AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: DR FRED BELL, iClaire Power Murphy, HonDL, iC Schutter, iRichard Sharp, inancy rossman, iLori Maynard, iAlan Cook, i
 
Home > Bill Brent
 

Recent Reviews for Bill Brent


The Inner God (Article) - 3/6/2008 1:59:09 PM
The inner god is with all the time and weshould looke inward more often but not forget praying to the living god. Happy Easter to you.

Review of HELLO CRUEL WORLD: 101 Alternatives to Suicide, by Kate Bornstein (Article) - 4/20/2007 3:04:59 PM
Good review! Elizabeth

Review of HELLO CRUEL WORLD: 101 Alternatives to Suicide, by Kate Bornstein (Article) - 4/18/2007 11:39:55 AM
Thanks for sharing Brett!! Love Tinka

Summary, January 2007 (Article) - 2/2/2007 10:14:46 AM
Thanks for sharing Bill!! Love Tinka

Smart Things I Said in 2006: The Brief Bloviations of Bill Brent (Article) - 1/3/2007 9:46:00 AM
Most interesting and very insightful!! Keep it up mate!! Love Tinka

Do Appearances Deceive? Reveal? Yes. (Article) - 12/17/2006 9:57:58 AM
A thought provoking write!! I for one would NEVER appear in public without my make-up...I would rather go naked but not without my "mask" if I can call it that!! The reason why? I DO have a very low selfesteem about my looks!! Love Tinka

Review of THE FUTURIST, by James Othmer (novel) (Article) - 9/13/2006 11:18:27 AM
Well written and intelligent review. Book sounds interesting. Malcolm Watts

The Inner God (Article) - 9/1/2006 11:03:25 AM
Thought provoking offering!! Something to think about!! Love Tiunka

Uncomplicate My Life (Article) - 11/30/2005 6:27:02 AM
This piece mirrors several of my meditations on my Tarot by Sage cards posted on my site. One of my tarot cards especially comes to mind here, that one being The Crossroad, where I have set the meditation in direct correalation with Uncomplicate My Life, that meditation being to get off the pavement and make a turn on a dirt road to clock the pronghorns. Another card comes to mind here, this one being the Bead and Pawn card about budgeting money and knowing genuine from counterfeit. My Carousel card resonates here also, worth mentioning to what you have said about "finding happiness in life" and "try to end up someplace unfamiliar." The Carousel would be just that where at six revolutions per minute is the perfect pace to live life. Also, acquainting yourself with assorted artists who revive merriment. That is what I have done, aquainted myself with you Bill, a true word artist. Thanks for the intelligent, uncomplicated article. I truly relate and enjoyed this much! Sage

Uncomplicate My Life (Article) - 11/15/2005 9:25:21 PM
Excellent advice!! Every line in this article is Superbly truthful Thank you so much "Every time you say “yes” to a commitment, say “no” to TWO others... No need to explain yourself... " Excellent and I thank you for that too. Time to get back to basics and LIFE as it was and was intended to be. Thank you! Tracey Keeping this in my library. Thank you.

open fire (Poetry) - 12/8/2008 10:20:53 PM
Hi Bill, Do you have an email address? Thanks.

TAKE AWAY (Poetry) - 3/7/2008 12:10:18 PM
Good writing and see myself as only I can be in the looking glass. Much is given to those who believe though but your writing was nspiring to me. today of all days.

If I Could See from You to Me (Poetry) - 3/6/2008 2:01:04 PM
Love to know my future but best I do not. Loneliness is part of it, I know and can handle it with God's blessings. Happy Easter too,

On the Future of Our Society (Poetry) - 3/6/2008 1:57:50 PM
hEARD last night on talk radio that depression is near and hard times at hand and 09 will be worse. Won't look ahead now but we must all start planning our future. Hope it will turn out better than predicted. Will keep in touch. Love, your poems. Write more for us too. Please do.

