AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Richard Tscherne, iTiffany Turner, iNina Anderson, iBurton Pines, iRobert Wood, iG M (Jerry) Roberts, iKevin Weeks, i
 
Home > Retta (Reindeer) Mckenzie
 

Recent Reviews for Retta (Reindeer) Mckenzie


The GraveYard Shift (Short Story) - 4/28/2007 12:04:51 PM
Now I understand the other part a little better. Very intriguing. Terry

Storm Dreams (Short Story) - 4/28/2007 11:59:27 AM
Reindeer, Wow. This definitely leaves me wanting more. Terry

Storm Dreams (Short Story) - 3/12/2007 7:25:44 AM
The coming spring reminds me that we'll be seeing lots of storms this way. . . part of nature's saying "I'm BAAAAACK!" blessin's, enjoyed, cynth'ya lewis reed

The GraveYard Shift (Short Story) - 10/28/2006 4:18:45 PM
Retta, this is superb!

Storm Dreams (Short Story) - 10/28/2006 4:18:09 PM
A good one! Elizabeth

The GraveYard Shift (Short Story) - 10/27/2006 10:52:42 AM
Chilling and suspenseful, Retta. Well done. Thank you for sharing this tale. Love and peace to you, Regis

Storm Dreams (Short Story) - 10/16/2006 10:10:43 PM
An enthralling story, Retta. Well done! Love and peace to you, Regis

Storm Dreams (Short Story) - 4/27/2006 1:50:16 PM
What suspense, Retta! Hopefully there is more! God bless, Sandie.

Storm Dreams (Short Story) - 4/26/2006 7:30:11 AM
sweet story, man I'm jealous, you can do it all. Great job Tom

Storm Dreams (Short Story) - 3/3/2006 7:55:53 AM
An intense and absorbing story. You pull the reader right inside the beating bleeding heart of suspense with well-drawn characters and captivating situations.

Storm Dreams (Short Story) - 3/1/2006 4:33:36 AM
Great read Retta!! Love Tinka

Storm Dreams (Short Story) - 2/27/2006 2:42:02 PM
Edge of seat suspense that could rival Steven King if you continue in this vein. Look forward to another installment. Felix

Storm Dreams (Short Story) - 2/27/2006 9:37:23 AM
Hope it all will work out... Stay safe.........

Storm Dreams (Short Story) - 2/27/2006 5:19:35 AM
Reindeer, Taut, compelling reading and dialogue make for a dramatically told story. I look forward to more. This is my kind of write! :) Well done and I love that pic. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Storm Dreams (Short Story) - 2/27/2006 3:32:45 AM
Altough you read my poems, but not MY short stories, I can't be that fickle. This was well done. I liked the way you used both dialogue AND narrative to good effect. So many times people get all involved with "telling" us what is happening, versus "showing" us, that it becomes boring. Not so this chapter, your narrative was as good as the dialogue. Good chapter.

Storm Dreams (Short Story) - 2/27/2006 3:31:32 AM
Reindeer, There is something about the night shift that creeps people out. Glad I work days! :) (Hope I continue TO work days; it's better for me! I would have to walk in the dark, and not having a car, that's not good! Too many creepazoids out there!) Chilling write that had me hooked; well done! BRAVA! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :)

The GraveYard Shift (Short Story) - 9/2/2005 10:23:20 AM
Excellent writing...wow.

The GraveYard Shift (Short Story) - 8/29/2005 9:06:41 AM
Tantalizing suspense, dead-on imagery, and flawlessly fluid narration serve to make THE GRAVEYARD SHIFT and exemplary write. The "reader interruptus" ending is just right and definitely leaves one eager for what follows. Great story-telling on every level. Peace-- Aberjhani

In The Shadows Of A Dark Moon (Short Story) - 7/29/2005 10:34:21 AM
Strength and determination cannot be measured in size, but by what lies within.

The GraveYard Shift (Short Story) - 6/24/2005 3:06:13 PM
More white space, yes, me too, Susan. An extra space between each paragraph would keep the lines from all running together.

The GraveYard Shift (Short Story) - 6/24/2005 12:08:36 PM
great story! It would be better for me with more white space.

The GraveYard Shift (Short Story) - 6/24/2005 9:27:59 AM
outstanding imagery in this creepy write; very well done, reindeer!! brava!! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :D

The GraveYard Shift (Short Story) - 6/24/2005 6:31:41 AM
Creepy; like the imagery and simile "like muscle man painted on a circus tent." Good descriptions; can actually feel my skin crawl as I read your piece.

In The Shadows Of A Dark Moon (Short Story) - 5/19/2005 9:48:08 AM
wonderful story, reindeer; please do more stories!! well done; brava! (((HUGS))) and much love, your tx. friend, karen lynn. :D

All My Mother's Children (Short Story) - 11/14/2004 3:14:59 PM
Oh, Retta I feel for the depth of this journey. I have found an avenue where each step one can take on the path is a new beginning toward restoring the effects of insanity on growing children to sanity, even as adults. It is a way I am walking and finding restoration in relationship to all that no one can take back. I hold a space for you around what is possible. On this path I am called Crow Light Foot. It is my Spirit name.

