Well the thought of the deuterium tritium implosion is exciting stuff, with memories of Oppie, Teller, Fermi, Feynman, and all the cast at Los Alamos and beyond. Seems that like the moonwalk, once we get past a certain success that the real science goes underground and perhaps continues far beyond what we will ever know. Just a thought!

Fear of Missing Out (Article) - 1/12/2015 7:57:47 AM
Now I know were all those mobs that show up for all those events come from… FOMO. Thanks for one more bit of instant information keeping me from leaving the house. ;-) Alvin Toffler touched on this phenomenon with Future Shock. I wonder what he would've thought of social media today. I'm glad I'm not assailed by it or a cell phone. I've always like to keep it simple and have more fun. Ron

Christmas Past in War and Peace (Article) - 12/19/2014 8:50:39 AM
A wonderful Christmas article. I was a child during that time and we had wonderful Christmas celebrations, but mostly practical and clothing gifts under the tree. My mother and father were wise to give us those kinds of gifts rather than the junk toys that other kids got. My mother is a wonderful cook and made much Christmas candy. We all participated in decorating the tree that my father proudly got. Where we lived in northern Wisconsin, there was always snow. But when I wax nostalgic, I think about an earlier time. While I never experienced it, my mother rode to Christmas get-togethers in a horse-drawn sleigh. Before electricity, people put candles on their trees. It's hard to imagine how many houses burned down because a dry Christmas tree went up in flames. There were some years during the Great Depression that there may not have been food, let alone a tree and presents. Merry Christmas to you and everyone! Ron

Happy Bill of Rights Day (Article) - 12/14/2014 8:50:04 AM
Thanks for reminding me… There are too many special "days" to remember them all. I have found that many people think that the Bill of Rights was part of the original Constitution. I'm also appalled by how little they know about what the Bill of Rights really means, when, like the Bible, they choose and twist the words to fit their particular ideology. As a result, corporations have become citizens, while people of color still seem to have three quarters value, and that value primarily attributed to their owners. Your book sounds like it's quite interesting. From writing talent like you, I'm sure it is. Ron

Universe in a Glass of Wine (Article) - 12/3/2014 9:09:13 AM
Cool. And so are the videos. I never thought of the universe drinking a glass of wine, only how well it tasted as smelled as I sipped it. I guess that's the difference between a physicist and I. I don't agree with Hawking's dire description of extraterrestrials. I don't think they will be so alien as to be extremely predatory like he describes. Because they will have such a long time to evolve and develop understanding, like Hawking has, I believe we would view them as God for their caring and benign behavior towards us. Ron

Hobbit Virtues (Article) - 11/11/2014 4:03:31 AM
Hi Susan, "The Hobbit" and "The Lord of the Rings trilogy" are books on my favourites list and Tolkien is a favourite author as well. Ordinary folk, by their acts of caring and sharing and thoughtfulness, do make a difference in bringing out a clear sense of wholesomeness and belonging in our imperfect world. The coming days, weeks and months over the distant horizon seem darker than usual, what with one kind of trouble or another fronting the human spirit. It would take whatever little that each of the world's inhabitants can truly contribute, to bring back a sense of neighbourliness, feeling wanted and also appreciated by people of different creeds and climes. Gopal

Halloween Fright, Flight, Fight (Article) - 10/29/2014 11:30:19 AM
Another article filled with facts and fun. I recall Cosby relating his father's story of his "stupid" son smearing jelly all over the kitchen floor to make a monster slip. Laughed so hard at that one that my sides ached. I have autonomic dysreflexia. It only occurs in people who have cervical spinal injury like me. Every time I urinate I experience a flight/fright episode… About 20 times a day with an extremely uneasy feeling, unnatural warmth and profuse sweating. There is real danger of strokes and heart attacks, as well as release of blood clots from the legs. I am so used to these episodes that I hardly notice them unless they get acute for not being able to urinate. I have low cholesterol and a good heart. Both protect me from these episodes. I rarely get really frightened, but do find myself jumping a lot in my seat watching The Walking Dead. Ron