THIS IS ONLY A LOVE SONG (Poetry) - 1/9/2008 11:30:57 AM
Lovely sonnet~`*

THIS IS ONLY A LOVE SONG (Poetry) - 8/17/2007 11:32:20 AM
Thanks for sharing this love song... :)!! Love Tinka

THIS IS ONLY A LOVE SONG (Poetry) - 8/17/2007 1:16:15 AM
Loved the flow of the words, marvelous love song...hugs, Peggy

THIS IS ONLY A LOVE SONG (Poetry) - 8/16/2007 7:29:12 PM
This is an excellent love song... I just wish I liked the scent of turpentine alittle more...LOL Great work, Jen

Here in Acirema (Poetry) - 8/6/2007 8:28:51 PM
A powerful write, I really enjoyed this read. The last two lines are stunning, and made me want to read the poem all over again. Very nice work here!

Rebuttal (Poetry) - 6/28/2007 11:09:48 AM
Most interesting offering Brett!! Love Tinka

Rebuttal (Poetry) - 6/28/2007 5:13:29 AM
Interesting indeed...Hugs

Here in Acirema (Poetry) - 4/15/2007 3:43:45 AM
A powrefull offering.....bullseye of a write...right?? Love Tinka :)

Here in Acirema (Poetry) - 4/14/2007 8:44:53 PM
Bill, Spot on perfection: we don't know America, do we? A dark current of hatred flows down bloodied streets of discrimination against any who are considered "different": gays, lesbians, disabled, minority...well done. I will be reading more of your words. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Here in Acirema (Poetry) - 4/14/2007 8:14:02 PM
I once looked Acirema up and never knew that this place actually existed and you'd be surprised who owns land there... As for the write~ you penned a thought provoking piece that stirs ones other view on how hurtful people can actually be...and for what? So they themselves can be self-fullfilled? Enjoyed this and the thoughts that linger... Love and Peace~ Kimmy~

Here in Acirema (Poetry) - 4/14/2007 7:05:08 PM
Very powerful indeed

Here in Acirema (Poetry) - 4/14/2007 6:56:03 PM
Quite a powerful write.

the alphabet song, redux (Poetry) - 4/10/2007 7:17:18 AM
keys? Gotta keep up with the digital voice operated locks and ignitions! :) Love and Peace~ Kimmy~

the alphabet song, redux (Poetry) - 4/10/2007 5:00:39 AM
You still lose your keys since a Hi-Fi became a Wi-Fi....lol!! Love Tinka

untitled, 2007.03.21 (Poetry) - 3/23/2007 6:32:36 PM
honesty and candor should be the norm; and i strive for that. -- Jeff

untitled, 2007.03.21 (Poetry) - 3/22/2007 1:54:35 AM
I just have to ditto Suzie on this one!! Love Tinka

untitled, 2007.03.21 (Poetry) - 3/21/2007 9:16:58 PM
Yes, yes so true Brett! Body and mind are one and we must seek harmony between the two. Two sides of the same coin; but, Mind Matters Most ... We need to be fearlessly truthful ... Thanks for sharing. Love, Suzie :-D

Dirty Old Men (Now, Truly) (Poetry) - 12/23/2006 11:26:12 AM
Excellent write! Hard to know who to trust, isn't it? And folks like us are sitting ducks.

TAKE AWAY (Poetry) - 10/2/2006 1:21:47 PM
I know exactly what you mean Bro. Bill. blessin's cynth'ya lewis reed

If I Could See from You to Me (Poetry) - 8/11/2006 12:25:43 AM
And so my goal, succinctly put, is to be whole without that soot Indeed I find myself craving the same..but removing the soot sure has proven difficult. Love the way you think..profound Thankyou Bill..glad I found you. Vesna..:)

TAKE AWAY (Poetry) - 5/14/2006 5:14:38 PM
I love the creative flow of dreams. If only I could remember more of mine...

Make new words (Poetry) - 5/3/2006 9:47:04 PM
I love it! The message may be a little cutesy, as someone mentioned, but the real treat is reading this out loud and feeling the words you chose to use to describe non-words roll off your tongue. the cacophony and mellifluousness. the language. wordsmithy.

