AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
Happy 4th of July!
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Margaret Doner, iAlbert Megraw, iDenise Nowakowski, iJay Onwukwe, iJames McClelland, iMike Monahan, iAndrew Feder, i
 
Home > C. G. McGovern-Bowen
 

Recent Reviews for C. G. McGovern-Bowen


EVIL SEED: An Occult Sci-fi action adventure (pb) (Book) - 8/29/2005 8:00:35 AM
looks great! a sci-fi writer after my own heart!

EVIL SEED: An Occult Sci-fi action adventure (pb) (Book) - 1/30/2003 3:24:56 PM
I want to read this soooo bad. But alas, for now I'm broke. God bless! Love, Beth

A Treetop View: Remembering Brother Brian, a.k.a.,  (Article) - 11/6/2011 2:25:57 PM
Beautiful farewell tribute.

A Treetop View: Remembering Brother Brian, a.k.a.,  (Article) - 5/27/2008 6:28:04 AM
Oh, what a beautiful tribute to your Brother Brian. How wonderfully you have expressed his lessons of attaining life's goals by stepping up one branch at a time. I absolutely loved this reading. Thank you. I needed this post-Memorial Day (May 27, 2008) accolade to Brother Brian. David Lee Thompson

A Treetop View: Remembering Brother Brian, a.k.a.,  (Article) - 11/30/2007 8:19:02 AM
I'm here to read and learn- What I learned from you is priceless -

A Treetop View: Remembering Brother Brian, a.k.a.,  (Article) - 6/27/2007 5:27:21 PM
Beautiful words and a beautiful tribute to your brother. Best, Ned

A Treetop View: Remembering Brother Brian, a.k.a.,  (Article) - 5/27/2007 10:47:01 AM
What a touching narrative.. It is a great tribute to the 'Helping Hand' you received from your brother.. Peace to You and Yours.....Bob.:-))

A Treetop View: Remembering Brother Brian, a.k.a.,  (Article) - 10/12/2006 8:23:24 PM
I don't know why this title called out to me tonight but it did, and I'm glad. Memory can be a kind of spirit and this is one that abides in deep love rooted in the past but branching out through many hearts in the present. Much gratitude for the sharing. Aberjhani

A Treetop View: Remembering Brother Brian, a.k.a.,  (Article) - 7/13/2005 10:27:20 AM
Carolyn, how your warm heart shows in this...

A Treetop View: Remembering Brother Brian, a.k.a.,  (Article) - 3/24/2005 3:55:17 AM
touching tribute

A Treetop View: Remembering Brother Brian, a.k.a.,  (Article) - 1/9/2005 11:20:58 AM
sp poignant and what a lovely tribute

A Treetop View: Remembering Brother Brian, a.k.a.,  (Article) - 11/15/2004 9:53:25 AM
"A Treetop View: Remembering Brother Brian, a.k.a.," A heartfelt rendering of your wonderful brother and the blessed time you all shared. The scenic depiction and frolicking play was surreal. An outstanding write and befitting tribute to your brother Brian. Thank you for sharing! All the best, Gwendolyn

A Treetop View: Remembering Brother Brian, a.k.a.,  (Article) - 7/7/2004 4:31:06 AM
Dear carolyn, I haven't read such deeply emotional tribute before. I know somewhere your brother is tugging to the words that has flowed from your heart while riding above the treetop...with Lord Almighty!

A Treetop View: Remembering Brother Brian, a.k.a.,  (Article) - 7/29/2003 6:21:32 AM
Carolyn, your tribute to your brother, "A Treetop View: Remembering Brother Brian, a.k.a.," touched me deeply. While reading it I felt many emotions...empathy, affection, love...and sensed an abiding faith that connects the past, history; the future, a mystery; with the present, a gift; i.e., a present. Your messsage honoring your brother has blessed me.Thank you.

Fusion (Poetry) - 8/24/2013 3:12:08 PM
What a gem of a write! I was swept away. With respect and smiles, Carol Phelan Aebby

gift (Poetry) - 7/20/2013 4:48:18 AM
your poetry is as beautiful as your masterful Haikus I always enjoy reading your thoughts William

Mega Storm Sandy (Poetry) - 7/20/2013 4:41:11 AM
she struck hard where I resided once upon a time In Staten Island never saw cars drowning as the ones I saw on the news at the place I drove through then..... Love & Peace be with you William

Solace (Poetry) - 7/20/2013 4:37:04 AM
outstanding write as always C.G. love & Peace be with you William

Fusion (Poetry) - 6/23/2013 5:50:00 PM
In three distinct but overlapping stages you sweep the reader from the natural into the ethereal, from that primeval archetypal symbol - the sea - into the supernatural realm where horizon pushes up vertically into the upper atmosphere. Imagery and form conspire to sublimate an essence of utter peace until it saturates and oozes into osmosis. I fell in love with this poem and re-read it twice before sharing it with my wife. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful poem! Roger

Fusion (Poetry) - 6/22/2013 11:48:36 AM
Sounds and images collide to give a real sense of this misty fusion, Carolyn, cleansing, embracing and tinglingly detoxing. You conjure also a sense of alchemy here - and love that word "trolling" which introduces a sense of otherworldliness. xx

Fusion (Poetry) - 6/19/2013 3:52:59 AM
Awesome!!!! There's nothing more soul-soothing that the ocean...and you have captured that in your beautifully crafted poetry... Anna

Fusion (Poetry) - 6/18/2013 2:23:20 PM
I felt like I was walking on air enjoying your vistas immensely Lady Vivian

