AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Neeta Blair, iHarry and Elizabeth Lawrence, iDenise Richardson, iTony Bertot, iJansen Estrup, iDiane Hundertmark, iKathryn Perry, i
 
Home > Linda Alexander
 

Recent Reviews for Linda Alexander


Dorothy From Kansas Meets the Wizard of X (Book) - 3/30/2015 5:35:01 AM
I wanna read it, but you said it, an outrageous price, $100, but ah Capitalism! Sex-on-command is now, sex-on-demand...What a very old concept, made new again. Why not put it out on Kindle? I'd love to read it too!

Reluctant Witness: Robert Taylor, Hollywood, & Communism (Book) - 1/30/2015 12:51:34 PM
Enjoyed the book. Awaiting the next. Jamal Abukou

Reluctant Witness: Robert Taylor, Hollywood, & Communism (Book) - 10/18/2014 6:28:25 PM
This book has made a difference. I read somewhere that someone was acknowledging that they would have to re-evaluate the HUAC mess. Three cheers.

A Maverick Life: The Jack Kelly Story (Book) - 9/23/2014 5:48:15 PM
Hi Linda, just yesterday, I watched 'Forbidden Planet' for the 20th time that has jack Kelly in ..... well, I don't have to tell you. It's great that you wrote a book on him and I'll be sure to get it onto my kindle for flying. I read some of the good reviews you got, too. Congratulations, Paul

Reluctant Witness: Robert Taylor, Hollywood, & Communism (Book) - 3/7/2008 7:20:59 AM
Congrats on new book. Best of luck. Brian Hartford

Weekends In New England (Book) - 10/2/2007 12:22:33 AM
I'm an avid reader of pretty much anything I can get my hands on and when I came across Linda Alexander's profile at MySpace and read up on her, I just had to buy one of her books. I mean, come on... someone who's interviewed Porn stars, battles Lupus AND has an incredibly interesting genealogy... there's got to be something cool pouring from that mind! I picked up Weekends In New England and thought it was going to be a romance story and it was that and more. Wow, this book is a thriller! I read it in two sittings because I was fixated on finding out what was going to happen next. There are two fairly emotionally complex characters at the center of this romance/mystery novel. Hannah is someone I think many women can relate to in that she's a bit naive and in a really difficult emotional and physical relationship. It's not the right situation for her, but before Denny Lorenzo sings his way into her soul, she's pretty much given up hope at things getting better for her husband and herself and almost resigns herself to that fact (NO Hannah, no!). Denny is a firecracker. Like many artists, he struggles between his ‘true self’ and his on stage 'persona'. He also finds himself in a bad marriage to someone whose character seems to be manipulative and vain. When Denny and Hannah meet and that soul connection spark flies... well, there is no stopping that sort of force. What makes this book stand out is the twisted (and I seriously mean tuh-wis-tu-hed!) ending. I won't spoil it for you, but take it from someone who can usually predict the outcome of this sort of novel... I was totally taken aback when I learned out who was causing both Denny and Hannah much grief and Hannah's death. Woah mamma! If you want an entertaining read that does make you look at your internal self while giving you frivolous pleasure at the same time, most definitely pick up this book.

The Unpromised Land (Book) - 9/3/2007 5:37:51 PM
I would love to read it.

Weekends In New England (Book) - 9/2/2007 6:22:12 PM
Highly Recommend: Weekends In New England weaves a tale of marital fidelity in a way that makes you clearly understand the cruel reality of both sides of the coin. The harsh reality of the mix of faiths between Catholic and Jew is brought to light within the pages. Linda Alexander's spell binding telling compels you to read on. I warn you now, once you pick it up, you won't be able to put it down until you reach the final unexpected ending.

Weekends In New England (Book) - 7/25/2007 5:30:59 PM
Linda Alexander is a very talented author who knows how to capture your attention from the first word! The suspense was so high that I could not stop reading. A wonderful book that I would highly recommend to others.

Weekends In New England (Book) - 2/13/2006 12:15:30 PM
Linda Alexander had already proven herself to be an impeccably worthy author with the romantic thriller "Until Next Time". Now, "Weekends in New England" richly illustrates the trials and triumphs, the pitfalls and ecstasy of a forbidden love that somehow seems so right. These days, it seems not too unusual for a man or woman to find their true love while unfortunately being married to someone else. This book examines the feelings of such a relationship. You can feel the heart strings being pulled, the inexorable pull of a love that is not yet clouded by passion, yet gives a life full of a passion that never existed before. Denny and Hannah were worlds apart, and in many ways as different from each other as two people could be. But love is strange like that… not only do opposites attract, but sometimes it’s the differences that make a couple strong. As they go through the guilt, the deceptions, the longing and the waiting, Mrs. Alexander expertly weaves a story that you not only become engrossed in, but feel, in every heart rendering step. You can identify with them, even if you yourself have never been in their situation. This is not a tawdry sex story. It is rather amazing to realize that Denny and Hannah never even do anything but talk or kiss while having their “affair” that takes them both down a stormy path of danger. The climax is surprising, and the conclusion is emotional. Kudos for the author who can so easily climb inside the mind and heart of both man and woman and paint us a picture that will stay with us long after the final page has been turned.

