AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Greg Pendleton, iKeith Wright, iJoe Bueno, iSu Williams, iMichael Csizmadia, iGwendolyn Moore, iHank LeGrand, i
 
Home > richard lloyd cederberg
 

Recent Reviews for richard lloyd cederberg


Between the Cracks (Book) - 1/14/2015 4:53:52 PM
Powerful novel with a powerful message. I feel that the intensity of many parts of this novel would very much lend themselves to an audio version read by the author if ever opportunity presents. Thank you so much for allowing me to share in this important work with themes that resonate. CJT

Between the Cracks (Book) - 7/16/2014 3:04:37 PM
Effective tease. I'll be downloading the e-book, as this subject matter is of keen interest to me. BTW, per our exchange of late, over and above "Kingdom" for a look at some radical change in character challenge, check out his motel scene in "Smokin' Aces." For my money, one of his best portrayals, save his performance for me in "Journey To the Day," which I directed at University of Alabama in '85 when he was a kid. He played a young boy placed in an mental institution with adults. Justine was also in it, playing the lead. (So, send me your email so I don't have to communicate in this manner above and beyond the reviewing process. odin.aflx.com Thanks.

Between the Cracks (Book) - 7/15/2014 5:40:49 AM
Congrats on your latest. Those "superficial" Southern Californians caught my eye. I don't think I could write from the viewpoint of a Moroccan. From the brief description, this looks like a page turner of thrilling proportions. Ron

Between the Cracks (Book) - 7/14/2014 11:10:58 AM
I want a copy...!!! e

Between the Cracks (Book) - 7/14/2014 9:15:08 AM
Congrats Richard. Sounds intriguing :) Is it in ebook form? Will it become available at BN? ann

Beyond Understanding (Book) - 8/9/2011 8:03:35 AM
Congratulations, RC!

A Monumental Journey - first edition cover (Book) - 4/6/2011 3:50:09 PM
Congratulations Richard, Blessings to you and yours. ann

Beyond Understanding (Book) - 4/2/2011 9:13:37 AM
A great accomplishment. My books are mired in a malaise of modern living, bursting to get out in weekend fits and starts. Happy sails [sales] to you. Ron

Beyond Understanding (Book) - 3/29/2011 4:53:56 PM
Good read, Richard. Good luck. -gene.

Beyond Understanding (Book) - 3/29/2011 11:48:48 AM
Congratulations, Richard. II know you are relieved to finally put that last period to the series.

In Search of the First Tribe (Book) - 7/28/2009 2:56:16 AM
Richard, I won't look at a yo-yo the same again. lol. These characters are growing spiritually every step of the way. I felt like there was a new, more natural, feel to the crew of the Heimdall. With the addition of new characters, a few surprises, and a creative and exciting ending, this book did not disappoint. Great work:) Love and hugs, Sheila

NEW THIRD EDITION available now @richardlloydcederberg.com (Book) - 8/19/2008 8:50:13 PM
The crew of the Heimdall are like a close-knit family. Along the exciting journey, the themes of love and respect are fortified with each day these characters spend together. A fascinating read that educates and entertains! Sheila

The Underground River (Book) - 2/12/2007 9:22:36 PM
Sounds like quite an interesting journbey Richard

In Search of the First Tribe (Book) - 1/29/2007 9:21:32 AM
I was so enraptured by the characters and the story. The images in my mind as I read played out like a movie...hmmm, yes, I could see this picked up as a movie.

NEW THIRD EDITION available now @richardlloydcederberg.com (Book) - 1/29/2007 9:18:17 AM
A very exciting, fast moving book. It carries you along on a wave of excitement. The characters are so real, I feel I know them and care deeply about what will confront them next.

sandcastles... (Short Story) - 1/23/2015 12:56:42 PM
A wise man once said that there is nothing new under the sun. This cute story demonstrates that the making of castles in the sand applies to such ancient words, wisely spoken ...

Penelope and Peter bond; she enjoys a Cuban Cigar (Short Story) - 1/1/2015 4:14:09 PM
Loved this jousting event, where both the symbols (Cuban cigars and strong coffee)and the wordsmithing warriors get nose to nose in a word-down, neither finding it necessary to throw down the gantlet, knowing deep within...it's all an illusion anyway. (Couldn't help but flash on my exercise of similar dimensions that constituted the scene in Echosis where Stoppard and guests (chapter 68, p-424) engage in a verbal quest of another kind, but still dealing with the circuitous route we sometimes have to take to find there is no beginning or end, just now. Wonderful exchange you've created.

Penelope and Peter bond; she enjoys a Cuban Cigar (Short Story) - 1/1/2015 8:53:59 AM
As always, your vocabulary never ceases to amaze me. This story seems to remind me of the impression of the world that some have, and the view that many have of those who have sought higher learning. That alone, along with a couple of great quotes, makes it a story that would get attention from critics. However, in all my conversations in my many years in academia with PhDs, many who were flower children in another life and tried all manner of mood enhancing elements, I never heard a single conversation like that over coffee, wine, or booze. I must've been consorting with dullards, because I generally understood what they were talking about unless it was technical jargon. Ron

Doorway... (Short Story) - 12/14/2014 7:40:41 AM
A very creative description of Nick passing over to the other side. We will all do that, but not with such brilliance as you have described. Ron

the doctor suggested psychoanalysis ... 2 (Short Story) - 12/3/2014 8:49:53 AM
A cleverly written tale with subliminal currents flowing throughout. A thoroughly enjoyable story ...

therapy session ... 1 (Short Story) - 12/3/2014 7:57:22 AM
An excellent portrayal of reality in our current society, everyone seeing the faults of others, while nourishing their own. We all have chinks in our armor that others can see ... An excellent little story with a moral we can all stand to learn from ... I like your smooth dialogue ...

high desert winds... (Short Story) - 11/26/2014 6:52:43 AM
Reads more like experience rather than fiction. But then, most authors write fiction from their experience, I know I do. Once caught on loose rock beyond the point of no return at the edge of a precipice, with my left leg spasming like a jack hammer, I know the terror that rapidly approaches in such a tenuous situation. Fortunately, a friend was there with the rope that I tied around my waist, and he pulled me back up to safety. Having visited Mesa Verde. It was amazing how those natives lived in such high places… Perhaps primarily for protection, but very difficult to get to and leave. I've never experienced exhilaration that, "oozed like syrup over morning waffles." But then, I gave up high cholesterol artery blockers like pancakes and waffles many years ago. Sweetened by oatmeal this morning with raisins. ;-) Ron

asylum... (Short Story) - 11/4/2014 12:26:35 PM
Wonderfully done. Terrifying in all the dark possibilities one ponders might come to pass in the next breath, yet courageous sanity prevails ...

a small safe vessel... (Short Story) - 11/4/2014 12:04:36 PM
Wow, is all I can say. Nope, that's a lie, 'cause I always got something to say, babbler that I am. Cut to the chase? You have painted a living picture that your reader can easily step inside of to live this story alongside your characters. I like that in a story or a novel. This story (I suppose it categorizes as flash fiction which I am not good at in the least because I am simply too wordy)says a lot in very few words, and in my humble opinion you have written the introductory paragraphs to what could easily be continued as an adventure novel based upon the lives and adventures of these two people/characters whom you seem to know well enough to gather data in completing such an interesting project ...

deaf and blind... (Short Story) - 11/4/2014 11:11:26 AM
It has been my misfortune, my plot in life, what have you, to always "bump" into people just like the one you described above; good folks basically but equipped from birth with a short fuse and a hair trigger. Some I could/can get along with after their initial explosion. Others, I simply cannot tolerate to this very day, and the meetings of this sort have yet to cease to happen. This story has a moral that simply says everyone makes mistakes, and mistakes happen. Let it go! Sadly, this world has folks who will adamantly deny forgiveness to others, while demanding it for themselves ... I got a good, sad, laugh out of this story situation: Good because the whole scenario is funny if taken in the proper context and light, and sad because this is the reality of how so many in this world deal with minor situations that could be defused and forgotten so easily ... I enjoyed this story ...

asylum... (Short Story) - 7/6/2014 3:59:44 PM
The descriptions throughout never gave away your protagonist's "imagination," as the word choices served the reader's expectation of reality. Well done...really well done.

