AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Mike Hartner, iKate Saundby, iNeale Sourna, iBrian Hill, iRie Sheridan Rose, iJeff Alt, inancy rossman, i
 
Home > Neil D Ostroff
 

Recent Reviews for Neil D Ostroff


Insectland (Book 2 - The Imagination Series) (Book) - 9/28/2011 6:35:55 AM
Sounds very interesting... Unique and the idea is captivating. I will check this out...

Days to live? (Short Story) - 2/12/2014 9:27:42 AM
Please, check it out and read the sample.

Days to live? (Short Story) - 2/12/2014 9:24:07 AM
sounds very interesting budd

Drop Out (Short Story) - 11/26/2013 7:40:43 AM
Well written and full of action. A bit unrealistic at times. If the plane crashed below the floor that Nathan was on, how could he see flaming bodies falling from above? There are other instances where heat, smoke, and fire would be too intense to survive, the way described. You certainly leave us hanging at the end of this first chapter with Nathan falling from the 101st floor. Based on what I know about the acceleration of gravity, any fall more than 30 feet is most certainly death. Unless the rest of the story is a fictional account of life after death, or as I suspect, a recounting of Nathan's life as it passes before him, as he is falling. Ron

Drop Out (Short Story) - 11/26/2013 3:23:34 AM
a really fine story budd

Great summer read (Short Story) - 7/19/2013 11:34:03 AM
Howdy Neil, Who edited Silent Invasion? I read a little piece in Kindle. Is the book in trade paper yet? Thanks...Dennis . Moneysaver Editing

SILENT INVASION (Book 1- The Imagination Series) (Short Story) - 3/23/2013 11:15:46 AM
look out! my wife loves these kind of books..very intriguing out look...Bob-

Insectland (Short Story) - 10/12/2012 5:24:20 AM
awesome story wonderful imagination your story is very fascinating

After (Short Story) - 9/9/2012 8:36:36 AM
Excellent excerpt. I wish you much succcess. Donna

Life changing novel (Short Story) - 8/26/2011 1:39:26 PM
real life in a story-good story. and then...??

Sample chapter of my upcoming tween novel, INSECTLAND (Short Story) - 4/11/2011 7:06:39 AM
This is going to be a great book. I even see 'movie' in the future. I wish you much success. Donna

To my friends. (Article) - 12/30/2014 8:22:53 AM
Congrats on your new book. I need to be getting to mine… Ron

Birth of a Book (Article) - 12/17/2014 7:52:22 AM
The right attitude in the right thing. A book doesn't have to be a good seller to be good. The only thing missing is good editing… Hard to get without a publisher. On the other hand, editors have probably removed some of the best lines ever written. You can be commended for finishing 12 books since 2011. I'd better get moving on writing books again. Ron

State of Writing Today! (Article) - 11/28/2014 4:52:48 PM
11-28-2014: The Truth Is: Unless You Are Celebrity Backed By Somebody Else' (Rich Bitch$) Money$ You Will Not Never Sell Any Book(s)... NADA-----Period,Pause,Take Breath... TRASK...

State of Writing Today! (Article) - 11/24/2014 11:07:54 AM
The cream rises to the top. With every innovation… With me, it was e-books in 1999… That lost out to POD books in 2001… That lost out to e-books again around 2005. Now that everybody and his brother has discovered that they can become an "author" by publishing their stuff in vanity publishing without any editing or refereeing at all, the world is awash with new publishing that may or may not be any good. In time, I believe that the trash boxes on the Internet will serve what the incinerators of used paperback pulp novels did in the past… Erase them from sight, while the gems will survive, be quoted and end up with a Wikipedia page of their own. Advertising may sell books in the short run, but in the long run, excellence will stand out and be counted. Ron

Emotion, emotion! (Article) - 11/13/2014 7:35:16 AM
There's also nothing better than to have someone come up to you and say, "I really like what you write." Ron

Winter writing (Article) - 10/7/2014 7:12:21 AM
It's going to hit 90° today, so winter isn't here yet. However, I do remember winters in Wisconsin where I thought they would never end. After living here in Houston so long, I would probably think it is winter in midsummer in Wisconsin now. I do remember that it was a time when one could spend a lot of time indoors working on projects like writing. That doesn't happen here, although air conditioning certainly helps me right through the summer. A little project that's turned into months, helping edit another's good, but poorly written, book is taking all my writing time away. But I hope to be free from that project soon to get back to my next novel. Ron

Author’s Legacy (Article) - 9/30/2014 6:22:31 AM
A very good analysis of the situation. Something I discovered around 1999 with my first ebook. Unfortunately, a lot of poorly written and rather boring stuff is also "out there" forever. Including that written by your other commentor. Let us hope that eventually all that excess floats off into cyberspace oblivion while the jewels of wisdom gain in prominence over time, often quoted and reread. You are right, there's no better way to achieve immortality. Ron

Author’s Legacy (Article) - 9/29/2014 7:14:28 PM
9-29-2014 Lets Hope Your Computer (Download) Doesn't Crash-Huh! TRASK...