The Unpromised Land (Book) - 5/11/2005 5:15:12 PM
How about a comment from someone who actually read the book? The story was excellent, as is the quality of the writing. It is written in a dramatic and captivating style, but this book is of far greater significance and poignance journalistically. The reason for this, of which nearly every reviewer noted above is unaware, is that it is a TRUE story. I know Gary and Shirley personally (and at present attend their congregation) and can attest to the reality of their story and their struggle. The personal drama and novelistic style in this chronicle of Gary and Shirley's failed attempt to emigrate to Israel is merely the vehicle for the presentation of the Israeli government's persistent actions to prevent certain jews from emigrating to Israel under the "Law of Return", (a law that exists specifically to enable jews from every part of the world to return to the land of Israel to live), on the basis of their very practice of Judaism -- specifically their convictions regarding the identity of the Messiah that G-d promised to the jewish people, and who is known to the Christian world as "Jesus". The book is a well-rounded presentation of this largely unknown social issue, an issue of growing significance and interest to jews and christians the world over. It includes a foreword written by Dr. David Stern, a pre-eminent and prolific author of messianic jewish literature, as well as numerous appendices detailing the difficult history of messianic jews who have attempted to return to Israel and been barred, and also statistics, studies and surveys that shed light on the social and political climate in Israel... and contrary to the silly anti-semitic comment above that compares Israel to South Africa under apartheid, these same studies indicate the the Israeli public overwhelmingly supports the acceptance of "messianic" jewish emigrees.

Until Next Time (Book) - 9/1/2004 6:56:08 PM


Until Next Time (Book) - 7/29/2003 10:35:59 AM
Until Next Time begins by thrusting the reader into the tortured ecstasy Perry Connors endures every night and yet has no memory of the next day. All he knows is that his body and mind are being overpowered by some force that is too strong to be resisted, and his health is failing as a result of the constant abuse. In his search for help, he meets Dr. Michaele Vincente--Mickey to her friends--and finds an experienced psychiatrist who is not only his best chance for uncovering his problem, but also a beautiful woman who is his best chance for finding real love. Perry and Mickey struggle to expose the evil that is trying to destroy him: Lillia Donovan--an ambitious, calculating woman determined to possess Perry's fortune, business, and his body. Lillia learned about evil firsthand in her past and uses her hatred of men to show Perry and anyone who dares to help him not a shred of mercy. Until Next Time invokes such a wide array of emotions with the intensely sexual images of Lillia's power over Perry, the deep feelings between Perry and Mickey from their first encounter, and the loving relationships between Perry and his closest friends and family members. These are all people about whom the reader cares and empathizes--even Lillia with her history of abuse that drove her to become the monster she is. My eyes couldn't move fast enough to suit me as I read the final pages to see who would triumph in this unforgettable battle for one man's soul. Ms. Alexander spins an enthralling tale that delivers on every level. Bravo!

Dorothy From Kansas Meets the Wizard of X (Book) - 6/23/2003 7:15:09 PM
Linda has truly help break the silence the society has locked in the closet for many years. As a victim of child porn during the 60's and 70's I know first hand about the issues she decribes in her Book. I talk about it in my book "Not Just a Touch". Great job Linda.

Dorothy From Kansas Meets the Wizard of X (Book) - 2/8/2003 9:49:10 AM
What a neat concept. Gotta read it now!

The Unpromised Land (Book) - 1/14/2003 3:45:00 PM
Amazingly talented writer with diverse interests...two thumbs up!

Dorothy From Kansas Meets the Wizard of X (Book) - 1/14/2003 3:42:52 PM
WOW! Liberating...and to think they aren't traumatized....they actually love their work?...perhaps???? and maybe some don't...but your point is well taken...people...that's what matters...

Until Next Time (Book) - 1/12/2003 10:39:50 PM
Incredibly sensual… brutally sexual. The suspense builds on the firm foundation of a tightly woven plot, with readily identifiable characters. It is the story of good vs. evil; of sanity vs. madness. One doesn’t just read this story, one becomes involved in it, whether we want to or not. The sensuous horror is matched only by the intricate suspense, with an ending that sucks your breath away. This is a first class work from an extremely talented and engaging author. We should all look forward to her next works.

Until Next Time (Book) - 1/10/2003 11:38:23 AM
Such an impact of good against evil that rocks a man – or a woman -- to the intimate core! This story will first take your breath; then once you get it back, it will knock it out of you! A well-written suspense that will have you wondering about your own sleep patterns . . .

Dorothy From Kansas Meets the Wizard of X (Book) - 12/16/2002 10:20:26 AM
The title is certainly an eye-catcher and the foreward enhances the mystique surrounding the pornography industry. Looks like a superb read to me!

Until Next Time (Book) - 12/12/2002 6:30:12 PM
Explicit in details and yet written with such grace and style! Excellent.

The Unpromised Land (Book) - 12/11/2002 7:50:39 AM
Aparthied South Africa and Israel are but two sides of the same coin. Sad that cultural and political aparthied is still glorified in Israel.

The Unpromised Land (Book) - 11/16/2002 7:18:01 PM
Very interesting storyline. Very creative and readable! A talented writer.

Until Next Time (Book) - 11/15/2002 9:41:38 AM
WHEW! I kept having to look over my shoulder to make sure no one was watching. I feel guilty of voyeurism. Looking in through the keyhole. The scene played out before me and I couldn't look away! Superb expression of the most intimate.

The Unpromised Land (Book) - 11/15/2002 9:29:09 AM
The excerpt sounds interesting.Would like to read the book.

Charlotte Behrens (Short Story) - 8/13/2015 5:05:30 AM
My cousin currently works at Harrington Inn in Port Huron Michigan. We were just chatting about a ghost that visited me last night. She told me that she finds coins at work and the elevator does spooky things. I did a google search and learned of this story. I'd love to connect the Author of this Article. So that they could share stories. My email is angelskybrat.gmail.com. If the Author reads this, I hope to hear from you soon. Amy Angel Edmonds Port Huron Michigan

To Speak Her Name: Margie Hart, Ace Stripper (Short Story) - 8/14/2014 8:46:10 AM
Thanks, M J. Much appreciated, for this & the other review you left me. Indeed, I've written for nearly 40 years & will continue to do so. My 7th book was just published last month.

