AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Joyce Scarbrough, iBrian Hill, iBrad Kennedy, iMike Hartner, iNancy Jardine, iDouglas Skopp, iLisa DAnnolfo Levey, i
 
Home > J. D. Means
 

Recent Reviews for J. D. Means


Millie & Honey - The Blue Angel Planet - Kindle (Book) - 7/16/2013 6:56:22 PM
Blue Angel Planet is yet another great book in the Millie and Honey children's series following Millie, Honey, and their cadre of pets and friends as they use some fairly cool abilities and a traveling machine to solve problems and rescue those in need. Especially cool are the Blue Angels, who are literal angels that sometimes need a hand to accomplish their important missions. I highly recommend any Millie and Honey book if you have children who love a good story, and The Blue Angel Planet is certainly no exception. Very young children will love these books as much as pre-teens, though the material is probably not going to interest teenagers and above quite as much. Drawbacks? I couldn't think of a one for this book, which is why I am gladly rating it at 5 stars. It's fun, friendly, safe, and adventurous reading that parents can enjoy reading to their children and kids can enjoy reading on their own as well. Great work, and thanks for an enjoyable read!

Millie and Honey - APPLEOPOLIS (Book) - 11/12/2012 4:05:37 PM
The story, Millie and Honey: The Incredible Instantaneous Interplanetary Adventure - Volume II - APPLEOPOLIS, written by Joseph D. Means is an adventure story with a hint of fantasy; which makes it perfect for younger children. The story is a wonderful addition to the first volume written by Joseph Means. After Millie and the pups return from Catatonia, she excitedly tells her parents of their adventure. The story begins the following day, as Millie’s mom, Melissa prepares breakfast before they all start off on their next journey into the intergalactic world. Millie, a fourteen year old girl, her pups, and her parents, Mellisa and Wilfred, commence their on the adventure traveling machine where they meet Rose, the caretaker of the traveling machine. Their eagerness soon lands them on the planet of Appleopolis. When they land on the planet complete with Apple Bobbing with a Twist, The Apple Press Ride, The Maple Forest, and The Cinnamon Grove they are greeted by Rags, a gruff Yorkshire Terrier. The company is led to the educational center where they learn and embark on their various adventures for the day. The story concludes with them learning a valuable lesson and returning home with a few produce from Appleopolis and a little friend. The tale is similar to Means’ first book, but with an effective and well thought out twist. Means was faced with the challenge having to make this book different from the first one, but just as enjoyable. He did an incredible job. Similarly in the first volume Means emphasized the unique characterizations of the different pups. I loved how he kept the reader engaged with interesting and colorful story plots. Once again Means authored a fantastic book along with breathtaking illustrations by Romar Lipana. I think the whole series would be perfect bedtime stories for kids. These stories are definitely a must have in your library at home if you have younger children.

Millie and Honey - CATATONIA (Book) - 7/17/2012 7:00:34 AM
This children's book brings together elements of the perfect story for young audiences. Dogs, adventure and fantasy engage the reader throughout the entire story. It is appropriate for all ages as it can be read to the younger children by an adult and is well-written for the older ones. The relationship Millie, a young teenage girl, has with the dogs can be related to by all pet owners. Waking up to them jumping and kissing her, ready to take on the day is just the start of an action-packed story. When they began a typical walk to the lake and found a large plane-like machine, the adventures start to unravel. The illustrations accompanying the story bring about a realistic feel to the adventures of Millie and her companions. Having an idea of the size and breeds of the dogs, what their craft looks like, and picturing the amusement park where more adventuring takes place helps to bring the reader right into the book. Ending with a safe return home and a story to share at the dinner table lends nicely to a "happily ever after" conclusion. I am anticipating the upcoming second volume.