KICK THAT HABIT (Poetry) - 5/3/2006 9:36:41 PM
The best apect of "KICK THAT HABIT" is that it's an outright call to attention. Not a lot has been said lately about how people on the left and the right (in the US at least) are observing the greater, public world instead of participating. It speaks to me not just of nasty political red vs. blue games, but the whole idea that "we can get tickets to see "Fahrenheit 911" and that will make a difference" mentality. the poem is a call for awarness and action instead of a rant against this side or that side, justice or injustice, political or economic blame game, etc. I fully agree with the sentiment here-- it empowers the individual. I would like to hear it performed, though. I'm hearing more Eminem or Public Enemy when I read it, rather than the O'Jays or Temptaions.... It would be great if authors had the option here to also include a voice recording for some of their poems that readers could listen to....

I tramp the parching earth (Poetry) - 5/3/2006 9:09:20 PM
The last stanza is so much better here than in "tramping, scrawling, scratching!" It's much more visual and says what you want to say in a much more visceral way. This poem is a little morbid, as you say, but not altogether-- the core that the narrator digs for so deep is found and turned loose, astounding the remote star. This seemed like a kind of emotional or existential release to me. Anyway, the eruption seemed satisfying somehow when I read it. But then the narrator goes on to scrawl the secret dearth (the desolation, the lack of...?) I wonder how this poem would read if the first stanza became the last.... I would love for you to keep working on this-- it's such a terse, seemingly simple poem that the complexity "erupts" and "astounds" me. Great things are in this small package!

Dirty Old Men (Now, Truly) (Poetry) - 5/3/2006 8:43:54 PM
I love your meter in this poem! It runs so smooth in the stanzas with internal rhyme and I like how it breaks with the shorter staccato stanzas... Reading it, I can hear it! Good rhythm without sounding too rhymey/songey is hard to do-- and this nails it! I also like the idea that the dirty old man that you may think that you shouldn't listen to (the narrator) is the one that maybe you should, and the reall dirty old men manifested all around you (the mall, consumerism, the rent-a-cop, the mall marine) are the ones that are the real danger to succumb to... I really enjoyed this! Looking forward to more...

TAKE AWAY (Poetry) - 3/4/2006 7:24:19 PM
Thought-provoking, Bill. Thank you for sharing your wisdom. Love and peace to you, Regis

TAKE AWAY (Poetry) - 2/27/2006 10:22:32 AM
Most interesting write!! "Take away trust and nothing remains" So very true!! Love Tinka

If I Could See from You to Me (Poetry) - 2/12/2006 7:49:35 AM
enjoyed the mood and imagery ...

If I Could See from You to Me (Poetry) - 2/7/2006 10:15:58 AM
Great offering!! Love Tinka

If I Could See from You to Me (Poetry) - 2/6/2006 3:33:06 PM
Sweet one. Reminds me of Leo Buscaglia and his book "Love".

If I Could See from You to Me (Poetry) - 2/6/2006 2:14:22 PM
Good rhyming!

If I Could See from You to Me (Poetry) - 2/6/2006 5:50:37 AM
Good title. Good poem.

If I Could See from You to Me (Poetry) - 2/6/2006 4:11:55 AM
Sometimes, we do have to walk in other's shoes to understand others. Nicely-done! Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

Few men have met the raging scorn.... (Poetry) - 1/24/2006 2:27:05 PM
Now this is one of the better poems i've read, Excellent written!

Few men have met the raging scorn.... (Poetry) - 1/24/2006 11:53:41 AM
Wonderful offering!! Love Tinka

Few men have met the raging scorn.... (Poetry) - 1/24/2006 9:11:10 AM
"In truth, I hold no shame for sins / Committed in the past" I used to. A little, I suppose, but now I do not, excpet maybe to the Supreme Being. But, yeah, like you commented on my poem, I've certainly been there, done that. Very good writing here.

Few men have met the raging scorn.... (Poetry) - 1/24/2006 5:40:54 AM
Super poeming Bill, like the way you presented here, it really spoke

One Summer Day in 79 (Poetry) - 1/17/2006 9:36:43 AM
This was indeed so deep, emotional and powerful. WOW I thank the Lord for deliverance of alcohol abuse and the abuse by the hand of my adopted parents. The things we go through in life maybe people use to think did I have someone to love, cook or hold me but it was just me and God the whole time and the tears I shed each day is my way of release and forgiveness caused by cruel wicked and cruel people. God bless you for reminding where I came from and now i know why I serve the Lord.

