AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Antoine Raphael, iVaughn Aiken, iMartyn Kinsella-Jones, iBryon Smith, iPatricia Hilliard, iDietmar Rothe, iKen Coleman, i
 
Home > Harbhajan S Sandhu
 

Recent Reviews for Harbhajan S Sandhu


Face of Darkness (Book) - 2/18/2009 1:42:54 PM
Fellow AuthorsDen novelist, Harbhajan Singh Sandhu is back with another powerful novel, "Face of Darkness." Revisiting the immigration theme of his earlier work, "Wayward Brahmin," Sandhu explores the grand Eurasian underground route between India and England, while taking readers on a journey of a lifetime through the full-bodied escapades and poignant homeland remembrances of one young Paul Dev. In quest of adventure, Dev embraces his chance to fling wide-open the door to the exotic West. The strain of his journey as an illegal immigrant is eased by fond remembrances of his village home, a string of lusty liasions stretching from Lahore to Coventry, as well as the vast beauty of the strange new lands he encounters. In sharp contrast are his blunt recollections of the stunning violence of India's infamous Partition, the pitilessness of the Hindu Caste system, and the terrors of communal strife. In order to ride the tiger of his changing world, Dev, poetically reflective by nature, is forced to grow fast. It is, however, the hold of his Indian beliefs that sustains him during his greatest test when smugglers set him adrift in a sealed cask in the icy waters of the English Channel. In some of the most luminous writing on the issue of man's mortality, Sandhu applies an unblinking eye to our inevitable dance with Death, herein, Lord Yama. Dev survives this harrowing event by ultimately accepting his fate with grace, and the inevitable release of The Self from one's mortal frame that follows. In a poignant expression of Sandhu's taste for life's ultimate irony, Dev later dies at the cruel hand of racial bigotry--but only after he so skillfully runs the gauntlet of his Karmic destiny. Brilliantly engaging in countless ways, this book is a truly exceptional read. Well done, Harbhajan! You have raised the bar here at The Den! cgmb

Two Degree Global Warming Model Seriously Flawed (Article) - 9/2/2015 8:26:40 AM
Great article! It demonstrates how by working locally and thinking globally can help minimize the reduction in carbon dioxide emissions to save our planet. What are your thoughts about finding another planet similar to earth in space? Perhaps acknowledgment of the magnitude of your stated problem can get the attention of powers, so adequate funding can be allocated to the deteriorating space programs. Onkar Singh

Why Worry About Global Warming? (Article) - 9/28/2013 9:10:22 AM
I have been aware of this problem since the first signs of its existence over 40 years ago. Your description of the sequestration of heat through ice melting and in deep sea sinks adds a new dimension to the old question. Unfortunately, most people on the planet view the climate from their own personal perspective and don't have a worldview to go by. Most people have an insatiable need for electricity and water and buy insurance to protect themselves (monetarily) from anomalies and the weather, ignoring the planet. It's an uphill battle asking everyone to change rapidly from fossil fuels (including natural gas and so-called, biofuels) to those with a zero emissions. It may take many disasters for that to happen. Ron

Shut Down Yucca Mountain (Article) - 3/1/2009 10:32:35 PM
Hello Harbhajan, Yes your article is so true. Nuclear wastes near populated areas definitely are hazardous to health, particularly for babies and small children. Toxic wastes seeping from that mountain are not biodegradable and remain for years, flowing with rain and blowing with the wind. The air alone will carry the residue for miles around and the people unknowingly will breathe these in and soon develop cancer, skin diseases, or leukemia. I know because some companies in my country have carelessly dumped similar toxic wastes in our mountains, causing illness in large areas within the diametrical scope of plants like these. Thank you for bravely writing this. Cynthia

Nuclear Waste: A Potent Weapon For Terrorists (Article) - 7/3/2002 10:15:04 AM
Namaste Harbhajanji, You're the second Punjabi I have come across on AD. Looking forward to reading more of your work. Take care!

A Lament (Poetry) - 7/20/2006 6:26:15 PM
Sadly as relevant as ever... peace, Carolyn

Nymph of the Urals (Poetry) - 7/1/2004 11:14:07 AM
Very enticing and sensual, written in beautiful language!

Cold Steel Eyes (Poetry) - 7/1/2004 8:45:11 AM
Depth and angst of lost love, portrayed beautifully. The title fits well.

Nymph of the Urals (Poetry) - 7/1/2004 6:49:32 AM
I greatly enjoyed this well-written poetic prose - super write!

Nymph of the Urals (Poetry) - 6/29/2004 5:58:09 PM
Nice imagery here. Seductive and powerful. Much enjoyed.

