AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Dr. Ronald Bissell, iD. Vegas, iRobert Wood, iChynna Laird, iDavid Gelber, iRichard Hardie, iW. Craig Reed, i
 
Home > Lady By The Lake55
 

Recent Reviews for Lady By The Lake55


A Cry From A Lonely Heart (Short Story) - 9/20/2007 5:36:14 PM
sounds kind of weird, it was so fast, their love story that is, but i liked it either way, please read my story, it's a bit long...but please read!

Angels Among Us (Short Story) - 5/14/2004 10:15:38 PM
Most certainly are angels amongst us. Peace :0)

Angels Among Us (Short Story) - 8/20/2003 11:38:39 PM
Yes angels do come to our rescue when needed. A very rewarding story.

Angels Among Us (Short Story) - 8/20/2003 11:24:49 AM
oh, i know there are angels; i have seen 'em, more than once. very incredible! :D (((HUGS))) and love, your friend, karen lynn in texas. wonderful write, by the by! :D

When The State Comes Calling (Short Story) - 8/15/2003 11:23:15 AM
glad this story has a happy ending; but so many children are not that fortunate. god bless and protect our children! good write that makes one think; thanks for sharing! :( (((HUGS))) and love, your texas friend, karen lynn.

I am Your Guardian Angel (Short Story) - 5/14/2003 5:19:26 PM
Yes. I love this Angel story. You are an Angel for writing it. I believe in Angels. I have been visited and saved many times. GEM

The Yellow Roses On Mary's Altar (Short Story) - 5/12/2003 1:37:53 PM
Thanks for giving me the meaning of the different color roses Karissa. I usually buy my wife yellow roses, or different color roses but I brought them because of their beauty. Happy mothers day. Well written. GEM

Father, If It Is Your Will, Take This Cup Away From Me; Nevertheless Not My Will, But Yours, Be Done. (Short Story) - 4/25/2003 12:03:49 PM
excellent, needed write...well done, author! (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :)

Father, If It Is Your Will, Take This Cup Away From Me; Nevertheless Not My Will, But Yours, Be Done. (Short Story) - 4/22/2003 11:11:27 AM
very good message in this write! we ALL should think of the suffering He endured, so He could set us free from the slavery of sin! good job, karissa! love, your friend, karen lynn in texas. (((HUGS))) hope you had a blessed easter; i sure did! :)

Love Eternal (Short Story) - 2/28/2003 3:32:32 PM
interesting article

Who Is My Mother, or My Brothers and My Sisters. (Short Story) - 2/28/2003 3:31:15 PM
well done

The True Meaning of Thanksgiving (Short Story) - 2/28/2003 3:30:14 PM
well done

I Love You Just The Way You Are! (Short Story) - 2/28/2003 3:29:44 PM
interesting article, enjoyed the read

Our Un-Heard Cries: M' Aimer Pour Qui Me Suis (Short Story) - 2/28/2003 3:28:51 PM
informative article

A Cry From A Lonely Heart (Short Story) - 1/11/2003 5:00:41 PM
I think sometimes we tend to over analyze our situations. No relationship is perfect. I think this man deserves more of a chance. He sounds like a nice person. There is nothing wrong with caring about your parents. Give it a chance.

The True Meaning of Thanksgiving (Short Story) - 11/23/2002 6:05:15 AM
i think your true meaning of thansgiving is wonderful and truly.

The True Meaning of Thanksgiving (Short Story) - 11/13/2002 9:49:21 AM
and a happy, blessed thanksgiving to YOU, karissa! but i gotta work that day..oh, well..extra $$ on my check!! :) i hope i'll get some leftover turkey and stuffing that day!! :)

I Love You Just The Way You Are! (Short Story) - 9/28/2002 9:21:11 PM
Love your message...comes through loud and clear...