The Knight Who Stands Before Us... (Poetry) - 10/9/2011 5:41:04 PM
This medeval Brave knight, with his sword and his might, I wish for his protecting presense, for you, all through the night} Les Bond

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 8/11/2009 1:39:02 PM
beautifully reflective; effective haunting lament; a wonderful write, retta. be well, carolyn

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 12/11/2008 7:23:09 AM
Your poem was amazing to read and I simply enjoy reading it,take care Edwin

Wordless Conversation (Poetry) - 10/15/2008 4:49:52 PM
Hello Retta, Your poetic brilliance will always shine . . .!! Best wishes, Lance

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 10/14/2008 8:53:13 AM
Hello Retta, You are an exceptionally gifted poet - this is a deeply moving poem! Best wishes, Lance

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 7/17/2008 12:54:30 PM
I love this. Feel this. So soulful, so open, so plaintive. But so real, so true, and so necessary. The words are there, as always. You are blessed, in your vision and experience. Good to read you again, Retta. It has been a while.

The Offering (Poetry) - 7/7/2008 2:47:08 PM
Love. A word that means... Do I think about you every waking moment? Do you haunt my dreams at night? Is it your face I see so clear, In my minds eye? I know this type of love but I believe there are many "levels" of love and not all seem to know "love" the same way. Your poem is very compelling. Thank you for sharing this gift. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/19/2008 7:34:40 PM
"I Came To Write A Poem" is a flower scented with essence of wisdom, and its petals are painted with the colors of the rainbow or art. I salute You, Poet. In admiration, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 2/6/2008 9:47:10 AM
Smoothly flowing and beautiful ... as always Rein. Love you, your art and your words. Sandy

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 1/31/2008 8:14:28 PM
Simply perfect.

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 1/29/2008 11:45:53 AM
Oh exactly Retta! you have to do that! Awesome art also! Hugs Dale

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 1/29/2008 9:31:58 AM
I love the art and the writing is superb~`*

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 9/18/2007 8:24:01 PM
Love the ending, dance your verse among the stars in how special you are.

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 7/19/2007 12:25:04 PM
and you did! you always amaze me with the way you start off so simple and build it to complexity. very good!!!

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 7/14/2007 8:22:00 PM
oh my...this is wonderful! In many respects, this is different in structure and voice and I have to agree with Amor below that this is one of your best, thus far. It clearly is in a class all its own and if this is a portent of what we will be seeing from you my friend...keep it coming!

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 7/8/2007 10:41:48 AM
Dear Reindeer, Healing presents in many guises, yours in this moment was penned! A powerful write, very touching. May the warmth of understanding embrace you as it envelops you with an abundance of love and light. Warm hugs Elga

My Dark Knight (Poetry) - 7/7/2007 4:35:22 AM
Lovely words and title :-)

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/30/2007 4:59:22 PM
I think this to be one of your best writes yet, for it touches me on so many levels with such poetic beauty and grace. There is no doubt that you leave a toe in yesterday with memories that shall never disappear but with all else so much into today and tomorrow leaving such lines that touch so many others with your usual eloquence. Amor

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/29/2007 6:09:35 PM
and you wrote one, a fine one indeed ... sometimes it seems the poems we write just go above the heads of the one we intended them for ...

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/29/2007 12:10:16 PM
And a very nice poem it is! As always, you make me see you. Tree, moon, sky, wolves, and all!! As for the frustration the poem so ably describes, I know the feeling well. Suspect every artist does. We spend our lives trying to make ourselves clear. . .to people who do not always care. Too many never do. Or are too tied to their own concerns to read with their eyes and ears and hearts. Right? Thank you for sharing your deeply sincere and always arresting writings. 'Pea' <3

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/29/2007 4:19:28 AM
Retta, And obviously, you wrote one for us. Loved it. You capture so much emotion my friend. Bless You and Always write them for us.

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/28/2007 5:33:09 PM
Such marvelous poetry Reindeer! You strike the perfect tone in this gem! A treasure to read! ET

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/28/2007 4:01:55 PM
Just too beautiful for words! So very heartfelt and touching! Your awesome poetry always moves me and causes deep emotions! LOVE YOU! SC

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/28/2007 12:57:35 PM
Totally gorgeous, Retta. What soul and honesty! And the most BEAUTIFUL poem, too! Funny, with so much to capture the mind and heart in your powerful descriptions and sentiments, it is a shame that your "he" is unable to fathom their depth of meaning. But you have given him what he asked for... the priceless jewel of your soul in writing. I can so identify with the pain of both being almost unread. Bless you and thank you, Kate xx

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/28/2007 5:53:45 AM
Great writing,Hugssss

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/27/2007 10:49:28 AM
Wonderful offering Retta!! Love Tinka

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/27/2007 10:23:58 AM
Truly poetic beauty abounds throughout this offering, Retta. Very moving and soul-reaching. Thank you for sharing this gift. Love and blessings to you, Regis

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/27/2007 8:34:21 AM
Beautifully done, Reindeer; enjoyed much! Thanks for sharing! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D Welcome back; you've been missed! :)

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/27/2007 8:28:47 AM
Deeply moving, poignant poetry, Reindeer, beautifully penned. Excellent! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. Welcome home, I've missed you.