To Speak Her Name: Margie Hart, Ace Stripper (Short Story) - 8/13/2014 9:22:10 PM
enjoyed the read, keep writing!! m

Looking For Mr. Golfball (Short Story) - 8/13/2014 9:20:50 PM
enjoyed the read, keep writing!! m

Looking For Mr. Golfball (Short Story) - 8/13/2014 9:50:48 AM
Ron: Thank you for the kind words. Much appreciated! I wrote this a good 20+ years ago. I did have a friend who was a crack golfer, & she was quite a looker. She had just been divorced. I had a crazy conversation w/her & this was the result. A funny aside, though ... . the time, I was married to a golf pro. At the time. I looked at your website & read some of your work. You certainly already know this, but you're a darned good writer. Very impressive! ~ Linda

Looking For Mr. Golfball (Short Story) - 8/13/2014 7:19:28 AM
Women seem to be the ones who like to write relationship stories and read them… Why else would "50 Shades of Gray" being so popular? On the other hand, women usually don't write about golf. When my dad was 60, for some reason he decided to pick up golf because he could no longer play softball with 20-year-olds. My mother, not wanting to be a golf widow, decided to join him. Sometimes, when playing with other couples, she beat him with her straightforward style and drives that rarely got off the ground. He was humbled. She became a golf fan. This little story was very funny and deserving an award. I loved it! Ron

Lou Christie: Lightning is Still Striking (Short Story) - 2/13/2012 12:57:32 AM
Contact me at Bernfawcett.optonline.net if you wish personal stories about Margie Hart. I was the daughter of the manager of the Gaitey theatre on 46th St and Broadway. From ages 3 to 8 I went backstage with Marigie who had a special liking for me. Etc.

How Taylor Hicks Made it Possible For Adam Lambert to Win American Idol (Short Story) - 9/22/2009 10:56:04 PM
I'm a big Idol fan. On a fluke, I caught the very first audition show, and I've been watching ever since. My hubby liked Taylor. I wasn't on that train. He's okay. Nothing against him. He has definite charisma. I think he was America's rebel vote. You're so right about that. I also think there was a sense of America feeling burnt out on the show that year. Same ole same ole. I was shocked when America didn't pick Adam. He has the presence, the talent, and, for me, he brings back that 80's feeling with a twist. You raise some great points in this write. Well done! Sheila

How Taylor Hicks Made it Possible For Adam Lambert to Win American Idol (Short Story) - 8/28/2009 10:33:01 PM
Good article - I happen to like Taylor and he deserved to win. I just hope American Idol does not go sour next season. With changes coming down it may not be as exciting as before. Time will tell.

To Speak Her Name: Margie Hart, Ace Stripper (Short Story) - 3/10/2008 7:20:27 PM


In The Hands of the Law (Short Story) - 12/31/2007 10:55:41 PM
Linda, I get the feeling this could've very easily happened in New Orleans. I do believe it's a keeper on my end.

Voice In My Head (Short Story) - 12/10/2007 10:50:54 AM
The spirit in your head could be your soul-mate. He/She could be looking out for your best interest. You might have meet before, but things could be preventing you two from being together. This spirit or voice could be seen has a guide. Just listen to the positive side. The negative will lead you down the wrong path.

New Orleans vs Irag? (Short Story) - 11/29/2007 3:07:57 PM
This hits home and right where it hurts and thank God somebody said how we've been feeling. I would love for GW to stay in the ruins for a minimum of 24 hours and let him see how folks have been done wrong of New Orleans but more notably of St. Bernard and the Great State of Louisiana. Realisticlly speaking, he doesn't give a damn because he's not affected directly; with the exception of putting gas into a car and food into his stomach, so how can he know how it is to live as the poor of the City do and know of the heartaches felt by all in the Metro Area. Linda, thank you so much for speaking out on this.

Lou Christie: Lightning is Still Striking (Short Story) - 11/29/2007 2:50:46 PM
Linda, great piece of work!!! After reading it I couldn't help but to remember the night I got to meet him after a show in Montgomery (Alabama) that he; along with, Tommy Roe and Billy Joe Royal, did. Billy and I would eventually become friends and with each time he and Lou would return to Montgomery for a show I'd find myself saving every penny I could so that I could go. To this day hearing both of them do various events I find myself reliving one of the most pleasant times of my life. And, because of them I'll always be forever young. Thanks for the article.

Voice In My Head (Short Story) - 9/3/2007 8:02:21 PM
Dear Linda, I like you. I like you so much that I have now read several of your short stories, more than I devote to most writers. In fact, I think you're wonderful. I can give you two answers to those questions, and I have a suspicion that I know which one it is, but I need to tell you my similar story. I really do not know how far back to start; so I will just start somewhere. Before my son was born, I wanted very much to have a baby. However, it did not happen right away so I went to have fertility treatments. It cost a lot of money and went on for a while with no success. I was getting tired of the scientific answer to this age old puzzle, so I started praying about having a child. I told God what kind of child that I wanted. I wanted one with special gifts. Not long after that I was pregnant and could not thank God enough for my answered prayer. When the child was old enough to eat solid foods, it was hard to get him to eat anything that had protein. He wanted food with a soft texture and did not like beans. I finally decided to give him hot dog weiners for the little bit of protein that they contained. As soon as I made this decision, a voice in my head said "leukemia". Every time that I thought about it I heard the same thing,"leukemia". I had questions; so I gave the voice a list. I said, "rice" and heard nothing. When other foods were mentioned, I heard nothing, but when I got back to the weiners, I heard it again,"leukemia". (Bologna was listed, but I heard nothing when I got to that one. I am convinced now that it was because he did not like bologna either). Finally, I asked, "pinapples?" This time I got a complete sentence,"Pineapples are good." No words were ever spoken out loud. Every time I got back to the subject and asked about pineapples, I heard the same complete sentence, "Pineapples are good." So I went to the store and bought the enormous industrial size cans of pineapples and fed them to my son and his cousins to be sure that there was always more than any one person could eat, and therefore everyone would have more than enough. I had forgotten the incident until about five years later. My mother told me about a clown at a children's hospital where the leukemia patients were kept who asked the crowd of children, "Who likes hot dogs?" Doctors were stunned when the whole mob of children raised their hands. Researchers took note. Studies were made. Finally, hot dog weiners and bologna were found to cause a high incidence of leukemia in children. Nothing was ever said about pineapples. I asked my mother about it. She did not know. She only knew what the researchers reported on television. So recently I looked it up on the internet to find out what is know about children's diets in relation to childhood leukemia. I found that a diet that is high in good protein such as regular meats and beans prevent childhood leukemia but not weiners or bologna. That is the kind of diet that my son had. Therefore he was at risk. I also found out that pineapples are known to prevent a lot of diseases including cancer which leukemia might be included in, but that was still not mentioned by name. So I assume that doctors still do not know what I know. Getting back to the subject of a voice inside your head. That was God telling me how to protect my son. Not every voice is a good voice. Satan exists and gets people into trouble. The bible says to try the spirits and see if they are of God in 1 John 4:1 and also 1 Timothy 4:1-3. Something to look up on the internet is ChristianWord.org. These people have some terrific free prayer books and will explain it far more thoroughly than I ever could in this space. I cannot really say whether the voice that you heard was God or Satan but I can say that Jesus said, "You will know men by their fruits." People will know who you obey by the way you act. Sometimes the voice is that real. Sometimes it is not. Let me give you a hint. Satan is a nagger. God is polite.