One Summer Day in 79 (Poetry) - 1/16/2006 7:57:46 PM
That particular brown paper bag holds the evils of society and many clench that bag and bottle, that breath of doom! Were you the busdriver, I wonder? Or a hard-working truss builder toiling in the day's heat riding the bus home when ONE SUMMER DAY IN '79, you met this breath of a wasted man? Nice write, Bill. Come back and stay awhile. Sage

One Summer Day in 79 (Poetry) - 1/16/2006 10:38:25 AM
There is a lot of meaning in this creative offering, Bill. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace, Regis

One Summer Day in 79 (Poetry) - 1/16/2006 8:25:24 AM
I enjoyed reading this poem... my favorite lines "So I wondered who was missing him now. Who was calling him from her dream, like a mother calling out to a child trapped under a building?" ... I really love that image. I time my poems too...it's just a matter of writing when you start and then noting when you stopped...nothing difficult, mr. bolton.

One Summer Day in 79 (Poetry) - 1/16/2006 6:59:54 AM
I wonder where this came from? I think I know. Still, even given that, the piece was well written and, although somewhat cloaked, the message was received. Never seen anyone time their work. Have to think about that.

open fire (Poetry) - 12/8/2005 1:43:29 PM
Book burning fires Hypocrite liar Not to admire Good poem.

open fire (Poetry) - 12/8/2005 12:53:09 PM
And a Billy Joel song, too, I think, "We didn't start the fire," a satire on all the destructive fires caused by hate. Nice going here, Bill.

open fire (Poetry) - 12/8/2005 12:32:58 PM
Two things come to mind here. First, the banned books in my grade school library in the 1960s. They were Uncle Tom's Cabin, The Yearling, Slaughterhouse Five, and Flowers for Algernon (Charley). Second, an episode of the Waltons where John Boy was witness and halted a book burning where the preacher was burning books in retaliation to the Germans burning books and Mein Kampf. The preacher threw a book in the fire with all the townspeople looking on when John Boy picked the book out of the fire. It was the German Bible. John Boy asked if there was anyone present who could read German. A woman stepped up and read from the book a bible passage. Banning and burning books is a hate-inspired ire and tirade destructive to the human soul. To sacrifice and censor literature is irreparable and a Communist plot to sap our will. Without books, there is no paradise! Extinguish the hate, people! Sage

open fire (Poetry) - 12/8/2005 12:09:43 PM
Wow....good firing order in this one!! Love Tinka

THE PROBLEM WITH THINKING VERSUS KNOWING (Poetry) - 12/8/2005 11:57:34 AM
Intriguing and thought-provoking, Bill. Thank you for sharing this offering. Love and peace to you. Regis

THE PROBLEM WITH THINKING VERSUS KNOWING (Poetry) - 12/1/2005 9:36:16 AM
I think I know what I am thinking but surely not what you thinking!! I am confused but not totally lost!! Love Tinka

THE PROBLEM WITH THINKING VERSUS KNOWING (Poetry) - 11/30/2005 9:49:57 AM
I don't know what you game is either, but you have a heavy dose of "superiority" within you words.

THE PROBLEM WITH THINKING VERSUS KNOWING (Poetry) - 11/29/2005 11:36:09 PM
I am impressed! I don't think I can connect the dots because I don't know what the next move in your AuthorsDen game is. I will be most happy to connect the points you have made here and continue on this journey when you post your next bit. I am the one with the purple chalk. I have no problem with thinking. Thanks, Bill. Sage

RETURN (Poetry) - 11/21/2005 4:10:18 AM
As a poem this reads very well, and most of all, it rhymes! I enjoyed it! Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

I tramp the parching earth (Poetry) - 11/4/2005 5:40:00 PM
Bill this is an excellent piece. It may be short but it is to the point, life can also be short. Robin

Make new words (Poetry) - 10/8/2005 9:22:07 PM
Dear Bill! 'But make them you-words.' I love this little poem!! Thank you!! Love Suzie xooxoxxo :-)