Our First 9/11 (Article) - 9/10/2014 7:13:03 AM
Another wonderful article showing a part of our history that most people don't know. And, a reminder that although 9/11 was horrendous, it was not the first, nor the last time that the United States has, or will be attacked by outside forces. President Obama, I believe in one of his State of the Union messages, said that, "We can absorb another 9/11." Now that may seem to be pretentious and uncaring, but it speaks to the resilience of our people and how we can tolerate great losses, much greater than the burning of Washington DC, the attack on Pearl Harbor, or 9/11, and still be the great country that we are. Terrorism may pose a threat for the rest of the century. I hope not, and I hope we can prevent anything as bad as that from ever happening again. Regardless whether it does or not, we need to realize that our strength comes in pulling together and healing the wounds, rather than blaming for our failure. Ron

Persevering and Prevailing during Dark Days (Article) - 9/2/2014 6:45:47 AM
Thank you for the clip of King George VI's speech. I haven't seen the movie yet. So many people seem to worry about the way things are today. That's strange because several times during the 20th century, things were much worse for everyone in this country, the United States. The attack on the World Trade Center, as horrific as it seemed at the time, paled in comparison to the threat of Japan with the attack on Pearl Harbor. As usual, a wonderful article with a lot of great information. Ron

Travel Mercies (Article) - 8/29/2014 6:33:24 PM
Good advice, Ron. Keep a good distance and not de-escalate. Be safe. Susan

Frozen Time (Poetry) - 3/26/2013 8:56:07 PM
Our memories shape our souls. Wow! Thoughtful poetic thoughts... Peace, love and Easter Blessings, John Michael Domino

Seeking (Poetry) - 12/29/2012 11:24:15 AM
Sometimes, the answers are never out there but within. Beautiful poem.

Lamenting the Good Ol' Days (Poetry) - 9/22/2012 9:35:02 AM
Substance to make one reflect, Susan. Thank you. Love and best wishes, Regis

Night and Day (Poetry) - 5/11/2012 6:28:01 AM
the simplicity of Night And Day is powerful and especially that last stanza... well done Susan ~Z.B.McClure

Seeking (Poetry) - 10/29/2011 1:38:07 PM
This reads like a prayer and stands as a testimonial of your faith, Susan. Thank you. Love and blessings, Regis

Seeking (Poetry) - 10/18/2011 5:56:18 AM
What a thrilling poem, Susan! I missed it in July, but was very encouraged by your words today. Sincerely, Connie

On Mortality (Poetry) - 11/4/2010 4:02:15 AM
Time passes by so quickly, we must hold on to those memories. May God bless you every day of your life. Daniel

Turning Point (Poetry) - 10/11/2010 11:21:39 AM
Your poem is very relevant today. I can feel the pendulum of layoffs swinging closer to my head, but your poem gives me hope. When one door slams closed, maybe a new adventure, new life awaits through another.

Vain Glory (Poetry) - 6/5/2010 8:42:19 AM
There are those that will step over whomever to reach their dream, but once that dream is fulfilled and faded, what are they left with? Too many bridges have been burned behind them, and nobody will be looking to give them another chance.

Out West Again! (Poetry) - 4/28/2010 4:21:02 PM
I was born and raised on the prairies of northern Alberta so I can relate to what you have expressed via your verses here, Susan. Thank you. Love and best wishes, Regis

Success (Poetry) - 12/25/2009 4:20:48 PM
Yes! Trust in the wisdom from above; from the true and living God. Advise and direction that originates with the creature is deceptive. Trust Christ. Excellent words from a faithful guide. ~Z.B.McClure

Success (Poetry) - 12/4/2009 2:14:00 PM
Look above for your direction To the star in the sky And don't be afraid to fail And be not afraid to try! I appreciate your advice, Susan. It provides a recipe for success. Love and best wishes, Regis

