AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Karen Epp, iMichael Csizmadia, iChristina Neely, iPhilip Hughes-Luing, iRandy Richardson, iRobert Wood, iAllen Smith, i
 
Home > Marcyle Taliaferro
 

Recent Reviews for Marcyle Taliaferro


A Cry from the Harbor (Book) - 2/28/2004 3:40:39 PM
Review for A Cry From the Harbor By Marcyle Taliaferro c. 2004 Reviewer: Deborah R. Turner Author of If I Perish Rating: 5 Stars Singer Amber Conner is hospitalized after a car accident that disfigures her face and ravages her voice. As she heals, she plots revenge against everyone she feels is the cause of her current predicament, from the nurses who care for her to her parsimonious old grandmother. She is going to make everyone around her pay. Two of Amber’s nurses, Jocelyn Deshotel and Cole Carter, have problems of their own. Jocelyn is a single mother, trying to juggle work, daycare, an active child, finances, and her own anger at the way her life is going, while Cole searches for meaning in his life. Their head nurse, Reba Williams, tries to witness to them without much success. Meanwhile, Reba’s life is looking up. A widow, she has met a friend of Amber’s grandmother, who visits from time to time at the hospital. When Shay Sullivan asks Reba out, she hesitantly agrees. That halting first step leads to a growing love between them. Amber finally leaves the hospital and the story picks up speed as she puts her carefully laid plan into action, sweeping everyone into her destructive net. What happens to each makes this novel a page-turner not to be missed. A Cry from the Harbor is the sequel to Fountains of the Spirits, Mrs. Taliaferro’s first novel. It is definitely worth reading. The writing is fast-paced, the plot full of surprising twists and turns, with a strong underpinning of faith and love. I strongly recommend A Cry from the Harbor and look forward to what this author has to offer next.

A Cry from the Harbor (Book) - 2/27/2004 10:14:06 AM
Often in the broad genre of Christian fiction you will find wonderful books that transport you to earlier or future times. But not nearly as often can you find books of the same genre that meet you in the here and now and do a wonderful job at it all at the same time. This book, A Cry from the Harbor, not only meets but exceeds that challenge. Ms. Taliaferro has spun a tale set in present day Louisiana that is filled with believable characters with whom one can easily identify. For the believer, this book not only uplifts but reminds of where we have come from and our reason to rejoice. For the nonbeliever, the gospel message is clear yet unpretentious and practical. As I began this adventure I was immediately grabbed and thrown into the action with the first short paragraph. From there I was introduced to everyday people who somehow bonded with me in a very normal and everyday type setting – a hospital. Having spent a good deal of time in one (both as a patient and the parent of a chronically ill patient) I was struck by the authenticity of the setting and characters. This I understood. It was easy to want to know more about these people and see how things went for the head nurse (Reba Williams), the independent but struggling single mother (Jocelyn Deshotel), and the flirty, but compassionate nurse (Cole Carter) with his live and let live attitude and poor choice of friends. This is a story of ordinary people dealing with everyday stresses of life – love, anger, depression, aloneness, revenge, and forgiveness – woven into an extraordinary tale that will surprise you with it’s uniqueness and twists. Just when I was sure where the tale would lead, something different would change the path. Though a sequel to Ms. Taliaferro’s first novel, Fountains of the Spirits, A Cry from the Harbor does two important things for me: first, it stands alone as a great story; and second, it makes me want to be sure to read Fountains of the Spirits because Ms. Taliaferro is an extraordinary storyteller and her writing is thoroughly enjoyable. May you be as blessed as I was when you read A Cry from the Harbor.

A Cry from the Harbor (Book) - 2/17/2004 6:59:38 PM
I can't wait to get my hands on this book!!!

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 10/9/2003 12:29:33 PM
Fountains of the Spirits is an amazing book with an amazing message. As a resident of Lousiana, I felt at home as Marcyle Taliaferro weaved a wonderful tale that ministers hope to the hearts of every reader. What a must read this book is!

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 5/26/2003 8:21:03 AM
"Fountains of the Spirits" sounds like a real inspirational story written from the heart. When I read the excerpt I thought "I wish I could write that much emotion and foreshadowing into one passage."

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 4/5/2003 9:27:08 AM
Very intriging excerpt. I too am from Louisiana and have heard of Cocodrie but have not been there but I do know of many of the old folk tales that lurk in Louisiana. Much success on your book. Can you tell me how your experience has been with Publish America. Yes, I agree with the last post, you should post a chapter on the site.

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 3/31/2003 6:42:27 PM
Marcyle, Even in prose, you are poetic. I would love to read your whole book Very intriguing excerpt. Abundant blessings!

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 1/9/2003 6:13:12 AM
I thououghly enjoyed this book! If readers are looking for a story to warm their heart AND soul, this is it!

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 12/12/2002 5:55:17 PM
The excerpt was intriging. Left me wanting to read more! Wishing you the very best with this novel. Fellow P/A Author Sherry

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 11/30/2002 5:08:15 AM
Written from the heart, about things yhou know, and it shows!