Fusion (Poetry) - 6/18/2013 9:10:01 AM
Yes, a visit to the seashore into that to you. Primordial instincts set in. Ron

Fusion (Poetry) - 6/18/2013 8:10:36 AM
BEAUTIFUL POEM!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Fusion (Poetry) - 6/18/2013 4:28:37 AM
Good to be reading you again Always a great pleasure reading your profound Kus Love & Peace be with you William

Solace (Poetry) - 6/16/2013 3:09:52 AM
BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Solace (Poetry) - 6/13/2013 1:13:05 PM
Lovely!!! Stunning phrasing!!! Anna

Solace (Poetry) - 6/13/2013 8:54:47 AM
Lovely senryu string; peacefully compelling. Thank you, Carolyn. Love and best wishes, Regis

Solace (Poetry) - 6/13/2013 8:13:20 AM
Much said in a few words. Peaceful. Begging sleep, perchance to dream. Ron

Solace (Poetry) - 6/13/2013 2:58:18 AM
home is where we should all feel budd

gift (Poetry) - 2/2/2013 8:44:50 PM
I Loved this precious write! My soul jumped feeling the love and peace as I was transported to this blissed gathering. May your magical quill continue to soar, sweet Poet! With respect and appreciation, Carol Phelan Aebby

Mega Storm Sandy (Poetry) - 2/2/2013 8:34:35 PM
When Mother Nature is to blame, we have no choice but to accept our defeat and bow out with a positive attitude. You, dear Poet, said all this and more with your carefully chosen words. May your quill continue to soar, With respect, Carol Phelan Aebby

Mega Storm Sandy (Poetry) - 11/17/2012 10:49:50 AM
I always wonder if I could survive a disaster of that magnitude. The courage and committment you see!! Hate, hate, hate that it happened, but it's tilting at windmills, right? Love the stark simplicity of the piece. So fitting!! xOx Phyllis xOx

Mega Storm Sandy (Poetry) - 11/1/2012 5:10:39 PM
we're always on the cusp ... our collective energy will prevail one way or another ... it controls the weather ...

Mega Storm Sandy (Poetry) - 11/1/2012 4:08:51 AM
Time to Help, indeed - both the many human and nonhuman victims of this horrendously devastating storm.

Mega Storm Sandy (Poetry) - 10/31/2012 12:14:48 PM
Interesting format and rhythm to these couplets, Carolyn. Almost like haiku in sense. For me, that line "Facelift carved to the bone" says it all. Gaunt and ghoulish she has been - and totally without mercy. A compassionate write for all those who have suffered at her hands. Bless you, Kate xx

Mega Storm Sandy (Poetry) - 10/31/2012 12:08:10 PM
Mother Nature is always in charge-thank you Carolyn. Deborah

Mega Storm Sandy (Poetry) - 10/31/2012 4:00:45 AM
Mother Nature demands respect....I pray those poor people in New Jersey & New York have the courage to move forward.... Anna

Mega Storm Sandy (Poetry) - 10/30/2012 6:04:13 PM
I hope you are right, Carolyn. However, I think that Mother Nature is getting a bit more than "fed up" with our disregard for respect of what was given for us to be custodians of. Love and best wishes, Regis

Mega Storm Sandy (Poetry) - 10/30/2012 12:56:47 PM
To be sure, Ron, no one escapes "that hour of need" here on Planet Earth--as we here in earthquake country know only too well!

Mega Storm Sandy (Poetry) - 10/30/2012 7:55:34 AM
With a little seven point five off the Canadian coast, the geology of the earth never sleeps and the big one is coming to California soon. Time to prepare… Ron

gift (Poetry) - 10/6/2012 3:19:35 PM
Uniquely exquisite, "gift" sings to an ember of love... A romantic flower diffusing scent of beauty. Healthy blissful evening! In respect and admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

gift (Poetry) - 9/10/2012 6:30:43 PM
Wonderful! Your verses remind me of my daughter's wedding celebration in the Caribbean from which we recently returned. Thank you, Carolyn. Love and best wishes, Regis

Paradise (Poetry) - 5/23/2012 8:03:00 AM
lush, as paradise should be

Blossom (Poetry) - 5/21/2012 3:18:15 AM
For what we cannot change that is not in our control we wisely let go. Knowing inner peace is stronger. Lovely Love and Light Lily

gift (Poetry) - 5/11/2012 8:42:50 AM
Such a heartwarming offering of love.

gift (Poetry) - 5/4/2012 8:38:53 AM
all three are gifts to inspire heart & soul ...

gift (Poetry) - 5/4/2012 3:21:05 AM
Carolyn, Family, love and laughter, happy memories always...very moving. Always, Deborah

gift (Poetry) - 5/3/2012 5:48:04 AM
Well, looks to me like bringing together many friends or perhaps family around a marvelous setting. Speaking of past times, some sad and still holding a smile for all that was remembered of the good times. Now if we could all do this and all leave with those warm feelings of love and reconciliation mending and then weaving us back together in loves gift. Wonderful write sweetheart! Lily

gift (Poetry) - 5/2/2012 5:01:15 PM
Warmth raditates in celebration of togetherness~beautiful~ Christine

gift (Poetry) - 5/2/2012 8:10:28 AM
Lovely poetry. I can transport myself to a place where love is all that exists...wonderful. Peace, love and light, Amber

gift (Poetry) - 5/2/2012 5:54:48 AM
How very beautiful your enchanting phrases!!! Lovely word crafting! Anna

gift (Poetry) - 5/2/2012 2:02:59 AM
Lovely words that hint of another beautiful world beyond... Enchanting... Diana...