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/27/2007 8:12:57 AM
An outstanding write my friend, very touching, deep, sad, uplifting, and unique....a powerful combination of emotions can be felt within the lines of this write. I could almost envision and hear the muse that was beckoning you...a wonderful write my friend....powerful indeed! Blessings, Joyce B.

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/27/2007 5:47:55 AM
Oh i lke this very much,how you weave and sway back and forth, Bitter sweet sadness,thankyou, stan nassano

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/27/2007 3:30:26 AM
Reindeer - Mind if I hold you for a moment... in a warm hug of thanks for this creative summary of how we, who have lost, feel so much of the time? To have written such words is to have held onto love that can never be replaced. On behalf of each and every one of us, Thank you... for giving us something strengthening to feel. During my second reading I knew smooth joy flowing within and over me. I am keeping these words in two special places. - Bill

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/27/2007 3:25:06 AM
This is so soul baring and poignant it brought an ache to my heart as I felt a parallel connection in our thoughts. Sometimes all we can do is write to touch ourselves if we want to touch others in the future. Fee

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/27/2007 12:16:24 AM
I came to write a poem, Because he asked me to, You've been too quiet of late, <---we've all been thinking that. Brillo poem, at a time when half my country is under water...

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/26/2007 11:11:37 PM
"...Nothing changes, Life moves on despite the dead, Who beg us to remember them; Drifting in our dreams, And haunting our memories, With things we wish we had said..." My favorite lines...a gem all the way through. Elizabeth

I Came To Write A Poem (Poetry) - 6/26/2007 10:15:04 PM
A very honest soul serching poem Rita. I finally came to the conclusion in my life that I can't change what I did not tell the one's I love who are dead what I needed to tell them. I do tell the living loved one's probably too much of what they need to hear from me.. x0x0x0x

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 6/22/2007 11:37:40 PM
Hi retta...just popping in to visit old AD friends and enjoyed reading this wonderful poem. Susan myspace.com/happyscribbler

A Child Of Blood (Poetry) - 5/29/2007 7:25:15 AM
Precious, I know the pain of being unloved and unwanted, but out of the kindness of their cruel hearts you are allowed to stay! You and I are survivors, we survived childhood, we are self taught and Damn fine women! LOVE YOU! SC

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 5/20/2007 4:04:12 PM
Splendid poetic work, two thumbs up I'd say. Best wishes HH

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 5/19/2007 3:40:30 PM
Magical and mystical words, my friend. Touching poetry! Lydi**

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 5/15/2007 10:56:19 PM
Deeply moving poem

A Child Of Blood (Poetry) - 5/15/2007 9:58:50 PM
Dear LORD This is sadder than sad. "Donny"

A Journey With You (Poetry) - 5/8/2007 6:17:16 PM
This poem captured the true essence of romance for me. It is just beautiful. One of the verses is a reflection of the new man in my life.

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 4/28/2007 12:08:27 PM
Reindeer, Lovely. Emotional. Moving. I'm glad I found your work. It will take me awhile to read all your poems, but I'm looking forward to it. Terry

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 4/13/2007 7:15:09 AM
Rhetta, As always your imagery is captivating, the emotion projected right on cue to the reader and your thoughts and feelings so extremely well conveyed!!! This is beautiful and indeed haunting! So great to be back and read your work again! ~Nikki~

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 4/12/2007 9:53:00 PM
enchanting write, retta. reminds me of my childhood new england woodland & the hypnotic pull of its dusk-tinted hollows. masterful work. peace, carolyn

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 4/12/2007 7:07:21 PM
The more I read THE HAUNTED FOREST the more I sensed a blessing preparing to emerge out of the shadows of doubt and regret. Then sure enough, there it was: "peeking from behind a tree." Beautiful. Aberjhani

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 4/8/2007 9:40:45 PM
Pardon me, but OMG!!! Ahem, Rhetta! THIS is more of what we need. I can't even BEGIN to tell you how utterly beautiflly rendered this is; the imagery is explosive in it's subtle undertones that burst into the reader's mind and soul. Be still my heart, indeed!!! Major large sigh... from this admirer of your pen! Happy Easter if you celebrate it. -- Jeff

A Garden Of Stone (Poetry) - 3/30/2007 9:11:07 AM
Powerfully symbolic and most engaging, Retta. Thank you for sharing this poetic gift. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/29/2007 6:42:44 PM
How does it feel to get it right every time? As always, you have created a vivid and haunting scene that is both touching and thought-provoking. Enviable!! 'Pea'xOx

Closing The Door (Poetry) - 3/29/2007 1:19:15 PM
Sad as it may be, I think you have found the way of saying good-bye. Thank you for sharing, Retta. Love, peace, and blessings to you, Regis

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/29/2007 9:56:18 AM
hello Reatta, great poetic story. I love the great outdoors also but not at night. things get kind of spooky then

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/25/2007 6:23:09 PM
Yearing for a love one a beautiful hauting write Retta most enjoyable piece Love & Peace William

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/21/2007 4:03:23 AM
Oh Retta, this is so poignant, so hauntingly beautiful. I was there. Your words took me with you. This is amazing and so well-written that I had goosebumps as I read. Very well done. Love, CJ