Millie and Honey - CATATONIA (Book) - 7/13/2012 10:07:33 AM
Millie & Honey and the Incredible Instantaneous Interplanetary Adventure, Vol. II: APPLEOPOLIS This wonderful book, authored by J.D. Means and very nicely illustrated by Romar Lipana, is a cute fantasy/adventure tale intended for children aged 6 - 12, depending on their reading level. This would also be a great book to read aloud to your non-reading children. A sequel to MHIIIA, Volume 1: Catatonia, Appleopolis picks up the day after the characters' adventures in Catatonia (an amazing planet of felines). In their last adventure, Millie, her dog Honey, and Honey's litter (Salazar, Jasmine, Burt and Blinky) discovered a "Traveling Machine." In this story they join up with Millie's parents and Rose (the machine's caretaker) to travel to the planet Appleopolis. On Appleopolis, a planet of intelligent trees, the group also makes friends with the delightful Rags (the Regent of the Agricultural Garden Society), who wears a blue jacket complete with medallions and talks like a pirate. Rags is their own private guide to all the wonders in Appleopolis. The group experiences Apple Bobbing (with a twist!) and the Apple Press ride. They also learn a lot in the Maple Forest and the Cinnamon Grove. An adventure-filled day with lots of fun and learning! I highly recommend that you add this book to your family library! I also think that someday this series would make an excellent cartoon series (a la The Magic Schoolbus)! The characters are all quite engaging and story is well plotted and executed. The vocabulary is just right - a little challenging (in a good way!) for younger children, but not too baby-ish for the older reader. The ending is satisfying and leaves you wanting to follow along on the group's next adventure. If you can, I also recommend you get the first book in the series (Catatonia), and I can't wait for the publication of Book #3 - The Blue Angel Planet!

Jasmine's Dress-Up Day (Short Story) - 3/9/2014 8:16:41 PM
well done! m

Our 4th Dog, DUSTY! (Short Story) - 3/9/2014 8:16:15 PM
well done! m

Our 4th Dog, DUSTY! (Short Story) - 2/26/2014 8:38:38 AM
Very funny. Also sad that husbands rely so much on their wives to make a home. I spent a long time living alone and learned how to keep the house, yard, and vehicle while holding down a full-time job. At work they didn't appreciate that. Single folks have a harder time moving ahead than those who are married. I had a Pomeranian. Very low maintenance… almost no dog hair to deal with and no poop to pick up in the yard (it was small and dry--I simply mowed it and it made good fertilizer). I sincerely hope your wife is okay. Ron

Happy St. Patrick's Day (Short Story) - 3/15/2013 2:30:06 PM
A real hip-hoppin Irish story...perfect for St. Paddy's Day...thanks...

DALEK ATTACK ! ! ! (Short Story) - 3/9/2013 12:49:27 PM
I want to run & hide...Bob-

DALEK ATTACK ! ! ! (Short Story) - 3/8/2013 6:46:35 AM
With a little imagination and a bug zapper, you come up with a great little story. It made me laugh out loud, when I usually just smile. Keep up the good work. Ron PS. Are there mosquitoes in Dubai? Whenever I used to cross the beach to the nearby sand dunes near Freeport Texas to pee, I would encounter these rather large mosquitoes with stingers more like hypodermic needles than the pinpricks of the Wisconsin mosquitoes zapped by my father's zapper nonstop in summer evenings.

DALEK ATTACK ! ! ! (Short Story) - 3/8/2013 6:39:18 AM
cool budd

Home Emergencies (Short Story) - 7/2/2012 8:22:18 AM
Excellent story and an even more excellent idea for a book. Good luck! Donna

The Yorkshire Terrorist (Poetry) - 8/26/2012 9:11:22 AM
Geez! I hope he's not a member of any extremist group! Just kidding. Yorkies are lovable little guys. I can tell you're happy by this wonderful poem for him. Ron

The Yorkshire Terrorist (Poetry) - 8/25/2012 1:01:55 PM
Great poem for a great breed of our "kids". Harry, my Yorkie was as you have written here and to this day, so many years now without him, I still get a burning behind my eyes when passing where his ashes are spread. Mark

The Yorkshire Terrorist (Poetry) - 8/25/2012 2:51:18 AM
A great ode to a great little dog, and I think most of the little ones do have a lion's heart.

The Yorkshire Terrorist (Poetry) - 8/24/2012 5:19:34 PM
Most amusing and nicely penned!

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.