gift (Poetry) - 5/2/2012 1:37:15 AM
Nice bit of coming together poetry, with the end very much a positive happening. It is the daisies transmuting light that has me confused, but then I have never been able to understand the daisies.

gift (Poetry) - 5/2/2012 1:29:12 AM
sensual and otherworldly, strong combination, Carolyn.. and those opening lines set exquisite mood Yes! john

Castaways (Poetry) - 4/17/2012 12:19:00 PM
A lovely haiku-chain structure that uses beautiful dynamic imagery (wind, wings, blowing, arrows) so that the dreamcatcher can easily be imagined catching and filtering. Very nice! Axilea

Castaways (Poetry) - 4/13/2012 5:29:58 PM
Carolyn, Beautifully worded with adventurous praise. Always, Deborah

Castaways (Poetry) - 4/9/2012 6:21:24 AM
Dreamcatcher's movement in time before the sunrise. Embracing your poem in delight of a dreamcatcher. Beautifully written C. Lady Mary Ann

Castaways (Poetry) - 4/8/2012 10:24:46 PM
Extremely well done...the dream catcher snags good and evil dreams

Castaways (Poetry) - 4/7/2012 9:07:08 PM
Your haiku/senryu are always thought-inciting and they indicate (to me) that a lot of thought is put into their creation. Thank you, Carolyn. Love and best wishes, Regis

Castaways (Poetry) - 4/6/2012 6:49:04 AM
One could spend a lifetime dodging those arrows. Fly free with dreams. Thought provoking poem, deep and intense. ~Best, Elizabeth

Castaways (Poetry) - 4/5/2012 8:50:05 PM
luv to be a castaway on your insightful and well-charted poetic islands ....

Castaways (Poetry) - 4/4/2012 8:25:31 PM
A quadrupling haiku in a castaways delight presentation, enjoyed.

Castaways (Poetry) - 4/4/2012 2:25:08 PM
Very much enjoyed this Pandora's box... Best wishes, Diana..

Castaways (Poetry) - 4/4/2012 12:19:25 PM
Thank God for these dreamcatcher castaways, Carolyn! The equivalent of spiritual internet security. xx

Castaways (Poetry) - 4/4/2012 10:53:12 AM
It is strange how we seem to remember nightmares more vividly than ordinary dreams. And so many dreams evaporate when the sun comes through the window, filtered by a dream catcher. Ron

Castaways (Poetry) - 4/3/2012 4:52:57 PM
yes, perfect poem. very clever.

Castaways (Poetry) - 4/3/2012 5:28:58 AM
Carolyn, terse and rich verse that suggests selective and subjective evaluations leave the truth behind at times and find evil when none was intended -- just my interpretation of course -- this is verse that holds my attention from first word to the last -- your hallmark my dear friend -- I wish you love and peace -- Jon Michael

Castaways (Poetry) - 4/3/2012 4:16:12 AM
How very cleverly crafted this is!!! Very well done! Anna

Castaways (Poetry) - 4/2/2012 6:42:15 PM
Powerful truths,in this beautifully written poem, C. G.! ET

Castaways (Poetry) - 4/2/2012 4:47:56 PM
as always, Carolyn, pithy and deep and as always a genuine pleasure to read and savour john

Castaways (Poetry) - 4/2/2012 4:45:21 PM
C.G. I loved the visual display you rendered in so well a penned piece. Budd

Castaways (Poetry) - 4/2/2012 7:34:07 AM
Ahhh, if it was only that easy, my friend, but more often than not evil wins the day. Loved the way you constructed this poem, very easy on the read.

Blossom (Poetry) - 3/7/2012 1:18:05 PM
A nice spiritual greening here, Carolyn. Do hope your Mom is doing well and blossoming again too! :)) xx

Blossom (Poetry) - 3/6/2012 8:24:06 AM
blossom time. we know it will always come. thanks for sharing. asa

Blossom (Poetry) - 3/5/2012 5:33:48 AM
Amen! Can't wait to see some blossoms!!!! Your lovely words are a breath of fresh Spring air! Anna

Paradise (Poetry) - 3/5/2012 4:51:59 AM
The first and last lines of your poem "Paradise," "Ukulele's song" and "Treasured paradise" speaks peacefully to my soul as I look out the window and see snow falling that has covered the ground and the trees. Guess what? I am playing my ukulele, fingering this four-string instrument. Like you, there at the seaside, I am having a peak experience. Indeed, "Wonderment takes flight" and paradise is real, at least for a moment, Thank you Carolyn

Blossom (Poetry) - 3/2/2012 7:26:34 PM
Yes, it is time to come out of the doldrums...Lovely poetry, have missed you much. Peace, love and light, Amber

Blossom (Poetry) - 3/2/2012 2:26:08 PM
Your poem shows me the light in the darkest of days. Ron

Blossom (Poetry) - 3/2/2012 1:14:52 PM
The winter can be long. I find your words symbolic and meaningful. Also, I love the manner in which you close on a positive and hopeful note. Thank you, Carolyn. Love and best wishes, Regis

Blossom (Poetry) - 3/2/2012 7:59:11 AM
all three are charged with depth and perspective ...

Blossom (Poetry) - 3/2/2012 4:58:24 AM
Time to find some daffodils Happy dance of sun-bright gold Lighten heart and soul It's truly time, indeed. My resident robins arrived in my backyard yesterday - a true sign of Spring - and they truly lightened my heart and soul.