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 11/20/2002 8:39:59 PM
Reading that is more than a story. Reading that takes genuine affect. These are the games worth examining. Marcyle poignantly paints depth of meaning into a sustaining story. What talent!

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 11/18/2002 5:33:33 PM
You have me hooked, I can't wait to read the rest of your booked. P.S.I love the cover

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 11/16/2002 7:30:21 AM
A wonderful, moving story with an important message that doesn't bang you over the head with it.

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 11/15/2002 4:21:48 PM
I love the cover of your book. This is a story that will touch every readers heart! When the reader finishes this book, they will learn the lesson that love comes in many forms.

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 11/15/2002 2:15:51 AM
What a wonderful concept! Your heart is certainly in your work.

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 11/14/2002 5:24:50 PM
the books synopsis and excerpt certainly whets one's appetite for more. It sounds like the author did much research on her subject prior to putting pen to paper, so to speak.

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 11/14/2002 1:36:06 PM
I read this book and loved it, gives us all so much to think about! Marcyle is a wonderfully descriptive writer!

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 11/14/2002 8:30:39 AM
Sounds good, makes me want to read more just to figure out what the legend of the lost fountain is. Kevin

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 11/13/2002 6:59:47 PM
Marcyle: First, I LOVE your name. . . . But I digress. Your storyline managed, in those few words, to transport me to the oh-so-beautiful, mysterious world of southern, bayou-country Louisiana. I know of Cocodrie, & can envision a story such as yours in that lush land. I plan to read more!

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 11/5/2002 10:26:26 AM
Loved the book- lived each moment and could picture every scene from your decriptive writing.

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 11/2/2002 2:23:04 PM
A winner! What an incredible way that the reader can reflect with their own personal issues as they discover ways the characters deal with theirs.

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 10/28/2002 6:14:41 PM
A great book, gives us the oppertunity to personaly explore each of our individual spirituality!!

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 10/28/2002 6:45:04 AM
Touches the heart and inspires soul-searching self-examination, GREAT book

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 10/27/2002 5:39:40 PM
A very good and thought provoking book.

Fountains of the Spirits (Book) - 10/23/2002 1:47:08 PM
This is timely and needed. I wanted to read more. Please upload a chapter.

To Live the Song (Poetry) - 11/12/2006 9:34:17 PM
"Do unto others..." Marcyle I enjoyed this very much. I am a believer but at times I have to stop and think "What was it Jesus taught?" Robert

To Live the Song (Poetry) - 10/20/2003 9:16:18 AM
A wonderful poem that delivers the message contained in the verse: "Even while marching to different songs, right is right and wrong is wrong." Way to go, Marcyle!

To Live the Song (Poetry) - 10/19/2003 5:08:34 PM
this is a nice commentary on the needs we sometimes ignore thanks, donna.

To Live the Song (Poetry) - 10/19/2003 12:21:47 PM
"If we'd ask ourselves along the way, "What have others seen in me today?" Perhaps we'd do more than confess our wrongs, we'd make some changes and live the song." Just about says it all!! Would really make a difference in this tired, old world if we did... Great poetry, wonderful message...

To Live the Song (Poetry) - 10/19/2003 10:56:25 AM
Veery beautiful and inspiring.

Flowers of Friendship (Poetry) - 7/12/2003 12:17:51 AM
This is an absolutely beautiful write! God Bless ~Michelle~

Flowers of Friendship (Poetry) - 7/11/2003 5:20:19 PM
Marcyle, It's beuatiful. It flows so graciously and the words are splendid! I hope you write many, many for us to enjoy. Just now finding time to read your book. Will let you know when I am done! Sherry Only a Game www.publsihamerica.com

Flowers of Friendship (Poetry) - 7/11/2003 3:39:56 PM
Just made my heart flutter! -br-

Flowers of Friendship (Poetry) - 7/11/2003 12:36:02 PM
beautiful write! :) (((HUGS)))

My Christmas Wish for You (Poetry) - 7/5/2003 6:50:01 PM
Lovely poem! Your initial lines in the first stanzas are so perfectly expressive, and I can hear a mature voice speaking here. I'm not a poet, but I do like this. :-) God bless your further work!

A Mother's Love (Poetry) - 5/10/2003 11:14:16 PM
What a God blessed poem! This is so beautiful. As we all know, a mother's love is a special love like no other!

Fountains of the Spirits (from the novel) (Poetry) - 4/20/2003 7:38:33 PM
Thought provoking; goes to the very core of the heart—the area that needs prodding continually. Tim

My Christmas Wish for You (Poetry) - 4/20/2003 7:30:58 PM
An accurate and necessary message for the world…many need to read this…many need to know this…before it’s too late. Tim

A Mother's Love (Poetry) - 4/20/2003 7:24:43 PM
Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaketh...the same goes for the pen, and this poem is evidence of a mother's love. Tim

A Mother's Love (Poetry) - 4/11/2003 8:34:12 PM
what a lovely poem...i think i will call my mother...