asylum... (Short Story) - 7/4/2014 6:43:21 AM
Things that go bump in the night. It is often said that hermits are crazy. Perhaps they are and that's why they choose to live alone. On the other hand, perhaps living alone and drive them crazy. Especially when a storm beats on their door giving them vivid dreams of intrusion. Vividly written in language that I am incapable of. However, I found the ending, with the old warrior (suffering from post stress syndrome?) suddenly coming out, to be rather abrupt rather than something more, like getting his sword and actually opening the door to the wind. Ron

asylum... (Short Story) - 7/4/2014 4:17:30 AM
enjoyed reading your informative narrative I look forward to reading more of your work. m

a small safe vessel... (Short Story) - 6/27/2014 6:30:53 AM
A wonderful metaphor for starting over. I guess the lake was quite stormy. Perhaps the stream leading away will be more tranquil. Ron

a small safe vessel... (Short Story) - 6/27/2014 4:11:08 AM
enjoyed reading your interesting work.

a small safe vessel... (Short Story) - 6/26/2014 4:56:34 PM
Great story Richard :-) Blessings to you and yours, ann

sandcastles... (Short Story) - 6/23/2014 9:01:27 AM
This is a good argument in favor of cost/benefit analysis, but that is such a mundane concept when compared to the lessons concealed in metaphors.

sandcastles... (Short Story) - 6/23/2014 5:45:03 AM
There are lessons here. Don't build your castles out of sand. And, even the best laid plans can go awry. I'm thinking of your daughter's life and how she started out so innocently building her castles that eventually, slipped away like drifting sand. One could also imagine all those people who build in low-lying areas, rolling the dice with nature and wasting billions of dollars, and sometimes lives, by doing so. Ron

sandcastles... (Short Story) - 6/22/2014 10:04:46 AM
well done

sandcastles... (Short Story) - 6/22/2014 9:01:11 AM
Beautiful writing ~ We are beset by that which we can see, and measure, and feel...and so much is an illusion. Seeming permanence to creation, all but a mist... Blessings Richard, Chris

a reluctant letter (because I care) (Short Story) - 6/17/2014 1:07:58 AM
well done

a reluctant letter (because I care) (Short Story) - 6/16/2014 5:53:14 AM
I can't help thinking that this is someone very close. Your letter is a valiant attempt to reconnect and heal a chasm. I know of three cases like this: Through drugs and alcohol at a very early age, my nephew has estranged himself from our family for many years. A Berkeley educated brilliant engineer that I knew once got hooked on cocaine and ended up on the streets in Las Vegas. She died of cancer. The third person, on drugs most of her life, married three times and in prison twice, is still working on her life with my assistance and encouragement. Ron

a reluctant letter (because I care) (Short Story) - 6/15/2014 3:57:26 PM
I unfortunately know a little of what you speak of here. In this persons case it was best she go as far away as she could and she did. And she sought help on her own terms. Without money, family or friends. I talked with her recently, she will never be what she was, could have been. She has attained her own space and sense of happiness. She was ultimately the one who knew what she needed. It's heart wrenching , the could have beens. I don't wish anyone that hell. I sympathize in many many ways with this letter.

a reluctant letter (because I care) (Short Story) - 6/15/2014 11:02:16 AM
An apt day for such an apt piece of literature for those of us merely on the sidelines, given the opportunity to share in such an intimate and poignant plea for connection. Well done.

a reluctant letter (because I care) (Short Story) - 6/15/2014 7:37:34 AM
Poignant and vulnerable, these a words from such a loving human heart ~ a personal message that is sure to make a profound difference Blessings, CT

Is your literary work being exploited? (Article) - 10/21/2011 7:05:52 PM
I realize this article is three years old but it is still totally relevant today and will always be. Thank you. Janna

Is your literary work being exploited? (Article) - 7/15/2011 4:06:53 PM
As soon as I write a poem, or whatever, I give it back to the Lord, and what happens with it is in His hands. If anyone uses it, and makes money on it, they don't have me to worry about, but God. And then I forget about fame or money, and write more poetry. I've found my work all over the internet, being used for artwork, and even to sell tire swings, but my poetry is God's property foremost. You have written a good article, and I hope many people read it, Richard. ~Z.B.McClure

Is your literary work being exploited? (Article) - 4/19/2011 12:11:15 PM
I have not received a single invitation, and I am a literary slut!

Is your literary work being exploited? (Article) - 3/15/2011 1:55:37 PM
Didn't take me long to snap to these sharks, buddy.

Is your literary work being exploited? (Article) - 9/4/2010 6:32:58 PM
I bit on one of those in the late 1980s. It was some sort of "anthology of poetry". Then they charged me over 30 dollars for the book they published. When I shared my songs in 2003, I was swarmed by the vultures. A few years later I found out that they had stolen my songs and one of them, "Last Dollar" is making a lot of money for the thieves. Its still hard for me to hear that song on the radio. Its sad how many scams are out there. The greed in our world really gets me down sometimes.

Is your literary work being exploited? (Article) - 10/15/2009 1:10:01 AM
I had this happen to me years ago when I first decided to use the internet as an outlet. I know think of those bad choices as learning tools and am thankful I didn't get sucked in for more money than I did. I've since learned that if somebody wants me to write for them I ask, "how much do you pay?" If they tell me it's see my name in a by-line or for "exposure", I tell them I can expose myself for free and write my name of my naked body to tell the world who I am, why do I need you to do it for me?. Writing is a job, and like any job that you're hired for, payment is due for the work completed.

Is your literary work being exploited? (Article) - 8/6/2008 6:47:49 AM
Richard, It makes no difference the type or the medium, from magazines to blogs, up the scale of book publishers, anyplace and everywhere, there are those who live to take the blood of the artisan for their own benefit. Most of us take a while to understand, finally, there are bottom feeders who prey on the author's deepest need, which is one of seeking people to read what he has written. Sad ain't it?

Is your literary work being exploited? (Article) - 5/16/2008 2:51:39 PM
Sorry to hear this, but I guess it comes with the Net. The only offer I got was from the Educational Testing Service and it was bona fide. My first publisher, who believed in my work and literary potential, lost his substantial start-up funds, and went crazy trying to succeed legitimately. My friend, Angela Hoy of Writers Weekly.com. Goes after these crooks. Ron

Is your literary work being exploited? (Article) - 5/15/2008 5:22:18 PM
What can I say? you have me worried Richard! Bless you for bringing this forward, and as for Georg, thank you, and just in case, I shall remember whatever Lula wants.... Bless you all! Jasmin Horst

Is your literary work being exploited? (Article) - 5/15/2008 4:16:11 PM
I have submitted poems to these type people and when the newness wore off I didn't anymore. Especially when I found out that since my poems had been published they could not be included in my own publication. What a bummer. Now days, it's a flat no and the flyer goes into the trash. You are right about it all being a rip, but I did garner some experience and met new people and learned what not to do any more. Great article. Liz

Is your literary work being exploited? (Article) - 5/15/2008 3:49:39 PM
I think what a poet agrees to depends a lot on whether they want to share their poetry or if they want money for it. I don't know of any present day poet whose gotten rich by writing poetry. It's something we do for the love of it and it's meant to be shared. I won't pay anyone a penny for mine but will allow some to be published in magazines in exchange for a copy. We pay to post our poems and other writings here at AD, so what's the dif?

Is your literary work being exploited? (Article) - 5/15/2008 12:55:27 PM
Fortunately I've not "fallen" for the lines of the hustlers...not since procuring the deed to the Brooklyn Bridge :o) (really only kidding, unless someone is willing to buy LOL) A much needed article you've written, Richard, and hopefully all new authors will be reading this! Blessings ~~ Micke

Is your literary work being exploited? (Article) - 5/15/2008 8:16:40 AM
I have been now, and for a long time, telling my fellow authors that don't touch anybody with not a bundle of cash up in front. And that for get their book published, they should relay on Lulu.com Since I introduce Lulu.com to AD many have gone that way and are satisfied, so satisfied are everybody that now AD and Lulu.com are an item of collaboration. So hear what Richard here is saying, do you hear me?! ! ! Georg

Is your literary work being exploited? (Article) - 5/15/2008 7:55:14 AM
great capture of the elated emotion felt when such an offer mysteriously appears in the writers life...and the fall as the realization occurs it is more about them, than it is about you or your work...the bright side for me personally, is these offers are helping me further trust my intuition and inner guidance to what is a higher conscious way of living

Is your literary work being exploited? (Article) - 5/15/2008 3:57:19 AM
I have been wondering lately about the wisdom of having my work on the internet at all. I have found that anything I put on the web is considered published and will not be accepted in writing competitions. Also, I have googled myself and found some of my work on other people's websites without my permission.