Poised (Poetry) - 2/12/2012 5:51:58 PM
Such a lovely and loving tribute to your mom, Carolyn. I do hope all is well. Love and best wishes, Regis

Poised (Poetry) - 2/12/2012 12:27:58 PM
What a glowing sense of the resiliance and perfection of the soul's readiness for flight and journey, Carolyn. I am truly moved by the emotion and picture you paint. May you both be mutually held in this indefinable bond and state of grace and strength as life takes its onward course to the beat of these outstretched and steadied wings... xx

Poised (Poetry) - 2/9/2012 10:38:50 PM
I HAVE SAID A PRAYER...WHICH IS ALL ONE CAN DO. SO NOW, KEEP THE FAITH, MY FRIEND AND MUCH BLESSINGS AND LOVE TO YOU BOTH... JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Poised (Poetry) - 2/9/2012 5:42:24 PM
here strength will manifest destiny ...

Poised (Poetry) - 2/9/2012 5:32:00 PM
such an elegant lady, many positive thought. ~ Morgan

Poised (Poetry) - 2/9/2012 11:09:28 AM
Very beautiful, as is your mother, thoughts and prayers~ Christine

Poised (Poetry) - 2/9/2012 7:00:27 AM
A very touching piece. All the best to all concerned. Love your work. Dick

Poised (Poetry) - 2/9/2012 5:34:34 AM
Beautifully written, filled with love and reverence. Connie

Poised (Poetry) - 2/9/2012 5:14:55 AM
Truly heartfelt, Carolyn. Our thoughts and prayers go out to you both.

Poised (Poetry) - 2/9/2012 5:08:58 AM
Aw! Very sweet tribute to your beloved Mother! My prayers and positive energy are going out to you both! Hugs, Anna

Paradise (Poetry) - 2/7/2012 10:16:16 PM
Such lovely evocations through your haiku, Carolyn. Thank you for sharing this gift. Love and best wishes, Regis

Paradise (Poetry) - 2/7/2012 4:20:33 PM
Wouldn't I love to be there right about now!!! It minus a gazillion here and lots of snow everywhere! Your words were enchanting...carried me away..... Hugs, Anna

Paradise (Poetry) - 2/7/2012 2:39:14 PM
... wherever this is, Carolyn, you have conveyed it beautifully with just the right telling detail. You have articulated the paradise of creative wonderment brilliantly here. xx

Paradise (Poetry) - 2/7/2012 9:24:22 AM
a peaceful soft dance. ~ Morgan

Paradise (Poetry) - 2/6/2012 4:35:29 PM
Very relaxing - as Christine calls it "Soothing beauty" I like the way at the very end you told us were it was written. I assume going home.

Paradise (Poetry) - 2/5/2012 5:58:10 AM
Soothing beauty, you took me there!

Paradise (Poetry) - 2/4/2012 8:08:40 PM
Such an uplifting, vibrant feel to this!

Paradise (Poetry) - 2/4/2012 10:45:39 AM
Paradise indeed CGMB. Lovely second strophe. Soothing palpable work. peace and inspiration ... richard

Paradise (Poetry) - 2/4/2012 10:38:00 AM
I'm transported to a tropical isle. Ron

Paradise (Poetry) - 2/4/2012 10:01:42 AM
creativity and wonderment, no better combination ...

Uncharted (Poetry) - 2/4/2012 9:11:21 AM
Fascinating writing, Carolyn... Carole~

Paradise (Poetry) - 2/4/2012 6:59:58 AM
YOU TOOK ME THERE. SOUNDS LIKE THE MEMORIES OF A BEAUTIFUL PLACE...SO WELL DONE. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS & FAITH ...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Paradise (Poetry) - 2/4/2012 4:11:39 AM
Quite lovely, Carolyn.

Uncharted (Poetry) - 2/1/2012 5:16:36 PM
"raw disquietude" Carolyn you give me reason to pause and absorb your words...truly fantastic poetry~ Christine

Uncharted (Poetry) - 1/31/2012 11:04:33 AM
whither drifts thy soul freed of things material darkness warped by light To me, these words invite hope and the positive. Thank you, Carolyn. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

Uncharted (Poetry) - 1/31/2012 10:30:40 AM
Traveling new paths is often more enlightening than dangerous. Ron

Uncharted (Poetry) - 1/31/2012 7:52:23 AM
Insightful CGMB. "freed of things material" Indeed! There are far too many who measure their lives by what they've managed to accumulate over a lifetime, and not by what light and life they offer those around them. Belated happy new years back atcha. peace and continued inspiration ... richard

Uncharted (Poetry) - 1/31/2012 6:50:51 AM
First, I love the way you write...Not knowing our true path can be unraveling, " darkness warped by light. " Beautiful, Caroline! Always, Deborah

Uncharted (Poetry) - 1/31/2012 6:15:28 AM
Captivating writing!...leaves me in soul-searching mode.... Anna

Uncharted (Poetry) - 1/31/2012 4:49:53 AM
Quite thought provoking, Carolyn.

Uncharted (Poetry) - 1/30/2012 10:57:29 PM
WHEN WE ARE NAVIGATING AN UNCHARTED ROUTE...WE NEED AN 'ANCHOR'! WELL DONE AND ENJOYED. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE + HIS INSPIRATIONS

Uncharted (Poetry) - 1/30/2012 10:53:16 PM
the duality of being is expressed with depth and character ... totally inspired, C.G. ... "darkness warped by light" "realms unknown loom large"

Noise (Poetry) - 1/11/2012 11:32:28 PM
wise words indeed .. Blessings, Vesna :)

Noise (Poetry) - 12/15/2011 5:09:58 AM
enjoyed the read

Noise (Poetry) - 12/11/2011 9:18:35 AM
Carolyn, Amen to that! Always Deborah

Noise (Poetry) - 12/9/2011 8:04:19 AM
Carolyn, this is prophetic my dear friend -- it is all about what truly matters and prioritizing isn't it -- I bid you joy, love and peace my dear friend -- Jon Michael

Noise (Poetry) - 12/6/2011 3:11:50 AM
How True, and Happy Holidays to You.