I Love You Just The Way You Are! (Short Story) - 9/28/2002 12:39:05 PM
great write with a positive messsage! well done, karissa!! thanks for the review; it is most appreciated!! love, your friend, karen lynn. (((HUGS)))

What Social Security Does Not Tell You About The Ticket To Work Program (Article) - 11/30/2009 9:18:20 AM
I work for a company that works with Ticket to Work program. They specialize in PART TIME work from home. You do not have to work full time. Here is some information I would like to share if it helps. The J.Lodge Corporation, a quality call services company, has sustained profitability since 1999 and accredits its success solely to its unique employee model that consists of disabled business Americans. J.Lodge is striving to provide work from home part-time careers for disabled Ticket to work holders. Currently, J.Lodge is expanding and accepting applications for those individuals who are interested in our company and who qualify for our positions. If anyone is interested, please visit: http://www.jlodge.com/careers and apply online If unsure how to obtain your “ticket to work” you can contact Maximus at 866-968-7842 or www.mytickettowork.com. (Maximus is the group authorized by Social Security Disability for Ticket to Work Program) Any questions? Feel free to contact us!

The Ticket To Work Program: Three Years Later (Article) - 11/28/2009 9:43:19 PM
I have been living with bipolar disorder and other mental illnesses for many years and have struggled with finding, and keeping, a job. One of the biggest obstacles for me has been getting to the workplace. I now work for a company that provides employment at home for people using the Ticket to Work Program. J Lodge Corporation is a company offering legitimate work for Americans with disabilities. J. Lodge is working with the Ticket to Work Program to offer new opportunities for those on SSI and SSDI. J. Lodge is a quality call services company that incorporates an employee model consisting of Americans with disabilities. By using their educational and business experience; employees are able to pursue a work from home, part-time career. J. Lodge is currently expanding. They are looking for individuals who are interested in their company and who qualify for positions. If interested, please visit jlodge.com/careers and apply online. Hope this is helpful, Stephanie Fryer J Lodge Remote HR Support

Social Security-Ticket To Work Program (Article) - 11/25/2009 8:58:43 AM
The J.Lodge Corporation, a quality call services company, has sustained profitability since 1999 and accredits its success solely to its unique employee model that consists of disabled business Americans. J.Lodge is striving to provide work from home part-time careers for disabled Americans. Currently, J.Lodge is expanding and accepting applications for those individuals who are interested in our company and who qualify for our positions. If anyone is interested, please visit: http://www.jlodge.com/careers and apply online. THANKS, ALLISON

Does The Ticket To Work- Work For Those With A Mental Disability (Article) - 5/16/2009 3:57:53 PM
Great article! The agency is "MAXIMUS", not "Maximum".

What Social Security Does Not Tell You About The Ticket To Work Program (Article) - 5/16/2009 3:52:17 PM
Great points, but there should DEFINITELY be a "GrammAr" check. Also the "The American Disability Act of 1993" is actually "The Americans with Disabilites Act (ADA) of 1990", signed by former President George H.W. Bush. Note that this act allows for "reasonable accommodations" to be made for disabilities in employement and education. According to the ADA, an individual with a "disability" is defined as an individual who has a "physical or mental impairment" which "substantially limits one or more major life activitity". The ADA also includes individuals who are regarded as having such an impairment or having a record of such impairment. (Note: For public high schools, they can alter the fundamental requirements of the curriculum; however, for higher education, the "reasonable accommodations" cannot "fundamentally alter the requirements of the class or program. Substitute courses may be appropriate, though, for general ed. classes, etc.) The individual must provide documentation of their impairment and how it limits one (or more) major life activity (e.g. breathing, self-care, walking, speaking, communicating, walking, interacting with others, concentrating, learning, working, sleeping) as compared to the general population. The documentation may be from a medical doctor, nurse, rehabilitation counselor, social worker, other licensed therapist. The problem is that, despite the full text of this ADA of 1990, it is "vague", and seems hardly worth the paper it's printed on---the employee still must be able to perform the "essential functions of the job" (but not necessarily the "marginal functions")--With OR WITHOUT "Reasonable accommodation". It's ridiculous! And this Ticket to Work thing---the Federal-State "Vocational Rehab Programs have no education/interest in mental disabilites of any kind and leave you hanging---they don't care about you---and once they get you working, it's "3 months on the job, and case closed"; never mind the side effects of treatment, the need for post-employment support, the fact that ANY individual's disability/SITUATION needs to be considered on a INDIVIDUALIZED, case-by-case basis, with the LONG-TERM in mind; considering decompensation, need to revert to part-time, problems with Medicaid/Medicare Part D Drug Coverage, cyclic episodes with certain psychiatric disabilities. Oh, and let's not forget that even people with "mental disabilities" might need continuing medical coverage for other medical conditions that are well-maintained and not disabiling (but chronic or persistent--such as asthma, diabetes, migraines, etc.).