A Mother's Love (Poetry) - 3/7/2003 2:25:19 PM
Mothers are wondrous blessings from God. This is a beautiful writing, so lovely...Val

A Mother's Love (Poetry) - 1/11/2003 3:32:21 PM
Yes thank-you so very much for sharing this. This is so very special. I cordially invite you to ~ "This Time". Sincerely, Lucy Edwards

Shawnee's Legacy--A poem for animal lovers (Poetry) - 1/9/2003 6:45:27 AM
Marcyle, you have captured the hearts of all animal lovers! Loved the poem!

Fountains of the Spirits (from the novel) (Poetry) - 1/9/2003 6:37:12 AM
One of the many things about this poem, is that it makes you stop and reflect on your own "Fountains of the Spirits". Very touching!

My Christmas Wish for You (Poetry) - 1/9/2003 6:32:04 AM
A wonderful way to express the true gift of CHRISTmas!

A Mother's Love (Poetry) - 1/9/2003 6:25:23 AM
To echo the others... Beautiful! Not having been blessed yet with children of my own, this poem made me think of my own mother. She is such a special person and I feel very blessed that God chose her for me. Marcyle, you have been given such a talent to express your feelings so wonderfully!

A Mother's Love (Poetry) - 12/9/2002 5:57:25 PM
Such a flowing way of putting a mothers feelings into words! Not an easy task!

Fountains of the Spirits (from the novel) (Poetry) - 11/5/2002 10:17:08 AM
Thoroughly enjoyed the book and since I am a close personal friend, I hope you all the success in the world with your writing.

Shawnee's Legacy--A poem for animal lovers (Poetry) - 11/5/2002 10:11:38 AM
What a tribute to Shawee and to the love we have all had for our dogs that have certainly gone to DOG HEAVEN.

My Christmas Wish for You (Poetry) - 11/5/2002 10:04:21 AM
What a jwonderful message if only everyone would accept such a Christmas gift.

A Mother's Love (Poetry) - 11/5/2002 9:55:17 AM
What a beautiful way of putting into words what ALL MOTHERS feel, but can not express ourselves as you have done in this poem. This is very meaningful to me since I have been given two beautiful granddaughters by my son and his wife and my daughter and her husband in the month of October.

A Mother's Love (Poetry) - 10/28/2002 6:23:33 PM
Brought tears to my eyes as I have known these children all of thier lives and their mama most of my life! Such a beautiful tribute to them and to her!!!

My Christmas Wish for You (Poetry) - 10/28/2002 7:19:45 AM
So True! What a powerful message in so few words. Beautiful poem. Needs to be in a Christmas card!

A Mother's Love (Poetry) - 10/28/2002 7:05:40 AM
Beautiful comparisons and so wondrously written, I, too, feel greatly blessed to be given the opportunity to be the mother of my two boys, Adam & Ethan.

Shawnee's Legacy--A poem for animal lovers (Poetry) - 10/27/2002 5:56:34 PM
This poem brings back childhood memories of my dog, Pup.(I wasn't very creative with names.)Pup went to heaven when he was eleven years old, and that's been 40 years ago. I loved him so much. What a tribute to Shawnee!

My Christmas Wish for You (Poetry) - 10/27/2002 5:45:10 PM
Touching.

A Mother's Love (Poetry) - 10/27/2002 5:42:03 PM
I feel the same way, but never could have said it so beautifully.

A Mother's Love (Poetry) - 10/26/2002 11:00:05 AM
touching tribute to your mama!!

A Mother's Love (Poetry) - 10/26/2002 9:13:52 AM
Yes a Mother's love is a wondeful thing! Bill

My Christmas Wish for You (Poetry) - 10/26/2002 5:20:16 AM
Beautiful poem. Beautiful message.

Shawnee's Legacy--A poem for animal lovers (Poetry) - 9/18/2002 3:46:44 PM
A sensitive writer who has brought tears to my eyes. What I would have loved to say for mine!

Fountains of the Spirits (from the novel) (Poetry) - 9/18/2002 1:06:41 AM
Nice write. Afrika M.A.Abney

Shawnee's Legacy--A poem for animal lovers (Poetry) - 8/30/2002 3:42:33 PM
I really liked the message of the poem, but I stumbled a bit on the flow of words. This is the only reason that I scored it an 8 instead of a 9 or 10.

Shawnee's Legacy--A poem for animal lovers (Poetry) - 8/22/2002 4:57:45 PM
Marcyle, now this touches my heart. I too am an animal lover. Keep up the good work

Shawnee's Legacy--A poem for animal lovers (Poetry) - 8/21/2002 4:39:30 PM


Shawnee's Legacy--A poem for animal lovers (Poetry) - 8/19/2002 1:23:19 PM
Beautiful. All dogs do go to heaven!

Shawnee's Legacy--A poem for animal lovers (Poetry) - 8/19/2002 10:43:33 AM
Excellent!

Shawnee's Legacy--A poem for animal lovers (Poetry) - 8/19/2002 10:28:03 AM
beautiful, marcyle!!

Fountains of the Spirits (from the novel) (Poetry) - 8/19/2002 7:46:07 AM
A very inspiring piece of work Marcyle. I find it interesting to check the reflection in that fountain. There are many ripples in which we can lose our spirit unless we can wait for the waters tranquility to see clearly. Great job. Amor

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.