Noise (Poetry) - 12/6/2011 12:10:24 AM
How very true this one is. Hugs from kay

Noise (Poetry) - 12/5/2011 9:57:11 PM
a soothing noise inspires and rejoices even as life loudly rings ...

Noise (Poetry) - 12/5/2011 4:00:51 PM
So accurate in delivery, Carolyn, without compromise of theme, a fine trait in your poetry..and yes, all the rest is noise, bloody useless annoying noise. John

Noise (Poetry) - 12/5/2011 9:30:24 AM
... All the rest most certainly IS noise, Carolyn - and pointless confusion! I love the precision and concision in this - can relate wholeheartedly, though a moment in touch with the Spirit brings equanimity to the whole. Grace and peace to you and yours in a troubled and turbulent world and times. xx

Noise (Poetry) - 12/5/2011 9:17:06 AM
Amen! Loved this! Anna

Gleeful (Poetry) - 11/28/2011 1:45:09 PM
Glee rides on the back of this physical, spiritual and emotional "letting rip", ushering in a pure exhilaration which then consummates a sated state of being - bliss, yes, Carolyn! Peace be to you and yours! xx

Gleeful (Poetry) - 11/23/2011 6:44:02 PM
Carolyn, this is a transformational piece -- full blown with lotus bliss as well as "full bloom with lotus bliss" -- the inner spirit emoting and then regaining complete and relaxing control -- I love this work for it relates so much philosophy in a rich condensed form--I bid you joy, love and peace my dear friend -- Jon Michael

Gleeful (Poetry) - 11/23/2011 2:00:00 PM
Thank You for sharing this wonderful writing. GOD BLESS YOU Tony

Gleeful (Poetry) - 11/23/2011 11:38:13 AM
Carolyn, When peace among every human being occurs on this Earth it will be like the Fourth of July every single day... Always, Deborah

Gleeful (Poetry) - 11/23/2011 5:26:06 AM
The Gift of Peace is truly a wondrous thing.

Gleeful (Poetry) - 11/22/2011 12:54:47 PM
This world needs peace and joy, Carolyn; thank you for sharing your gifts. Love and best wishes, Regis

Gleeful (Poetry) - 11/22/2011 7:22:04 AM
Love that word 'gleeful', CGMB. Potent brevity here. Peace to you, poetess, and have a happy TGing. richard

Gleeful (Poetry) - 11/22/2011 4:51:50 AM
Beautifully expressed poetry....Love the simplicity with such depth of meaning.... Anna

Gleeful (Poetry) - 11/22/2011 4:23:24 AM
"Shudderings fire chakra crown" ..there's enough material in that line alone for an entire poem; your mind condenses and pares thought so well, Carolyn, without ever losing the essence of your theme and that is poetic skill indeed. John

Next! (Poetry) - 11/19/2011 10:10:37 PM
Need to go next week Prescriptions require renewal Turkeys are gobbling Patrick

Next! (Poetry) - 11/19/2011 7:53:33 AM
you really capture the quintessence of the waiting room in this poem ....

Next! (Poetry) - 11/17/2011 6:30:10 AM
:( I've been in-n-out of doctor's clinic most of my time...hurts... keep well, stay safe

Next! (Poetry) - 11/16/2011 1:13:15 PM
...atishoo... achoo... it's you!! Makes me feverish just to contemplate your words. A deft capture. xx

Jolting Journey (Poetry) - 11/14/2011 4:37:38 PM
Sage, You could not be more "out of focus" with this sultry, but inappropriate review of "Jolting Journey." CG

Next! (Poetry) - 11/14/2011 6:36:35 AM
Puts me right there in that waiting room....wondering.....well done! Anna

Next! (Poetry) - 11/13/2011 12:36:35 PM
So clever...you capture the moment psychologically, and make it easy to identify!

Next! (Poetry) - 11/12/2011 4:23:00 AM
It sadly seems there's always something next, on life's long and winding road.

Next! (Poetry) - 11/11/2011 7:07:03 PM
Carolyn, A poem every single person can relate to... Waiting for the doctor. Always, Deborah

Next! (Poetry) - 11/11/2011 5:09:43 PM
"Limbo's discontent" now that says it wonderfully, that miserable wait, almost a sense of being trapped..for me, the most dreaded words in any office or govt establishment are 'take a seat' i just know sentence has been passed and i'm about to serve time. Good one, Carolyn. John

Next! (Poetry) - 11/11/2011 1:52:27 PM
My doctors waiting room matches this. A lot of folks have the flu. A very fine write. GOD BLESS YOU Tony

Battlefield (Poetry) - 11/10/2011 7:06:16 AM
Carolyn, may they be led by the hand of divine providence in safe journey -- I bid you joy, love and peace my dear friend -- Jon Michael

Battlefield (Poetry) - 11/7/2011 5:10:15 PM
hope they remain well and safe ...

Battlefield (Poetry) - 11/7/2011 6:29:08 AM
Bless them all! War makes no sense...... Anna

Battlefield (Poetry) - 11/6/2011 12:06:17 PM
"Never drop your guard Stay Safe! Serve Well!! Come Home!!!" Sound words, nice advised indeed, C.G. McGovern-Bowen.

Battlefield (Poetry) - 11/6/2011 4:16:19 AM
Stay Safe! Serve Well!! COME HOME!!!