What Social Security Does Not Tell You About The Ticket To Work Program (Article) - 2/10/2007 3:20:10 PM
Thank you for the informative article. I learned lots from it!

Don't Shake A Baby (Article) - 10/27/2006 8:32:21 PM
When a vengeful and abusive man has a healthy slum lord's pocketbook, a lawyer on hand, a direct dial to the Sheriff for evicting poor people, and a large, televised church, CPS doesn't CARE if the Senior Pastor of that Church was heard saying just before his semi-retirement that "All women used to be prositutes." No, CPS is going to take sides with the abusive, tormentor, tyrant, kidnapper, character defaming APE who through out his brand new, much younger bride WHILE PREGNANT... Who then kidnapped her son WHILE SHE WAS GIVING BIRTH TO HER DAUGHTER ... With the help of Child Protection Services, and this sort of power and authoritative instruction for a young man, WHO NEEDS THE DEVIL?

A Disturbing Phenomenon (Article) - 10/27/2006 8:30:01 PM
Generosity towards our children is wise and helpful.

Go And Be Children Of The Church (Article) - 4/20/2005 4:40:06 PM
i agree, molly. interesting write, karissa; but very well done! :)

Christianity Does Not Always Mean Being Popular (Article) - 4/20/2005 4:25:09 PM
Interesting article Kariss, what I do not agree with howeever is adoption not being a good thing, in many ways it is a great thing, and I do not necessarily agree that we should marry within our own churches, but all an all a great article. I am not Catholic myself I am pentecostal, but Nonna was catholic and I had a great respect for her and her church God Bless Michelle!

Christianity Does Not Always Mean Being Popular (Article) - 4/20/2005 4:19:10 PM
so true, it seems that christians are often met with resistance, but we must remain true to our christian faith, catholic or non0catholic (as i am; i am considered "non-denominational/Pentecostal"). good and interesting article, karissa; very well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your tx. friend, karen lynn. :D

Three Useless Programs That Don't Work For The Mentally Disabled (Article) - 4/6/2005 5:12:14 AM
As I watched a sleeping client in a wheel chair being pushed along the hallway by his caregiver, her hand over his, dusting cloth on the rail, 'training' him to dust rails I knew I was in the wrong job. Never have I seen a profoundly retarded adult/developmentally delayed, or whatever the politically correct term is today, sitting in a wheelchair, totally dependent for every life need, unable to sit up, unable to hold a spoon, unable to ... do anything at all for themselves hired to do dusting of rails in any building in this country. What were we training him to do? NOTHING. We were appeasing the state, federal and local entities that say every disabled person should be trained to become wage earners and happy little consumers. My own oldest child is physically disabled.... you can 'train' him until you drop on the concept of backing up/stepping back ... and at the end of the day in his words ' I will limp and I will fall over'. We accept that a physically handicapped individual may or may not be able to compete in some physical areas, for the developmentally handicapped we allow no such thinking. Which of us is developmentally delayed?