Wind (Poetry) - 11/22/2009 2:12:48 PM
Indeed, Susan; my sentiments exactly. I have always felt a spiritual "presence" in the wind. Thank you. Love and best wishes, Regis

Out West Again! (Poetry) - 11/19/2009 5:57:18 PM
This poem draws the reader in, beckoning Westward. It sounds majestic! In this part of PA, hills and mountains interrupt the sweep of the sky, so we are not likely to enjoy a view like yours. Nicely done! Connie

On Mortality (Poetry) - 10/30/2009 10:37:46 AM
I love these snappy small verses / They are brisk and tell the tale in its entirety without all the trappings / Te recall those days long past is but a whisper in the wind . . . Loved it . . .

Frozen Time (Poetry) - 10/30/2009 10:35:36 AM
This gives me pause for reflection, Susan. Thank you. Love and best wishes, Regis

Lamenting the Good Ol' Days (Poetry) - 9/4/2009 7:23:38 PM
A gentle poem to nudge us all to be grateful for today. I am guilty of this...spending so much time in the future and yesterday, that I miss the blessing of today. Thanks for sharing this one Susan.

Frozen Time (Poetry) - 8/15/2009 10:01:01 AM
Memories do define us, and forever will they remain frozen in the hands of time. Beautifully written.

Night Watch (Poetry) - 8/2/2009 12:46:09 PM
You have very effectively recalled and shared the mood of this experience via your verses, Susan. Love and best wishes, Regis

Snow (Poetry) - 8/1/2009 11:34:02 AM
Winter is so beautiful, and snow seems like perfection. But everything has a flaw, and with winter, it lies within its cold touch. Great poem.

On Mortality (Poetry) - 8/1/2009 10:42:18 AM
I love the flow to your words. Moments do fly by so fast, but they also linger somewhere deep.

Feelings (Poetry) - 7/13/2009 9:10:55 AM
A most apt and timely write, Susan; as applicable now as ever. I do like the way you end on a metaphorical hopeful note. Thank you. Love and best wishes, Regis

Feelings (Poetry) - 7/5/2009 6:35:59 PM
Very touching poetry. JMD

Night Watch (Poetry) - 6/7/2009 11:23:41 AM
Beautifully written. :)

Feelings (Poetry) - 5/1/2009 10:19:35 AM
I like this poem for many reasons, but especially two- the way you remind us that the world is not presently functioning as it was originally designed to, and also the realistic hope that the day will arrive for certain, when it will. We all need hope,and "Feelings" offers that. Superb write! ~ from a fellow human and poet, Zach

On Mortality (Poetry) - 4/3/2009 6:29:20 PM
"A shadow that only the mind can see." This is so true. Today's reality becomes blurred tomorrow as the realities of a new day obscure the truths of the past. Photos and journal entries are our effort, perhaps, to hold on to the moments that flee so quickly from our grasp. Well done, Susan.

Night and Day (Poetry) - 3/29/2009 7:03:48 PM
I do appreciate your philosophical point of view, Susan. Thank you for sharing it. Love and best wishes, Regis

On Mortality (Poetry) - 3/25/2009 8:38:48 PM
You have captured the feeling perfectly. B r a v a !! xOx 'Pea' xOx

On Mortality (Poetry) - 3/12/2009 3:30:11 PM
A good reflection on whatever that has happened in the past stays in the past, and shall not return!! Wonderful write, Susan!!! Sandie Angel :o)

On Mortality (Poetry) - 2/27/2009 8:45:52 PM
Hello Susan, There is much wisdom in the brevity of your poem. "Hold to a moment..." if only we could. Thanks for this, I loved reading it to my brother. Cynthia

Vain Glory (Poetry) - 2/23/2009 2:01:21 PM
Right on. The praises of man eventually echo their final refrain. But the heart, it remains to everlasting. Thank you for this. Blessings, J'nia

On Mortality (Poetry) - 2/23/2009 1:58:47 PM
Time, that illusive shadow we cling to, that construct which informs us of our reality. Excellently penned. Blessings, J'nia

On Mortality (Poetry) - 2/7/2009 9:55:48 PM
Can't grab what's flown by. I dig your philosophical perspective, Susan. Thank you. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

On Mortality (Poetry) - 2/2/2009 12:18:02 PM
Fantastic writing Susan!