Battlefield (Poetry) - 11/5/2011 8:27:57 PM
Godspeed to them all. Patrick

Battlefield (Poetry) - 11/5/2011 5:22:03 PM
Very Well Said ~Carolyn~ worthy of my own grandson, Lcpl Josh Parrott, US Marines, now on his second tour in Afghanistan...God Bless!!! Lady Vivian

Battlefield (Poetry) - 11/5/2011 5:19:04 PM
prayers for safe return home

Seeing (Poetry) - 11/5/2011 9:43:00 AM
Carolyn, "Seeing" The world on a day to day basis. Always, Deborah

Seeing (Poetry) - 11/4/2011 9:17:32 AM
Inspiring verses that stir the senses love, Eileen

Seeing (Poetry) - 11/2/2011 4:02:48 PM
omnivorous inner voice splayed with ingenuity

Seeing (Poetry) - 11/2/2011 1:17:42 PM
We have to live in the fullness of each moment in order to truly set our course for the future; it's only by gleaning the import of the now that we can see clearly what's ahead. This is Seeing with reality and clear sight, Carolyn. Evocatively expressed with a deft lightness of spirit and touch. xx

Seeing (Poetry) - 11/2/2011 8:22:32 AM
inner focus is the truest sight ... as always. inspired poem, C.G. ....

Seeing (Poetry) - 11/1/2011 5:41:59 AM
Carolyn, you have captured the essence of "seeing", which is of course holistic -- versus merely looking, which is observation without critical analysis -- it is I suppose our tenuous position in the scheme of things that leads us into shallow thinking -- speaking of seeing, your latest photo is marvelous -- I bid you joy love and peace my dear friend -- Jon Michael

Seeing (Poetry) - 11/1/2011 4:03:47 AM
Loved these...especially the third one! Wonderful phrasing that speaks volumes! Anna

Seeing (Poetry) - 11/1/2011 2:47:19 AM
If only more could See. PS: You asked about old Pine Needle Ned - I posted his poem on Oct. 24th.

Seeing (Poetry) - 10/31/2011 4:52:53 PM
Elegant and noble vision, Carolyn, the big picture illustrated in your fine words. John

Reward (Poetry) - 10/24/2011 11:00:33 AM
Why indeed, Carolyn? Life's reward is in the living. I like what you say and the way you say it. -gene.

Reward (Poetry) - 10/19/2011 1:29:57 PM
This has the feel of "casting your bread upon the waters" and seeing a glorious bounty return, Carolyn. Why wait with "begging" bowl when the movement of water brings such fresh riches and new chances/opportunites with it? I like the spareness of your form here which compliments the mind-expanding thoughts you present within it. xx

Reward (Poetry) - 10/17/2011 2:14:39 PM
Carolyn, life's stream is the only adventure in town for mankind -- no "rocky ride" equals no rewards to be savored -- as for the "beggars bowl", it is always empty of true spirited sustenance and contains only subsistence quantity -- I bid you joy love and peace my dear friend -- love the updated photo -- Jon Michael

Reward (Poetry) - 10/17/2011 5:31:00 AM
Life is too beautiful not to be "lived"....nicely done, Carolyn! Anna

GUTTED (Poetry) - 10/15/2011 2:32:33 PM
How very true this is and I second your words and support your brave and strong view. Best wishes from Kay

Reward (Poetry) - 10/15/2011 2:31:01 PM
A very optimistic and inspiring poem. How true it is. Love from Kay

Reward (Poetry) - 10/15/2011 9:57:51 AM
Carolyn, They say beauty is in the eye of the beholder...and I believe it to be true. Each one of us sees things at a different angle. Beautifully written. Always, Deborah

Reward (Poetry) - 10/15/2011 2:54:41 AM
Both a steely and velvet uplift, Carolyn.. subtle refined delivery. John

Reward (Poetry) - 10/14/2011 8:29:34 PM
Your words always inspire thought, Carolyn. Thank you. Love and best wishes, Regis

Reward (Poetry) - 10/14/2011 6:13:29 PM
we can see beauty in everything if we see beyond the veil ... well done, C.G>

GUTTED (Poetry) - 10/12/2011 11:23:10 AM
sobering stats - written with passion ... r

GUTTED (Poetry) - 10/10/2011 1:04:03 PM
... Truly shocking, Carolyn. I must do some research into our own domestic affairs statistics. I'm so sorry for your personal pain and agony in all this. xx

GUTTED (Poetry) - 10/9/2011 7:38:59 AM
powerful statistics applied to an extremely important and insightful message ...

GUTTED (Poetry) - 10/9/2011 4:38:11 AM
These are words (and stats) that need to be broadcasted! Our country is on a dangerous trek toward the end! Thanks for bringing this to light! Peace, Dayvid

Imperiled (Poetry) - 10/6/2011 9:21:36 PM
So very meaningful, Carolyn. I pray for peace. Love and best wishes, Regis

GUTTED (Poetry) - 10/6/2011 7:45:30 PM
Carolyn, the hypocrisy lies within the practical application of democracy by way of our corrupt politicos. I bid you love and peace my dear friend. Jon Michael

GUTTED (Poetry) - 10/6/2011 12:55:16 PM
Karla, Coming from a family with very deep roots in military service (Revolutionary War onward), it is important to be clear that the message herein is NOT against Veterans; indeed the betrayal of Veterans by the US Government is a tragic component of the entire mess. That said, it is an outrage that 60% of the Federal Government's Discretionary Budget goes to our entrenched war machine at the expense of ALL other domestic programs. I currently have a young nephew in a combat zone in eastern Afghanistan (Fort Joyce) where incoming assaults are a daily affair. He is serving bravely. The family has to send care packages regularly to cover basic needs that the army does not supply--personal care items, first aid & over the counter meds, bedding, food, protective military clothing & gear! With all the money the government takes for military "needs" it is insulting to have troops in active service (and those who have already served) be short-changed this way! I do hope, Karla, that you complain regularly to your elected officials-- I do! Thank you for your service, Carolyn

GUTTED (Poetry) - 10/6/2011 4:16:11 AM
Sure is a messed up world...when our priority is war..at any cost...while children sleep in the streets in our own countries. Sobering write....well done! Anna

GUTTED (Poetry) - 10/6/2011 2:49:30 AM
Over $2 Million a Minute, and 60% of the budget - is mind-boggling. And only 1% of the budget on the Environment should be a frightening eye-opener for our dying planet, but most will not even see.