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/20/2007 1:36:51 PM
This is so compelling, Retta, and the narrative speaks so keenly of the nature of the life that was shared with rich images - love the long-limbed trees which I have read as bearing HER name! But, not too far from the truth, I guess. Beautiful ending and the keeness of detail with the tattooed bark being so much higher... Conjures also the distance between adulthood and the child. I was truly drawn into this heartfelt tale. TY Kate xx

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/20/2007 7:07:57 AM
That was so sad Rein, I pray everything is okay with you, it's been a while, excellent but tear jerking write

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/18/2007 12:32:50 PM
This is so masterful you took us along in this journey a refreshing and visual feast. Thank you. Peace, Joselyn

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/18/2007 12:10:07 PM
Great conclusion, Reindeer. Great to read you again! Carmen

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/17/2007 11:10:20 AM
Hi Reindeer, So good to read you again! You are where you need to be ... of this, I'm sure. Blessings. Love & Light always and in all ways, Joseph*

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/17/2007 10:05:45 AM
Retta, this is truly stunning.

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/17/2007 8:44:35 AM
Very good imagery of pure trnquility!

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/17/2007 7:36:25 AM
I could feel the "Spirits" and the emotions........I would of stayed too :-)

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 7:11:39 PM
you bring the heart of the forest and its impact on you into focus in this beautiful and endearing poem ...

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 6:53:08 PM
A place of dreams, dreams lost, of childhood fantasy. A place that draws you back time and time again. Beautiful. Be safe, Karen

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 6:17:10 PM
I felt myself holding my breath as I read this in hushed silence. It is full of ethereal beauty Reindeer! You always touch the deepest parts with your poetry! Eileen

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 5:02:55 PM
There is no end to the beauty that you see and experience as evidenced in this beautiful piece. Amor

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 4:25:16 PM
Your style is so refreshing and easy to breeze through. The forest of mysteries. Thanks, ~D.

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 1:54:39 PM
Hi Retta I think this is my first time reading your work, and it is absolutely breathtaking, suspenseful and peaceful at the same time. Beautifully done. Your title caught my attention, as I love writes about hauntings. Hugs, Laura

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 12:25:35 PM
Have to agree with Gwen here!! I am always touched by your writes!! Love Tinka

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 12:12:21 PM
So melancholy and beautifully descriptive! Your writing always enchants! Good to read you again! Blessings!

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 10:53:03 AM
Retta, such a pleasure to read you again. A delightful haunting work. One thing about being alone, you are in the best company of someone who truly appreciates what you can do, and who you are. And you are special. What a terrific picture too. Elizabeth

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 9:27:45 AM
The mood and feelings that you have shared via your verses reach into the soul of the reader. Thank you, Retta. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 9:20:16 AM
You decided to stay, being a brave man, I'd have run away, faster than a gazelle.... Beaut work, yup us brits are known for our bravery..lol

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 9:08:51 AM
Stunning, captivating and carries the mind off to that forest and the soft voice narrated this poignant story in the mist. Beautiful piece of work Retta. Fee

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 9:00:12 AM
Your words and lines float off the page into our hearts, My Friend. It is good to see you working, again, and to read another of your deeper poems. Over the years, I recall that you kept getting better, making me wonder about an apex. Now, I know... you don't even know what that means. Lovelly and loving is this poem. - Bill

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 8:50:23 AM
Beautiful work Retta! Peace, Bill

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 8:25:15 AM
(((Reindeer))) Where you been, girl? I have missed you so much! Welcome back! You haven't lost your magical style; very beautiful and poignant write! BRAVA! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 8:09:04 AM
Retta, It is so good to see you posting again. You've been missed. As for this poem, beautiful imagery and poignancy ring in each line; extremely effective! Well done. (((((HUGS))))) and love, Karla.

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 8:08:39 AM
you've been gone too, too, long I love the forest and have been lost in the forest before. That is a scary feeling for sure. Love your work......

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 7:54:08 AM
I love this, Reindeer! felt as if I were walking through the forest with you, alive with wonder and a touch of fear. I found myself reading quickly first time through to see what you would do (follow? stay behind?) and thoroughly enjoyed each image second time around. Dawn

The Haunted Forest (Poetry) - 3/16/2007 7:54:07 AM
I always loved this forest, Each long limbed tree has a name, I know every trail and where it leads by heart. On long winter nights these woods are haunted- I've missed your poems, Reindeer, and I especially like this one since I love the forest as well. And although your forest may be haunted, it holds some wonderful memories, too, and I'm glad to hear that you decided to stay.

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 3/14/2007 6:30:22 AM
Powerful and a wonderful write!

A Child Of Blood (Poetry) - 3/4/2007 11:48:54 AM
Your poetry gives on so m uch meaning that you have to recieve positive feedback from all that review. Thanks for sharing with me and many others here on the lovely Den.