Birth Of An Activist (Short Story) - 9/3/2007 6:54:24 PM
I don't think that the abuse that I suffered as a child was as extreme as what you described here, but it was there. My own father considered himself to be a very loving father and wanted respect as such or he would beat my legs with a black leather belt if he did not get it. He called me Duck Butt when I was not fat and used this kind of humor on everyone, expecting them to laugh at his tormenting "funnies" until he got so sick in his last days that he could not talk because he did not have the strength. He spent many days in his bed growing weaker every day unable to say what he really thought. At one point he got frightened and wanted my mother to help him go over the sinner's prayer with him though years earlier he would have told anyone that he had made everything right with God. It must have taken all the strength he could muster to write a note one day and tell me that he was proud of me for being such a good daughter. I did not know what to do or say. I felt so helpless for not knowing what to do. The last night of his life on Earth, it was obvious that he was wasting away and that we would not have him twenty four more hours. I sat at the foot of his bed praying out loud, "Father, he is our daddy and we love him (I was including a sister who was not in the room at the time)is there anything I can do for him?" I felt an answer rise up in my spirit, "It's okay, he is mine". The next morning I said my final goodbye as I could see that his body was there and his eyes were rolling, but he did not acknowledge my presence in the room. I went to work as usual, knowing that I would get a phone call from my mother during the day telling me that he had died and that I would not work for the next few days. It all happened just the way I described it, and I had peace because my Father in Heaven assured me that it was okay.

Has He Made It Through The Rain? (Short Story) - 5/29/2006 2:39:18 PM
Hi Linda: Thank you so much for inviting me to read your article! I am a Taylor Hicks fan and I think he looks cuter by every show. Not only that he believes in his own ability to capture the hearts of his fans. He is genuine, he is him. He shows no other face but his own whenever he stands up there on the stage to sing the songs that he himself think was was good at; and he was just plainly having great fun in performing. It is so natural to love him just the way he is - his genuine self, even though he was immensely criticized by Simon each and every time, but it didn't seem to bother him as much for he was just basically a guy who was having fun on the stage, and he enjoys it when he knows his talents are being appreciated by his fans. As writers ourselves, I believe we also hae to face many constructive criticisms in order to tune up our skills; but some of us do write because of our own interests. I write because I love to write. I write it as a hobby, and if one day I made myself known, then I will be very happy; if not, I still would continue to write and tell stories. I'm just being me. Like Taylor Hicks, I enjoy what I'm doing. I think many of us writers fall into this category. We writer because we are interested in writing, and because it makes us happy to write. Thank you so much once again for reading my article and commenting on it and inviting me to read yours. Yes, Taylor Hicks is my idol and I think it is just about time that a guy would win. As last year I like Bo Byce, I thought he was good, but obviously was not good enough to win. Taylor Hicks has captured the hearts of many Americans, and he is well-worth the title. I personally do not think that Katherine McPhee was good from beginning to end. She might have one or two good songs, and that just about all. Also, as I have stated, she didn't dress like a lady. Her clothes were too flashy. But then again, the above is just my own opinion about Katherine. I'm sure those who love her will find many good things about her to admire. Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

Reluctant Witness: Robert Taylor, Hollywood, and Communism (Short Story) - 5/29/2006 3:13:17 AM
Your article sparked my interest to seek out more information, so I visited imdb to check out Robert Taylor's films and I can't remember if I've ever seen any (I'm sure I have, but just forgotten). But I certainly have always liked the actress Barbara Stanwyck, his first wife. "The power of dreams ..." was a great opening line. Whether one is thinking of nocturnal dreaming or daydreaming, or even Oprah's wildest dreams, it captured my imagination straight away. Your article was read like a private journal entry. Thank you for sharing not just your nocturnal dream, but also your interpretation of it, and your hopes and dreams for your book. When my father died, 13 years ago, I dreamt about him nearly every night for about 2 years. These dreams were of great comfort to me. I too believe in the power of dreams :-) Great article, thank you very much.