GUTTED (Poetry) - 10/6/2011 1:02:30 AM
Carolyn, grim percentages John

GUTTED (Poetry) - 10/5/2011 10:44:35 PM
So apt, timely, and TRUE, Carolyn! Same thing up here. Love and best wishes, Regis

GUTTED (Poetry) - 10/5/2011 7:38:08 PM
As a disabled Veteran, I respectfully disagree ... try living on less than $245./00 a month, like I do. No food stamps. Cut off, because 'THEY' say I can work. No one wants me: over 50, no transportation, little experience, disabled. Also supporting disabled twin sis. If it weren't for government apartments, we'd be on the streets. Able to pay bills, but after that ... WHAT money for food? Our Veterans served and sacrificed. There should BE no homeless or hungry Veterans!

Imperiled (Poetry) - 10/2/2011 11:12:53 AM
UNFORTUNATELY, THE ONES THAT SENT THEM THERE DID NOT CONTEMPLATE HOW 'HARD' IT WOULD BE TO GET THEM BACK OUT. WE STARTED A 'TASK' THAT HAS TO BE FINISHED. I WISH THAT THOSE THAT SENT THEM HAD THOUGHT IT OUT BETTER. IN ANY CASE, THEY ARE ON THERE WAY HOME, BUT ITS SLOW...LITTLE BY LITTLE THEY RETURN BUT THEY ARE CONSTANTLY IN ALL OF OUR PRAYERS. THANKS FOR SHARING, LOVE, BLESSINGS & FAITH... JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Imperiled (Poetry) - 9/30/2011 5:47:41 PM
Carolyn, I pray for peace, for no more wars and for your nephew, Anthony and all others stationed. Always, Deborah

End Game (Poetry) - 9/30/2011 8:20:58 AM
Yes we are killing the Earth.

Imperiled (Poetry) - 9/30/2011 8:19:33 AM
Praying for Anthony and his brothers in arms. May God put an end to man's folly and see our troops safely returned soon.

Imperiled (Poetry) - 9/29/2011 4:50:45 AM
it grabs a large fist full of my heart Carolyn -- my nieces husband has served there and Iraq for three tours -- I always worried and hoped for his safe return -- he's been home for a little over a year since his last tour of duty -- I hope your Anthony returns safely --may peace breakout the world over -- I bid you love and peace my dear friend -- Jon Michael

Imperiled (Poetry) - 9/29/2011 4:18:11 AM
War is senseless!!! And what the HELL are we doing there anyway? It's costing our governments billions (we don't have), while our own countrymen are starving in the streets.The middle east has always been in a state of conflict....a power struggle, what makes us think we can change thousands of years of history, or that we even have the right to try! Damn! You got me goin' here this morning! Great collection of thoughts! I pray Anthony comes home safe... Anna Anna

Imperiled (Poetry) - 9/29/2011 3:39:46 AM
This is very sad McGovern. And of course your nephew will return. Take care :))

Imperiled (Poetry) - 9/29/2011 2:27:41 AM
No peace ten years on Shallow gains leak like a sieve Peace through war, not smart All so sadly true, and I hope your nephew and all our valiant soldiers get home soon.

Imperiled (Poetry) - 9/29/2011 12:13:24 AM
As an outsider, Carolyn, i can't comment on another nation's policies but i can say i completely understand your concern for the welfare of your nephew, Tony, and his buddies - may he and they be always safe from harm. As always, your writing is elegant and insightful. John

End Game (Poetry) - 9/26/2011 6:03:12 PM
So true. So sad. Such a waste. It is maddening! Hopefully, we will use what little time we have left to repair what we can of the damage. Most is beyond our power to fix, but we have to at least try. Great job, Luv!! xOx Phyllis xOx

End Game (Poetry) - 9/11/2011 12:03:07 PM
Dark realism, stark reality, either way, intresting write!

End Game (Poetry) - 9/8/2011 1:27:57 PM
Sobering: this hits right between the eyes, Carolyn. You have succinctly brought to our attention all the combined "witches brew" factors and your choice of style with the short lines adds real power. It can't be said plainer than this. xx

End Game (Poetry) - 9/7/2011 5:05:57 AM
Carolyn, this write got my attention. You have presented "the present condition" in a nutshell. O watchwoman, you have warned us. Whether there is time for humans to change the course of events is questionable. We do have a right to know, including people who have yet to be awakened. Thank you for this timely statement.