Cold Steel Eyes (Poetry) - 12/11/2003 4:21:47 PM
"Cold Steel Eyes" what a wonderful expression although about a lost love. "The steel of your once soft eyes The icicle of your smile Heart of stone and rubble Drives a cold knife through the aftermath of love" What shivers, it gives a painful imagery and account of a lost love that so frequently happens. Thank you for sharing this poem Harbhajan!

A Lament (Poetry) - 12/7/2003 8:35:54 PM
Right on! This says it all! Thanks so much for sharing your feelings, feelings that so many have, and many are afraid to share. Monette

A Lament (Poetry) - 11/18/2003 12:01:20 PM
What an awesome poem, Harbhajan: clearly conveys the affects of war, which never truly changes anything for the better. Only forgiveness and love changes for good. Visit me sometime. ~~Bonnie Q

Haunting Images (Poetry) - 9/20/2003 1:15:11 PM
...and so many vessels with so many hearts..all await the LOVE that has/is/will always be.. WITHIN them...a rose ..indeed.. Exquisite write..ty Vesna

A Lament (Poetry) - 9/20/2003 1:11:43 PM
..indeed if we allow the memories of vile acts to overwhelm us ..we shall never love..never forgive...many here still have scars from the recent war in this country (CROATIA)..yes I KNOW what you are trying to convey ..and yes I KNOW that only LOVE & FORGIVENESS can save us from the darkest aspect of our being...alas it seems to be so difficult... Excellent write..it pertains to these sad times.. vesna

Haunting Images (Poetry) - 8/8/2003 10:50:00 AM
Very beautiful poem. Greetings from Atlanta. Ashraf Gohar Goreja www.Goreja.com

A Lament (Poetry) - 7/17/2003 8:46:51 AM
But at least you can eat the loaf of bread. Sometimes that is the only choice ... eat the loaf of bread. Other decisions have been taken out of your hands, but the sound of the bombs striking their target goes on. Under these circumstances who could witness this and love? No one I guess. You really get your point across. Bill Murray

A Lament (Poetry) - 7/16/2003 4:42:19 PM
Thank you for making this issue clearer than anything I've read on the subject! This is beautiful... In Spirit, Bear

A Lament (Poetry) - 7/16/2003 1:36:52 PM
(((harbhajan))) what a powerful write this is... as an american, i apologize for the atrocities of our leadership...i understand the anger and terror you feel...you live with it every day not every american feels as our leadership does...we hate war, too war destroys and terrorizes and demoralizes all i want is peace...and let it begin with me (((HUGS))) and love, karla. *tears tears tears* i wish to

A Lament (Poetry) - 7/16/2003 1:08:19 PM
Beautiful

Haunting Images (Poetry) - 7/12/2003 9:08:06 PM
beautifully woven imagery!

Haunting Images (Poetry) - 7/12/2003 12:10:27 PM
Harbhajan! Soooo many wonderful statements that flow together effortlessly and trigger visions and emotion within me! Great job!

The Alcove (Poetry) - 7/2/2003 10:40:33 AM
Thanks for sharing. Officer William Heffner

Cold Steel Eyes (Poetry) - 6/28/2003 2:02:53 PM
Hauntingly sad, but wonderfully vivid. Love "weeping willows in the oases of time." Phyllis:) {PS: Did you mean to type labyrinth?}

The Alcove (Poetry) - 6/28/2003 1:58:37 PM
Beautiful:)

The Alcove (Poetry) - 6/17/2003 1:37:43 AM
Love is a dance, not a mumbo jumbo. The natural climax is wonderful. The words get muddled with her love which is more emotional and does not mingle with the nature in 'Alcove '. It needs a poet's touch. Life feels wonderful by this poem by Poet-Ex teacher SANDHU.

The Alcove (Poetry) - 4/26/2003 6:34:36 PM
LOvely !

The Alcove (Poetry) - 4/13/2003 7:09:18 PM
Sad and beautiful at the same time. I enjoyed reading this, more then once. Great write.

Cold Steel Eyes (Poetry) - 3/29/2003 9:25:57 PM
A "gut" write! The extacy of pain... Welcome to our family Harbhajan.

Cold Steel Eyes (Poetry) - 2/15/2003 4:20:58 AM
wonderful write. I like how u've explained both aspects of love in one stretch. Iam from punjab too(patiala). feel free 2 read some of my stuff 2 . :)

The Alcove (Poetry) - 12/28/2002 1:10:25 AM
The dream lives and has movement of its own on its own terms, and we chase it ovr land and sea. To be part of the dream. Bill Murray

Cold Steel Eyes (Poetry) - 12/26/2002 7:29:27 AM
very good... I could feel it through every word...

Cold Steel Eyes (Poetry) - 12/26/2002 5:29:22 AM
I read the last 3 lines aloud over and over again...very effective.

Cold Steel Eyes (Poetry) - 12/26/2002 1:41:35 AM
Harbhajan...this was so good! What a penetrating write about a condition a lot of us suffer. Bill Murray

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.