Has He Made It Through The Rain? (Short Story) - 5/28/2006 1:13:00 AM
Thanks for sending me an email about your short story, "Has He Made It Through The Rain", the tracking author system works well. I very much enjoyed reading the article. I live in Australia so I haven't seen any of this season's American Idol, but I know that Taylor won and I'm sure you were pleased with that result. You had my attention right from the start, if I wasn't sure who Taylor was I certainly knew who Barry Manilow was. And we do have an Australian version of Idol. I also liked how you related Taylor's experience to your own, so we learned more about you too. And the use of a photo made the article look more appealing to the eye. A nice shot of a singer-songwriter, the loner. I think that anyone can relate to the emphasis on appreciating your own talents and staying true to yourself. You summed up well. And the article was just the right length for ease of reading on the computer, especially for my middle-aged eyes. I may not be the world's best reviewer, but I know that I enjoyed your story -- thank you muchly :-)

Voice In My Head (Short Story) - 3/16/2006 11:25:22 AM
Well, honestly we are not sure, who the voice is, how it gets there and if you could consider it a psychic. The always being right and be nagging part is indeed a good pointer for the female side and maybe you don't listen too often, well because you do want to make a few decisions on your own, even if it is just to find out that you should have listened...enjoyed your story! Birgit and Roger

New Orleans vs Irag? (Short Story) - 3/14/2006 5:45:04 AM
What are the mayor and governor's job in all of this. where has the moneey gone already sent. Where are the residents trying to help themselves? College kids spend their spring break in New Orleans to help clean it up, but nowhere do I see any residents of New Orleans helping them. I wonder why that is? This accountability goes both ways, Linda J. Alexander. (Irag?)

Diamonds vs Kisses . . . a Flippant Commentary on Women’s Lib  (Short Story) - 2/15/2006 11:43:31 AM
As women we sure know how to get the cake, eat it, and the kiss without spending a dime. What a cruel world! LOL blessin's Sis. Linda, saving this for future smiles, cynth'ya lewis reed

Birth Of An Activist (Short Story) - 2/1/2006 6:18:30 PM
I understood every word I read here - and more. I literally cannot remember the years of my life between the ages of eight and thirteen, save a few isolated incidents, mostly school related. My training tells me that I can't remember those years because my mind knows the truth and is protecting me. I know that one day something, somewhere, will trigger the memories, and THAT scares me. Really scares me. As with you, I have made it my life's work to speak out/up... to create awareness... to help children... If I can make the difference in the life of even one child, it will have mattered. I have to try. Thank you for speaking out and creating awareness, Linda. A thousand hugs to you, Tami

Lou Christie: Lightning is Still Striking (Short Story) - 10/26/2004 1:18:14 PM
Linda: What a great story!! You aren't kidding, lightning is still striking!! I've seen Lou in concert 6 times in the last year and a half, with three more coming up in December. He just gets better. I've met him and found him to be as charming as I knew he would be. It took me 40 years to finally meet my "teen idol"!! I was in the audience at the recording of his new CD Lou Christie's Greatest Hits Live at the Bottom Line. It was a wodnerful night, Lou was just spectacular and the evening was preserved by the recording for all time. I enjoyed your story tremendously. Thanks for sharing it with us. How fortunate you are that you were able to sit down with Lou and have do a one on one interview. I would love to sit down with Lou and hear the stories of his life. He's a fascenating man...... ~ Evelyn

Lou Christie: Lightning is Still Striking (Short Story) - 9/8/2004 5:32:11 AM
Linda, Thank you for this great story. Lightning Strikes has always been on my hot list of songs. And I always wondered about Lou. ...Michael

From General Hospital to American History X . . . and beyond (Article) - 10/29/2010 10:51:16 AM
Thx for the note. The term, "originate," is meant to indicate the actress who really did bring that character to life--ie, infuse it to the point where Genie Francis is remembered beyond any other, as opposed to her being the first to bring Laura the screen. As for you not seeing any on-screen chemistry between Genie & John ... no offense taken whatsoever. That there WAS chemistry between the 2 people, however, is without question. John has verified that personally.

From General Hospital to American History X . . . and beyond (Article) - 10/7/2010 7:18:39 PM
Genie Francis did not originate the roll of Laura Spencer. She came after an actress named Stacey Baldwin. I didn't notice any on-screen chemistry b/w Genie Francis and John Martinuzzi/Morrissey - no offense.

Michael Cole -- Pete Cochran from The Mod Squad (Article) - 7/30/2010 9:44:50 PM
Ah, tonight I reopened my book of sweetest memories and turned to your page. Michael Cole, one of my greatest loves, is described by you to perfection. The one description you left out was 'yummy' (but then you didn't stay for dinner). I had the priceless and divinely bitter-sweet pleasure of hanging out with him in the 80s when he lived in Tarzana. At the time I was living in a tiny converted travel trailer in Topanga Canyon on Harrison Ford's eclectic horse ranch. I sold cars at Woodland Hill's Lincoln Mercury and met Michael at an Elvis Tribute Michael performed in. That evening I slipped one of my business cards in his pocket as he passed me on the way to the bar. I was quite shy in those days. A few weeks later, he phoned me, and we met at a restaurant in Woodland Hills. After a few Crown Royals we sang "Danny Boy" together at the bar. His warmth, fiesty quick wit and soft-spoken silver-tongued ways still send me on a romantic holiday almost 25 years later. When the road rises up to greet me again, I trust the wind will stay at my back long enough to catch up with him. There are loves. . .and then there is love such as I feel for Michael.

Robert Taylor: Still A Star (Article) - 4/29/2010 9:48:26 PM
It is a pleasure to read this article. Turner Classic Movies has shown the films of Robert Taylor throughout April, 2010, and I have learned to appreciate qualities in the essence of his performances that at last brought me to a private standing ovation, one I can share with Ms. Alexander's opinion here. He quickly led me past the obvious masculine definitions of beauty, to a charm and gravity of purpose in his different roles that stand as testimony of versatility, intelligence, good humor, curiosity and courage. As he aged and remained willing to open his persona and image to changing times, even a greater sense of risk seems evident in his roles. I am grateful to see that he was able to ride out the controversies that conflicted his public bearing. I do not care that he was not perfect: I care that he endured, and that he left a legacy of love as a father to the children he shared at last in a happy marriage; a tribute to their mother, as well as to him. Sincerely, Kathryn Cogswell.