On Mortality (Poetry) - 1/29/2009 12:02:33 PM
So lovely and so beautifully written...I forget more and more each day Susan and these write help me to remember...thank you for you touching and lifting write. Love and hugs, Bonnie

Metamorphosis (Poetry) - 1/23/2009 10:38:29 AM
a thoughtful expression of the cycle of change creation continues to spin through! You say profound things so precisely. -Zach keep using your talent for the glory of God!

Night Watch (Poetry) - 1/23/2009 10:33:15 AM
this is a beautiful write that takes you there. Love the lines about the sleeping creatures and the way the moon promises. thanks, Zach

Snow (Poetry) - 1/23/2009 10:12:10 AM
Liked the way you evoked the many shades and hues of this stuff called snow, and also the analogy between humans and snow. Yes, someday the Ultimate Spring will arrive. Great poem!

Vain Glory (Poetry) - 1/23/2009 10:07:52 AM
Wow! I have seen this and that last line "yet it is the HEART that lives forever" powerfully expresses a truth all humans need to heed! I really enjoy reading your poetry Susan ~Zach

On Mortality (Poetry) - 1/23/2009 10:00:48 AM
I just relish the fresh way you have put down timeless truth,Susan! :) You have captured, so well, the idea of how fleeting each moment is. ~Zach

Night and Day (Poetry) - 1/5/2009 2:44:24 PM
I truly enjoyed Day and Night. Wonderful. J-me

On Mortality (Poetry) - 12/28/2008 9:51:06 PM
You can't get a tighter poem than this, rhyme, beat, form and meaning all on time.

On Mortality (Poetry) - 12/28/2008 11:54:06 AM
A very wise and timely poem! Happy New Year! Eileen

Vain Glory (Poetry) - 12/24/2008 11:46:30 AM
This is very true in a lot of working environments. Thank you, Susan. Love and best wishes, Regis

Snow (Poetry) - 12/24/2008 11:45:09 AM
A most apt and timely write which I find symbolically meaningful. Thank you, Susan. Love and best wishes, Regis

Snow (Poetry) - 12/18/2008 5:16:14 AM
Nice to discover you and read you as well. "Snow" is a fantastic poem of how feel and interact with seasons and nature as a whole. Love the gentle flow of the poem. Thanks for sharing

Night and Day (Poetry) - 12/15/2008 3:24:22 PM
Amen dear Susan.....This is brilliant in it's simple yet profound wisdom......We humans need to boil down the scary parts of life into such compact morsels of truth......Well done my friend! Peace, Bill :-)

Snow (Poetry) - 12/11/2008 11:35:31 AM
Hello Susan, Clevery conceived and prosed - Bravo on this write!! Best wishes, Lance

Snow (Poetry) - 12/7/2008 3:16:22 AM
This is a beautiful poem,I enjoy it very much Edwin

Snow (Poetry) - 12/6/2008 10:55:37 PM
Dust is woven Crocheted to snow And robes the world From heaven, below That is a fantastic image and stanza in this delightfully chilly poem :)

Snow (Poetry) - 12/4/2008 2:38:59 PM
Awwwww, how beautifully descriptive with just the right touch of imagination... Be always safe, Karen

Snow (Poetry) - 12/4/2008 9:52:10 AM
Susan, Beautiful poem and imagery. It is a shame that snow does get a bit tainted from pollution though. Mary

Wind (Poetry) - 11/28/2008 1:12:37 PM
How beautiful and poignant dear Susan......A great description as only a poet can portray....... :-)

Vain Glory (Poetry) - 11/21/2008 6:19:18 AM
Glad I am not in the working world no more. I try to get along with all who live in my apartment building. No gossip about others do I wish to share in. I give each a chance for friendship and see the best in others and not the worst. Sometimes that brings me needed peace of mind too.