Don't Expect Your State Vocational Services To Help (Article) - 4/6/2005 4:59:20 AM
thought provoking read

Go And Be Children Of The Church (Article) - 4/6/2005 4:57:46 AM
interesting article

Adoption: Not The Solution To Infertility (Article) - 3/23/2005 9:47:34 AM
Adoption Not the Solution to Infertility is an interesting article. I've noticed many websites defending adoption as a "Christian" thing to do. With adoption we have people taking in a child that has no one and giving that child a home, right? No that's not the kind of adoption these "Christian" websites were referring to - these websites were providing tips on how to get healthy desirable babies away from single parents. In other words, the babies they want to get already have someone - most of these babies have a mother, father, grandparents and some even had existing siblings who will miss them and be affected by the loss. Mary the mother of Jesus agreed to a pregnancy when she was a single teenager. Joseph stood by her, but even if he did not, would that mean that Mary was just a "birth thing" meant to be used as the source of a baby for adoption? Would honor Mary as the "birthmother" (aka "incubator") of Jesus and honor God as the "birthfather" of Jesus? Some people say Joseph adopted Jesus. Joseph did apparently take on the responsibility of supporting and raising Jesus. But when Jesus claimed God as His Father, there is no account in the Bible telling us that Joseph got angry about it. Joseph was a step-father, secure in his role. He did not pretend to be the "real father" like people who adopt usually do. So why is adoption considered "Christian"? To start with, "Christian" religious groups often state that marriage is for reproduction. In fact, it used to be that a marriage would be annulled when a man or woman was unable to reproduce - THERE WAS NO MARRIAGE if the marriage was not blessed by God with babies. Eventually, social workers began trying to sneak a baby in - right past God's nose - helping a barren couple appear "fertile". Of course they used the infant sons and daughter of "sinners" to do this "charitable" work. Thus infertile people - and now gay people and unrelated single people, too - are all blessed with new babies by social workers and adoption lawyers. "Christian" adoption agencies and attorneys provide the "services" needed to get a baby away from a vulnerable mother. They slyly coerce the mom to take God's most precious gift to her - her own son or daughter - and re-gift "it" to some stranger. Of course some people go out and "find" a baby with which to bless themselves. Learn more about single and teen mother myths and the adoption industry: www.motherhelp.info/myths.htm

Don't Expect Your State Vocational Services To Help (Article) - 2/22/2005 5:52:26 PM
Also something to check out: If you live in a subsidized apartment, will your rent go up, and by how much? If it's a big hike, you may not be able to 'afford' to work.

Don't Expect Your State Vocational Services To Help (Article) - 2/22/2005 5:51:50 PM
This is so true and it also applies in Virginia and those rehabilitation specialists sent from the insurance company in Workman's comp are also paid to get you off Workman's Compensation and they do not care in fact they violate the worker's rights all the time.

Three Useless Programs That Don't Work For The Mentally Disabled (Article) - 2/20/2005 11:38:36 PM
Bravo! What a wonderful eye opening article and the ending there is absolutely true. the whispering is all so true and is such a little persons cowarldy Ignorance! Thank You for putting that in there as well! Magnificent! Join hands numbers always make the strength. My hands join in! Very good article and will pass along this information. Thank You so much! Tracey

Three Useless Programs That Don't Work For The Mentally Disabled (Article) - 2/18/2005 11:04:02 AM
Thank you for this eye opening article and no none of those programs work. In the state of Virginia it is even more difficult under the present government. Thanks again for this righteous write.

Three Useless Programs That Don't Work For The Mentally Disabled (Article) - 2/18/2005 10:14:23 AM
AMEN!!! WONDERFUL article and a much needed write! Keep on shouting; I'll listen! (I have a disability too, physical, and at times I feel like I am treated unfairly. I have to fight to prove myself, and I am getting way past tired in doing so!! GRRR!! Drives me NUTZ!!) (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :(

The Do's and Don't of Raising A Disabled Child (Article) - 2/7/2005 1:47:16 PM
wonderful and informative article, one that will hopefully teach people about the needs of the child with disabilities (i refuse to use the term "physically challenged"!); if given the right guidance and care, a child who is disabled can accomplish great things! well done, karissa! (((HUGS))) and much love, your tx. friend, karen lynn. :D

Does The Ticket To Work- Work For Those With A Mental Disability (Article) - 2/2/2005 6:21:16 PM
I really have no use for a program that lies to people. When I became disabled in 1999 and went through all the hoops under Mr.Clinton's administration even though I was disabled. I drew zip as in zero. This is a sore subject with me.