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 2/17/2007 8:01:15 AM
wooooooooooooooooo omg LADY oustanding !!!!!!! absolute excellence; I'd forgottten your style ; WOW girl ; Excellent , excellent!!!!!!!! I will return to read more! Blessings and peace to you and yours! Rich Criso

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 2/14/2007 9:45:13 AM
A sad write but powerful. I'm sorry this is the first I've read your work. Wow! Holly

A Lover's Storm (Poetry) - 2/13/2007 9:52:14 AM
Such powerful emotions, Retta. Your verses grip the reader's soul. Thank you for sharing this offering. Love and peace to you, Regis

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 1/4/2007 12:00:07 PM
I was rambling about in here today and ran across this...what a powerful write...vivid imagery...Retta this is exceptional

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 12/21/2006 11:47:54 AM
This makes me sad. Powerful write though. Merry Christmas to you and all the best and lots of love for 2007. Amira

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 12/19/2006 12:57:02 PM
This is extremely passionate and the emotions of loss and seeking are filling this mind...you express well through thought and words the meaning of a hardship of love lost...nice display of your thoughts, enjoyed reading them... Art Sun...

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 12/13/2006 6:43:03 PM
Such beauty expressed in words to share within the depth of the pain and survive to soar as the eagle...but not alone. Thank You Sharon

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 12/12/2006 11:32:45 AM
True independence my Sister. Love the way this poem winds down with: "I think of blue summer skies, And wild mustard, Not of you, Not of you, Not anymore." Strong, free, all of this is as Jim and Pea' say previously. Get that anthology done soon! blessin's and season's best to you, cynth'ya

A Child Of Blood (Poetry) - 12/12/2006 9:21:23 AM
Starkly real and most powerful, Retta. The reader cannot help but be moved by your verses. Love and peace to you, Regis

Farewell My Friend (Poetry) - 12/2/2006 9:05:01 PM
Rein--A masterpiece at best. BTW, I'm not going anywhere. We are friends for life! Get use to it. :-) Jim

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 12/2/2006 8:57:00 PM
Rein--you are truly an insightful writer to me. You know how to capture my eyes and drown them in your words. I can't ever imagine how I would feel if my family told me I wasn't their blood. That's got to be difficult to bear. Thanks. Jim

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 12/2/2006 8:52:23 PM
All I can say is...AWESOME! Your poetry is truly amazing. If you put together an anthology, you'd be a very rich person now. Your words blend so perfectly together. You are still and always will remain my favorite poet. Jim

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 11/16/2006 6:28:44 PM
I think of blue summer skies, And the wild mustard swaying in the meadow, The doe sipping from the sweet spring waters, The jay calling her young babes to fly, Now t h a t 's p o e t r y !! S c i n t i l l a t i n g !!! 'Pea' <3

If There Were No Dreams (Poetry) - 11/8/2006 11:18:47 AM
You do beautiful work. Elizabeth

Life Is A Journey (Poetry) - 11/8/2006 11:17:08 AM
Life indeed is a journey. We determine the journey and the rewards. Beautifully said... Elizabeth

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 11/8/2006 8:34:47 AM
A releasing that allows you to soar with new attitude; beautifully inspiring, Reindeer! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 11/2/2006 5:09:10 PM
This is a cleansing of spirit, and a flight towards freedom

Farewell My Friend (Poetry) - 10/31/2006 7:27:09 PM
What a beautiful haunting poem. It touches my heart...M

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 10/31/2006 12:55:33 AM
So beauiful, so moving

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 10/30/2006 4:01:02 PM
People can be so cruel! Children need love and someone to care for them . Good for you,, boo on her.. . A heart wrenching write......M

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 10/30/2006 3:56:57 PM
Another powerful poem filled with anguish .........M

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 10/30/2006 3:51:13 PM
A beautiful haunting poem of pain , and letting go. It captures the soul!.....M

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 10/28/2006 11:48:29 AM
Thank you for sharing this oustanding beautiful write ....Retta Love & Peace William

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 10/28/2006 7:03:19 AM
cool Retta, I know some family members and friends that fit this

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 10/27/2006 7:01:34 AM
I grow numb as ice approaches my heart, Rejoicing in the freedom of feeling nothing, Dear Retta...you never cease to amaze me with your wonderful writes...this one is another fine example of your talent...keep it up...love n luck....BHUWAN!!!

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 10/20/2006 2:55:28 AM
Oh God Retta ..I needed to read this..something has crashed within me..I know it is for the best.. Thankyou dear heart.. I always learn something when I visit your den.. vesna:)

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 10/17/2006 4:04:46 AM
I felt an aching love expressed in this excellent poem. You are definitely one of my favorite poets,your poetry always touches me deeply. Best wishes always from kay

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 10/16/2006 6:53:08 PM
Retta: This one is EXCELLENT!!! Sometimes, it is just so good to let go!!!!! A well-written piece indeed!!!!! Sandie Angel a.k.a. Sandie May Angel :o)

Now I Understand... (Poetry) - 10/16/2006 7:30:05 AM
A truly extraordinary write, Retta. I am fast becoming a fan of your soft and flowing style of writing. You are at peace with the world and it's lovely to read. Love and respect, CJ

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 10/16/2006 7:26:16 AM
Oh Retta, this poem tugs at my heart. It's so beautiful -- you have such a soft and gentle style of writing and it's a pleasure to read. Love and respect, CJ

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 10/16/2006 1:18:14 AM
I think that is the time that you are truely free of the heartache, when without exageration you can honestly say of the one you once gave your all to, "I don't think about you anymore", at the beginning ofcourse it feels that time will never come, but somehow quite unexpectedly it does, and when it does, it is the most wonderful feeling of relief to know that you can actualy make it through life without them, This is a truely inspiring work of poetry, thank you so much for sharing it. Steve

Harvest Time... (Poetry) - 10/9/2006 10:54:14 AM
This poem is soul-reaching, Retta. Thank you for sharing this gift. Love and peace to you, Regis

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 10/8/2006 12:13:05 PM
The haunting feeling of this write is incredible. When one leaves our side this is the chance they take....they may not be remembered.