Withdrawn... (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 8:36:24 PM
Incredibly artful, as always. You respect the craft, and it shows! Masterfully penned!

Withdrawn... (Poetry) - 1/31/2015 3:56:15 PM
a wise poetic tour de force ... admirable in effect as well as affect ...

Withdrawn... (Poetry) - 1/24/2015 11:37:28 AM
The idea of a simple life appeals greatly to me. However, there may come a time, even at advanced age, when one must face the raging sea that life can sometimes, become. In total, the poem emotes wisdom. Ron

Withdrawn... (Poetry) - 1/24/2015 8:22:16 AM
Richard~ Espousing all that's given me. Beguiled with simple fare. A heartfelt read. Lady Mary Ann

Withdrawn... (Poetry) - 1/24/2015 5:26:19 AM
Richard, What a difficult rhyme scheme you chose to write this message of loss. "Artless on a raging sea" opens out to so many interpretations. Keep on writing because your words reach out to touch others you will never meet. Well done. Eileen

Withdrawn... (Poetry) - 1/23/2015 7:10:38 PM
I'm not the one I used to be either, Then when I got mad I'd reach for a cleaver, Now I do the right thing,of both, neither, I just sit right down, and initiate a personal breather... Find Peace...-e-

Withdrawn... (Poetry) - 1/23/2015 5:16:37 PM
The strength of your writing rises far above the crowd, and you write so well in telling us of who you are not. Expertly crafted.

Withdrawn... (Poetry) - 1/23/2015 11:20:16 AM
So well said, and so sad to become withdrawn with age. Simple fair is fine but becoming resigned to the notion that I wasted too much time caring about the sorry state of things and invested too little enjoying what was wonderful is a deep regret. Don't withdraw too soon, Richard, or too far. Best, Jan

mismatched envelopes... (Poetry) - 1/18/2015 1:12:11 PM
Truly a soul-stirring and most meaningful write, Richard. Thank you for sharing your empathy. Love and peace, Regis

that morning along the mezzanine... (Poetry) - 1/17/2015 4:01:24 PM
~Richard~ the rising sun...splendid write. Lady Mary Ann

that morning along the mezzanine... (Poetry) - 1/17/2015 8:44:15 AM
Quite a journey through the maelstrom contemporary noise and distraction. The surreal nature of the piece allows for a rather broad interpretation, as well as a generous choice of identities for the reader. Good stuff here, Richard. Kudos.

Christmas (hope) (Poetry) - 1/15/2015 12:57:06 PM
A most apt, timely, and meaningful write, Richard. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on a universal and timeless theme which we humans have difficulty comprehending. Love and peace to you, Regis

a season of singing... (Poetry) - 1/15/2015 12:55:25 PM
Lovely and uplifting; thank you for sharing this gift, Richard. Love and peace to you, Regis

that morning along the mezzanine... (Poetry) - 1/13/2015 11:36:24 AM
Clever meter as is the layout. A layout of daily snapshots of living, living in modernity with its piles of trials, the likes that "normally" go unobserved. Here they are viewed through the eyes of honesty.

that morning along the mezzanine... (Poetry) - 1/13/2015 10:40:51 AM
Starkly expressed and ripped from the daily news. Fortunately, 99% of the world goes through the day, especially at the mall, having quite a boring time and wish there was a little excitement, like a streaker, to liven up the dullness of the elevator music as we shop till we drop. Ron

that morning along the mezzanine... (Poetry) - 1/12/2015 4:59:50 PM
Very vivid. And unfortunate that it could be seen as possibility these days. Be well. MM

that morning along the mezzanine... (Poetry) - 1/12/2015 3:29:03 PM
A wonderful poem laced with passion that stands apart... Enjoying the novel I am ~ Blessings, CT

that morning along the mezzanine... (Poetry) - 1/12/2015 2:05:08 PM
A kaleidoscope of images that give rise to emotions; thoroughly engaging, Richard. Your verse made me think of much and also of chaos in this world/life. Well done! Love and peace to you, Regis

that morning along the mezzanine... (Poetry) - 1/12/2015 1:45:29 PM
An alternate ending: "I boldly swung my 50 caliber machine gun and trained it on the invaders. I carefully aimed and ripped 500 rounds into them. In 10 seconds the invaders all lay dead on the floor. I apologize for taking so long. Next time I'll do better."

a season of singing... (Poetry) - 1/9/2015 6:23:17 PM
That's really beautiful.

a season of singing... (Poetry) - 1/6/2015 2:22:30 PM
excellent inspiration in these lines ...the redoing of some parts of our lives would fit just right if it were possible.

a season of singing... (Poetry) - 1/4/2015 6:37:02 PM
a twinkling romantic reflection with an even larger meaning and music to this reader's ears RLC Blessings, Christine

a season of singing... (Poetry) - 1/4/2015 9:25:15 AM
very well written ... i found this truly inspired ...

a season of singing... (Poetry) - 1/2/2015 8:35:54 AM
I read this as coming out of the dark times into the light, and may the new year be ever brighter. Ron

a season of singing... (Poetry) - 1/1/2015 7:23:39 PM
Very good poetry here, like the Psalm 30 verst very much so. Thank you and have a very Happy New Year.

a season of singing... (Poetry) - 1/1/2015 3:42:54 PM
Nature as metaphor seems endless in its scope. Another reminder that existence is a recurring cyclic churning, where static stillness knows no safety, where constant movement keeps all the parts of the universe alive. Nicely penned, Richard.

a season of singing... (Poetry) - 12/31/2014 9:45:46 AM
~Richard~ In joyful jubilation and His words are the purest dewdrops. Beautiful one, and come with ne now. Lady Mary Ann

a season of singing... (Poetry) - 12/31/2014 9:18:59 AM
Tranquil, uplifting, joyous, inspiring, and marvelous all at once. A pleasure to read and savor.

a season of singing... (Poetry) - 12/31/2014 9:09:08 AM
I like those two first lines about the rewinds and fast forwards, how I wish for a rewind to change myself, to make myself better than I am today...but...I try to stay on the str8 and narrow, as it were, but short of hiding in my cave of reclusivity, I find no other way to change things any better than they are...ah ,well, I am done with my whining (again), hope you guys have a super New Year...-e-

Christmas (hope) (Poetry) - 12/23/2014 1:45:27 PM
It's unclear to me why so much controversy and blood has been shed over these ideas. I'm beginning to think it's only the human propensity toward a territorial imperative that causes such acrimony. I just visited your website. Very clean and professional looking. Great job. Ron

Christmas (hope) (Poetry) - 12/23/2014 10:45:09 AM
Wonderful poetic truths you have brought to the table of confusion. The longer I live on this earth the more I know about His birth. The longer I live the less I trust man and the more I love His Creator. Merry Christmas Richard! Amen

Christmas (hope) (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 6:34:34 PM
Well said and without sentimental hocus pocus. If only we could eradicate the senseless celebratory commercialism of it all.

Christmas (hope) (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 4:59:13 PM
the essence of mankind remains the same only his modus operandi changes ...

Christmas (hope) (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 3:53:39 PM
Christ as a babe - His Power Laying in a manger - His throne room Wrapped in swaddling clothes - His royal robe Angelic Choir - shepherds listening Majestic Protection - a sinless life.