From Queen of Me to Queen of Indy Music (Article) - 8/2/2009 11:54:44 AM
this is a wonderful story about Natalie Brown Linda -- you are quite the reporter my friend -- peace and love -- Jon Michael

From Queen of Me to Queen of Indy Music (Article) - 7/27/2009 8:13:08 AM
You've done it again Linda. My hats off to ya.

The Love Life of Robert Taylor (Article) - 6/2/2009 3:23:32 PM
I like your style, Linda. The circular motion invites your readers to 'go with the flow' of your words. He was

Michael Cole -- Pete Cochran from The Mod Squad (Article) - 5/13/2009 6:03:01 PM
This is a fabulous story. I can appreciate more than most having met Michael a hundred years ago as well. Please check the story I sent you (with picture) and enjoy my moments, too.

Browne Has Big Plans After Departing Another World (Article) - 4/13/2009 6:50:15 PM
Linda, I don't know how I missed this rewrite of your '92 interview -- another excellent piece of informative work my friend -- peace and love my friend -- Jon Michael

Guiding Light’s Joseph Breen Crazy Like A Fox - Dr. Will Jeffries (Article) - 4/13/2009 6:46:47 PM
Linda, I am not a soap fan -- but I am a very appreciative fan of your professional, in depth reviews -- another terrific job -- thanks for sharing your insight into Joe Breen -- peace and love my friend -- Jon Michael

The Family Legacy of Robert Taylor, Film Legend . . . & Father (Article) - 9/8/2008 5:16:21 PM
I really hope this message reaches Tessa and Terry because the wonderful people of Lisco, Nebraska would like to invite them to the 100th Centennial Celebration of Lisco next September 14, 2009 -- the Sunday after Labor Day. There is a special reason why folks would love to have you and your families join them for this grand occasion -- because your father, Robert Taylor was a visitor of Lisco Day. There are photos of Robert Taylor in the town of Lisco's American Legion Hall showing Robert Taylor's visits. He was loved by everyone in the Lisco community, and many of the original families children and grandchildren still live there. Lisco, Nebraska is located on Hiway 27 between Scottsbluff and Ogalala in Garden County. Since Lisco will be 100 years old next year, it would be lovely if we could possibly reach Tessa and Terry to visit Lisco Day in honor of their father, Robert Taylor. To this day people in the Lisco area remember Robert Taylor visiting their town. People who were just little children at the time when Robert Taylor visited Lisco now have children grandchildren and great-grandchildren on their own. Come one...come all -- to Lisco Day next year. You are going to meet the greatest people in the world. The article I just read here about Robert Taylor has reminded me of all the times I have been visiting in Lisco myself, and hear the beloved stories of Robert Taylor and the peoples' memories of him. I think Tessa and Terry would be pleased to know these great residents of Lisco still hold Robert Taylor dear. I can be reached at mel.uwyo.edu for more information.

The Adult Video Awards Show – 1990 (Article) - 5/27/2008 3:07:50 PM
Linda, thanks for sharing all of the great interviews with the stars over the last several days. They have been intersting and quite informative. May peace be always with you. JMW

Michael Cole -- Pete Cochran from The Mod Squad (Article) - 5/26/2008 5:11:55 AM
A very special moment in your life Linda. An intersting interview that reveals much of Michael Cole. Famous persoalities are people too. With the all of our human frailties, hopes and dreams. Thanks for sharing with your friends at the den. JMW

Handsome Jay Hammer of Guiding Light (Article) - 5/26/2008 3:28:06 AM
Hi linda i see that you are indeed quite an interviewer, especially of famous people, You have great stories to tell All the best Tuchy

Two Originals Remain From the Herman’s Hermits (Article) - 5/25/2008 6:01:55 PM
Being lucky to have seen Peter and the others what seems like enons ago this brought back tons of memories. It was at the very shows they did where I met the likes of Billy Joe Royal, Tommy Roe, Joe South, Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart; along with many others. Those were the days where life seemed so much simplier. Linda, once again you've captured another gem.

Michael Cole -- Pete Cochran from The Mod Squad (Article) - 5/24/2008 4:53:39 PM
WOw Linda I can see how this was very special for you. It brought me back thanks Linda tuchy

Michael Cole -- Pete Cochran from The Mod Squad (Article) - 5/24/2008 2:14:13 PM
What can I say that I haven't already said many times before? Reading this took me back to a time I could visulize watching Mod Squad but I'd actually be hearing it and reading this at the same time. Great article. And still hoping you can do the one I'd suggested way back when. The more we age the more I think a lot of people who misunderstand us come away with a different take of us. Could be wrong though.

Dion is a Lasting Smile (Article) - 5/23/2008 1:07:05 PM
You did it again, My Friend.

Taylor & Stanwyck: The First Meeting (Article) - 5/23/2008 1:05:17 PM
You've done it again: fab work and in sensational style. But you should know by now I'm a fan of your's and look forward to anything that you may come up with,lol. Simply put, great.

Taylor & Stanwyck: The First Meeting (Article) - 5/23/2008 12:34:10 PM
Wow! I was mesmerized from start to finish. Love the story.

Taylor & Stanwyck: The First Meeting (Article) - 5/23/2008 11:30:46 AM
What a great way to think about that first meeting between the two. I love just the thought of it being, just like that. Thanks Linda, and I am now almost finished with your new book. Diane Bell

Bobby Pickett (Article) - 4/15/2008 7:33:57 AM
Hi Linda I happened upon this article. WOW thanks for giving me the man behind the Monster Mash. We really do not know the artists until we read about them through interviews. I can see n he made a great impression on you. Linda I also see that your real last name is Napier. One of MY clients in the 1970’s was Napier corporation in Meriden Connecticut. They were jewelry manufacturers. Do you know them? All the best Carl (tuchy)

Look, Vern, It's Jim Varney (Article) - 4/12/2008 11:31:14 AM
Linda, once again not disappointed. Thank you for all that you're doing.