Vain Glory (Poetry) - 11/21/2008 5:54:09 AM
An excellent poem.Office politics are such a pain,take care Edwin

Vain Glory (Poetry) - 11/20/2008 3:01:34 PM
The number one thing I always made a point to stay away from, nice writing.... Be always safe, Karen

Vain Glory (Poetry) - 11/20/2008 11:19:50 AM
Office politics can be very stressful, and misery is the one who has to work in the middle of two who are at wars with one another. I had the experience of working amongst such individuals, and it was really hard to stay on neutral ground. They each want to pull you to side with them. And some are big bullies with loud voices, they bullied their ways to the top paying little attention to who they step on. Such is life!...and we have to see and work with these people in most of our waking hours. Sandie Angel :o)

Feelings (Poetry) - 11/5/2008 4:11:59 PM
Wow this is powerful, like the analogy of labour pains..Yep, know that situation, and the world is very much in 2nd stage labour IMHO... Love this and great to meet you. :) Hugzzz Ch'erie

Night and Day (Poetry) - 10/23/2008 5:02:06 PM
Sage observation as the soul is what God implanted in us and what he died for.

Night and Day (Poetry) - 10/16/2008 2:29:37 PM
Wow, the workings of the universe.... Be always safe, Karen

Night and Day (Poetry) - 10/16/2008 11:54:48 AM
A very good poem,I enjoy reading it,I like the flow of it,take care Edwin

Feelings (Poetry) - 10/11/2008 10:17:20 AM
This is a very bautiful write. I really love the optimism in this piece. Harold M. Nash

Feelings (Poetry) - 10/6/2008 8:14:38 PM
Expressed so well and authentically. Thanks for sharing it. (What a beautiful ocean in the background of your bio-pic! The Pacific, of course.)

Feelings (Poetry) - 10/5/2008 7:47:34 PM
excellent write Susan great to be reading you again I am trying my best now to hang around longer to read & write Love & peace William

Feelings (Poetry) - 10/2/2008 5:20:28 PM
Hello Susan, You are right. Falling down on our face makes us look up to God. We all learn valuable lessons from hardships, it' the sandpaper God uses to make us "smooth" and teachable. I like this poem very much. Smiles, Cynthia

Feelings (Poetry) - 10/2/2008 4:03:01 PM
Very nice. I look forward to those new hopes and dreams.

Feelings (Poetry) - 10/2/2008 3:15:26 PM
Oh you are so right and have captured the moment well. Yes, all things seem to have a way of cycling so hold on and be patient... Be always safe, Karen

Feelings (Poetry) - 10/2/2008 2:17:55 PM
This is a very good poem,I especially like the ending of it.In a world fill with negativity and uncertainty,there is still light at the end of the tunnel.It may not be a big light,but a little light can make a difference.take good care of yourself Edwin

Feelings (Poetry) - 10/2/2008 11:49:28 AM
I hope that from all this corruption, greed, hate, and planet abuse --there will be birthed a better, more caring and supportive humanity. Great poem!

Feelings (Poetry) - 10/2/2008 10:06:23 AM
Susan, Excellent poem. I thinks reminds us, there is always hope. Mary

Wind (Poetry) - 10/1/2008 9:19:20 PM
This is indeed a beautiful poem! It is a tribute to GOD. Until this day, no man can control or even explain the wind. God's mystery still lies within. John Michael

Night Watch (Poetry) - 9/28/2008 8:53:20 PM
A beautiful nature write love the still of the night As you try to figure out the sounds comming from the unknown Love & peace be with you William

Night Watch (Poetry) - 9/25/2008 3:25:24 PM
Filled with visions of beauty and a sense of transitional peace... Be always safe, Karen

Night Watch (Poetry) - 9/25/2008 8:54:48 AM
Nice I like It, Take care

Metamorphosis (Poetry) - 9/23/2008 11:20:39 AM
ashes to ashes. the cycle repeats. -- Jeff

Metamorphosis (Poetry) - 9/22/2008 12:28:53 PM
Interesting poem, and what one thinks of for autumnal days.