Christmas (hope) (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 3:50:21 PM
Rich, I think I might actually "get" this one, will wonders never cease...Merry Christmas to you & the BOSS...-e-

Christmas (hope) (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 3:09:08 PM
~Richard~ The "Faith" of a child...his birth holy.. Lady Mary Ann

Christmas (hope) (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 2:56:31 PM
We do need both faith and reason, as we humans try desperately to make sense of this uncertain world, and they are not enemies and yes I too let go into the mystery, the beautiful mystery of faith! Merry Christmas and Blessings, Christine

Christmas (hope) (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 1:55:39 PM
Excellent write

mismatched envelopes... (Poetry) - 12/21/2014 7:34:23 AM
~Richard~ Gingerly touching empathy of heartbreak. Lady Mary Ann

mismatched envelopes... (Poetry) - 12/20/2014 7:02:44 AM
And there are some who hold "free verse" or "prose-poetry" with disdain. Sadly, far too few in our world choose to see life's reality with a poetic eye, a melody-seeking ear, and the effort to pursue the fragrance of air void of fear. Thank you for posting this outstanding piece of poetic tapestry, draping many of us with a renewed appreciation for empathy and awareness. Kudos.

mismatched envelopes... (Poetry) - 12/19/2014 10:05:44 AM
Very poignant and realistic. It cuts neatly into my soul. Ron

mismatched envelopes... (Poetry) - 12/19/2014 7:30:29 AM
I think it is so very important that we all understand the hurt and pain of poverty. Everyone should take some time out of the hustle-bustle and really think about it. Nice snapshot of the season.

mismatched envelopes... (Poetry) - 12/18/2014 6:17:14 AM
empathy is when the heart observes ... quite a moving capture ....

mismatched envelopes... (Poetry) - 12/18/2014 2:01:40 AM
poignant read

mismatched envelopes... (Poetry) - 12/17/2014 1:52:43 AM
OMG, it is a miracle, this I understand and can "empathize" with most assuredly...I think I have been that person sitting on the porch, although I don't smoke, sort of...unless this is a female, then I cannot be her and she me...a tear I had while re-reading but as for me no young son as never did I do any breeding...Merry Christmas...-e-

descent down a dark hole (laughing) (Poetry) - 12/13/2014 10:36:07 PM
a true creative mind cannot be compromised only subjugated ... not with a bang but with a whimper ...

descent down a dark hole (laughing) (Poetry) - 12/10/2014 8:12:51 AM
"Pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up." No wonder it's written: It is not good for man to be alone! Nice work, Richard!

descent down a dark hole (laughing) (Poetry) - 12/9/2014 11:22:35 AM
POWERFUL POEM!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

descent down a dark hole (laughing) (Poetry) - 12/9/2014 10:00:02 AM
Sadly, it is not uncommon for any of us to lose our way, to be lost long before we realize that we have departed from the path we thought we had set out on, all too busy living it u to live a life that is, in the end, meaningful and pleasant to look back on without shame or regret. You have magnificently painted reality for those of us who awoke to find ourselves sitting in the bar ditch of life, derailed, wrecked, ravaged, and lives wasted, wondering through the haze of all our efforts, how we came to be where we so clearly are in falling short of that goal we thought we had set before us and would never, never take our eyes off of ... James 1:24--"For he beholdeth himself, and goeth his way, and straightway forgetteth what manner of man he was." Wise words, with an even wiser warning ...

descent down a dark hole (laughing) (Poetry) - 12/7/2014 10:12:18 AM
Indeed, very dark and forbidding. I could say this has happened to many a brilliant young mind with all the temptations available to suck one in and consume them. I personally knew of a beautiful, intelligent, Berkeley educated engineer who ended up selling herself and sleeping in the streets of Las Vegas. What a waste! From what I know of your situation, I believe this poem is very close to home and personal. Ron

descent down a dark hole (laughing) (Poetry) - 12/6/2014 11:24:33 AM
At once, one is impacted by what many would think as a funeral derge for fallen entertainment celebrities, only to find that the intricate wordsmithing transcends the obvious and ushers the reader into the contagion infecting all forms of ambition, especially that of politics and journalism. The tundra is so littered this day with bodies of severed souls and minds that even the scavengers grow confused on which was which and who was who. Of course, lest we be accused of leaving out the most egregious contaminants of all, let it be said that the more aromatic of the bodies of religious zealots are growing in number. Your wordsmithing here is loaded with the above and much more subtext hopefully reaches the masses. Kudos.

(both) the life and beat of dreams... (Poetry) - 12/5/2014 4:11:28 PM
Such are relationships founded on love and trust and the rest seems to all fall into place. Meaningfully expressed, Richard. Love and peace to you, Regis

Hail Caesar... (Poetry) - 12/5/2014 5:34:14 AM
A teacher, watching me fish waist deep in the surf without a bite, observed, "You have no poetry" ... as if hungry creatures would gather 'round me and fight for the right to die on my hook if only I had the right attitude. He spoke with certainty (and no doubt, poetically) - sure enough he later gathered up an African army and died leading them to horrible defeat. I have no idea why this tale comes to mind having read your work, RLC, but you have to expect such things when writing provocative pieces. Thanks.

Hail Caesar... (Poetry) - 12/2/2014 6:29:22 PM
I like it, Wish I said it, But of course, I don't get it, But please keep writing like this, For the mark on me is probably your only miss...-e-

Hail Caesar... (Poetry) - 12/2/2014 3:40:39 PM
A true heart felt expression of the all too surreal reality of society in all its modern nakedness. At one time men were said to be honorable. Now men seek respect by whatever means is available, sparing not the rod in demanding others place them upon an elevated plane of pivotal parameters to humble even the most powerful and arrogant gods of anciently pagan times ... It is said that women seek after love, but the method is the same, and so love at whatever price is the respect women seek in touting their rights, rather than seeking to be simple, respectable, women, beautiful not just for their looks, but for their stringently high quality of self respect orientated character based upon family minded thinking centered around the premise that self control is a far better thing than self seeking ... Character has ceased being an attribute, and has become an actor in the XXX play of societal life. I might add, a miserable play with a plot structured around the very SELF you speak of, as we have all fallen into the ruddy rut of wallowing in the mire that comes about when your entire world, your entire civilization and society, has become a veritable cesspool of lasciviously ludicrous behavior designed to reproduce and support itself through self copulation in propagating more lies, dishonesty, deception, deceit, greed, immorality, and anything else that passes for constituting a total lack of integrity and character in an already dead society that is conceitedly enamored with the putridity of its own decomposing image, fondling itself erotically in the mirror of passion's lust for the love of self ... I say, well spoken, but the overly high IQ fellows will stand mouths agape, flies buzzing in out of their pie holes, clueless to the wisdom you have shared ... I am not clueless, but I am sure you could teach me more ... Thank you Richard ...

Hail Caesar... (Poetry) - 12/2/2014 10:53:16 AM
In what appears to be an article rather than a poem, you have, in eloquent words, compared the downfall of Rome with modern civilization. As in that time, the movers and shakers in elective office are put there by heredity and moneyed political power. They are fond of using Scriptures to justify almost every activity they undertake. What I see happening is a fundamental shift towards a fairer, more open and sharing society that is emerging from young people unwilling to follow the ritualistic tenets of the past like robots, but breaking free of that into new ways of living that are going to be more ideal than our current selfish trends of competing with the Joneses and building castles of monetary isolationism. Ron

Hail Caesar... (Poetry) - 12/2/2014 9:47:05 AM
Very entertaining as well as enlightening comparison of Ancient Rome's mindset and today's far less noble effort to contend with "self." Imagery and wordsmithing was outstanding in this call to arms. "Need" versus "Want" continues in perilous combat, seemingly forever aided by the nonsensical reliance on the supernatural for answers. Kudos.

I'll bid thee farewell... (Poetry) - 11/26/2014 2:05:36 PM
~Richard~ Wonderful wishes and promises of a winter's romance in pure-white expance. Lovely penned. Lady Mary Ann

I'll bid thee farewell... (Poetry) - 11/21/2014 7:33:24 AM
Certainly has a nice ring to it, and a rhythm that repetition enhances. I tend to think this kind of poetry comes from monastic chants where repetition often creates trancelike states or reinforces beliefs. In your case, the freedom and clarity of the stillness of chill winter's air. Ron

I'll bid thee farewell... (Poetry) - 11/20/2014 2:14:32 PM
I think there is a romantic flare associated with a fresh snow fall, but that's just me...bob

(both) the life and beat of dreams... (Poetry) - 11/15/2014 10:24:12 AM
What better example of words that stir the soul and elevate the joy of life and love? This is poetry!

