AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Stephen Lodge, iRalph Cates, iDavid Litwack, iPeggy Schmuldt, iPia Shannon, iBino Pires, iTina Tessina, i
 
Home > Martha A Cheves
 

Recent Reviews for Martha A Cheves


Stir, Laugh, Repeat (Book) - 6/5/2009 5:09:57 AM
Stir, Laugh, Repeat Finding Joy While Playing in the Kitchen By Martha A Cheves I found this to be a most enjoyable cookery book. Not only are the recipes delicious, but also they are so very easy to follow and I love the stories that appear at the end of each recipe. One of the things that appealed to me was that Martha uses basic ingredients, the kind you would find in your store cupboard at home. There is no need for a trip to the high-class food stores to find some exotic ingredient for a special recipe that you know you will never use again. Yet the end result is just as delicious as anything you might have spent hours working over a hot stove for. Also Martha rounds off each recipe with a Tip. Sometimes the tips are about the preceding recipe, while others are there simply for good measure. Either way, they are both useful and sensible and made me wonder ‘why on earth didn’t I think of that?’ This is a cookery book I will refer to over and over again.

Stir, Laugh, Repeat (Book) - 3/17/2009 7:41:36 AM
TITLE: Stir, Laugh, Repeat: Finding Joy While Playing In The Kitchen AUTHOR: Martha A. Cheves COPYRIGHT: 2008 by Martha A. Cheves FORMAT: Paperback GENRE: Cookbook PAGES: 154 PRICE: $12.99 PUBLISHER: Tate Publishing & Enterprises <http://www.tatepublishing.com> ISBN-13: 9781604628180 Move over Rachel. Move over Paula. Make room for Martha Cheves! In her new cookbook, ‘Stir, Laugh, Repeat: Finding Joy While Playing In The Kitchen’ there are easy meals for everybody and every tastebud. In each recipe you’ll find helpful tips plus stories about Martha’s family, food testers and about Martha herself. Because of these humorous stories and kitchen tips, not only is ‘Stir, Laugh, Repeat: Finding Joy While Playing In The Kitchen’ is also a great book to read! All of Martha’s recipes can be converted to any kind of diet that you might be on easily. I even found some that look like they would work in my crockpot. This cookbook is a must-have for anyone who either likes to cook or just eat! To find out more about Martha, visit her website at: http://www.marthaskitchenkorner.com/index.html. You can order ‘Stir, Laugh, Repeat: Finding Joy While Playing In The Kitchen’ there. If you prefer, you can go directly to the publisher’s website at: http://www.tatepublishing.com/bookstore/book.php?w=978-1-60462-818-0.

Stir, Laugh, Repeat (Book) - 3/7/2009 12:13:39 PM
A Cookbook for Everyone. Stir, Laugh, Repeat by Martha A. Cheves is an old-fashioned cookbook, full of recipes like your mother used to make; the recipes are practical, easy and made with everyday ingredients. This is not a book filled with overly fancy, posh recipes that will break the budget; this Martha writes for the ordinary, everyday cook. The book has a simple layout, easy to understand instructions and is filled with appetizing recipes; the author’s culinary art is a lovely hodgepodge of sweets, dinners, veggie dishes and tasty nibbles. You get a range of yummy dessert delights from Banana Pudding to Key Lime Pie and mouth-watering main meals such as Red Beans and Rice with Smoked Sausage or Baked Spaghetti. And peppered throughout the book are assorted savouries such as Creamy Potato Salad, Meatloaf Muffins, Sticky Biscuits, and Monkey Bread. Each recipe comes accompanied with a helpful and engaging explanation, with comments and background any cook can appreciate, and some come with useful tips and variations. They are not excessively time consuming, and easily lend themselves to adaptation (a beneficial thing when you have dietary restrictions as I do). Stir, Laugh, Repeat is an excellent cookbook, for beginner cooks to the more experienced, and one I recommend.

Halloween Jack-O-Lantern (Short Story) - 10/29/2008 7:32:19 PM
I'm going to do that!! I love the fall colors. Thanks for sharing. :) Mary Lynn Plaisance Mama of the Cajun Fairies~

Fresh Coconut (Short Story) - 10/14/2008 2:13:03 PM
Ouch!! I remember my one encounter with a cocoanut. it was not pretty lol. Welcome to Authors Den. I love to cook and will be reading your work. hugs Kathy

Fresh Coconut (Short Story) - 10/12/2008 12:22:27 PM
Well you certainly brought back memories to a time where my daughter and I decided to buy a coconut. My girl was just young, but oh so eager. Once we punched the three holes and slurped down the coconut milk we began hammering away. I did as you suggest, kept the coconut bundled before wacking down on it, but yes you are right fresh coconut sure tasted good and well worth all the effort. Thanks for such a sweet memory. Smiles, Dorothy

Fresh Coconut (Short Story) - 10/4/2008 12:39:54 PM
Your mother must have taught you when you were small to do this for it does take some skill. My mother also taught me the same way except then we didn't have paper towels and used a wet cloth one. I still enjoy fresh coconut and at least once a year buy one for a love cake, also my mothers recipe. How nice to teach others this skill. Well done Martha, Love, Bonnie

Halloween Jack-O-Lantern (Short Story) - 9/28/2008 5:21:23 AM
Martha, WELCOME to a wonderful place to be and by this lovely pumpkin idea we have found a treasure indeed. This was simply a delightful idea for I too gave up on pumpkins because by Halloween I could no longer take the smell from the decaying pumpkin. I will try this idea for my grandson this year. Thank you and again, welcome and anything we can do to make it more enjoyable for you, just let us know. Love and hugs, Bonnie

Halloween Jack-O-Lantern (Short Story) - 9/27/2008 6:36:50 PM
Martha, I love that idea, and if I can find some pansies I'm doing it. Thanks to Linda Law I was directed here--I live in Charlotte too, by the way! I'll have to check out your cookbook when I get back in town after the first. Welcome to AD! Leann Marshall

Halloween Jack-O-Lantern (Short Story) - 9/27/2008 4:56:29 PM
Halloween coming up I will go to some parades, I don't decorate as I live in a high rise apt house now. But I do love the Halloween trick or treats and will go to cousin's house on trick or treat night to see her grandkids costumes and all. We always have gingerbread that night.

Halloween Jack-O-Lantern (Short Story) - 9/27/2008 4:32:09 PM
What a cute idea.... I'm going to pass it along... I hope you get to meet some of our friends here on AD like Bonnie May...she's an angel...and Rose Rideout...another wonderful lady from Canada...and Felix Perry...gentle and supportive... Ed and Randall, and so many others... It's scary at first when one joins... learning...but we are here to help you... Anything you don't know or need help with..holler... oops..that southern thang is crawling out of me again... :-)) lindalaw

Stir, Laugh, Repeat (Short Story) - 9/11/2008 3:14:18 AM
I would love to review your book ... Greetings again Nasra

Stir, Laugh, Repeat (Short Story) - 9/11/2008 3:11:22 AM
I loved your story ...so deep to the heart ..Thank you for sharing Hugs from Oman (Middle East) Nasra

Biscuits (Article) - 9/28/2008 10:29:20 AM
I'm sure the bisquits made his black eye feel a lot better. Very precious memories and write. Love, Bonnie

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.