The Right Novel Length (Article) - 7/29/2014 7:42:24 AM
enjoyed reading your interesting article

The Right Novel Length (Article) - 7/29/2014 5:57:38 AM
I thought my first novel was long. I didn't pay attention to the word count and don't know what it is right now without checking. However, my publisher at the time thought it was great. After publication, I found out it was only 65 pages! Still, of my seven books, that book is my best seller. Ron

Amazon Prime is changing everything! (Article) - 7/23/2014 7:07:25 AM
Reads like the old library system where you could get a library card and check out books for free. This is all good and well. However, Amazon is a growing monopoly like Walmart. Monopolies tend to control the marketplace and stifle innovation. I am still leery of putting all of my eggs in that basket. Ron

Amazon Prime is changing everything! (Article) - 7/21/2014 12:50:47 PM
well said

Being a writer (Article) - 7/16/2014 12:39:55 PM


Being a writer (Article) - 7/16/2014 6:43:17 AM
I agree, writing is its own reward. It's great to have someone admire my work. But whenever I look back at what I've written, I'm happy with it, and that's enough. Ron

Being a writer (Article) - 7/15/2014 10:36:01 AM
Timely, and well said. Best, Jan

Being a writer (Article) - 7/15/2014 10:08:31 AM
Neil, well-said. Very often, doing something useful, knowing that just perhaps something you said might change one person's life for the better should make it all worth it. Sadly, many writers put out one book after the other strictly for the big green. We all know that many of the BIG writers have writing teams. Personally, I have issues with that method of writing or creating a novel. I believe that quantity, in this case, pushes quality out the window. What a shame. Just my opinion...Keep writing...Dennis . Moneysaver Editing

Stand out! (Article) - 7/11/2014 7:38:28 AM
Your, as usual, very good advice. Ron

Stand out! (Article) - 7/10/2014 6:18:36 PM
well said

Origins of a novel (Article) - 7/1/2014 12:41:13 PM
enjoyed reading your interesting narrative

Origins of a novel (Article) - 7/1/2014 6:02:09 AM
I've had that same experience. When a novel idea appears and you have a passion for it, that's the time to write. It is obvious to me that the experience that you had with your friend gave you the passion to write, and to write well. And, I can't discount the help and editing of your agent in making you a better writer, enabling this novel to become the success you hint at here, but don't divulge. My question is, why not? Are you holding back for another installment like a soap opera? Ron

Opinion matters (Article) - 6/27/2014 6:16:56 PM
6-27-2014 Really That' Your Opinion! TRASK...

Opinion matters (Article) - 6/24/2014 5:32:10 AM
A very good point that is often missed by authors who can't seem to stand anything but superlatives about their work. As a long time professor interested in moving my developing students toward improvement, I generally focus on what is wrong with a particular work when reviewing so that the author can improve. As a result, I have had some authors respond negatively to my comments. As for reviews of my own work, I generally leave them as they are because I cannot alter the mind of my readers by responding negative to any negative remarks they may make on my work. Like you, I look at their comments as a way that I can improve my writing. Ron

Opinion matters (Article) - 6/23/2014 8:18:36 PM
enjoyed reading your interesting article

Reviews for sale! (Article) - 5/29/2014 5:24:35 PM
5-29-2014 Typical As ADA' Reviews Below! TRASK...

Reviews for sale! (Article) - 5/29/2014 7:48:55 AM
Once again, I agree. However, I have noticed that most movies that are newly released spend a lot of time with "paid" advertising proclaiming how good the movie is, regardless what the advance reviews by critics say. Unless, of course, those critics say something good, and then the advertisements pounce on those good words and repeat them over and over. There is something to be said about repeat advertising for some of the trash movies out there. They tend to bring in big bucks from their target audience. Perhaps they have down the gullibility of people, particularly young people with disposable cash. Perhaps that's why this type of paid advertising for books doesn't work for young people with disposable cash. They simply can't read or don't, but prefer dumbed down, drug addled visual action, hard to put into a serious novel in a way that first grade readers can understand. Ron

Night Sweats (Poetry) - 7/30/2013 7:43:42 PM
Wow, so much said in so few words. I wish I had your talent.

Existence (Poetry) - 7/30/2013 7:42:51 PM
Your poem says for so many of us, our doubt about our being and our existence. Yes, why are we here? What will be our final end. It is as if your SPIDER will creep in and "suck consciousness" before we have any answer. Why?

One Night Stand (Poetry) - 7/12/2013 10:06:35 AM
A sad story that happens every morning to a lot of women seeking the approval not given to them by their fathers. Walt

Insemination (Poetry) - 7/28/2012 5:14:40 PM
I think I got a basic grasp on this. I like its succinct style. :-) Tom

Morality (Poetry) - 8/21/2011 5:18:54 PM
Neil, I think that the search for enlightenment you are referring to can only be found in God. Blessings...Frances

Existence (Poetry) - 6/25/2011 8:15:00 AM
Is there a God? Yes, Neil, there is! Unless there's someone that can prove otherwise, then, I have to maintain the fact that there is. Take courage and look up.

Hook-Up (Poetry) - 5/11/2011 6:31:41 PM
Yep, and none of that matters as long as she can take someone home tonight. I've seen this seen so many, many times.

Morality (Poetry) - 5/10/2011 8:11:38 PM
Interesting observation... Be always safe, Karen

Deliquent Escape (Poetry) - 4/27/2011 10:34:46 AM
You got it. Said it well. You've been close the the hell that is the mean streets.

Insemination (Poetry) - 4/26/2011 2:44:24 PM
Uh? Whot?

Seduction (Poetry) - 4/11/2011 9:07:35 AM
it is an intriguing poem and very unique.

Seduction (Poetry) - 4/9/2011 12:34:29 PM
There is a certain intrigue within your words. Seems like a shared moment that wasn't really shared. Peace, Dayvid

Seduction (Poetry) - 4/8/2011 7:59:16 AM
Oh my..why would you run away? sighhhhhhhhh..Hugsss stay safe and well

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.