(both) the life and beat of dreams... (Poetry) - 11/14/2014 8:30:04 AM
In describing your own relationship in this most meaningful poem, you have described a relationship that I've had for 22 years. The support of this relationship has taken me from despair and depression to the positive and forward-looking person that I am today. Now, if I could only quell her fears of growing older and losing me. In time, even two must split and become one. I only hope, that when that happens, either of us will still be strong enough to go ahead on our own. Ron

(both) the life and beat of dreams... (Poetry) - 11/14/2014 6:08:39 AM
Purely and honestly written. This poem goes deep into the heart. dWb

(both) the life and beat of dreams... (Poetry) - 11/13/2014 11:13:56 PM
Trying not to follow the crowd are you (both), not worrying what the neighbors say in front or behind ur backs, that is the best way to live, though it can sometimes be not easy...-e-

it was more than I deserved... (Poetry) - 11/11/2014 10:01:02 AM
BEAUTIFUL POEM!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

it was more than I deserved... (Poetry) - 11/10/2014 8:58:32 PM
well written ... enjoyed reading, Richard ...

it was more than I deserved... (Poetry) - 11/10/2014 11:34:14 AM
Richard, Beautiful poem at its best. Love and blessings, ~Linda

the tale of the Whaleshead ... (Poetry) - 11/9/2014 4:43:01 PM
~Richard~ Your honor and steadfast strength of soul gives way to this compelling and masterful poem with a bit a' Scots parlance to enjoy! Lady Mary Ann

it was more than I deserved... (Poetry) - 11/9/2014 4:12:36 PM
~Richard~ Beautiful the heart of providence in wisdom to one subtle grain. Lady Mary Ann

it was more than I deserved... (Poetry) - 11/8/2014 8:55:02 AM
This is poetry at its best for my tastes. Simple and elegant...the essence of beauty!

it was more than I deserved... (Poetry) - 11/8/2014 8:52:01 AM
Choosing to accept one's fate is okay, but even with that, you can make a difference. Ron

it was more than I deserved... (Poetry) - 11/8/2014 4:34:09 AM
"To hope for knowledge Forgoing preconception...." The picture alone is more than words can speak; so beautiful, showing us the wonders of the Creator! Blessings to you, Richard!

another moment of respite... (Poetry) - 11/7/2014 4:41:15 PM
Gotta love those three masted ships, though I wouldn't want to be in a big storm on board one of them...-e-

it was more than I deserved... (Poetry) - 11/7/2014 4:39:40 PM
Hey, bro' you've been busy of late, this is like the third new one I have seen...keep knockin' them out & I will keep readin' them...-e-

another moment of respite... (Poetry) - 11/7/2014 3:15:43 PM
Very visual and enticing!

with all manner of fearful brooding... (Poetry) - 11/7/2014 10:55:04 AM
Oh, Richard, how my heart was with you on this. Your phrases so aptly state my own dread and discomfort of weakness and pain and debilitation. And then, thank you, the darkness lifts and life is yours again for which you pay its due. I do not know the exact nature of you injury but the places that it took you to, you reveal most eloquently. I am proud for you, happy for you and inspired by your journey. Thank you for sharing this. Be well, Kathy

another moment of respite... (Poetry) - 11/6/2014 12:42:20 PM
You paint a picture of high quality, colorful language that soothed my soul. Thank you. Be well, Kathy

with all manner of fearful brooding... (Poetry) - 11/5/2014 2:50:10 PM
"But how wondrous it was to finally stand free, Able to walk again, without assist.... That just a great blessing, Richard! Thanks for sharing it with us!

another moment of respite... (Poetry) - 11/4/2014 11:29:30 AM
The poet writes and the world moves in soothing steps of virtual reality... The reader gasps with each undulation of wave and time and motion. Another moment of sheer joy!

another moment of respite... (Poetry) - 11/4/2014 8:23:36 AM
There's nothing like an evening cruise on a venerable old wooden sailboat with the water lapping against the bow as she silently powers through the waves at the magical time when the winds ease and the romance begins, sunset. You fully captured the moment with enough sensual power to make anyone wish they were on board with you. I sure was. Ron

another moment of respite... (Poetry) - 11/4/2014 6:10:34 AM
Richard~ You have penned a beautiful scene in surreal images. Lady Mary Ann

with no wavering or fear... (Poetry) - 11/2/2014 11:57:17 AM
Richard~ They saw beyond. Seeds to be sown and harvest to render. Gems of discovery still in our midst forward in spirit-felt unity. Wonderful write. Lady Mary Ann

with no wavering or fear... (Poetry) - 11/2/2014 9:19:57 AM
''But still fierce storms raged, and their dreams were all tested''...''their trust became seeds''------- I LOVE THIS!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

with no wavering or fear... (Poetry) - 11/2/2014 5:30:46 AM
well said

with no wavering or fear... (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 1:18:54 PM
It's strange we tend only to remember those that succeeded and often forget so many that failed even though their ideas and aspirations were great. They just came at the wrong time and place to succeed. Heaped upon the trash pile of unrecorded history. Ron

with no wavering or fear... (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 11:13:05 AM
Be neat to be living way back then, discovering this country, and forging trails into what was then the unknown...-e-

a forever that never arrived... (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 10:44:33 AM
For me, this is a sad piece that serves to remind me of someone I knew, now gone, who lit up the room upon entering, touching everyone present with a special beauty that seemed to flow from within her eyes, her smile, her laughter sweet (title to a piece of mine, not posted), leaving them to feel they had known her all their life ... People such as this are a true rarity, gems in world of ugly & abrasive stones. I wish I could have known this person you speak of, and that you could have known the girl I speak of. It is very likely that they may have been kindred spirits. Who knows ...

with all manner of fearful brooding... (Poetry) - 10/28/2014 4:03:48 PM
I like your choice of unusual words to reflect a feeling so common among many people. I'll be looking at more of your work with anticipation of something new and unusual!

with all manner of fearful brooding... (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 4:06:51 PM
This piece is beautifully and masterfully written ...

with all manner of fearful brooding... (Poetry) - 10/27/2014 1:33:40 PM
As usual I don't quite get it, but still I did read it and for what I did understand, I enjoyed...sorry, bro...-e-

with all manner of fearful brooding... (Poetry) - 10/26/2014 8:50:40 AM
Very uplifting clearing the mind restoring hope. And so very well stated.

with all manner of fearful brooding... (Poetry) - 10/26/2014 8:45:29 AM
Richard~ Rays of hope in manner to grip beyond the fear. Excellent. Lady Mary Ann

with all manner of fearful brooding... (Poetry) - 10/25/2014 11:45:15 AM
Few of kindred spirit can express a universal truth with as little excusing, or justification as this gem of a reflection gives to its readers. One can identify easily, whether with their psychological mirror, their physical awareness of how fragile the body is, or with spiritual experiences--rewarding and otherwise. This truly shot me back to the evolution and final denouement and epiphany of Stoppard in "Echosis." If only more of our species could see that everything is perfect, that without a few accidents, a few missteps, lessons to learn would remain hard to come by. And, as the old maxim proffers: we create the same lesson over and over until we learn it... especially in relationships, both domestic and work. My interpretation suggests that the narrator of this fine piece reached an apex of experience and trusts the lesson was learned. For how could it be passed on so well if that hadn't been the case?

your pure white sands... (Poetry) - 10/8/2014 8:33:38 PM
A great Anniversary write, and to express your thoughts to her like this is immensely satisfaction in a marriage.

your pure white sands... (Poetry) - 9/18/2014 6:03:57 AM
Oh my goodness this was so moving Richard! I felt your words as blood to my soul... Totally Moved! Teresa

of all that remains fruitless... (Poetry) - 9/13/2014 11:08:13 AM
Richard~ Clouded sorcery for what these idiolistic satinpod seeds render unto innocents. John 3:16 Joshua 25:15 Lady Mary Ann

alone in a desert... (Poetry) - 9/13/2014 11:01:05 AM
Richard~ To the wise owl's mysterious verve your artistic application is individually powerful. Lady Mary Ann

your pure white sands... (Poetry) - 9/13/2014 10:44:54 AM
Richard & Michelle, Happy Anniversary to you both. This loving write is pure of heart. Lady Mary Ann

your pure white sands... (Poetry) - 9/9/2014 5:48:57 AM
an excellent write Richard most enjoyable reading peace be with you William

your pure white sands... (Poetry) - 9/8/2014 7:45:20 PM
Happy Anniversary to Michele Elizabeth, she is lucky to have you there to write such a nicely put,relatively so, present to her...(PS: I re-sent my address again via messages and I don't understand the reason mail would not find me as yes I did move in the Middle of May to this my new address but all and I repeat ALL my bills have followed me quite well to this address...ain't that always the way...?) -e-

your pure white sands... (Poetry) - 9/8/2014 8:31:49 AM
ROMANTIC AND BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!...''I spoke with the winds today''---------- EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

your pure white sands... (Poetry) - 9/8/2014 6:59:01 AM
Yes, very romantic and highly descriptive. Since she knows you so well, she will understand it and love it far more than any other reader. A couple of phrases like, "as pit roasted meat…," throw me a bit, but again, she will more likely understand your intent then I. Still, I find describing the indescribable like love, extremely difficult with the pitfalls it brings. Ron

your pure white sands... (Poetry) - 9/8/2014 6:57:01 AM
I had an experience similar to Odin's. Mine was closer to awe at your ability to put into words a depth of feeling many of us have but only the very few are able to convey with the romantic punch of Khayyam or Shakespeare. Superb!