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 10/1/2006 2:30:03 PM
this captured me and gave me a chill, even, it was so moving and softly full of sadness, loss, love and memory, and it is so, so beautifully written as a poem and also as a piece that moves one's heart and spirit and so hauntingly well... this is a keeper, Retta, bravo and many Thanks, Bless You m.

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 9/29/2006 9:49:18 PM
As Regis said, "a soul-stirring write," but then your work always is, Retta. It's always thoughtful and well-crafted. It's such a pleasure to visit your den. ~~Nordette

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 9/28/2006 9:49:49 AM
Such a soul-stirring write, Retta. This is completely captivating. Love, peace and strength to you, Regis

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 9/28/2006 9:15:09 AM
Makes me wanna yank you out..Hey and we could run naked through the trees too. This really does move the spirit that empathises with your pain..

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 9/27/2006 10:54:52 PM
Reindeer your poetry always moves me to another dimension! This is perfection! Exceptional work!...Eileen

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 9/27/2006 5:52:51 PM
outstanding poetry, Reindeer ... the emotional as well as physical environ and the crisp, vivid imagery you presented are intensely stimulating as well as exceptionally moving ...

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 9/27/2006 2:35:42 PM
You captivate me so well with your stunning writing x0x0x

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 9/27/2006 2:05:47 PM
Extremely powerful, Reindeer, and I love that graphic.

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 9/27/2006 1:03:43 PM
Beautiful, Retta, absolutely beautiful! Peace. Joyce

Wordless Conversation (Poetry) - 9/27/2006 12:10:10 PM
Enjoyed... another fine work from you.

The Face of War (Poetry) - 9/27/2006 12:07:50 PM
Eloquently done.

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 9/27/2006 12:04:52 PM
Sad commentary on the times, is it not? Excellent the way you put it into words.

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 9/27/2006 12:02:42 PM
Beautiful imagery, Retta. Rich and luscious to read.

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 9/27/2006 11:58:09 AM
This one is so beautiful and reflects a native style with the art and imagery being part Cherokee I love nature :) The sadness in this is refreshing for your allowing the healing and remembering now sad for the one let go..... Blessings, Joselyn

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 9/27/2006 11:48:15 AM
An author who tells it straight; tells it with feeling. And, one who commands words to march to her tune. Excellent work ... the best 'Telling off'- ever! - Bill

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 9/27/2006 11:41:46 AM
One of your finest...very well done Retta!! Love Tinka

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 9/27/2006 10:59:15 AM
Im=ntense in it's imagery and grabs the reader in to see what you are seeing, the words speak of overcoming a love that was and it shows the courage of heart it took to accomplish this. Fee

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 9/27/2006 10:52:59 AM
Great imagery in this poem. Defenitely one of the best I've read today. Victor

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 9/27/2006 10:14:37 AM
Dear Reindeer! This poem is wonderful! I've missed your talent! Bravo!

Not Anymore... (Poetry) - 9/27/2006 9:38:20 AM
And what a relief that is. To feel free from the memory of oppression. Great to read you again! ~~Carmen

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 9/21/2006 11:18:33 PM
Superb and touching write; and I have lived on the other side of that equation - as a foster child, almost adopted by the most wonderful family a child could ever hope to be a part of. Thank you for this honest offering. -- Jeff

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 9/16/2006 11:35:36 AM
This is a rage worth shouting to the world until every heart hears it and pays attention! Excellent write and touches me very deeply. My brother is not of my blood but he is my brother and always will be. I too cringe when I hear people say; not of my blood! and sadly I heard this again today from my father when he spoke of my brother. It makes me sooooo mad! But like you my heart remains open, even to the one who speaks the words, Not of my blood, because love touches all :-)

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 9/14/2006 1:36:21 PM
Fantastic. it is so sad that in this world the children are not taken care of. Your words "she's not my blood" I could feel the rejection and disdain...sad oh so sad....

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 9/10/2006 12:06:06 PM
outstanding write Retta All children need love To nourish their minds and soul as they grow, in this cruel world. thanks for sharing Love & Peace William

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 9/1/2006 11:56:44 AM
This poem gripped me entirely. ~~Nordette

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/29/2006 3:57:50 PM
love transcends blood ... excellent offering, Reindeer ...