End Game (Poetry) - 9/6/2011 3:34:36 PM
Very well written. Peace Tony

End Game (Poetry) - 9/6/2011 11:00:22 AM
Yes, Earth has been taking care of itself for millions of years. Going from a climate of hot temperatures to the ice age and now global warming---the human race comes and goes as does the Earth, which seems to reinvent itself time and time again!. Always, Deborah

End Game (Poetry) - 9/6/2011 5:58:30 AM
Frighteningly true...every word! Maybe the Earth will one day rid itself of the human blight.... Anna

End Game (Poetry) - 9/6/2011 4:40:05 AM
Carolyn, nature will eventually win out over our ignorance and abuses -- most probably when we have already exterminated ourselves from greed and pollution -- "too many people" and too many fools as living creatures -- earth will pull the flush lever and we will all be fecal waste down the drain -- I bid you love and peace my dear friend -- Jon Michael

End Game (Poetry) - 9/5/2011 6:10:13 PM
the earth has a way of cleaning itself ...

End Game (Poetry) - 9/5/2011 4:22:48 PM
It may well be time for us to go, Carolyn, we've done the damage, we deserve all we get; such a sad state when we should've known better and could've done a hell of a lot better. Your poetry makes demands, for us to face the truths of our actions. Very well delivered. John

Capped (Poetry) - 8/31/2011 5:03:28 AM
Global overpopulation is indeed an issue and sadly one many just shrug off so carelessly and easily. We have become what we have made ourselves willingly or not. Advocation and a call for attention great must start somewhere and this poetic plea is a great start! Bravo, well written!

Capped (Poetry) - 8/23/2011 7:26:22 AM
Yes, Caroline, population is one of many social situations we need to get a grip on, perhaps a world conference? Always, Deborah

Restive (Poetry) - 8/23/2011 4:40:09 AM
Carolyn, before commenting on "Restive" let me thank you for your review of my poem, "I Want to Tango with You" and your wish for me, in that regard. I relate personally and powerflly to your poem "Restive." The verse "Why remains unclear Reason, logic have no role Inexplicable" makes the point for me in my reflections, especially as it relaes a person I cared so deeply for. I'm sure you know who. Memory of beauty experienced in the past remains to nurture. Alan Watts puts it this way, "Memories of the paat and anticipations of the future exist only now, and thus to try to live completely in the present is to strive for what is already the case." We have the power to replace restlessness with peace and joy.

Capped (Poetry) - 8/22/2011 10:03:37 AM
Excellent logic displayed in this lovely writing. GOD BLESS YOU Tony

Capped (Poetry) - 8/22/2011 7:15:21 AM
prophetic Caroline -- abstinence and planning have become esoteric meanings in large expanses of the world -- it is unconscionable to bring children into the world that you are unable to provide for -- in America children are used as income tools for social welfare programs -- foreigners come to America to have their children attempting to have American taxpayers foot the bill for their future education and welfare -- fair? -- "use a condom, please!" -- earth is capable of sustaining just so many humans -- famine and draught, earthquakes and typhoons prove life is tenuous on mother earth --a well presented perspective to be examined by many Caroline -- bold and controversial just the way I like them -- I bid you love and peace my dear friend -- Jon Michael

Capped (Poetry) - 8/22/2011 6:50:23 AM
Salutations Caroline ... A write with conviction, clarity, and intelligence. And creating the message in a 5-7-5 format (to me) is a metaphor for the discipline and the "Use your MIND to plan ahead" spirit of your insight. Amen! Peace and continued wisdom to you ... richard

Capped (Poetry) - 8/22/2011 5:44:33 AM
Hi John, As this ditty urges, "Cap it!" Each individual, not their respective exploitive governments, has the power to control population growth by chosing to use birth control-- condoms are fairly easy from a logistic stand point. For those parts of the world where this resource (or birth control pills!) is scarce, relief organizations exist to distribute them (WHO, OXFAM, etc). Plenty of "studies of the problem" exist; most women living in abject poverty around the world want fewer children if their respective "social dictators" permitted choice! As Mr. Ed notes, we are headed for 10 billion; a truly unstainable number for this planet. Just look at your own over-crowded urban zones during rush hour! Never mind the hordes of China & India so routinely discussed. World population control is the responsibliity of each and every person on this planet. Now is the time to over-ride governments who will not act on this single most pressing issue for humanity's future. What to do? Vigorously support organizations working to bring the education and resources to those who need it, both AT HOME and ABROAD! It is, after all, that "expendable" (excess) population base that acts as FUEL for war and its associated conflicts (thinking here of Chad, Sudan, Ethiopia, etc)thereby permitting the HAVEs to remain "unquenched." Peace & Blessings, Carolyn

Capped (Poetry) - 8/22/2011 4:44:14 AM
It's true...will our resources be able to support the masses....doubtful! I'm from the baby boom era....hope we never see that again! Enjoyed this, Carolyn! Anna

Capped (Poetry) - 8/22/2011 3:52:47 AM
You speak what is an uncomfortable truth for many, Carolyn; we are overpopulated for sure but who is going to volunteer to...? Here in Singapore, the govt's actively encouraging people to marry and have children because of a declining local population and an increased dependence on 'foreigners' to supplement the workforce; in India and China, authorities still encourage birth control...a global solution seems impossible, each country has to approach the problem with its own best interests the priority. What to do! John

Capped (Poetry) - 8/22/2011 3:13:52 AM
Too many people Those who HAVE ever unquenched HAVE-NOTS turn to dust How sadly true, and how few even talk about this subject. When I was born, there were about 2.5 billion human beings on this planet; today, we're approaching 7 billion, and many projections say we may reach 10 billion very soon.

Restive (Poetry) - 8/19/2011 8:57:06 AM
But when the broken heart mends....peace will come again! Enjoyed! Anna

Restive (Poetry) - 8/19/2011 8:28:41 AM
glimpses of peace can help restore balance. It is something to reach out for. I wish you well and much peace, love and light, Amber

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.