Metamorphosis (Poetry) - 9/19/2008 5:14:14 PM
Hello Susan, This is so "alive" and the transitions so flowing like slides in a projector. Thoughts are what make us - "As a man thinks in his heart, so is he." The "dust" part is where all of us will end, and used in the final lines, it's just perfect. Cynthia

Metamorphosis (Poetry) - 9/18/2008 8:45:56 PM
Philosophical rendering well expressed... Be always safe, Karen

Metamorphosis (Poetry) - 9/18/2008 6:44:05 PM
Interesting thoughts in this abstract, philosophical poem. I like the way you used the cliche of dust to come back to the beginning of life. Axilea

Metamorphosis (Poetry) - 9/18/2008 11:49:06 AM
It's so true, life is a circle. Everything will start dying in the fall, be like death in the winter, life in the spring and summer, and it starts all over again. Beautiful words to describe this ongoing cycle. Mary

Metamorphosis (Poetry) - 9/18/2008 8:59:43 AM
Susan, great writing and I love the philosophical intentions. Cheers, Dan

Success (Poetry) - 9/15/2008 12:10:47 AM
Hello Susan, Wonderful lines in rhyme, verse, and content - masterfully woven in heartwarming style. Perfect closing line: "And don't be afraid to fail...and be not afraid to try!" Cynthia

Success (Poetry) - 9/11/2008 5:07:24 PM
Wise thoughts to share and even when one falls, get back up and try again, never give up... Be always safe, Karen

Success (Poetry) - 9/11/2008 9:49:25 AM
Susan, Wisdom is these words! I believe the only failure is not trying at all. Many blessings, ~Linda

Out West Again! (Poetry) - 9/8/2008 8:34:05 PM
The reader can feel your ethusiasm in this and it makes you smile along with you :) Michelle

Seeking (Poetry) - 9/7/2008 8:04:12 PM
Your poem provides us the reality of life. In faith we learn our fate. We do not need to find the meaning of life anywhere, it has been with us since the time we saw the first light. And I can see that you found it already. Enjoy life to the fullest. AOUIE

Turning Point (Poetry) - 9/7/2008 2:01:15 PM
I have been very fortunate never to have experienced this, Susan. I do appreciate the tone of your verses and I like the way the poem ends on a hopeful note. Thank you. Love and best wishes, Regis

The Shooting Star (Poetry) - 9/7/2008 1:59:49 PM
This is a fine tribute, Susan. Thank you for sharing it. Love and blessings to you, Regis

Out West Again! (Poetry) - 9/4/2008 7:59:01 PM
Ah, the west coast has much to be proud of all the pristine beauty that unfolds leaves one breathless. Yet, there are many placed throughout this country that has remained untouched, each with its own individual beauty..... Be always safe, Karen

Out West Again! (Poetry) - 9/4/2008 4:31:44 PM
I love the open plains of the west and those star filled skies at night.