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/28/2006 8:17:25 AM
Bless you, Reindeer, for the realization that all Creation is One and bless you for living your life accordingly. Love, Joy & Peace, Joseph

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 8/28/2006 4:57:01 AM
My eyes are closed so tight, Fists clenched to my sides, I am praying tonight to any God that will listen, Please donít let him see me, There is no place Iíd rather be, Then here in this dark abyss, Surrounded by nothingness, Heart beating wildly, My mind repeating softly, If I close my eyes, Please donít let him see meÖ OMG!! This is hear-wrenching yet profoundly beautiful.. Vesna.)

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/28/2006 4:55:40 AM
I cried when reading this..just cried.. vesna:)

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/26/2006 9:47:05 AM
sadly the depth of peoples love, is often related to how close their blood-tie is to one another; this is so sad nice work peace and sunshine

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/26/2006 9:41:17 AM
A riveting portrait of the essential meaning of love and family. Very sensitive depths are probed here with great skill, a fierce heart, and deep compassion. Much gratitude for the sharing. Aberjhani

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/26/2006 9:02:44 AM
Retta, this is so powerful. Children are precious gifts from God and should be treasured as such. Each child has the right to be cherished and loved.

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/26/2006 6:03:09 AM
People don't realize that being related in blood does not mean that your own child will be better than others. Sometimes, unrelated-blood angels would step into our lives and make the difference worthwhile. Adopted children are God-sent as an angels to care and oversee your well-beings. Giving love and care should never be prejudiced. A good sensitive and thoughtul write! I'm so glad I didn't miss this wonderful poem. Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/25/2006 9:11:09 PM
Yeah Lady this is awesome well done!

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/25/2006 8:48:38 PM
Your outrage on behalf of a child leaps from your words, Reindeer...well done! gina

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/25/2006 5:58:32 PM
Indeed, Retta; we are all of the same "blood" and if we realized it, this world would be a far better place. Thank you for sharing this thoughtful write. Love and peace to you, Regis

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/25/2006 4:26:57 PM
We are all blood, we are all and we are one, it's high time we woke up to the fact. This is so moving Retta, Love knows no boundries, superb piece dear Lady. Paul;-)

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/25/2006 4:19:53 PM
Life damaging words. One can hear your anger in these words...

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/25/2006 3:41:08 PM
The heart of a true parent is in this write, and no not a blood parent but a women who knows children are all of our responsibilities to love, protect and cherish as the greatest treasue on this earth. My hat goes out to you Retta for making that as clear as day in this heartfelt write. Fee

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/25/2006 1:31:34 PM
Terrible way to treat a child, but people must learn to love. Difficult I know, but we must try.

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/25/2006 12:46:48 PM
Your poetry exposes the greates plague in our country and our neighbors. Ignorant beliefs and convictions do more harm than wars to innocent children and each of us, as well. It would seem that the wisest words ever written or said on this subject, are these, "What we're not UP on, we're DOWN on!!!" Your writing is up to, and beyond, your usual standard in this one. Poignant and full of love, indeed. - Bill

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/25/2006 12:12:22 PM
Oh Retta this one touches me deeply....you are so right...and even here on AD we are not of the same blood but there is a love here that is very dear to me!! Love Always Your Sister Tinka

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/25/2006 10:34:02 AM
You are right Retta, we don't have to be of the same blood to love a child, or etc. Very heartfelt and touching.. Wonderful picture.. God bless ya.......

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/25/2006 9:57:28 AM
has touched my heart with pain and saddness this is powerful and felt.

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/25/2006 9:52:42 AM
Retta Thank you for sounding the trumpet for all displaced and lonely children God Bless You Blessings Peter

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/25/2006 9:36:25 AM
Oh Reindeer, how very painful it is to read of such family traditions, that keep people from knowing the heart is what matters to Creator. He sees our hearts not our blood. No matter who this poem is about the person that said "She is not my blood" will be judged for her cruelty, while the one who accepts and comforts the child will be blessed!...Excellent poem! Eileen

Not My Blood... (Poetry) - 8/25/2006 9:20:29 AM
Very powerful, and very heartfelt, and very sad, Reindeer. And your graphic really adds to this piece.

Farewell My Friend (Poetry) - 8/19/2006 11:19:34 AM
this poem of yours is absolulely a gem.

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 8/19/2006 11:18:41 AM
fright expressed from a childs point of view. Scary no matter what the age. Nicely done

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 8/17/2006 6:11:12 AM
this childhood perception also applies to adulthood ... at times, we wish people would just avoid finding us, so we hide from them, hoping we won't be noticed ... excellent write ...

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 8/11/2006 6:14:14 AM
a child's innocence fused with dark terror. brilliant conceptualization, riveting prose. leaves one pondering at many levels of consciousness. great work, retta! always a pleasure to read your work. peace and blessings, carolyn

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 8/10/2006 4:45:46 PM
wow,very good!!! it just is memory in words.

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 8/10/2006 6:32:14 AM
Oh, my! This one really grips the imagination! Fear seeps thru every line, for me. Am sure each reader will take away a different thought. Very well done, Retta!

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 8/9/2006 11:07:12 AM
This touched me as something a young child in a not so good situation would be saying.......don't let him see me! Not sure if this is what you meant but this is how it touched me. Great write!

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 8/4/2006 5:43:15 AM
Powerful powerful read ...you are brilliant!