your pure white sands... (Poetry) - 9/7/2014 8:05:59 PM
Hauntingly romantic, a poem that takes me to another place and time. Well done Richard! John Michael

your pure white sands... (Poetry) - 9/7/2014 7:26:43 PM
Awwwwesome as ever, Richard! Your other-half is blessed to be loved by such a tender heart. Blessings!

your pure white sands... (Poetry) - 9/7/2014 3:15:35 PM
a delicate sojourn whose purpose is to prevent unnecessary intervention

your pure white sands... (Poetry) - 9/7/2014 1:58:35 PM
Happy anniversary! And many many more. Lovely work.

your pure white sands... (Poetry) - 9/7/2014 12:30:23 PM
"I pleaded earnestly for the chance to understand your depths, to encourage YOU, to love YOU, more effectively, without stumbling through your pure white sands and leaving marks that might remain as scars… " Now that is something every woman would like to hear. Congratulations to you and your wife, Richard. Intriguing physical shape of the poem there, too.

your pure white sands... (Poetry) - 9/7/2014 7:57:16 AM
I found myself reading this without taking a breath, picturing a desperation in the poet to speak the words before something might prevent the sharing. Don't know why that happened, but it was a hell of a euphoric experience. Loved this exploration.

alone in a desert... (Poetry) - 9/1/2014 5:56:23 PM
Artistic application and self are synonymous for many. The truth in feelings is beautiful in its own right. Wonderful poem, r.

alone in a desert... (Poetry) - 8/31/2014 7:28:51 AM
well done

alone in a desert... (Poetry) - 8/28/2014 4:43:29 AM
I'm told that the sands of the Sahara have ground each other round, that they have no edges to intersect with each other and so are unsuitable as a building material. Perhaps the galaxies have had that experience, too, and so have drifted apart from each other on elastic strings. Is that why we, in our inner universe, have so much trouble making enduring works. Was that old sage right when he sadly told our childhood selves 'you think too much' and now we've worn ourselves out? Here's touching you back, Richard. You're it, again. We are all 'it' thanks to you ...

alone in a desert... (Poetry) - 8/27/2014 1:42:31 PM
Number one, I thought you lived in the mountains someplace and you had a wife so you are not alone...beyond that, all those questions have we not all asked of ourselves at some point...I know I have, I just wish I was so eloquent in the way you put them down on paper as it were...and with regards the last paragraph, you touch me everytime you write though yes sometimes I don't "get it", but I still enjoy reading of you no end...and thanks for stoppiing in to read me every now and then, I love your reviews...Find Peace/Piece, -e-

alone in a desert... (Poetry) - 8/27/2014 11:20:14 AM
Gliding effortlessly above the trite and banal so often confronting the pages of effort-prone expression, this piece of reflection shimmers with honesty, rippling out to edges of the page, making the reader feel welcome into such a revealing opening in that mirrored room of your mind. Thank you for sharing. With all due respect, another pass would smooth out the little speed bumps due to some inconsistency with caps and punctuation. Easy fixes for a very deserving message to us all.

alone in a desert... (Poetry) - 8/27/2014 11:13:05 AM
''Can I become more than just another grain of sand in this cloud that buffets me?''.....''And if I dissatisfied with being in the cloud what kind of a grain would I like to be?''----------- EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!! MOST TALENTED!!!!!!!!!!!!! I JUST LOVE THIS BEAUTY!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

alone in a desert... (Poetry) - 8/27/2014 11:12:49 AM
Just the terminology of the injury sounds nasty. I believe my twin brother suffered some of those. I found the poem to be one of the best introspections I've read. Delving into the mind of a creative writer with a lot on his mind. Great work. Ron

alone in a desert... (Poetry) - 8/27/2014 10:48:21 AM
Your calling is complete. You're a mind-reader! And you've just read my mind. Now, stop that whining and go out there and do something...for both of us! Loved this one. :-)

unraveling... (Poetry) - 8/26/2014 6:54:05 AM
A fascinating tour de force that is at once captivating, erudite, spiritual, philosophical, poetically descriptive but drawing from Biblical sources that are also tarnished, unraveling, nebulous… Still, an astute summation that shows much insight and wisdom.

unraveling... (Poetry) - 8/25/2014 7:53:49 PM
A eye opening detailed account of the fall of man. God will be the judge in the end. So far it looks like man did NOT make the grade and it's doubtful that man will ever learn. Amen...

unraveling... (Poetry) - 8/24/2014 12:15:16 PM
History repeats and freedom needs to be maintained. It starts in your community, watch what's going on.....

a forever that never arrived... (Poetry) - 8/24/2014 10:39:18 AM
The song of velvet-textured colors 'n mountains carry forever the essence of memories. A lovely poem in romantic tones bequeath a gifted friend. Always, Lady Mary Ann

unraveling... (Poetry) - 8/24/2014 7:30:40 AM
What's most interesting to me is your ability to slap us up side of the head with reality, making the clinging to fantasy next to impossible to sustain. Well chosen incident and words render--even the most hard-headed and steely-hearted--observers of their conscience newly awakened. A difficult subject well versed.

unraveling... (Poetry) - 8/23/2014 11:04:02 AM
I don't believe I've seen a more thorough revelation of the ills of society. But unlike Dickens with his declaration, "it was the best of times; it was the worst of times." You have clearly focused on the worst. While I have also written about the worst, like my recently posted poem, I've also written about the best. By several parameters, 2013 was the best year ever, and 2014 is on a course to be even better. It's all a matter of how we look at it. As for the last quote from the Bible. The writers at that time, the early Christians, in this case, Timothy, thought that the second coming was close at hand. They were writing about how they perceived their world at that time. Those descriptive words applied to their contemporaries. It's interesting to see that nothing has changed in 2000 years and those same problems are still with us, but no closer to revelation than before. There have been many schisms in United States since its inception. Perhaps the worst was the Civil War. I can't even imagine what it was like for brother to kill brother over ideology. We are nowhere near that situation today or like we were after December 7, 1941. Ron

unraveling... (Poetry) - 8/23/2014 12:11:54 AM
Hey dude, I think I actually got this one, will wonders never cease... anyway you talk of the "unraveling" of America that I seem to remember that was spoken of by the masses and to the masses way back in the late 60's/early 70's...as with the media I feel you are just doing herein what they have been doing, though they have been "Reality TVing" far too much... that one paragraph really speaks to me, dude...I may not be able to really put it into words but I do feel it & you, Rich...the end is nigh, especially now that I can understand one of your writes...this is definitely the best "social unrest" write that I have EVER read,(short of Thoreau), wish I had the intellect to write it myself...I fully enjoy reading of you, Rich, so keep them flowing and I will try to keep understanding...Find Peace, -ed-

a forever that never arrived... (Poetry) - 8/14/2014 10:03:19 AM
Her (from the picture I assume it was a woman) gift touched you greatly, as evidenced by these sterling words on her behalf. Ron

a forever that never arrived... (Poetry) - 8/14/2014 4:51:50 AM
Thoughts beyond my comprehension! nonetheless, its a lovely job! Thanks for sharing, Richard!

a forever that never arrived... (Poetry) - 8/14/2014 3:55:28 AM
Beautifully penned!

a forever that never arrived... (Poetry) - 8/13/2014 9:17:58 PM
thought provoking read

a forever that never arrived... (Poetry) - 8/13/2014 5:12:50 PM
Sorry Rich, but I must be very thick headed tonight, as I don't get it, but I read it all the way through three times...and still...I apologize...e

a forever that never arrived... (Poetry) - 8/13/2014 3:08:28 PM
A resounding tribute and trust, bequeathed perhaps to an enigma, or per chance a reality that like your first stanza, become the growth of innocence stepping forth into the unknown, but knowing the pack on its back contained what counted. The unwrapping and pouring of its essence, contains the undeniable credence of its genesis, the hammer and nails that build the wooden fence, that ultimately joined the passing of time as a residual dust, a held-fast-part of love's beginning, the part that knows not a disappearance, but only a part of the "shadows of a forever that never arrived..." Indeed. For this reader, we should all be so fortunate as to have a reference point that knows no death, only aging, like a fine cognac. Splendid, my friend. Just splendid.