Lamenting the Good Ol' Days (Poetry) - 8/28/2008 7:31:01 PM
A sort of meloncholy walk down all the could have beens and yet has such a soothing, sweet overtone.... Be always safe, Karen

Lamenting the Good Ol' Days (Poetry) - 8/28/2008 2:35:40 PM
Montana sounds beautiful, someday I hope to see some part or parcel of it...I have a friend, who I haven't spoken to in quite sometime, residing in Livingston...As for the poem, we always seem to want something different than what it is, don't we? At least that is what I got out of this write...Ed & Rufuz (w00f) [welcome to the Den]

Frozen Time (Poetry) - 8/26/2008 6:16:32 PM
I Like this piece Susan Thanks for sharing Love & peace be with you William

Seeking (Poetry) - 8/24/2008 9:10:53 PM
Susan, I bought and read your new book, Sam at the Crossroads, where this poem is found. She said that, knowing I am interested in the geology of the northwest, I would find some interesting information in your book. She was correct. I recognize the region you describe in the book and did find that aspect of the book most interesting, but I have to admit that I enjoyed the story as well. You have an interesting character in Sam and I enjoyed meeting her and sharing her "adventures". Thanks for the good read. I look forward to your next publications. David Rogers St Maries ID

Turning Point (Poetry) - 8/20/2008 11:33:47 PM
Hello Susan, Like an open door, this poem reveals a lot more to see than what was left behind. Like Abraham, sometimes God lets us leave Ur and Haran, to have our "turning points" with Him, and to give us greater assignments. Blessings to you, Cynthia

Wind (Poetry) - 8/20/2008 11:28:25 PM
Hello Susan, How volatile and moving this poem is, as fleeting as the wind! A good point for those who do not believe God exists. Cynthia

Wind (Poetry) - 8/14/2008 6:49:18 PM
Beautiful poem. It takes you along with it like the wind it describes. Well done.

Seeking (Poetry) - 8/14/2008 2:34:41 AM
Good Morning Susan Your Poem Embraces The Reader With God's Eternal Love Very Lovely Much Love & Peace To You Embraced ~ Embrassé Vickie

Turning Point (Poetry) - 8/11/2008 8:32:57 PM
An excellent piece Susan Thanks for sharing peace be with you William

Turning Point (Poetry) - 8/7/2008 4:43:59 PM
All the good-bye's and all the new hello's seem to work hand in hand. Sometime things happen for a reason and soon the reason is revealed. Yes, there are many crossroads, or turning points as you say, but it is always how we choose to react that makes the difference. Nice writing... Be always safe, Karen

Turning Point (Poetry) - 8/6/2008 11:46:59 AM
Hey SK.I know that things will be better for you and this new page that you are turning will be fill with happiness.Take care of yourself.I enjoy reading the poem Edwin

Turning Point (Poetry) - 8/6/2008 10:09:59 AM
Some things do work out for the best.

Turning Point (Poetry) - 8/6/2008 7:22:14 AM
Been there several times but things always got better and I went on living pretty good. Good write though.

The Shooting Star (Poetry) - 8/4/2008 1:23:29 PM
This is a great tribute to a man of God who touched so many hearts while he was on earth.

The Shooting Star (Poetry) - 8/2/2008 9:27:52 AM
Good spiritual remembrance giving us all something to think about here.

Seeking (Poetry) - 8/2/2008 9:26:56 AM
Great that you found the peace God gives to all who seek him. This is a great write, so sentimental to me.

The Shooting Star (Poetry) - 7/31/2008 1:43:17 PM
A very special, blessed man of God who led his flock valiantly for the better part of twenty five years and miss him tremendously I do. Thank you for your heartfelt, inspirational words.... Be always safe, Karen

Seeking (Poetry) - 7/31/2008 11:01:36 AM
Beautifully written... finding Him within is to find peace... Blessings, Janice

Seeking (Poetry) - 7/31/2008 8:49:31 AM
A spiritual and inspirational poem about finding true inner peace with truths that are within ourselves.I enjoy reading it.take care Edwin

The Shooting Star (Poetry) - 7/31/2008 8:47:50 AM
Hi Susan,seeing the pope is an amazing experience and I'm glad you had such a wonderful and spiritual time.Thank you for sharing your experiences.He is a sight to see.Take care Edwin

Seeking (Poetry) - 7/24/2008 11:41:49 AM
A most worthy write of inner truth, honesty and spirituality.... Be always safe, Karen

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.