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 8/3/2006 12:33:03 PM
This is so powerful, Retta, that my heart is beatin like a caged bird... in the same way as that fusion of adrenalin of fear and excitement used to in the hide-and-seek games as a kid. Most wonderful capture and the possible outcomes and possibilities fill the mind with curiosity, anticipation... and a kind of dread. Great write!! TY Kate xx

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 8/3/2006 7:54:44 AM
I don't know what to say, Retta. Deep as an old soul, thick and plush like an overstuffed velvet pillow, a pool of vulnerabilities. WOW! ~~Nordette

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 8/1/2006 10:59:39 AM
Dear Reindeer, Your poetry is beautiful, as always, and this childhood memory remains with me. Even so, my perspective has shifted and I no longer wish to close my eyes for fear that I would miss all the beauty this life has to offer. Love & Light, Joseph

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 8/1/2006 9:34:31 AM
Nice write, you always give an excellent thought before writing something.

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 7/31/2006 10:04:28 PM
There is something magical, haunting and yet beautiful about this piece. The pic is so alluring. Amor

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 7/31/2006 9:38:41 PM
I thought of the "him" as Dafur, and the one with closed eyes as "America." Just in that frame of mind even though your poem is not about genocide. Issues of humanity are just where I am tonight. And as always I do appreciate and admire your words paired with amazing pictoral images. blessin's cynth'ya

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 7/29/2006 4:39:24 PM
My son would close his eyes. "you can't see me Daddy" I don't sense joy in this read though. I sense a very frighten little girl, In trepidation..

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 7/28/2006 6:06:46 PM
A sumptuous fusion of thrilling memory and elusive terror(?). The sense of secrecy is almost parallel with a sense of the forbidden and fills the reader with as profound a feeling of joy as dread. Deeply stirring lines. Extraordinary work of poetic art. Aberjhani

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 7/28/2006 1:02:56 PM
Sometimes the nothingness can be a blessing for me.. Wonderful write......

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 7/28/2006 10:33:19 AM
Reindeer, Chilling, haunting imagery and emotion, grippingly written. BRAVA! (((((HUGS))))) and love, Karla. Good to see you again--you've been missed!

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 7/28/2006 10:26:50 AM
mesmerizing poem Reindeer! I remember that game so well and the emotions you portray are so real they made me feel them! Gripping!

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 7/28/2006 10:19:28 AM
A most compelling write, Retta. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace to you, Regis

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 7/28/2006 9:11:10 AM
Reindeer, Simply spellbinding; very well penned! BRAVA! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 7/28/2006 7:33:03 AM
A powerfully haunting piece, Reindeer. And I love that graphic.

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 7/28/2006 7:05:32 AM
Terrifying poetry of fear personified. I must be dense, because I mised the "sweetness" of this poem, scared the hell out of me.

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 7/28/2006 5:36:09 AM
Outstanding piece Retta!! Love Tinka

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 7/28/2006 4:38:27 AM
Very intense images from childhood combined with an adults fear of committment keep this poem cutting edge and grips the readers attention to the very end. Intense. Fee

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 7/28/2006 3:30:34 AM
"If I Close My Eyes," passes the tests; the first one, that of reading - flowing so well and peaking interest that I, too, was breathing rapidly until the end; and then the message itself - different and imaginative beyond my words. Sweet and magnificiently tender, too! A joy in the morning! - Bill

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 7/28/2006 1:12:12 AM
If I close my eyes, Will you still see me? Very sweet poem expression of love and passion

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 7/28/2006 12:40:45 AM
beautiful. excellent write.

If I Close My Eyes... (Poetry) - 7/28/2006 12:25:03 AM
Such a deep lament, to which I can relate. Sometimes it just feels right to hide ourselves for a time, till strength comes and allows us to open our tightly closed eye's... Be well and be Blessed Hugs Ch'erie

Farewell My Friend (Poetry) - 7/15/2006 8:46:37 AM
so touching..you have such a big heart..wish you lived nextdoor to me.. I could use a true friend.. Vesna :)

Wordless Conversation (Poetry) - 7/15/2006 3:50:10 AM
This poem is a landscape of emotion and deep love. It is very powerfully written Retta! Masood

Farewell My Friend (Poetry) - 7/12/2006 4:44:01 PM
You are a good friend. Beautifully said...

Farewell My Friend (Poetry) - 7/11/2006 9:48:18 AM
An elegant farewell and saying goodbye is oh so sad. Moving Retta!

Farewell My Friend (Poetry) - 7/10/2006 7:59:30 PM
grace, dignity, & transcendence herein, retta. beautifully expressed. peace, carolyn

Farewell My Friend (Poetry) - 6/27/2006 9:22:32 PM
Beautiful piece and beautiful photo. Simply beautiful, Retta!

Farewell My Friend (Poetry) - 6/27/2006 2:38:37 PM
i wouldnt want you to sat farewell to me....maybe see ya... but you have done very good with this write!!!

Farewell My Friend (Poetry) - 6/27/2006 8:18:05 AM
Dear Reindeer, What a beautiful way to say "farewell". Your poetry is so down to earth and filled with the spirit. Love & Light, Joseph

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.