Taylor Hicks Interview (Article) - 12/31/2007 7:27:56 PM
Interesting article; very well penned! :) That must have been cool meeting him in person; he seems like a nice fellow! :)

Rob Everett ... The Man Behind The Star (Article) - 12/8/2007 3:29:07 AM
Thats actually really accurate except for hes too old to work now :(

Getting Older (Poetry) - 2/7/2015 3:10:01 PM
I can relate to this meaningful theme that you express via your verses here, Linda. Thank you for sharing. Love, peace, and blessings to you, Regis

The Way It Is (Poetry) - 11/1/2013 8:57:42 PM
This is cute the way you tell this. But there is a message here, if only people can actually see it. Even though the wording here is a facetious attempt at lossening up, there is still a serious side to the words. Thank you for sharing.

I Don't Know (Poetry) - 9/30/2011 3:49:58 AM
I think we can all relate to that...

My Prayer (Poetry) - 11/15/2009 3:50:30 AM
We know that THe Lord loves us So much. We need to run to Him and "Wake up and die right!" Nice poem, Love & Blessings, John Michaeldominoi

My Prayer (Poetry) - 10/16/2009 12:02:37 PM
And thank goodness Linda, we are never alone! You have a beautiful poetic voice. Blessings...Frances

Getting Older (Poetry) - 7/23/2009 7:13:14 AM
Wisely spoken, Linda! Very much enjoyed this poem. Anna

The Way It Is (Poetry) - 7/23/2009 7:11:33 AM
Fun to read! Nice job. Anna

Getting Older (Poetry) - 8/16/2008 12:43:28 PM
You are NOT OLD. You have God given talent and a heart of GOLD. Success Always, John Michael

I Don't Know (Poetry) - 7/3/2008 2:02:20 PM
Great work done.

Getting Older (Poetry) - 6/14/2008 5:37:30 PM
I am old, age 63 and dont even want the aches and pains that come with 70's and 80's. Guess no choice in the matter though.

Good Day! (Poetry) - 6/10/2008 4:21:57 PM
Just peachy, I like this. At least you are not fruity, and off your rocker. I am sort of depressed and still grieving loss of hubby Tom. This reading of poetry from the authors is good therapy for grief. Passes the time away. Loneliness sets in a bedtime though, nights are so long. When hubby was ill we used to stay awake most of the nights. Was tiresome though.

The Way It Is (Poetry) - 6/10/2008 4:19:53 PM
Telling it like it is. A jingle of words that are fun to red and thought of by you only, noone copied you in any way.

The Way It Is (Poetry) - 3/31/2008 6:32:45 PM
Awesome!!!! Hey fancy meeting you here too...

The Housewife (Poetry) - 1/22/2008 4:44:51 PM
What an under rated, under appreciated life is the life of the housewife. Our moms, wives, sisters and daughters. The ydeserve most of the praise for how most of turn out. Well thought out poem. Jon Michael willey

My Prayer (Poetry) - 9/19/2006 4:55:17 AM
WE'RE NEVER ALONE. GOD IS ALWAYS THERE !!!!!!!!M

My Mama (Poetry) - 9/19/2006 4:53:51 AM
Most mothers are there to guide, help and love. Your mother sounds like she was a good mom.....M

Getting Older (Poetry) - 9/19/2006 4:47:39 AM
Yes, we all get older, With age comes wisdom,,so they say. Well done.......M

I Don't Know (Poetry) - 7/3/2006 7:08:58 PM
You are very talented. Homeschool

The Way It Is (Poetry) - 7/3/2006 7:07:33 PM
A girl is a tomboy Until she reaches puberty Homeschool PS. I enjoyed your poetry

Getting Older (Poetry) - 3/6/2006 12:21:03 AM
I am 49 my wife writer partner is 45, we are aging gratefully except for some of the pain that the body takes on as you get older... But we all have to do it... Stay strong! Blessing to you. Roger and Birgit

My Mama (Poetry) - 2/15/2006 11:40:23 AM
You got that right Sis Linda. blessin's, cynth'ya lewis reed

The Way It Is (Poetry) - 1/25/2006 8:40:38 AM
Great twist of prose to rhyme. Congrats on all your writing successes!

My Prayer (Poetry) - 12/16/2005 11:22:04 AM
Yes, my friend we are never alone for he loves us before we love our own selves and this is truly an awesome god we have and serve.

Depression (Poetry) - 12/16/2005 11:21:07 AM
I could relate to this piece because atleast i don't let things get me down for too long. God has been good to me and i have so much to be greatful for and so do you. We go throught hings to share and help others especially when we are blessed to come out of it.

The Younger Years (Poetry) - 12/16/2005 11:19:34 AM
I am so glad my childhood is over also and i thank God to still be alive.

Getting Older (Poetry) - 12/16/2005 11:18:42 AM
I love the way you express yourself about aging for we all have to embark upon this someday. Eventually so will I. keep writing

I Don't Know (Poetry) - 12/16/2005 11:17:29 AM
Sometimes it is so hard to express verbally that is why we arite i guess right?

The Way It Is (Poetry) - 12/16/2005 11:16:43 AM
I like your style and differnt art of expression. I believe that we have alot in common

The Way It Is (Poetry) - 11/20/2005 10:29:47 PM
Okay girlfriend, I want you off the wacky tabaccy. Cute...

The Way It Is (Poetry) - 6/11/2005 10:46:22 AM
Delightful, Linda. Love and peace to you. Regis

The Way It Is (Poetry) - 5/30/2005 4:43:43 PM
Haha! Gotta love it! Fun read. Silly. funny and silly.

I Don't Know (Poetry) - 1/16/2005 10:01:15 AM
You did say a lot and now I am tracking you because I am interested in my fellow PublishAmerica authors and like your style.

I Don't Know (Poetry) - 11/15/2004 7:27:26 PM
Much said here.

Getting Older (Poetry) - 8/13/2004 8:43:51 AM
What a wonderful way of thinking of age, my poor old body needed that. Thanks, Reg.