KICK THAT HABIT (Poetry) - 10/8/2005 8:32:21 PM
Dear Bill ... this is a powerful poem, protest song! 'KICK THAT HABIT' is a good title, as is 'Give up without a fight'! ... You bring up very important points regarding this 'age of agony' we are now living in ... We need to remember 'Don’t turn the other cheek and whisper, “Soon, this too shall pass”' ... If we truly care, action must be now! Hats off to you for speaking up! 'But don’t you let him claim your mortal soul'! Well spoken Bill! We are the masters of our mind, of the moment, and of our creation ... If we realize the tremendous power we have within, changes for the good will occur on the outside! We need to be empowered ... and thankfully, it seems that Love is the only answer!! Love Suzie xox :-)

Give up without a Fight (Poetry) - 8/31/2005 6:42:40 AM
Wow! Your talent just blows me away! Awesome work! ~Linda

On the Future of Our Society (Poetry) - 8/31/2005 6:40:07 AM
You are probably right!:) ~Linda

Ukiah Hills (Poetry) - 8/31/2005 6:39:02 AM
Bill, this is an awesome poem. Your talent soars! I will be reading more of you. ~Linda

Ukiah Hills (Poetry) - 8/15/2005 4:42:56 PM
Bill, excellent Poem , because I believe Janis Joplin when we said; ''It's all the same day Man!'' Tomorrow never happens.(paradox?) All VALLEYS ,EVERY CREEK WILL REMAIN , WHEN MY SPARKS ARE ASHES!"' Outstanding and exceptional bill!!! peace'', Rich Criso Suarez

On the Future of Our Society (Poetry) - 8/14/2005 2:16:59 PM
Paranoia or prophesy? Still in two lines you provoke much thought. Well done! Chanti

On the Future of Our Society (Poetry) - 8/13/2005 3:14:14 PM
interersting cautionary couplate j+

Give up without a Fight (Poetry) - 8/12/2005 5:50:29 PM
Nice song lyrics! Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

Give up without a Fight (Poetry) - 8/12/2005 3:29:23 PM
Bill!bill!bill! I found this piece to be among the very best for every reason the timing . rhyming , words used , interesting significant truth expressed Best ever and the contents are worth real consideration. You wrote this like a king! poetic king Joe Exceptional! Rich Criso Suarez

Dirty Old Men (Now, Truly) (Poetry) - 5/21/2005 2:25:01 PM
Very Well written!! Love Tinka

some job (Poetry) - 3/14/2005 7:13:30 PM
one way or another, we have to maintain our integrity ...

Ukiah Hills (Poetry) - 3/13/2005 9:19:57 PM
sometimes we don't truly appreciate what we have until it is taken from us, for the reign has crashed and left us falling like a leaf ... excellent poem ....

Ukiah Hills (Poetry) - 3/13/2005 4:58:09 PM
I can totally relate to your verses as you will see if you read some of my "stuff." I also live in the midst of "glory" as you put it, and I feel like such a "screw up" because there's so much "other stuff" that seems to get in the way of my enjoying it. Great write. Thank you for sharing this poetic offering. If you are new to the Den, welcome. Love and peace. Regis

Dirty Old Men (Now, Truly) (Poetry) - 3/10/2005 5:37:13 PM
the imagery and syntax are superb ...it's neo-existential tour de force of a meanderng mall mindset is uniquely humorous yet seriously revealing in scope and attitude ...

Dirty Old Men (Now, Truly) (Poetry) - 3/10/2005 3:31:27 PM
wow was kinda funny at first got some chuckles in don't forget about worms is that real mother told me when i was younger to watch out for that older men always was trying to suck me in(heehee no pun intended really) mind twisting here enjoyed this

Dirty Old Men (Now, Truly) (Poetry) - 3/10/2005 7:04:57 AM
Bill...very good write...I read this twice and I got it...love n luck...BHUWAN!!!

Dirty Old Men (Now, Truly) (Poetry) - 3/9/2005 1:20:25 PM
Bill, "because a reason to fight is not a reason to die" has stuck in my mind since I read it. Your style is wily and esoteric and quickly addicting. I think I'll read it again... B

Make new words (Poetry) - 12/25/2004 3:34:59 PM
interesting ... would have been nice to have incorporated a new word ...

Make new words (Poetry) - 12/24/2004 5:04:49 AM
I liked this. It is short, a little cutesy for my usual tastes, but it has "voice", and that's what matters in art. Well done. Best of luck on the chapbook.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.