a forever that never arrived... (Poetry) - 8/13/2014 2:39:14 PM
A quiet passion that finds its way into powerful words and stirs my soul. Beautiful!

a forever that never arrived... (Poetry) - 8/13/2014 1:05:55 PM
Truly a good one, - makes me feel something of what happened in past.

a forever that never arrived... (Poetry) - 8/13/2014 12:26:57 PM
This was very good, Richard. I really like the sentiment in this one. Sandie

a forever that never arrived... (Poetry) - 8/13/2014 10:37:48 AM
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!! POWERFUL POEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! '' And how should I fell, when most of what I see seem the shadows of a forever thatt never arrieved''-------------- I LOVE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

the Bay Cafe' (Poetry) - 8/12/2014 9:12:43 AM
I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

the Bay Cafe' (Poetry) - 8/10/2014 8:47:55 AM
You have recalled and recreated the scene and the experience and shared it most effectively through your verses here, Richard. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

the Bay Cafe' (Poetry) - 8/10/2014 7:33:08 AM
You certainly captured the scene in a way that only you could do. Ron

the Bay Cafe' (Poetry) - 8/10/2014 6:42:51 AM
Observant to a fault. Few people could take this kind of revealing, let alone leave less than 15% tip...or maybe even be goaded into 20%. Many clever words used throughout. Kudos.

of all that remains fruitless... (Poetry) - 8/8/2014 6:24:26 PM
Ok, how didI miss this one...maybe the same way that those that worship Allah miss the point of being martyrs...no one remembers them after they are gone...e

the Bay Cafe' (Poetry) - 8/8/2014 6:21:12 PM
He doesn't sound the type to tip, unless maybe he got tipsy...they both sound like jerks to me, they must be the reason that for a big night out, I go to Arbys...better food, better proportions & much better company...e

the Bay Cafe' (Poetry) - 8/8/2014 8:08:58 AM
Love this Richard. I felt as though I was there. It also makes me chuckle. ann

the Bay Cafe' (Poetry) - 8/8/2014 8:07:46 AM
Even broken ambiance and unsavory culinary delights can be transformed into a verbal smackdown by the sultan of swat. Nicely done. (I won't try it until I can master the technique).

the Bay Cafe' (Poetry) - 8/8/2014 7:42:12 AM
Your amazing Richard. what can I write that I haven't already said before. dWb

of all that remains fruitless... (Poetry) - 8/8/2014 6:18:02 AM
Heaven sees you as beautiful! Your drug is the light of life eternal..The fruit in the end is our God's living word that continues on into his eternity...Oh what a day that will be when we all get to heaven and see his GLORY!!!! Loved your expressions in this work of art! Blessing dear friend.. Teresa

of all that remains fruitless... (Poetry) - 8/1/2014 7:54:39 AM
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

of all that remains fruitless... (Poetry) - 7/29/2014 5:36:58 PM
Excellently written work,Richard - (love 'brabbling') i gave up on religion a long time ago but of course that doesn't mean it goes away. What is a religious war? One tribe of aggressive delusionals fighting another tribe of aggressive delusionals with the innocent and the intelligent caught in the crossfire. Peace to you john

of all that remains fruitless... (Poetry) - 7/28/2014 9:55:38 AM
life should be lived always in the preparation of death, purging into the heart of reality ... returning to our origin ... touching the light of god which dwells within each and every heart ...

of all that remains fruitless... (Poetry) - 7/26/2014 11:06:50 AM
Religion is a thin disguise for the territorial imperative that drives people to impinge on other peoples' territory, eventually leading to distrust and destruction. Since we are all going to die, young men in particular, sold on the idea of being "heroes" from all the propaganda, are most willing to give their lives for the " cause," regardless of how trivial that cause may be. Thought-provoking write. Poets and philosophers lead the way to sanity. Ron

of all that remains fruitless... (Poetry) - 7/26/2014 6:30:27 AM
Regardless of one's own personal beliefs and or vetted ideas for living productively, the piece begs just how much longer will ignorance borne of hate and power-lust rule the consciousness of supernatural followers. Alas, perhaps as noted in today's http://www.thewestsidestory.net/2014/07/26/14692/earth-verge-mass-extinction-humans-cause/ extinction may be the only answer.

of all that remains fruitless... (Poetry) - 7/26/2014 4:14:49 AM
Fine verse, rlc. Joshua seems to be in action at this very moment, in many places. Over and over he tries to redeem himself, to atone for the cities he laid waste in days of yore and gore, while he pretends to ritual obedience and 'lofty consciousness' ... well done! Jan

of all that remains fruitless... (Poetry) - 7/26/2014 3:14:51 AM
thought provoking

of all that remains fruitless... (Poetry) - 7/25/2014 7:33:44 PM
I understand insanity, and what is happening in the world today is insanity. Insanity about the ones who perpetuate the horrors, and insanity of the ones who read it in the newspapers, or watch the slaughter on television, and yawn loudly before going to work to never give it another thought. The world is gearing up for hell to pay.

of all that remains fruitless... (Poetry) - 7/25/2014 1:08:45 PM
But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.” Joshua 25: 15 Well said throughout this masterpiece! BRAVO! Amen!

of all that remains fruitless... (Poetry) - 7/25/2014 11:46:46 AM
Eloquently written!

of all that remains fruitless... (Poetry) - 7/25/2014 10:04:35 AM
What a fantastic poem, Richard. I really liked how you weave the Bible through it. Abaddon - the Destroyer dWb

in light of our own inadequacies... (Poetry) - 7/25/2014 5:37:09 AM
Hopefully everyone will read this poem and take thought of his or hers life; as it carries so many good messages! Well done Richard!

in light of our own inadequacies... (Poetry) - 7/24/2014 6:12:47 PM
An excellent quote that highlights and works well with your piece. We do judge from our perspectives and our point-of-view. It seems to keep are own views controlled and in line. Stubborn isn't it ?

in light of our own inadequacies... (Poetry) - 7/24/2014 3:45:32 PM
And to pass over into that point of no return you've characterized as "their genuine-selves" is egregiously neglected by those who find it impossible to face who they really are. Such is the sad plight of most of our species, caught up as they are in trying to be something they are not.

an incomplete view... (Poetry) - 7/24/2014 3:28:19 PM
To explore the oblique way beauty often chooses to exhibit itself is in and of itself a daring poetic venture. To lay bare the findings of one man, to expose without reservation the inherent vulnerability of such revelations trumps the daring poetic venture. For in the vulnerability do we truly give allowance for beauty to be as it will, show as it were, continue to remain illusive as it is. For who would want it any different, save the person who chooses to "catch" the truth, rather, as you and Kierkegaard opt out, to let it catch you. Believing as I do in paradox, it is often what others see as ugly that I find a transformative beauty. But of course, that is only me. I mention it because: "I question; will the Cerement be placed around me] in the Absence of my ever knowing your Fullness, or… is it only then That your fullness can Be known?" Indeed.

in light of our own inadequacies... (Poetry) - 7/23/2014 4:53:32 PM
i leave judgement to the higher forces ... it's imperative to always keep in touch with our oversouls, this way we can move on "gently" and recognized as valid by those higher forces we are becoming ...

in light of our own inadequacies... (Poetry) - 7/23/2014 12:39:50 PM
thought provoking work, well done

in light of our own inadequacies... (Poetry) - 7/22/2014 4:36:21 AM
A vivid journey thru the many mental and moral states from childhood to the death bed. Just the first line of each verse tells a powerful story. An exceptional write!