Getting Older (Poetry) - 6/20/2004 3:36:16 AM
Every day we count a grey is a blessing from God, so I pray we as writers live to write yet another day. (Hey HEY Hey!) In awe of your accomplishments, my Sistah, blessin's, cynth'ya lewis reed

I Don't Know (Poetry) - 3/19/2004 8:48:02 PM
It seems impossible to communicate with some while so easy to do so with others. Well said. Love and peace to you, Linda. Regis

I Don't Know (Poetry) - 3/10/2004 6:42:32 AM
good one.

I Don't Know (Poetry) - 3/8/2004 1:50:57 PM
Communication is based on assumptions re the other person. Franz

Getting Older (Poetry) - 2/15/2004 2:29:05 PM
Well written, Linda. I enjoyed this - just before my Dad died, he looked at me with those sad blue eyes of his and said, "You know, I have a million dollars worth of advice but no matter how hard I try I can't seem to sell even a nickle of it!" Unfortunate, though it is, not everyone becomes wiser with age.

Getting Older (Poetry) - 9/30/2003 3:45:33 AM
The main thing we have to remember is that life is for living. Far too many people reach the end without ever living at all, they just exist until they don't exist any more. (See my poem on "The Secret Is To Live, Not Just Exist" if you want to see what I mean). Nicely done.

Ms. Simile Skeltonics (Poetry) - 9/24/2003 4:28:33 PM
Raw in it's iamges!

Getting Older (Poetry) - 8/31/2003 5:51:34 PM
Linda, Very intersting and thought provoking. This was one I could relate to all the way! Sherry

Getting Older (Poetry) - 8/31/2003 7:46:45 AM
Salutations to Author Poet Linda Alexander * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * "Getting Older" is a thought's developer poem, which flows under the beats of a sage heart that listens to the dictation of the soul. If we care to take care of the tasks of each day, aging will mature each day, and everyday will be an enlighted living. "Getting Older" showed me the way... pleasurable reading from an excellent WRITING. Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Getting Older (Poetry) - 8/31/2003 3:28:25 AM
excellent

Getting Older (Poetry) - 8/31/2003 12:49:50 AM
by keeping our creative energies flowing we can slow down the aging process...

Getting Older (Poetry) - 8/30/2003 10:43:30 PM
Yes Linda isnt it the truth... Excellent write Thank you Lady peg

Getting Older (Poetry) - 8/30/2003 9:03:30 PM
You Are Only As Old As You Feel,i.e. I Somehow Made It To 18 Never Got Past 23!! TRASK

Paved Street, III (Poetry) - 8/29/2003 12:18:09 PM
Excellent................ Don

Man in the Box (Poetry) - 8/3/2003 1:51:48 PM
Yes I understand.. Words that hurt are not worth hearing I hear them every day Mister

True Love (Poetry) - 8/2/2003 11:30:58 AM
cute!!!!!!

Man in the Box (Poetry) - 7/26/2003 9:04:01 AM
Deep message! Well written and lyrical. Enjoyed and would like to know what inspiredit. ShyPoet1

Man in the Box (Poetry) - 7/5/2003 8:06:28 AM
Very musical and captivating, i luv it. keep the god work

Traffic Jam (Poetry) - 6/21/2003 1:24:29 PM
How well I know the feeling. . .and oming mantras helps not at all. Great job!

Operator, Please. . . . (Poetry) - 6/21/2003 1:19:29 PM
Fantastic!!

Paved Street, III (Poetry) - 6/20/2003 6:23:56 PM
Clever and witty to the max. Brava!

Paved Street, III (Poetry) - 6/14/2003 2:18:16 PM
It is very impressive... "Paved Street, III" comes with evrything poetry can demand. I have enjoyed an enriching reading. "Paved Street, III" delivers knowledge and inspire imagination. My respect and admiration the the Author of "Paved Street, III" Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Paved Street, III (Poetry) - 6/14/2003 9:57:17 AM
I love it! It reminds me of 'Alice' going through the rabbit hole. Wonderful work, Linda.

Old Friends (Poetry) - 6/14/2003 8:07:53 AM
Start to finish how wonderful...

My Prayer (Poetry) - 6/14/2003 8:06:33 AM
I enjoyed this very much... but I would like to read maybe a longer version of it... what a wonderful poetic story it could be.. I really do like this...

True Love (Poetry) - 5/26/2003 10:18:13 PM
Hi Linda, I am sure your can find some takers? Bill p.s. I added you to my tracker.

Only You Can Prevent Forests (Poetry) - 5/25/2003 11:23:49 PM
I loved the spoken truth, and the layout and structuring of the poem, and the unique idea. All well done. Great poem Linda. Bill

Only You Can Prevent Forests (Poetry) - 5/25/2003 11:43:51 AM
Love the title too.

Only You Can Prevent Forests (Poetry) - 5/25/2003 10:21:53 AM
... Unique, original, sage and educating... "Only You Can Prevent Forests"... (PREVENT JUSTICE)... The Author made her Voice soundinnnnnnng. This is magnificent! I Salute the Author of "Only You Can Prevent Forests". Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Only You Can Prevent Forests (Poetry) - 5/25/2003 9:15:56 AM
Linda, this is so awesome 'Stand proudly whispering the secret of the woodlands." Peggy

Nostalgia (Poetry) - 5/25/2003 8:38:37 AM
I like this...excellent work on the subject of memories, those priceless treasures, often bittersweet.

The Chase (Poetry) - 5/18/2003 2:01:57 PM
G'day to you! I HATE that when guys do that, since I'm at that age. LoL. Wow. I loved the essence and atmosphere of this poem. Really was sweet and immature ;) Lots of Love *-x Brittany x-*

Operator, Please. . . . (Poetry) - 5/17/2003 9:25:04 PM
Oh I love this one!!!

Ambivalence (Poetry) - 5/17/2003 8:41:29 PM
You bet. Maybe. Can I answer this later? [lol] Well done.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.