Does The Ticket To Work- Work For Those With A Mental Disability (Article) - 2/2/2005 1:23:19 PM
so true; sad....try working with a physical disability like mine or try to find a job when people first see my disability. not easy; but i am grateful to be working anyway! (been at my current job for almost five years; will be five years in a few weeks!) interesting and insightful read; thanks for sharing! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :(

Don't Call YourSelf A Christian! (Article) - 8/22/2004 1:47:41 PM
Hey, me again. I really like your stuff!!! You know what is strange? In my small community there is a large Mormon population, a fairly large Catholic population, an equally large Baptist and Assembly population. And a new off shoot of Parkside Baptist (courtesy of my MOM) the reformed church 'Immanual Presbyterian'. We all get together for Mothers in Prayer group! We all get together to talk about our local political activities to discuss what best supports the Bible. Although we know we have differences in our interpertation of the Bible, we all stand behind its fundamental principles. It is truly unpresidented and nice to be able to get together for the common good of God's principles with out hashing out petty differences of the church we attend on Sundays. The men in office are all Christian (which means any church but a devotion to God) and generally vote on certian political issues to support the ideas in the Bible. I wish all places could overlook what church they attend, knowing in their hearts that being a born again Christian is paramount. My girlfriend is a Catholic Christian, I attend the Christian Life Center and we used to pray together all the time (till she got her full time job). SusieQ

Mental Health In The Twenty-First Century (Article) - 8/22/2004 1:36:20 PM
Hi Karrisa, looking over some of your work to add some reviews for you and posts. There is something neglected in your article I would like to address that I am sure you are not niave of either. There ARE mental disabilities that are not dangerous (as the old days used to perscribe too). There is developmental delay as well. But I believe the mental health profession has gone overboard THUS effecting the treatment of those truly with disabilities. Instead of working to treat common and true disabilities that have stood the test of time...scizophrenia (btw,my 18 year old son has)or even developmental delay, the mental health profession is making up NEW illnesses so everyone fits into SOME category. While it is true that some people suffer long term depression or anxiety and need help, or suffer something worst like Scizophrenia, or can be helped because of developmental delay... the mental health profession is now labeling everyone they can. In essense they are beginning a brainwashing technique on the more poverty stricken of our population, I believe for Government dollars and more job security. Although I am skeptical of ADD or ADHD (what ever they call it now), they have all kinds of new DISORDERS, especially for children such as ODD (opposition defiance disorder) and other strange things they are coming up with! I believe in children that every child is different! They always have been and will always continue to be, that is what makes us unique individuals and NOT robots. Some children are too BRAVE and INDEPENDENT... that scares adults and these kids are a challenge. These are the kinds of children that will grow up to be brave soldiers in the military, or rescue fire fighters.. these kids energy and courage level has a purpose.. society will need people with these personality traits later. Some kids are quiet and shy, this might be construed as depressed children who need treatment.. when really when these children grow up they may be very good at certain positions in the world that require their personality traits. A defiant child is merely a very independent one. All our children become defiant to some extent at one point in their lives... especially teen years. It is there way of becoming independent of parental rule and making their way into adulthood. If they are too defiant at a young age, they NEED stern discipline to use that energy to shape their personalitities that will fit a skill needed as an adult, a good attorney, an advocate, a congressmen, someone who fights all odds to bring about change. Well, rambling again, you know me, I could go on forever. I think mental health need to tailor down it's new found diagnosis and work simply on those who suffer from inhibiting, life changing illnesses. There is so much to be done to help people with real disorders instead of wasting all our time on NEW made up disorders for job security and government dollars. I think we are in the same boat, I agree with your article, just thought I would add some points. SusieQ

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.