in light of our own inadequacies... (Poetry) - 7/22/2014 3:36:58 AM
Very insightful poem, Richard! I'm glad I've got the chance to read this. There are so many meaningful lines in this poem. I absolutely love this poem! Sandie

in light of our own inadequacies... (Poetry) - 7/21/2014 1:00:49 PM
I love this, and that you write on deep levels psychologically ~ This somewhat reminds me of Einstein's quote "I must be willing to give up what I am in order to become what I will be." Blessings,Chris

in light of our own inadequacies... (Poetry) - 7/21/2014 12:22:31 PM
Hey, Rich, this one I kind of understood and didn't have to look up any words that I did not understand...thats pretty good for me and I still wish I had the intelligence to write like this...powerful, full of knowledge & I guess to some degree like we all are too, full of shit...LOL, enjoyed this read, thanks for posting it...e

an incomplete view... (Poetry) - 7/21/2014 4:21:17 AM
well done

an incomplete view... (Poetry) - 7/19/2014 4:20:07 PM
extraordinary and deeply ministering brilliant man ~ Blessings, Chris

an incomplete view... (Poetry) - 7/19/2014 8:58:31 AM
I see a lot of introspection in this piece. As usual, without looking them up, some words are confounding me, but the gist of the message appears to be clear that seeking the truth is not all that it's cracked up to be. What is true art and what is not is really not up to question. Popularity comes and goes. True art endures and grows. Ron

an incomplete view... (Poetry) - 7/18/2014 6:26:26 PM
This is really heavy, Rich, I have to re-read it when I am not high, I can only understand when sober...still so far a great write...e

pothead... (Poetry) - 7/13/2014 4:51:05 PM
You've captured what I love about the "altered state" of consciousness, regardless of the means. Admitted or not, EVERYONE, has their preference, and no one is void of such a pursuit. NO ONE,save the deniers.

White Throne (Poetry) - 7/13/2014 4:48:12 PM
There are some elements of biblical proportions that make sense, even to to a secularist such as myself. Well done.

White Throne (Poetry) - 7/10/2014 6:16:50 PM
thought provoking

White Throne (Poetry) - 7/10/2014 12:14:22 PM
Man, you dream as deep as you think when awake...Wish I had your abilities when it comes to writing...take care of the self...e

White Throne (Poetry) - 7/10/2014 10:52:13 AM
Wow! This poem travels into the depths of another dimension. It's definitely a HUGE wake-up call for us all. Well done Richard!

White Throne (Poetry) - 7/10/2014 9:07:20 AM
The outrage expressed in your poem is biblical in proportion, vying with some of the best of this genre. Unfortunately, I find it to be a little bit too biblical for my blood. Ron

White Throne (Poetry) - 7/10/2014 8:01:43 AM
I've had the same dream But never with the power and the clarity of your words. A magnificent composition!

pothead... (Poetry) - 7/9/2014 6:15:47 PM
Now you know I would have to comment on this, if not for the poem but for the title itself...I wish I were high to give this the attention it deserves, but having none on hand precludes me from doing so...you'll have to allow me not to make a coherent statement here, as I can only do so while high a mile...let me stop here before I get myself in too deep...enjoyed it, though some of them "big" words threw me...LOL e

pothead... (Poetry) - 7/9/2014 3:47:05 PM
Interesting read! Sandie

pothead... (Poetry) - 7/9/2014 12:48:08 PM
thought provoking read

pothead... (Poetry) - 7/9/2014 9:57:24 AM
It sounds as if it could be worth it If only for the snappy insider language... But not quite. Still a great write.

being more than just a hollow sound... (Poetry) - 7/9/2014 4:20:14 AM
My philosophy professor was a musician. Today, well into his 80s, he is still the leader of the band directing a group of retirees in the misadventures of soothing the minds of his congregation with the song book of the 1930s and 1940s. His wife (classmates from the 1930s) still refers to him as a "cute little monkey." Small world. :)

being more than just a hollow sound... (Poetry) - 7/7/2014 7:43:49 AM
now you did it, my synapses are monkeying around with me now ... i think i'll hit the monkey bars ... climb, grunt and clear the jungle ...

being more than just a hollow sound... (Poetry) - 7/6/2014 3:51:50 PM
As your prose poetry posits, it is indeed a wise man that knows he is but a cute monkey (on good days) and a miscarriage of evolution (on most days, given our extravagant pillage of both human and vegetation of this planet, all in the name of "sentience." Please!) Would that more writings could address important issues like this with a tongue in cheek and such clever sub-text mockery of our species state of being. Kudos.

being more than just a hollow sound... (Poetry) - 7/5/2014 12:18:00 PM
The last lines made me think of The Planet of the Apes. From your pictures, you are cute, monkey. But I'm not here to write about that. I'm here to tell you that you say something profound when you write about how it's amazing that we have survived to be born through all wars and misdeeds of our ancestors (mine probably contains DNA of Genghis Khan). So, those few of us, and I notice there are few among the 7 billion pretty monkeys out there, who are willing to write what we think down on paper or hard drive what we think. And by doing that, we rise above the muck of endless misery and reproduction called humanity. Ron

being more than just a hollow sound... (Poetry) - 7/5/2014 7:34:44 AM
I agree, yuze a really cute monkey...for that is just about the only thing I can get out of this write...but for some reason, understand it or not, I still laughed and smiled with regards this one...ed

a bridge between souls... (Poetry) - 6/30/2014 1:27:09 PM
Beautiful, knowing and being known ~ and sometimes others see potential when we ourselves can not. Blessings, Chris

a bridge between souls... (Poetry) - 6/28/2014 3:12:56 AM
enjoyed reading your informative poetry lovely words, lovely graphic

a bridge between souls... (Poetry) - 6/27/2014 4:38:23 PM
Excellent poetic expression!

a bridge between souls... (Poetry) - 6/27/2014 10:48:56 AM
A life connecting link that bridges all gaps.

a bridge between souls... (Poetry) - 6/27/2014 9:32:20 AM
Thank you for sharing your soul with all of us. Wonderful poem! Kathy J Parenteau

a bridge between souls... (Poetry) - 6/27/2014 8:26:23 AM
Stirring words, artfully written with passion and compassion. Uplifting.

a bridge between souls... (Poetry) - 6/27/2014 8:15:36 AM
Glad you're back with us and creating a bridge between souls again. Ron

a bridge between souls... (Poetry) - 6/27/2014 7:36:34 AM
Beautifully-writfen! I dco believe all we poets are connected with our souls as we bare them with our words. Empathy plays an important part in a poet's life. Sandie

in an odd state of melancholic un-belonging... (Poetry) - 6/14/2014 9:50:21 AM
The adjustments necessary by the victims of such a malaise is indeed heart-wrenching. Well delivered prose poetry...a form seldom used better.

in an odd state of melancholic un-belonging... (Poetry) - 6/12/2014 5:07:19 AM
" empty bottles he pretends are medals" ... excellent image ...

in an odd state of melancholic un-belonging... (Poetry) - 6/11/2014 5:57:08 PM
poignant read

in an odd state of melancholic un-belonging... (Poetry) - 6/11/2014 7:43:37 AM
In seams in every generation and every family, there are always those that find life difficult to live and miss use every opportunity that comes their way. Your poem exudes the futility of trying to save them from themselves. It seems that no manner of effort works when someone is hell-bent on self-destruction. And as for a society, behavior like this hurts us all, just like wars in faraway places, seemingly involving sub humans either bent on destroying us or we destroying them, come back to haunt us in the form of mentally affected soldiers. As for drugs, they serve no purpose whatsoever in spite of what those who wish to promote them for their "magical and healing powers" say. It is amazing that anyone can live a perfectly normal life without ever having taken them at all. Ron

in an odd state of melancholic un-belonging... (Poetry) - 6/11/2014 6:58:20 AM
Very descriptive of what happens to people who are,as you say "beaten down, oppressed " by others. Their minds are "rewired " believing no one is there to love or help them. They are even too afraid to reach out. That's why we, whomever it is who can recognize the truth see the signs, need to reach out to that person the best we can. And not just once, it may take many times, but don't give up on them. There was a time I wish someone would have just reached out to me, taken me to a woman's shelter, and back then I had plenty of signs written all over my body, my face, people just stared. Reach out. Don't ignore them. HELP THEM.

in an odd state of melancholic un-belonging... (Poetry) - 6/11/2014 4:12:55 AM
sad and a blow to the heart. still, very good poetry.

in an odd state of melancholic un-belonging... (Poetry) - 6/10/2014 9:44:25 PM
Wow, Richard that is one heavy write that, surprisingly, I understood and can feel for those people hooked on drugs and alcohol, as I was many years ago...gave up both on my own, except that I still get high every now and then...By the way, I am happy to see you still writing...I HAVE missed reading you and reviewing you even though sometimes I just don't get it...this was a heartbreaking reminder that any of us could be in that position, but a great write nonetheless...Find Peace, ed

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.